‘We’ve achieved nothing yet’

Bulls coach Frans Ludeke says his champion side refuses to buy into the hype surrounding them.

Three wins from three, including a couple of comprehensive ones over some highly rated opposition. A fluent attack and improving defence and match winners across the track – the Bulls look the business.

In addition, they are heavily favoured to beat the Highlanders at Loftus on Saturday, stretching their unbeaten run at the ground to 14 matches. Yet Ludeke maintains perspective.

‘What have we done? We’ve won our home games. With the greatest humility, that is expected from a side who back themselves to contend for the title,’ Ludeke told keo.co.za.

‘We’ve achieved nothing yet. We haven’t toured Australasia, and we are still to play the Highlanders and Hurricanes at home. This tournament has a habit of humbling you if you get ahead of yourself and start believing the hype. We’re guarding against that, and we’re demanding an improved performance every time we step onto the field.’

Ludeke’s charges returned to training on Monday refreshed after a week where most of them were given the complete break. He said the benefits were patent in training, with the players exhibiting a fresh focus and looking sharp in their sessions.

The break also gave Ludeke the opportunity to consolidate his thinking regarding tactics and team selection, and to analyse the Highlanders closely. That analysis has lead him to identify the set phases and breakdown as their primary threats.

‘They’re a very good srcummaging unit and very competitive at the lineout. When those aspects of their game have operated well, they’ve asked big questions of some really good teams,’ he said.

‘They’re also one of the few teams who still contest the breakdown strongly despite the new law interpretations. They’re strong at the tackle point and counter-ruck with force. If they are able to slow the recycle it’ll be difficult for us to get the momentum that’s been at the heart of our success.

‘The guys are on high alert. They know they have to be switched on.’

Ludeke said they were focussed, although not exclusively, on shoring up their defence. They’ve leaked 10 tries in three matches, which is uncharacteristic for a side who have generally been one of the best defensive units over the last four years.

The Highlanders have punished teams who have had lapses in concentration or flat periods, and Ludeke was acutely aware of their penchant for the sucker punch.

‘It needs to be an accurate 80 minute performance on defence for us. We’ve probably let ourselves down slightly in that area and we can’t afford to rely on our attack to get us out of trouble,’ he said. ‘The best teams make themselves incredibly hard to score against and that’s what we are aspiring to.’

Ludeke has a selection conundrum in the back row with the return of No 8 Pierre Spies from injury. It is likely that he will thrust the hard running Springbok back into the fray immediately, but also has the option of playing Dewald Potgieter or Danie Rossouw there.

The combination of Rossouw (No 8), Pedrie Wannenberg (blindside flank) and Derick Kuun, who started against the Waratahs, looked cumbersome and unbalanced, and Ludeke should opt to reunite the regular trio of Spies, Potgieter and Deon Stegmann.

Outside of the back row reshuffle, there is unlikely to be any changes to the starting line-up who fronted the Tahs a fortnight ago.

225 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

• 151.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@JL1: 147

How about “Rolling” by Limp Bizkit? It’s got a very tenuous link to thunder (as in rolling thunder), but it’s one of those psyche-me-up-so-I-can-tackle-the-k@k-out-of-someone songs :-D

• 152.Bod: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: If I recall it was a night game and believe me after 45 ales I cant see, never mind count…

• 153.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

The Stormers fanpage on Facebook actually gives fans the opportunity to suggest songs for the playlist on game day – quite enlightened, if you ask me.

• 154.Bod: Reply to this comment

@gunther: Are you referring the the blind variety or the Eddie Eksteen vintage

• 155.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Puma: Fancy that we should find commonality on something as contentious as commentator bias and ability, or rather lack thereof.

Whenever I see Joel in person, I have this overwhelming urge to go up to him and tell him that you don’t put the “muckers” on someone, you put the “mockers” on them, unless it is a personal and private joke he insists on sharing with someone incognito.

Old Mex isn’t bad, but he has his moments as well. Guys I personally have a major problem listening to are Owen Nkumane and Broz.

During the UJ game last night Owen was continuously waxing lyrical about Edgar “Ramatlule” while it was Edgar Marathule, and if it wasn’t in the same game then earlier over the weekend a player, I believe it was Aubrey McDonald, while stumbling over his own feet in reality, appeared to have the wonderful feet and balance of “a dancing Lippizaner.”

As for Bob, what get’s me most is his propensity for wanting to come up for players when they, to put it bluntly, make a hash of things. It’s as if he believes he can talk it away.

• 156.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Bod: :lol: so how did you know it was 45 ales?? lmao

• 157.gunther: Reply to this comment

Bod

The ones that hang upside down.,.

• 158.catleya: Reply to this comment

And oh yes, what’s with the hoarsening of the voices when a feat of power is being described. Most commentators are guilty of this, though Owen and Broz again take the cake.

• 159.JL1: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Seems fair, we will have to control that Nagalakakkie as he is already a liability and might just lose control with a song like that playing in the back ground

He could easily crack, high tackle and then rip the heart out of the opposing player, beating his chest and showing it to the crowd. reat for PS3, but old alci, Steve Walsh, would sht a mountain

• 160.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

*waiting on Tacitus to swoop in and berate us from a dizzying height for hijacking a Bulls thread*

• 161.Eminem: Reply to this comment

Ashwin Willemse should commentate more.

• 162.Bod: Reply to this comment

Gunther.

In fact lets close this subject now.

The vision of Steve in his Stormers shirt, strolling down the tunnel mic in hand, that woes wiesjoupappa look, exploding onto the turf and booming out some kak liedtjie….

Yeesh, yegads……. The mind boggles.

Zip it

• 163.JL1: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Aussie commentators are the worst

• 164.skunkie: Reply to this comment

I love the aus and nz commentators. They are way better than our guys

• 165.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Bod: “wiesjoupappa”

Bwhahahahaaha!

He owns that trademark

• 166.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@JL1: 157

HAHAHAHAHAHA!! :lol: :lol:

The mental imagery! :lol:

Been thinking… There’s a Scottish band called Biffy Clyro, and they have a song called “Mountains”. Also a bit of a psyche-me-up number.

“I am a mountain, I am the sea, you can’t take that away from me…”

Considering it’s the first thing that comes to mind when people outside Cape Town talk about us (Table Mountain, and the sea), perhaps it’s apt, no?

But back to the drawing board, I’m going to give this one some serious thought… 8-)

• 167.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@Eminem: 159

Ess-win? Naaaaaai my bruuuuu…

• 168.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@skunkie: Nz commentators are a bit a bore imo (like our guys)

• 169.catleya: Reply to this comment

@JL1: Yes. Must say old “Kearnsey” and “Mato?” are probably the worst, but somehow they get me to laugh more than our okes. I guess it’s the sheer entertainment value of the kuk they talk that gets to me. And Rod Kafer is probably at the top of their heap.

• 170.JL1: Reply to this comment

@catleya: I have to agree, 10 out of 10 for entertainment

Listen to Kearnsey do his Scrum technique 101:

“You know that little groove below your but cheek, now that is where the loose forwards shoulder should go in and support you as prop”

• 171.skunkie: Reply to this comment

Andy goode as per the aus commentators. He is probably the only player in the super14 with a comp-over lmao

• 172.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@Eminem: 166

No ways bru… The bias of NZ and Oz commentators alone is worth the entertainment value.

• 173.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: He should replace stransky actually. ;)

• 174.Staal: Reply to this comment

Fdp injured….

• 175.Staal: Reply to this comment

but maybe ok… give him a rest… better option…

• 176.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@Staal: 172

How badly?

• 177.gunther: Reply to this comment

Staal

From what?

• 178.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

That was hilarious! :)

Great to see the commitment from all the players. The Stormers look wonderful defensively, but they have a long, long way to go yet. I think the loss against the Brumbies will be their downfall in the end.

And to the guys who jumped all over my post yesterday, I know the Maties were not deserved winners, but the only point I was trying to make was that in time the final score will be the only thing that will be remembered.

And to jump to the conclusion that I was only referring the Afrikaners while I clearly stated ‘rugby players’ is very revealing.

Even more revealing is the swearing and the racist comments that followed and the delicious irony of calling me immature and racist.

That was just to clarify to the mods that I had no malicious intent whatsoever.

It’s encouraging to see that the Bulls have talented youngsters breaking through the ranks and making their mark. They will have to take care of the cracks in their defense before the tour starts though.

The Stormers have had a positive start, but I have a bad feeling that they will not be consistent enough. Great to see Burger back to his robust best, and de Jongh has been very impressive.

As for my Cheetahs, great to see the attitude and hunger, a mid-table finish would be a great improvement. Ebersohn looks a fantastic prospect too.

The less said about the other two the better, although they have been improving slightly.

All in all our rugby seems to be in a healthy state.

Where’s Pissant these days?

• 179.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Yeah but the aussies are openly and entertainingly biased while the new zealanders tend to be a bit more boring in commentary.

• 180.Staal: Reply to this comment

turned his ankle. if must can play but they thinking of resting him.

• 181.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

@Staal:

Vir hoe lank? Ek dink julle gaan hom nodig he teen die Hurricanes.

• 182.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk: net rus maybe die week. sal more besluit.

• 183.catleya: Reply to this comment

And what’s with the Reds this year? They insist on be-devilling my Superbru. Against the Tahs I went against them and got lucky, but caught a skrik. So I worried a little against the Saders but in the end went against them again to my peril. So thenI went with them vs the Blues and they got trashed. And then, come Blues vs Saders, I reckoned well go with the Blues, and voila- stumped again. So directly or indirectly they’ve cost me minimum 3, possibly 4,5 and potentially like 9 points so far, which if I add it to my current tally of 27,5 would see me right up there amongst the smoking guns, given that my success rate in spite of them is like 76 % or so.

• 184.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

STAAL

WTF…. nie goeie nuus nie pel…!

• 185.JL1: Reply to this comment

OK Ok, enough, just now you all start crying over FDPs injury

I hope it is not too bad, but the rest will be good for our Boks

• 186.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Blouboerseun: gaan moontlik nog speel die naweek… sal more weet.

maar ek dink hy moet nie kanse vat nie..

canes volg week!

• 187.wpw: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2:

Oh dear. You’re a Bulls supporter!! :roll: :shock:

• 188.Blouboerseun: Reply to this comment

Ja rus hom eerder…..

• 189.Staal: Reply to this comment

:roll:

• 190.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk: I am a Bulls fan, but must say I have always thought that the Cheetahs play total if not always winning, rugby which is entertaining to watch. Like Province in the days when Carel Dup was still the prince of wings. And the Boks with Carel as coach inhis last game, and under Mallet in that amazing test vs France.

I am so chuffed with what Pieter Rossouw is doing with the bulls backs and the way in which the style has pulled in the forwards as well.

I’m not too worried about the defense. I reckon the opposition have mostly adapted well to the new interpretations as well, and if they hang on to the ball and can take it through the phases, no matter how good your defense, the holes will start appearing. So the trick is for the Bulls to focus on hanging onto the ball and to score more tries than their opponents by finishing better.

The Stormers have been made to look good by all their opponents this year because the opponents have all adopted a more expansive faster gameplan vs them than vs the Bulls due to the the preconceived difference in playing styles of the two sides, and have coughed the ball up regularly through bad finishing and basic errors as a result.

Their acid test will come vs teams like the Hurricanes and Saders on song, and the Reds on the up.

• 191.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Ok, “STOP THE LORRY!!” Who saw the Steve Walsh wink to the Brumbies front ranker after he yellow carded the Lions prop on Superrugby last night!!??? What was that all about?

Tell me there is an investigation into this obvious suspicious behaviour. Pleaseeeee……

This is k@k, we are being screwed over by the Ausie refs and Keo isn’t even running the story.

• 192.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Mr. Vrede

How about a story on Stevie’s wink? any comments from keo on this incident? was he wearing his beer goggles and thought that maybe the Brumbie prop was a blonde bombshell…..i can certainly see how the man boobs could have thrown him ;-)

• 193.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck: always knew he was a winker…..

• 194.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Blouboerseun:

fourie sal reg wees hy het dan nou net n week gerus, willie hom teveel rusie hy moet sy pap verdien.

• 195.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

Negativity from stormers fans about the bulls occurs largely because Tacitus and friends get all foamy about the mouth regarding the anything positive or hopeful from the south.

If you dish it out then you have to be able to take a bit on the chin without crying.

I just rest the first page of comments, so probably the topic has changed by now, sorry for that.

• 196.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

“just read”

• 197.blueboy: Reply to this comment

I have just read most of the comments on this thread and i can understand all the anti bulls blogs as for most of the people writing them what have their teams won in the last ten years(correct me if i am wrong)wp/stormers NOTHING lions-NOTHING cheetahs-2cc wins and 1shared with the BULLS sharks-1cc win,the BULLS-2002-2009=8CC finals and the BULLS have been in EVERYONE and they have won 4 lost 3 and shared 1,in 2007 they won the super14 and 2009 they won the super14 and the CC.After reading the other teams records in that period,no wonder you are so anti-bulls and it shows as the posts i read smack of pure JEALOUSY as your teams are winning NOTHING.I still remember the dark days at loftus when the BULLS finished last in the super rugby log as they never won a game but the BULLS overcame these dark days and have 2 super rugby finals victories to theis credit.All i can say is that until any of the other SA teams wins 2 super rugby finals then and only then can can they be classed as equals with the bulls and their supporters,as they have EARNED the right to think that their team is No 1 in SA.MEI BLOED IS BLOU.

• 198.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@blueboy:

Interesting argument …. sounds like I can say whatever i like here then :)

• 199.wpjoulekkading: Reply to this comment

@blueboy: Oh please Bullsboy.

The Bulls are not exempt from criticism because they won the S14 twice.

Other teams are allowed to have pride in their teams and be hopeful.

Nobody is denying the Bulls are a good/great side currently and did brilliantly winning their two titles.

Just stop the crying when somebody exercises their right to say something, especially if all the Blue fans stomp allover the other teams at any opportunity.

• 200.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

Yeah, a tough draw the Bulls playing the Crusaders at home

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.