‘We’ve achieved nothing yet’

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke says his champion side refuses to buy into the hype surrounding them.

Three wins from three, including a couple of comprehensive ones over some highly rated opposition. A fluent attack and improving defence and match winners across the track – the Bulls look the business.

In addition, they are heavily favoured to beat the Highlanders at Loftus on Saturday, stretching their unbeaten run at the ground to 14 matches. Yet Ludeke maintains perspective.

‘What have we done? We’ve won our home games. With the greatest humility, that is expected from a side who back themselves to contend for the title,’ Ludeke told keo.co.za.

‘We’ve achieved nothing yet. We haven’t toured Australasia, and we are still to play the Highlanders and Hurricanes at home. This tournament has a habit of humbling you if you get ahead of yourself and start believing the hype. We’re guarding against that, and we’re demanding an improved performance every time we step onto the field.’

Ludeke’s charges returned to training on Monday refreshed after a week where most of them were given the complete break. He said the benefits were patent in training, with the players exhibiting a fresh focus and looking sharp in their sessions.

The break also gave Ludeke the opportunity to consolidate his thinking regarding tactics and team selection, and to analyse the Highlanders closely. That analysis has lead him to identify the set phases and breakdown as their primary threats.

‘They’re a very good srcummaging unit and very competitive at the lineout. When those aspects of their game have operated well, they’ve asked big questions of some really good teams,’ he said.

‘They’re also one of the few teams who still contest the breakdown strongly despite the new law interpretations. They’re strong at the tackle point and counter-ruck with force. If they are able to slow the recycle it’ll be difficult for us to get the momentum that’s been at the heart of our success.

‘The guys are on high alert. They know they have to be switched on.’

Ludeke said they were focussed, although not exclusively, on shoring up their defence. They’ve leaked 10 tries in three matches, which is uncharacteristic for a side who have generally been one of the best defensive units over the last four years.

The Highlanders have punished teams who have had lapses in concentration or flat periods, and Ludeke was acutely aware of their penchant for the sucker punch.

‘It needs to be an accurate 80 minute performance on defence for us. We’ve probably let ourselves down slightly in that area and we can’t afford to rely on our attack to get us out of trouble,’ he said. ‘The best teams make themselves incredibly hard to score against and that’s what we are aspiring to.’

Ludeke has a selection conundrum in the back row with the return of No 8 Pierre Spies from injury. It is likely that he will thrust the hard running Springbok back into the fray immediately, but also has the option of playing Dewald Potgieter or Danie Rossouw there.

The combination of Rossouw (No 8), Pedrie Wannenberg (blindside flank) and Derick Kuun, who started against the Waratahs, looked cumbersome and unbalanced, and Ludeke should opt to reunite the regular trio of Spies, Potgieter and Deon Stegmann.

Outside of the back row reshuffle, there is unlikely to be any changes to the starting line-up who fronted the Tahs a fortnight ago.

225 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

• 51.scar: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: I absolutely agree with you on this one

• 52.JL1: Reply to this comment

Good coaches can replicate success at other teams

Mallet being case in point, the Italians have done better than expected – success!
    Poor coaches remain poor coaches, and cannot hide behind great systems, players or back up staff

• 53.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

so anyhow, the Bulls – a very good team.

I think a great deal of credit needs to go to old Wynie Strydom. He often doesn’t get the credit he deserves. The management is top drawer.

• 54.Staal: Reply to this comment

opinions should be based on facts surely… :?:

speculation is based on opinions which are based on speculations…

dit het iemand my geleer lank lank gelede….

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: #45 hi wolfie :D , yoh that is a new one. School me, what is there to address in the phrase “get the chip off your shoulder”?

Especially on this blog where it used to deflect any sort of dissenting opinion.

• 56.catleya: Reply to this comment

@brains_trust:
    “At least he is not an arrogant ****, Jewish or otherwise!”

He might be a bonehead ********, but he is probably te most down-to-earth, rooted, and quietly confident man I have had the privilege to meet. His people skills are probably his best asset and like Tac says, he is a perfect fit, especially with the current crop of players that make up our squad, senior or otherwise, which is why, to a man, they play for him, the brand and themselves, which is more than a certain coastal franchise to the east of us can say, not to speak of the oke in the south at the tip of the continent blowing a lot of hot air up all and sundries arses- worst of all is having to sit idly by and watch their supporters setting themselves up for hari-kiri mid-year by buying into his drivel.

Respect to Naka and **** for where they are apparently going, given the unique challenges inherent to their situations.

• 57.Staal: Reply to this comment

Burp!

Now.. that was well thought out…..

• 58.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

Ahhhhh…

The mighty Bulls team set to make it 4 out of 4…..

We will beat these Highlanders by 25 points. (Maybe 30 if you take into account that Cowan is not playing)

I more worried about the Hurricanes the Landers.

• 59.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: To be honest I was just trying to see how many times I could use Cliche in a sentence. Looking back on it, I could have squeezed in probably two more.

But to be fair, you are somewhat negatively minded towards the Bulls. Is there a reason for this?

• 60.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

Can’t wait for Saturday…!!! I will also be viewing the game from our company suite at Loftus….

• 61.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Staal: And well delivered.

• 62.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

You know, I’m the first one to knock Tacitus for his occasional Anti-Stormers posts but really, in this case he’s right. The Bulls are sitting pretty, and rightfully so. They have maximum points from 3 games and I don’t see them dropping the chance of another 5-pointer against the Highlanders. So they could secure a semi-spot before half the season is over.

And you know what? Good for them if they do.

I disagree with his view of the home stretch though. I think that the Sharks are a few “clicks” from gelling and i think that they’ll have a point to prove. Same from the Stormers. They may be in that do or die position that Tacitus reffers to and will have to consider the game an early Semi.

So the Bulls will make the semi’s this year, i don’t think theres much argument about that. But they may not have it ALL their own way. we’ll see.

And regardless of provincialism, they need to be congratulated, not ripped to shreds. We are all better than that.

• 63.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

Bulls 45 – 25 Landers

• 64.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Landers to upset the apple cart, if nothing more then to wipe a few smiles of the smug faces after 3 games in a 14 round competition…

• 65.Ned: Reply to this comment

Bulls 63 – 29 Landers

• 66.Ned: Reply to this comment

quess who is in Top 5 superbru!!!!

• 67.poppa69: Reply to this comment

I mean, 3 home games out of 4 all with a SA ref, gees… something about the get the yarpies we constantly hear of that just doesnt sit right with that first sentence…

• 68.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

STORMERSBOY,

Well said my friend…….

Thank you

• 69.Gertjie die Brandweer Ertjie: Reply to this comment

A lot of anti-Bulls sentiment on this blog – mostly from Stormers fans.

Spoke to a fellow Bulls fan last week, and he said that he will support ONLY the Bulls, as the rest of the country’s franchises usually support whoever is playing against the Bulls.

A little over the top, but looking at some of the comments I’m afraid that I’ll have to agree to a certain extent.

However, I don’t see many Lions, Sharks or Cheetah supporters that are so vehemently anti-Bulls. Even the Kiwi/Aussie bloggers are more unbiased than you lot down in Cape Town.

What gives? Does the 75-14 thrashing still give you nightmares, or is it cupboard envy?

Can’t wait for the Newlands match. Going to be a blinder!

• 70.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Perhaps before suggestion some improper has been occuring it might be worth seeing if there is a similar patern with other home teams? That would then allow you to see if it was a trend or if the Bulls were being aided in their current success.

• 71.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

POPPA69,

Are you jealous that your team is not in the same position?

We convert other team’s fans daily if you want to join. We had an initiation just last week of someone who wanted to start supporting the bulls. (Previously a Shark supporter)

• 72.gunther: Reply to this comment

Wolfman

Poppa is playing the devils avocado..

leave him be ..

• 73.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Whining whining whining……..

BUUUUUUUUUUUULLLSS !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 74.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: lighten up Wolfman, funny that you guys can cast aspersions of ANZAC collusion, which happens almost every day on this blog, take a look at the Sharks/Tahs thread if you need proof…but when we suggest the same thing its whats been happening the whole comp?

:lol: too funny…

• 75.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouboerseun: nah mate, unlike people like kobus, I stick with my team through thick and thin..plus, my team still has more Super titles then you guys, so Im doing fine thanks, and its not the crusaders… and my team is going nowhere again this year, that I already know :D

• 76.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

POPPA,

Join us…. I know you want to…. come over to the blue side….

• 77.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

POPPA,

So you support the blues…..

I loved to watch them when Carlos was still playing for them…

• 78.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

@Gertjie die Brandweer Ertjie: Its actually true, most non-Bulls supporters will support any team playing the Bulls, even Aus and NZ teams. I know many such people.

I support a SA team against overseas teams, so it grates a bit, but then I look to our trophy cabinet and I feel better.

• 79.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

POPPA,

The Blues need a new coach I recon

• 80.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouboerseun: hahaha I wear a different shade of blue my friend…

look, while I do respect the way the bulls are playing and think they thoroughly deserve their success, its just some of the bulls fans predicting 40 point wins are beginning to sound like a few kiwi fans in that horrible year of 2007…

pride comes before the fall… :D

• 81.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I was actually quite light in my comment! I must have written it in my business tone as I am currently at work!

I don’t believe in that collusion which many people on this blog like to suggest exists. It fits into some of the more obscure conspiracy theories I have heard. One guy I was speaking to suggested that the law changes were made because Brussouw was having such an influence on the game that the Aussies and Kiwis colluded to neutralise him!

• 82.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: #57 he he now look who’s got chips on their shoulders…i’m now “negatively minded” towards the bulls, and to think all i have said is that frans ludeke’s assertion is mind-numbing and prosaic.

Just last week i posted that allister coetzee should rather shut up and coach instead of always being in the media telling us that “seven tries were left on the field and he is happy about that”. I guess then i was being “negatively minded ” about the stormers that time :D :roll:

• 83.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Blouboerseun: I agree with you on a new coach… I think Lam is a little too chummy with some of the players…

plus I dont think he has the coaching experience behind him…

• 84.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

I for one have been anti Bulls because of their supporters and their downright arrogance. They could do with tryingt o follow their favourite platers’ humility – Pierre Spies for instance.

Lately I started watching their players to see if I could pick up any arrogance there to justify my dislike for the Bulls. Being “anti Bulls” I selected Mr. Francois Hougaard, deciding that any man who could wear a mullet like that with so much confidence must be “windgat”. How pleasantly surprised I was that during the first game I nitpicked he helped an opposition player up after he had tackled him, handed the ball to the opposing scrummie when he was bundled into touch instead of throwing in to the signage like most players to eliminate the quick throw in, and was the first to run up to the ref after the game, thank him and shake his hand.

I thought this must be a fluke, so the next game I selected another player. The week after another player. To my surprise the players themselves were all down-to-earth, well mannered, very disciplined gentlemen. Game after game I couldn’t find anything remotely windgat or arrogant. So why the anti Bulls sentiment then I thought? Truth is it was their fans. Loud, brash, rude, and arrogant. I’ve decided to ignore these fools from now on. They do the Bulls brand more damage with their attitudes than good, and promote provincialism by causing a divide amongst SA rugby supporters.

I wish the Bulls the best for this years tournament. To date they have been exceptional and are playing briliant running rugby. So until they face my Sharks, I will be supporting them 100%

• 85.Puma: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: 60 – Sormersboy. Very well said.

Also your Stormers are looking the business this year. Well done to them on their win this past weekend. Hope to see them in a Semi.

• 86.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: all good wolfman… I guess I misinterpreted the tone of your words lol..

Ive heard that one too, like we’d also negate McCaws and george Smiths major assets because we wanted to negate Heinreich (sp?) have to laugh at it all…

feel for Brussouw with his injury, never like to see that with any player..

• 87.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

The Bulls are at the level where all the other franchises should aspire to! It is fact – this coming from a Sharks supporter means something.

• 88.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7: Hi Richie, I am too behind the Bulls 100%. They making us all proud mate.

Never knew you were a Shark Supporter?

• 89.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

We need strong SA Franchises, especially now before 2011. Bulls and Stormers looking the part and Cheetahs starting to believe in themselves.

• 90.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: Agree 100% and I am to a Sharks Supporter.

Go Bulls and Stormers. Our two best this year. Get behind our boys no matter who our franchise we support.

• 91.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@Puma: I’m a Saffa; think my name sometimes suggests I’m from NZ

• 92.Staal: Reply to this comment

Is julle gerook? :lol:

• 93.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Puma: I know all the Sharks supporters Puma. We are not performing this year, but each franchise has the right to take a dip every now and then. It is our turn and we will return stronger for it.

• 94.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7: 82

Ja nee, a mob of Bulls supporters beat up my (then) girlfriend’s little brother in the toilets at Newlands stadium, a coupla years ago.

Blue Bulls are without a doubt, a class outfit… Pity the same can’t be said for the majority of their fans.

Gonna get me one of those “Fifa 2010 World Cup Anti-Stab” vests for the next Stormers/Bulls clash at Newlands :-D

• 95.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7: Yes you confuse yourself at times ;)

• 96.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: Bill, Sharks have the players just not sure why we doing so bad. Maybe one good win we may just hit our straps. Would be really great to see 4 saffa teams doing well.

Think Cheetahs are doing well too. Without Brussow they may lose something but still a good side.

Even Lions, everyone having a go at them. I hate to read that, we should always get behind our boys no matter which franchise they play in. Lions are playing better this year and who knows next year they could be right up there.

• 97.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: LOL Good luck! That said it’s not all the Bulls supporters. Watch out for those painted entirely blue or with a ring through their noses! They always look a little suspect!

• 98.Eminem: Reply to this comment

The music accompanying the Bulls brand has made it very hard for certain people to become genuine fans of the bulls. I wont mention any names, everyone knows and in fact, same goes for the music that is associated with rugby for example adds on super sport… they just kill… everything good that you want to take out of the game.

• 99.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Puma: I have no doubt that there is some infighting going on and believe that two brothers should decide if they want to buy in or ship out.

• 100.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts: Bill, We have the players and I have no doubt our team will get back up there. Maybe not this year but we just have to many good players to just stay down.

If we beat the Chiefs which we could have done also if Rory got his kicks over for the Cheetahs game. We just have have had more confidence and less pressure on our tour. May have made a difference.

Now just get behind our boys and support them no matter what, lose or win. Will always support my team. Also all our other saffa sides playing overseas sides. I will always support them.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.