Boks need provincial buy-in
4 Mar 2010
South Africa’s Super 14 franchises need to make sacrifices for the leading Boks to be in peak condition come the 2011 World Cup.
Another week in South African rugby, another Test scheduled in the penultimate year leading up to the Boks’ World Cup defence. South Africa against Wales in Cardiff is the latest Test scheduled in a commemorative match from 11 years ago.
That was the last time the Boks travelled north mid-year, a slump in form ensued, and ironically enough captain Gary Teichmann was later dumped by Bok coach Nick Mallett as the World Cup defence derailed.
The Millennium Stadium encounter on 5 June now brings the number of Bok Tests this year to 14 – plus a Barbarians match in December – just a year out from the global showpiece.
Saru are content as they sign on for more TV rights and fill their coffers, the players are happy as they earn an extra cheque for match fees, while the franchises – who have completely different goals – are unlikely to give in and rest their players with a Test confirmed just three months prior to the match.
However, Derik Coetzee, the Boks’ former conditioning coach from 2004 until 2007, says that co-operation between the unions and Bok coach Peter de Villiers is the only way the players will survive.
‘The key thing is, and there is no other way around it, but there must be proper planning from the Bok management,’ Coetzee told keo.co.za. ‘All the franchises have to buy in. If they don’t, and the players don’t get active rest periods, they have no chance of surviving until the World Cup.
‘It’s imperative the whole country is working towards New Zealand 2011. With this Wales Test and Grand Slam tour, drastic plans need to be in place.’
Coetzee suggested resting a core group of senior players, such as John Smit, Bakkies Botha, Victor Matfield, Juan Smith and Fourie du Preez. It’s also vital that this rest comes during certain periods throughout the year, and not much later once the damage is irreparable.
‘The players have to be in peak condition for the World Cup,’ said Coetzee. ‘The problem is franchises have different objectives in terms of when they want players to peak physically and mentally compared to the Boks.
‘However, I’m sure the Bulls’ Boks will have a full week off now that they have a bye this weekend. They must still have more breaks throughout the Super 14, but if they want their stars playing every weekend, it will be detrimental to the individuals.
‘The franchises have to work with Saru to ensure the World Cup is a success, that’s the top goal by a mile.’
The reality is that Peter de Villiers is going to have to have rest his players. De Villiers is against this policy, as he said last year the provinces should be the ones resting the players, but someone will have to give in.
‘In 2006, Jake sacrificed results on the year-end tour as he rested players, and we also didn’t allow any players in the latter stages of 2007 Currie Cup,’ said Coetzee. ‘We had everyone on our backs, from the public, to the media, to the provinces, to Saru.
‘Excellent communication from Peter to the franchise coaches is the only way. If the players don’t rest before the Tri-Nations, that will just be too long. They need a break before that, a core group must be developed and they must be rotated.
‘The Wales Test brings in a new dimension to how they do it, while the end-of-year tour is another story.’
By Grant Ball

445 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All
4 Mar 2010, 23:27 pm
Elliot2, very lucid and mature response to my somewhat heated post.
What you raise is something we all as South Africans must jointly address.
It is a beast that we tried to corner at a national debating level with people like Kate Stegeman, Sithembile Mbete and Eusebius MacKaiser.
It is THE topical question of our time.
4 Mar 2010, 23:28 pm
@charo: aww thanks man
night all
@WP Till I Die: again, who mocked his death?
no guys, i really think this is one step too far down the road to censorship and political correctness.
i dont roll that way.
and btw, steve biko didnt stand for the kind of things that come out of you grant, stop being a hypocrite.
@elliott2:
sorry to say but you are nothing but a pious ****.
handing out lessons but never accepting the complete truth.
easy for a brown-skinned person to assume the higher moral ground but you have never displayed your own contribution to the current dispensation
4 Mar 2010, 23:29 pm
@SpringbokSarah: 344 See you Sarah, nice to have some banter from our favourite teenager!!
4 Mar 2010, 23:29 pm
only one here with any brains is Princess Sarah. The rest I’m afraid to decree belong in kindergarten. All the so called adults are far younger than the youngest of the lot of ya’s.
Strange how youth is always so much wiser than old age
4 Mar 2010, 23:30 pm
@charo:
carefull now, it is summer..we are all brown-skinned…
4 Mar 2010, 23:30 pm
@gunther: i cant actually and i am so chuffed for the zimbos, if ever a country needed some cheer, that is it.
4 Mar 2010, 23:31 pm
i am very brown after my sojourn to zululand.
4 Mar 2010, 23:32 pm
He cometh!!
Hows all.. I am a bit tired.. not in the mood for any fights.. just want to chill out here for a while.. I don’t feel like talking about rugby.. it makes me angry.. I am still trying to decide on my next phone.. its stressing me out.. HTC or iPhone
4 Mar 2010, 23:33 pm
@rangerman:
jubilation I tell you…
4 Mar 2010, 23:33 pm
why you beating up on yourself over the ‘accident of your birth’ as if you had any say in the matter?
Whats there actually to feel guilty about or politically correct about for that matter? We think we responsible for the deeds of our forefather’s or our nation, no you not, you only responsible for the thoughts and deeds you think or act out yourself.
4 Mar 2010, 23:34 pm
rangerman …respectfully …can we please rather not …in any way…communicate?
Seriously…i dont like you…and you dont like me…and thats cool. But lets not sour the others experiences on the site.
I ask nicely, rather avoid each other …please boet. We see life through different eyes…..
i am sorry if i offended you in the past ….and i mean that from the bottom of my heart.
But i really would prefer not to have any comms with you in future.Please respect that .
4 Mar 2010, 23:35 pm
@rangerman: too true Ranger. I’d not back a change in course man. Stay with the original program. Far more fun.
4 Mar 2010, 23:37 pm
@gunther:
hahaha ok gunther, the mad bulls supporter, you are right.
we all need to steer clear of the politicians and keep things rugby and/or flippant.
i made the classic mistake of getting embroiled with some schizo ******** who is wringing his head so et can’t get out and have his say.
What happened on this thread? And I wasn’t even involved.
Grant10 – I respect you, I really do. However – you are proving rangerman’s thesis that on Keo the right has been replaced by the left.
One of the last people to request that certain others don’t communicate on here with them was GBS…
4 Mar 2010, 23:40 pm
@katman: 364 – This is why I tell NO ONE I know about this blog…..They would think I was nuts to participate!
4 Mar 2010, 23:41 pm
@WP Till I Die: 365
I just dont want to lose my rag here….and it is plainly obvious that Ranger and i are like petrol and flame….scroll button is all i want…and i will show him the same courtesy.
Surely not too much to ask.
Got to go out with my work colleagues/client tomorrow night.. They are expecting me to be generous.. funnything, its actually a farewell party for a young boere nooi who could not at first fit in and then tried to over compensate. I had to keep her in check at times. The office is multicultural, multi everything.. She had never experienced that kind of environment before.. I noticed her flirting with a fairly handsome black dude in the office the other day.. It was funny but I made as if I was not taking notice.. She seems a lot more confused these days
@grant10: why not smoke the peace pipe Grant? You guys have been at each others throats for the better part of the year mate. RM strikes me as a pretty grounded oak, much like you bud. You differ on one particular viewpoint concerning the front row. So bloody what. Bury the hatchet and move on. Its the sensible thing to do IMHO.
4 Mar 2010, 23:42 pm
@grant10: but what if i disagree with what you put on this public forum grant?
and no man, its not that i dislike you though you may dislike me.
its simply that i dont agree with a lot of your views. it doesnt make you a bad person or me for that matter.
but you always go the personal route?
@TASSIES: hehe, are you enjoying my petty squabbles? i must remember that there are people watching
4 Mar 2010, 23:43 pm
@carol: Perhaps a little hint of masochism there… I think that’s partly why I come back.
4 Mar 2010, 23:44 pm
best i take a break rather….
sorry for the kak all.
Eish, this blog, eh…maybe it’s taken too seriously.
@grant10: I thought petrol and flame was a good thing…
Shows you are alive!!
4 Mar 2010, 23:45 pm
@grant10: Remember?
What do puppies and short-sighted gynaecologists have in common?
A wet nose
@The Almighty Shaun:
come now, you know that a cool black dude with a sexy british accent is far more appealing to your boere nooi that anyone of julius malemas cohorts.
4 Mar 2010, 23:46 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: nowhere near as confused as I am after reading your post boet. Did she do it or did she not?
4 Mar 2010, 23:48 pm
Tassies
Did she what?
Nooi him?
4 Mar 2010, 23:48 pm
@carol: Carol, you only seem to log on when there is a fight.. maybe that is why you like rugby.. all teh aggro excites you??
4 Mar 2010, 23:50 pm
I for one would be very surprised if some bloggers here were just half as antagonistic in real life…
4 Mar 2010, 23:50 pm
@TASSIES: @gunther:
thank goodness you guys have brought some light relief here.
geez – another heavy night on keo – where’s soda to bring some brevity and neutral viewpoint.
4 Mar 2010, 23:51 pm
@katman: That has to be it!
4 Mar 2010, 23:52 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: Bit difficult to log when there has NOT been a fight!!
4 Mar 2010, 23:52 pm
@WP Till I Die:
The ANC, and the governments it spawns into the future, does not make finding real solutions any easier than those who came before. There is in reality just a slight shift of the political control to people of colour whilst the economic control has largely remained where it was previously despite the advent of the Tokyos of S.A. and as we all know ‘he who pays the piper calls the tune.I know that is simplistic.
Tough times lie ahead but we all just need to be more honest with each other and less concerned about our images and work towards meaningful solutions which we do not now have.
What bothers me and many others about any S.A. blog is the strong undertones of racism that is prevalent, which will NEVER escape anyone who has been at the receiving end of it in the past. Also the existence, on these sites because of economics,of too many who do not understand or perceive they are contributing to that undertone.
Let us leave the discussion their whilst it is still civil.
4 Mar 2010, 23:53 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Funny thing about accents.. british guys think that I have an advantage because I got a cool foreign accent.. I do turn it up a bit
4 Mar 2010, 23:54 pm
ok, with that, i am out.
thanks for the chat guys and gals.
grant, i have no ill will towards you mate. i think you enjoy taking the piss and riling people up and i like to turn the tables from time to time.
its a blog, about rugby, not a murder scene. we will chat again and i am sure you will call me a doos again, but at least i am one of those salmon swimming upstream eh?
keep well man.
SHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAARKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
4 Mar 2010, 23:54 pm
@WP Till I Die: Well, you’ve met me and you know that I’ll knock your teeth in for looking at me wrong. The fact that you’re a judocian is probably what saved you.
4 Mar 2010, 23:55 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: Then they don’t understand you and just smile politely!!
4 Mar 2010, 23:55 pm
Elliot2, please get my e-mail address from Roy. I feel there can be mutual advantage in a private discussion.
4 Mar 2010, 23:56 pm
iPhone or HTC
Bwahaha!!!!
Shaun seem like saved up, break your piggy bank
4 Mar 2010, 23:57 pm
@carol: The safest time, if you want to avoid a fight here, is the 10 minutes after some keo elf posted the week’s S14 teams. For a brief moment everyone is too busy dreaming of how their team is going to shine on the weekend to even think of fighting. But then it all begins…
@rangerman: Night Rangerman…
@The Almighty Shaun:
the accent thing applies in the usa …. but not in uk.
far too many saffas in uk – sorry to say
4 Mar 2010, 23:58 pm
@katman, yes, you do support the Lions after all…
By the way, I nooied my nooi in the nooi, it was nooi lekker
5 Mar 2010, 00:00 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl: is the pope a catholic Brig? Julius has not competition as prize tosser of the planet.
@WP Till I Die: In the nooi – is this a geographical or physiological location?
@rangerman:
cheers boet – will have that hansa draught in rocks next month
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 » Show All