Sireli to front Canes

Allister Coetzee has favoured the bulkier Sireli Naqelevuki over the free-running Gio Aplon for the Stormers’ clash with the Hurricanes.

The Fijian produced a strong performance against the lowly Highlanders last week, carrying several defenders on his back whenever he attacked the advantage line. Aplon didn’t start that match because of the flu, and that illness seems to have cost him. Naqelevuki proved his worth and is picked because physicality rather than pace will prove crucial against the Canes.

Coetzee tried to pass off Naqelevuki’s selection as one of continuity following last week’s 33-0 win over the Hurricanes, but there’s little doubt the Fijian is more likely to trouble the Canes defenders in close contact. The Stormers coach also said the back-three won’t be exposed without the left boot of Aplon.

‘We want to keep the ball in hand this week,’ he told keo.co.za, ‘it has nothing to do with the opposition. We’re focused on what we want to achieve.

‘Rain is forecast for Saturday, and while we won’t fight the elements, we’d like to play a running game.’

Despite Coetzee’s mention of a ball-in-hand approach, the Stormers are unlikely to alter a winning formula. Nobody, not the media or public, is going to complain if they beat the Hurricanes 3-0 on Saturday, as this remains one of the most important matches of the league stage.

Coetzee has retained Dewaldt Duvenage at scrumhalf to give the Stormers a kicking option at No 9, while Anton van Zyl’s inclusion in the second row suggests a five-jumper lineout will target the Canes in an area where the visitors are weak.

Tiaan Liebenberg is also back after missing the last game with flu, and will be a boost at scrum time. Deon Fourie is a good ball carrier with a loose forward’s turn of speed, but can’t compare to Liebenberg for powerful, tackle-busting running or aggressive scrummaging.

‘They have an all All Blacks front row, so it’s going to be a massive challenge for us in that department,’ admitted Coetzee. ‘Deon played very well last week, but we felt Tiaan has the experience for this very important battle.’

Stormers – 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Sireli Naqelevuki, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Anton van Zyl, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Subs: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JC Kritzinger, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Lionel Cronje, 22 Gio Aplon.

By Jon Cardinelli

70 Comments

• 1.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Looking better than he has in a long time. Just no high tackles on Smith please. He has a low centre of gravity and will try and duck under the tackle…..

• 2.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

Fijian Dragon.

• 3.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy:

Let’s hope the Fijian retains his hunger from last week. Otherwise he’s just gonna Naqele-walkie all over the pitch again.

• 4.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Actually a very good looking team, from 1 through 22. No real weak link anywhere. i’m looking forward to seeing more of Lionel Cronje. Really haven’t seen enough of him against strong opposition to form an opinion……

• 5.ufo: Reply to this comment

not a bad call…

let Sireli run at the big guys for 60 minutes and tire them out… then let Gio loose to run rings round them… like a mini-hurricane…

• 6.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

I reckon they should do the same substitutions as last week, but just with time to spare:

Bring Cronje in, move Grant to 12, De Jongh to 13, Aplon for Sireli, and let the k@k spat!

J. Fourie’s a bit of a worry at the moment – let’s hope he lifts his game this weekend.

• 7.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

I hope Lionel Cronje starts against the Cheetahs next week, Grant hasn’t done jack-**** so far, give Lionel a chance

• 8.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Good call. Stormers needed another big line breaker in the backline.

• 9.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid: 7

With you on that one, but (I’m assuming) in the view of the coaches/management, Grant is probably a safe bet, and Cronje a bit of a gamble.

• 10.ufo: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid:

i’m with you there… cronje or de waal…

• 11.st.a.t.w: Reply to this comment

i’d rather play with grant then without him

• 12.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

No, no, no… Cronje, yes. De Waal, no.

• 13.ufo: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan:

we’re talking about against the cheetahs here…

who would know more about their play and how to beat them…?

• 14.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

De Waal’s playing Vodacom Cup, let sleeping dogs lie :lol:

• 15.ufo: Reply to this comment

@st.a.t.w:

IMO… regretfully because he’s apparently a really nice guy…

but in my opinion 10 is the weak link in the Stormers set up… Grant isn’t playing ‘general’ and dominating the game… not getting us go-forward field position… not relieving pressure from within our own 22… not getting enough distance going for touch…

we need cronje ( or even De Waal) to play the territorial game so our backs can attack from around their 22… then you’ll see us getting try-scoring bonus points in every game…

what’s happening now is our tries are being scored through mauls or our back are scoring from deep, against the run of play…

we can’t expect our backs to attack and score from their own 22 all game long and expect 4-try bonus points…

we need a flyhalf who can secure us consistent position through strategic kicking from where our backs can do their magic…

sadly, Peter Grant ain’t that guy… IMO…

• 16.nikoli: Reply to this comment

have to agree about Grant, dependable but nothing flash. No real magic flyhalf in SA at the moment

• 17.wpw: Reply to this comment

Gents, I think we should stick with Grant for now. Lionel should get more game time from the bench and be phased in slowly.

The oke is a greenhorn. We don’t want another ‘Gaffie’ situation now do we??

• 18.wpw: Reply to this comment

@ufo:

I dont think Grant is the weak link. I think De Jongh’s distribution or lack of it is the problem!!!

• 19.wpw: Reply to this comment

@ufo:

bwahahahahahaha

You said ‘go forward’ :mrgreen:

• 20.nikoli: Reply to this comment

Time for Jaque Fourie to come to party now

• 21.nikoli: Reply to this comment

I mean “the party”

• 22.wpw: Reply to this comment

@nikoli:

Is your surname Blignaut?? :wink:

• 23.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@nikoli:

:lol: That’s probably part of the problem – he came to Cape Town to party :lol:

• 24.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@wpw:

What is this phasing in ****, Derick Hougaard was a CC winner at 19, a s12 player and the Bok world cup FH at 20. He was thrown in the deep end, learned to swim with sharks and came out a LIEFLING.

Let the boy play!

• 25.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@wpw: I agree with you. He had a good game last week, and works well with Duvenage. It would send the wrong message to drop him now, and we’ll need his defence against the ‘canes

• 26.wpw: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa:

Well, there are many more players who did NOT make it because they were thrown in too soon.

I think the Stormers coaching staff agree with my opinion or else he would have started a while ago!!

• 27.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

Until that fateful day when Brian “The Chiropractor” Lima threw a spanner in the works… That young man hasn’t been the same since.

• 28.wpw: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy:

Yep. And his defense has been solid!!

I can’t remember Grant missing a tackle in ages.

The problem is that he doesn’t dominate like Steyn does but he does the basics quite well…

• 29.WP_: Reply to this comment

Good stuff.

This is a very powerful side. The best out of what we have available

• 30.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Yes, and unfortunately I lay the blame solely at Joost VD Westhuizen’s feet for that one. He threw one of his usual wild passes above Hougaard’s head, with him having to stretch up to grab it, leaving his torso perfectly exposed for Lima’s diving tackle. It’s almost as if Joost wanted him out. Shocking pass. His tendency to pass too wildly is the one thing that stops him from being one of the all time greats. And I don’t care what Tacitus thinks.

• 31.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@wpw: @17, I find the “Gaffie Du Toit” analogy very ,very strange, in fact I dont buy into it at all, Gaffie was playing for Stellenboch when he was 21yrs old, played for Griquas when he was 22, made his Springbok debut the same year, I think it was 98, played against Ireland in Bloem, the boks won, was then part of the year end tour, came back the following year, played for the Cats, then against Wales and Italy, all this before infamous “Dave Van Hoesselen and Gaffie Du Toit” debacle against the All Blacks.

He was a 22 years old!!! with Super 12, tests experience under his belt!!, the fact of the matter Gaffie bottled, period, nothing to do with his age but he simply wasn’t up to it, some other players like JPP, who seem to be less talented compared to Gaffie at the same age, have almost 30 caps by the time they are 22yrs old.If there is anyone to blame, blame Gaffie for being chicken ****, Mallet didnt give him his debut against the All Blacks away from home

If you are good enough, you are old enough

ps: How do you explain WP using an Australian 19 yr old ahead of a South African 20 yr old??

• 32.ufo: Reply to this comment

@wpw: @ 18

Yeah… but they are two seperate issues…

Grant is normally first receiver who’s job it is to put in those strategic, position-winning and pressure-relieving kicks…

kicking is not De Jongh’s job…

sure De Jongh needs to get the ball through his hands a lot more and a lot quicker… but that’s another debate…

• 33.wpw: Reply to this comment

That 20 yr old Aussie didnt start for WP did he?? We used him becos we were desperate… And lastly, the CC is nowhere near as tough as the S14

• 34.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

Does anybody know what’s up with hoffman when will he get a chance again?

• 35.ufo: Reply to this comment

for sure guys… I’ll give credit where it’s due and Peter Grant’s defence is very good…

• 36.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

Talking about age…… Careter was about 19 when played his first test, wasn’t he?

• 37.wpw: Reply to this comment

Hoffman is playing VC rugby. He has yet to reproduce the form he had in his debut season

• 38.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

Hoffman seemed to be rocking in the varsity cup….. I know the level of play is not the same, but I reckon that boy willplay big rugby one day.

• 39.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

Who wants to take a stab at the scoreline on Saturday?
    Stormers 35 Canes 24

• 40.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: You right, blame Joost, but then again,no, dont blame Joost, Joost did what any man would do under the same situation, he obviously hadn’t recovered from Brian “The Chiropractor” Lima’s tackle in 95. Joost was almost cut into halfs in 95, 8years late he knew, what was coming, sorry Houggie, it was either him ( again) or you old chap, we all know what Joost chose :-)

• 41.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@wpw: @33, the 19 yr old Aussie had already played Super Rugby for the Brumbies, whilst we are cotton wooling our 20 yr olds, its rubbish

• 42.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Canes backlash sinks sorry Stormers? On a more serious note, what is the weather going to be like come the weekend? The Cape is going mad climate-wise.

• 43.Green Goblin: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk: At the moment it is raining and they are expecting rain till next week

• 44.wpw: Reply to this comment

Xhosa
    Are you sure he played Super rugby for the Brumbies?? I dont think he played for them last yr!! He might have been contracted but i doubt he played

• 45.Green Goblin: Reply to this comment

He was on the bench for the Brumbies against the Stormers this year

• 46.bokbal: Reply to this comment

Where on earth did you guys see that it will be raining come saturday??? It’s gonna be all clear and the heat will start building again from saturday with the temp reaching 39c in paarl and i think 34 in ct on monday, much cooler that it has been lately, but far from rain…

• 47.THAT GUY/DAAI OU: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa: I still remember the SA rugby mag. with Hougard on the front page and it said something like Bok’s secret weapon. Ja right…

• 48.THAT GUY/DAAI OU: Reply to this comment

@THAT GUY/DAAI OU: Sorry the mag just before the world cup

• 49.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I wonder who will be the referee?
    Typical Keo thread: the most important factor isn’t mention.
    The musical chairs game of the Q backs’ selection is secondary, and, Sireli cost the Srormers their CC final, suddenly he is going to front up to Nonu?
    The odds that Sireli will see some good ball via De Jongh are slim anyway

• 50.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@nikoli:
    Won’t happened with De Jongh in the way

• 51.Green Goblin: Reply to this comment

Steve Walsh is the ref during the Stormers/Canes game

• 52.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Green Goblin:
    In that case, my prediction will be revised, maybe not.
    Walsh is on the taking, he isn’t biased like Honest Hoennis

• 53.Wp_FanS14: Reply to this comment

@Green Goblin: Not good. Maybe want to restore some pride in NZ.

• 54.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid: he he well if it was him or Hougie, then I can totally understand lol…

• 55.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

This is the strongest starting lineup:

Sireli to carry 3-4 defenders at a time ,kokorot to run their legs off in the last 20

Teabag to bulk up the front row grunt,ditto Fourie to run the legs off ‘em

Anton and Andries to fark them up in the lineout

Duvvies to start…what a question…Stormers to defend like demons,score 4 tries and end up 2nd on the log :lol: :lol: :lol:

• 56.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

some cricketers look like they have all the time in the world when facing fastbowlers at 140kmph. Pirelli always looks like this. just not so sure he is always so effective. i often feel that there is not enough urgency in his game.

• 57.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Also looking fwd to seeing more of Lionel Cronje…this boytjie is on the up and up..!!

• 58.wpw: Reply to this comment

I’d love to run into Hondo in a dark alley some time. Ek sal vir hom lekker donner!!

• 59.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2: yah ..but he’s certainly upped his game,last week he had a blinder,so being dropped seems to have lit a fire under the dude ;)

• 60.Seven: Reply to this comment

just a quick question for Grant10…

do you still want Schalk out the side big guy?

• 61.Robzim: Reply to this comment

If the Stormers are going to try and play an expansive open game against the Saders they are going to come short.
    The backs of the Saders (especially with the brilliant Conrad Smith back in the team)will relish such a contest.

The best way to beat them imo is to deny them possession,target their vulnerable lineout, keep them pinned back in their half of the field with well directed kicks, frustrate them and force them to try and attack from deep inside their own half.
    And kick the penalties that will follow when they become frustrated.

The Stormers have the forwards to achieve this.
    They do however not have the flyhalf to play such a type of game why I also have my doubts of whether Joe Petersen has the big match temperament to kick penalties when the heat is really on.

That is why I make the Canes slight favourites.

• 62.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Saders should read Canes in the first paragraph as well.

• 63.Green Goblin: Reply to this comment

Willem de Waal should have been in the starting line up

• 64.roobarb2: Reply to this comment

have to admit he has upped his game, maybe Habana is rubbing off on him.

(that was not a *** joke)

• 65.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Hey Rob. Howzit. Have to agree with you boet. Now try tell that to Skoppie.

• 66.Green Goblin: Reply to this comment

This is hilarious – from Springboksarah on facebook :-)

Weekend’s Weather Forecast ;) Share
    Today at 19:59
    The latest from Weather SA:

Friday: Fine becoming cloudy overnight

Saturday: Showers, possible thundershowers (60%). There may be a few mild Hurricanes coming in from the east by late afternoon but they are expected to be driven away by fierce Cape Storms. Damage caused by Hurricane Wellington is expected to be nothing compared to the havoc caused by Storm Burger (who destroys everything crossing his path), the Flo of the oceans which is taking down battleships and the Blaauw of the Cape winds which seems to be blowing everybody away. In the Newlands area the tourists will not be able to take anything for Granted and must be wary of the natural Duvenhage Disaster who aided to obliteration of the Highladers last week.

The NZ tourists are afraid that a certain knighted (Sir Naqelevuki) South Sea Islander may have cannibalistic tendencies because he is allegedly demolishing and devouring anyone who gets in his way. They have been warned against a certain Giant Cape Worm (Van Zyl) who seems to be after all the New Zealanders balls. They are advised to stay clear of the Cape’s notorious moving Brok Wall, running into it could be fatal. They also don’t understand why everyone in the Cape is talking about Januarie when it is already March

Hungry tourists from NZ are warned not to attempt to tackle the extra extra large Cape Burger on their own. At least three big, strong men are needed to make any impression on the beefy Burger, who is very popular in the Cape of Storm(er)s.

Sunday: Partly cloudy, morning showers (30%)

• 67.Rugbyfiction: Reply to this comment

Here is some news from the Cane’s camp. Hope this time its a different story re the results…

Hurricanes coach Colin Cooper believes No 7 is the toughest position under the new rules and he has continued to shuffle his flankers ahead of the crucial clash with the Stormers in Cape Town on Sunday (NZ time).

All Black Scott Waldrom comes in for Karl Lowe in one of several changes from the team that was so disappointing in last week’s loss to the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein.

Cooper had had no hesitation in rushing fit-again internationals Conrad Smith and Tamati Ellison into his backline.

This, he says, is a match where the Hurricanes need all the experience they can muster to try to bounce back against an increasingly confident Stormers outfit.

Experience is a factor in Waldrom’s recall but it’s also about managing the loose forwards stocks, especially with the Bulls waiting in Pretoria next week.

“I think seven is probably the toughest position in rugby at the moment. They have to be tough and they have to be smart,” Cooper said of the loose forwards having to operate under the new breakdown interpretations.

“Karl is a physical man and for him to play every week isn’t the smartest thing to do

“It’s about adjusting, managing and also the travel. We have got depth in the loose forwards and I have to be smart with how I manage these guys. I have learnt some lessons from the past with Chris Masoe and Jerry Collins and how we managed those guys. I guess it’s my experience that I’m really bringing out.”

Cooper believed the Stormers would provide the sternest test of the Hurricanes’ campaign to date. They had strength across the park, an ability to play the game any way they wanted and they had a particularly impressive lineout where they used successful drives to demolish the Highlanders last week.

“It’s a big game for us and that’s why we have gone for the most experienced group that we can get,” he said of his selections that include Willie Ripia returning for Aaron Cruden and another Manawatu youngster, Andre Taylor, dropped.

He believed last week’s result had added some urgency to his group. The Cheetahs were a game they had targeted “on paper” to win. That hadn’t worked out so now the pressure was on to salvage something out of the Stormers. They had been down this road before and battled back. It was time to do it again.

“It’s like getting haunted or revisited again by the ’06 tour when we lost to the Cheetahs in our first game and had to head down to the Stormers,” Cooper noted.

Ad Feedback The Canes lost to the Cheetahs 27-25 then and bounced back to pip the Stormers 23-19 a week later. They might find a more resilient outfit in Cape Town this weekend although Cooper sensed his troops were up for it.

“It’s one of the toughest countries to tour and that’s because their rugby is so good.

“But that’s the challenge that we have to embrace. We are united as a group and I guess that character is going to be put under the test this weekend. That’s good … that’s what this competition is about.”

He believed the second week of a South African trip was always easier with sleep patterns adjusted.

Hurricanes: Cory Jane, Tamati Ellison, Conrad Smith, Ma’a Nonu, David Smith, Willie Ripia, Piri Weepu, Rodney So’oialo, Scott Waldrom, Victor Vito, Michael Paterson, Bryn Evans, Neemia tialata, Andrew Hore (captain), Jacob Ellison.

Reserves: Dane Coles, John Schwalger, Jeremy Thrush, Karl Lowe, Tyson Keats, Aaron Cruden, Alapati Leiua.

• 68.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Green Goblin: :lol:

• 69.Seven: Reply to this comment

@roobarb2: is that you grant10?

• 70.Warpath: Reply to this comment

Money is on the Hurricanes !! Most importantly, Habana should be in top form cause he single-handedly can win them this game. I just hope he doesn’t get penalized a lot like the game last week…Sireli might get substituted early (this coming from his only supporter) as David smith is just a weee too fast for him

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.