Bumbling Brumbies edge Sharks

The Sharks lost their fifth successive match as they went down 24-22 to the Brumbies in Canberra.

The visitors will again rue their poor performance, as just like last week against the Waratahs the match was there for the taking. But once more they have themselves to blame, and if there campaign wasn’t over before this encounter, it has finally been decided as they now have no chance of reaching the play-offs barring an unlikely miracle.

The Sharks had the breeze at their backs in the opening half and raced out to a 6-0 lead after 16 minutes thanks to a couple of Andy Goode penalties. They had the better of the opening exchanges, but they failed to take their chances when opportunities presented themselves.

The Brumbies came into the match with only one loss, but they – just like the Sharks – lacked the confidence to gain any continuity. Both sides made numerous basic mistakes, and after the opening quarter John Plumtree would have been a disappointed man as dropped balls and poor passes littered the visitors’ performance.

The Brumbies awoke from their slumber midway through the half, two Matt Giteau penalties in quick succession drawing them level at 6-6.

Both sides adopted a similar plan as they opted to take the ball through the phases and play close to the rucks as the defenders failed to align quickly around the breakdowns. The Brumbies initially failed to get their famed phase-play game going, but on the half hour mark they struck.

Prop Ben Alexander crashed over after numerous phases as the hosts increased the pace of the match, but the Sharks dominated the final 10 minutes of the half.

Ruan Pienaar sniped around a ruck unopposed to draw the Sharks level, and then another Goode penalty as the half-time hooter sounded handed the Sharks a 16-13 lead at the break.

It was the first time the Sharks have led at half-time this year, and the second stanza was all about closing out the game.

They didn’t start well however, their scrum again the weaklink as the Brumbies dominated territory throughout final 40 minutes. The Sharks and Springbok front-row were again marched back at the set-piece on their 5m line, and from the ensuing ruck, Alexander again drove over around the fringes to secure his brace.

The visitors wisely chose to play for territory, with Goode and Pienaar prominent. Just like in the first half, they had their chances in the Brumbies’ 22 but it was the same old problem as they struggled with their attack, which was too lateral and static.

Goode and Giteau traded penalties as the Sharks held a one-point lead heading into the final quarter, but with nine minutes remaining, the Wallaby pivot edged over the match-winner.

The Sharks now face the Highlanders and the Dunedin fixture is their best chance of a win on the tour from hell.

By Grant Ball

360 Comments

• 1.KWAGGA ROBERTSE: Reply to this comment

Shark fin soup for anybody?

• 2.Staal: Reply to this comment

Komaan Sharkies…..

4 log points coming up!….. :oops:

Maar ek hoop dis nie virrie Brumbies nie… :lol:

• 3.bananas: Reply to this comment

Sorry wrong thread and out of date but what happened to Rassie as coach of Stormers ? Is he still there ?
    Also read somewhere that JdV is coming back ?

• 4.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Come Sharks pull your finger out for us SA rubgy supporters. Please don’t pull a Lions on us :)

• 5.bananas: Reply to this comment

Oh dear lord … Andy Goode again ??? How has it come to this ..

• 6.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

BBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBBbrumbies!

• 7.poppa69: Reply to this comment

should be a good game, will the sharks continue to improve on last weeks performance? Brumbies just edge them in class IMO..

• 8.Skim: Reply to this comment

I’ll be watching out for Kankowski, Elsom and Cooper…. the foundation of my fantasy team.

• 9.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@bananas: Rassie still at the helm as DOR…keeping a low profile media wise but a huge influence behind the scenes..
    Jean coming back to SA with a view to being selected for 2011 WC…no news on who may sign him yet..

• 10.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: How is the Blues supporter doing on a bye weekend. Bored me thinks like me last weekend :)

• 11.CurryMexted: Reply to this comment

Goode has absolutely no waiste!

• 12.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Are you still confident with your brokeback mountain goats against the canes :)

• 13.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Quietly confident ;)

• 14.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: :lol: I have a plethora of sport to wile away my 12 hours at work, so never bored… plus the results are only important for superbru… life is great :D

• 15.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Arriving with your shoulder…WTF..??

• 16.Eminem: Reply to this comment

How many people at the stadium ?

• 17.poppa69: Reply to this comment

glad Kobus isnt here, that accidental obstruction would be the ANZAC spirit shining through :roll:

• 18.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Where you situated?

• 19.timo: Reply to this comment

Sharkies doing well, goode seems to be no goode at all but at least he kicks well. I really like the aussie commentators though always good for a laugh. I know lot of saffas dont like them but they are knowledgeable, biased like we alll are but normally when it comes to it they tell it like they see it.

• 20.timo: Reply to this comment

try saving tackle by ruan there. gitau pops the penalty over 6 3 sharks

• 21.Eminem: Reply to this comment

@timo: The Aussie commentators are brilliant. I’ve noticed that they seem to be less combative this week. :)

• 22.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Im in Sydney…

• 23.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Min 18
    The Beast’s off side, penalty for the Brumbies

• 24.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

very casual from terblanche, poor kick

• 25.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@timo: i love them too timo…greg martin is my favourite… He doesn’t like andy goode much, not one good word about the oke…

• 26.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Anyone have a stream?

• 27.timo: Reply to this comment

Kanko the centre loses the ball in contact second kaarck kick by terblanche. he had a good year last year but his age catching up to him it seems.

• 28.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Sydney a nice place to visit was there on holliday in 05.
    I am situated at the mo in Luanda Angola.

• 29.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: justin.tv/projectvanillascented#r=fX0YOlI~

• 30.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Got one okes!

• 31.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark:

http: //www(dot)justin.tv/rugby2010#r=4uoBexA~

remove the spaces and change the parenthesis…

• 32.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Another bloody penalty to Brumbies.

• 33.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: yeah, been here a little while, great place… too many Aussies but what the heck :lol:

Angola, interesting… work related?

• 34.timo: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: Yeah they great man each of them however will have nothing bad to say about his former team though and as martin was a red he really had a **** time most seasons. he’s full of it this season of course. Kafe we know was a super 12 winning centre for the brumbies and kearns will hear no **** about the warratahs. Anything else though they say it straight up.

• 35.poppa69: Reply to this comment

1st tryscorer anyone? Ill bet you 10000 keo dollars it will be Leilifano :D

• 36.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Terblanche jsut kicks the ball away all the time. WORST 15 in the super 14. Absolutely terrible, just retire man.

• 37.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Oh Pienaar!!

• 38.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Min 25
    Penalty against JP 3m from the Brumbies line

• 39.timo: Reply to this comment

really needs to learn how to use comma’s etc lol

• 40.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Jacobs noooooooooooo!!

• 41.timo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: dont have that many keo’s but im sure it will be kanko. even if u win u can have my keo’s though

• 42.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

When is this Aussie referee atrocity going to end.You cannot
    run 5 meters kick the ball another 5 and penalise the opposition
    for not being 10 meters back.
    Even the Aussie commentators agreed.Git rid of these Aussie refs. now.They are just as bloody a disgrace to the game as the Lions are.

• 43.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Bismarck Brainless Plessis.

• 44.timo: Reply to this comment

Bissie really needs to see a shrink or something his aggression is nearly always negative these days.

• 45.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

jeez kafer is a twat, Marks was sacked because it WAS a penalty try

• 46.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Bismarck is not the sharpest tool in the shed.

• 47.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

sharks playing like they the log leaders with a 20 point lead over all teams. what utter ****. so lazy, so arrogant, penalty after penalty. No fire in the belly. wtf. catch a wake up. as to smit, i wish he would retire, no fire, scrum always **** when he is prop.

• 48.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: No what you mean re Aussies :) Yes work related, will be spending the year working here. Must say prefer being here than Sydney.

• 49.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

If Brumbies score Sharks will be playing catch up mentally. Game over for Sharks.

• 50.timo: Reply to this comment

JP kicks the **** outta chisholm legally it seems from the commentators

• 51.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1:
    referee is a Kiwi

• 52.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

dont think i have seen one good solid ruck attempt by the wussie sharks

• 53.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Game over.

• 54.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Another whole string of play out of the referees’ error handbook, leading to a try

• 55.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@timo: JP went for the ball, it was an accident.

• 56.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

I might as well switch off now.

• 57.poppa69: Reply to this comment

damn, lost my 10000 keo dollars… luckily theyre not worth the space theyre printed on :D

• 58.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Sharks always defending. WHY? Because TErblanche kicks all possession away, even when in the opponents’ 22 and with front foot ball. Can’t play rugby when you have an imbecile like him doing stuff like that. And he’s a “senior” player supposed to be setting the example. RUBBISH

• 59.timo: Reply to this comment

Lol Ben alexander scores my keo’s are safe. Sharks seems to be under the cosh though. The defence is not good enough you need to drive the man back and get over the ball to effect turnovers with the new laws otherwise you defend all night. 11 phases to that try.

• 60.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

oh lord, oz commentators talk such shizzle.

• 61.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

yup, old man terblanche, i think its a season too far.

• 62.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Pienaar!!

• 63.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Oh my god a trrryyyyyyyyyy!

• 64.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

try pienaar

• 65.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

formi is temporary , class is permanent

• 66.timo: Reply to this comment

Ruan is in in the corner!! 13 11 with the kick to come still.

• 67.Michael: Reply to this comment

PIENAAR!!! Nice spot of the gap, boytjie!

Smit is looking in better shape. Goode is the fatest dude on the team.

• 68.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@sailorboyb: my nizzle!

• 69.Senga: Reply to this comment

bismarck did well

• 70.timo: Reply to this comment

goode comes good at last 13 13

• 71.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Foode converts, 3 from 3

13-13

• 72.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Pienaar needed that badly to regain confidence, can only be good for the sharks

• 73.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

At least Goode can kick penalties.

• 74.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

51. HondoReply to this comment :
    March 13th, 2010 at
    Good get rid of him too.Who are the assistant refs?

• 75.timo: Reply to this comment

What is the deal with the colored strips on the legs og players??

• 76.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Stop kicking away possession!

• 77.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

When one looks at the home page and check the score…you hold your breath when you check the comments section.
    You then realize you should not have wasted as it is always predictbale that when a saffa team is losing there is a string of “ref is ****” comments.

• 78.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

TJs are robbing Terblanche, he’s kicking them further than they’re giving him credit for

• 79.timo: Reply to this comment

kanko, adi neither of them want to pass. at least they got the penalty. goode to put them up with a 3 point lead at half time

• 80.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

16-13 great pen

• 81.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@timo: Justice leg bands?

• 82.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

as i understand it, what with the 507958th law change to the tackle ball area, the best option it to ruck the ****, Kick over yay, ruck the **** out of the tackle area? am i wrong?

• 83.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

***** let Cooper have a break at half-time.

• 84.sglazer: Reply to this comment

True score sans referee’s try-causing error: Sharks 16 Brumbies 6

• 85.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.:

actually the saffa team is leading.

but aussie refs still suck. the fact dickensen is the best you got says it all.

• 86.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: goal posts moved to help the aussies!

• 87.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

hey wallabie, dont mean to be funny here, but if you dont like the comments, hop on over to the oz rugby site.

• 88.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Sharks can take this one…cool heads…9/10 a goode pairing,and Andy can kick ;)

• 89.timo: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: dont know king all colours red, blue etc. What does justice leg bands mean?

• 90.sglazer: Reply to this comment

According to this referee, you have to bind onto a team-mate to join the tackle area. I think he’s confusing tackles with scrums.

• 91.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: @88 of course big hit, theyre only at the game , your all the way in Europe…

• 92.timo: Reply to this comment

sharks seems goode to go, or maybe this is as goode as its gonna get, maybe theyre up yo no goode or is it all goode

• 93.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@timo: it is a form of tape to add stability to the muscles it os attached too…

• 94.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

i cant figure pienaar out. his dad had what it took at the top, as far as i am aware. the junior version showed some of it a few seasons back but these last few seasons have been average? where should the lad play, 9 or 10 or 15?

• 95.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@timo: Very ***…but then Sydney’s the *** capital of Oz ;)

• 96.timo: Reply to this comment

yo must be to

• 97.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

can’t see the Sharks holding on to this lead.

• 98.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@sailorboyb: He’s a 9…showing it again today…that’s where the lad wants to play so play him there :roll:

• 99.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@timo: I’m just taking the p man out of the Justice 4 Bakkies armbands ;)

• 100.timo: Reply to this comment

Im getting a good feeling about the sharks. If they win my superbru is fucked but I wont mind. damn chiefs allready screwed me over

• 101.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.:

Dude, thats whats fans do! Moan about the ref! Dont Aussies fans ever moan about the ref? or are they angels?

• 102.timo: Reply to this comment

Im getting a good feeling about the sharks. If they win my superbru is stuffed up but I wont mind. damn chiefs allready scr&wed me over

• 103.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

wakey wakey, ruck needed here sharks.

• 104.timo: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: LOL didnt catch on so last year. good one :)

• 105.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Jeez TErblanche makes me mad.. Just plain terrible.. So used to kicking that when he finally passes the ball it’s a useless pass….

• 106.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

? old man terblanche

• 107.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@timo: well stop getting all those yellow caps and youll do better :wink:

• 108.timo: Reply to this comment

stefan faarks up again 5 meter scrum brumbies

• 109.Transformation: Reply to this comment

terblanche is a dom doos….

• 110.poppa69: Reply to this comment

are we going to see “turbo reverse” ?????

• 111.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

And Smit is the 2nd worst player in this team. He’s a quota.

• 112.timo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: they gone this week man the sharkies are gonna do it they do need to sub stefan though. I reckon kockett at fb for this game might just work. Turbo revers doing his thing again.

• 113.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Sharks scrum getting pomped…try :(

• 114.timo: Reply to this comment

Benn alexander for a hat trick

• 115.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

mmmm, wakey wakey, sharks got so little zip.

• 116.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@timo: commentators curse Timo? :D

• 117.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: it should’ve been a lineout but idiot Marks missed it

18-16

• 118.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Smit always has a smug look of disbelief on his face, and always has comments to make on the refs these days but he should look at his own game. HE’s terrible with ball in hand, he can’t tackle, too slow around the park, doesn’t make effective cleanouts and can’t scrum. QUOTA….

• 119.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

thats called rucking, take note sharks.

• 120.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Sonito:

Angels mate…angels!

• 121.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Gonna lose this.

• 122.timo: Reply to this comment

wasthat just john smith catching the ball in his own half after the sharks were 5 meters from the brumbies tryline? How did he get there or was he playing cover defence?

• 123.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Ndungane is a decent winger but not a Springbok

• 124.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

No back-up winger. Nice one Plum. Kiwi ****.

• 125.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

19-18

• 126.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

looked like a no arm should charge tackle on odwa – citing perhaps? he’s off for the night

• 127.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Goode is the ONLY thing keeping the sharks in this, cause they don’t deserve to be winning

• 128.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

old ballie terblanche, hee hee

• 129.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Terblanche needs to wake up

• 130.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Murray for winger? deary me.

• 131.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i reiterate terblanche is a dom doos

• 132.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@Pirlet BEL: Please give it a rest.

• 133.timo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: yeah they need to keep the brumbies from their 22. They seem to score whenever they get there, fortunately its still going goode. He keeps on kicking the penalties they are in with a shout. His track record suggest that he will be yelow carded soon.

• 134.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

There is a sick belief in S A Rugby that it is OK to scrum
    with five against 8.Why on earth the Sharks stopped scrumming
    once they had the hit on beats me.
    The second Brumbies try came because the Sharks loose forward
    stood up to defend.They should have kept the pressure on
    and driven the Brumbies back.Will our teams ever learn.

• 135.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: co-sign

• 136.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: Hope your team keeps its head and no yellow cards and you can win. Will be a good start to the

• 137.timo: Reply to this comment

It was the beast that was penalised at the previous scrum.

• 138.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Andy’s a goode kicker…but can’t tackle for sh*t..!!

• 139.Porto: Reply to this comment

Just stumbled across another website rugby-talk dot co dotza great site, intelligent comment, non racist. I’d recommend it if any of you are looking for a pure rugby site.

• 140.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Brumbies get a penalty after valentine punches Sykes. Nice anzac reffing.

• 141.sglazer: Reply to this comment

The Sharks’ problem is in the locks. They need more steel there.

• 142.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

jeez sharks discipline is bad. cant blame the ref when your back peddling in scrums and infringing at every bloody ruck.

• 143.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark:

will valentine be cited?

• 144.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi: sharks are good on their own put-in, poor on the Brumbies put-in

• 145.Partizan: Reply to this comment

As a Bulls supporter i feel bad for the sharks. Seeing them in disarray makes me feel bad. I want them to succeed but they just not clicking this year :(

• 146.Porto: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: @130. I just had that translated, its a dumb fanny. How colourful!

• 147.timo: Reply to this comment

Jean deysel on for Willem alberts this may be a good move Alberts was fairly anonamous jannie also on smith off.

• 148.timo: Reply to this comment

Benn alexander shoulder charge. It is goode to go.

• 149.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

22-21

• 150.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

For BAkkies that would be 2 weeks

• 151.sglazer: Reply to this comment

That was leading with the shoulder. The earlier two were not.

• 152.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Goody Goode Good keeping Sharkies in the hunt. 6 kicks to 4 making the difference.

Smit is a liability don’t care how many people think he’s irreplaceable as Bok captain. Carry him to 2011 and its tickets before the semi’s.

• 153.timo: Reply to this comment

@Porto: LOL dude u guys really try anything. The problem is that when everyone is only allowed to agree and slap each other on the shoulders. It is almost nonsensical to read those treads as it is all affirmation of one view. After abou 30 minutes on that site it begins to feel very ***. All the backslapping. I love the fights here although sometimes it does get out of hand.

• 154.charo: Reply to this comment

as the so-called “dream team” the brumbies ain’t so hot

• 155.timo: Reply to this comment

Now can the sharks keep the brumbies out or is it hat trick time for alexander?

• 156.Pearl Rose: Reply to this comment

@Porto: you didn’t just stumble upon it doos, you have been there since it’s inception. You guys are getting desperate for hits and gbs has sent you out in full force.

• 157.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

skullet lol

• 158.timo: Reply to this comment

Great scrum can it be that JS is the problem? should probably direct that question to Grant10! lol

• 159.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

JUST STARTED WATCHING ….
    64Min and a few seconds watch the tackle on Rocky Elsom.
    The ruck looked far too much like Rugby League!!!!

Then the tackle straight after it , the same!!!
    This is ridiculous, i dont want to watch Rugby League!

• 160.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

skullet, classic

• 161.poppa69: Reply to this comment

gees, ANZAC ref hasnt been given the correct instructions.. :roll:

• 162.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

andy goode doesnt have a combover, he also does not wear it as a mullet, the oz commentors call it a skullit. funny stuff.

• 163.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@timo: Sharks have been fine on their own put-in all game, it’s on the oppo. put in they’ve struggled badly

• 164.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Kanko was never offside.

• 165.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

oxy i agree, i thought that same thing a few weeks ago, looks like league styp rugger. it sucks.

• 166.timo: Reply to this comment

Kanko was not offside there once more. That was a mistake by the ref and now gitaue kicks the penalty 24 22 brumbies.

• 167.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Game over methinks.

• 168.sglazer: Reply to this comment

True score without referee errors: Sharks 22 Brumbies 12

• 169.Porto: Reply to this comment

@timo: @Pearl Rose: No offence girls but I hardly go on these things. I found it through searching about half an hour ago. Maybe it will get a bit repetitive but try it out based on what I saw it was pretty good. Pearl baby, why do you call me a fanny do I give you a hard on?

• 170.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@timo: Shocking anzac reffing continues.

• 171.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

goode injured

• 172.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: Ridiculous, commentators just kept quiet when they watched the replay…

• 173.timo: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: Big i dont know as much as you about the scrum but that was what i noticed also. tong firmly in cheek that previous comment :)

• 174.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

That’s a skew throw, but ref doens’t want to see it… Mind boggling

• 175.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

go Sharks

• 176.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

this is going to be a scrape ugly win either way as is usually the case with Sharks rugby its a scrapey ugly win or loss. Brumbies trying to make a game of it but not succeeding much.

Somebody is going to get the winning 3 pointer over, Goode or Giteau, and to the ugly winner will go the spoils.

• 177.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: it won’t be goode anyway

• 178.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

i must say pirlet, that did look a mile skew. wtf is that about.

• 179.gunther: Reply to this comment

Anzac alliance in full effect today..

Didn’t think they would pull it off.. never underestimate a bent kiwi..

• 180.Transformation: Reply to this comment

greg martin has had it in for andy goode from the beginning!!! Now he’s finished it off with the skullet comment! Classic :D go Marto!

• 181.timo: Reply to this comment

tong = tongue or something like that. yeah Oxy the replay just shut the commentators up embarrasing.

• 182.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

i have seen jannie do that so often, knock on.!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

• 183.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

du PlesSIS man

• 184.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Jannie Dup comes to games on his Harley

• 185.Transformation: Reply to this comment

jannie you beaut! :D

• 186.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

well done Jannie, well done…

• 187.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Nice Jannie. Just lost us the game.

• 188.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Jannie kannie scrum nie and he also can’t catch, so wtf CAN he do?

• 189.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

right so half of our team literally can’t last 80 minutes

• 190.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

last push for sharkies, go on boys.

• 191.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Try or penalty to Sharks coming …

• 192.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

penalty try coming up

• 193.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

go sharks !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 194.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

noooooooooooo, ****. **** ****.

• 195.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

adi, you can pass better than that

• 196.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

should’ve tried a drop-goal, poor decision-making.

• 197.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

kak passing begets kak results.

Sharks need a backline coach desperately

• 198.poppa69: Reply to this comment

there you go, now all calling for a penalty try from last week, kanko with no one in front of him knocks on

• 199.sailorboyb: Reply to this comment

night nurse, have a dp. keep it quiet and go for a surf.

• 200.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: agreed

• 201.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

and some will say the sharks lost because Smit was brought off the field haha..

• 202.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

so the penalty against onside kanko the diffs. sharks unlucky again

• 203.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

Brainfart, Sharks.

• 204.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Another result heavily influenced by referee’s errors

• 205.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@munkiboi:

No no.

They lost all my themselves this week

• 206.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Last scrum by Sharks proved my point again.A Shocking pass
    by Jacobs to end a disappointing performance.Smit really
    is not the answer at prop.

• 207.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

Adam Ashley was not out either…

• 208.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

another close ugly scrapey loss. Good effort but not good enough.

Get rid of Smit and get another couple coaches or keep on lamenting about what might have been.

Smit must go, you wanna know where cancer of Sharks team is. Well make your own assessment. Its pretty plain to see from here.

And Bok’s going to suffer same dour unimaginative stuck in a rut fate as Sharks if somebody don’t wake up fast.

• 209.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

remind me again how putting your foot out and picking the ball up is a legit rule???
    they need to sort that out asap.
    i also dont think his foot was out yet when he picked it up.

ps: was marks the banned ref the touch judge?

• 210.bo0m: Reply to this comment

Another very dodgy offside call loses us the game…

• 211.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

Brainfart, Sharks!

• 212.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

I f@@ken hate the Aussie commentators. Can’t be anything worse, I miss Supersport. These guys have their heads in their arses and therefore cant see, and can only talk shite…

• 213.sglazer: Reply to this comment

The try wasn’t a try because there should not have been the shoulder charge penalty.

Teams have to have appeals. This one small thing will create more reliable results.

• 214.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Pathetic pass from Adi…like Smit says they only got themselves to blame…Sharks looking much better with Ruan at 9 tho’…

• 215.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

@Oxy moron: Yip the banned ref touches the Sharks game….how f’en stupid

• 216.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Oxy moron: Yep…skidmarks left his mark on the game again..!!

• 217.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

Guppies won`t get anywhere with that pathetic backline. Lack basic skills and pace. Defence not up to standard either.

• 218.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

yeah that foot in touch thing is weird. my understanding is ball must be moving for it to be deemed out. otherwise player has carried over

• 219.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm: yeah they made sure to give no distance for Terblanche’s huge punts and got a pen. given against BDP. Main ref wasn’t much better.

• 220.scar: Reply to this comment

@Oxy moron: Agree, it was not a ball going straight out, it was rolling in field towards the line when he picked it up!

• 221.jaimie: Reply to this comment

The Brumbies #3 was all over Beast most of the match.
    I thought Alberts was superb, actually outshone Elsom from what I saw.
    I think ill tip the Sharks next week (against the Landers?), or has this loss broken their spirits?

• 222.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

Smit the cancer? Obvious to see?
    How do you figure that out?
    You have had it against Smit for ages now. So your objectivity is questionable

Sharks have got problems but pinning it on Smit is just wrong?

• 223.whatever: Reply to this comment

No fire in the belly, don’t deserve to win.

The Brummbies scrummie should see the citing officer. Did Kockett not get done for a similat offence?

• 224.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

Adi Jacobs needs to retire! Is is the biggest problem we have. Misses tackles and his attacking play is pathetic!

Get rid of Terblanche he is weak sauce!

Our loose trio nowhere to be seen at the breakdown, last turnover ball all night.

Ndugane cannot catch therefor shouldn’t play rugby!

PS: Paul Marks that line out throw was so f*cking crooked are you blind?

• 225.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

If player carries ball out with foot in touch it should be attacking team throw in not the team who put foot into touch. Should be classified as carried over. IRB should sort it out pronto.

• 226.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

“remind me again how putting your foot out and picking the ball up is a legit rule???

I`m confused too. I thought that trick only worked when catching the ball out of the air or fielding the ball in the in-goal area. Did the rules change?

• 227.gunther: Reply to this comment

This team is so lacking in belief it’s scary ..

Coach is a dead man walking…

• 228.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm: not actually that stupid, as his performance is being assessed, and worthwhile to give him to the sharks every weak to see if can be objective and unbiased

• 229.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@Springbokvel:

Only aloud to do it if the ball is still moving.

• 230.scar: Reply to this comment

@Springbokvel: That’s my understanding as well! :(

• 231.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

lol Marks is getting it again this week. but really i think the Sharks have only themselves to blame this week.

• 232.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Comne guys, you are being a bit harsh on the Sharks. They almost beat one of the tournament favourites at home. They were unlucky to loose this game. Kanko offside call was bull ****.

• 233.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Sharks aren’t looking that bad. They need a game-breaker at 12, Frans Steyn would’ve been ideal. Swanepoel and Strauss aren’t the answer at S14 level.

• 234.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm: who at sanzar made that decision? did you see his nervous look when he gave them the ball, im sure his foot wasnt out yet when he touched the ball.
    that would have been a line out in their 22.

• 235.Seven: Reply to this comment

Terblanche offers no threat although he is safe
    Ndugane must go – can’t catch, no pace and no threat to any defensive line
    Jacobs – as usual, useless on defence and offered nothing on attack
    Swanepoel – besides the one slight line break which go stopped offered nothing
    JP – Keep trying boy
    Goode – besides his kicking, nothing else, complete waste of good money, cramping? what did he do? didnt get a yellow so had no rest?
    Pienaar- ggood game

alberts, deysel and kanko must start.
    steenkamp, sykes and muller must lock

• 236.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

are you crazy? then there’s no incentive to stay in field

• 237.Olivergm: Reply to this comment

@fogdog10: Ya that throw was practically to the scrummy!!

• 238.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

225. Springbokvel
    Laws have not changed.Brumbie took ball in touch.Shark line out.
    finish and klaar.Assistant referee,none other but our dear friend Marks.
    Another classic Brumbie scrum half flat slaps Shark lock,
    penalty Sharks – you must be kidding Brumbies.
    Two vital wrong decisions. Game over.
    Why have technology if you dont use it.How many more of this
    **** do we have to watch?

• 239.scar: Reply to this comment

Personally I think Pienaar’s talent is wasted at a union like the Sharks. He should rather find a set-up where he can be developed in the talent that he is. A more professional set-up like the Cheetahs where there is a winning culture will do his confidence the world of good!!

• 240.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

Shame man , im not one to laugh at fellow SA sides when the chips are down. F*ck that’s two close games that the sharks have lost in a row now. Very disappointing…

John Smit needs a rest now , the Sharks have nothing left to play for in the Super 14. Might as well give Smit a rest , he needs it.

This is f***king disappointing , i was hoping at least the Sharks or Lions could win their game this weekend…

• 241.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Smit is finished, those that can’t see that much are simply blind. Huffing and puffing his way between set scrums and getting his *** shown to him time and again by younger stronger fitter front rower’s is putting Sharks as it will do the Bok’s on the back foot before they even take to the field.

Besides this he’s not even an inspiring or astute thinking captain any more. Just a winging commentator to the ref for most the game, as his last 10 losses on the trot as losing captain signifies in no uncertain terms. When last did John Smit LEAD a team to victory. In the 3N against Nz last year 8 months ago or thereabouts. Since then its been one steady loss after another, through eoyt and warm ups and S14, and his blind as bat JW losing ways deluded delinquent disciples simply cannot or Will not see the rot for what it is or where it actually originates.

Persist with this dead loss at your own peril, my only concern is that Pdv is just as blind and is going to string the entire team out to dry because of this penchant for remaining blind when reality stares you square in the face.

• 242.fantasticbarnsmell: Reply to this comment

@scar: ahahaha

• 243.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Olivergm:

Unless your head is in your arse and you want to here your own **** and you not used to others telling you the reality!!

• 244.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1:
    I know Sharks arent playing well, but they would have won most of their games this year if it werent for incorrect vital decisions.

i know this is a very american thing to do but could we sue sanzar for unnecessary stress caused due to incompetence?

• 245.charo: Reply to this comment

@scar:

hahha boet, developing into quite a comedian i see :grin:

• 246.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: PDV will pick Smit as will Plumtree, not point grant10ing about it. :)

• 247.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

228. Sonito
    You must catch the ball while it still in the air and
    put your foot out, because that creates the illusion that the
    ball would have gone out on the full.
    In this case the ball came to rest inside the playing field.
    Brumbie picked ball up and stepped out.So he took the ball in touch.Line out Shark .Poor, poor decision by assistant ref.
    Paul Marks.

• 248.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

:) :) : its great being a stormer fan this season. In all past **** seasons ( we,ve had plenty) we have never sunk this low . five consecutive losses !!! FFS man

• 249.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Skop

Someone needs to whisper in Smits ear and let him know gently he wont make it to NZ 2011.
    Give him the low down that its time to call it over before the tri nations starts. He can play an international or two in June and then spring a ‘surprise’ that everyone else knows that he is not playing well and needs to step aside for someone younger.

• 250.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: the commentators hadnt even done the research to know that burden is an ex wing? these guys are meant to be professionals and there going on about skullets and mocking a guy cos hes going bald.

• 251.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@scar: Pienaar will be very welcome in the Cape,so we can lose January,the rest of the backline you can keep…Sharks to drill the Highlanders at the house of pain..!!

• 252.julz: Reply to this comment

the sharks have psychological problems, to name but one!

• 253.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Oxy moron:

Why dont you sue SARU first?

• 254.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1:

I cant remeber what exactly happened but as long as the ball is moving and your foot is out before you touch the ball it is ok. I dont think his foot was out before he picked up the ball though.

• 255.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

WTF is up with all the John Smit bashing on this site ?

Is this not our World Cup , British Lions & Tri Nations winning Captain??
    The guy might be tired ,overplayed and out of form , but to rubbish him like this is a disgrace…

This is guy has done more than Teichmann , Pienaar , Krige , Joost and any other doos…

Kick a dog when he’s down ,the South African mentality , sweet f*ckall for loyalty !!!

• 256.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: someone better tell Mortlock that

• 257.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Interesting though the Sharks have 4 bonus points…that equates to one game one. It is not all bad if the sharks starting winning now they can still get into the semis.

• 258.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: if he does he would truly becum the greatest bok captain ever! but thats just wishful thinking

• 259.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: Would have to sue the government if we did that, cos there the ones f’ing with our rugby this side.

ps: im not serious about suing, i just want sanzar to realise that these decisions affect peoples careers and lives (not so much the supporters).

• 260.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

John, you have done your country proud. You have a great record. You are slipping – that is inevitable – you cannot beat time/age. Quit while you are ahead – you will be respected for it!

• 261.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie: ditto

• 262.catleya: Reply to this comment

Guys,
    My advice to the Sharks players, management and supporters is simply this. Stop whining and start winning. Put the refs out of your heads and just cut the errors and ill discipline. you can’t change the bum ref calls, but you can rectify the bad handling, bad tackling and ill discipline. Do this and you will start winning.

• 263.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

I wonder if the conditions were a bit tough? Both sides seemed to be lethargic.

• 264.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: He carried the ball over the touchline…Marks was the assistant ref…’nuff said..!!

• 265.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie: I don’t see the need for the weekly focus on Smit, he was no better nor any worse than the rest of the forwards out there.

• 266.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Big Hit tru.

• 267.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

253. Sonito
    No the ball came to rest.Even Super Sport commentators
    agreed on that one.

• 268.scar: Reply to this comment

@fantasticbarnsmell: @charo: @Storm outta hell:
    All the **** that I had to endure over the past years about Cheetah players (e.g. Juan, Brussouw) needing to go elsewhere to develop their talent has nicely gone full circle!!

:0

• 269.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Oxy moron:

I know you wernt but taking the piss while I could.

• 270.charo: Reply to this comment

@Oxy moron: @249

mate, calling a guy a skullet IS being polite….by aussie social standards anyway

• 271.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit:
    We need a good argentinian scrum coach and an anzac backline coach. that goes the same for the springboks!

• 272.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1:

As I said I cant Remember what happend. I am just clearly up the law.

• 273.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: Yep…4 loosing bonus points,a win next week will put them in the middle order already.

• 274.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

Sharks lost this game by themselves. And they must keep on pissing Marks off. He is simply getting revenge and kicking them where it hurts most.

Jannie’s knock on and his brother having a hissy fit about it did not help matters. Nor Stephan Terblanche granting the Brumbies field position at every chance he got. Oh and Sykes half Nelson on Valentine just must back fire on the Sharks with everyone calling for Valentine to see the citing commissioner.

Lastly,

Andy Goode, with the SCULLET, kicked well, kept the Sharks in the hunt. I’ll give him that.

• 275.wp_boytjie: Reply to this comment

@Oxy moron: Federico Mendez

• 276.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@wp_boytjie: exacry , we have the size, we just dont have the technicque.

ps: if you have a chance, watch from the 64min to the 66th min.

looks far too much like rugby league!

• 277.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

Oxy Moron – the Aussie commentators used to be funny but now fat Phil has just become an annoying c*nt!

• 278.Guns: Reply to this comment

SHARKS BACKS ARE UTTERLY USELESS!

STEFAN OFFERS NOTHING ON ATTACK! COVER WORK IS AVERAGE!
    JACOBS SHOULD RETIRE!!
    ODWA VERY AVERAGE BUT HE TRIES!
    JP SLACK BY HIS STANDARDS BUT SOME TACKLES MADE….

WHAT A SHAME!

• 279.gunther: Reply to this comment

If marks carries on like this he will find himself “removed” from the linesman panel as well …

back to schoolboy rugby…although I feel sorry for any touring teams..

• 280.Guns: Reply to this comment

Ruan was decent, so was goode and so was Swanapole… the rest of backs terrible!

• 281.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Guns: got to agree, signing a top new creative and powerful inside centre would make a difference tho imo

• 282.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@fogdog10: at least hugh bladen no matter how drunk he is, at least has enough respect to research the players even the foreign ones…

• 283.Springbokvel: Reply to this comment

So, if I give the perfectly weighted grubber kick into the corner (close to the corner flag and touchline) and the last defender manages to stretch one foot into touch and then handle the ball (whilst it`s still bobbling around in- field but not going out), then the line-out goes back to where I kicked from? Seems a bit harsh on the attacking team and an out-of-jail-card for the defending team. Not good imho.

• 284.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@fogdog10: I loved the scullet comment. Laughed my *** off.

• 285.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

254. wp_boytjie
    John Smit is not a prop. If he cannot gain his place in the
    squad as a hooker he should be on the bench.In any sport
    you are only as good as your last game.Reputations don’t win
    games.He was shown no respect by the Brumbies front row.
    You seem to forget that the Sharks Springbok front row
    had Botha and Matfield behind them in test series.
    Sharks must learn to scrum, you are never going to get
    front foot ball from the scrum if all 8 don’t scrum as a
    unit.
    Far too many flankers and no 8 break up far too early
    and find themselves in trouble behind the scrum if the
    opposition puts the shove on.

• 286.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Oxy moron:

I would certainly disagree with you. He is so biased you cant believe to the extent you got to ask your self which game is he commenting on.

• 287.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

Rossoneri – Half the bulls team has mullets lets see what the commentators say when the bulls are giving them a proper hiding when on tour!

• 288.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@Springbokvel: ive also noticed that even when the defense doesn’t execute the manoeuvre properly like the brumbie today (i.e. sometimes they f$ck up by touching the ball before putting the foot out) the ref and linesman still dont seem to have the vision to differentiate which was done first and award in favour of the defense.

• 289.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: i didnt say he wasnt biased, i just said he has enough respect for the players that he researches them.

• 290.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

Took a chance and backed the Sharks for this one,,,they gotta come goode on the tour from hell…sliding down the superbru :(

• 291.Partizan: Reply to this comment

No one commenting on kanko yet? I feel he tries to show off far too much. Interceptions only work every so often, and playing on the wing when you are part of a losing pack is not the way to go. Kanko stuffed up alot today from the 30 odd minutes i watched

• 292.poppa69: Reply to this comment

this thread has got more entertaining the longer the game has been finished…

• 293.charo: Reply to this comment

@fogdog10:

a skullet is so descriptive – mullet hanging off a skull

• 294.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I remember an AB vs Bok game Bladen called a knock on and he reiterated it…was bemused and so many others were to. The AB had not dropped the ball…did not pick the ball up…the ball was being passed back. It was funny though!

He was certainly drunk but his bias came out…thats what alcohol does!!

• 295.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Partizan: Kanko was never offside from that lineout,another baaaaad call..!

• 296.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@charo:

Tough luck Charo, and thanks for the superbru tip.

• 297.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

I rather keep quiet about referees today seeing that we must still face Walsh.

I am scared of Karma.

• 298.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@Springbokvel:

Nope, because it is a grubber kick. The ball was not kicked out on the full.

• 299.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

Kanko is better this season but no where near Spies. I vital roll for a number 8 is to make yards off the base of the scrum and protect the ball! Kanko still gets driven back and is weak in the tackle, Spies goes forward all the time!

• 300.charo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

you are welcome – made 1.5 points out of the result but it was close!!!!!

• 301.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: Yeah,he’s on a mission to prove…”Hell have no fury like an ex-alkie ref on a mission to prove..!”….be afraid,be very afraid..!! :evil:

• 302.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@fogdog10: Very difficult when your scrum is getting pomped..!

• 303.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: yep, Walsh has read this blog for years, and with all the ANZAC accusations, I wonder if he got “the email” :D

• 304.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: If he pulls that winking **** at Newlands he’s likely to get pomped..!!

• 305.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

I am sure he got the email. Its probaly stuck up on the wall in his changing room with big spot lights on it!!!

• 306.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

By the stormer players? Are they that way inclined?

• 307.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: so he was making sure he “got the call” right ? :lol:

• 308.Mfrf: Reply to this comment

Keo.co.za (in this case Grant Ball ), it’s all very well to point out where the Sharks went wrong, how they could have done better, yada yada yada. I don’t think there are many who would disagree with you. BUT … to give a fair and rounded commentary of the game I do feel it only fair that you should also comment on shocking decisions from the match officials, particularly in this case, Marks (AKA Maaahksie). I am not sure why you have omitted to do this? Are you scared of being branded a whining SA supporter? The offsides call against Kankowski, Ashley Cooper’s stepping out, Valentine’s slap to Sykes’s face wasn’t even penalised (and yet, for a similar action Rory Kockett was red-carded last year in the game against the Highlanders and awarded a one week-suspension)and Ben Alexander’s shoulder charge on Swannepoel (a yellow card surely?)are all examples of decision which affected the course of the game, and I am sure played a part in further demoralising the Sharks. If you do not comment on these aspects of the game, then I would suggest that you refrain from commenting at all.

• 309.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: By his Pollsmoor roomies..!

• 310.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Yeah to kind of burn it into his memory. “Get the Yarpies”. I am pretty sure it is standard practice for all ANZAC refs. Probaly in the training manual.

• 311.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Mfrf: All valid points but all likely to be swept under the “perceived injustices” carpet.!

• 312.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: training manual?????? wtf, theres a training manual for ANZAC refs? we just send them out there with the “get the yarpies” mantra brainwashed since childhood, like when we poach all those 2 year old islanders that have all black stamped all over them :wink:

lmfao…

• 313.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Finally, you admit it! I am keeping this post for future references!

• 314.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Paul Marks brain washing sessions must of been intense! Star Pupil!

• 315.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

MFRF

Great summary of the inconsistencies. The sooner we get rid of Andre Watson the better. Watson is just there for the ride on the gravy train. If that was not the case, how in the world could Marks be an assistant-referee for today’s match?

Let’s put affrimative action to good use and get rid of Watson.

• 316.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: hahaha noooooo not another kobus, he brings up something I said 8 months ago to “win” his argument, you I thought were much more clued up then that :D

• 317.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Lang Giel: Yeah…gonna be interesting what he’ll have to say about the latest Sharks outcry of injustice..!

• 318.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Yes, it will be… WE WUZ ROBBED

:oops:

• 319.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

If Valentine’s slap doesn’t get cited there really is something wrotten with the system,like only SA players are being made an example of..?

• 320.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Likewise Alexander’s shoulder charge…wtf..?

• 321.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

everybody on about Jacobs, he was about the only back making tackles or probing the advantage line, problem with Sharks back line is they so static it needs someone to spark a break through, but hospital pass after hospital pass will not ‘create’ anything.

Jacobs is about only one doing anything worth trying, he’s not succeeding because the entire back line momentum is so flat static it is basically devoid of any go forward whatsoever.

Cheetahs, Stormers, Bull’s are only SA backs doing anything worth watching.

I wouldn’t drop Jacobs, but I’d still look for a play maker at 10 and a solid straight running 12.

Pienaar, Jacobs, Murray, JPP still got enough potential to pose threats to opposition, it is simply in the coaching arena where the dilemmas surface and back line stagnates.

Perhaps try Kockott, Pienaar, JPP, Murray, Jacobs, Mvovo, Terblanche. I say it will work, but its up to the players to make it happen on the field, which won’t unless they develop some inherent self belief about it all again.

• 322.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Jacobs was as k@k today as Rose was yesterday imo…

• 323.jaimie: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Agreed Skop, Jacobs had a solid game. I dont think I saw him miss a single tackle, and he was the only one who looked at all like breaking the line.

• 324.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@jaimie: His passing was atrocious…a number of times the ball bounced between him and his receiver,and that last attacking pass to Kanko just spelled out what a cr@p game he had…

• 325.Stawm: Reply to this comment

and if there campaign wasn’t over ….

Great skills

• 326.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Jacobs and Pienaar were the only backs making ‘effective’ metres. JPP is frustrated, waiting for ball. Kanko flirts dangerously offside throughout the match and when he was onside :lol: gets pinged for offside. They are the only backs worth mentioning.

• 327.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Jacobs was Kak??? LMAO.. Wazzup dude.. did your girlfriend/wife call out his name last night.. or was it you dreaming that he was having a bit of fun with… (sorry, I am being vulgar now.. Not good)

• 328.fogdog10: Reply to this comment

Skopskiet – hope that post is intended to create debate and not your honest thoughts! Although i agree we need a play maker at 10 to say Jacobs played ok is madness!

• 329.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@The Almighty Shaun: Jacobs was KAK…’nuff said..!!

• 330.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: You are obviously very passionate about your rugby… its the last thing that you can cling onto as a white person?? Is it frustrating to have black players playing YOUR game…lol

• 331.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Geez you guys are hard. The sharks have been playing out-played, out-paced and yes out-reffed but to say Jacobs was kak! If Jacobs was kak what were the rest?

Pienaar & Jacobs were the best out there.

• 332.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: 328..At least its only you saying so.. still waiting for Hondo to support you.. is he around?? I am sure that Jacobs is relieved that it is only you talking kak about him.. Now if it was me then it would be different.. because my opinion carries weight.. But we all understand that you are a sore nobody or a soft poep that can’t even stink up a pair of undies

• 333.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Plumtree is having trouble, reading refs, reading the ‘new’ but actually ‘old’ correct interpretations of the laws. This is the reason the Sharks are having so many referee issues.

He is having trouble deciding on who his hooker is and rightly so. Bismark is the young gun who is a **** scrummager and Smit can scrum but getting slow around the park. Kanko is a moble #8 but has to keep his locks in the scrum, else we get the (Grant10) turbo reverse on. Pienaar wants to play 9 but so does Kockett…. arrrg the list goes on and there appears to be no backline coaching going on.

Lets be fair, give some of the depth a run, chance the academy youngens and from there a team of whales may emerge. Got nothing to lose now.

• 334.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: far too sensible a post to be on Keo Mrs Rulz… far too sensible :)

• 335.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Pienaar and Jacobs, JPP too, behind a decent go forward forwards platform would still be potent attack and also defensively sound back line

Bring Murray into 12 see what he can do to straighten up the line and ask questions of the defense advantage line then release Jacobs, JPP and Mvovo out wide

Jacobs looked for gaps all day, got isolated couple times, but made plenty tackles, why don’t you go check the game again see how many he so called ‘missed’. One bad pass towards the end, but weren’t for a lack of trying, about the only back that really was.

Jacobs and Rose in same breath?, some you pale face palookas are particularly prone to prissy fits of paradigm promoted prejudice of pig headed plighted platitudes.

Jacobs is fine, so too Pienaar and JPP, just need some go forward from front, and some convincing conviction to work off.

If anyone should get dropped out that team it is dead and buried over blown geyser John Smit. Then you see a paradigm shift like a complete new lease of existence, just try it, and see the difference.

I play

Kockott/McCleod
    Pienaar
    JPP
    Murray
    Jacobs
    Mvovo
    Terblanche

Behind

Beast
    Bismark
    Jannie (god is there no one else?)
    Sykes
    Mostert
    Kankowski
    Deysel

don’t need Goody Goofy Good-for-nothing Goode

then lets see some action erupt from this dead beat delusional team.

Smit and Muller must go.

• 336.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Hooray for Ms Rulz, if it weren’t for the fairer beauties on the planet these testosterone blinded delinquent male species would be catastrophically blinded by their own dumb *** prejudice.

Keep those eyes wide and shining Ma’am sweetheart, only thing worth savoring round these parts is a little bit of refreshing open eyed objectivity, and from the ‘other’ perspective of all places.

Some males are just good for sperm provision and then sustainable to feed their young offspring, as in the case of female spiders, once she’s had her copulation she eats him up whole to provide sufficient energetic source for the ‘kids’ he’s just fertilized.

• 337.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: “Some males are just good for sperm provision” some are not either Skoppie, Bulls fans for example

:wink: lmfao

• 338.panniepeet: Reply to this comment

Interesting that the Sardines are 1 from 10 in S14 (0 from 5 this year) and this was their 7th consecutive defeat (this all started when the Cheetahs trounced them 31-6 last year in Bloem) The only game they’ve won so far was a home game against a just-as-piss-poor Highlanders team last year – overall they are 4 from last 15… Shocking.

• 339.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@panniepeet: Allister Coetzee is starting to wonder if being a S14 coach is such a big deal.. you can lose 11 out of 15 games and still retain your job as coach.. these guys set the bar low.. and then black professionals are told that that is the level that they need to attain to gain acceptance. This is why the country is so Fked.. 4/15 is good enough . PDV has also now been encouraged to stay within the performance band of acceptability.. 60% seems to be the standard.. or should I say C passes

• 340.Transformation: Reply to this comment

stefan terblanche was terrible today, he kept the Tahs in the right field position.

• 341.scar: Reply to this comment

@panniepeet: Always happy to “give a hand” to the poachers from Durban!

• 342.Karen: Reply to this comment

@Transformation: The Sharks played the Brumbies today and not the Tahs

• 343.panniepeet: Reply to this comment

@The Almighty Shaun: Well, obviously it isn’t such a big deal seeing that Allister Coetzee actually got a job as S14 coach…

• 344.panniepeet: Reply to this comment

@The Almighty Shaun: And the fact that Naka is STILL a S14 coach…

• 345.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@panniepeet: wow, telling statistics! 4 out of 15? and plumtree still has a job? There are a lot of **** coaches in our country, why go fetch a k@k kiwi to mess up one of our franchises? Oh i get it, the Sharks’ contract manager is a known failure Rudolf Straueli! Their backline consultant is Hugh Reece-Edwards, another known failure who was coaching high school rugby…go figure!

• 346.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Karen: my bad…

• 347.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

A better result for the Sharks. They do have a few bonus points

Good luck to the Canes and Landers

• 348.chch – welcome back Carter: Reply to this comment

The SA sides are usually not big bonus point takers but it is all even with NZ and it is Aus who lag behind

A combination of the Bulls winning big and other SA sides not losing easily

• 349.Hondo: Reply to this comment

I am not surprised
    It played out to my prediction but the Sharks could have won it.
    A good team wins the matches they should win and then win some they shouldn’t, the Sharks aren’t in that category.
    They have the players but the selection kills them

• 350.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Eat your heart out idiots, Adi Jacobs can surely handle your critics as he have proven in being the comeback kid time afer time, still climbing the Jacob’s ladder :mrgreen:

• 351.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

Ndungane, kockott, jannie, muller, botes all need an extended rest. Time to bring in some youth and hunger into the ‘team’. My team Beast smit bismark sykes steenkamp deysel alberts kanko pienaar goode pietersen swan jacobs mvovo terblanche. Carstens burden hargreaves daniels mcleod cronje jordaan. Time to introduce performance based salaries, you win you get paid the big cash, if not you suffer like the rest of us. Get a proper back line coach. And with botha and de villiers coming back to sa, its time to start building a team again by securing these key positions.
    I would also drop jacobs, but seeing as murray is even worse, whats the point….

• 352.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Jacobs needs resting. He is clearly playing below what he is capable of. Suppose one of the downsides of quotas is that even you are below form you cannot be replaced.
    Bismarck was lucky not to get yellowed. Where is the discipline with the Sharks.
    Muller while plays a great test game, S14 is a younger quicker game so some young blood for this team.
    I do think the reffing was one sided again. The last line out was definetly an indication of the poor officiating. The Brumbies player took the ball out yet still got the line out. As for the retailiation well the penalty should have been reversed.
    Saying that, the Sharks had 2 games to win and failed to close the game out aginst weak Aussie teams.

• 353.boeta_A: Reply to this comment

That was some of the poorest ref’ing I have seen in a long time.

• 354.kayzeten: Reply to this comment

I think the Sharks desperately need a psychologist to join the team. Their mindset is just not right. Maybe bad luck is riding John Smit as captain. Stefan Terblanche had a very successful captain’s innings last year. Perhaps we must use him again to change the tide.

• 355.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: 320 Skop that’s not a bad backline. It could work. I’d go one step further and try Kanko at 12 and with Jacobs at 13 and move Daniels to 8 with Deysel and Alberts at 6 and 7.

I was so bloody annoyed with Pietersen yesterday. He looked like he just didn’t want to be there.

Jacobs was the only back that looked dangerous and he made a few linebreaks yesterday. I wouldn’t drop Jacobs but for god’s sake Plumtree what is your problem with Mvovo? We need a proper winger on the field. If Plum doesn’t select Lwazi next week I will be utterly convinced he smoking tik.

• 356.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: Amongst other things :mrgreen: Jacobs passing was atrocious..!!

• 357.Charlie: Reply to this comment

Storm, what’s your problem, you sounding like a scratch cd, was only that one pass at the end, the Sharks had enough oppertunities prior to that to clinch the game, any chip on your shoulder ;-)

• 358.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: 354. Plum is out of his depth with the Sharks. That is the long and the short of it. I think he has lost the dressing room.

• 359.King Shark: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: What do you expect from JPP? I would want to quit if I had to play outside Adi. JPP is phenomenal but he NEVER gets the ball unless he goes and find it at some odd place. When he does get the ball, it is either thrown at his feet or behind him…

• 360.Charlie: Reply to this comment

@King Shark: JPP is just plain lazy, he also have the I don’t care body language since last season… ;-)

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.