Stormers must stay sensible
11 Mar 2010
Forget an expansive performance. Aggressive defence, clinical lineout work and an abrasive breakdown display will set the stage for a win over the Hurricanes.
Ever the diplomat, Allister Coetzee said the Stormers will keep the ball in hand on Saturday. For those desperate for the Sevens-style touch rugby showcased in the Lions vs Chiefs fixture, this may be cause for excitement. For those who took note of Coetzee’s comments earlier in the week, it’s clear the Stormers will keep with a more sensible approach.
Ball retention is the Stormers’ priority, and this means the Cape franchise will look to make better use of their possession than they have in previous weeks. The decision-making hasn’t been great, as players have often kicked when the run was on, or run from their own territory when the clearance was more prudent. They’ve also dropped the ball at crucial moments, and a number of try-scoring opportunities have gone begging.
Against bottom-four teams like the Lions and Highlanders, it’s not a big deal, but you can’t squander chances against teams like the Hurricanes. The Stormers missed out against the Brumbies, and they’ve no doubt taken a lesson from that error-strewn defeat.
You can’t set out to beat a team like the Canes with an all-out attack. As disjointed as the Kiwis are at the moment, they have the individuals capable of turning the spilled passes that have characterised the Stormers backline’s season into try-scoring chances. They are lethal on the counter, but are limited if you tighten your approach.
The Stormers defence has been nothing short of magnificent. They’ve conceded two tries and 48 points in four matches. The miserly Crusaders are a distant second with seven tries and 84 points conceded. The Stormers’ line defence has been impresssive, but so too has their defence at the breakdown. Schalk Burger and Francois Louw have worked well together under the new laws, and pose a big threat to the Canes at the tackle.
The lineout is another strong point, and after two tries earned through powerful mauls that would’ve had northern hemisphere critics out of their armchairs, why would they want to move away from what works? Sure the Canes pack has several All Black individuals, but as the early rounds have proved, they’re not nearly as dangerous as a unit.
Coetzee wants his backline attack to keep striving for that elusive synergy, and has even uttered the Peter de Villiers phrase of ‘when we come off, we’re going to be one helluva force’. You have to appreciate what the Stormers are trying to do in their quest to become the complete team. Their scrum is steady, their breakdown and lineout is thriving, their defence is top of the competition and their kicking game, although still lacking distance, is working. The backline attack is the only concern, but now is not the time to ‘keep trying’.
The Canes thrive in broken play, so why give them the opportunity of scooping a knock on and scoring at the other end of the park? The Stormers have already beaten the Waratahs, they should have beaten the Brumbies and are favourites to beat the Hurricanes. An ugly win will suffice when you’re playing the top teams. As it is in Test rugby, you shouldn’t increase the risk by persisting with something that is yet to come off.
The Stormers’ finishing requires work, but these ambitions need to be placed on hold for the time being. The Canes are too great a counter-attacking threat, and as any coach will tell you, you don’t play to the opposition’s strengths. As Coetzee himself has said, the Stormers want to starve the Canes of possession, and that begins with respecting your own ball. This means playing tighter, smarter rugby.
Whether it rains in Cape Town this Saturday or not, the humidity afflicting the Mother City at present is hardly conducive to an expansive spectacle. These conditions will suit the hosts in what some may call a more conservative approach and others may call a winning one. As a team, the Canes have shown nothing to suggest they’ll trouble the Stormers at home, but of course, this all depends on the Cape side staying true to their winning formula.
By Jon Cardinelli

367 Comments
11 Mar 2010, 05:59 am
good luck stormers….
11 Mar 2010, 07:02 am
Leke Stormers!! Gaan breeeek daai seuntjies!!
11 Mar 2010, 07:05 am
yes Stormers…just stick to your guns !!!
11 Mar 2010, 07:10 am
Good morning all.
Yip…. will be walk in the park for the Stormers this weekend.
Hou dop.
11 Mar 2010, 07:30 am
Well I’ll be damned!
No mention of Ricky’s inferior kicking game.
No wonder the sun is shining in Cape Town this morning!!
11 Mar 2010, 07:40 am
“As a team, the Canes have shown nothing to suggest they’ll trouble the Stormers at home”
yep, one loss at Altitude (and to borrow a Saffa Euphemism “travel disadvantage” ) and they have absolutely nothing… talk about putting the cart before the horse JC…
I hope they get up this weekend now, just to wipe the smile from your face for one… how about some objective reporting for a change…
The Canes will be a much better side this week because they are at sea level and have spent the extra week in SA…
11 Mar 2010, 07:44 am
WPW we can always start tearing into Ricky’s kicking game… but what good will that do?
Best to support them and hope the coach has got the formula right.
11 Mar 2010, 07:49 am
can someone please send this racist accusing clown Poppa69 to Zimbabwe? let him go live on a farm for a few days. The puz is in NZ but keeps on calling every afrikaner a racist or a KKK member … idiot.
11 Mar 2010, 07:49 am
Hurricanes will be blown away….
11 Mar 2010, 07:56 am
@Ashleigh_Langenhoven: bwahahaha theres only one person I call KKK, but so good of you to get all the facts before launching a tirade…
looking to cause trouble huh. the same old nic stealer as usual… why dont you get a life??
11 Mar 2010, 07:58 am
Infinitely tougher test for the Beauty Boys, but they’re up for it no doubts…….. Go Stormers!!!
11 Mar 2010, 07:59 am
@Ashleigh_Langenhoven: the fact youre using the nic of another bloggers daughter speaks volumes more about you then it ever would about me..
you rascist nic stealer you…
11 Mar 2010, 08:02 am
@poppa69:
Just ignore him bru.
For a grown man he sure is very childish!!
11 Mar 2010, 08:05 am
@wpw: yeah agree..
your team are looking strong for this weekend, match of the round for me..
11 Mar 2010, 08:05 am
how the hell do peole know so much about each other on this blog? huh?
11 Mar 2010, 08:07 am
i agree, if you want to post here, best you leave race out of it. The newspapers are full of the racist chants by Malema, but you don’t see every second white guy shouting rape on keo. stick to rugby talk, and if you loose a argument or your team is just k@k, don’t blame it on race. Bulls are superior to every other team in the world, they are mostly a afrikaans union unfortunately ..accept it … move on, SA did – 15 years allready
11 Mar 2010, 08:11 am
@What: that was a quick change of nics, log in and log off again… only took you 5 minutes, youre getting faster… standing ovation here..
11 Mar 2010, 08:14 am
poppa ffs go f^ck a goat, this has been my nick for years now.
11 Mar 2010, 08:14 am
@poppa69:
I agree, for me Stormers Canes is the match of the round, but I support the Stormers and therefore think they will win!!!! What do you think will happen in Chiefs Crusaders?
11 Mar 2010, 08:18 am
@poppa69:
Yep. I am a bit nervous because the Canes will definitely be up for this one.
I believe Conrad Smith is back as well… He will definitely make a difference to their attack.
11 Mar 2010, 08:18 am
@HongKongSlong: I think Dan Carter will be the difference between the two sides… will lead his team better around the park.. I tipped the Saders..
@What: in your own words “stick to rugby talk” … classy response by the way…
11 Mar 2010, 08:21 am
@wpw: yeah Smith back adds quite a bit to their backline, I think Nonu is half the player without him there…
your team has their confidence up, and their defense has been superb all season so far… not going to miss this one..
11 Mar 2010, 08:23 am
@What:
Dude, you’re one to talk!!
You are always stirring and making ridiculous comments about players based on their race.
Leave Malema and the current politics in SA out of this. This is a rugby thread so I suggest you discuss rugby!!!
11 Mar 2010, 08:26 am
@poppa69:
WHo do you support bru?? Sharks??
11 Mar 2010, 08:29 am
Who will the “Newlands faithful” support?
11 Mar 2010, 08:30 am
@wpw: Im a Auckland Blues fan, so another long season for me lol.. we will end mid table again, dont have the necessary forwards to challenge for the title…
stormers have got to get into, and stay in, the zone from before the first whistle to the sound of the last whistle…
no time to chill or zone out… any lapses will see Masaga and co punish us…
I believe our defence is key here… Canes used to wreaking havoc with their fancied runners… if we close ‘em down, don’t think they really have a plan B…
that’s when Bryan, Gio, Jaque and Joe can weave some of their own attacking magic…
easy on paper…!!
really nervous for this one…!!
@HongKongSlong: This match may get down and dirty,rain forecast over Newlands…could be in for NH test match rugby…
Happy to see Teabag starting,also Duvenhage and Naquelevuki..
My money’s on the ‘Saders…have upped their game and DC’s in form…
11 Mar 2010, 08:35 am
@wpw: Just ignor the KKK dude. He is simply looking for attention.
11 Mar 2010, 08:36 am
@Storm outta hell: I would never trust Nakalevuki. Never!
11 Mar 2010, 08:37 am
Hope Stormers lose with Duvenhage starting! Whats the excuse going to be, JC!
11 Mar 2010, 08:37 am
@ufo:
Dude, I’m telling you now… IF we can win this one it will do wonders for our confidence and then maybe, just maybe we will begin to play with more freedom and ‘try things’ on attack.
I think the balance between attack and defence is good BUT we are not there yet.
We need to shut teams out!!
Lastly, is it just me or is the Stormers playing ‘Jake White’ rugby??
The Boks played the same brand of rugby… HUGE on defence and capitalise on their opponents’ mistakes!!!
11 Mar 2010, 08:38 am
@poppa69: I’m not going to lie and say I’m not glad they lost to the Saders. But they were looking good there for a spell and were organized againt the Reds.
11 Mar 2010, 08:39 am
@wpw: The Sharks are still doing it , from 2007 – 2010, it can backfire as you can see with the Sharks.
11 Mar 2010, 08:41 am
@rossoneri: yeah agreed, but when push come to shove they were found lacking in the forwards (same as last year) so while I’ll still back them every week (not on Superbru hahaha), if they happened to make the finals it would be a pleasant surprise…
11 Mar 2010, 08:43 am
@wpw: JW rugby = AC rugby
in a rain induced match in the 4th ODI between Aus and NZ (Aus lead series 2-1), Aussie are currently 2-1 chasing 200 off 34 overs…
Gonna be a very physical match!!
11 Mar 2010, 08:44 am
@poppa69: reduced, not induced
11 Mar 2010, 08:52 am
@Storm outta hell: So true. Rather win ugly , than lose pretty.
11 Mar 2010, 09:01 am
@Ashleigh_Langenhoven: Are you an Afrikaner racist?
Last time I read a post from you it was along kkk lines. At least Poppa has rugby knowledge and information on the NZ sides part of this competition.
What do you contribute really? Seems like the only person who must fark off anywhere is you.
11 Mar 2010, 09:02 am
@poppa69: Are you comfortable with Keven as your skipper?
11 Mar 2010, 09:04 am
@What: You are another one. It’s 09H00. Shouldn’t you be going for your fitting for your custom made white sheet. The only people talking race here is you farker.
11 Mar 2010, 09:06 am
@wp_boytjie: Yah…fortunately we got the players to win both pretty and ugly
11 Mar 2010, 09:06 am
@rossoneri:
Ja but we have a decent coach.
The Sharks have Plumtree!!!
11 Mar 2010, 09:07 am
@Ashleigh_Langenhoven: @What: Where are you two KKK racist, nic stealing pieces of ****. I’m in the mood to piss on your collective retarded batteries.
11 Mar 2010, 09:08 am
@rossoneri: yep, not a problem because he is a great player… his after match speeches are pretty cliched though
11 Mar 2010, 09:09 am
@rossoneri:
Aai tog. Lets rather stick to rugby shall we??
I used to love watching the Blues!!
They have always been a decent side… they just need their tight five sorted and I’m sure they’ll be much more competitive!!
11 Mar 2010, 09:09 am
@wpw: Taking pots **** hey? Look. For now its working for the Stormers.
11 Mar 2010, 09:11 am
@wpw: Poppa is right about the forwards. What is a concern is that some of those guys are All Blacks.
Kaino, Woodcock, Mealamu, Tialata, Boric,… They should be a devastating team.
11 Mar 2010, 09:18 am
Thursdays are sooooo long! Roll on rugby.
11 Mar 2010, 09:19 am
Need to take risks with superbru:
Went Chiefs, Brumbies and Lions. Risky yes.
11 Mar 2010, 09:20 am
@rossoneri: think it says more about Lams coaching then anything else really, Super 14 is a step up from ANZCup, he is being found out…
Tialata plays for the Canes, but the forwards they arent playing collectively, and thats whats hurting them… no one keen to do the hard graft, game against the Saders no one was really cleaning out, they were all hanging off the rucks.. cant afford that in this comp…
11 Mar 2010, 09:21 am
@Bill Reyts: They do take long. It’s hell! LOL!
11 Mar 2010, 09:21 am
Top of the mornin everybody!!!
I really hope the backline fires on Saturday, I think when they do it’s gonna be awesome.
11 Mar 2010, 09:22 am
@poppa69: Sorry yes. Tialata is with the Canes.
And correct again about Lam. Something needs to click and as much as Nucifora was fired after 2008, he managed to get the Blues to fire.
11 Mar 2010, 09:23 am
@rossoneri: It is too. Must say I’m enjoying this season, even though my team is disappointing. Supporting the Bulls and Stormers too. We need strong franchises for 2011.
11 Mar 2010, 09:26 am
@wpw: @ 32
agree with hundreds bud…
@rossoneri:
I thought Tialata played for the Canes.
Ah, I see you noticed your error.
Kaino is overrated. He was useless for the AB’s last year!!
@ufo:
sheesh…
agree with YOU hundreds…
11 Mar 2010, 09:28 am
@ufo:
So pay up ‘in hundreds’
11 Mar 2010, 09:29 am
This is gonna be the Stormers year, I can feel it….. well I feel like that every year, but I know this is it booitjies!!!
11 Mar 2010, 09:33 am
@5t0rmer54eva:
What does that mean bru??
‘going to be the Stormers year’
I think we MIGHT make the semis but lets not get ahead of ourselves.
11 Mar 2010, 09:34 am
@rossoneri: the biggest disappointment for me is Woodcock, seems to not have regained the form before his ear infection last year… Kaino is too hot and cold, Mealamu only ever plays one way, head down straight up the middle, Boric is coming back from injury from last year too but is nowhere near the form that made him an AB in the first place…
I said on here before the season started that losing Williams was really our season, he brings the grunt like Bakkies does for the Bulls and SA… every team needs one…
11 Mar 2010, 09:34 am
@wpw:
cheeky bugger…!!
11 Mar 2010, 09:37 am
@wpw: I was thinking of Afoa. @poppa69: And Thorn brings that to the Saders.
@wpw:
i get the feeling he’s a troll just trying to get us worked up and cheering to say that he can say WP fans are taking things for granted…
@Bill Reyts: I took risks last week and dropped from 4th to 28th on the leaderboard
playing it safe this week but a number of matches are 50/50 calls
11 Mar 2010, 09:38 am
@poppa69: Blues have a bye this weekend, so that gives them time to regroup. The have been knocked by injuries so need the time. Hopefully they can pull it together going forward.
11 Mar 2010, 09:40 am
@wpw: You’re right…… I just get the feeling that they just need to click.
11 Mar 2010, 09:41 am
@Storm outta hell: The great thing about this competition is the upsets and surprizes. It keeps everyone guessing. I am so confused as to who to go with for fantasy league cos some unknowns are stepping up.
A friend of mine went with Stephen Donalds form last week and his exellent goal kicking record at that stage of the competition, thinking the Chiefs would destroy the Reds, and look what happened. Totally killed his game. Then Nonu further compounds the situation by picking up a yellow card.
You just never can tell.
11 Mar 2010, 09:41 am
@poppa69: agreed…I’ve been saying all season that Anton van Zyl should start ’cause it’s his role as well..and he complemented Bekker so well against Highlanders..
11 Mar 2010, 09:43 am
@rossoneri: yep Thorn does, but he is getting long in the tooth, so they need players like Ross to start emulating him… Afoa shouldnt be an AB, doesnt cut it in my books…
usually when Auckland rugby is strong, AB rugby is strong… so it is a big worry for me
11 Mar 2010, 09:45 am
@ufo:
Could be!!!
11 Mar 2010, 09:49 am
@Storm outta hell: I didnt get to see the Stormers play the Highlanders, so havent seen enough of Van Zyl to be honest… but thats another really important aspect, locks that compliment each others play..
think Bakkies and Matfield or Williams and Jack when they played together…
11 Mar 2010, 09:50 am
@rossoneri: s’right…more than ever any lowly team can beat a favourite on any given Saturday…did’ya see that movie any given Sunday..?.. I wonder if some of our Rugby stars are starting to suffer from that kinda superstar lifestyle…it certainly seems so as more and more of them are being busted for recreational drugs or their (holy) underpants around their ankles
11 Mar 2010, 09:52 am
@poppa69: Yeah…all the really great teams have always had an awesome lock pairing..the engine room..!
11 Mar 2010, 09:54 am
@Storm outta hell: @poppa69:
I actually though Anton wasn’t as good as he was during last year’s Currie Cup.
I prefer him ahead of De Kock Steenkamp BUT he knocked a few balls and didn’t seem to have a good game to me.
Maybe I just didn’t see him do that donkey work he is so renowned for.
11 Mar 2010, 09:56 am
@Storm outta hell:
@wpw:
Van Zyl also provides intellect, experience and leadership – he seems to be quite a good motivator of players – very vocal, sometimes even from the bench!
He might not have the grunt of an Adriaan Fondse but in the meantime I would also start with him.
I believe Fondse is just about ready to go.
11 Mar 2010, 09:58 am
@Robzim:
I really rate Van Zyl!!
How good has Bekker been though?? The form lock in the Super 14 imho.
11 Mar 2010, 09:59 am
@Storm outta hell: its all down to commitment on the day and who wants it more really…
the superstar lifestyle? pro rugby brought that I think, young guys with plenty of money and too much time on their hands…
hardly ever heard of amateur era players being in trouble like todays players… an indication on society itself too?
11 Mar 2010, 09:59 am
@wpw: He did some good lineout work…I like the grunt he brings to the pack…De Kock more like a Victor/Andries type player…never understand why PdV always replaces Bakkies with Bekker…makes more sense to replace Victor with Bekker…like for like.
11 Mar 2010, 10:03 am
@Robzim: Great that we’ve got so much depth in such an important pos
looking fwd to seeing Fondsie back in the mix.
11 Mar 2010, 10:03 am
@ufo: #27 lelia masaga plays for the Chiefs, the stormers are playing the Hurricanes
You have to worry about corey jane, david smith & the thuggish ma’a nonu. Juan de jongh & will have torrid time tryna step nonu. Peter Grant might be facing the rookie aaron cruden, if he fails against this boy, then it will be confirmation of how k@k he is (with his underrated distributive abilities).
11 Mar 2010, 10:04 am
think Anton was hard done by not getting the starting spot after a great CC…
I’d always start with him and bring De Kock on in the latter stages…
11 Mar 2010, 10:05 am
@wpw:
Yip, Bekker is imo the most valuable player in the Stormer team and his continued fitness is absolutely vital for the team to make the playoffs or to go all the way.
11 Mar 2010, 10:07 am
@Transformation:
Dude, Peter Grant is a good player.
He is underrated imo.
11 Mar 2010, 10:09 am
@Transformation: Crudens on the bench Trans, they are starting with Ripia..
11 Mar 2010, 10:11 am
@ufo: agreed..I was quite vocal about A/C not starting with him..Duvenhage as well,cost us the Brumbies match imo
@Robzim: Yeah,when He got injured last year the Stormers imploded,him and JdV
11 Mar 2010, 10:13 am
@Transformation: Any flyhalf looks k@k behind January…expect a better game from Grant now he’s establishing a partnership with Duvvies.!
11 Mar 2010, 10:16 am
@Transformation:
thanks Trans…
11 Mar 2010, 10:17 am
Gatiep en die Landros
Landdros:
Waar is jy gebore?
Gatiep:
Innie Kaap my master.
Landdros:
So…? Watter deel?
Gatiep:
My hele lyf is da gebore, net my valstande ko uit Joburg.
11 Mar 2010, 10:23 am
@poppa69: thanks, i haven’t checked the preview thread yet…ripia good enough but less exciting lately, when he came on the scene i expected big things from him.
@wpw: i respect your opinion chap, but Bash (as these keo praise singers like to call him) is not an international flyhalf! How long will he remain “underrated”?
The only way to get people to sit up and notice is by dominating games, look at wynand olivier, now there’s an underrated player, every week he is grafting harder and it is hard not to notice even for me a loooong time critic. With peter grant, it is the opposite, he plays mediocre year-in year-out, yet we are told that somewhere within him there’s this general of a flyhalf…
11 Mar 2010, 10:27 am
@wpw:
hiyas wpw
11 Mar 2010, 10:32 am
@sharks_lover:
Howzit boet??
11 Mar 2010, 10:36 am
aaaaaaaaaaaahggggggggggggg keo its what i hate about your site
moderation for posting an interesting article???
pathetic really
11 Mar 2010, 10:38 am
Poor referees and commentators turning Super 14 into a comic opera
Penalty try against the Lions – no sure try. Deliberate knockdown with no one to beat – no penalty try for the Sharks. It doesn’t make sense.
by tim foster-greenwood on 08 March 2010
Email this Article (3) Comments
0% 100%
Luke Burgess of the Waratahs in action (gettyImages)
Related Bet:
Free £25 bet when you register at
Related Pages:
Super 14
Brumbies
Waratahs
Lions
Related Events:
Ireland v Wales – 2010 Six Nations Championship – Live Online
Scotland v England- 2010 Six Nations Championship – Live Online
France v Italy – 2010 Six Nations Championship – Live Online
Example number one – Lions v Brumbies: Steve Walsh gives a penalty try for the Lions scrum-half coming offside. OK, so it was a definite a professional foul but there was no certainty a try would have been scored so why award the score?
Compare and buy Rugby Union tickets
Example number two – Waratahs v Sharks: Kurtley Beale palms down a ball as he was the only person to beat – definite try avoided – NO penalty try, just a yellow card.
Simple equation: Australain referee = Australian team win.
It’s only week four of the season and it is already glaringly obvious that we must have neutral referees in Super 14 to preserve whatever integrity is left.
And get rid of Phil Kearns as a commentator. He is so biaised it is unpleasant and pathetic.
When Ryan Kankowski scored his try Kearns was shouting “a mile offside”. To their credit and his shame, both his co-commentators then corrected him and said it WAS a try, as the new rule dictates.
As a commentator, if you don’t know the rules Keansey, get off the air because you’re a disgrace.
11 Mar 2010, 10:39 am
thats a journo from fox that wrote that
lol @ him telling phil kearns how useless he is :lol;
11 Mar 2010, 10:44 am
You can Def see that AC went to the Jake White school of coaching.
11 Mar 2010, 10:47 am
@Transformation: agree mate, hasnt really delivered this year yet, still young though so hopefully he will improve as the season progresses..
Cruden is young as well, so happier if they just give him gametime in spurts, not up to S14 starting role yet…
11 Mar 2010, 10:54 am
@poppa69: hey quik question mate…..is F1 racing big in NZ, i know you all are big into the yaught racing i belive…..forgot what it is called
11 Mar 2010, 10:54 am
I never liked Coetzee when he was White’s 2ic, but as a head coach he is one of our better ones.
11 Mar 2010, 10:55 am
I wonder how much people would rave about anton van zyl if he hadn’t gone to oxford…
Personally I’ll take baxxies over a degree in the liberal arts ..
11 Mar 2010, 11:01 am
@Sonito: At the risk of a backlash I reckon AC would have been a far better Bok coach than PdV.
PdV had all these fancy ideas about ‘total rugby’(still has no doubt)but what have we seen of it?
When he tried to enforce his style of play we started losing and had to revert back to JW’s winning ways.
For the sake of continuity it should have been AC and we would have been unbeatable…and saved us all the embarassing brain f@rts we put up with p.divvy…
11 Mar 2010, 11:06 am
@Storm outta hell: I have to agree.
11 Mar 2010, 11:11 am
@5t0rmer54eva: AC was Jake’s first choice..and at the time we were top of the world,as it happens we are once again,but had AC been at the helm we probably wouldn’t have blipped in 2008
PdV tends to be very impulsive, and sometimes I get the feeling he’ll do the opposite to what everybody expects just to prove a point, even though it makes no sense and has a negative effect.
Good points that AC is making here….
Stormers hve my support this weekend!
11 Mar 2010, 11:12 am
@Storm outta hell: Right on!!!
11 Mar 2010, 11:13 am
@Storm outta hell: @5t0rmer54eva: ..lol.. You enjoy the punch and judy show when you were young.. puppets can be very entertaining.
So we have two imbeciles on the blog.. lets see how many more will join you guys..
11 Mar 2010, 11:13 am
@Storm outta hell:
Bru, we struggled in 2008 because of the ELV’s. John Smit was also injured and so too was FDP for most of that year.
Do you remember where the Bulls ended on the S14 log in 2008???
As defending champions they ended 10th (I stand to be corrected)
The very next year they beat the AB’s and it had more to do with having a full strength squad as well as no more ELV’s.
People should stop believing the bollocks written by the likes of Gavin Rich and Zelim Nel and think for themselves.
11 Mar 2010, 11:16 am
who is the referee for this game? If he is as lenient on the stormers @ the breakdown like lawrence then the canes will have a torrid afternoon.
@The Almighty Shaun: Blow it outta yr poopchute…dumb@ss..!!
@Storm outta hell: You know you are talking straight up kak!
11 Mar 2010, 11:18 am
@wpw: I think for myself.. and I believe AC is the finished product…wait and watch..a Storm is brewing..PdV is a walking disaster zone,still plays out of form players to prove a point…if you don’t play your best you can’t beat the best..!!
11 Mar 2010, 11:19 am
@wpw: Amen.
@Transformation:
Stormers vs Hurricanes at Newlands
Referee: Nathan Pearce (Australia)
Assistant referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Marc van Zyl (South Africa)
Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)
11 Mar 2010, 11:21 am
@Storm outta hell: You sound like Jake White.
11 Mar 2010, 11:23 am
@Storm outta hell: 113.. You just confirmed your status… Well Done!!
11 Mar 2010, 11:23 am
@rossoneri: It’s ppl like you that can’t see the **** for the highwater…you will vote for a rascist pig like Malema ’cause he’s ancyl president.. that’s what we really need…a black Verwoerd in this country..
11 Mar 2010, 11:24 am
@Gonzo Journalism: It has a decent following…we have things like a V8 supercar round, NZ rally (some great rural tracks)…15 x Ivan Mauger was the world Speedway champ (motorcycle)…home to the Britten motorcycle… we have our fair share of rev heads
Americas cup is the yachting…
11 Mar 2010, 11:25 am
@rossoneri: Good…a world cup winner,he knew what was best for the Boks but Saru decided to go with a clown
11 Mar 2010, 11:29 am
@Storm outta hell:
Jake White also persisted with ‘out of form’ players didn’t he??
What did he win again??
De Wet Barry, Eddie Andrews, Jacques Cronje, Moses VD Westhuizen, Marius Joubert, Andre Snyman, etc
Victor Matfield was one of our worst players in 2008 and yet PDV stuck with him.
Last year he was one of our start performers!!
11 Mar 2010, 11:30 am
OMG, not another shackle dragging idiot with a whistle in his mouth. This game is spoilt as a spectacle before it starts. The team to adapt quickest to the ref’s blunders will win. I hope I am wrong – I seriously do
11 Mar 2010, 11:31 am
@Storm outta hell:
What has Malema got to do with rugby??
Dude, relax and lets continue talking about rugby shall we??
What did you think of Matfield’s performances for the Boks in 2008?? Should he have been dropped??
11 Mar 2010, 11:34 am
@Storm outta hell:
So PDV is a clown??
What is his win vs loss ratio as Bok coach again??
Tri Nations Winner
B & I Lions Winner
Beat the All Blacks 3 times in 1 season
First coach to win in Dunedin in how many years??
Record scores against both Argentina AND Australia
@poppa69: Yeah the Americas cup, was at a pub in london and saw a crew of new zealanders cheering like NZ won the web ellis, only to look over and see some yaughts on the TV, I was thinking WTF, but differnt strokes for different i guess!!!!
@Storm outta hell: Is there a level below imbecile that we are not aware of and that you may know of… I am finding it difficult trying to retain you at the dizzy heights of imbecile at the moment and it seems that you have discovered another level.. Tell us about it… be there dragons??
11 Mar 2010, 11:35 am
@Storm outta hell: Excuse me. How did we jump from your comparission of Pdv, and AC, to me allegedly being a ANCYL VOTER?
Why cos I am black? Just check your racist self and make it quick. You do not know me so stop assuming. You are making a flat out d00s of yourself.
As for your WC winnng coach. Where is he now after his drinking and whoring? Not one international rugby playing nation wants him. NOT ONE!
And that clown, managed to nil NZ last year, win the Lions series and won in NZ in his first few months (2008) in the job. Something your drunkard of a Jake couldn’t manage.
Now if you want to “rek jou bek again” about ANCYL comparing that **** to me, it will be an indication that I get to call you Eugene Terreblanche’s used toilet paper. So make sure about your next post.
11 Mar 2010, 11:36 am
@wpw: All I’m saying is that I believe it would have been a far smoother transition with AC taking over the reins,and I think the Boks would have been far more successful.
AC is proving to be a very capable coach,and it is starting to show with the Stormers and it’s because he subscribes to JW’s winning ways.
11 Mar 2010, 11:36 am
Sharks team has been named on their site.
15. Stefan Terblanche
14. Odwa Ndungane
13. Adi Jacobs
12. Riaan Swanepoel
11. JP Pietersen
10. Andy B Goode
9. Ruan Pienaar
8. Ryan Kankowski
7. Willem Alberts
6. Jacques Botes
5. Johann Muller
4. Steven Sykes
3. John Smit
2. Bismarck Du Plessis
1. Beast Mtatawira
16. Craig Burden
17. Jannie Kannie Scrumnie
18. Al Hargreaves
19. Jean Deysel
20. Keegan Daniel
21. Rory Kockott
22. Waylon Murray
11 Mar 2010, 11:38 am
@rossoneri: Same old **** man.. blow it outta yr ringpiece..!!
11 Mar 2010, 11:38 am
Sharks team:
15. Stefan Terblanche
14. Odwa Ndungane
13. Adrian Jacobs
12. Riaan Swanepoel
11. JP Pietersen
10. Andy Goode
9. Ruan Pienaar
8. Ryan Kankowski
7. Willem Alberts
6. Jacques Botes
5. Johann Muller
4. Steven Sykes
3. John Smit ©
2. Bismarck du Plessis
1. Tendai Mtawarira
Replacements
16. Craig Burden
17. Jannie du Plessis
18. Alistair Hargreaves
19. Jean Deysel
20. Keegan Daniel
21. Rory Kockott
22. Waylon Murray
11 Mar 2010, 11:39 am
@Storm outta hell: Thanks ET’s used kak paper. You started it. Remember that.
11 Mar 2010, 11:39 am
@Oubaas2009:
Andy “B” Goode…….Ya,Nee…..lets wait and see
11 Mar 2010, 11:41 am
@rossoneri: It’s ’cause I’m cullert hey..?..now you wanna wipe yr ou’s *** wit me..?
I see how you baa baa black sheep go hey…just support the oke no matter how many farkups he makes,he’s your ou..it’s what’s wrong wit this country bru..stop being a dumbass and following the masses..!
11 Mar 2010, 11:43 am
@Storm outta hell: You mentioned Malema. YOU YOU YOU YOU YOU YOU! Why would you do that when we are talking rugby?
COS YOU ARE A DOOS, AND ET’S USED KAK PAPER, I do not care what shade you skin is. I know a doos when I see one!
11 Mar 2010, 11:44 am
@Gonzo Journalism: He’s up for his hatrick of yellows. If he liked yellow so much, he should have gone to the Hurricanes. Jannie’s also a fan!
11 Mar 2010, 11:46 am
@Storm outta hell: As for Pdv’s fark ups.
OOOOOHHH Yeah. Beating the AB’s 3-0 is a disaster for SA rugby. Winning that Lions tour. Oh how dare he!
He ought to follow the examples of Jake and losing 49 – 0!
11 Mar 2010, 11:47 am
href=”#comment-1537820″>The Almighty Shaun: Dude, everybody has a right to his/her opinion….. if u don’t like what people have to say, u have a right to comment, but if u r going to be insulting don’t bother.
11 Mar 2010, 11:47 am
@Storm outta hell: storm into hell, you are misguided boet. if AC is the real deal why has he sat behind rassie for all these years taking orders from a coach he knows he is not better than him…why haven’t wp rugby made AC the “finished article” DOR, he is the one that turned-around the CC team, so why elevate rassie to the overseer role & leave the WC winning asst coach. Or do i have it wrong, rassie was actually being demoted when he was given the DOR job?
11 Mar 2010, 11:48 am
@Storm outta hell: Anyway I’m done with you. I cannot stand Jake White gat kruipers and you appear to be president of the gat kruiper fan club.
11 Mar 2010, 11:49 am
Riaan Swanepoel better get injured early in the game if the sharks want to have any chance of winning.. Waylon and ADi are the most potent combination in midfield… But because Plum is a twat.. he will not allow this combination to blossom.. His obsession with Goode accentuates his Twat Status..
11 Mar 2010, 11:50 am
@Storm outta hell:
The senior players in the Bok team have all stated that this Bok group is currently happier than they’ve ever been.
Fourie Du Preez said it, Habana said it!!
Hell, even Matfield said it!!
And all of them have defended their coach and asked that he receive more credit for the results.
11 Mar 2010, 11:51 am
@rossoneri: I can’t converse wit a pea-brain yodeller…your history is so ancient it stinks like ET’s winkle…
If Divvy did so well just imagine(try anyway) how much better the Boks woulda been with Alistair.
11 Mar 2010, 11:52 am
@5t0rmer54eva: Moenie Huil nie!!! If you find my criticism insulting then that is your opinion
11 Mar 2010, 11:53 am
@wpw: agreed…Divvy is a good people person and manager…I’m saying the Boks would have been better with a proper coach continuing the good work done by his predecessor
@Storm outta hell:
One more question.
Are you willing to concede that PDV is doing a decent job as Bok coach??
We were nearly unstoppable last year. Will you give him some credit for the team’s achievements??
I don’t rate Adi Jacobs. What worries me is the fact that his bok contract has been renewed. Imo there are beter centers out there.
11 Mar 2010, 11:54 am
@The Almighty Shaun: Apart from one crazy tackle Goode has done nothing wrong. Swanepoel was invisible last week and should be replaced by Murray who is a class above him and should be played back into top form ASAP.
11 Mar 2010, 11:56 am
@wpw: 143.. don’t be silly mate.. you will never be able to argue at his level.. you need a mine shaft to get to that level..
11 Mar 2010, 11:56 am
@Transformation: AC didn’t get the Bok job he deserved so he is doing the hard graft twat,this is his 1st season as coach and it’s starting to show,give the guy a chance dumbass..!
11 Mar 2010, 11:58 am
@Storm outta hell:
So now PDV is not a proper coach??
Dude, he is getting the job done at the moment.
I think he is a very humble person to boot. The way the media portrays him in downright pathetic.
I think he has done well with the Boks and will go down in history as one of our most successful coaches.
11 Mar 2010, 11:59 am
@Gonzo Journalism: Auckland is known as the city of sails mate, where I lived it was 30 minute east or west and you were at opposite sides of the north island..
@wpw: Pdv definitely knows a lot about rugby, I just think he should be more aware of what he says and does. I also think that he has a great coaching staff and he has a very experienced core group of players which obviously contributed to his success.
@Oubaas2009:
Yeah like thay would say in England….”he’s aving a laugh mate”
Goode is just enjoying mucking about the southern hemisphere, in the sunshine, probably got a bet on with his mates regarding yellow cards
if there the Fifa WC was on you would see him getting arrested amongst the English football fans
cant take that owe seriously
11 Mar 2010, 12:01 pm
@The Almighty Shaun:
Nah dude, I will try my utmost to refrain from making insults.
I think I am in a good mood today cos it’s my birthday tomorrow and I’m looking forward to it!!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:02 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: You don’t criticize, you just insult.
11 Mar 2010, 12:03 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: If you look closely at Jannie Kanniescrumnie and Goode, they might have been seperated at birth.
11 Mar 2010, 12:04 pm
@stormer in a teacup: 149agreed Sharkies looked much better with Ruan 9 Goode 10.. and Waylon must start b4 Swannie..!
11 Mar 2010, 12:05 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
And yet PDV has more coaching experience than both Gary and **** put together.
He has been coaching for about 15 years now.
I think he is underrated and the media is at fault for that.
They obviously have agendas and need to ‘sell news’
I know he has made a few mistakes or silly comments but he is not the first coach to do so AND more importantly, I think he despises the media because he can see them for what they really are.
Why should he ‘koop gevriet’ by them?? They don’t deserve it after the way they have treated him.
11 Mar 2010, 12:06 pm
@Storm outta hell: #151 sure chap, so AC deserved the job before Heyneke Meyer?
11 Mar 2010, 12:06 pm
@wpw: PdV is a great guy and he’s done fantastically well,I just think we could have done better.
PdV is also a ‘goofball’
11 Mar 2010, 12:07 pm
Look, PDV is not perfect but he is doing a great job.
I know people who have met him and they are astounded at his passion for the game.
I’m not sure if you guys know a bloke called PaarlBok??
Ask him for his opinion as well… you will be pleasantly surprised!!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:09 pm
@Transformation: ag please…your words not mine…Heyneke was the most successful coach at the time but he was far too pale..AC would have bought continuity in game plan and management and he’s the right shade of tan…WHY is this so hard to understand…???
11 Mar 2010, 12:10 pm
@Oubaas2009: LOL ……and both there presence there causing very irrational criminal behavior amongst themselves! Its an identity thing, the field aint big enough for the two of them! like you cant have 2x John Wayne’s in the same town!!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:11 pm
@wpw: See,there’s this mindset out there that Divvy can do no wrong,the blinkers are on and anyone who has a different opinion is attacked…I call that the Malema syndrome..!
11 Mar 2010, 12:12 pm
@Storm outta hell:
Well, we will never really know if AC would have done a better job.
2008 is behind us. I still believe we struggled because of the ELV’s.
As far as AC is concerned… I met him a month or so ago and he is just about the nicest guy I’ve met in a long long time!!!
And he was very humble to boot!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:16 pm
@wpw: Please don’t think I don’t like the guy. The current bok team has to be one of the best ever and he obviously had a lot to do with that but he does occasionally do weird things.
11 Mar 2010, 12:17 pm
@Storm outta hell:
Nah dude… he is definitely not perfect BUT he is better than a lot of coaches we’ve had in the past.
11 Mar 2010, 12:19 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
I know dude…
11 Mar 2010, 12:20 pm
@wpw: No,we will never know,but I have my opinion and I feel strongly about it…just like I felt strongly that Morne Steyn and Heinreich Brussouw should have been picked for the B&I Lions tour..as it happened they came thru’ by default(injury+suspension)but at least they were there to save the tour for us,
11 Mar 2010, 12:22 pm
@wpw: Enough about PdV, what do u think will happen at Newlands come Saturday night? I think things are going to come together nicely for the backline. I just wish Gio was 10kg heavier, that boy plays his heart out.
11 Mar 2010, 12:22 pm
@5t0rmer54eva: Like I said.. Moenie Huil Nie!!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:24 pm
@wpw: He’s got the best record and it will stand for some time…maybe forever…but don’t be surprised if we lose the 2011 WC he steps down and AC takes over.
11 Mar 2010, 12:26 pm
@5t0rmer54eva: Kokerot will make a huge impact coming off the bench once Naquelevuki has run the defenders ragged and dragged them legless all over the pitch
11 Mar 2010, 12:27 pm
@Storm outta hell: Hoe is dit daar onder… Hullllllooooooo lllo lo.. Great echo!!
@The Almighty Shaun: Wa was jy?
@Storm outta hell:
They were definitely stand out players but i suppose each coach has his favourites and Ruan and Schalk have been in the system for a while.
What do you think of Jake’s comments that he would still have selected Schalk ahead of Brussow if he was coach???
11 Mar 2010, 12:29 pm
@5t0rmer54eva: Did daylight blind you.. I was here all the time
11 Mar 2010, 12:30 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
I think it will be VERY tough for the Stormers but we MUST play to our potential.
I will be over the moon if we can put the Canes away!!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:31 pm
@Storm outta hell: That’s a picture I like to have in my head. Do u think AC should have played Deon after his performance Last week, that boy got speed for a hooker, but I also like Tiaan a lot.
11 Mar 2010, 12:33 pm
@wpw: I totally lambasted Jake at the time,couldn’t believe HE was being so short sighted and blinkered…still waiting for an apollogy
11 Mar 2010, 12:33 pm
@wpw: Ditto!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:36 pm
@5t0rmer54eva: Teabag’s the man to front up in the scrum…but to have Deon AND kokkerot coming on in the last 1/4 is gonna make any team **** their pants…when the game opens up there’s gonna be HUGE k@k upwind…
11 Mar 2010, 12:38 pm
U know who I rate as a coach….. Treu. I know he’s a sevens coach but I think that ouk can think “outside the box” and his roots obviously comes from the 15 man format.
11 Mar 2010, 12:39 pm
@Storm outta hell: Well said!!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:41 pm
@Storm outta hell:
And Januarie will bring much needed mongrel and expreience when he comes on for Dewald!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:43 pm
@wpw: Yah,yah…man and Ball..just when we need the go forward..!
11 Mar 2010, 12:47 pm
We’re gonna lose
11 Mar 2010, 12:48 pm
@Storm outta hell: kokkerot?
11 Mar 2010, 12:50 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
Gio Aplon!!
I don’t know who gave him that name. It might have been Bob Skinstad.
11 Mar 2010, 12:50 pm
@SpringbokSarah: Why? Just natural pessimism? We have a strong all-round squad who are playing positive creative rugby and defending like demons. Have faith young person.
11 Mar 2010, 12:51 pm
@SpringbokSarah: Aplon’s nic..the way he runs…difficult to smack down..Newlands crowd is picking up on it
11 Mar 2010, 12:51 pm
@Storm outta hell:
Ricky is a very good player!!!
11 Mar 2010, 12:52 pm
@wpw: Aplon is a star. WP have a great tradition of producing little guys with the hearts of Lions. Breyton, Brent, Gio and Joe are part of a fine heritage.
11 Mar 2010, 12:57 pm
@Storm outta hell & @wpw: I thought it was Apples? Lindz calls him Apples
@stormer in a teacup: THEY’RE HUGE! And They’re ticked off…
11 Mar 2010, 12:58 pm
@wpw: I hope Jaque scores this weekend. If WPRU gets JdV back we are going to kick @ss in the Currie Cup.
11 Mar 2010, 13:00 pm
@stormer in a teacup: Yep..I wish Joe would be a bit more consistant with he’s kicking,AC should get Monty from SACS to give him some pointers..might have to kick in the wet.
Stormers may have to start with De Waal soon as the rainy season starts in the Cape.
11 Mar 2010, 13:01 pm
@5t0rmer54eva: Yeah…that would be one awesome Bok backline..!!
11 Mar 2010, 13:01 pm
@wpw: Belated but relevant, you said I gave the Boks and especially Butch James no hope in 2007. Either you are suffering from a serious mental condition or someone fraudulently posted on my behalf.
I gave the boks and Butch my full support from day one.
Anyway, have a good day.
11 Mar 2010, 13:03 pm
Joe Peterson imo is a brilliant player, that outjie has a hand off of somebody double his size. I hope he gets a crack at test rugby even if it is only against Italy.
11 Mar 2010, 13:04 pm
@5t0rmer54eva: Don’t be too hopeful , I dont think the Boks will play much Currie Cup with next year in mind…
11 Mar 2010, 13:05 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
I think we can win the CC with this team.
11 Mar 2010, 13:05 pm
WP Vodacom cup side to play EP on Saturday:
15. Jurgen Visser 14. Dylan Des Fountain 13. Frikkie Welsh 12. Tim Whitehead 11. Fabian Juries 10. Willem De Waal 9. Conrad Hoffmann 8. Bradley Fortuin 7. Yaya Hartzenberg 6. Pieter Myburgh 5. Stephan Greeff 4. Rynhardt Elstadt 3. Buhle Mxunyelwa 2. Hanyani Shimange (C) 1. JD Moller
I’ll be attending just to see how Mxunyelwa goes against Nodikida
11 Mar 2010, 13:06 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
we would be the shiz
@wp_boytjie: The truth u speak!!!
Stormers by at least 8. Their defence will be their biggest weapon. Also the Brumbies loss taught them a serious lesson. Canes are like any other NZ side- they do not like to be pushed around in an aggressive manner…shame. Also stormers need to carry playing off ten.
11 Mar 2010, 13:08 pm
@5t0rmer54eva: agreed 110%
11 Mar 2010, 13:16 pm
@SpringbokSarah: In the words of Marty the Zebra “We’ll be krakelakin!!!” If u got kids u’ll know Marty.
11 Mar 2010, 13:18 pm
Stormer optimism? Do you guys never learn?
11 Mar 2010, 13:18 pm
@mxhosa: Who’s Jurgen Visser?
11 Mar 2010, 13:20 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
The first Madagascar was fantastic, but the second one was a cross between Disney Channel and a bad African-American movie. Shudder. Gotta love those penguins though.
11 Mar 2010, 13:23 pm
@Die_Valk: Now those guys are krakelakin!!! They are definitely not lakin in the krakin.
11 Mar 2010, 13:24 pm
@Die_Valk: Moto Moto is the man!!!
11 Mar 2010, 13:25 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
I have to admit that was funny as hell.
11 Mar 2010, 13:25 pm
@Die_Valk: I’ll take Stormer optimism over Bulls arrogance any day.
11 Mar 2010, 13:26 pm
@Die_Valk: But they do have a great team this year….. the Bulls I mean
@5t0rmer54eva:
Sorry mate, never seen him play, but I’ll tell you about him on Sunday though…
I have a feeling that two losses are coming up for the Stormramme. Hope I’m wrong.
11 Mar 2010, 13:29 pm
@mxhosa: Make it Monday. Bright and early.
11 Mar 2010, 13:30 pm
@Die_Valk: U think the Cheetahs are gonna klap the Stormers??
11 Mar 2010, 13:31 pm
@mxhosa: What’s the stats on Mxunyelwa?
11 Mar 2010, 13:36 pm
The Cape Town air must be special as there are no supporters in this world that is more optimistic. I will be rather ashamed as their trophy cabinet has been empty for the last nine years. Not even a final for the last nine years in senior rugby. Here is a list of SA teams that has played in finals from 2002 onwards:
1. Bulls (S14, CC, Vod Cup)
2. Sharks(S14, CC)
3. Cheetahs(CC, Vod Cup)
4. Lions(CC, Vod Cup)
5. Griquas (Vod Cup)
6. Leopards (Vod Cup)
The conclusion: The Stormers are the 7th best team in South Africa for the last nine years and they think they will extraordinaly jump from this hole to a S14 championship team!
11 Mar 2010, 13:36 pm
Have you guys seen Yaya Hartzenburg??
He was devastating for WP against the SharksXV!!!
11 Mar 2010, 13:40 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
Well being a Cheetah I have to think so, but in truth I feel confident because I have never seen the Cheetahs play like they did.
They have always had this mentality of being underdogs and having to play extremely well just to be able to cope with the big teams. And if they could cope they always let their lead slip and relied on a comeback.
Against the Hurricanes that changed. They not only beat them, but buried them.
That gave me the exact same feeling that I had when Fabregas and Vermaelen (who is god) scored late against Stoke. I think they made a breakthrogh, and I’m confident they can build on it.
11 Mar 2010, 13:41 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
Height: 1.87m
Weight: 130kg
2005-2007 Border Bulldogs u21
2008-2009 Border Bulldogs CC
2010 Maties Vasity Cup
11 Mar 2010, 13:45 pm
@Die_Valk:
Your team did play well yes…
As they did last year against the Crusaders…
But last weekend against the Landers, they were just piss poor…
Consistency is the keyword…
@Horings: You forgot your Blue Bulls team saw their arses for quite a few seasons before getting it right
This is their wonderful history before becoming something:-
Year Place Played Win Draw Loss PF PA Diff BP Points
1998 11th 11 3 0 8 249 306 -57 4 16
1999 12th 11 1 0 10 203 447 -244 3 7
2000 11th 11 1 2 8 231 395 -164 3 11
2001 12th 11 2 0 9 241 378 -137 3 11
2002 12th 11 0 0 11 232 500 -268 1 1
2003 6th 11 6 0 5 320 354 -34 5 30
2004 6th 11 5 1 5 302 320 -18 6 28
2005 3rd 11 7 0 4 301 229 72 6 34
@mxhosa: He be a big one!!!
11 Mar 2010, 13:50 pm
@Karen: Dankie Karen….u da best!!!
11 Mar 2010, 13:53 pm
@Die_Valk: My wife is a Sharky so my 2nd team has to be the sharks, but actually the Cheetahs are. I don’t see u guys beating us though.
11 Mar 2010, 13:53 pm
@Karen: Still impressive after so many years.
11 Mar 2010, 13:55 pm
@Karen: Yes, but there is not really a difference between 3rd and 12th, because you have not won the big games if you finished within that region. At least we made it count when we had (and still having) our great team, while the sorry Stormers and Sharks had their glory years, but they did not really cash in on it.
Another thing: We won the 1998 CC while having our bad years i.e. we still won our big games, although we only had one chance.
11 Mar 2010, 13:57 pm
@wpw: Don’t know much about him, can’t find him on the WP website. What’s going on with Bax?
@Horings: Like the second runner-up, senior vice chairman – 12th man – substitute – vice president…
@Horings:
Exactly my thoughts. The Sharks, even more than the Stormers, blew their good years.
11 Mar 2010, 13:59 pm
@Karen: I also see you do not mention 1996 in your “history”. Kinda like the new governments’ “history” of our country.
11 Mar 2010, 14:01 pm
@Horings:
Our team is playing well and we are happy. Now this attitude of yours is the reason most SA supporters HATE the Bulls.
We are not being arrogant, we are just positive about our team.
What is wrong with that??
11 Mar 2010, 14:02 pm
@Horings: You guys drew against one of the worst S14 teams in a Currie Cup final…. China. Currie Cup doesn’t mean ****.
Before having everyone screaming at me. The old governments’ history was also one-sided. Anyone will change its history to suit themselves!
@wpw: Dislike WPW – you don’t want to be pulled in front of the Hate Commission now do you!
11 Mar 2010, 14:06 pm
@5t0rmer54eva:
Dont have a clue. Is Bax still playing for UCT??
Yaya has played age group rugby for WP for some time now. He also played U19/21 rugby for SA recently.
He is a flank forward and is quite a big chap.
11 Mar 2010, 14:07 pm
@wpw: A pity UCT didn’t take their chances on Monday. Really thought they could have pulled that one through.
11 Mar 2010, 14:08 pm
O noooo !!!!!!!!
You don’t like us BULLS supporters…
11 Mar 2010, 14:09 pm
Yes, your team was beaten by one of the “worst S14 teams” in a couple of semis. We were also beaten by them, but at least we were there! We won some of the big games.
The CC does not mean ****! Cool, then you have not won anything in your whole existence that is worth anything. At least we won two trophies worth something according to you! PS I was more enthusiastic about last year’s CC than the S14.
11 Mar 2010, 14:11 pm
@Horings: Nobody is screaming
Just the fact that everyone knows the Bulls have a good team at the moment but once apon a time your team was not impressive. I did not put 1996 or 1997 in there because they were playing under Northern Transvaal and not as the Blue Bulls.
Besides your TUKS side in Varisty rugby have not won anything – I think MATIES which are WP/Stormers are actually winning trophies so the cupboard is not that bare. We did also win a trophy or two with the uner21′s and u19.
Besides I am not starting a punch here it is just the Bulls have supporters who really tend to be arrogant but they forget when Heyneke Meyer took over before the second world war they were doing really bad. The Stormers beat the Bulls for 5 seasons running even in Dubai for two years in a row (warm up games).
Bill – I pop up now and again
11 Mar 2010, 14:16 pm
@Karen: You should pop up more! It adds flavour to the stew! You actually do know what I mean.
11 Mar 2010, 14:19 pm
Senior @Karen: I am talking about Senior Provincial Rugby!
Trust me I do remember those awful days as I felt I was doing a one man show supporting the Bulls. Oh the people laughed when I told them that we will be the first SA team to win the S12, just after Vidiri had scored 4 tries against us. Cannot remember the year.
Can you guys remember all those jokes? Wat het meer punte as die Bulls? A samoosa!
11 Mar 2010, 14:29 pm
what happened to all saffas merrily holding hands ans supporting each other’s teams?
where are the sharks fans to sing the praises of the indomitab-ull blue bulls..kzn king shark, rangerman?
11 Mar 2010, 14:30 pm
@Horings: So horings that how we feel when our team does not do great. But even if I have to be the last supporter sitting at Newlands waving my Stormers flag I will never support another team. That is why I find it hilarious the way some supporters trash each other on this site. Every team has its good years but then every team has its bad ones as well.
Every team has its arrogant supporters but what pisses me off is guys that have been supporting the Stormers for years suddenly become Bulls supporters just because they win. To me that is not a supporter at all.
Besides smile both our sides are at least up there in the top 4
11 Mar 2010, 14:30 pm
@Bill Reyts: LMAO Bill – then I will be like a jack-in-the-box
11 Mar 2010, 14:33 pm
These are some the most dangerous runners in the S14
Backs
Zac Guilford
Corey Jane
Joe Pieterson
Van der Heever
Rene Ranger
Habbana
……to name a few, anyone else ???
11 Mar 2010, 14:34 pm
@Karen: Karen-in-a-box is fine.
I remember seeing you sitting under your brolly on the old Railway stand waving your streppies flag and the flessie. Those were the good old days.
11 Mar 2010, 14:34 pm
@Gonzo Journalism:
bakkies botha
11 Mar 2010, 14:35 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: Matfield on the wing.
11 Mar 2010, 14:36 pm
and the Highlanders front row looks like they could be an addition to “Bro Town”
11 Mar 2010, 14:36 pm
@Bill Reyts:
nooooo Andries is a faster wing, sorry no he is a fast centre
11 Mar 2010, 14:37 pm
@vasteses: and kanko @13
@Bill Reyts: Hahahaha first of all I don’t sit on the railway stand
I prefer the Grand Stand
Try Spies on Full back
@vasteses: Yes your right! He can at least tackle as well.
11 Mar 2010, 14:38 pm
@Karen: You moved up in life! Don’t try and pretend it wasn’t you now.
11 Mar 2010, 14:39 pm
@Karen:
wel lets choose a 15 man bok team changing backs and fwds
@Bill Reyts: Did I have my curlers in my hair those days
@Karen: Those were the days when this was still a rugby site! Remember.
@vasteses: Good idea
15: Spies (a definite one)
11 Mar 2010, 14:40 pm
@Bill Reyts: Yes it was – and it was the time when IG would ban those who crossed the line
11 Mar 2010, 14:41 pm
@Karen: Couldn’t see under your doekie, but you did have your slippers on. When Chris Pope scored that try in the corner your falsies fell into the flessie. Remember those days – Five in a row. Feels like yesterday.
@Gonzo Journalism: For me the most dangerous are David Smith, Lelia Masanga, Ranger and even Mapoe. They are all very strong for their size.
@Karen: So right.
11 Mar 2010, 14:42 pm
@wpw:
Bax must come back home, I’d certainly take him over Justin Peach
11 Mar 2010, 14:44 pm
hows this forwards backline…….
15. Piere Spies
14. Ryan Kanko
13. Andries Bekker
12. Vic Mattfeild
11. Todd Clever
10. Jamie Mackintosh
11 Mar 2010, 14:45 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: heres a few
Fruen
Mapoe
Kahui
Sivivatu
Toeava
@Bill Reyts: Hahaha at least I have superglue for the false teeth these days
@Horings: yeah Masanga !!!
@Gonzo Journalism: Just don’t put Brok at scrumhalf please. Still have nightmares.
11 Mar 2010, 14:46 pm
Can we please have Eddie Andrews at flyhalf??
I reckon he might show Morne Steyn a thing or two!!!
11 Mar 2010, 14:47 pm
@Karen: Remember how we used to laugh. Just don’t get enough of that anymore. Well the superbra is fine as well. I mean superbru!
This might be moderated.
11 Mar 2010, 14:48 pm
@wpw: Or Tiaan Liebenberg
11 Mar 2010, 14:48 pm
@Bill Reyts: But you agree that Jamie Mackintosh will make a fine pivot????
11 Mar 2010, 14:49 pm
@Bill Reyts: Lol hey my Superbru standing are good
Besides one does get the wonderbra but not superbra 
Just spoke to Lam on the phone – he is chilling at home – lucky fish
11 Mar 2010, 14:50 pm
@Karen:
Tiaan is an AWESOME rugby player!!!
11 Mar 2010, 14:51 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: I had him last year in my Testrugby.com team and he made plenty of points. He probably breaks through tackles more than anyone. Ranger also had some games where he made plenty of points, but he was not that consistent. Another guy is Digby Ioane from the Reds.
@Gonzo Journalism: Can we PLEASE have Gio Aplon as hooker
@wpw: I know and he has a good replacement if he gets injured – that Deon guy impressed me on Saturday
11 Mar 2010, 14:52 pm
@Karen: You called …
11 Mar 2010, 14:54 pm
@Ig: No I wonder if it is the real IG because some guys use so many nicks on the site
11 Mar 2010, 14:55 pm
@Karen: LOL…..we joke now, but once apon a time the boks had a backline that sported these names
Swanepoel, Louis Kuun, Breyton, Van Straaten, Jorrie Muller, Gaffie !!!!!
the age of creativity……..
11 Mar 2010, 14:57 pm
@Karen: Nah its me – the timing is however concidence
11 Mar 2010, 14:57 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: Lol yes I know.
11 Mar 2010, 14:58 pm
@Ig: mmmmm still not convinced
Sorry but too many people changing there nicks on this site
@Ig: Don’t take it personally lol
@Gonzo Journalism: Picked by Harry Viljoen nogal – i still have nightmares about Joost at nine, Koen at ten and Van Stratten at 12 against England i think it was
11 Mar 2010, 14:59 pm
@Ig: Harry was a visionary – still don’t know what vision he was following
11 Mar 2010, 14:59 pm
@Karen:
farking smilies.
11 Mar 2010, 15:00 pm
Backs among the forwards:
1. Tiaan Joubert (Bulls 2002)
2. Mac Hendricks
3. Pieter Muller
4. Pieter Rossouw
5. Naqeluvuki
6. Lomu
7. De Wet Barry (He was a better fetcher than centre!)
8. Vidiri
11 Mar 2010, 15:01 pm
@Karen: Right! Got that one wrong again. Super/wonder whatever.
11 Mar 2010, 15:01 pm
@Karen: Neither did he, i think Andre Markgraff used to get up in the middle of the night and whisper strategies to him, Harry would then wake up with a new plan.
11 Mar 2010, 15:02 pm
@Ig: That’s you!
11 Mar 2010, 15:02 pm
Hallo Ig…
Ja boet, this site have turned into a free for all…
No more banning apparently
11 Mar 2010, 15:03 pm
Farking smilies!
11 Mar 2010, 15:04 pm
Ok guys I am outa of here
Have a great afternoon
@Ig: @Ig: the only vision Harry had was his reflection in the mirror (highlites in his hair and 20K suites)
KAREN!
@Karen: Don’t be so scarce!
Hey Blouste – Hoe gannit? Sometimes these days i wish i was a Bulls supporter just for the quality of the rugby. But then reality dawns
11 Mar 2010, 15:05 pm
@Karen: nooo
11 Mar 2010, 15:05 pm
@Horings: Rod Kafer as prop
11 Mar 2010, 15:06 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: Indeed.
11 Mar 2010, 15:08 pm
So, when does Cardinelli and Vrede give us their “expert” views on what’s going to happen this weekend?
11 Mar 2010, 15:10 pm
@WP Till I Die: The 100 ******* in the basement must be on strike
11 Mar 2010, 15:12 pm
@WP Till I Die: The 100 Macaca fascicularis in the basement must be on strike…
farking moderation
11 Mar 2010, 15:12 pm
@Ig: I think the era of the boks having un ultra uncreative backline ended with the knock on / Drop Kick that Jaco displayed in the 49-0 drubbing at the Suncorp, that was officially the lowest point, from then on the Rugby God decided that enough was enough, and so began the long hard road out of hell !!!
11 Mar 2010, 15:14 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: Lets be honest its still not exactly the most creative line in the world – we juts lucky to have Habs and Co to give us hope – i still think me miss a ten who runs the show like Merts etc
11 Mar 2010, 15:15 pm
@Ig:
Fine thanks…you guys not doing badly though…
11 Mar 2010, 15:17 pm
@Blouste: Early days … i have no faith in those dudes, when they have won the competition i will acknowledge they had a good year
farking smilies
bok centres with the worst hands:
1. Halstead (could catch it, but never passed it)
2. De Wet Barry
3. Jorrie Muller(dont know if he could pass it as he never cought it)
4. Pieter Muller(but he could tackle all right)
@Blouste: if it was up to you everyone that mentions rt would be banned…good on roy!
That “report comment” button was used by the verkrampte to deal with anyone who challenged their warped views. But Roy picked up on it and removed it, again good on ye Roy!
11 Mar 2010, 15:21 pm
@Transformation:
Don’t feel like talking to you at this stage…
It’s of no use in anycase…
11 Mar 2010, 15:23 pm
@Ig: Honibal had a creative edge though, played before his time i reckon
11 Mar 2010, 15:26 pm
@Transformation: @Blouste:
Did you okes have a spat or something? I struggle to keep up these days…
11 Mar 2010, 15:29 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: Yea, Lem was a legend – its just a pity only Mallet ever acknowledged it.
11 Mar 2010, 15:30 pm
@Horings: Ugliest player ever…….Neil Jenkins !!!! or the other Welsh Fullback Thomas
11 Mar 2010, 15:31 pm
@WP Till I Die:
Nah , Ek’s net nie nou lus om in die moddergooiery betrokke te raak nie, ou transie is duidelik besig om dit uit te lok…
Gaan dit goed daai kant?
11 Mar 2010, 15:34 pm
Geez, there is some dirty laundry coming out here.
@Ig: I could not agree more. Oh for a flyhalf with quick feet, quick hands, a kick like a mule, tackles like Honiball and has great vision. Morne is 75% there – here is hoping that he is working on the other 25%
11 Mar 2010, 15:38 pm
@GI POT: I was never a Steyn fan, but the more he plays at Bok level, the more i think he isn’t half bad.
11 Mar 2010, 15:39 pm
@GI POT: And that can drop kick like Jannie De Beer !!!!!
11 Mar 2010, 15:42 pm
@WP Till I Die: @320, Transie called Gerard Van Der Heever, “Hurdles”
11 Mar 2010, 15:42 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: He certainly rivals Neil Jenkins @ # 322
11 Mar 2010, 15:47 pm
@Ig: hell yeah, and what made matters worse is that he never turned when he droped
11 Mar 2010, 15:50 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: Indeed, but Jannie gets free drinks for life on my tab after that RWC display against England
11 Mar 2010, 15:52 pm
Gerhard vs Mjekuvo … mmmm Gerhard by 100000000
11 Mar 2010, 15:54 pm
@Ig: Yeah and despite his looks he can most likely pull woman easier then what i can in certain parts of the OFS !!!!
11 Mar 2010, 15:56 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: ROTFLMAO
11 Mar 2010, 16:01 pm
@Blouste:you better stick to die taal boytjie!
@WP Till I Die: nah, ek & blouste is gatgabbas van toeka af…hehehe
11 Mar 2010, 16:04 pm
haha, sol much of bickering.
i love rugby season
we can all go back to being mates when the dust settles lmao!
11 Mar 2010, 16:08 pm
@rangerman: Different day, same ****
11 Mar 2010, 16:09 pm
@rangerman:
Glad to see you still have your sense of humour, Ranger of the North…
I was getting worried for a bit, you seemed to be getting quite emotionally invested in some of the spats on here…
11 Mar 2010, 16:10 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: Nah, I think Morne’s drop kicks are just fine.
I must say that Ashley Johnson must be the butt ugliest rugby player I have ever seen and I am certain that some parts of the Free State and Cape Flats will disagree with me there!!!
11 Mar 2010, 16:12 pm
@GI POT: Dude you have to respect the fro’
11 Mar 2010, 16:14 pm
@GI POT: Ya when he Ashley Johnson opperates woman, they call it “Cavemaning”
11 Mar 2010, 16:15 pm
@Ig: Absolutely, the proverbial ontploffing in matras fabriek. Respect
11 Mar 2010, 16:17 pm
@Ig: if he had to wear a bandana with that fro, he would look like a harlem pimp from the 70′s
11 Mar 2010, 16:18 pm
@WP Till I Die: ranger is in the transkei, he has to have a sense of humour, one word and i can have him taken care of!
11 Mar 2010, 16:18 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: And when he removes his fake front teeth he must be irresistable to the cavewomen. Crumbs, this is getting too graphic for me – it could lead to disturbing dreams and serious underperformance. Gotta go
11 Mar 2010, 16:24 pm
@GI POT: LOL he is made up in folk tales, they say “kids of you miss behave Ashley will come and get you”
11 Mar 2010, 16:30 pm
@rangerman: The Wars!
It’s what we live for.
I even let Hater come out and play today. Felt a little bloodthirsty.
11 Mar 2010, 16:31 pm
@Gonzo Journalism: He needs to cut that hair.
11 Mar 2010, 16:34 pm
@Ig:
My intuition just flared up.
11 Mar 2010, 16:58 pm
15.Juan ( nice and tall)
14 spies
13 vermeulen
12 Brussouw
11 kanko
10 Vic ( some nice grubbers kills – try of Jsmit against Lions
9 Vloors
8. Jaques Fourie
7. Meisiekind
6. De wet barry ( still plays for EP)
5. van den haaver ( tall
4. Jaco Pretorius ( tall
3 AD jacobs
2 Riaan viljoen
1 Earl rose( would like to see him get scrummed
11 Mar 2010, 17:02 pm
van den haaver = vd heever
11 Mar 2010, 17:05 pm
@GI POT:
can you remeber philip Schutte used to play lock for bulls and Bokke , his nick name was Piekes, only his mother could love that face
11 Mar 2010, 17:15 pm
@vasteses: One ugly mug Schutte had……. Powder blond seemingly, helluva lock though. Put him in the same veign as Otto.
11 Mar 2010, 17:38 pm
@Pot Blou Gevaar:
. yes he was great big too over 2 meter i think, was with a mate in Voortrekkerhoogte played for the first 15 from std 8
Won the then Administrateurs Beker in 1985 i think. Proud school then, has all gone to shambles now ( apparently)
11 Mar 2010, 20:46 pm
@5t0rmer54eva: Marty is awesome man! Madagascar is one of my favorites… Lion King is still the best
@Die_Valk: I said we were gonna lose
11 Mar 2010, 21:58 pm
@vasteses: I remember an 0/14 game I played against him while we were on tour in Pretoria – he was allready a giant by then and I almost won one line-out throw against him … on our throw…
11 Mar 2010, 22:04 pm
Liverpool, why
11 Mar 2010, 22:12 pm
@scar:
lol , ja the scenario of my ball is my ball and your ball is my ball
11 Mar 2010, 23:02 pm
@scar:
He played for Transvaal too!
In fact he was on the 1993 Transvaal team that won the First Super10 under Christie and also played in the 1994 CC final against the FS!
More than half the team then were ex Ntvl: Strauli, Gehrbrand Grobeler, Janie Breedt, Uli Shmidt, Schutte, Johan Roux, the No 6, Theo Van Rensberg and few more I forgot their names
11 Mar 2010, 23:06 pm
where is grant 10?
12 Mar 2010, 08:17 am
@Seven:
He is spreading his gospel somewhere else!!!
I mean, John Smit has been selected at 3 which means grant10 is either at the doctor for medication or he is in hospital for a nervous breakdown!!
12 Mar 2010, 12:07 pm
How does Phil Waugh not get mentioned on the topic of ugly rugby players? Seriously, that orc is in a league of his own.
12 Mar 2010, 12:52 pm
@4thWiseMan: Amen, but i still think Niel Jenkins takes the gold
12 Mar 2010, 15:34 pm
Yah…sensible Stormers will take this one..!
Aggressive defence-check!
Clinical line-out display-check!
Abrasive at the breakdown-without a doubt..!!
I’m more worried about the Cheetahs next week.
12 Mar 2010, 16:37 pm
At the risk of providing cannon-fodder to Tacitus, I think the major home game that the Stormers should really be worried about, is the one against the Bulls.
That said, if the Stormers can pull off a convincing win against the Canes tomorrow, then that bodes well for our fixture against the Bulls.
As an aside, will someone please spike Walsh’s breakfast tomorrow so that he can leave the field with magkrampe and be replaced? I thank you.
12 Mar 2010, 16:53 pm
@4thWiseMan: Bulls-Stormers will be test match stuff…defence will win the day..!!
12 Mar 2010, 16:56 pm
And if we let the defensive records speak for themselves, we all know who clearly comes out trumps there
12 Mar 2010, 16:57 pm
See ya’all at Newlands tomorrow! STORM SAAM!!
SSSSSTTTTTOOOOOOORRRRRMMMMMMMMEEEEEEERRRRRRRRSS!!!