Sharks reshuffle front row
11 Mar 2010
The Sharks have reverted to their favoured front row for their match against the Brumbies in Canberra on Saturday.
John Smit shifts from hooker to tighthead prop in place of Jannie du Plessis, allowing Bismarck du Plessis to start at No 2. Beast Mtawarira bumps Deon Carstens out of the run-on side at loosehead prop. In fact, Carstens can’t find be accommodated in the 22, with coach John Plumtree preferring hooker Craig Burden on the wood.
In other changes, Jacques Botes takes over from Keegan Daniel at openside flank, while on the bench lock Alistair Hargreaves is selected ahead of Wilhelm Steenkamp.
Sharks -15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Adrian Jacobs, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11. JP Pietersen, 10, Andy Goode, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johann Muller, 4. Steven Sykes, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Keegan Daniel , 21 Rory Kockott, 22 Waylon Murray.

46 Comments
11 Mar 2010, 11:49 am
Where’s G10 when you need him?
11 Mar 2010, 11:52 am
Nice to see Burden there, as well as Hargreaves.
Smit at 3, deep sigh. Here we go again. So tired of this.
Would have liked to see Daniels start this one with George Smith lurking. Faster to the ball than Botes.
And the usual suspects should go aka Ndungane. Lets see what Mvovo can do, the poor bugger is not featuring. Maybe his form in touch during the warm ups is poor!!
11 Mar 2010, 11:53 am
@Oubaas2009: lol hiyas boet , poor grant gonna have a panty attack
must say with JDUP’s stupidity last week i dont think plum had much option
also strange that steenkamp got left out
then the best sharks loosies again not being put together
and then mvovo is still out in the cold for Odwa
11 Mar 2010, 11:53 am
GO SHARKS !!!
11 Mar 2010, 11:56 am
@sharks_lover: Agreed with Jannie Kanniescrumnie having an appetite for yellow, Plum doesn’t have much choice at 3 I suppose. Carsten has played there previously but never had much success on the tighthead.
IMO thats why he was moved to 1.
Still gives me a headache but not as much as Grant!
11 Mar 2010, 11:57 am
@Charlie: lol hiyas charlie
yup GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS
11 Mar 2010, 12:00 pm
my concern is the G@@de channel that is going to be under threat the whole game
and with him having no speed i fear the worst, yes even a yellow for a stupid tackle
that is how he got caught out in his first game
11 Mar 2010, 12:01 pm
@ Sharkslover : Wiehahn Herbst is looking good in the Vodacom Cup at 3. Lets hope his development continues.
11 Mar 2010, 12:02 pm
@Oubaas2009: this is true but so is cilliers
11 Mar 2010, 12:03 pm
Sorry to say , but i cant see the Sharks winning this game . There is something seriously wrong in the sharks camp. Agree with the posts on Odwa . Sharks centre pairing must be the worst combo in the Super 14 Let’s see how long Andy no Goode plays before he gets another yellow . Soooo disapointed with the Sharks this season . . . . .
11 Mar 2010, 12:04 pm
@sharks_lover: Cilliers was on the loosehead from the 10 minutes or so I watched of the VC. Did he also play on the tight? He was also giving the WP okes a hard time I hear.
11 Mar 2010, 12:06 pm
Gonna be a ‘HUGE’ ask to take the Brumbies on at home. Come on boys. Anyone know who is reffing?
We know its not Pro or Paul thank god!
11 Mar 2010, 12:07 pm
@SamM: Cry me a river
11 Mar 2010, 12:08 pm
Cilliers is quality and gets around the park . Quite rate Burden . Heard a rumor that the Du Plessis bros signed for the rebels . . . .
11 Mar 2010, 12:08 pm
@sharks_lover: Awe, so lovely
11 Mar 2010, 12:09 pm
@Charlie: more than a river .. . .
@Oubaas2009: uhm dont ask oubaas
a new kiwi is blowing in his first super 14
LEGAL DRAMA IN DURBAN…..You HAVE to read this!UNBELIEVABLE !
A seven-year old boy was at the centre of a courtroom drama yesterday at the Durban High court when he challenged a court ruling over who should have custody of him. The boy has a history of being beaten by his parents and the judge initially awarded custody to his aunt, in keeping with child custody law and regulation requiring that family unity be maintained to the highest degree possible..
The boy surprised the court when he proclaimed that his aunt beat him more than his parents and he adamantly refused to live with her. When the judge then suggested that he live with his grandparents, the boy cried and said that they also beat him.
After considering the remainder of the immediate family and learning that domestic violence was apparently a way of life among them, the judge took the unprecedented step of allowing the boy to propose who should have custody of him.
After two recesses to check legal references and confer with the child welfare officials, the judge granted temporary custody to The Sharks whom the boy firmly believes are not capable of beating anyone.
11 Mar 2010, 12:10 pm
lol charlie
11 Mar 2010, 12:11 pm
@Sonito:
11 Mar 2010, 12:13 pm
@Sonito: good humour! lol
11 Mar 2010, 12:14 pm
@sharks_lover: 17. OMG
11 Mar 2010, 12:15 pm
@Charlie: Good for you…
11 Mar 2010, 12:18 pm
@Oubaas2009: yes boeet OMG is right
11 Mar 2010, 12:28 pm
what utter bs selections from my beloved sharks?!?!
for this crunch brunch game they go and do this?!?!
carstens have probably been the best prop in his limited game time so far this season, eish, we just don learn…
as much as iike odwa, he should be given a rest and speed training course. mvovo to show a bit..
deysels should start and keegan not even be on the bench.
how unlucky is steenkamp, showing class and form we dump him for an out of sorts hargraves… steenkamp should sart never mind bench.
captain my captain should bench it in place of jannie ‘go trip ur own fooken mama’ dup, and carstens start at 3…
my 7 cents worth
11 Mar 2010, 12:47 pm
@Oubaas2009:
Brumbies vs Sharks in Canberra
Referee: Garratt Williamson (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Paul Marks (Australia), Simon Moore (Australia)
Television match official: Matt Goddard (Australia)
11 Mar 2010, 12:59 pm
@rossoneri: 26. Ohhh my. They have Paul on touch, and Matt on the TMO!
11 Mar 2010, 13:27 pm
@Oubaas2009: Hope somebody tackles Marks by accident
11 Mar 2010, 13:34 pm
@Sonito:
11 Mar 2010, 13:58 pm
@rossoneri: How can this continue? Sharks this season have had to endure Marks and Pro (both now deemed kak) and also that ar$ewhipe from the Chiefs game, Banks or something? And now this guy. Who is he?
11 Mar 2010, 14:03 pm
1st game – Keith Brown – kak
2nd game – Kaplan (good), but then on comes Pro who is kak
3rd game – Chris Pollock – decent
4th game – Marks – Superkak
5th game – rookie again
WTF
11 Mar 2010, 14:22 pm
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
Good point , but I believe the Sharks poblems are much deeper then poor refs….
11 Mar 2010, 14:29 pm
@DAN_MAN: For sure, but 2 from 4 certainly beats 0 from 4.
11 Mar 2010, 15:14 pm
Utterly hopeless team! I can’t seeing us beating a bunch of grannys at bowls with this team. What is the point of having Mvovo on tour if you’re never going to use him?! Odwa is the world’s slowest rugby player…even Smit has more speed than him! Ai yai yai man alive Smit at 3?!!!!!!!!!!!! Mega big beating from the Brumbies on the way. They’re going to hand our arses to us flambéd with extra sauce! Plum has to be one of the worst S14 coaches in its history!
11 Mar 2010, 15:39 pm
Have anyone mentioned Smit’s remarks in the first round at the ref where he questioned every single decision? One should remember that if the captain does not have a good relationship with the ref then they will turn against you. I foresee the same problems when big Vic comes up against Australasian refs.
11 Mar 2010, 15:49 pm
I’m so happy that you guys have finally realized that the Ndungane twins are a marketing gimmick, there are at least 5 wings I can pick just from the Eastern Cape alone, that are far better than these two.
11 Mar 2010, 15:54 pm
@XhosaKid: You are wrong. Akona has done a sterling job at the Bulls and was one of the best wingers in the country before getting his injury last year. I have always said that Odwa is ****. He played for the Bulls a couple of years ago and we then got the better improved version the next year.
11 Mar 2010, 16:59 pm
Ai why do Plum choose Goode when the latter is only gonna play till we get back to S.A? And who is the Sharks xv VC flyhalf, been somewhat impressed with what I have seen (not Dumond)
11 Mar 2010, 21:12 pm
I gotta say that Plum is one of those coaches that just don’t learn. and I see the Sharks scrum being handed to the Brumbies on a platter.
12 Mar 2010, 00:25 am
Smit back to tighthead aye? Alexander is going to have a field day
I see Elsom and Hoiles tearing through that Pienaar-Goode channel all night, leaving space for Giteau and Lealifano (who I must admit has looked good at inside this year) to shimmy through some lovely little half-gaps.
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Penalty try aside, these rookie refs are just as big a disadvantage to the other team as they are the Sharks. Don’t act like it’s some big anti-Shark conspiracy, and that these refs are the biggest problem with that team at the moment.
12 Mar 2010, 06:52 am
I understand that Keegan is benched because of a niggle. I guess Deysel is due some rest but I prefer him over Alberts.
John at 3… don’t like but with Jannie there… I would personally send the two brothers packing. Pat Cilliers, Deon Carstens can both cover tight head. Burden is in my opinion becoming a much better hooker than Bissie – he just doesn’t get enough chances to showcase his talent.
The backs still have me concerned – Odwa is not really peaking and maybe we should play Mvovo. (What happened to Lusuko Vulindlu?) Adi is also not really impressing and I would like to see Waylon getting more opportunities. JPP simply doesn’t get enough ball but that has a lot more to do with Andy-not-so-Goode and Adi-I-will-go-for-it-myself-Jacobs. Ruan also isn’t better than Kockott. Either play Ruan at 10 and Kockott at 9, or play Ruan of the bench with Kockott at 9 and Monty at 10 – he is in any case better than Goode.
*Sigh*
I just realised that I pretty much echoed the sentiments of my fellow supporters… If only Plum would read this blog…
12 Mar 2010, 06:54 am
@KingShark: Hey! Mr Mimic! Are you the same one that changed your name to KZN King Shark some time back?!
Maybe I have grown a fan club in the 5 months that I have been away…
12 Mar 2010, 06:56 am
@KZN King Shark: Oh, wait – another one!
Fanclub = 2!
12 Mar 2010, 07:25 am
Hey sorry never meant to copy any ones nick name
12 Mar 2010, 12:22 pm
Reputation wins accolades
Ability wins games
12 Mar 2010, 14:59 pm
mmm shuffle. card reference.
*resists joke about moving jokers and queens around*