Super 14 Preview: Round 5

Jon Cardinelli and Ryan Vrede analyse the key match-ups and pick the winners at the weekend.

The Reds and Cheetahs continue to prove the naysayers wrong, and it’s small consolation the central franchise aren’t playing this week. You can also back the Reds to come good against the Force on Sunday, because John Mitchell’s side look firm favourites to take the wooden spoon.

It’ll be another mixed bag for South African sides this weekend with the Bulls and Stormers affirming their places in the top 4 while the Lions and Sharks continue to dwell in the Super 14 cellar.

KEO.CO.ZA SUCCESS RATE
Vrede: 19/27 (70%)
JC: 18/27 (67%)
Round 4
Vrede: 4/6
JC: 4/6
Round 3
Vrede: 4/7
JC: 4/7
Round 2
Vrede: 6/7
JC: 5/7
Round 1
Vrede: 5/7
JC: 5/7

CHIEFS vs CRUSADERS, HAMILTON, FRIDAY 08:35

VREDE’S CALL: I sense there will be more hurt in Hickville. The Crusaders cannot match the Chiefs’ flair, but their organisation and tactical intelligence will see them triumph. The Crusaders have the second-best defensive record in the tournament and their ability to stifle their opponents’ momentum at the breakdown has been at the heart of their success from a defensive perspective. The Saders, led by Richie McCaw, will strive to slow the Chiefs’ recycle, and the Reds showed last week that when you do that, a team that prides itself on being the tournament’s great entertainers are reduced to an ordinary looking outfit. Crusaders by 5
JC’S CALL: Dan Carter schooled former protege Stephen Brett last week, and he’ll get the better of Test understudy Stephen Donald on Friday. Andy Ellis’ injury is a big blow, as the Crusaders’ scrumhalf has been key to the Cantabs’ rumble on attack. But don’t write off the youngsters in this Crusaders out wide, or indeed, up front. They’ve played as a team, and as long as McCaw and Carter stay fit, they’ll be difficult to beat. The Chiefs have the broken-field runners to punish an errant approach, but the Crusaders won’t play to their opponent’s strengths. Crusaders by 7

Chiefs – 15 Mils Muliaina (c), 14 Lelia Masaga, 13 Richard Kahui, 12 Callum Bruce, 11 Sitiveni Sivivatu, 10 Stephen Donald, 9 Brendon Leonard, 8 Colin Bourke, 7 Tanerau Latimer, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Craig Clarke, 4 Romana Graham, 3 Nathan White, 2 Aled de Malmanche, 1 Sona Taumalolo.
Subs: 16 Vern Kamo, 17 Toby Smith, 18 Culum Retallick, 19 Luke Braid, 20 Junior Poluleuligaga, 21 Mike Delany, 22 Dwayne Sweeney.

Crusaders – 15 Jared Payne, 14 Sean Maitland, 13 Robbie Fruean, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i, 8 Kieran Read, 7 George Whitelock, 6 Richie McCaw (c), 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Ti’i Paulo, 1 Wyatt Crockett.
Subs: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Thomas Waldrom, 20 Willi Heinz, 21 Adam Whitelock, 22 Colin Slade.

WARATAHS vs LIONS, SYDNEY, FRIDAY 10:40

VREDE’S CALL: I’ve been caned for being less than complimentary about Dick Muir’s mob, but their results have provided ample ammunition and their stubborn refusal to adopt a more measured approach will see them sink in Sydney. After months of working with the squad, Muir still doesn’t know what his best combinations are, and this, combined with tactical naivety and a group of players incapable of making his expansive vision a reality, suggests more pain is on the way. The Tahs have been average to date, but even a fourth gear performance will be enough to down the visiting pussycats. They’ll be patient on defence and feed off the Lions’ errors (which should be plentiful), controlled through the phases, and have enough class in other facets to bank the points. In his post-match assessment last week Muir said ‘victory is around the corner.’ He fails to see that there are no corners when you’re running in a circle and returning to an ineffective game plan time after time. Waratahs by 12
JC’S CALL: The Lions have improved over the last two weeks in that they went from a 12-point loss to the Hurricanes to a 11-point loss to the Brumbies. What’s next? A 10-point loss to the Wobblitahs? Phil Waugh’s charges have been average, kind of like Australia’s version of the Blues. They’ll trouble the Lions at scrum time and bank big points through Berrick Barnes’ boot unless the Lions’ front row produce a disciplined display. If the Wobblitahs are smart, they’ll slow it right down. Everybody should be shooting for five log points against the Lions, but patience is key. The hosts lack patience as well as synergy at the moment, and while they’ll win comfortably, it will be without the bonus point. Waratahs by 10

Waratahs – 15 Sosene Anesi, 14 Lachie Turner, 13 Tom Carter, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Daniel Halangahu, 9 Luke Burgess, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Phil Waugh (c), 6 Dave Dennis, 5 Kane Douglas, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Al Baxter, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Damien Fitzpatrick, 17 Sekope Kepu, 18 Will Caldwell, 19 Ben Mowen, 20 Josh Holmes, 21 Kurtley Beale, 22 Rob Horne.

Lions – 15 Earl Rose, 14 Tonderai Chavhanga, 13 Walter Venter, 12 Doppies la Grange, 11 Wandile Mjekevu, 10 Carlos Spencer, 9 JP Joubert, 8 Todd Clever, 7 Derick Minnie, 6 Cobus Grobbelaar (c), 5 Willem Stoltz, 4 Franco van der Merwe, 3 Kevin Buys, 2 Hannes Franklin, 1 Heinke van der Merwe.
Subs: 16 Charles Emslie, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Jacques Lombaard, 19 Robert Kruger, 20 Jano Vermaak, 21 Burton Francis, 22 Wigan Pekeur.

BRUMBIES vs SHARKS, CANBERRA, SATURDAY 10:40

VREDE’S CALL: Hope has been the staple diet of Sharks supporters in recent weeks, but unfortunately for them a close-run defeat against the Tahs only served to create an unrealistic hope of success against the Brumbies. They improved in Sydney, that’s certain, but against a well-rounded unit like the Brumbies, that improvement will prove too small. Where their next try will come from is uncertain because their misfiring pack – which is laden with Springboks – has failed to lay an attacking foundation, and their attempts to remedy that problem will be complicated by the fact that they front up to a formidable set of heavies. Nullifying the hard-running loose trio of Stephen Hoiles, George Smith and Rocky Elsom will be a top priority, as that triumvirate has given the Brumbies the go-forward in winning efforts. Discipline has to be maintained as it has cost the Sharks dearly to date. I can’t see the Sharks snapping their losing streak in Canberra, but their fans will hope I’m wrong. Brumbies by 7
JC’S CALL: The Sharks believe they were robbed last week in Sydney, but they have only themselves to blame. The Waratahs should have piled on the points during the period where the visitors had two men in the sin-bin. The Brumbies, spearheaded by Matt Giteau, won’t miss that opportunity. The Sharks have brought in Andy Goode to kick for the corners and win them territory, but the Durban team has shown very few examples where a sustained build-up has produced points. In Goode and Stefan Terblanche, they have the kickers to win the booting battle, but their pack is out of form and their backline is struggling to trouble defences. The traditional Sharks’ grit will keep them in touch, but they’re missing that little bit extra needed to win the close matches. Brumbies by 5

Brumbies – 15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 Pat McCabe, 13 Stirling Mortlock, 12 Christian Lealiifano, 11 Francis Fainifo, 10 Matt Giteau, 9 Josh Valentine, 8 Stephen Hoiles (c), 7 George Smith, 6 Rocky Elsom, 5 Mark Chisholm, 4 Ben Hand, 3 Salesi Maafu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Ben Alexander.
Subs: 16 Huia Edmonds, 17 Guy Shepherdson, 18 Justin Harrison, 19 Mitchell Chapman, 20 Patrick Phibbs, 21 Matt Toomua, 22 Tyrone Smith.

Sharks - 15. Stefan Terblanche, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Adrian Jacobs, 12 Riaan Swanepoel, 11. JP Pietersen, 10, Andy Goode, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts, 6. Jacques Botes, 5. Johann Muller, 4. Steven Sykes, 3 John Smit (c), 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Beast Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Jannie du Plessis, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Keegan Daniel , 21 Rory Kockott, 22 Waylon Murray.

BULLS vs HIGHLANDERS, PRETORIA, SATURDAY 17:05

VREDE’S CALL: Who’d be the Highlanders? They face the most complete side in the tournament at a ground where they haven’t lost in 13 matches, and do so without three key players (Jimmy Cowan, Michael Hobbs and Adam Thomson). It’s futile entering into in-depth analyses of this match. The Landers will be competitive at the set phases but will still take a hammering. Bulls by 30
JC’S CALL: The Landers are over it. The Stormers, firing at 70%, took maximum points off them last week and it’d be an absolute surprise if the rampant Bulls failed to do the same. The slippery slide back to the bottom has begun for Glenn Moore’s men, and playing their last tour fixture at altitude could be what KOs their ambitions of improvement. The Bulls’ lineout will dominate, their loose forwards will thrive, and their halfbacks won’t deviate from a blueprint that’s secured them two Super Rugby titles. Bulls by 20

Bulls – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gerhard vd Heever, 13 Stephan Dippenaar, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Francois Hougaard, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Derick Kuün, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Danie Rossouw, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Gary Botha, 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 Rossouw de Klerk, 18 Flip van der Merwe, 19 Deon Stegmann, 20 Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 21 Jaco van der Westhuyzen, 22 Pedrie Wannenburg.

Highlanders – 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Ben Smith, 13 Kenny Lynn, 12 Jason Shoemark, 11 Fetu’u Vainikolo, 10 Matt Berquist, 9 Sean Romans, 8 Steven Stephano, 7 Alando Soakai, 6 Tim Boys, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Josh Bekhuis, 3 Chris King, 2 Jason MacDonald, 1 Jamie Mackintosh.
Subs: 16 Jason Rutledge, 17 Bronson Murray, 18 Hayden Triggs, 19 John Hardie, 20 Scott Cowan, 21 Robbie Robinson, 22 James Paterson.

STORMERS vs HURRICANES, CAPE TOWN, SATURDAY 19:10

VREDE’S CALL: The Canes don’t mind playing at Newlands mostly because they enjoy a level of support from certain sectors of the Cape coloured community. Expect those folks to be in full voice, shouting abuse at the home team while waxing lyrical about the skill of Ma’a Nonu and Conrad Smith. All this while leaning sideways in their seats because of the weight of the chips on their shoulders. For this reason I hope the Stormers beat the Wellington boys. Juvenile perhaps, but seeing them trudge home in despair will give me a deep sense of satisfaction. To make my Saturday a pleasant one, the Stormers will have to resist the urge to get loose in their approach, both with ball in hand and in their tactical kicking as the Canes are masters of exploiting such opportunities. They must build their game plan around patient phase play, tackle point domination on attack, and defence which would them allow them to stem the Canes’ attacking flow. They also have to be more clinical with the chances they create. I trust they’ll achieve this and bank the points, sending those canary yellow-clad Capetonians home hurting. Stormers by 7
JC’S CALL: It was a big call to persist with Sireli Naqelevuki after one decent performance. Gio Aplon is not just a fantastic runner, but his powerful left boot would have been useful in a contest where territory is so important. Piri Weepu is right in saying the physical aspect is paramount, and you don’t want to be absorbing to much punishment on your own side of halfway. This is a big clash for the hosts, who if successful, should head Down Under with five wins from six (their next opponents, the Cheetahs, will battle without Heinrich Brussow). They need to win this match at all costs, and that means the pressure is firmly on goal-kicker Joe Pietersen, who is likely to have a fair number of opportunities. The Stormers have been clinical at the breakdown, their lineout should be a premier platform while the scrum should achieve parity against a Canes pack that’s lacked bite in the initial rounds. You can’t underestimate the Canes, and the Stormers will need to realise that all their dominance will count for nought if they lose concentration in the final quarter. It will be close, but the Stormers will maintain momentum with another win. Stormers by 7

Stormers –15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Sireli Naqelevuki, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Juan de Jongh, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Peter Grant, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Anton van Zyl, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Subs: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JC Kritzinger, 18 De Kock Steenkamp, 19 Pieter Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Lionel Cronje, 22 Gio Aplon.

Hurricanes – 15 Cory Jane, 14 Tamati Ellison, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 David Smith, 10 Willie Ripia, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Rodney So’oialo, 7 Scott Waldrom, 6 Victor Vito, 5 Michael Paterson, 4 Bryn Evans, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 Andrew Hore, 1 Jacob Ellison.
Subs: 16 Dane Coles, 17 John Schwalger, 18 Jeremy Thrush, 19 Karl Lowe, 20 Tyson Keats, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Alapati Leiua.

REDS vs WESTERN FORCE, BRISBANE, SUNDAY 08:30

VREDE’S CALL: A week off wouldn’t have helped the Force’s progress and against the confident Reds, their campaign is set to plunge to new lows. Reds coach Ewen McKenzie has managed to identify, harness and play to the strengths of the players at his disposal while not compromising he fundamental building blocks of the game – forward dominance. They’ll be superior at the set phases, the breakdown and on attack. Defensive lapses have cost them, but if they can eliminate or minimise those, the Force won’t trouble them. Reds by 10
JC’S CALL: The Reds have scored some outstanding tries in this year’s competition and look set to add to their 2010 success with another scalp. The Force have been disappointing across the board, and you can’t really see them upsetting the Reds in Brisbane. Quade Cooper is on fire at the moment, be it on attack or through is quirky attempts at goal. He’ll be the dangerman, as behind a winning pack, he has the ability to embarrass a disorganised defence. Reds by 10

Reds – 15 Peter Hynes, 14 Luke Morahan, 13 Digby Ioane, 12 Anthony Faingaa, 11 Brando Va’aulu, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia (c), 8 Leroy Houston, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Van Humphries, 4 Rob Simmons, 3 Laurie Weeks, 2 Saia Faingaa, 1 Ben Daley.
Subs: 16 Sean Hardman, 17 Greg Holmes, 18 Adam Byrnes, 19 Jake Schatz, 20 Ben Lucas, 21 Morgan Turinui, 22 Will Chambers.

Western Force - 15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Scott Staniforth, 13 Ryan Cross, 12 James O’Connor, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 David Hill, 9 Brett Sheehan, 8 Richard Stanford, 7 Matt Hodgson, 6 Ben McCalman, 5 Nathan Sharpe (captain), 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Tim Fairbrother, 2 Ryan Tyrrell, 1 Nic Henderson.
Subs: 16 Pek Cowan, 17 Matt Dunning, 18 Tom Hockings, 19 Jono Jenkins, 20 Chris O’Young, 21 Sam Harris, 22 Mitch Inman.

343 Comments

• 1.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

No No No, this is exactly what I predicted.

• 2.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Chiefs by 5
    Lions by 6
    Sharks by 4
    Bulls by 15
    Stomers by 8
    Force by 6

• 3.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Crusaders
    Waratahs
    Sharks (upset the Brumbies at home)
    Bulls
    Hurricanes
    Reds

• 4.Darquan: Reply to this comment

I can’t see the Bulls losing this one. Next week will be tougher, but this one should be a 5-pointer. Go Bulle! And please Stormers, I don’t like you, but Hurri up and Cane those Kiwis this weekend for the sake of the country! I want you in the top 4 with the Bulls! 2 teams on top and 3 at the bottom, not ideal, but I’ll take it :)

• 5.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt:

My heart agrees with JC and Vrede’s picks, but my head thinks your picks just might end up being the case.

The Hurricanes will be smarting after their defeat against the Cheetahs and they always play well in Cape Town. The Stormers better not be complacent after their good victory last weekend…

• 6.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt: You could be correct on the Sharks, although I played safe. The Stormers to win, they beat the Hurricanes in 08 at Newlands and they will do it again. In 08 the Stormers were weaker and the Hurricanes stronger than what they are today.

• 7.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die: I think it was a certain Christian Cullen that always used to play well at Newlands.

• 8.Mike H: Reply to this comment

The Sharks haven’t beat the Brumbies at home since 1998 – not sure it will happen this weekend.

What I don;t like about the Stormers, they win and then they start trying to be too clever and f-up the next week, they lose and they return to basics and win.

Easiest way to beat a Stormer is pat them on the back

• 9.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

pa
    not picking the stormers?
    and I agree that the sharks are due a win,would be a great result for the bulls and stormers if the brumbies lose.

• 10.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: The first Super 14 game I ever watched live was Stormers versus Canes. Cullen, Lomu, Umaga and Nonu. Lomu looked massive, and if I remember correctly the Canes won that day.

• 11.Draken: Reply to this comment

Chiefs
    Tahs (although a Lion win wouldn’t shock me)
    Sharks (I think they’re due)
    Bulls
    Stormers
    Reds

• 12.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Mike H: LOL, so true about the Stormers.

• 13.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

I’ve got stinkin feeling the Chiefs are gonna win as well as the Sharkies.

• 14.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

Xhosakid & Pissant – Hope you’re right :o )

• 15.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: Could happen, the Crusaders haven’t looked as good as previous years.

• 16.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

With the sharks predictions anyway :D

• 17.Kea-Cat: Reply to this comment

@Black Cat: right about what?? Some games they have chosen different teams.

• 18.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: Did Nonu play with Lomu and Cullen? Weren’t they before his time?

• 19.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: Saders struggled against the Landers, they haven’t been convincing yet.

• 20.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

@Kea-Cat: With the Sharks results

• 21.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid: Interesting!!!

• 22.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

Is there any truth with the 2 Du Plessis brothers possibly leaving?

• 23.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Chiefs 7
    Lions draw (I hope)
    Sharks 3 (ugly win but they are due)
    Bulle 15 (getting back into there groove)
    Brokeback mountain goats 10 (Bulle import scoring a hatrick)
    Red 7

• 24.charo: Reply to this comment

no matter how hard i try – just cannot picture sharks beating brumbies.

• 25.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Black Cat: nope

@charo:

me neither but i let my heart rule on superbru lol

• 26.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@charo: have some faith boet your team is not so kak

• 27.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

Chiefs by 6
    Tahs by 4
    Sharks by 7
    Bulls by 20
    Stomers by 12
    Reds by 15

Reds are gonna be the surprise of the season, Genia is cookin wiff gas. Him and Cooper maybe the best pairing in competition.

• 28.Airwell: Reply to this comment

As a Bulls supporter I feel that the sharks are just about to turn the corner. They just need some confidence and this “Marksgate” incident might just galvanize them.

• 29.charo: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover:

yeah but getting a headache trying to force that image of a sharks win into my kop

• 30.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: Well done to your team they are not all hot gas anymore. You have to start taking them seriously now maybe Habanero is instilling some Bulls pride in them :)

• 31.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

Quite a few bloggers going for the Sharks. Have to agree with Charo, cannot see them upsetting the Brumbies. I hope I’m wrong…

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid: the chiefs to moer the saders? ubathembile? :shock:

The sharks will catch a L….done deal

• 33.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Would love to see the Sharks make a comeback and we end up with three SA sides in the semis.

• 34.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

Deysel hasn’t been playing well at all, he was smokin end of last season and what happened with Waylon 2 years back he was playing well. The Sharks have a lot good players not on form. Imo Jacobs is overrated.

• 35.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Think Deysel,Alberts and Kanko should allways be there starting loosies also never play Smit at TH should allways be hooker imo

• 36.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: Deysel is very predictable, yes he is an extremely strong runner but the opposition have caught on that he just doesn’t pass and they have 2 guys hammering him backwards

• 37.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Yeah, Yeah he’s a good player. I’m really happy we bought him, but sometimes it feels like cheating. But alas money does the talking if your career only last max 11-15 yrs.

• 38.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Will also allways play Waylon maybe the Bulls could offer him a contract and he has potential to be turned into another super star like Habanero

• 39.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Very naive of both of you to pick the Bulls by such a large margin. It’s going to be a lot closer than you think.

Chiefs remain a good team, I think they will get back after last week and beat the Crusaders.

Currently in the Top 100 of Superbru worldwide:)

• 40.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@Black Cat: can’t believe the coaches haven’t caught onto that yet, they should help him adjust his game plan.

• 41.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: where did alberts excel for the lions 7 or 8?

• 42.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Black Cat: point being two guys have to take him out therefore you end up then having 14 against 13. Even internationally he looks the real deal imo

• 43.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: 8 but he can do a job at 7 too imo

• 44.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: I think Waylon needs a confidence boost, he seems to not believe in himself. Hopefully a couple of tries will ignite his confidence.

• 45.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: And it was a Kak Lions team too.

• 46.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Yeah but it’s usually way behind the adv line & without any support & then we usually turn the ball over.

I still think he’s an awesome player, just a little one dimensional at the moment.

• 47.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: Send him to the Bulls :) he will get plenty of confidence

• 48.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Black Cat: could be the game plan they ask him to play also. Spies also went through that type of phase but eventually a good player increases his options and again imo I think Deysel has what it takes

• 49.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: Ya he seems to be running towards the touchline

• 50.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Saders.. forward pack too strong, Carter to lead his team better then the duck

Wallytahs will beat the lions, but not by as many as everyone expects..

Brumbies – Sharks are almost due, not this week but against a Brumbies team who will be better then last week..

Bulls should overcome a weakened highlanders, altitude the difference..

Canes to win it in the backs, much more settled with Smith back, forwards on an even par…

Reds to overrun the force, though will be closer then most expect…

• 51.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Black Cat: Who do you support

• 52.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Ja, if he plays alongside Wynand he’ll look good, but Pretorius is playing good rugby, although he’s not a spring chicken anymore.

• 53.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Altitude the difference do me a favour lol The class of the whole team is the difference :)

• 54.Black Cat: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: I’m a sharks supporter :(

• 55.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: i just feel a lot of people that punt this combo are looking at the names & seeing stars in their eyes…has it been tested on the pitch yet?

• 56.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: Pains me to say but he never achieved at the bulls hell i miss JP Nel

• 57.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: its the kiwi version of travel disadvantage :lol:

• 58.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: I dont know just like the combo think it would be a hand full. Feel that Daniels and Botes are not what it takes with these rule interpretations imo that is

• 59.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: You can’t be serious!! JP tackled like a demented pit bull but he had no attacking game at all. I personally think the Bulls backline hasn’t looked this good in years, maybe ever. Slaptjips has a big hand in that.

• 60.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

Is it true that Slaptjips only started playing rugby in matrik?

• 61.Pot Blou Gevaar: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: The boy was a star at our school (Worcester Gym), hell off player back then as well with unflinching defence. There was a time that I touted him for higher honours; never the less JP rarely slips up in the midfield.

• 62.zelot: Reply to this comment

Can anyone tell me if Danie is likely to remain permanent no 4 in Bakkies’ absence? Will Flip stay on the bench or a possible starter in the next few weeks?

• 63.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: With Slappes as coach he might have reached his true potential. I agree on attack he was not great but that is why you had meisiekind all about the combo

• 64.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@zelot: As long as Pakslae does not play 8 unless it is raining I dont mind.

• 65.5t0rmer54eva: Reply to this comment

Gotta go Chaps!!

• 66.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva:

I do think JP Nel fitted nicely into the Bulls bash and dnr them hard approach, although Jaco might have him on speed , Also do not think that Jaco has truly fitted into the bulls brawn frame of mind , he is more of a flair kind of guy. Dont get me wrong the bulls backs are playing superb rugby , Tjips hands is showing in this but do not discard the 9,10, 12 combo, they play with huge confidence and grows more formidable on every outing

• 67.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I understand we have the Lions too :)

• 68.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@5t0rmer54eva: Cheers boet good luck to your team

• 69.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: Dont think it is that he needed a 10 or 12 who created for him with his speed and in the Bulls set up he has never had that. Allthough Morne has developed nicely and maybe that is why he is looking better. Still think JP added that fear factor to the opposition bit like Nonu does today with the occasional spear tackle.

• 70.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Why is it that all the small 6 flankers rate themselves as ballcarriers? The immediate answer that springs to mind is: ‘Probably because they are!’ At least from their perspective that is. But coaches will have to be very circumspect in allowing these okes to go on the tearaway with the ball as nine times out of ten they will get isolated and the ball turned over under the new interpretations.

Both Daniels and Botes for instance are stronger with ball in hand than at fetching or cleaning, mainly due to their size, but one gets the idea that they shy away from the work on the ground at the breakdowns because of the physical nature of the cleans this year. They will have to re-invent themselves to be more effective.

Brussow and Stegman also fancy themselves as ball carriers, but are equally addept at fetching or cleaning, which is why they have made the transition from 2009 to 2010 a little easier. Last year their value as carriers was overshadowed by their fetching prowess, but this year their versatility is central to their success.

Interestingly, both of them are pinged quite regularly for breaking away/disengaging from the scrum a bit too early, which is a legacy of the 2009 interpretations where they needed to get to the tackle breakdown as soon as possible to fetch/steal. This year, ironically, they don’t need to be there that quickly, because it is usually the second or third man to the breakdown that fetches. So they too have had to adapt.

Given their size they both have opted to improve their cleans count in spite of their size, plus they do their fair bit in the tackling stakes. So suddenly two of the world’s better specialist fetchers from last year have evolved into the two best generalists this year. Interesting, don’t you think?

• 71.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Airwell:

Dito

• 72.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Airwell:

come to think of it there are no real contenders at 13 for SA at the moment , accept for Jacques who hasn’t really played that well.

• 73.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Also think the body shapes of Ratel and Steggies is the difference there centre of gravity is lower which allows them to have evolved. Allthough I must say Skulk is looking good too and he is big and tall.

• 74.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: I still think Waylon in the Bulls team setup would show us what he is made off at 13. I think all he needs is an extended run. Still rate JF though but think he went to the wrong team history suggests a Lion moving to the brokeback mountain goats is never a good idea :)

• 75.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

Excellent summation.Couldnt have put it better myself.

Which is why its perplexing why Plumtree persists with both Daniel/Botes at six when they are proving to be liabilities in current interpretations.

• 76.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami: hiyas shimi how ru doing>>??? ltnc mate

i agree the sharks loose trio should have been

8 kanko
    7 alberts
    6 deysel

and on the bench downey who also is big and strong

by the way mate come say hello now and then on RT

would enjoy some input from you

• 77.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

shimi i feel a deysel and a schalk burger do better now with the new laws as a fetcher has been nuetralised a bit

cleaning out rucks now are more important with strength and power

• 78.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

mshini that is

• 79.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: But explain ratel and steggie doing so well they not big and strong like Skulk or Deysel.

• 80.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: It all comes down to technique. Would rather tackle a big dude with poor ball carrying technique, than a small dude who carries the ball in the correct arm, and runs with the correct posture.

Some of SA’s biggest and toughest players have had the ball ripped out of their hands by flyhalfs biggest their ball carrying technique is wrong.

Little fellows can also be dynamic runners, making it difficult to get a clear hit on them, whereas guys like Deysel often run into the tackler with the hope of dominating the head on contact. That is why they can be nullified if gang tackled.

• 81.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: stegmann has been dropped for kuun take a look

brussow is as strong as deysel , he might be shorter but he one strong MF :lol:

• 82.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: Steggie just as tough and strong. No ffs we playing the highlanders time to give Kuun a run Steggie works hard and needs a break.

• 83.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: Fetchers haven’t been neutralised, the reality is that it was so easy to steal ball at the ruck last year that players with no history of being competitive on the ground were suddenly getting turnover after turnover.

Guys like Smith, McCaw, Braid, Pocock, Steggmann and Brussouw will always beable to steal ball at ruck time, and guys like Smith and McCaw have done it through different rule changes, different interpretations etc. All it takes is a little adaptation.

Besides, the job of an openside flanker is more than just turning over ball at the ruck. Short men will always have a place on the rugby field.

• 84.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: Hope ur team pulls its finger out. Would be about time :)

• 85.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: i realise that wolfie but in the sharks case it would be better to play deysel at 6

botes and daniel are no brussows

• 86.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: yeah i be praying for miracles lol

• 87.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: I think they are going to win btw. Just have that feeling. I must make a confession last year before the season I said to my mate Durban I am supporting the Sharks as my team was so Kak and we had a new kak coach etc. so it would be better to support the Sharks as we had no chance. So keep your head up and hopefully they will turn it around and win all the rest of the games and come fourth and loose to the Bulls in the semi at Roftus. :)

• 88.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: I guess that was largely my point! Last year, Botes and Daniel were presented as genuine openside flankers who could compete on the ground, but that was because the ruck laws were liberal enough for players like Botes to look like Richie McCaw.

Jake White liked the idea of big flankers who would then rather counter ruck, or disrupt the ruck, leaving your suggestion of Deysel at 6 and Alberts at 7. Those two mixing it physically could also cover up Kankowskis reluctance to get involved in the physical stuff, meaning he could avoid that, without this influencing the Sharks too badly.

• 89.catleya: Reply to this comment

As far as 7′s go I think we will see some evolution there as well. Now here I am going to say acouple of contentious things. 7 flankers always used to be your big ballcarrier type flankers. But I reckon this is gonna change. Think of this-

As things stand currently, your 6 flanker as fetcher can afford to be 3rd arriver at the breakdown.

Strictly speaking, your big tackling 7 flanker should be binding on the openside to give him the best possible chance to be effective at stopping the attacking carrier behind the gainline from scrums and pressurize the flyhalf channel.

Both locks should therefor get fire in their backsides and focus on becoming more agile and adept at cleaning/counter-rucking. Which is why I am so chuffed that the Bulls have FlipvdM and Juandre Kruger and Fudge Mabeta in the wings while Victor, Bakkies and Danie Rossouw are doing their thing, because the breakdown at the tackleball as contact point is set to become the focus point for fast phase ball to attack with.

For this reason, Union is set to become exactly like League if we do not enforce the 2010 interpretations like it was done in the first round of matches, with clear daylight etc. I can’t understand why there has been a relaxation in the rule application by the refs back towards the 2009 interpretations. It is as if the powers that be decide the game was suddenly too fast and there were too many penalties.

What is not understood is that if we continue as we are the impacts and collisions will just become bigger and bigger from both sides, and incidents and injuries like the Bakkies clean on Jones vs the BILs will become more prevalent. The tackler must release and roll away the moment any part of his body touches the ground, including the hands, head, knees, and to rejoin he has to clear out to the side preferably and re-enter through the gate.

No supporting of the torso with chest on players underneath or on the head, etc. Cleaners must first bind to whoever is at the breakdown/ruck and MUST STAY ON THEIR FEET AT ALL TIMES while cleaning. If they go to ground it is an immediate shortarm-penalty to the non-offending side.

So entrants at the ruck will be forced to counter-ruck over the ball rather than clean by diving in, because theoretically there will be no one but the tackled player on the ground when they arrive.

This will also mean that the tackle will become critical in making the ballcarrier vulnerable, who- for his own safety, will have to get away from underneath the counter-ruckers’ feet.When he hits the ground he has to immediately place the ball and remove his hands and other limbs from it to make it a fair contact.

This all should see the eventual return of the fast skillfull fetcher a la Brussow, but scrumming on the blindside, with a need for a more tackle-orientated 7 flanker on defence, who on attack becomes a supporting runner/receiver to create continuity as distributor, with great hands and feet almost like a third centre, with the eightman and/or locks as primary carriers. This is aimed at getting the ball away from the previous breakdown area, and consequently the defenders concentrated there, as soon as possible.

• 90.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

true wolfie , sorry for slow response as im also on RT

come say hi there if you want , lot of us chatting there right now

and yes the counter rucking is now importantthen before

• 91.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Sharks Lover tell me something are you getting commission for every recruit you sap over to your lonely hearts club? Why on earth you coming to gat kruip over here asking bloggers to come visit you over there? I mean they’re here so you can chat with them here. Wtf you asking them to go somewhere else while you can chat right here?

Firstly don’t you find it demeaning asking people to skuil elsewhere? Don’t you have any honorable conscience? And secondly if they’re here already why not talk to them right here why beg them to go somewhere else to engage in rugby chat?

You people starting to sound pretty desperate for new association, whats up is your happy clappy back slappy club running out of exclusive impetus?

• 92.catleya: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Fair contact = fair contest
    Sorry!

• 93.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

you actually suck with your incessant skuil and gat kruip tactics, pretty pathetic bunch of second grade *** licking schmucks, just like a bunch of internet prostitutes.

• 94.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

skop skiet firstly if i wanted your opinion i would have visited the shithouse

and i dont think in all honesty i need ask you , or what i do is of no concern to you

no ones asking anyone to skuil anywhere

and lastly does your life always go about looking for **** online??

no backbone huh to to this face to face??

i dont see anywhere , where i pulled your chain and asked ur opinion

be so kind as to keep it to urself then thank you

• 95.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

listen skopskiet you inbred freak piss off and go back to the drain you crawled out of

• 96.K00s: Reply to this comment

jake white = mr rugby …. genius! took the Boks from nr 7 to nr 1 ….

• 97.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

catleya but yeah you said it right

and every year the law changes revolves the game back and forth

• 98.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@K00s: exactly koos

• 99.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@catleya: which game/s in particular did you observe that the whistlemen are going easy in terms of blowing the tackle area to the letter?

• 100.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

all i know is the tackle area’s are being blown apart

• 101.K00s: Reply to this comment

Sharks lover …. i’m a Province supporter, but i feel for you guys … you were robbed in 3 games … could easily been in the top halve … hope your luck changes … Sharks is too good a side for it not to happen. Only team together with Stormers that can beat the Bulls… even @ Loftus

• 102.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@K00s: agreed and thanks koos

yes we were robbed but also we played **** boet

i hope the boys can get passed this ref thing and play their hearts out

i have you guys this weekend by 8

• 103.catleya: Reply to this comment

With the extra 5 meters at the scrums it really means there is enough space to get one of the loosies- a fast skillful one, into the game more on attack by having him run in the width of the field as decoy or receiver.

So a scrummie would pick up and run a wide arc towards the flyhalf, pass back inside to the flanker who runs at almost 90 degrees to him accross field with the flyhalf, two centres and fullback, and even the blinside winger, coming in as strike runners at angles on his outside with the oke in space getting the ball- or else he pops it inside to a Spies in full flight in the gap. But then you need a flanker with a fast mind like a scrummie and the hands of a flyhalf, and good at protecting the ball in contact in case he gets tackled with ball.

This play would be an excellent way of turning bad/slow ball into good ball. In the modern game the team that can break the mould and be inventive using new plays, skills and techniques will win more than they will lose.

Obviously you need to have a dominant pack and an enterprizing backline to do this. I would play a Potties-type who has all the skills, speed and the mongrel to pull it off.

• 104.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

you’re a two bit *** licking creep Sharks Lover, you demeaning little punk *** snake in the grass. And here comes Koosie from out his hidy hole ossewa laager looking for some action.

You two bit *** licking creeps are nothing short of despicable gat kruipers with no honorable bones in your gat kruip boertjie laager mentality skuil republic bodies. The entire schmuck *** lot of you.

• 105.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

yeah whatever skophalvenaaitjie

ur big mouth online you flea infested twatwaffel

anyhows anough attention for you prick

• 106.Sharks_Lover: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: so what if gbs is paying me money to come tout here on keo for bloggers? It is a recession boet and i are making money to feed my family same as rudi is doing. You also have your construction company so it is every man for himself.

Catleya, come visit us there by RT, lots of us chatting real rugby. Hiyas ^5

• 107.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

check it out! They posted my weather forecast on the Stormers blog, quite funny if I must say so myself lol ;)

http:// blog.iamastormer.com /2010/03/sarahs-storming-weather-forecast.html#more

NO SPACES!

• 108.K00s: Reply to this comment

sharks lover …. i doubt that you’ll beat the Brumbies @ home … convidence must be low a.t.m. … anyway ..lets hope! … i think the waratahs = overrated!

1 Bulls
    2 Stormers
    3 Crusaders
    4 Brumbies
    5 Chiefs
    6 Hurricanes
    7 Reds
    8 Sharks
    9 Warathas
    10 Cheetahs
    11 Blues
    12 Highlanders
    13 Lions
    14 Force

• 109.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@K00s: i also doubt it koos

we have big problems in backline

nor adi or ruan are bg defenders

so many gaps always left , and someone GQQDE makes the gaps even far wider and worse

he is slow and prolly will get another yellow

odwa has lost to much pace and maybe its time mvovo got a chance

swannepoel also not the fastest oke around

jpp out od sorts

oupa is oupa

• 110.K00s: Reply to this comment

sharks ….maybe next year …isn’t Brussouw on the list… i’m also sure they’ll get Steyn back … Ludick will be fully fit … and maybe a surprise or 2. I’m sure the sharks will sign a few star players ….

• 111.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: I’ve picked it up in all the games Mark Lawrence, Steve Walsh and Marius Jonker have handled. There is a definite difference between them and the rest.

• 112.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@K00s: I like that log

• 113.K00s: Reply to this comment

cat …. if you had to rate the top refs … how would you rate them???

• 114.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

pathetic gat kruip creeps SL and some his two bit *** licking cronies like his schmuck *** unscrupulous boss over there.

Never seen such a despicable bunch of *** licking 2nd grade internet prostitutes like some these snake in the grass two face twats from this breakaway laager mentality gat lek asylum next door.

• 115.K00s: Reply to this comment

spingbok …. thought that you’ll want the Stormers @ 1

• 116.catleya: Reply to this comment

@K00s: IMHO there is only one true world class ref around and that is Jonathan Kaplan, and I reckon Mark Lawrence is a distant second, but the rest are scary *****!

• 117.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@K00s: not sure koos , he was meant to come our way and could not get out of contract

as for buying a few the sharks will have to or get left behind

a team like the stormers didnt suddenly get good

they bought a lot of stars and thus they are right up there

being a professional era they did the right thing

• 118.K00s: Reply to this comment

skopskiet?? you had 1 papsak too many?

• 119.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@catleya: catleya i have to agree

kaplan is a great ref

• 120.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@K00s: lol koos

im not even going to respond to this insignificant clown anymore

he has serious issues

• 121.K00s: Reply to this comment

cat …. a year or 3 ago i thought Jonker was the real deal … boy was i wrong!!!!

• 122.K00s: Reply to this comment

I’m just glad we never have to see that Willie Roos guy again …

• 123.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

koos as for the stormers , their backs are playing brilliant attacking rugga forwards not bad, the loose trio is great and i thought schalk was brilliant last week

only one thing worries me and thats the heart when the chips are down like against the brumbies , they couldnt raise themselves

this is where the bulls are brilliant, when the bulls were down twice against the tahs by 17 points and they fouoght back to win handsomely , they showed some big kahooners

• 124.K00s: Reply to this comment

Sharks …. when the stormers played the brumbies, you just had that feeling that the Stormers will loose … and i have a sneaky feeling that it might happen again this week, they tend to loose the tight games

• 125.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

well koos i am hoping for a stormers victory

i think they are good enough to whip the canes

• 126.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Kaplan is hardly a top class ref. Far too pedantic stop start rubbish games. And if he ref’s Sharks can be sure they win.

Lawrence was ok but started stamping his own personality on the outcome lately just like all the rest.

Getting the Jonker is same as playing Russian Roulette

Actually I find the Aussie ref’s probably the best and Sharks can’t handle Marks but he’s probably better than Kaplan.

I liked Craig Joubert till recently too but seems even he succumbing to some under table syndicate amongst ref circles manipulating outcomes.

• 127.catleya: Reply to this comment

@K00s: Yes, I think he cut his hair once too often or something!

• 128.K00s: Reply to this comment

sheesh skop….. for me Marks is the worst ref ever …but i respect your opinion … Graig is underrated …i prefer him to lawrence

• 129.K00s: Reply to this comment

sharks …. i think if they won against the cheetahs, it would’ve been a easier game for the Stormers… hard to believe that they’ll leave SA with 0 points … they must still play the Stormers & Bulls

• 130.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:
    Short, not small, for heaven’s sake.

• 131.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

koos just watching brian habs scoring that try last week , absolutely brilliant

the ball control whilst still outsprinting the highlander full back

man that bloke is talented

• 132.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Sharks_Lover: @sharks_lover: Sure is. He is really the only guy who I find is consistent. By the way, did you catch my apology about the Kanko penalty try on the other blog? Puma as well.

• 133.K00s: Reply to this comment

yeah sharks …. imagine a backline of :

Joost
    Honiball
    Gerber
    JDV
    Habana
    Carel Du Plessis
    Andre Joubert

• 134.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Stegmann was rotated for this game as decided before the season.
    Every bull knows what the pecking order is. Stegmann is the premier fetcher, he knows it, and we know it.

• 135.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Sharks Lover you should tell your gat gabba broedertjie over on your snake in the grass laager to close up his second grade *** lick double dealing shop. It was conceived in insincere deceit and subsists on the same, and you continue to peddle you double dealing insincere gat kruipery right here at the very place where the likes of you and him first made acquaintance.

I’m surprised at the lack of any reasonable honorable integrity in some of you snake in the grass second grade two faced internet fraudulant creeps.

• 136.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Ag skuus, comment 130 directed at 70
    @sharks_lover: comment 134 directed at 81.

• 137.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@K00s: eish koos they could kick *** :lol:
    @catleya: yeah catleya and its cool mate

still sharks need to rise above the ref stories and play so that ref calls do not effect them to losses

• 138.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 135
    “…insincere deceit…”

What is sincere deceit then?

• 139.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

np tyrant

i agree he is the premier fetcher

but i think its about horses for courses

• 140.K00s: Reply to this comment

skop…purely from the last 4 weeks of super rugby, and purely on form … what will be your SA XV? ..

What about :

Gutro
    Botha
    vd Merwe
    Matfield
    Bekker
    Brussouw (okay injured now, but still)
    Schalk
    Spies
    Du preez
    Steyn
    Olivier
    Fourie
    Habs
    Mapoe
    Danniler

….

• 141.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: Perhaps when a husband tells his wife that her bum doesn’t look big when she wears her favourite dress?

or

When you tell your best buddy that he should join you for a quick drink during his study break, knowing full well it is going to be a night of drinking and meeting ladies?

• 142.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Craig Joubert was promising when he came on the scene. I still prefer his reffing style to most the others.

Lawrence blows hot and cold. But it seems that all these ref’s simply can’t hide their blatant bias when they take on the whistle.

This year getting worse than ever. Aussie ref’s somehow still seem less inclined to blow biasedly but seems all are prone to human fallible preferences and likes and dislikes in favoring some teams.

• 143.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@K00s: I wouldn’t have Schalk there, but rather Smith or the 7 from the Stormers, and I also wouldn’t have Fourie there as he has been shocking this season. No sure who to put at 13. Problem with Danilier is that he isn’t even always first choice there, but none of the other 15s have been performing, although Kirchener has been safe.

• 144.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:
    :LOL:

• 145.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:
    Of om te se John Smit lyk solid op 3 :lol:

• 146.K00s: Reply to this comment

Skop…be honnest … lets say that you’re a Lions supporter for 20+ years …and you’re given a Lions vs Bulls match … obviously you’ll favour the Lions …thats human … neutral refs = the way 2 go

• 147.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

tyrant lol you will see him solid at 3 on saturday :lol:

• 148.K00s: Reply to this comment

wolf …. has Fourie been shocking because of lack of form, or because of De Jongh’s inability to spread the ball…just asking …

• 149.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: @135

Seriously. You just make yourself look deranged.

She can blog wherever she wants to.

• 150.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@K00s: It is obvious he isn’t getting the ball as quickly and as often as he would like. He needs a passer at 12 to be fully utilised, someone to play off so that he can take the ball at speed hitting a gap or breaking tackles, and de Jongh is not that type of player. It is clear he is getting frustrated. He is trying to take the ball at first receiver, or step players from a stationery position, which isn’t working.

So, basically I don’t think de Jongh suits Fourie’s style of play, which means Fourie is struggling to perform, which means he is lacking form! – I think

• 151.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: he lol

• 152.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Hier’s my general purpose 22 that I would pick if I were coach and players remain injury free from now on, fit and some slight adjustments here and there:

1) Heinkie vd Merwe
    2) Bismarck du Plessis
    3) BJ Botha
    4) Bakkies Botha
    5) Victor Matfield (c)
    6) Deon Stegmann
    7) Juan Smith
    8 )Pierre Spies
    9) Fourie du Preez
    10) Morne Steyn
    11) Bryan Habana
    12) Wynand Olivier
    13) Jacques Fourie
    14) Gerhard vd Heever (who else? only Mapoe)
    15) Francois Steyn

16) John Smit
    17) CJ vd Linde
    18) Juandre Kruger
    19) Dewald Potgieter
    20) Francois Hougaard
    21) Jean de Villiers
    22) Lionel Mapoe

• 153.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

soda how ya been mate? still up in the states??

• 154.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

form team

Gurthro – Heinke
    Liebenberg – Fourie
    Kruger – Geldenhuis
    Flip –
    Bekker – Matfield
    Brussow – Burger
    Louw – Smith
    Vermeulen – Spies
    Duvenhage – Pretorius
    M. Steyn – Grant
    Habana
    Olivier
    De Jongh
    Mapoe
    Daniller – Viljoen

• 155.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:
    Ek pik sommer ‘n traantjie :cry:

• 156.K00s: Reply to this comment

wolf …. i agree 100% …

• 157.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:
    De Jongh is playing inside, so we can’t really comment on his 13 form. Fourie at 9, Smith over Louw, Gerhard over Mapoe, Stegmann over Burger, Botha over Fourie, John Smit over everything- even flyhalf if needs be.

• 158.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:
    thank heavens this is only your oppinion

• 159.elliott2: Reply to this comment

Ryan, What is a “Cape coloured” as in “sectors of the Cape coloured community”?

• 160.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

IMO:

Burger over Brussow,
    Spies over Vermeulen (by a whisker)
    du Preez over Duvenhage
    I agree with de Jongh at outside centre – although he plays currently at 12 there is no-one who performs consistently well at 13 including Fourie
    Joe over Daniller who is only a carthorse.

• 161.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:

I also never understood the phrase cape coloured, what if he moves to Gauteng makes that him a Gauteng coloured or a South African

• 162.elliott2: Reply to this comment

Ryan, is such a categorized individual any different from one in, or from, Johannesburg? And what do I look for, if there are differences, to recognise the one from the other?

• 163.K00s: Reply to this comment

There is no way i’ll leave J Fourie out of a Bok side … De jongh has alot to learn …. DJV, Fourie, now that will be a monster combo for the Stormers next year …

• 164.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: agreed re joe , the fella might be small but he is playing brilliant rugga and has a huge heart

• 165.scar: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: I assume Ryan must be a “Cape White”.

Personnally, the only colour that I like to be attached to the word Cape is Red! :lol:

• 166.elliott2: Reply to this comment

Ryan, how about such a categorised person that hails from Port Elizabeth, relative to the one from Cape Town?

Or for that matter, the one that originates in Kimberley, or for that matter Durban or East London(even England version)?
    Or anywhere within the confines of South Africa?

Are Zulus, or Xhosas, or Tswanas or etc., etc., “coloured ” or are they un”coloured”?

• 167.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

She can blog wherever she wants of course she can, but when she comes flashing her nicker’s touting for clients to her seedy little two bit deceit riddled cause then she can go lift her skirt for somebody else, not round the place where her very existence was given credence to begin with.

Why don’t you go sign up on that seedy little merry go round Soda Shmoe, they’re here every frigin day crying out and touting for assorted *** lick converts to their seedy establishment. They’ll be welcoming you with open arms, who knows you might even qualify for a ******** if she reckons you’re worth the effort, she might even lift the broeder bond sanctions she originally instigated to try keep all her *** lick clients decidedly right and kosher.

• 168.elliott2: Reply to this comment

Ryan, are YOU by any quirk of fate “Cape coloured?

• 169.K00s: Reply to this comment

f*ck Elliot … why bring race into the whole thing? we all talked about the form bok side … then you come and play the race card … .. come now malema … play fair

• 170.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: well, a cape coloured community would be a community of coloured people living in the cape surely?

like the sandton kugel community live in…sandton

or the cape dutch homestead style originated in..the cape?

now seriously, since you are so sensitive, what are the chances of malema’s latest ditty remix reaching no. 1 on the airwaves?

• 171.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover:

Yip, he punches above his weight, but I do not think PdV will select him at this stage. He was quoted the other day that he is satisfied with the form of players in all positions except for no 15.

• 172.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

15 Pietersen

14 Mapoe

13 habana / JP nel ( no outside centres playing all that well at the moment might as well pick one that can dnr someone or give a yellow card)
    12 olivier

11 de jong

10 steyn

9 Du preez

8 spies
    7 smith
    6 burger

5 vic
    4 bekker

3 kruger
    2 botha
    1 steenkamp

• 173.elliott2: Reply to this comment

Ryan, why could you just have written:
    ” certain sectors of the Cape(Town) community”?

Or is that not provocative enough for you?

When you are at the game, why not address those whom you so label and see if you will still be on your feet after your questions about their support of the ‘Canes?

Here is your chance to find out if you are a man or just a poor ‘whimp’.

• 174.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@K00s:

Ryan did not me.I am just reacting to his sense of being vile.

• 175.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: why should ryan be so pc?

what is so insulting about cape coloured by the way?

• 176.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: hiyas ranger bro ^5 how ru doing??

is it not amazing how the chip on shoulder fella’s in here cry all day long??

• 177.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

yeah I drop Daniller and opt for Joe Pietersen

Forwards
    Steenkamp-Heinke
    Liebenberg-Bismark
    Kruger-Geldenhuis
    Flip
    Bekker- Matfield
    Brussow-Burger
    Flo-Smith
    Vermeulen-Spies

Backs
    Pretorius – Duvenhage
    Steyn-Grant
    Habana
    Olivier
    De Jongh
    Mapoe-Fourie
    J. Pietersen- Viljoen

• 178.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Elliot fact is there is a cape coloured community , and there is a zulu community etc , take the log off ur shoulder mate , it must be getting very heavy

• 179.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:

I also think Bryan might one day end up as an outside centre – a person with his brilliant all round skills should be more involved in the game and at times he is wasted on the wing.

He is imo the greatest outside back ever in SA rugby – even better than Gerber.

• 180.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i guess that is the problem with the eternally dissatisfied.

they will find a reason to feel insulted.

people like this dont realise the problem resides within so they carry their problems with them wherever they go.

too bad, so sad.

• 181.gunther: Reply to this comment

Robzim

He should go to full back…

• 182.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@gunther: He doesn’t have the skills for fullback. Dodgy under the high ball, poor kicking technique and struggles to beat the first defender.

• 183.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: howdy man, ag, they bring colour to the place :lol:

oops, now i will also be neaten by a hurricanes supporting member of the non-cape coloured community!

oh noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!

• 184.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: what? struggles under the high ball?

bryan habana?

struggles to beat the first defender?

no man, we cant be talking about the same guy????

• 185.gunther: Reply to this comment

Ranger

I wouldn’t lose any sleep over it..

• 186.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:
    It’s more the kicking technique.

• 187.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

poor left boot.

• 188.vasteses: Reply to this comment

the problem is if Pdivvy gets the call to pick a team now that can tour NZ tomorrow and he has to pick a 13 on form he will not be able to.

• 189.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Maybe Buys ahead of Geldenhuis but he didn’t go well last week. Geldenhuis did much better when he came on second half.

• 190.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@vasteses: 188
    Adi Jacobs, Pdv’s evergreen.

• 191.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: :lol:

man, these days sleep is in short supply.

i just enjoy having a bit of a dig.

but habs to fullback?

interesting. if fransie returns, i forsee him wrapping that position up for good.

• 192.gunther: Reply to this comment

Wolfman

I disagree

He’s very good under the highball

He has an underrated boot (and not in the grant sense)

Great defense

And as for beating the first defender I’m afraid I can’t agree with you..

Imagine him in all that space!

• 193.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: makes more sense.

i think habs will play out his career at wing.

then again, cullen, umaga, jeff wilson, mils all moved around the backline so i guess its possible.

• 194.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

It is also possible – something like Christian Cullen perhaps.

At the moment he seems a bit frustrated at the Stormers – he wants to contribute more – the fact that the fans carry him on their hands also increases the pressure on him to perform and to please them.

At times I think he tries too hard.

• 195.gunther: Reply to this comment

Ranger

I agree but with no franky steyn then I suggest some out of the box thinking..

• 196.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:try and get hold of the documentary “i’m not black, i’m coloured – identity crisis at the cape of good hope” released by monda world films 2009 if you seeking clarity.

@rangerman: hiya rangerman the kzn european. ;)

• 197.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Yeah, spills a fair few high balls when chasing kicks and in a defensive situation when under pressure. His kicks either go 50 metres or they go 20 – very unpredictable when kicking for touch. Kicked one over the deadball line the other day.

He doesn’t have a step or a jink, his running is all about high pace, meaning if he is cleaning up the ball at the back, his evasion skills aren’t the best.

• 198.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Ranger titty since when did you become high and mighty Mr Morality? Like as if you somehow got the patent on human credence and moral dignity along with that silver spoon that got shoved into your mouth when mommy dearest begat you just the other day?

• 199.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:
    Mass exodus post 2011. :(
    Who know’s where he’ll be blunderer to at Toulouse.

• 200.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@gunther: He is great in space, but I am talking about defensive situations were he has a man in front of him after cleaning up a kick. Watch players like Ashley-Cooper, Mils, Corey Jane – very illusive making it difficult to grab them.

Habana is great at what he does – speed, power, running great lines, hasseling players, reading the opposition. He does however not have great feet, he does not have great evasion skills and his kicking is unpredictable.

• 201.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

he does have great skill, and has scored a few tries breaking through the centres. I dont know what is up with Jacques, maybe not used to all the air at newlands, however i think the problem lies with grant and de jong. Grant should move back to Inside centre , and maybe move de jong to wing he has great pace and side step good kicking skills and defence.

Could be the next habs

• 202.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: agreed.

@Pearl Rose: :lol:

i am insulted!

white durbanite is the correct terminology.

@WOLFMAN21: it is true he doesnt have too much of a sidestep but mils doesnt either, cant say weakness under the high ball is something i have noticed and as for his boot, i think he is quite polished in this dept actually.

• 203.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:
    Also,no more intercept.

• 204.katman: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: (173) Because not all sectors of Cape Town’s community support NZ sides, Elliot. Only the kyp kullerts.

• 205.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:

Who do u rate as the best 15 in rugby today?

I would go for Rob Kearny from Ireland.
    Before him it was Chris Latham imo.

• 206.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover:

Only in your racist, worthless, decadent mind you sub-human piece of faecal matter.

I wish there was a log there I would surely shove it up your arse.

• 207.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: skopshit, since when did you start being so concerned about people leaving keo?

you worried you will be all alone?

btw, if you can clean up your prose you should consider writing a book for kids :lol:

• 208.gunther: Reply to this comment

You haven’t experienced Newlands until you have heard two of the faithfull complaining about the price of the new crusaders jersey..

• 209.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@gunther: :lol:

• 210.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Guess it is perceptions. I have always seen his kicking as mediocre, and every time one of his kicks goes out on the full or with a slice I turn to my friends and say – see, Habana can’t kick. Will keep a close eye on his kicking then if you say you rate it, but I still don’t think he has the skills for 15!

• 211.gunther: Reply to this comment

Humptyfuckadillydumpty..

• 212.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@vasteses:

Yip, my guess is that somewhere between Grant and du Jongh there is something missing – I would also move Grant to no 12 although people like skoppy is of the opinion that he is too slow for that position.

Fourie owns us a good game – it will come very soon, hopefully on Saturday.

• 213.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@katman:

Another unsophisticated moron. Do you even know that “certain sectors” adequately takes care of that?
    Low on self-respect, after all those years of gutter education in Gauteng.

• 214.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: ja, maybe i am on the wrong track mate. i will also watch a bit closer.

• 215.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@gunther:

heard that a guy was nearly kicked to death at the Absa stadium the other day, apparently he tried to give to guys his season tickets

• 216.vasteses: Reply to this comment

to = two

• 217.Hondo: Reply to this comment

A Typical Keos Preview: match referees have no significance thus not mentioned!
    NZ Referee for the Sharks vs Brumbies, OK, let’s see
    Defeat of the Brumbies will help the Chiefs and the Canes in their play off quest, +2 for the sharks
    Smit, Bissie and the Beast in the front row will challange the scrum laws, so the referee will be under scrutiny to apply it -1 for the Sharks
    The Brumbies are better than the Tahs, -1 for the Sharks
    The Beast, Jacobs and Ndungane in, -2 for the Sharks
    summing it -2 for the Sharks, or the Brumbies by 6

• 218.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Kearney is great, although I only saw him play a couple of games at the end of last year. Safe under the high ball, good when under pressure, and good attacking game.

In the Southern Hemisphere, I reckon Ashley-Cooper is the best currently. Safe under the high ball, excellent boot, tactically aware, and a strong runner.

WHo do you rate?

• 219.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: what an angry man you are elliot.

• 220.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: 205
    1) Tony Woodcock “goes hard”
    2) Bismarck duP
    3) BJ Botha 8)
    4) Bakkies Botha
    5) Victor Matfield
    6) Ritchie McCaw
    7) Rocky Elsom
    8 )Pierre Spies
    10) Dan Carter
    11) Sitiveni Sivivatu
    12) Wynand Olivier
    13) Jacques Fourie (just ask him yourself)
    14) Lelia Masaga/Shane Williams
    15) Francois Steyn

Maybe I’m slightly biased here and there, but Ja.

• 221.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:
    9) Fourie du Preez

• 222.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:
    That goes without saying…

• 223.gunther: Reply to this comment

Humptyfucadillydumpty..

• 224.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@rangerman:

All I want to know from u is whether I should pick the Sharks on superbru or not?
    I have no great ambitions on superbru, only want to beat Carol Meredith and Soda Joe.
    Please help?

• 225.katman: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: Why on earth would I cloak the issue in mystery and confusion (by calling them “certain sectors”) when I mean to point out that it’s just the coloureds who do this? Are you saying that they’re offended by having this pointed out? Ashamed of being outed as NZ supporters? I think you’re just being completely stupid about the issue. Wouldn’t you agree?

• 226.charo: Reply to this comment

so….re-union (nz) reckon that the penalty try against the lions was a **** decision by walsh!!!!

they also reckon it was a clear cut penalty try for sharks against tahs!!!!!

and finally…..kanko was not offside when he scored his wundertry….suck on that one rossoneri!!!!!

• 227.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose:

Not sure what clarity you think I am seeking, simply because I am not doing, and never need to do, that.

I think I know my place in the universe far better than most, that is why I never take more than I need in the Circle of Life.

• 228.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Ok BOD 13, Adam Ash Cooper 15.

• 229.gunther: Reply to this comment

Rob

I think sharks on the bru would be an error…

• 230.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Well if Grant is to slow then **** Muir was a snail. And old Dicky was one of the best ball distributers, Same with helgard Muller those days, he made Pieter Muller and Brendan Venter look good in the old Freestate, that is where de jong does not make the cut for me.

• 231.charo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

rob, go for brumbies…the bookies will.

• 232.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

nobody is worried about anyone leaving keo, those that can’t cut it run for the hills anyway. Surprised little ranger ditty didn’t skedaddle with all his whiter shade of pale peers that cajole around the bush wack camp fires.

Elliot I’m afraid to have to be one to tell you you should also try cool it, too much angst just burns a hole in the kidney eventually.

• 233.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

Rnd 1: 7/7
    Rnd 2: 5/7
    Rnd 3: 5/7
    Rnd 4: 4/6
    77% success.

going home teams this week.
    Chiefs 1-12
    Tahs 1-12
    Brumbies 13+
    Bulls 13+
    Stormers 1-12
    Reds 1-12

• 234.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:

In the southern hemisphere I would also pick Ashley-Cooper – I never understand why Deans sometimes play him out of position.

The Aussies are my dark horse team for the next world cup – great up and coming backs, and with players like Elsom etc the forwards are also going to be very competitive.

France will probably be the favourites though.

• 235.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: You really are strange. You make this blog sound like the ghetto.

• 236.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@katman:

My point of reference, if you care to understand, is Ryan’s comment and not your garbage that wants to appeal to the base that exists within you and many more.
    I do not as a rule discuss with morons low on self-respect, particularly those who I do not address.

Done.

• 237.katman: Reply to this comment

And you lot are lucky you’re still awake and here on keo, because here’s the katman’s betting tip for the week: A handful of buffaloes on the Hurricanes will see a handy return. Stormers song for the weekend: Back to life, back to reality…

• 238.charo: Reply to this comment

@Tomsta:

in agreement with you except i think the chiefs have lost their mojo and saders are gaining theirs

• 239.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

will be great if we can win th eCup again but i will raise a glass to the french if they win it

• 240.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@gunther:
    @charo:

OK, thanks – so then it will be next week for the sharks, they cannot go on like this – too good a team.

• 241.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: I think Ashley-Cooper was bracketed as an utility player, and that meant whenever there was an injury, he was forced to player centre or wing. I think that will be something of the past now though with the development of O’Connor and Cooper who can cover 12, and Ioane and Horne from the Waratahs who can cover 13.

They are definately looking good for next year. I fancy that the World Cup might be a year too early for the team, although players like Genia are showing a lot of maturity with very little experience.

France are actually selecting a team and sticking with it, not chopping and changing like they did in the past. Developing a good squad of players.

Hopefully 2011 isn’t a year too late for the Boks!

• 242.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:
    “People, don’t you understand
    the child needs a helping hand
    or he’ll grow to be an angry young man some day
    Take a look at you and me,
    are we too blind to see,
    do we simply turn our heads
    and look the other way ” – Elvis

• 243.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: tony woodcock is pap snoek these days! did you see him huff & puff against wyatt crockett on saturday? Out of form!

• 244.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: Ghetto lyrics

• 245.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: totally agree. when the schedule for 2011 came out i plotted my wins and losses for every game much like i do for every WC. and the picture is getting clearer by the day.
    i have aussie winning the WC. Deans has spent time and done the hard yards in building a squad. the systems will be further put in place. only need to look at the 9/10 combination that is blossoming. genia and cooper will be the 9/10 for the WC.

france have a very strong squad and will be there in the semi against aussie. for me its an aussie vs AB final. aussie will take it. we lose to the ABs in the semi. sad coz i will be crying in the stands.

• 246.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:

“I see no changes. All I see is racist faces.
    Misplaced hate makes disgrace for races we under.
    I wonder what it takes to make this one better place…
    let’s erase the wasted.
    Take the evil out the people, they’ll be acting right. ” – Tupac

• 247.charo: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:

for crying in a bucket…..stop it already.

you are so predictable and boring.

• 248.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

@charo: i have different feel about the chiefs. i think they will rebound now after that terrible 2nd half. at home they will not want to lose again.

of coure the carter v donald battle is one sided, but the rest of the chiefs will lift enough to take it. saders only took their last game on that shocking intercept last week.

• 249.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: ioane & horne are too injury prone though but i get your point, deans has got a plethora of intelligent backline players while south africa is still flogging jdv, meisiekind, mossie, adi.

Where is our new crop of backline players?

• 250.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose: he wasnt up agaisnt wyatt crocket, he scrummed against franks.

• 251.katman: Reply to this comment

@charo: Watch out, you might have upset him. He is easily offended. I think it’s a condition.

• 252.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:
    Ok,let’s start with Tupac.

• 253.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose:
    “Where is our new crop of backline players?”
    At the Bulls
    :razz:

• 254.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet

I originally addressed myself to comments in a rugby post made by one Ryan Vrede. There is nothing demeaning or hateful about those questions of mine about his being provocative. However, if disrespecting racists(and you know who they are) and apologists, wish to impose their vile opinions in a ‘verkrampte’ manner then I will take whatever action I need to and no-one, least of all you, will tell me to “cool it” after all your episodes when you clearly did not “cool it” one bit and I did not interfere.
    Angst begets angst and to hell with the consequences.

• 255.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Fourie is the one outa sorts in the Stormers back line, why blame Grant or De Jongh for Fourie’s lack of form?

I would actually consider switching Fourie and De Jongh and Habana, play Fourie at 12 and Habana or De Jongh at 11 or 13.

Stormers back line
    Duvenhage
    Grant
    Habana
    Fourie
    De Jongh
    Nakalavuki
    Pietersen

• 256.katman: Reply to this comment

@elliott2: Stop being such an “askies ek leef please don’t offend me” wimp, buddy. You make your stupid *** comments about referring to coloureds who support NZ as “certain sectors” (fck alone knows why – are we racially stereotyping them? because I was under the impression they quite deliberately chose their allegiance) on a public forum like this and you should expect to attract some comments.

• 257.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

1) Lawrence Sepaka
    2) Hanyani Shimange
    3) Brian Mujati
    4) Hilton Lobberts
    5) Judge Mabeta
    6) Kabamba Floors
    7) Davon Raubenheimer
    8) Jonathan Mokuena
    9) Heinie Adams
    10)Burton Francis
    11)Jongi Nokwe
    12)Morgan Newman
    13)Adi Jacobs
    14)JP Pietersen
    15)EARL ROSE 8)

Ras Dumisani on vocals.

• 258.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: isnt ashley cooper’s preferred position 13, but had taken the shift to 15 to accomodate mortlock? ash-cooper is a great footballer, but has been found wanting sometimes with reading positional play from the back and how best to respond in the territory battle.

in the backs Deans has:
    genia,valentine, burgess
    cooper, gits
    ioane,mitchell,shepherd, turner,
    barnes, mortlock, horne, carter, tyrone smith
    ashley-cooper, o’connor

i would start with:
    genia
    cooper
    ioane
    gits
    mortlock
    turner
    ashely cooper

• 259.Seven: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: not bad outside the box thinking…but does do you thinki fourie would be able to have adequate distribution?

also, schalk played well didn’t he?
    good work rate?

• 260.charo: Reply to this comment

@katman:

apparently our mate elliot attended varsity in durbs for a short time – not sure in which capacity.
    unfortunately during that period he never cracked an invite to a proms night or any other social occasion and has, ever since, walked about with this slight list.

• 261.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: who, stephan “i’m too cool to defend” dippenaar? when u count berrick barnes, cooper, ioane, horne, o’connor, ashley cooper, drew mitchell, lachlan turner, will genia, *burgess*, valentine, matt to’omua, lealiifano, that is 13 international quality backs…

Give me a saffa list equivalent to that in caps & experience.

• 262.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: that team would take a hundred by the lions!

• 263.Seven: Reply to this comment

there is not one solid piece of structure in there

• 264.superBul: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Eish ou jy kerm nog altyd dieselfde.
    So by the way daar is nog twee nuwe sites waarop jy jou tirade kan uithaal. Een vi n kraal vol leeus en een vol papsak drinkers

• 265.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Pearl Rose:
    Daai mannetjie is hel hard. Don’t let his laventelhaan mannerism from WP fool you. He looks like a peregrine falcon, but no break through him so far, the only stupid thing he’s done on defense so far was not diving up Elsom to stop his try. I don’t blame him.

• 266.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: up = under

• 267.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven:
    Why are you being racist? :lol:

• 268.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

elliot you know war paths are there to be trodden or stampeded down. Now most agile tyrants (to borrow a simile phrase) lets say someone like Alexander the Great, would usually weigh up consequences as to which cause or which empire warrants vanquishing. Sometimes we just rush headlong into battle for the sake of the frenzy or the rush of blood through the veins.

Some inconsistencies in human dignity by others is par for the course round about here, so whether Vrede is credible in his acknowledgement of societal designations is to my mind perhaps splitting hairs beyond any amenable recognition.

I say we take our heritage and our cultures far too seriously at the best of times. Far better to forget any of us came from different backgrounds and differing ethnic divisions and realise actually that there is absolutely bugger all difference between one monk and another when we strip the bars away from the cages at the human zoo.

• 269.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: are you disagreeing me?

• 270.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven:
    Well,Mujati is a pretty solid piece of structure.

• 271.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven:
    Just kidding, take a look at the team. I posted that team to show PDP’s best in their positions, or considered for Boks, or hyped, or simple the only in that position. Earl Rose as captain by the way.

I did not include Tendai and Habana out of respect.

• 272.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@katman:

Geez, you just cannot help being absolutely stupid can you now?

The words below being quoted(is that simple enough?)are Ryan Vrede’s words;

“The Canes don’t mind playing at Newlands mostly because they enjoy a level of support from certain sectors of the Cape coloured community”

And all I have done is mock him for that provocative choice, which is inflammatory to many people in the W. Cape, because it breeds sectarianism and there is enough division in the R.S.A.
    Remember the people of the W.Cape did not give themselves that label, not then and not even now. If you wish to take on that label so designated by people from Europe it is your god-given right.
    For Ryan to make his point, all he had to say was “certain sectors of the Cape (Town) community”

And what the hell is the big noise about who people support and want to support. It is their choice and only their choice. Anybody anywhere in the world can choose to to support who they want to or not.
    Do you realise there are people all over the world who support ManU or Chelsea etc. What warped understanding of democracy do you all have if some people with a political and historical reference want to support the ‘Canes or any N.Z. team for that matter? It is their right to so do.
    And please don’t give me that worthless, emotional garbage of nationalism or worse still patriotism.
    They are both pathological and the cause of untold suffering in this sad world.

Let freedom reign in all its glory and do not curb it because of your limtations.

• 273.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:

Yawn. Political correctness is a bore. You watch too much SAB(ankrupt)C and Blitz.

Are you suscribing to the illusion that ‘freedom reigns’ over here? It hasn’t for millenia and I doubt it ever will.

• 274.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Realism seems so pessimistic. :) :):)

Anyhoo ze bed roep my naam

• 275.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: lol, your like a white julius at the afriforums comedy show

• 276.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

Never mind the troubles, let’s do the diski… :)

• 277.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

Too philosophical Skoppie, as all I was doing was poking fun at Ryan’s expense with his provocative choice of words and mocking him with questions which should also belittle him for belittling groups of people just because of who they support. What has happened to the ‘democracy of S.A.in this present time?
    And then all those with little self-respect jumped onto the bandwagon to defend him or act in some apologetic way for him.
    And I responded to those that were demeaning, also to themselves.
    I know you accept that for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.
    In the great scheme of things rugby does not even cause a suggestion of a ripple in the cosmos.

• 278.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven: ? :/

• 279.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk:

Since you are yawning go to sleep then while I continue to have fun after a positive day of labour.

• 280.charo: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:

would a term like “the natal indian community” annoy you?

after all, there are south africans of indian descent all over the country….mainly in durbs but plenty in joburg.

or are you once again being over sensitive?

• 281.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven: 274
    I don’t understands, plesch explains.
    Is that a good thing or a bad thing?

• 282.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:

Julle mense is darem vreeslik sensitief. Vaar(nie so)wel

• 283.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: um didnt mean any offence, but allowing that to team to play together would be a joke

• 284.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

@charo:

I thought you were one of the sensible ones, so your rant on the Maties – Ikeys thread surprised me.

I was referring to all rugby players when I said the footballers could learn from them.

On the other hand I don’t blame you sharkies for being sensitive in these times. ;)

• 285.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven:
    Ja but look at my 270 post, that’s the point.
    These PDPs fall into 5 or so categories:
    best in their positions, or considered for Boks, or hyped, or simple the only in that position,or coaches favourite.
    These guys are either former/current Boks, or “emerging” or they’ll just down right make the Boks as coach favourites. So, you think they’ll take a ton against the Lions hey?

• 286.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Seven: mujati is prtty flexible, so i guess its kind of a solid structure, i mean his arse could often meet his head and he never broke…

• 287.charo: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk:

yes, am sorry about the rant, but your post out of the blue was read in the wrong context by everybody on the blog.

perhaps you should have introduced your post a bit more diplomatically 8)

• 288.Seven: Reply to this comment

maybe an exaggeration, but they would definately be the whipping boys of super rugby, let alone international.

i think italy might beat them

• 289.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven:
    Hey, I know this guy personally, he’s sensitive, ok.

• 290.elliott2: Reply to this comment

Your ignorance reigns uncurbed.

There are very little, or no Indians, in South Africa but there are very many people of Indian heritage in S.Africa who because of their birth in the R.S.A. are thus South African nationals and not Indians.
    To be Indians means you need to be born in that country, called India.
    Those born of Indian heritage you can claim subscribe to Indian culture but that does not mean they are nationals of India.
    Can Amla’s brother, who has not played for S.A national cricket team, if he were really good enough, ever play for India? Only maybe if he serves some sort of qualification in that country.

• 291.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

@charo:

Maybe it was cause I posted in Afrikaans? :)

Really gotta go. Cheers

• 292.Die_Valk: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:

It’s called having a culture.

• 293.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@Die_Valk:

Dis jou vals mening. gaan slaap maar ou maat.
    Is jy Ikey of Matie?

• 294.elliott2: Reply to this comment

A Bengali/Bangladeshi to many S.Africans, to all intents and pusposes, looks very Indian but if you call him an Indian you will immediately be correscted and told that he is not Indian but Bengali.

• 295.charo: Reply to this comment

@elliott2:

hahahaha..for a so-called intellectual you are particularly thick!!!!!

go read my post properly again you numbnut.

to quote…… “south africans of indian descent”

methinks you are a fake….it is not possible for someone of the slightest intelligence to make such a huge faux pas.

• 296.charo: Reply to this comment

can’t be bothered to exchange views with a ****** like this elliott2 chappie.
    poor guy lives a secluded life and gets his kicks out of projecting an image of some research analyst….but in reality he/she is nothing but a prejudiced bigot who has difficulty comprehending the written word.

good night.

• 297.elliott2: Reply to this comment

@charo:

Fool yourself if you will but you do not choose to tell me what question/s, you put to me, I want to answer and, more importantly, how to answer them.

I deliberately choose to explain what being a particular national(here Indian) translated into.

The point is S. Africans born of Indian heritage are not Indians, they are S. Africans and if you are referring to that group of S.Africans you should correctly say S.Africans of Indian heritage.

Since I am not a sectarian, as you clearly are, the people of South Africa are simply South Africans. People from Trinidad are simply Trinidadians. Get the point? DONE.
    Understand now?

Don’t confuse nationality with culture .They are two totally different entities which affect each other.

Look at post # 293.

• 298.elliott2: Reply to this comment

Continue to fool yourself. The truth does play dirty tricks with your restricted mind.

I have a very busy day later today. I’m off.

• 299.NZMaori: Reply to this comment

I predict two upsets in the round:

Chiefs over Saders at home

Hurricanes over Stormers – i hate da canes but they will fire.

I am more certain of the canes getting up than i am of the chiefs but it the trend in this comp that after a good side suffers a loss they hit back hard. Go the Chiefs

• 300.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@NZMaori:

I am also worried that the Canes will fire.
    The Stormers (my team) are also known to blow hot and cold – they hardly ever have 2 good games in a row.

Why do u hate da Canes?

• 301.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“Clinical”?

It’s replaced “we’ll take lots of positives” in the cliche of the season contest.

• 302.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

The Chifs to win, the Reds to crush the Force.
    The Reds are an inspiration…what a diference a good coach makes. We should nicking some kiwi coaches for our franchises!
    Bulls and highlanders will be closer than expcected. Highlanders have been a pleasure to watch.
    The Stormers?Canes game should be a cracker.
    Thought Nonu was suspended.
    The contest between Hore and Liebenberg should be great.
    I do expect biff and bash here with Walsssssssshhh giving the Stormers yellow cards.
    Walsshhhhhh will blow the Stomers off the park unless the crowd focus on abusing him and the captain puts pressure on him with the Journos doing their bit. Otherwise his ratio against Saffas will go up to 88%.
    I hate Cheats, Steve P@#s.

• 303.vasteses: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack:

a good coach does make a diffirence, but a good 9 and 10 makes the reds play better, this is where i think the Stormers are lacking especially a 10, look grant is a good player i just dont think he is the best option at 10 for the stmrs, he will be better suited at 12.

chiefs 6
    tahs 8
    brumbies 10
    Bulls by plenty
    hur 5
    reds 10

• 304.stolen_nic: Reply to this comment

Superbul – papsak drinkers?
    People are leaving your little cyber laager precisely because of your and your ilk’s “bulle is die beste” pielvleggery on RT.
    Strangely I notice that it has become so apparent that there is even a thread raising, and then dismissing same based on a couple of “phone calls” to the pielvleggers in chief.
    Bit like asking a couple of Nazis whether the holocaust was a good idea.
    Even Ed_the_Lion left that site because the laager turned into bulls-above-all site.
    There’s a damning indictment if there ever was one.
    Gaan sit en blog met jou blou onderbroek en ‘n brandewyn in die hand en moenie jou vrou moer Vanaand nie.

• 305.haribaldi: Reply to this comment

Peter Grant’s boot is fine. The key is lineout-maul time. If Stormers can steal and maul, Canes will rue the day.

• 306.haribaldi: Reply to this comment

Form SA team:

15. Steyn (Joe P)
    14. Mapoe
    13. Fourie
    12. Olivier (JdV)
    11. Habanero
    10. M. Steyn (P. Grant)
    9. FduP (Duvenage)
    8. Spies (Joe v N)
    7. Smith
    6. Burger (Deysel)
    5. Matfield (c)
    4. Bekker
    3. BJ Botha
    2. Brits (Bismarck)
    1. CJ (Gurthro)

• 307.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@haribaldi:

Steyn at 15-form based on what? when he has been playin 12 in France??

Fourie-Form????What form??Dropping an avg of 4/5 passes a game,has made less than 5 line breakers in 4 GAMES!!!!

Burger-last game was his best,BUT Stegmann has been the best openside in S14 let alone SA.And Deysel has been dogsh*t for Sharks-even dropped to bench at present

Joe van Niekerk???-based on French Top 14 displays??? pffft,if that the case then Sowerby should be in reckoning,as well as Michael Claasens,Marius Joubert,Mujati. etc..No chance

CJ-WTF??? guy has been struggling at Leinster even playing majority of games off the wood.Has been a bomb of a signing.

Schalk Brits-???? lmao

Nah Boet that “form XV”…flawed

• 308.mettie: Reply to this comment

I am deeply concerned about the selection philosophy of the current Stormers coaching staff. It looks like we are going the dour, stampkar rugby way of Jake White. Not surprising in view of Alistair Coetzee’s involvement with White. In the heydays of Cape rugby, Sereli would never have made it at the cost of a brilliant player like Aplon. Similarly Liebenberg would not have been first choice before Deon Fourie after Fourie’s superb game last week. The point is: Sereli and Liebenberg choose to run OVER their opponents and are stopped by the second line of defence (if they get beyond the first). Aplon and Fourie prefer to run round their opponents or beat them with skilful side steps and speed. They normally pass at least more than two opponents at a time and gain lots of meters of ground. As it is we have a world class wing, Brian Habana, who has not received a single ball from a full backline movement in 320 minutes of S14 rugby. Compare that to Brock Harris. He was the receiver in the backline more times than Habana. The ball simply does not pass the first receiver. What Jaque Fourie is currently doing at outside centre can just as well be done by Tiaan Liebenberg. Coetzee’s obsession with brawns rather than brains irritates me endlessly. Just watch on Saturday. The Hurricanes’ flyhalf will with sensible kicking behind Sereli force him to turn around. Something which he is too lazy to do. I smell trouble.

John, can’t Coetzee get back to traditional Cape rugby and stop his stampkar stuff?

• 309.mettie: Reply to this comment

Sorry, last sentence should be addressed to Rassie and not John. John is too much a believer of White’s beefy rugby.

• 310.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@mettie: Jake White won a world cup with his stampkar rugby..!!

Naquelevuki and Liebenberg take 3 or 4 defenders with them enabling guys like Habana to get the ball in space and do their devastating stuff.

Deon Fourie and Aplon will cause far more damage coming off the bench when the game opens up in the last 20 with fresh legs than playing the full 80.

Leave AC,he knows what he’s doing,suck the life outta them out them up front and then fark them up..

Watch and learn ;)

• 311.catleya: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami:

I agree. My form side is:(Injuries excluded)
    15. Zane Kirchner (Joe Pieterson)
    14. Ryan Kankowski Lionel Mapoe)
    13. Francois Dippenaar (Ebersohn)
    12. Wynand Olivier (Juan de Jongh)
    11. Brian Habana (Gerhard vd heever)
    10. Morne Steyn (Naas Olivier)
    09. Fourie du Preez (Sarel Pretorius)
    08. Pierre Spies (Duanne Vermeulen)
    07. Juan Smith (Dewald Potgieter)
    06. Deon Stegman (Schalk Burger)
    05. Victor Matfield (Andries Bekker)
    04. Flippie van der Merwe (Danie Rossouw)
    03. Werner Kruger (Brok Harris)
    02. Gary Botha (Adriaan Strauss)
    01. Gurthro Steenkamp (Wickus Blaauw)

• 312.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Too many palefaces..!!

• 313.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

I guess there is a just slight possibility that you are a Bulls supporter?

• 314.mettie: Reply to this comment

Div has win the tri-nations and beat the British Lions WITHOUT stampkar rugby. Sereli has cost his union R10 million last year. That is excluding the poor matches before that. Remember, he couldn’t collect a ball with NOBODY near him in a vital game against Boland. White? Let us rather not go there. Enough to say: The only known world cup winner who couldn’t land a coaching job anywhere in the world. Sorry, I forgot. He is some advisor or director at the Lions. 73-12 against the Tahs and 0 out of 5 tells it all.

• 315.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:
    That’s what happens when you pick a merit side. Not my fault.

• 316.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Warriors 186 for 2 after the 20.

The last over went for 6 6 6 1 1 6 with Boucher hitting the sixes

• 317.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Bulls and Stormers best in SA- they are logically going to be in the majority in a merit side. Again not my fault, and I don’t think anyone can argue with that.

• 318.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

13 Bulls and one Stormer who is also an ex bull :)

What about giving Joe P, Liebenberg, Schalk, Bekker, F Louw a chance?

• 319.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:
    Joe, Schalk and Bekker are there looking in as second choices, and Tiaan and Flo both have a problem with their handling imho, which, if they address that, will seee them as my third choices in their respective positions. I am simply trying to be as objective as I can be going purely on form.

Thirteen Bulls yes out of thirty, with 12 as first choice and of which at least 6 are first choice shoe-ins in any Bok side currently, and 8 are current Boks. Can’t argue much against that, and do the following exercise. Look at each position objectively and rank the contenders, then compare their teams’ log position. Most SA teams have played the same opponents currently, so log position is a very good guide as to who is gettin g it right consistently. I think you might not be prepared to accept the facts due to your own provincial bias, which is your prerogative.

• 320.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@catleya: I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again,”Bulls rugby is winning rugby..!!”

• 321.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

Yeah, well, as I said the other day on the site, we are all biased (including you).

To say that Tiaan will only be THIRD choice after he has made improvements does not sound very objective to me.

Anyway, team selection is not an exact science and we all have our favourites.

There goes another Lion. 40/3 and it is nearly “tickets” for them.

• 322.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: At the moment few people can argue with you and I for one won’t because I am a Bulls supporter, but if anybody wants to be honest with themselves, the team above is as close as damnit to a merit team. Yes, you can argue about the odd position and any change will be a subjective choice, which I am quite happy to debate with anyone.

• 323.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Kankowski @ 14 :shock: ?

• 324.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Bulls are overrated, how do I know this? Well I just do.

Easy to notch up high profile wins at home on the high veld with home grown ref’s sown up inside your back pocket.

Bull’s think they the cats whiskers and the bees knees for now. Watch. They going to get a couple home truths shoved down their over blown noses soon as they travel down the perpendicular corridors of self realisation just as soon as they leave tant sannie se koekie kombuis.

• 325.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: I don’t deny being biased. I actually think it is our right to have favourites, which is why I posted it as my merit team. As far as Tiaan goes, he is a personal favourite of mine, but I have to be honest and say the following:
    1. The Bulls scrum battled last year and this year they are awesome, turning the tables on the Cheetahs who demolished them last year, and at the very least matching the Tahs and the Brumbies as well, and I believe that Gary has made a huge contribution to that, as well as finding his jumpers and doing his bit in the tightloose- so in short a good classic hooker.

2. Adriaan Strauss is the current Bok number two and whilst he is a youngster he is very much in the Gary Botha mould and more pertinently has been a standout for the Cheetahs so he currently gets my nod as the number two.

3. Tiaan I like, but for me he tends to play a little too loose and hasn’t mquite got the hands to do it. He sometimes also battles with his throws, so from a consistency perspective I have to go with the other two until he changes my mind, but then again, I wouldn’t cry if he made a Bok team right now because he is, in my opinion, a much better investment than John Smit or Bissie- John because he is currently caught in no-man’s land not quite a TH and not quite a hooker, while Bissie, on his day the best hooker in the worls, to me has become a disciplinary liability, which no team can afford, especially not if you have three other players of the quality of Botha, Strauss and Liebenberg. Plus I believe that Bissie isn’t quite the team man and have reason to believe that he is part of the problems haunting the Sharks at the moment.

I am slightly conservative in my approach and I lay a lot of emphaisis on team spirit and teamethics. No guy is bigger than the team or the game, so I’m afraid that’s it.

On top of that, Bandise Maku might not quite be in the other three’s class yet, but he has made great strides at the Bulls this year through hard work and I predict that he will soon be pushing very hard for a stake as well. I have never rated Chilliboy- on form or not, purely because I think he battles to find his jumpers too often, even playing with the best lockpair in the world, and is too injury prone to my liking.

But let’s see who your merit team would be.

• 326.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Bulls damn lucky they met Brumbies and Waratahs at home. Had it been in Canberra and Sydney would have been 2 losses notched firmly in the record books, guaranteed, both those 2 Aussie outfits were within 10 minutes of giving them something to cry about in their own back yard at altitude nogal.

• 327.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Well, at the moment there is no SA 14 that gets me even halfway as exited as he does in a bit of space. He could quite easily become our Rokococo, and what’s more, could become a foil to play from when taking the ball wide under the new rules.

For one thing, he has the speed and the skills to play there, and in all honesty, I DON’T SEE HIM EVER LIFTING SPIES OUT OF THE SADDLE AT 8 under the new law interpretations, but that doesn’t mean I don’t rate him as a player, and I believe he has great value to add out wide, but that’s just me.

At least he might score a couple of penalty tries if he can’t get accross the chalk himself.

• 328.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Merit team

Heinke, Gurthro, Blaauw, Oosthuizen
    Liebenberg, Bismark, Fourie
    Kruger, BJ, Buys
    Flip, Lombard, Sykes
    Bekker, Matfield
    Burger, Stegmann, Floors
    Louw, Smith, Deysel
    Vermeulen, Spies, Cheetah’s 8

Pretorius, Duvenhage
    Steyn, Grant
    Habana, Mapoe
    Le Grange, Olivier
    De Jongh, Jacobs
    Fourie, Van Den Heever, JPP, Kankowski
    J. Pietersen, Viljoen, Kirchner

• 329.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

My form side is (excluding Northern hemisphere players):

15. Joe Pieterson
    14. Lionel Mapoe
    13. Juan de Jongh (he is a 13)
    12. Wynand Olivier
    11. Brian Habana

10. Morne Steyn
    09. Fourie du Preez

08. Pierre Spies
    07. Juan Smith
    06 Schalk Burger
    05. Andries Bekker (currently better than Matfield imo)
    04. Flippie van der Merwe
    03. Werner Kruger
    02. Tiaan Liebenbergh
    01. Gurthro Steenkamp

“Bubbling under” would be Francois Louw, Matfield, Vermeulen etc.

The team is not that much different to yours (including your second choices) – I only gave the marginal calls to the Stormer players :)

On Liebenberg our views are quite different though.

• 330.catleya: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: @skopskiet: Skoppie, who pissed in your breakfast cereal my man?

Seriously, I don’t think you okes who are perenial Bullsknockers can see far enough beyond your bias to appreciate what Frans Ludeke is achieving with his team. And thanks to your bros in the coaching hierarchy down there, old Slaptjips is busy weaving his magic with our backs, who in all honesty have never look as polished.

If you are referring Mark Lawrence purportedly impeding the defence during FdP’s try, go look again. The defender had no snowballs hope in hell of stopping FdP. It is only the side-on depth perception and the Ausie commentators that gave you that idea. I know. Why? I was there, and it happened right in front of me.

Why not rather keep on taking out Rangerman , sharks_forever and the others from RT coming to scavenge here. I have no axe to grind with you.

• 331.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: I have no problem with you giving the Stormers the benefit of the doubt on the marginals. And I really don’t have a problem with Tiaan, I have just tried to be brutally honest. Other than that, none of the guys in our join t squads would let a Bok team down.

@skopskiet: Le Grange is not bad but you can’t mention him in the same breath as Wynand Olivier. And no Potties? But that’s allright, he’ll make you a believer again tomorrow.

And Flo or Plo ahead of Juan Smith? Come on, be serious!

• 332.catleya: Reply to this comment

Robzim,
    After tomorrow night the Bok team will be:
    15. Kirchner
    14. Hougard
    13. Dippenaar
    12. Olivier
    11. van den Heever
    10. Steyn
    09. du Preez
    08. Spies
    07. Potgieter
    06. Stegmann
    05. Matfield
    04. Rossouw
    03. Kruger
    02. Botha
    01. Steenkamp

And no, I’m not predicting a walkover, because I believe that the Landers are going to throw the kitchen sink at us. It’ll rather be for the way in which the Bulls overcome that!

• 333.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

Your choice of Kankowski on the wing certainly has some merit.
    I am also a fan of Potgieter but have not selected him as he has hardly played this year.

I would always like to have at least one “thinking type” of loose forward in my team – that is why I like players like Potgieter, Luke Watson and Nic Koster (remember him).

• 334.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

15/15 Lol, that is pushing it a bit.

I would say Bulls by 52 and Stormers by 7 for tomorrow.
    The Highlanders suck – even the kitchen sink wont help.
    The Canes are a bit of a different story – very dangerous team that can run circles around any team on a good day.

• 335.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Bulls will take care of spirited yet poor Highlanders up at Loftus on highveld piss easy nothing to it. Bulls have a dream draw from heaven.
    However their only true test of character and quality will be when they travel, not before then.

When Ludeke inherited this Bull’s outfit from Meyer all the Bulls faithful were crying in their wheatbix thinking they just got done a dirty by Judas himself. Meanwhile Ludeke and Roussow have produced and performed far superior to anything Meyer and Louden did in 07, and that was when the All Blacks were withdrawn out the first half of S14. Bulls would never have won that year if that had not been the case.

This current Bulls side under Ludeke streaks ahead of Meyer’s dynasty of 07.

Still they’re vulnerable when exposed on defence. Lets see how they travel, then start singing their praises to the roof tops.

• 336.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

A long, roundabout way of saying nothing.

• 337.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: @Robzim: 15/15 was a bit tongue in cheek yes and I wanted to stick a smiley in there but couldn’t figure out how to, so I let it slide, hoping the guys would cotton on.

I agree about Potties, which is why I find it so hard to believe that the other bloggers that ought to be able to see what I see in him can’t, or don’t or simply won’t. Watch him tomorrow again- how he protects Morne Steyn by playing flat in front of him, watch his commitment in the tackle, how he gets over the advantage line almost every carry and seldom loses the ball in contact, how he acts as a foil for the other Bulls runners, how he balances his cleaning and fetching with the rest of his game, and above all, reads the game.

I agree about Nic Koster as well- saw him in EL at the Grant Khomo u/16 week years ago- yes, I love my rugby that much, he was a revelation, like Potties was in Bloem at the Craven week. Same kind of player. SA is tru sly blessed with loosie talent, which is why Koster moved to wing I guess. I see the same potential in Kanko as well on the wing.

• 338.catleya: Reply to this comment

Why is my post 336 being moderated? For Bullishness?

@skopskiet: Everybody saw him as a failure at the Lions, meanwhile he was just another victim of whatever the cancer is that is dragging the Lions down. He was on a hiding to nothing there, and I was one of those who expressed my concern, but he has made a disciple out of me. Ask me what is special about the Bulls this year and I say start with him, and Slaptjips and then you go further.

He has instilled a steely selfbelief in this team which has been re-inforced by winning, which is why they can dig themselves out of holes. The guys on the field know how to win, and they are making it a habit now, by simply outscoring their opponents.

I know they are letting in too many tries and they are working on it, but they have at least succeeded in letting go of their hitherto obsessive defensivemindedness, a legacy of their historic 10 man style, which cost them many games.

They have done a 180 degree turn and are now in the process of becoming a lethal attacking unit, to which they are adding the defence. It is a work in progress, granted, but I think the evidence is there for all to see what they can be once their act is all together. And it is mainly thanks to Ludeke’s vision.

And I guess that frightens the ***** out of the competition.

• 339.catleya: Reply to this comment

That’s it! Ig and his mates are being ridiculous, which is why I’m off to bed. I don’t have time for their games. They have broken our comms.

• 340.catleya: Reply to this comment

Maybe I should migrate to RT as well!

• 341.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

bye bye, the back slap community await your postings of succor with open grateful arms. They seek numb skull converts as if they are veritable manna from out of heaven itself, or at least like pockets filled with deceitful underhand silver.

Cherio, and don’t forget to leave your coat at the door on your way out hope you won’t be needing it on your wistful journey over yonder?

• 342.haribaldi: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami:

When I say “form” I do not mean “the last game.” I am referring to a body of work over the lsst few months–sustainable class and form. I watch the NH matches. Frans Steyn is in tremendous “boot” form. He would still be our top choice for 15. Fourie–the IRB try-scorer of the year–was outstanding for the Baa-Baas, and his tackling has helped make the Stormers well-nigh impregnable. Burger is back. He understands Test rugby. Plus, new rules and rulings favor a beast like him. Love Stegmann, but he needs to be blooded slowly. Deysel hasn’t been given a good chance; Sharks are ignorant. Joe van Niekerk has been outstanding in Top 14. You’re going to dismiss French rugby? It’s the best in the North right now and Big Joe has been well-rounded. Sowerby is too light for Test rugby. Claasens, Mujati–not up to snuff. CJ hasn’t been top form. Maybe I got that wrong. OK. I got it wrong. Brits has been the best forward in England in 09/10. I like the cut of his jib. Just give me a better TH, and this team will dominate. Don’t like our THs right now.

• 343.catleya: Reply to this comment

@haribaldi:
    How’s this for a prospect. Incumbent Locals vs Possible Local vs Probable Overseas trial games! Let’s see-
    Incumbent Local 22
    15. Kirchner
    14. JPP/Jongi Nokwe
    13. Mossie
    12. Wynand Olivier
    11. Habana
    10. Morne Steyn/Ruan Pienaar
    9. FDP
    8. Spies/Kanko
    7. Juan Smith
    6. Schalla
    5. Matfield/Andries Bekker
    4. Bakkies Botha/Danie Rossouw
    3. John Smit(c)
    2. Bissie/Strauss
    1. Beast/Wian du Preez

Possible Locals 22
    15. Riaan Viljoen
    14. Mapoe
    13. Juan de Jongh
    12. JL Potgieter/Meyer Bosman
    11. G vd Heever/Lwazi Mvovo
    10. Naas Olivier
    9. Francois Hougard/HeiniAdams
    8. Duanne Vermeulen
    7. Dewald Potgieter (c)
    6. Stegmann/Francois Louw
    5. Franco van der Merwe
    4. Flippie vd Merwe/Steven Sykes
    3. Werner Kruger
    2. Gary Botha/Bandise Maku
    1. Heinke vd Merwe/Coenie Oosthuizen

Probable Overseas 22
    15. Frans Steyn
    14. Marius Joubert
    13. Ronnie Cook
    12. Jean de Villiers/Brad Barritt
    11. J. Burger
    10. Butch James/Derek Hougaard
    9. Michael Claasens/Niel de Kock
    8. Joe v Niekerk/ Robbie Diack
    7. Ernst Joubert/
    6. Wikus v Heerden/
    5. Ross Skeate/Marco Wentzel
    4. Juandre Kruger
    3. BJ Botha
    2. Schalk Brits/Richard Strauss
    1. CJ vd Linde/Daan Human

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.