Bulls blitz sinks Landers
13 Mar 2010
The Bulls returned to the top of the Super 14 log with a 50-35 win against the Highlanders at Loftus on Saturday.
While the hosts produced a disjointed second-half performance, the game was won by the interval and they will be pleased with the five log points.
The Blou Masjien was in total command early on, claiming the four-try bonus point in the 25th minute and a 22-point lead at half-time.
The Bulls dominated the set-pieces and breakdowns, regularly stealing the Landers ball in the air and contesting ruthlessly at the tackle. With the battle won up front, the platform was set for the backline to run riot.
The home side exposed the Landers out wide, which saw hooker Gary Botha and wing Francois Hougaard go over in the corners. Gerhard van der Heever then scored the try of the match with an 80m run, showing great pace to beat several defenders and give the Bulls a 21-0 lead.
A counter-attack saw the Landers hit back with a try from fullback Israel Dagg, but the Bulls then scored twice through centre Wynand Olivier and No 8 Pierre Spies.
Dagg grabbed his second five- pointer, before Morne Steyn kicked a penalty to give the hosts a 36-14 lead at the break.
While the Bulls were far less impressive in the second half, they did score two more tries through Hougaard and Spies.
The Landers were rewarded for their efforts with a four-try bonus point when Dagg grabbed his hat-trick, and flank Tim Boys and replacement wing Robbie Robertson also crossed the chalk.

265 Comments
13 Mar 2010, 16:29 pm
High Dragons
13 Mar 2010, 16:35 pm
5 Forwards amongst the subs. I love it.
13 Mar 2010, 17:00 pm
@AiDoc: seems we lost our comments on the Welsh/Irish thread Aidoc, now when you submit a comment it wont let you…
13 Mar 2010, 17:02 pm
@poppa69: looks like garethD isnt sure what hes doing?
cmon Highlanders, no upsets this round so far, stuff up EVERYONES superbru
13 Mar 2010, 17:06 pm
@poppa69:
Hear Hear!
13 Mar 2010, 17:08 pm
goooooooooooooooooo bulllllllllllsssssssssssssssss
13 Mar 2010, 17:09 pm
9 years for the bulls to beat the highlanders, amazing stat…
13 Mar 2010, 17:11 pm
why does stransky not like the bulls? he is always trying to talk up the opposistion. The only problem i have with my team is that Ludeke likes Kuhn. He is never going to be as good as steggie and he is in fact causing stegmann to possibly lose a spot at the boks with brussouw inhured.
13 Mar 2010, 17:14 pm
He he he its all I can say.
13 Mar 2010, 17:14 pm
bulls look sharp so far
13 Mar 2010, 17:16 pm
another try already
this could be a massive hiding.. first up tackles are lionesque from the Highlanders..
2 Tries in 2 mins. 2 to go for bonus.
as I said He he he. Volstruis skop soos ‘n metronoom
13 Mar 2010, 17:17 pm
Highlanders have a plan, they are going to let the bulls tire themselves out from running all day
must be that special juice on the highveld
13 Mar 2010, 17:19 pm
where was the advantage , 11 never came from the gate… nice call Kaplan…
Make that 3
what a frikken try by the kid
13 Mar 2010, 17:20 pm
Bulls are steamrolling through.
13 Mar 2010, 17:20 pm
after all the complaints re ANZAC refs, why wasnt it a highlanders penalty for offside at the ruck???
13 Mar 2010, 17:21 pm
so basically it’s kaplans fault that the highlanders can’t tackle so far?
what a kick!!!
85m try! The boy’s got gas!!!
i wonder what Tacitus is going to say now that his blue bulls are playing like the Champion Crusaders of 2008, popping passes of the shoulder & maintaining continuity? The same traits he said he despised about the Crusaders.
Oh well. wordpress is complaining about posting too quickly. So please bulls try and take a little longer between tries please. As I was saying about Morne as well, like a machine.
@Brigadier Van Zyl: no, just saying, do you disagree it wasnt an offside play by the 11?
13 Mar 2010, 17:22 pm
I rate kuhn. The highlandets defence are poor, almost as bad as the lions
13 Mar 2010, 17:22 pm
@poppa69: because he had his hands on the ball, the ref clearly said that he did not knock it on.
13 Mar 2010, 17:23 pm
Who scored the 85m try? Just logged back on!
13 Mar 2010, 17:23 pm
I tipped the bulls, so it doesnt worry me in the slightest, I just notice the sudden quietness when the call goes your guys way…
13 Mar 2010, 17:25 pm
@Michael: Israel Dagg
israel dagg smokes dippenaar!!
Was that a Knock on?
@Michael: Scorers on top of page – right hand side
13 Mar 2010, 17:26 pm
try by the highlanders….hopefully that keeps the bully boys feet on the ground.no need to get carried away and start playing touch rugby.
@Michael: “hurdles” van den heever
@poppa69: Enough with the condascending BS already! I don’t hear you screaming from the rooftops when a call goes your way either. So what’s your pnt?
13 Mar 2010, 17:27 pm
@BokiNZ: my my touchy… chill man, just banter… or cant I do that either??
13 Mar 2010, 17:30 pm
@poppa69: Nah not at all. Just doesn’t think it’s banter. You’ve been trying to get that pnt across since forever…and conveniently forgets that the kettle is just as black.
13 Mar 2010, 17:31 pm
Bonus point already – woohoo!
13 Mar 2010, 17:32 pm
bonus point try in the 23minute….is this basketball rugby?
13 Mar 2010, 17:32 pm
@BokiNZ: since forever? 4 posts hahaha man, I know its early in NZ, go back to bed and get up on the right side… sheesh
look at the pages on the last two sharks game threads, then tell me Ive been going on forever…
13 Mar 2010, 17:33 pm
This is already ugly!
13 Mar 2010, 17:33 pm
“the unthinkable has happened”….steyn misses a kick from the touch line.
13 Mar 2010, 17:34 pm
Poppa’s right as brilliant a run as it was from Van den Heever should never have been a try. Kaplan blowing this game by his own rules. Tackle player was not released and no daylight between tackled and tackler before ball was stolen. These ref’s should make up their minds which interpretations they blowing because every week its a different set of rules.
Bulls getting rub of home town reffing rules again.
Who decides Bulls get home ref’s and everyone else get foreigners?
This going to be a cricket score of note. Wonder if Tacitus is salivating at the prospect or he going to call it Aussie rules like he did when Chiefs ran Lions rampant and switch off his Tv. Your guess is as good as mine.
13 Mar 2010, 17:35 pm
highlanders getting nasty
That thug of a n0 from the highlnaders needs to spend some time in the cooler..
Congrats to the Bulls, good luck Canes
13 Mar 2010, 17:36 pm
@skopskiet:
so highlanders are the better side then?
bulls are rampant, think the lions score is in danger most definitely…
bulls scrum getting the better of the highlanders scrum
13 Mar 2010, 17:37 pm
@skopskiet:
what minute of the game did you score your bonus point try against the highlanders?
13 Mar 2010, 17:37 pm
bulls now destroying the highlanders
13 Mar 2010, 17:38 pm
Bulls support play is excellent
13 Mar 2010, 17:39 pm
Kaplan right inside Victor Matfield’s back pocket. One sided reffing rules today on the highveld
One way traffic makes this a free for all spectacle. 5 tries in less than 30. Bulls better hope it don’t get too carried away they may have to somehow come back down off their hyped up high.
13 Mar 2010, 17:39 pm
@poppa69: Listen, I don’t want this to escalate into some debate. You argueing issues that ref’s (and I mean ALL ref’s) get “wrong” at least a couple times a game. And it’s not exactly like this result hinged on that offside call, now is it?
13 Mar 2010, 17:40 pm
This is too loose by the bulls. This type of play can be harmfull later in games that are tighter. If I was a stormers supporter I would be worried about the next game because clearly the highlanders are shat. The win that looked so good may not be a good indicator of where they are. the canes are going to be a challenge.
its only basketball rugby if both teams score a lot of points otherwise its just a snotting…
that dagg is a handful, better than corey jane in my opinion.
13 Mar 2010, 17:41 pm
@skopskiet: Supporting foreign teams aka Trevor Manuel it seems
13 Mar 2010, 17:41 pm
@BokiNZ: no its not, game was long gone beofre then anyways.. but all weve heard is ANZAC refs all the last week or two, its nice to give it back occassionally..
13 Mar 2010, 17:43 pm
Poppa…Anzac refs cost games, not inconsequential points.
13 Mar 2010, 17:44 pm
@skopskiet:
kaplan a hometown bulls ref?
where have you been these past 5 years.
@stolen_nic: so just because the games not tight its now irrelevant? great logic…
@Senga:
ignore him the when the bull win its always because of the ref…
13 Mar 2010, 17:45 pm
all the Highlanders can play for now is 4 tries. should not be to tricky in an AFL match
13 Mar 2010, 17:45 pm
i hope kaplan is going to be consistent with calling for this “daylight” nonsense.
And why should a ref advise guthro that he is offside “one one one” on top of his voice? wtf
13 Mar 2010, 17:46 pm
Poppa, no, its decisions that influence the result of a match.
13 Mar 2010, 17:47 pm
steenkamp coming off, hope it’s not bad news, he’s been playing well.
13 Mar 2010, 17:48 pm
good try by the highlanders.
dagg again
13 Mar 2010, 17:48 pm
Transie – Guthro doesn’t remember what number he has on his back after 5mins
13 Mar 2010, 17:49 pm
bulls going to get a bollocking for leaking a soft try again.
@Transformation:
Bring On Pro Legota
izzy dagg, is just class…
@stolen_nic: well a 12 point lead rather then a 19 point lead could influence the match dont you think? not that I think the highlanders will get close, but being only 12 down would mean you are still in the game no?
13 Mar 2010, 17:51 pm
@Transformation:
to be fair, 130kg props can’t exactly stop on the spot when they are at full tilt.
Poppa – its a 22 point lead
how many tries or rather how many points did Highlanders score against Stormers. Please remind me? They’ve already put 2 tries 14 points past Bulls and it ain’t half time yet.
If I were Bully Bulls I’d be concerned about later in the season. Their defence aint that sh’t hot.
And thats with home town ref’s in their back pocket mogal.
Hi All
I would like to make a suggestion. I think the Bulls is just to strong for all the other teams and they should make way for the Spears to play in the Super 14.
The Bulls can then play in the Tri-Nations!!!
I am not a Bulls supporter – but WELL DONE Bulle, I just can’t see how they can NOT win this years Super 14!
@poppa69: Well, you tell me whether those games in question were influenced by some shoddy ref’ing then. Maybe you should wait till a Saffa team wins by means of a ref on the ‘take’, aye? Anyway, you enjoy the game. I’m not sure I am, cause you have to have a mean streak in you to enjoy this kind of massacre!
What is stransky on about did he not hear vic ask the ref for the time and that only 25 secs were left. how could they then go for a lineout?
13 Mar 2010, 17:54 pm
@stolen_nic: i can live with guthro being dom, what i want to know is whether it is in the rule book that the referees “must first warn [let alone scream] the attacking side not to advance from an offside position after a kick”. These are professional players, why should they be constantly advised about what they are doing?
13 Mar 2010, 17:54 pm
@skopskiet:
pipe down and enjoy the game…if you can…
13 Mar 2010, 17:55 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Lol ya I still have not forgiven him for those losing us the cc against the cheaters.
@Transformation:
it happens quite a lot…have you not been watching the super 14 this year?
or last year?
@skopskiet: Stormers through the years bragged they play with “flair”. Now the Bulls play the running rugga, you are moaning like a baby. lol
13 Mar 2010, 17:56 pm
Transie – refs are doing a lot of coaching, esp. At the breakdown. The object is to try and keep the game flowing.
13 Mar 2010, 17:57 pm
The pass to Spie was forward, Kaplan didn’t disallow it because it didn’t beat any defender but still
13 Mar 2010, 17:58 pm
@Transformation:
sure, but you know that at every ruck the ref asks the player to “release” first as a warning.
how is this situation any different?
@stolen_nic: yeah, but if the correct call was made the 85 metre try wouldnt have been scored.. hence the 12 plus the late penalty 15 point lead… do the math..
all fans from all teams feel they are hard done by, I was just pointing out its not all one way… not hard to understand is it..
anyways, thats the last from me on the subject…
@BokiNZ: the lions loss, we heard a lot about the waratah player taking the ball with a foot in touch, seems many thought that influenced the game? Im not enjoying the game, because I prefer to see a close contest rather than touch rugby… and before everyone goes its cause my teams losing, I support the blues
The Bulls’ defence is KAK!! IMO Gonna struggle when facing the real tough opposition who has good defence…
13 Mar 2010, 17:59 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: who said guthro was at full tilt?
he was in an offside position & just turned to follow the ball after the kick, he wasn’t running?
yeah bring on Pro Jehova and even out the playing fields then watch this game go through the roof eclipsing that Chiefs Lions basketball spectacle just the other day. Then Tacitus and co. can really lament as to wtf actually happened to good old structured Bully Bull Bull rugby
@skopskiet:
I’m sure the bulls are concerned withregards to their defence.
that’s why they are a good side. Always looking to do better the next week.
13 Mar 2010, 18:00 pm
But must say their attack isn’t bad
13 Mar 2010, 18:01 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: my thoughts exactly! Trans must have a hearing impedement, or is it selective hearing?
13 Mar 2010, 18:01 pm
Bulls are getting arrogant and falling asleep on defence. They’ve got to sort that out before they go on tour or the wheels might come off.
13 Mar 2010, 18:02 pm
@Transformation:
look, you can’t compare him to hurdles van den heerver, when discuss the phrase “at full tilt”,ok?
13 Mar 2010, 18:02 pm
Poppa – just yanking your chain. Hardly any game will ever have only correct calls.
13 Mar 2010, 18:03 pm
collapsing the maul….is there another way to defend it?
not really in my opinion.
13 Mar 2010, 18:04 pm
highlanders being nailed at the scrum
13 Mar 2010, 18:05 pm
crome dome Kaplan!
bulls bugger up their own good scrum,dof
13 Mar 2010, 18:06 pm
@stolen_nic: I know mate, I was stirring too…
13 Mar 2010, 18:07 pm
pace of the game is slowing down, that suits the highlanders.
dippenaar has not shown me much, can’t wait for jaco to get back
13 Mar 2010, 18:08 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: @stolen_nic: guys, i know that referees do this “coaching” in the interest of keeping the game flowing, but i’m saying, shouldn’t their prerogative be to give advantage the team that is infringing less? Or is it a matter of, pedantic calling will spoil the game…
13 Mar 2010, 18:08 pm
Looks like the tackle bags on the Highveld have gone missing. Bulls defence is rubbish.
13 Mar 2010, 18:09 pm
Transie- your last sentence is spot on
13 Mar 2010, 18:09 pm
come on BULLLLLLLLLLLLLSS do it for us that support teams that are not winning.
13 Mar 2010, 18:11 pm
@Transformation: i agree with you
bulls lacking hunger at the moment.
looks like the highlanders plan of letting the bulls get a great lead then slacking off is starting to work lmfao..
Highlanders are playing a good rugby
How come they are at the bottom?
13 Mar 2010, 18:12 pm
bit of ticker by the bulls on defence for a change.
No way Bulls win this competition with this kak defence, if Highlanders hadn’t dropped the ball with open try line ahead would have been 3 tries to 5 already
Hondo, looks can be deceiving….
13 Mar 2010, 18:13 pm
@poppa69: Second wind in T minus…
tackled in the air
can’t see how kaplan can be considered home town, that ball was blatantly held up in the tackle,should be turnover scrum.
13 Mar 2010, 18:15 pm
@skopskiet:
still dreaming of “if’s” and “buts”
13 Mar 2010, 18:16 pm
great pass
13 Mar 2010, 18:16 pm
@skopskiet: Well, they back themselves to score more pnts than the opposition. A good plan, one would think. Only thing is, they still to play the teams with the watertight defensive lines.
13 Mar 2010, 18:17 pm
Where are all those Bulls and others who mocked the Stormers – Highlanders scoreline now…
Having said that, come on Bulls! Hang in there!
111 poppa – its coming together!
@stolen_nic:
3rd try, no deception
They are a good side
Bulls got a lot to work on.
why did van den heerver come off his wing?
that is the problem with lot’s of greenhorns in the back division, not enough experience in defensive situation.
bulls need a wake up call quick
13 Mar 2010, 18:18 pm
@stolen_nic: OMFG !!!
haha
13 Mar 2010, 18:19 pm
silly play that, why didnt he kick it long?
get back to basics bully boys, kick for posts.
does this qualify for a basketball score?
ag dammit
ist penalty to the bulls in this half…
home town ref lmfao…
13 Mar 2010, 18:20 pm
old Tacitus really must be crying in his Jerepigo about now. Highlanders just scored again. His worst fears are coming to fruition Bulls have blown their bluster and shot their bolt way too early.
Cricket score rugby and now it could even get worse for Bully boys if they ain’t too careful they could get all undone here.
Highlanders playing with plenty gusto themselves not lying down and getting shafted for free.
highlanders driving in
@Brigadier Van Zyl: It’s in the bag. They need ball in hand is all.
13 Mar 2010, 18:21 pm
good try bulls
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
The Bulls miss J Nel and Frikki Walsh types, but Diepinaar, Watermayer and Brummer will get better at defence
Nice one Fourie – brilliant mini break. Good finishing from Hougaard.
13 Mar 2010, 18:22 pm
@BokiNZ:
I still favor a cautious approach, things change quickly in s14 rugby
silly silly play with the chip kick in his own 22… seriously dumbest play I have seen this year…
That should not have been a try. The penalty was spurious.
@skopskiet: You suffer from foot-in-mouth. Hougaard and Fourie just shoved your foot down your throat into your arse.
Nice one Bulls. Keep it up. Must win!
13 Mar 2010, 18:25 pm
Hougie Hougaard steals in again. Boy is becoming quite a white line sniffer in his own right of late.
Just now altitude kicks in then its cruise time for the Bully brigade. Highlanders ain’t gonna give it up too easy tho should go down kicking and fighting to the miserable death
13 Mar 2010, 18:26 pm
give the ball to flip, he knows how to take us forward
@skopskiet: You changing sides now?
@Michael:
don’t be so harsh on the former underprivileged
13 Mar 2010, 18:27 pm
game getting very scrappy
13 Mar 2010, 18:27 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: That guy the answer to my prayers. I was wondering where the nxt Bakkies was gonna come from…
13 Mar 2010, 18:28 pm
must say, if the highlander forwards had played like this in the first half the bulls may have been in trouble…
13 Mar 2010, 18:30 pm
@poppa69:
lol, and if the bulls played like this 1st half…..
lol Bladen cant tell one blond from another
bulls going wide to early to often, that’s not the way the bulls play, come on boys get it right.
13 Mar 2010, 18:31 pm
Bulls has lost interest it seems
13 Mar 2010, 18:31 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: credit where its due, Highlanders have taken the game to the bulls in the 2nd half, 7 all second spell…
13 Mar 2010, 18:32 pm
you’re a doos Michael boytjie
This is basketball rugby and the weakest Nz side to tour here giving Bully boys a run for their money beside their lowly status.
Meanwhile same Highlanders side couldn’t put one point on the board in 80 min against Stormers at sea level. Shows Bulls are all huff and puff but lacking in other areas which going to cost them when reality kicks in.
13 Mar 2010, 18:33 pm
bonus point, hmm that 7 points I talked about in the first half MAY just influence the game huh?
13 Mar 2010, 18:33 pm
ag,gawd another cricket game
13 Mar 2010, 18:34 pm
Dagg is a class, how come all the PIs made the ABs ahead of him?
13 Mar 2010, 18:35 pm
Yesssssss nice
13 Mar 2010, 18:35 pm
@poppa69:
come now, you know a side going 25 points up in 30 minutes inadvertably slacks off.
13 Mar 2010, 18:36 pm
surely that was offsides?
13 Mar 2010, 18:37 pm
better from the bulls
13 Mar 2010, 18:37 pm
israel dagg for man of the match!
13 Mar 2010, 18:38 pm
i am so glad this happened as a runaway victory against this team would have been bad for morale. This mucking around will keep our feet on the ground. Second half not clinical at all. Now theres too many substitues for them to revert to structure. Mal jakkie het hy gescore?
13 Mar 2010, 18:38 pm
@Hondo: #158 it’s the bloody quotas in the all blacks.
13 Mar 2010, 18:39 pm
HELD UP ??? he lost that … 4 SAs reffing, dodgy hahaha
13 Mar 2010, 18:39 pm
That should be Highlander ball. It was knocked on by the Bulls.
13 Mar 2010, 18:40 pm
That should not be a try.
13 Mar 2010, 18:40 pm
easy money when you go back to basics boys
13 Mar 2010, 18:41 pm
@skopskiet: And you’re all mouth, foot in mouth disease.
The Bulls are winning. It is good for SA rugby. The sad thing is that you cannot see beyond your petty, narrow-minded provincialism. Even sadder is that you feel the need to degenerate anything who disagrees with you on this board. You know what that is called? Small ***** syndrome.
Bulls have just scored again. Well done.
13 Mar 2010, 18:41 pm
14 points to the Bulls should not have been awarded today
13 Mar 2010, 18:42 pm
@timo: I can agree with that but the real problem is the backs going on record in saying that they’re not to fussed about their defense… they’re all-out attack! Stinky attitude and I think it shows!
13 Mar 2010, 18:42 pm
@Transformation:
Not an expert on a NZ rugby affairs but the guy is a head and shoulders above any other NZ back this year
13 Mar 2010, 18:43 pm
Bulls great on attack but need to work on defence to be complete.
@sglazer: Geez, you are sounding like a whinging Shark.
@sglazer:
who is the TMO?
another SA patriot?
israel dagg sheer class…bulls should buy him..
another laughably soft try
13 Mar 2010, 18:44 pm
@sglazer: Kry vir jou…
13 Mar 2010, 18:44 pm
@Michael:
13 Mar 2010, 18:45 pm
1 point game without the ANZAC reffing..
bulls definately need ndguane and pretorius back
Dagg=amazing
@sglazer:
The Highlanders have fought well and played better than any other team at Loftus to date. They will do well in the rest of the competition, imo.
I’m just wondering what the IRB and referee’s panel are really thinking. How do they accept the inaccurate results they dish out to their paying fans and players week-in week-out?
13 Mar 2010, 18:46 pm
Highlanders may be 4th from bottom but they now have as many points as the 3 teams below them combined
13 Mar 2010, 18:46 pm
Bulls are superb, who cares about defence when you scoring try after try after try against the otherside.
Bulls in a class of their own. Looks like they just have a warm up game there and havinga bit of fun.
Bulls has to be the best team in the tourney.
Go Bulls.
13 Mar 2010, 18:47 pm
With team appeals, the score would probably be Bulls 36 Highlanders 35
@Hondo: He is? Where was he lst week? Still in NZ? He has 1 realy good game out of 4 and now he’s sliced bread? Guess you’re one to over-react.
Very well done bulls great victory, congrats from this SHARKS supporter
Well done Bulls. Just too powerful for the Landers.
Will have to tighten their defence against the Canes. Then they know that and will do it.
They just looking pure class at the moment.
13 Mar 2010, 18:48 pm
Yeah but they NEED to work on defence before the semis. Famous last words..
well done Bulls… blitzed them in the first 20 to seal the result… next week a much sterner test for them..
@Treehugger: And congrats from this Sharks supporter too……..
13 Mar 2010, 18:50 pm
Spirited performance by Highlanders.Dodgy final try by
Spies as all the way the Bulls prop was supporting himself
with his hand on the ground,which once again begs the question
why on earth do we have assistant referees?
well thats 4 out of 4 but the sooner we forget about that game the better. The problem for the rest of the teams are that the bulls will get better and better as the season goes on. Now for the stormers please put those islanders away
@Puma: That’s BS and you know it! You’re not gonna win trophies with these kinda defensive lapses! They should fix it! NOW would be good!
And the Highlanders also end their grueling two week tour of “the Republic”
Congrats to the Bulls, they are going to need some chasing down
@sglazer:
shame did you have money on the highlanders?
@poppa69: Hello poppa. Yes it will be but think they will tighten their defence against the Canes.
Bulls sure looking the business though.
Okay back to the visitors. Hope you well Poppa. Cheers mate.
My heart is heavy again my Sharks so close but just too far.
13 Mar 2010, 18:51 pm
@gunther:
13 Mar 2010, 18:52 pm
@BokiNZ: You just have to laugh at Hondo man. Now its the PI’s pissing him off. Of courses they not white either so thats not really a surprise. The only problem for him is that Dagg is a maori as well.
13 Mar 2010, 18:53 pm
Hiho Puman
13 Mar 2010, 18:54 pm
@sglazer:
Appeal seemed the better option now
2 referees won’t work, too much down time for the broadcasters
13 Mar 2010, 18:54 pm
BokinNZ and Stolen_Nic – guess I was somewhat vindicated with my call in the first half huh?
well, hope the TMO is dealt with in the same way MArks was…
and as I seen on the Sharks thread earlier
correct score 36-35 Bulls..
lmfao..
13 Mar 2010, 18:55 pm
Yikes
mean Puma
@timo:
Tomorrow Lewis Hamilton will p$ss him off as well.
Fortunately for him Tiger is still on sabbatical.
@BokiNZ: Bulls looked like they were having a warm up game. Get real mate. Bulls are superb. Score try after try after try. So far ahead of the other team they not going to worry if the other team get some points gainst them. They not worried against this team tonight. Next week yes, they will have to tighten up their defence. They will do.
Really do not see any team beating them at Loftus. They could change their style of game and play it tight. They do that they will win it easy too at Loftus.
Bulls are the business right now and you know it. Don’t be unfair.
13 Mar 2010, 18:56 pm
@timo:
Maori and PI aren’t the same, try tell a Maori that he is a Polinesian,,,,
13 Mar 2010, 18:56 pm
@Puma: Hey Puma, Im good mate, hope you are too…yes your boys cant buy a win at the moment mate, they are showing heart and trying, just not clicking for them…
13 Mar 2010, 18:58 pm
get lost Michael pielletjie I’m not a Bulls supporter never have been and never will be. So what does that make me anti Sa. If so so be it. I’ll always support underdog’s if I don’t have a vested interest in the outcome, and far as I’m concerned Highlanders played with big spirit today in spite of all the hoopla hype surrounding this big bok Bulls outfit they should have creamed these guys outa sight but they didn’t, and Highlanders can leave Loftus heads held high.
I make sweet f.all apologies to none for not supporting these overrated Bulls and I ain’t about to start now. So suck it up any which way you like.
Bulls deserve credit for what they doing right, and there’s plenty of it, but where they’re weak no skin off my nose for telling you and anyone else including themselves so.
13 Mar 2010, 19:00 pm
@Hondo:
… he will only correct your spelling
@gunther:
Had it been 36-35 in the last quarter this Bulls side would probably have upped the ante
@poppa69: Yip, Poppa so close for my Sharks. It actually hurts more to lose by a few than by many.
How you doing mate? Hope well.
Cant blog too much have visitores. So just sneaking in here quick.
Bulls just look in control all the time though. Looking forward to next weeks game against the Canes and Bulls. I may even go to the game. In Joburg at the moment. Still think Bulls will be just too tough to beat at altitude. They are playing some good rugby. Defence needs to be worked on but they a class team they will work on that.
Okay now out of here. Cheers poppa.
13 Mar 2010, 19:01 pm
@Hondo:
This one small change would have a big impact on reliability of results
13 Mar 2010, 19:02 pm
@Robzim:
Hehehe
Woods recovers from a Vicodin doze, so his wife told the Cops last November according to the NY Daily News
13 Mar 2010, 19:02 pm
@Puma: cheers Puma, would be a great game to get to next week… game starting in a few minutes is the one Ive been looking forward to all weekend, should be a cracker… enjoy mate..
13 Mar 2010, 19:04 pm
@sglazer:
No doubt
But then staffing the TMO with reliable referees will put further financial strain on the system
13 Mar 2010, 19:06 pm
@Hondo:
The ice cold swedish blonde with the red hot temper
13 Mar 2010, 19:06 pm
@Hondo:
It’s a billion dollar sport. One of the administrators’ main responsibilities is to provide reliable results. They are so far off the mark, and have been for decades. It’s appalling.
13 Mar 2010, 19:07 pm
Skopskiet iposted yesterday that i hope ALL the SA teams win over the weekend but after reading the the utter SHITE that you post i hope the stormers get well and truly F####D as i take you support the second raters from newlands or is it called BOSWELL AND WILKIE NEWLANDS
13 Mar 2010, 19:12 pm
@Hondo:
And then we have egos strutting their stuff pretending what they’re doing will improve things (a la Andre Watson shaming Paul Marks) when it clearly won’t
13 Mar 2010, 19:14 pm
Who was the Man of the Match? My transmission was cut!
13 Mar 2010, 19:14 pm
@sglazer:
No doubt
But I watched last year a program showed his body grow compared to 2000 US Open when he beat Els at Pebble Beach, the guy’s muscles volume grew by nearly 40% since
13 Mar 2010, 19:15 pm
@GrayLion: Spies
13 Mar 2010, 19:17 pm
POINTS!!!!!! Fantasy team will go HUGH!
13 Mar 2010, 19:17 pm
As a BULLS fan i suould be delighted win another 50points scored and i am but it is the 35 against that i am annoyed about,as our defence looks like a swiss cheese at times full of holes and this has to stop leaking tries the way we do for when we go on the road the BULLS will not score 50points every game and games will be harder to win in OZ and NZ come BULLS get your act together or they could come unstuck over there.MEI BLOED IS BLOU.
13 Mar 2010, 19:19 pm
@sglazer:
We have to accept that it’s a pro sport and the sponsors call the shots.
I have to assume the referees are instructed to keep the game flowing,
13 Mar 2010, 19:23 pm
@sglazer:
Watson is a righteous Hippocratic, but he is the best they have
13 Mar 2010, 19:25 pm
SKOPSKIET i posted yesterday that i hope ALL the sa teams win over the weekend but after reading the utter SHITE that you post i hope the 2nd raters/stormers get well and truly F####D at newlands as i take you support them or shuold i say BOSWELL AND WILKIE NEWLANDS where the performing clowns play.
13 Mar 2010, 19:26 pm
@Hondo:
The IRB are the administrators. The sponsors rely on them to create a successful product.
Right now the product is quite badly flawed, notwithstanding the huge support. Most of the results are untrue. How bad is that? The product would be vastly improved with the right decisions in this area, and he sponsors would be happier, and willing to pay more.
The IRB is failing in a big way here. We need them to get their act together. The referees are unlikely to make the necessary changes. Their egos are dominating, even though they are hurting themselves with the excess power.
13 Mar 2010, 19:32 pm
@Hondo:
The true results but for the officiating errors are actually much closer. Because of the concentration of power in one official’s hands, bias towards one team is big.
In the truer reality, games would be more exciting, crowds bigger, sponsors willing to pay more.
13 Mar 2010, 19:37 pm
@sglazer:
Fully agree
But the time frame of 100-110 minutes for brodcasting has to be mmaintained, how exactly I am not too sure.
I feel sorry for Marks, that obstruction call against the Sharks line out was correct but marginal, he should have allowed the Sharks a chance to score,
13 Mar 2010, 19:50 pm
@Hondo:
I hear you. But broadcasters need quality product, and the more the better. They have a lot of time to fill. Improving reliability of results would increase interest in the sport, which would translate into more viewers. Everyone would win.
13 Mar 2010, 19:50 pm
Blueboy you really think I care a psychedelic hooha whether you shout for Stormers or not, think again, is absolutely bugger all skin off my nose whatsoever. Shout for whoever the fak you like and I’ll do the same thank you.
Stormers just scored second well worked try on the other side so hope you still crying about the 35 points your pansy’s conceded against the Nz whipping boys today. Yeah the same team we kept scoreless last week.
13 Mar 2010, 19:54 pm
Did the headline change again?
13 Mar 2010, 19:56 pm
@skopskiet: wait til they’re done
13 Mar 2010, 20:03 pm
tacits – how many 4 try bonus points have the bulls handed to Kiwi and Oz teams this year?
13 Mar 2010, 20:08 pm
@blueboy:
dont let one idiot spoil your good sportsmanship.
i support the stormers too and am ecstatic when the bulls beat foreign opposition! go all the SA teams. although I think we should disown the lions
bet they’re looking forward to playing the force and melbourne joining
14 Mar 2010, 00:06 am
bulls definately need to sort their defence out wide and general levels of concentration for 80 minutes.
I wonder if these issues are a result of having too much inexperience out wide and the general squad rotation theme of giving every player a turn.
i imagine this will continue for a few weeks longer before the bulls get some more of their players back and start settling on their best starting 15 before heading into the business end of the season.
14 Mar 2010, 00:17 am
@skopskiet: Skoppies, you carry on believing what you want. They were defferent games with different dynamics. Fact remains we are unbeaten and have maximum points thus far. How many bonus points did the Stormers get for keeping the Landers scoreless? We all know the answer to tahat one.
Funny thing is I can appreciate what your team achieved today and it was great. Why the need to slate us continuously?
14 Mar 2010, 02:30 am
Happy with the 50 points (again) but yeah, the defense needs to look at itself.
We need Jaco back at center because Dippenaar is really one of the weakest links, the two wings are also not holding their own.
Kuun must not start ahead of Steggman, he isn’t in the same class.
I’ll take this win, and my 4th bonus point in a row.
14 Mar 2010, 02:41 am
Also noticed the Bulls hardly did their strike runner routine, they were playing like the Chiefs.
14 Mar 2010, 05:02 am
Something disturbingly wrong with that SkopSkat character.
Well done Bulls, another win for the most successful provincial franchise in the world at the moment!
14 Mar 2010, 09:29 am
Bulls defense is gonna come haunt them in the next few weeks. That’s all I can say.
14 Mar 2010, 10:40 am
what I’d like to know is where are all these traditional rugby lovers now when Bulls are providing basketball rugby week in and week out. They were quick to slate Lions and Chiefs for dishing up a basketball feast few weeks back, yet Bulls been providing the same fanfare every outing.
Overall for and against scores Bulls got the biggest scoring rate but also one of the highest conceding rates too. What does this make them, Afl ramp models more like.
Also did you catch a load of some those Bully boy supporters in the Loftus stands, like the one with a beer boep large enough to give birth to a couple twin hippo’s and the other one with a bull ring through his snor beefed nose? Crickey f.ng Moses if I were a Bulls player I’d be far too embarrassed to call one of those specimens a fan, I’d sooner disown such characters as Bulls supporters than have them besmirching my holy evangelical rugby franchise with belly boeps the size of ten ton trucks.
14 Mar 2010, 11:10 am
@skopskiet:
And the supporters at Newlands in Hurricane jerseys?
14 Mar 2010, 12:05 pm
This was a poor and depleted Highlander side that came to the Highveld knowing they have not a hope in hell of beating a rampant Bulls team..!
14 Mar 2010, 12:41 pm
Yes that big rotund semi-naked bull fan was something. I remember Stansky commenting that if he fell over he would be like an insect on its back. Thought a turtle more apt myself.
14 Mar 2010, 12:44 pm
@RugbyRulz:
14 Mar 2010, 14:16 pm
In general the bulls are deviating to far from their structure to easily. DuPreez and Morne don’t have to go wide all the time. more collective contact work by the forwards and a little more crash ball. Go wide when it is absolutely on, most of those tries were conceded from positions when the Bulls were on attack. Losing the ball when trying to make a high risk pass or chip kick.
As it stands, the bulls are in the same sort of form as every season during the early stages of the S14. Only difference is that this season they have adopted a high risk approach compared with the previous low risk one. Generally we are lamenting their lack of an attacking game and praising their defence, this season it is the other way around.Expect everything to sort itself out as the competition get’s longer and the best match 22 starts to take shape.
14 Mar 2010, 14:33 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: I agree with your sentiments, but I believe the coaches have cottoned onto the fact bthat we have a major ally in the thin air of the Highveld vs the incoming teamsand have opted to deliberately play a high tempo. expansive high risk game to run the opposition ragged. The tight high impact game is ingrained in the team and they will revert to it when we go on tour, and when we go down to the Cape. But don’t you think it is a good thing to have both options available? Fear not. Let AC barf his lungs out in the media- it is a sign that he is worried already, and we can’t do anything about that. We will do our talking on the field as always.
All we have to do is end in one of the top two semi spotsto get a home semi. Next we have to win that, and then the rest is 80 minutes on the day of the final. But first let’s get there, then we can talk. In the mean time leave that to AC and the Stormers supporters to do for now. They seem to forget they have a tour ahead of them as well, so let’s just wait and see, like last year.
14 Mar 2010, 15:43 pm
AC must just shut up and let the players do the talking on the field then you’ll see the likes of Duvenhage and Grant teaching Du Preez and Steyn a thing or two about effective gain line domination.
Only area Bulls have slight advantage is at front row or rather at prop to be exact. Every other position Stormers more than adequately account for themselves and will have these overrated glory boys number.
14 Mar 2010, 16:48 pm
@skopskiet: You AC Skoppies? You certainly talk as much as him.
And doesn’t everything start in the front row? You know what Doc Craven said about tightheads and the golden line that constitutes the team’s backbone! Don’t break that backbone before their season propper even starts, with all the b*!!s%#t rhetoric you are so famous for. Let’s just agree to disagree- for their sake!
14 Mar 2010, 17:02 pm
Stormers are playing 2008 Bulls brand rugby. Bulls have moved on and are re-inventing themselves.
14 Mar 2010, 17:15 pm
@skopskiet:
overrated?
reigning s14 and cc champions?
…it was all a fluke,right.
only overrated are the stormers and wp.
won good ol fcking zilch in 10 years.
so how about that mr,smarty pants?
14 Mar 2010, 17:41 pm
yet another brilliant performance, gaan Bulle!!!!
14 Mar 2010, 17:48 pm
if there is no racist quota bullshite G VD Heever should make the bok run on side for 2011.
14 Mar 2010, 18:23 pm
G Van den Heever is like a hare caught in the headlights most times. How many tries this famous Bully Boy backline conceded already. Between Fdp, Steyn, Olivier, Dippenaar, Van den Heever, Hougaard and Kirchner how many tries Bulls let waltz by already, please enlighten me one more time? What is it 15 or something stupid?
Whilst Duvenhage-Januarie, Grant, De Jongh, Fourie, Habana, Nakalevuki-Aplon, Pietersen have let in 4 or 5 in same amount of games, in fact one game less due to Bulls bye last week.
Much rather have a tough no compromise wing like Mapoe covering that channel than another softy pale face like Van den Heever making up the numbers, even if he can run the 100 in 10.5 sec or less, don’t make him not a defensive liability, which he is, along with his other overrated Bully boy backs.
14 Mar 2010, 19:03 pm
@skopskiet: And how many tries have the Stormers backline scored through full on backline movements involving 3 or more of them? Check the log mate. I ask you again Skoppie: Who p!ssed on your parade to get you into that quagmire you are struggling in? … No one ever tell you that the more you struggle, the more you get sucked in? Leave those derogatory adjectives and adverbs out of it, and just be your likeable self again. There was a time I could relate to you, but I don’t enjoy being around bitterness and prejudice.
14 Mar 2010, 19:08 pm
Bulls can thank the Stormers for softening up both the Highlanders and ‘Canes on their way to Loftus
14 Mar 2010, 22:31 pm
@Storm outta hell:
bulls softed the brumbies up nicely for the stormers to the tune of a 50 odd pointer…and the stormers managed to fck it up.
14 Mar 2010, 22:33 pm
Jet shoes.
15 Mar 2010, 03:46 am
I disagree about the Bulls having a better fronrow than the Stormers. Stormers will stand their ground againts any team in the comp.Bulls backline is going to struggle this coming weekend. Its between Houghaard and Rose for worst defender in the S14 2010…Houghaard does his best to stay away from contact. Good with ball in hand though. But as soon as they play a side who defends well the Bulls will struggle. Dont be surprised if more of the Bulls senior players leave the ship in the coming months-mark my words.BTW what’s up with all the weird hair styles at the Bulls at the moment??? They used to be the one side you could bank on won’t look as silly as some of the Australasion sides(we always made fun of all the red necks in Aus/NZ)-now the Bulls look the worst…how things have changed behind the boerewors gorduin…heard Naas say the other day that some of the Bulls youngsters look “swak”.