Canes aim to outbash Stormers
11 Mar 2010
Piri Weepu believes the more physical team will win the clash between the Hurricanes and Stormers.
‘Tonight’s going to be a good night!’, The Black Eyed Peas hit plays from the team bus in the background as Weepu prepares for the interview. The song sets the mood for what the Canes will be hoping to achieve at Newlands on Saturday night – victory.
After their disappointing performance against the Cheetahs last weekend, Weepu said they’re looking to make a step up.
‘The more physical side will win. The battle up front will be vital, so we will look to make our mark there,’ Weepu told keo.co.za. ‘We also have [centre] Conrad Smith and [wing] Tamati Ellison back. The young guys [Andrew Taylor and Alapati Leiua] did well last weekend, but it we will be stronger in attack and defence now that we are back to full strength. We are feeling confident.’
The Stormers boast the best defensive record in the competition, only conceding two tries in four games, but the Canes will be a major threat to in their red zone.
With Smith and Ellison added to a backline which already includes All Blacks Ma’a Nonu, Cory Jane and in-form wing David Smith, the Kiwis will look to play an expansive game. Those offload passes and the continuity in play has led to most of their tries this season.
‘The Stormers have been impressive in defence and we do expect a full defensive line when we are on attack on Saturday. I can’t say what areas we will target but we do have our plans in place to expose them,’ said Weepu.
‘We will look to take the points whenever the opportunity comes.’
Weepu’s opposite number will be Dewaldt Duvenage. A big debatable point is whether the Stormers should start Duvenage instead of Springbok No 9 Ricky Januarie.
‘In my opinion, it all depends who suits the game plan. I’ve faced Ricky many times before and he is a world-class halfback, but the coach obviously sees Dewaldt as a more suitable pick,’ said Weepu.
‘I’ve done my homework on Dewaldt and look forward to the battle against him.’
Gareth Duncan, in Cape Town

72 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
11 Mar 2010, 13:35 pm
Time out
11 Mar 2010, 13:37 pm
Bill – come on here leave one or two comments and then off again. Same old same old inhouse fighting going on lol
11 Mar 2010, 13:39 pm
@Storm outta hell:
I am truely looking fwd to the Bulls , Stomers derby, will travel from George to support the Bulls at Newlands with a combi bus full of Strmrs friends( only Bull), was there in 2007 when Roos did us proud for that R50.00 we slipped him.
11 Mar 2010, 13:39 pm
you are all funny, Bill who were you previously?
11 Mar 2010, 13:41 pm
sorry i meant i was at newlands in 2008 ( prev Post 53)
11 Mar 2010, 13:42 pm
well all half day for me gonna go now see you
11 Mar 2010, 13:46 pm
@Karen: No had to get some serious work out.
@Alfred E Neuman: Glen of the flat hills mate.
11 Mar 2010, 13:47 pm
@Alfred E Neuman: Lol well to survive here one needs to have a sense of humour
11 Mar 2010, 13:48 pm
@Bill Reyts: You need to learn how to multi-task
11 Mar 2010, 13:48 pm
@Karen: For sure
11 Mar 2010, 13:49 pm
Ok Bill and Alfred – I am outa here – have a fun afternoon and play nicely on this site
11 Mar 2010, 13:50 pm
@Karen: Doing it now aint I! Had to go collect the washing and ironing – pay the credit card and apply for an increase on overdraft. Just a small little thing to do. But done now.
11 Mar 2010, 13:51 pm
@Karen: Jeez on for two posts and then off again. You little **** stirrer you.
11 Mar 2010, 13:56 pm
@Alfred E Neuman: Now I am Lam my friend. Can’t believe you would ever forget your best tjommie.
11 Mar 2010, 14:15 pm
@Bill Reyts: Hey I aim to please
11 Mar 2010, 14:17 pm
@Karen: I’m pleased to aim too!
11 Mar 2010, 14:18 pm
@Karen: What happened to all the founder members? The dropping like ‘vrot’ apples.
11 Mar 2010, 14:18 pm
@Karen: Lam is soooo confused it is unbelievable.
11 Mar 2010, 14:52 pm
@vasteses: As for Willie Doos, I say thank you Griquas, you did us proud, more brandy and coke for you
11 Mar 2010, 14:58 pm
@XhosaKid:
I wonder what happened to the spectator who did us that favour. The last time I heard he was in some trouble with the authorities in Kimberley. I was hoping he could perhaps do the same to Plonker Jonker.
11 Mar 2010, 15:09 pm
@Robzim: @70, No, the security guards had seen how the Bulls were yet again helped to an undeserving 25-24 win, they let the oke free, in fact, they stopped short of thanking him
We must find some passionate bloke from the flats to sort out Die Plonker, might need more than klippies and coke to get rid of this sucker
12 Mar 2010, 10:00 am
I think the Hurricanes will take this one. Conrad Smith and Ma’a Nonu will bust through the midfield at will while Rodney So’oialo and Scott Waldrom will dominate the ruck situations. At the same time the Stormers have shown little tactical awareness and their defences is brittle.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All