Stormers must stay sensible

Forget an expansive performance. Aggressive defence, clinical lineout work and an abrasive breakdown display will set the stage for a win over the Hurricanes.

Ever the diplomat, Allister Coetzee said the Stormers will keep the ball in hand on Saturday. For those desperate for the Sevens-style touch rugby showcased in the Lions vs Chiefs fixture, this may be cause for excitement. For those who took note of Coetzee’s comments earlier in the week, it’s clear the Stormers will keep with a more sensible approach.

Ball retention is the Stormers’ priority, and this means the Cape franchise will look to make better use of their possession than they have in previous weeks. The decision-making hasn’t been great, as players have often kicked when the run was on, or run from their own territory when the clearance was more prudent. They’ve also dropped the ball at crucial moments, and a number of try-scoring opportunities have gone begging.

Against bottom-four teams like the Lions and Highlanders, it’s not a big deal, but you can’t squander chances against teams like the Hurricanes. The Stormers missed out against the Brumbies, and they’ve no doubt taken a lesson from that error-strewn defeat.

You can’t set out to beat a team like the Canes with an all-out attack. As disjointed as the Kiwis are at the moment, they have the individuals capable of turning the spilled passes that have characterised the Stormers backline’s season into try-scoring chances. They are lethal on the counter, but are limited if you tighten your approach.

The Stormers defence has been nothing short of magnificent. They’ve conceded two tries and 48 points in four matches. The miserly Crusaders are a distant second with seven tries and 84 points conceded. The Stormers’ line defence has been impresssive, but so too has their defence at the breakdown. Schalk Burger and Francois Louw have worked well together under the new laws, and pose a big threat to the Canes at the tackle.

The lineout is another strong point, and after two tries earned through powerful mauls that would’ve had northern hemisphere critics out of their armchairs, why would they want to move away from what works? Sure the Canes pack has several All Black individuals, but as the early rounds have proved, they’re not nearly as dangerous as a unit.

Coetzee wants his backline attack to keep striving for that elusive synergy, and has even uttered the Peter de Villiers phrase of ‘when we come off, we’re going to be one helluva force’. You have to appreciate what the Stormers are trying to do in their quest to become the complete team. Their scrum is steady, their breakdown and lineout is thriving, their defence is top of the competition and their kicking game, although still lacking distance, is working. The backline attack is the only concern, but now is not the time to ‘keep trying’.

The Canes thrive in broken play, so why give them the opportunity of scooping a knock on and scoring at the other end of the park? The Stormers have already beaten the Waratahs, they should have beaten the Brumbies and are favourites to beat the Hurricanes. An ugly win will suffice when you’re playing the top teams. As it is in Test rugby, you shouldn’t increase the risk by persisting with something that is yet to come off.

The Stormers’ finishing requires work, but these ambitions need to be placed on hold for the time being. The Canes are too great a counter-attacking threat, and as any coach will tell you, you don’t play to the opposition’s strengths. As Coetzee himself has said, the Stormers want to starve the Canes of possession, and that begins with respecting your own ball. This means playing tighter, smarter rugby.

Whether it rains in Cape Town this Saturday or not, the humidity afflicting the Mother City at present is hardly conducive to an expansive spectacle. These conditions will suit the hosts in what some may call a more conservative approach and others may call a winning one. As a team, the Canes have shown nothing to suggest they’ll trouble the Stormers at home, but of course, this all depends on the Cape side staying true to their winning formula.

By Jon Cardinelli

367 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

• 101.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: hey quik question mate…..is F1 racing big in NZ, i know you all are big into the yaught racing i belive…..forgot what it is called

• 102.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

I never liked Coetzee when he was White’s 2ic, but as a head coach he is one of our better ones.

• 103.gunther: Reply to this comment

I wonder how much people would rave about anton van zyl if he hadn’t gone to oxford…

Personally I’ll take baxxies over a degree in the liberal arts ..

• 104.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: At the risk of a backlash I reckon AC would have been a far better Bok coach than PdV.

PdV had all these fancy ideas about ‘total rugby’(still has no doubt)but what have we seen of it?

When he tried to enforce his style of play we started losing and had to revert back to JW’s winning ways.

For the sake of continuity it should have been AC and we would have been unbeatable…and saved us all the embarassing brain f@rts we put up with p.divvy…

• 105.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: I have to agree.

• 106.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: AC was Jake’s first choice..and at the time we were top of the world,as it happens we are once again,but had AC been at the helm we probably wouldn’t have blipped in 2008

• 107.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

PdV tends to be very impulsive, and sometimes I get the feeling he’ll do the opposite to what everybody expects just to prove a point, even though it makes no sense and has a negative effect.

• 108.Staal: Reply to this comment

Good points that AC is making here….

Stormers hve my support this weekend!

• 109.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Right on!!!

• 110.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: @5t0rmer54eva: ..lol.. You enjoy the punch and judy show when you were young.. puppets can be very entertaining.

So we have two imbeciles on the blog.. lets see how many more will join you guys..

• 111.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

Bru, we struggled in 2008 because of the ELV’s. John Smit was also injured and so too was FDP for most of that year.

Do you remember where the Bulls ended on the S14 log in 2008???

As defending champions they ended 10th (I stand to be corrected)

The very next year they beat the AB’s and it had more to do with having a full strength squad as well as no more ELV’s.

People should stop believing the bollocks written by the likes of Gavin Rich and Zelim Nel and think for themselves.

• 112.Transformation: Reply to this comment

who is the referee for this game? If he is as lenient on the stormers @ the breakdown like lawrence then the canes will have a torrid afternoon.

• 113.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@The Almighty Shaun: Blow it outta yr poopchute…dumb@ss..!!

• 114.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: You know you are talking straight up kak!

• 115.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@wpw: I think for myself.. and I believe AC is the finished product…wait and watch..a Storm is brewing..PdV is a walking disaster zone,still plays out of form players to prove a point…if you don’t play your best you can’t beat the best..!!

• 116.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@wpw: Amen.

@Transformation:

Stormers vs Hurricanes at Newlands
    Referee: Nathan Pearce (Australia)
    Assistant referees: Steve Walsh (Australia), Marc van Zyl (South Africa)
    Television match official: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)

• 117.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: You sound like Jake White.

• 118.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: 113.. You just confirmed your status… Well Done!!

• 119.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: It’s ppl like you that can’t see the **** for the highwater…you will vote for a rascist pig like Malema ’cause he’s ancyl president.. that’s what we really need…a black Verwoerd in this country..

• 120.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism: It has a decent following…we have things like a V8 supercar round, NZ rally (some great rural tracks)…15 x Ivan Mauger was the world Speedway champ (motorcycle)…home to the Britten motorcycle… we have our fair share of rev heads :D Americas cup is the yachting…

• 121.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: Good…a world cup winner,he knew what was best for the Boks but Saru decided to go with a clown :roll:

• 122.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

Jake White also persisted with ‘out of form’ players didn’t he??

What did he win again??

De Wet Barry, Eddie Andrews, Jacques Cronje, Moses VD Westhuizen, Marius Joubert, Andre Snyman, etc

Victor Matfield was one of our worst players in 2008 and yet PDV stuck with him.

Last year he was one of our start performers!!

• 123.GI POT: Reply to this comment

OMG, not another shackle dragging idiot with a whistle in his mouth. This game is spoilt as a spectacle before it starts. The team to adapt quickest to the ref’s blunders will win. I hope I am wrong – I seriously do

• 124.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

What has Malema got to do with rugby??

Dude, relax and lets continue talking about rugby shall we?? :wink:

What did you think of Matfield’s performances for the Boks in 2008?? Should he have been dropped??

• 125.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

So PDV is a clown??

What is his win vs loss ratio as Bok coach again??

Tri Nations Winner
    B & I Lions Winner
    Beat the All Blacks 3 times in 1 season
    First coach to win in Dunedin in how many years??
    Record scores against both Argentina AND Australia

• 126.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Yeah the Americas cup, was at a pub in london and saw a crew of new zealanders cheering like NZ won the web ellis, only to look over and see some yaughts on the TV, I was thinking WTF, but differnt strokes for different i guess!!!!

• 127.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Is there a level below imbecile that we are not aware of and that you may know of… I am finding it difficult trying to retain you at the dizzy heights of imbecile at the moment and it seems that you have discovered another level.. Tell us about it… be there dragons??

• 128.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Excuse me. How did we jump from your comparission of Pdv, and AC, to me allegedly being a ANCYL VOTER?

Why cos I am black? Just check your racist self and make it quick. You do not know me so stop assuming. You are making a flat out d00s of yourself.

As for your WC winnng coach. Where is he now after his drinking and whoring? Not one international rugby playing nation wants him. NOT ONE!

And that clown, managed to nil NZ last year, win the Lions series and won in NZ in his first few months (2008) in the job. Something your drunkard of a Jake couldn’t manage.

Now if you want to “rek jou bek again” about ANCYL comparing that **** to me, it will be an indication that I get to call you Eugene Terreblanche’s used toilet paper. So make sure about your next post.

• 129.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@wpw: All I’m saying is that I believe it would have been a far smoother transition with AC taking over the reins,and I think the Boks would have been far more successful.
    AC is proving to be a very capable coach,and it is starting to show with the Stormers and it’s because he subscribes to JW’s winning ways.

• 130.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Sharks team has been named on their site.

15. Stefan Terblanche
    14. Odwa Ndungane
    13. Adi Jacobs
    12. Riaan Swanepoel
    11. JP Pietersen
    10. Andy B Goode
    9. Ruan Pienaar

8. Ryan Kankowski
    7. Willem Alberts
    6. Jacques Botes
    5. Johann Muller
    4. Steven Sykes
    3. John Smit
    2. Bismarck Du Plessis
    1. Beast Mtatawira

16. Craig Burden
    17. Jannie Kannie Scrumnie
    18. Al Hargreaves
    19. Jean Deysel
    20. Keegan Daniel
    21. Rory Kockott
    22. Waylon Murray

• 131.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: Same old **** man.. blow it outta yr ringpiece..!!

• 132.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Sharks team:

15. Stefan Terblanche
    14. Odwa Ndungane
    13. Adrian Jacobs
    12. Riaan Swanepoel
    11. JP Pietersen
    10. Andy Goode
    9. Ruan Pienaar
    8. Ryan Kankowski
    7. Willem Alberts
    6. Jacques Botes
    5. Johann Muller
    4. Steven Sykes
    3. John Smit ©
    2. Bismarck du Plessis
    1. Tendai Mtawarira
    Replacements
    16. Craig Burden
    17. Jannie du Plessis
    18. Alistair Hargreaves
    19. Jean Deysel
    20. Keegan Daniel
    21. Rory Kockott
    22. Waylon Murray

• 133.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Thanks ET’s used kak paper. You started it. Remember that.

• 134.Gonzo Journalism: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009:

Andy “B” Goode…….Ya,Nee…..lets wait and see

• 135.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: It’s ’cause I’m cullert hey..?..now you wanna wipe yr ou’s *** wit me..?
    I see how you baa baa black sheep go hey…just support the oke no matter how many farkups he makes,he’s your ou..it’s what’s wrong wit this country bru..stop being a dumbass and following the masses..!

• 136.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: You mentioned Malema. YOU YOU YOU YOU YOU YOU! Why would you do that when we are talking rugby?

COS YOU ARE A DOOS, AND ET’S USED KAK PAPER, I do not care what shade you skin is. I know a doos when I see one!

• 137.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@Gonzo Journalism: He’s up for his hatrick of yellows. If he liked yellow so much, he should have gone to the Hurricanes. Jannie’s also a fan!

• 138.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: As for Pdv’s fark ups.

OOOOOHHH Yeah. Beating the AB’s 3-0 is a disaster for SA rugby. Winning that Lions tour. Oh how dare he!

He ought to follow the examples of Jake and losing 49 – 0!

• 139.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

href=”#comment-1537820″>The Almighty Shaun: Dude, everybody has a right to his/her opinion….. if u don’t like what people have to say, u have a right to comment, but if u r going to be insulting don’t bother.

• 140.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: storm into hell, you are misguided boet. if AC is the real deal why has he sat behind rassie for all these years taking orders from a coach he knows he is not better than him…why haven’t wp rugby made AC the “finished article” DOR, he is the one that turned-around the CC team, so why elevate rassie to the overseer role & leave the WC winning asst coach. Or do i have it wrong, rassie was actually being demoted when he was given the DOR job?

• 141.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Anyway I’m done with you. I cannot stand Jake White gat kruipers and you appear to be president of the gat kruiper fan club.

• 142.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

Riaan Swanepoel better get injured early in the game if the sharks want to have any chance of winning.. Waylon and ADi are the most potent combination in midfield… But because Plum is a twat.. he will not allow this combination to blossom.. His obsession with Goode accentuates his Twat Status..

• 143.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

The senior players in the Bok team have all stated that this Bok group is currently happier than they’ve ever been.

Fourie Du Preez said it, Habana said it!!

Hell, even Matfield said it!!

And all of them have defended their coach and asked that he receive more credit for the results.

• 144.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri: I can’t converse wit a pea-brain yodeller…your history is so ancient it stinks like ET’s winkle…
    If Divvy did so well just imagine(try anyway) how much better the Boks woulda been with Alistair.

• 145.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: Moenie Huil nie!!! If you find my criticism insulting then that is your opinion 8)

• 146.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@wpw: agreed…Divvy is a good people person and manager…I’m saying the Boks would have been better with a proper coach continuing the good work done by his predecessor :roll:

• 147.wpw: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

One more question.

Are you willing to concede that PDV is doing a decent job as Bok coach??

We were nearly unstoppable last year. Will you give him some credit for the team’s achievements??

• 148.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

I don’t rate Adi Jacobs. What worries me is the fact that his bok contract has been renewed. Imo there are beter centers out there.

• 149.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

@The Almighty Shaun: Apart from one crazy tackle Goode has done nothing wrong. Swanepoel was invisible last week and should be replaced by Murray who is a class above him and should be played back into top form ASAP.

• 150.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@wpw: 143.. don’t be silly mate.. you will never be able to argue at his level.. you need a mine shaft to get to that level.. ;-)

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.