Cape side closer to clinical
13 Mar 2010
The Stormers’ attack has improved but Allister Coetzee says his team is yet to play to its potential.
It’s a big statement to make following a five-try, 37-13 thumping of the Hurricanes. Coetzee is right to say the Stormers improved, as they barely managed a bonus-point win against the Highlanders last week. To beat the Canes is an achievement, but to do better that a bonus-point victory over one of Super Rugby’s traditional giants, well, does it get any better than that?
Coetzee was far from arrogant following Saturday’s convincing performance. He underlined the importance of the Stormers’ defence, as they kept the Hurricanes tryless until the 68th minute. The attack was also praised, even though Coetzee admitted the Stormers missed out on a few opportunities.
‘I’m pretty pleased that we’ve been improving every week, that is important. We’ve maintained our big defensive effort, but we’ve taken more risks on attack. We’re getting there,’ he told keo.co.za.
‘We’re creating a lot of opportunities and it’s true we could have scored even more tries on this occasion. But what’s good is that we’re converting more chances than we have before. We’re respecting the ball upfront, and then we’re having a go, but still keeping the ball through the phases.
‘Defence wins you big competitions, and it’s a good place to start. We got that right earlier and have shifted our focus to attack, and we are slowly getting to where we want to be.’
There wasn’t a player in the starting line-up who didn’t deserve plaudits following the famous victory. Schalk Burger led a fantastic physical assault against a team renowned for the rough stuff, while backline stars included Jaque Fourie and the ever-improving Juan de Jongh.
Sireli Naqelevuki collected the Man of the Match award for his efforts. The Fijian was a late replacement for Gio Aplon in the Highlanders match, and he took his opportunity on that occasion. He followed that up with an outstanding showing against the Canes, and seems to have reclaimed his starting spot for the time being.
It’s quite a comeback after a mediocre Currie Cup campaign that ended in the ultimate anticlimax. Naqelevuki’s high-tackle in the dying minutes led to the penalty which cost Western Province a win in the 2009 semi-final.
‘We retained Sireli and backed him through the bad times, and we knew he just needed some confidence to produce,’ said Coetzee. ‘He’s a world-class player and we appreciate his strengths and what he brings to the team.’
The Stormers sit in second place behind the Bulls, who recorded another 50 points in Saturday’s win over the Highlanders. While the Stormers aren’t racking up 50-plus scores, they are managing to keep the opposition out of their end zone.
‘They won comfortably, but I don’t know if you could say it was impressive,’ said Coetzee in reference to the 35 points conceded by the Bulls at Loftus. ‘On the other hand, they have their own philosophy. They’re looking to attack more.
‘Ultimately, it’s not about the points difference, it’s about the win. We’re not thinking about bonus points and 50-point scores, we’re focused on winning.’
By Jon Cardinelli

251 Comments
13 Mar 2010, 23:13 pm
Go Stormers!! If you hadn’t lost to the useless Brumbies then MAYBE I would be getting hopefull!!
13 Mar 2010, 23:16 pm
@The Analyst: Its early days for this team and I am sure that they have learnt a lot from that lost!
13 Mar 2010, 23:26 pm
neh… barely managed what ev, they got 5 tries, as long as they did it, can’t complain… the Bulls defence has been MIA… how about a story on that
“To beat the Canes is an achievement, but to do better that a bonus-point victory over one of Super Rugby’s traditional giants, well, does it get any better than that?” … yes, beating the Bulls, and with the Bulls lack of defence and the Stormers amazing defence, they just might… watch out Bully Boys… there’s a Storm rising
13 Mar 2010, 23:54 pm
“Clinical”? So, they’ll take the field wearing scrubs and brandishing scalpels and squirt-bottles of surgical iodine?
Jeez, bro! That tragic old “clinical” metaphor is soooo last-century!
Pension it off, along with “taking lots of positives”.
Invent a new cliche. Make yourself into a hero.
14 Mar 2010, 00:13 am
@TheTackler: so you see Tackles, “clinical” is not going anywhere?
“taking positives” is just a rookie in the big scheme of cliches…
14 Mar 2010, 00:15 am
@TheTackler: what happened to all the polynesian tackling from the Wellyboot caned today TheTackler?
14 Mar 2010, 00:15 am
yes yes, please allister….more of this “I don’t know if it was impressive” stuff about the Bulls.
that’ll see the Bulls improve in leaps and bounds.
14 Mar 2010, 00:26 am
So laat ek dit reguit kry: The Bulls have played one game less, but still they are on top of the log. That sound impressive to me. Baie impressive.
14 Mar 2010, 00:46 am
@thetackler: “clinical” means you’ve gotta put the big hits in and not tackle like girls blouses like those Bulls up north who leak in average 3 tries a match.
14 Mar 2010, 01:16 am
Good work fella, Stormers played good rugby today.
14 Mar 2010, 01:16 am
No ranting about Grant?
14 Mar 2010, 01:18 am
But also scores ontrent altyd 50 points per wedstryd.
14 Mar 2010, 01:27 am
I noticed that the Stormers backline attacks from far behind the gainline. Most times either the first receiver or second receiver seems to be 15-20m behind the ruck.
Of course this gives them more time to attack but it also gives the defence more time to spread out and get organized.
Also Habana seems over anxious to do well, he needs to relax a bit.
A good performance by the Stormers in any case, with some room for improvement. Soft tries scored against them, one from a forward pass.
Hopefully there won’t be a players strike if they reach the knockout stage this year!
14 Mar 2010, 01:28 am
Maak soos ‘n blou lig!
14 Mar 2010, 01:45 am
I thought Burger had one of his best games in a long time, good for the boks. Duvenage impressed me, was crisp and cleaned up a few difficult loose balls. Sereli doing what he was paid to do again finally, sorry for Cory. Bekker is playing like a demon this year and Fourie finally got his **** together. Great performance from the Stormers, that drive was just classic!
Dont think the real canes pitched up, but you only play as well as you are allowed to.
14 Mar 2010, 02:23 am
@Big Hit: They failed to make their tackles, and when that happens you lose.
14 Mar 2010, 02:24 am
Look at the top 4 guys,
Bulls 4 4 0 0 4 20
Stormers 5 4 0 1 3 19
Crusaders 5 4 0 1 2 18
Chiefs 5 3 0 2 4 16
Simply blessed.
Lets also keep in mind that the Bulls have a game in hand.
14 Mar 2010, 02:38 am
Finally Naqelevuki has increased his work rate. Well done, fantastic team effort.
Great pressure on Walssssssshhhhh. Good managment of the ref.
Joe has to be Springbok contention. De Jongh is really starting to show good skill. Vermeulen had a big one today.
Janaurie is clearly not up to it. 4 mistakes in his short time on the field. Time to think of another scrummie.
New tactic: pulling the legs of the opposition when he is contesting the ball so he falls on his knees so he has to release. From an off side position nogal.
14 Mar 2010, 02:39 am
Only just seen that try Kankowski scored against the Waratahs last week. Jeez he left Mitchell for dead! Makes me think he’d do well on the wing, much more pace than Ndungane.
14 Mar 2010, 02:42 am
Wait till you see the deliberate foul…missed Marksdoos!
14 Mar 2010, 03:08 am
@KevinRack: Yeh I saw that. Really bad Beale was allowed to get away with it. Marks seemed too weak to make the right decision. Anyway there’s no point going back on what’s in the past.
14 Mar 2010, 03:20 am
@TheTackler: “Invent a new cliche. Make yourself into a hero.”
Good advice. You should consider taking it. Though the second part is probably beyond your ability.
14 Mar 2010, 04:34 am
I’m already a hero.
No point in cloning, hey?
14 Mar 2010, 04:58 am
Amazing the turnaround in this team with Watson gone and Burger and Duvenage at the helm, not to mention the bst 13 in the business!
Aren’t those wanabee Kiwi Klonkies a larf a minute!
14 Mar 2010, 05:00 am
Rassie Erasmus, you’re a genius!
14 Mar 2010, 05:19 am
@KZN King Shark:the sharks will not win a games in the near future if their focus is on referees rather than executing their moves properly.
@Aus_Rebel: mossie is hardly playing like the “best 13 in the world”.
14 Mar 2010, 05:55 am
@Transformation:
Ugh, yeah actually he is the best. Is there anything worse than denying a player of their talent?
14 Mar 2010, 07:48 am
@Transformation: I’m going to have to force you to re- watch every Stormers match this season in slow motion.
Who’s organising the Stormers backiline defence? Jaque Fourie is just one who sees to it that the Stormers have only let in 4 tries all season. Whereas the Bulls have let in 15 tries already.
Defence is going to win this year’s Super 14.
Besides scoring himself Mossie had a hand in 2 of the other tries as well.
14 Mar 2010, 08:42 am
@Aus_Rebel: WTC has Rassie got to do with whats going on now?
only after his demotion have things started to come right
shows how undervalued AC was in Bok setup
this oke knows his story
14 Mar 2010, 08:46 am
Great game by the stormers, pity about the loss of concentration at the end to let in that last try, the canes first try was a forward pass which was quite clear when they showed the replay on tv. Although I thought Walsh had a good game with the whistle.
The most important thing now is for the stormers to stay humble, there’s still a long way to go.
Brok Harris had a hard day at the office although his open play was impressive.
Peter Grant had a great game, I am in agreement with Skop, there’s no need for de Waal to return to the team now, especially with Petersen kicking at posts, hopefully our key players will stay injury free for the whole campaign, then we could be contenders.
14 Mar 2010, 08:52 am
@TheTackler: If you read the articles on the Kiwi sites and Aussie sites their coaches and press use the term CLINICAL. The bulls captain also talks about being “Klinies” so why must Allister use a different term. He is not the only person who uses it and will also not be the only person – during the season a few people will use the term Clinical. Imo the Bulls have not been clinical in one match because they let in way to many tries.
14 Mar 2010, 08:56 am
@Quagmire: Luckily Andy Marinos is now working for SA Rugby and not with the Stormers
14 Mar 2010, 08:57 am
@I am a stormer: @Kobus Kitty: yeah right, the stormers were defending excellently without mossie, to now attribute all this defensive prowess to him is laughable…he has been useless as up to now, in last week’s game he nowhere on the pitch…
14 Mar 2010, 09:04 am
And what about Joe Pietersen?
The guy has hardly put a foot wrong and keeps on playing like a star every week.
As for Habana, someone please tell him to relax a bit, he doesn’t need to score all the stormers points alone, at least that’s the impression you get when you see him on the field nowadays. A more relaxed and less frenetic approach might yield more opportunities for him.
14 Mar 2010, 09:10 am
Then finally, in this article JC slips in the statement from Coetzee that he didn’t think the bulls were impressive. This was obviously Coetzee’s response to a leading question that he was asked about the bulls performance. A little bit of fuel for the stormers/bulls rivalry and bound to elicit an indignant response from those partisan fellows behind the boerie curtain up north and the reslultant extra hits on this website.
14 Mar 2010, 09:13 am
@Transformation: Jeez bru, did JF do something to you? He had a fantastic game yesterday and has been great in all the games this season, if you cannot see that then you need to take off the blinkers.
14 Mar 2010, 09:17 am
@TheTackler: You profess to know so much about rugby but talk so much ****! You sound like a wannabe.
14 Mar 2010, 09:18 am
Well done Stormers – dit was klinies!!! Fourie is worth every cent paid.
14 Mar 2010, 09:21 am
@Bill Reyts: Morning Bill – no we were not that clinical yet – we only let in 2 tries whereas the bulls were more clinical by letting in 5 tries
14 Mar 2010, 09:23 am
@Bill Reyts:
Don’t worry bru. I was sittng with a drunk Kiwi last night watching the Bulls game..I can tell you..they don’t like losing. The hairy eyeballs I got throughout the game was something to behold and I’m not even a Bulls fan.
The excuses I got for their hiding was something about there not being any money in Otago…whatever.
14 Mar 2010, 09:26 am
Andries Bekker deserved the MoM award. He has really lifted his game this season and is the best lock in the super 14 at the moment. Size, skills, pace and workrate all outstanding.
14 Mar 2010, 09:27 am
Well done Brokeback mountain goats and its supporters must say it was a professional performance. I as a bulls supporter look forward to play your team. As for the alledged Bulls defence vulnerability I think wait until we have a tight game and then judge. I just think the bulls boys are having fun and enjoying their rugby. I must say to all the guys that supported Watson watch your team now it is a team playing together for each other, Watson was your poison and you should never take him back. Also the guys doubting Skulks captaincy ability I am really waiting for the humble pie to be eaten, he is a very good captain and his results are prooving it.
14 Mar 2010, 09:29 am
Howzit stan!
14 Mar 2010, 09:33 am
@Airwell: It puzzles me why you always call the Stormers brokeback mountain goats because as far as I know Dewald Porgieter looked for like a brokeback special in yesterdays game. Sunnyside in Pretoria will give Sea Point a go for its money in the brokeback mountain stakes. Yes the Stormers have the mountain but the Bulls have more glamour boys worrying about hairstyles than any other rugby side in the Super14. Meisiekind spends more money on her highlights during a season and then you have Dewald who has gone so blonde I don’t think his own mother would recognise him
14 Mar 2010, 09:36 am
Fourie had a very good game yesterday – it was obviously only a matter of time before a player of his class would find form again – imo he could just as well have been the MoM (not that I take anything away from Sireli’s great effort)
Re his contribution to the team and it’s defence etc – the players will know the best and Juan is raving about the input and mentoring that Jaque provides……..that should provide the answer.
Re Alister’s comments about the Bulls – it is probably fair comment as it is tough to judge them while they score AND leak tries like never before – it is a bit confusing to say the least, I am not fully convinced that Wynand Olivier etc have all of a sudden become world beaters who will rip the defences of each and every team to pieces. Or maybe they have? Lets wait and see…
14 Mar 2010, 09:37 am
@Green Goblin: Sorry that the name offends but I can take as good as I give. You can call me ******** etc. etc. I dont care that is rugby banter boet.
Just look at the man of the match aqeds between the two games and you can see. At Roftus you have a hot chick giving Spies the award and at Newlands? Go check the tape.
14 Mar 2010, 09:38 am
@Green Goblin: Sorry that the name offends but I can take as good as I give. You can call me Dutc*man etc. etc. I dont care that is rugby banter boet.
Just look at the man of the match aqeds between the two games and you can see. At Roftus you have a hot chick giving Spies the award and at Newlands? Go check the tape.
14 Mar 2010, 09:41 am
@Karen: Good morning Karen. Not getting too carried away yet, but it was a good win.
14 Mar 2010, 09:42 am
@Airwell: Your point?
14 Mar 2010, 09:42 am
@Robzim: Mossie is the difference in the defence at Newlands and he is playing well. He is a world class player. As for the Bulls defence I refer to my previous comment and I think you guys are hoping that we have a vulnerability there. In the same way we are suddenly scoring tries we have to proove over the comp that we are the best attacking provincial side in the world we dont suddenly become a bad defensive side because one of our world class players gets poached.
14 Mar 2010, 09:43 am
@Airwell: Seems like you trying to hide something. Do you have to prove your manhood at Moftus?
14 Mar 2010, 09:43 am
@Bill Reyts: Same here but as long as the team can keep the momentum they can build every game
14 Mar 2010, 09:45 am
@Airwell: Your defense opened like the red sea mate. Weak tackling from 11, 13 and 14.
14 Mar 2010, 09:46 am
@Bill Reyts: My point I support the goats against any overseas opposition and I hope they end number 2 on the log. But I will still rip them off because I can.
@Karen: Did you go to the game?
@Airwell: Oh ok!
14 Mar 2010, 09:47 am
Whoever the cameraman was at Moftus, he quite clearly was not a Bulls supporter.
I saw women in that crowd that would make a vulture puke.
@Bill Reyts: Agreed but the also lost there structure I think the game was to easy for them imo. Or I hope so.
@Airwell: A person only attacks his threats – we feel honoured!
14 Mar 2010, 09:48 am
@Predawn:
@Predawn: At least we get lots of woman at the games
@Bill Reyts: Yes I did
@Airwell: I cannot help we have no standards
14 Mar 2010, 09:49 am
@Airwell: What type of woman? There is a difference.
14 Mar 2010, 09:50 am
@Karen: Lucky fish!!!
@Airwell:
The turnaround came last year already when Luke took over the captaincy during the last few weeks of the Super 14 and during the CC. Schalk is just continuing with the work that he has done although he will never be in the same league as Luke as a captain.
Remember that the WP players voted Luke as Player of the year – the cancer story only exists in the minds of some people since JS published that rubbish. Mind you, JS has his own problems now, so I should perhaps give him some slack.
@Bill Reyts: Do you have a competitive well captained team for once in a long time and they will only get better with experience.
14 Mar 2010, 09:52 am
@Robzim: Agree!!!
14 Mar 2010, 09:52 am
@Robzim: Lets agree to disagree. As far as I am concerned players like Habanero and Mossie would never have gone to the Stormers if Puke was still there. I rate Skulk as a very good captain.
14 Mar 2010, 09:53 am
@Bill Reyts: Was an awesome game and the fact that there was over 44000 people made the vibe even better
14 Mar 2010, 09:53 am
@Airwell: I don’t run down SA teams mate! The Bulls are a great team and for SA to be successful in 2011 World Cup we need strong teams. Hope the Sharks come right quickly.
14 Mar 2010, 09:54 am
@Karen: I sense the same vibes as the 80′s. Bodes well!!!
14 Mar 2010, 09:56 am
@Bill Reyts: I agree but we can still banter with each other and also suport each others team. Even the kitty kats I support to my eternal frustration
14 Mar 2010, 09:56 am
Cheers Karen – speak soon. Wife calleth
14 Mar 2010, 09:57 am
Every week The Bulls fans want to tell us how THIS week you will be tested… So now we beat the Canes and no congrats…
That’s fine… I realize you live in a world of bulls are the best, but here are some facts:
1. The bulls played every game thus far with only bulls refs (Yes every ref in SA is pro bulls)
2. That defense is worrying ,no matter how much you wanna disguise it with how many points you have scored.
3. Wait for the traveling with refs like Paul marks… we will see the real colors then.
I openly say I don’t support the bulls… cause lets face it… the are not many Bulls fans happy this morning about the Stormers performance last night.
14 Mar 2010, 09:57 am
@Bill Reyts: Well the problem with SA is that everyone is so provincialistic it is not even funny anymore. Nobody gives the Stormers credit when they perform but expect everyone to worship the ground that the bulls walk on. They forget that a few seasons ago they we the wooden spoons of the S12. I don’t even bother getting into a slagging match with their supporters because it is like trying to argue with Malema and company – they see the world through blue coloured specs and nobody outside there blue world exists. The bulls have a good side and nobody argues against it but their supporters need to realise that their team has not got the pedigree of the Crusaders yet
14 Mar 2010, 09:58 am
@Bill Reyts: Cheers Bill. The boss has spoken roflmao.
14 Mar 2010, 10:04 am
Another thing:
The stormers supporters should not settle for only two wins on tour…. we need to win everything from here. Lets face it: The more you win the more the perception from the media, coaches, refs etc that your team should not lose the next weekend.
So if the stormers are playing on fire to reach the semis, I say WTF!!?? They should be playing to reach a Home Final.
14 Mar 2010, 10:05 am
@Provvas: @Karen: I support the Goats against any overseas team end of story. I think the provincialism comes from guys like provvas and Tactius etc. It is not good for Bok rugby and I do believe we have the pedigree of the Crusaders and we will get better and better and that is why the Boks are so good at the Mo cause guys like Matfield Bakkies Spies Fourie and Steyn are best or near best in their positions in the world. Results will proove this one way or another. Guys like you are making suppositions of untested events.
14 Mar 2010, 10:11 am
@Green Goblin: These idiots always have to somehow affirm their macho image and if they point fingers accusing someone else of being *** then they think it deflects away from their own closet desires to hang out in Sunnyside, but we know all about “those that doth protest too much” now!!
14 Mar 2010, 10:12 am
@modawg: Thanks Boet from the Resident Idiot well said d*$s.
14 Mar 2010, 10:18 am
Are we touching a raw nerve there dutchie?
14 Mar 2010, 10:20 am
@modawg: Lol it just boggles the mind that people can generalise on this site. Sure CT has **** but so does every city in SA and Sydney is the *** parasdise as well. Nobody calls the Waratahs the brokeback boys of Oz. It is actually hilarious to see so-called fully grown men ***** at each other like a cat fight between Angelina Jolie and Jen Arnison – very amusing from a females perspective and highly entertaining
14 Mar 2010, 10:21 am
I called you dutchie you see, because I know you find it offensive, but then on the other hand you keep on referring to the stormers folk as breakback mountain goats, which we also find offensive, so there you have it you moron, go and play with your sunnyside poeftas and leave us out of it.
14 Mar 2010, 10:22 am
Ok so now we have do@s, idiot, dutchie, Boet and the list goes on
14 Mar 2010, 10:23 am
Ok girls I mean guys I am out of here – this ***** fight is getting way to hectic me. Enjoy the Sunday
14 Mar 2010, 10:25 am
@modawg: I dont care what you call me. Point is I as a Bulls supporter will support your team against any overseas opposition as I believe it is good for Bok rugby to have many strong franchises. If you are over sensitive I understand that is why you are a Brokeback mounain goat supporter
14 Mar 2010, 10:27 am
@Karen: You said it Karen a ***** against a man
14 Mar 2010, 10:44 am
@Transformation:
Shame. I bet you want a Bobo – de Jongh combination, wouldn’t you? Haha, its absolutely disgusting that someone would think like that, you just want that color, hey my boy? Or maybe the Stormers should buy Adi Jacobs, that’d be super!
14 Mar 2010, 11:00 am
@MODAWAG: Have you lost your tongue or what? Did Mossie steal your girlfriend.
14 Mar 2010, 11:01 am
@modawag : sorry man – that was aimed at Transformation – he’s been far too quiet
14 Mar 2010, 11:09 am
@Transformation: wait till you see Jean de Villiers blonde highlights in the Currie Cup later this year.
Juan de Jongh is good but not great – still to serve his apprenticeship.
14 Mar 2010, 11:26 am
@Papoose:
FYI
Rassie has not been demoted! As director of rugby he is doing his job just perfectly. He is responsible for player sourcing and development and the playing tactics of the Stormers. His recognizing AC’s outstanding man management skills and appointing him coach of the Stormers with Fleck and Proudfoot as assistant coaches to implement the tactics was a stroke of genius.
In other words Rassie is still very much pulling the strings.
14 Mar 2010, 12:11 pm
@Airwell: Airwell, I’m sorry to do this to you and to shatter your delusion, but you can stick your condescending support of the stormers where the sun don’t shine, coz it means ****. You come here on a stormers thread and start shouting your mouth off like some julius malema idiot calling people names and then you bestow upon us your so called support of all other SA teams, you call it banter, but when someone banters back, you can’t take it??
It’s all about respect and you lost it with your first post here this morning, so go play in the traffic, in Sunnyside and don’t do us any favours.
The trouble with a lot of the bulls supporters here on this site is that as soon as their team starts doing well then they think they are somehow endowed with this superior knowledge and opinion on the game of rugby.
14 Mar 2010, 12:15 pm
@modawg: You can call me and my team what you want and can take far more than you can throw my way. Fact remains I will support your goats against any overseas team and hope they come second on the log.
14 Mar 2010, 12:18 pm
@ARK: Rassie is Koning…without all the media exposure and hassles he is quietly getting the job done that he was hired for in the 1st place
I’m so happy..!!
14 Mar 2010, 12:18 pm
@Robzim: I also appreciate your opinions on here, but i can’t fathom your defense of a racist bigot.
It is not OK for anyone to demean anybody else, even if they are Afrikaners.
This selective prejudice is a cancer eating at our society. Luke Watson has not apologized or denied his ‘Dutchmen’ comments and I’ll class him alongside people like Andre Markgraaf and Judge Tom Motata.
14 Mar 2010, 12:23 pm
@allamapstieks: @Storm outta hell: My question is in your opinions would Mossie or Habanero have signed for the Goats if Puke was still there?
14 Mar 2010, 12:32 pm
@Airwell: Hard to say..most of the reasons they left had nothin’ do do with Puke at all,but they may certainly have entertained the thought of playing with him as captain..or not..
14 Mar 2010, 12:46 pm
I recon Bekker could easy Captain the Stormers if Scalla wasn’t able to captain.
I think Bekker might captain the Stormers in the next year or two and might be in line for a Bok Captaincy (most likely vice) in once Vic departs. He is currently playing better rugby than ‘ol Vic
14 Mar 2010, 12:50 pm
@brains_trust: Yah.bekker is great,but captaincy has lit a fire under Schalla,he will reclaim his no6 bok jersey and go onto greater things… Vic should surely take Bok captaincy the way things stand imo..
14 Mar 2010, 12:52 pm
@Storm outta hell: yeah – I wish old JS will retire gracefully like George Smith just has..
BUT… JS has just signed a 2 year contract extension with the boks.. plain to see the plan
14 Mar 2010, 12:53 pm
@brains_trust: Like against the Brumbies? He needs to go aways before he is captain material imo. Agree hes playing good rugby at the Mo but Vic played well yesterday
14 Mar 2010, 12:55 pm
@brains_trust: He needs to lose his fat@ss and start at hooker…the only way we will see a revival,and the only chance we have of retaining the WC imo..
14 Mar 2010, 13:01 pm
@I am a stormer: @Kobus Kitty: hey girls, no need to get your panties in a bunch. Jaque Fourie is a great Springbok centre but hasn’t performed at his best for the Stormers. That is not criticism, that is pointing out the obvious.
The hilarious part is that you chicks jump to make racial insinuations, he he he ans everyone thinks julius malema has monopoly on utter stupidity.
14 Mar 2010, 13:02 pm
@Storm outta hell:
the thing is to dominate you need a couple of hard nuts in the pack. Bakkies and Bis do the cracking for the boks..
Scalla and Vermeulen enforce for the Stormers, watch Vermeulen closely next week, he is a hard player who gets through huge amounts of work. (not a like Kanko who does nothing at all) I watch Kanko this weekend, he did not hit any rucks, drifts in defence avoiding contact areas…. terrible
14 Mar 2010, 13:14 pm
@brains_trust: Yep…Duane is getting better and better…Kanko belongs on the wing but he’s too pale imo..
14 Mar 2010, 13:54 pm
@Green Goblin: Register on Facebook as one of Potties friends, if he’ll have you, and check out his primary school photos. He was even more blonde then than now so whats your point? It’s his right to wear his hair as he chooses, just like Joe Pietersen or Schalla. Why scratch where it doen’t itch or is it on your moonshine “BLES”?
FYI, I reckon he broke a couple of backs with his tackles yesterday. I promise you he is every bit as hard as Duanne, so since when is it a sin to be more blonde than the next oke? You know what happens to a blonde guy who spends a lot of time in the sun. Yes, you guess right- he gets more blonde as the sun bleaches his hair, so I guess Potties has just been putting in the hours on the practice pitch in the unforgiving Highveld sun as was obvious yesterday. Nothing wrong with that, either!
14 Mar 2010, 15:09 pm
Springbok line-up will include js – not entirely his fault the sharks arent firing – for starters how can anyone be blamed for the diabolical refereeing down under??? Why we are still entertaining Australia and New Zealand is a major mystery – lets head North – we will at the very least get fair refereeing and unbiased commentary. Guys like Phil Kearns and co can then head back to the Jerry Springer show where they generally seem to belong. You think you dont like us Jaapies Aus and NZ – guess what we have got less than f..all time for you absolute pr.cks. Cant wait to see the Boks drill you in the tri-nations – which will undoubtedly happen if we can just get some honest and neutral refs.
14 Mar 2010, 15:19 pm
@Mountainsausage: Easy Tiger. There is no way we can blame the Referees for the Sharks woes. That is embarrassing. Sharks are disjointed, unbalanced, ill disciplined and just plain KAK.
What did those Aussies and Kiwis do to you?
I used to think heading North was a good idea, but after watching Guinness Premiership and 6 Nations this season. GEEZ……..No thank you. It is absolutely shocking…Really really KAK. Compare that to Bull v Waratahs and Chiefs v Crusaders games recently, and the Boks v AB’s. Not even the same sport. You want BOKS to go play Italy, Scotland and England. That’s when I start watching Soccer and Darts.
14 Mar 2010, 15:49 pm
it is
clear
modawg
doesnt like
being a
brokeback goat
maybe a
brokeback
dawg
suits him
better
14 Mar 2010, 15:50 pm
@Toddke:
Haha…..fair enough, Bulls Warathas etc were great games – any coincidence they took place on a level playing field? I live in the channel islands and have to endure the commentary on sky which is probably the cause of my angst – hopefully you dont have to live with Kearns/Mexted and co every weekend. To call them biased is very much an understatement. I agree the Sharks arent playing that well but they should have won the game v waratahs – to hear p kearns say “fair play” wrt the intentional knock-on was probably the most ott statement Ive ever heard – he actually then went on to applaud it – can you imagine the outcry if the roles had been reversed? Heading North is not the answer I suppose but our arrogant antipodean counterparts can irritate the sh.t out of you at the best of times. Cant wait for the tri-nations…
14 Mar 2010, 16:17 pm
@Mountainsausage: dude, Bob Skinstad & Matthew Pierce even out the stakes, those guys are insufferable. And you can add Andy “the Sharks have the best rugby academy in the country” Capostagno to that list.
14 Mar 2010, 16:33 pm
@TRANSFORMATION:
Never really understood the reason behind Capistango being a rugby commentator in the first place – did he ever actually play the game? Bob Skinstad cant be that bad surely – I’d rather listen to him than the Aussie/Kiwis any day of the week..
14 Mar 2010, 16:53 pm
@Mountainsausage: No Mountainsausage, can’t agree with you there. I actually like the Australian commentators. Never sound like they take themselves too seriously and they often disagree with reffing decisions – even the ones that go for their teams. And they MAKE JOKES!!! It’s entertaining and it sounds like they at least have brains.
Our local commentators are just boring. Skinstad “I’m sure I’ll get into trouble for this but I disagree with the ref” doesn’t do it for me. I’m a Stormers supporter, but his total adoration for every player and every member of the Stormers management team is just embarrassing.
Joel Stransky tries his very best to agree with every decision that goes against us and for ANZAC. Naas knows more than ANYONE about EVERYTHING, and thank **** “Traaitahm” Brosnihan seems to have been relegated to the Varsity Cup.
Best of our commentators I suppose is Hugh Bladen when he hasn’t had too much to drink. Don’t like the Kiwi commentators but I think they suffer from small country syndrome.
So really, I would MUCH rather watch Super 14 games than that plodding gemors that goes on up North. At least the guys are passionate, man.
That said, GO STORMERSSSSSS and BULLLLLSSSSS!
14 Mar 2010, 17:22 pm
I think Keo should post a SA S14 team of the week, every week.
mine would be:
15: Joe
14: Sireli (even though he’s fm Fiji)
13: Mossie
12: DeJong
11: Vd Heever
10: Morne (even though he’s had better weeks and Grant played well)
9: DeWalt D
8: spies (Vermeulen close 2nd)
7: Flo
6: Schalla
5: Bekker
4: ?
3:?
2: Botha
1: ?
14 Mar 2010, 18:04 pm
@oscarthedawg:
Stransky actually didn’t agree with 2 of the calls against the Cheetahs by Kaplan in the 1st Half of the Sharks – Cheetas match, he asked for a replay and questioned the decision.
Bladen is ‘His Masters Voice’, each time the ball gets to a ‘Q’ player he starts pouring superlatives on the poor man who usually turns it over fast enough to cut Bladen’s accolades, hehehe.
Do what I do: cut the volume when watching, you don’t need it
14 Mar 2010, 18:08 pm
@brains_trust:
Mine would be:
15. Joe Peterson, brilliant allround play
14. Naqelavuki, simply because he woke up from his siesta.
13. Jaque Fourie, sublime on attack and defence.
12. Wynand Olivier, a defencive and attacking force of note.
11. Gerhard vd Heever, improving every week, and that try!
10. Morne Steyn, actually showed us his human by missing one.
09. Dewald Duvenhage, harrier-like
08. Pierre Spies, a human juggernaut
07. Dewald Potgieter, simply everywhere, and that defence
06. Schalk Burger- strong with ball in hand- physical
05. Victor Matfield, who monstered the Landers lineout
04. Danie Rossouw, great lineout work, and set up two tries
03. Werner Kruger, great basics and in the tight loose
02. Gary Botha, even though he missed some tackles.
01. Gurthro Steenkamp, quiter in tight loose, great in scrums
Other standouts:
*Duanne Vermeulen has awoken as a force and is ahead of Kanko in my reckoning.
*Flo, but he played like a 6.
*Andries Bekker, very active as carrier
*Juan de Jongh, improving every week.
*Peter Grant, the best game I have seen him play.
*Tiaan Liebenberg, active, but still to much time spent out wide
*Kanko, but as a 14, because he just thrives on that wide ball
*Doppies le Grange, for not lying down in a lost cause
14 Mar 2010, 18:13 pm
@toddke:
Certainly not, they bungle their own campaign
Look at the Stormers and the Bulls: they purged most of the passangers in the line up and have the strenght to stand up to the like of the stoflis, nothing succeeds like success!
Sponsors money will flow into the WP Union soon.
The Sharks insist on playing some dubious ‘Icons’ who drag the team down in return, at 0:5 they may not make the play offs.
14 Mar 2010, 18:27 pm
@catleya:
Good selection, has its merits
my comments
I wouldn’t drop Habana, would be the 1st name I pencilled in.
Smith @ 7 is magnificent this year, he can’t be dropped.
Little Joe is the first FB since the grossly unfortunate Russell to use elements of speed and surprise in the counter attack in SA Rugby, it’s a double gain because he keeps that dead weight ballast name Jantje out of contention too
Close call between Duvenage and FdP and then Ruan Pienaar is also in contention IMO
14 Mar 2010, 18:41 pm
@Hondo: Smith Did not play this week. Also thought Fourie played well when he came on.
14 Mar 2010, 18:43 pm
I agree with Coetzee, I think that in hindsight of the match the Hurricanes should not have scored those two tries. The first being from the base of our own scrum and the second from a kick off we were meant to be receiving. So I think he is justified in saying they are not living up to full potential yet but they are close.
14 Mar 2010, 18:43 pm
Ok Bok team on current form
Steenkamp
Liebenberg
Kruger
Flip
Bekker
Louw (yes at 6)
Smith
Spies (just ahead of Vermeulen, just)
Duvenhage
Steyn (very tough to leave out Grant, might just reconsider on reflection)
Habana
Le Grange
Fourie (just pips De Jongh, just)
Mapoe
J. Pietersen
Blaauw or Oosthuizen
Bismark
Matfield
Burger
Fdp
Grant
Olivier or De Jongh
Juan Smith to captain.
14 Mar 2010, 18:45 pm
@catleya: Great at analysis mate.. but your prejudice clouds your selections.. huge pity
@Hondo: You know what I think about you… but I blame your parents. They raised you as twat.
14 Mar 2010, 18:52 pm
@PLAYA23: Yah…Stormers suffering from the same disease that the Boks do in the last 20…it’s called Ricky January sickness
14 Mar 2010, 18:55 pm
@Storm outta hell: You know I was thinking just the same thing as I was submitting that comment.
14 Mar 2010, 18:56 pm
Van der heever made the neo nazis of the world proud yesterday with that one run.. but he is still not better than Mapoe, Aplon, Mjekevu, JPP… who perform magic every week.. But white boys only need to perform once in 5years to get springbok Jersey’s so I reckon he can expect a call from PDV shortly.. PDV has been infected the Mandela syndrome (Elevate your abuser by trodding on your support base)
14 Mar 2010, 19:01 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: He is from a Blue Bulls team that have adopted a consistent winning culture so van den Heever is bound to get more notoriety but I don’t think you should worry about Mapoe I think he is closer to getting into the Bok squad than v d Heever
14 Mar 2010, 19:09 pm
@PLAYA23: Politics dictate mate.. the Boere Network has put a lot into getting Van der Heever into a Bok Jersey.. They even shifted their most valuable player(Habana)to get him out of van der heevers way. PDV understands that he is obliged to consider him because as a Christian he must offer the other cheek… twat!!
14 Mar 2010, 19:20 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: Ag los the politics bru’…PdV will pick as many players of colour as possible…it’s up to them to make sure they’re the best in that position..imo…
14 Mar 2010, 19:22 pm
I think that is a bit irrational. I don’t know where you get that sort of information but it may just be media hype or word of mouth thats given that idea and its not just you, I mean I’ve also felt that v d Heever is making a name quite quickly for himself. However you can’t be that surprised, he embodies alot of what made Bryan Habana the player he is today and that excites the public its not because he is white. I don’t think that the Blue Bulls were trying to get rid of Habana. If I remember correctly they made an effort to keep him.
14 Mar 2010, 19:31 pm
@PLAYA23:
@Storm outta hell:
don’t know why you guys are engaging shaun on a serious level.
he is our resident comedian – specially planted to bring a smile to our collective faces on a boring sunday afternoon.
14 Mar 2010, 19:33 pm
Sorry about that I’m new to KEO, thanks for the heads up!
14 Mar 2010, 19:34 pm
@Storm outta hell: PDV displays acute submissive behavioral disorder.. showing power over his support base is his way of beating on his chest when he is confronted by his enemy/abuser.
14 Mar 2010, 19:35 pm
@charo: Well he is irrational,and then there’s that HUGE chip…and he spouts Malema rhetoric….I wonder if he’s got a shower tied to his head..?
14 Mar 2010, 19:37 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: Whatever he displays it seems the symptoms are selecting out of form players when one really needs one’s best..!
14 Mar 2010, 19:40 pm
@charo: Still think that racism is funny and that apartheid was good for black people?? Come on Charo, everybody knows that I am the moderator..
BTW greet first.. and address me correctly when you do so(sir) .
@PLAYA23: The heads up is that I own this place..
14 Mar 2010, 19:43 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: See what they meant by comedian
@Storm outta hell: Out of form players… Schalk burger, WO, Smit, JF, FS.. do we have teh same list??
@Hondo: Hondo, This is a team made up of players who played this week, so no Freestaters considered, therefor no Juan Smith. Habana wasn’t up to his usual standard this week, so hence van den Heever.
@The Almighty Shaun: It remains my opinion, and not that of a scared bigot with an inflated ego and an over-active imagination, and a foul mouth, by the way.
I stand by my choices, as I believe I am entitled to by the Constitution. And when I am proven wrong I will concede and apologize if I have affronted anyone by my actions. Untill then, I will ignore you in the future with the disdain you deserve.
14 Mar 2010, 19:44 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: Nothin’ funny about rascism,and it seems like us blacks are the biggest rascists listening to the ANCYL…
14 Mar 2010, 19:45 pm
we seem to be missing a few regular bloggers.
david, one of the originals, is not even making picks on superbru.
grant10, taking a sabbatical i expect.
justrugby, although i see he is still active on superbru
14 Mar 2010, 19:47 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: Yep…all of those players have been out of form at one time or another,and have been played,and theres quite a few more names you can add…
14 Mar 2010, 19:50 pm
@Storm outta hell: things ain’t always what they may seem
14 Mar 2010, 19:51 pm
@PLAYA23: Comedian?? do you find racism funny… I don’t.. but let me guess.. You have no understanding of it?? Its way above your current intellectual capacity?? You were brought up to ignore it?? You benefit from it??.. THis site gives us all an indication of the level of dishonesty that exists… Some come here thinking that racism is Natural and it means that a lighter skin makes you naturally superior and therefore the custodian of the truth..
I don’t
14 Mar 2010, 19:52 pm
@The Almighty Shaun:
shaun, you have a real talent for comedy.
you should seriously consider giving up your mundane job with it’s pc on the desk, straightening papers and pencils until 4.45 so you can catch the 87 bus to the pub.
there has to be a comedian’s club in your area?
14 Mar 2010, 19:53 pm
@Transformation: Now ain’t that the truth….then again the more they seem to change the more they don’t
14 Mar 2010, 19:59 pm
@charo: Had a good week with the muppits hey..?
14 Mar 2010, 20:00 pm
@catleya: Try to ignore me mate.. But Like I said.. You have a brilliant mind but you have confined your growth by your political beliefs.. Huge pity. There are a few nobel science laureates who done a study on black and white intelligence.. There analysis was thorough and comprehensive.. but they presumed genetic differences and negelected to look at environmental conditions.. this was also sad.
14 Mar 2010, 20:02 pm
@Storm outta hell: Us blacks?? Please let me understand that..
14 Mar 2010, 20:09 pm
@Storm outta hell:
always try to have a bit of fun.
but….i do worry a little when guys go missing. david has been around on keo for yonks then disappeared when he became ill.
now he has disappeared again. maybe he is travelling overseas.
14 Mar 2010, 20:11 pm
@charo: My mundane job.. sometimes it is.. but most of the time its a challenge beyond what you can ever imagine..
14 Mar 2010, 20:20 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: 144. Are you black, oh almighty philosophical presence.
14 Mar 2010, 20:21 pm
@The Almighty Shaun:
imagine yourself on stage at a club.
your opening line could be…”they call me magneto….cos i’m a babe magnet”
you would have the place rollicking
14 Mar 2010, 20:23 pm
@charo: have you sat and wondered why you have not cracked an invite to RT charo?
14 Mar 2010, 20:23 pm
@charo: 153. Hi Charo. Hope all is well wherever you are.
14 Mar 2010, 20:28 pm
152. Heavens Game:
Don’t worry too much about Shaun, he’s had a sad oppressed life as a “previously disadvantaged” and it’s made him a bit cranky. A bit on the thick side but he’s worth a laugh every now and then.
14 Mar 2010, 20:30 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: One final response- “difference between black and white intelligence”?
Sounds like someone didn’t know what to do with their money and gave it as a grant to a bunch of idiots. How long would a street-wise caucasian city boy from Joey’s survive in the jungles of Equatorial Guinea amongst man-eating pigmys? It’s a no brainer, so who needs some Nobel science laureate to tell him anyway? That Joey’s boy could probably tell you that. Don’t judge me before you know me, my friend. I just might surprise you.
I like people who are principled and act based on that, but I do not abide prejudice in any form and against whoever in my reality. You are however entitled to make your own choices in that regard, as I am entitled to make mine.
14 Mar 2010, 20:31 pm
@Pearl Rose:
hey pearly, do you reckon i would fit right in?
@Heavens Game:
all well thanks mate – bit of a boring day – golf was called off because the rest of the bunch wanted to watch the grand prix
14 Mar 2010, 20:36 pm
@filthy Luca: 156. Hi FL – Does “previously disadvantaged” have to = black ? In his case he seems to be incredibly advantaged in terms of being the sole arbiter of prejudice and “white supremacy” on this site. I was just wondering if he is black.
14 Mar 2010, 20:39 pm
@Pearl Rose: Don’t feel bad, Charo. I haven’t cracked an invite either, and last time I checked I was a slightly potbellied ******** from Pretoria with a ‘snor’ and a 4 x 4. So it’s not always about racism, as ‘His Pearlescence’ would have you believe.
14 Mar 2010, 20:40 pm
@charo: 158. F1 – Truly boring most of the time. Watch the first 5 and last 5mins and thats all you need to know.
The French were quite impressive today – if you managed to watch the match – although ITaly werent much of an opposition.
14 Mar 2010, 20:40 pm
the demise of the blogging community.
So everybodys gone off building ships and boats
Some of them building monuments others jotting down notes
Everybody’s in despair, every girl and boy
But when Quinn the Eskimo gets here, everyones gonna jump for joy.
14 Mar 2010, 20:41 pm
@catleya: Catleya.. I praised you in many quarters as someone who finally presented a proper analysis of rugby performance.. I was therefore terribly disappointed when you made a recommendation contrary to your findings.. It is however not uncommon for brilliant minds to make critical errors of judgement.. Medical science has many examples of this.. The debate on global warming also seem to present uswitha few examples
14 Mar 2010, 20:42 pm
159. Heavens Game:
He’s a sort of beige colour – ugly mofo, you must check his website – strewth.
Anyway I think he’s stuck between not light enough and not dark enough so he’s a bit odd on racial issues.
Serious delusions of grandeur, always gives me a giggle.
In truth quite harmless, like my grandma – naah she had balls.
14 Mar 2010, 20:43 pm
@skopskiet:
14 Mar 2010, 20:46 pm
@Heavens Game:
if france keep this up they will be a very real treat next year in nz.
@skopskiet: welcome quinn !!
my wife is trying to set up a visit to her folks next month and drag me along.
if it comes off, will try to meet up at the local – ok?
14 Mar 2010, 20:47 pm
@filthy Luca: 163. He bored me to sleep one night when I had the privledge of experiencing first hand his breadth and depth of knowledge on most subjects. It was too much for my humble little mind.
14 Mar 2010, 20:47 pm
@charo: You seem to be the comedian at the moment.. but heres a tip with regard to woman.. Most of them prefer men as partners..
14 Mar 2010, 20:49 pm
@charo: 165. Yeah – it would be a bit of a gatecrash if the WC final is France vs Boks. (No insult intended, Poppa)
14 Mar 2010, 20:50 pm
@charo: you can start by answering the question first, before making suggestions…
14 Mar 2010, 20:52 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: you’re not banned anymore!
14 Mar 2010, 20:52 pm
hello Sarahtjie the pure breath of fresh air.
So were your fears proved unfounded yesterday you were secretly expecting the worst?
Duvenhage and Grant ran those shaggy Nz boys ragged putting paid to any unfounded myths that Peter Grant is not suited to Stormers attacking gain line breaching game plan.
14 Mar 2010, 20:54 pm
166. Heavens Game:
Indeed I have seen people crumble in the face of his towering intellect. He’s an unhappy boy though so I try not to be judgemental. You know what they say about too much in the brain stakes – you lose your grip on reality. Maybe he’s our beige Einstein or Bach – more like Einstein with that nose.
14 Mar 2010, 20:56 pm
@Heavens Game: none taken HG, and it is a very real possibility, unless of course we lose to France in the pool game
14 Mar 2010, 20:56 pm
Hi Charo – yeah just say the word and we meet same place as before. You back home now or still up the west coast?
14 Mar 2010, 20:57 pm
Feel free to engage at any time Shaun. Share your knowledge with the rest of us of limited capacity.
14 Mar 2010, 20:58 pm
Back to rugby.. two things that I observed yesterday.. Bulls were expansive and even had there hooker on there wing to score the opening try.. The crowd found the rugby exciting and entertaining.. Its the kind of rugby that fills stadiums.. it is the future.. PDV was lambasted by the media for showing preference for this .. Media twats like Keo call it stupid and reckless.. no structure.. not teh Jake White way.. I presume that Keo will write about this recklessness in his column tomorrow??
secondly:
Stormers scrum did not do well yesterday and they were still convincing winners.. which raises questions about the importance of the scrum .. Not sure about how Grant is gonna answer this
Grant.. are you around buddy??
@skopskiet: lol I panic every week… it’s genetic… Monday-Wednesday= super confident, Thursday= doubt creeps in, Friday= full panic mode… Saturday well 1st it’s nausea, then crying and then uncontrollable laughing… it’s actually quite funny
Aww Peter is the best man, he knows the team best and reads the game well
@filthy Luca: but Einstein knew the benfits of humility…
a wise man is not one who thinks he is smart and tells the world so…
14 Mar 2010, 20:59 pm
@charo: theyre a threat to you guys now Charo, you have really struggled against them in the last few years…
14 Mar 2010, 21:00 pm
@SpringbokSarah: When was I banned??.. or who said so..
Just can’t find the time anymore.. I also blog elswhere..
14 Mar 2010, 21:01 pm
@filthy Luca: 172. Haven’t seen his website, so can’t comment on the looks. On evidence though I would agree on Bach. His precise symphony of multidisciplinary expertise with those crisp notes of knowledge are truly the signs of genius!
14 Mar 2010, 21:01 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: well it was the Hurricanes… they are a physical lot…
although Sereli won hands down
14 Mar 2010, 21:02 pm
@poppa69:
pops, i reckon they will be serious contenders to win the tournament i.e. a threat to EVERY other team
14 Mar 2010, 21:02 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: lol causing trouble elsewhere you mean
Which blogs? None of the ones I’m on?
14 Mar 2010, 21:05 pm
@poppa69: 173. Aha! Sneaky. Is this the Soozie moment in the NZ World Cup?
14 Mar 2010, 21:05 pm
@charo: me too mate… thankful we have them in our pool…
got to go…cheers all
14 Mar 2010, 21:06 pm
@skopskiet:
skoppie, going home in a few weeks and then on to fish hoek.
same place – can walk down the hill to it.
i will also try to meet up with ufo and pissant – they’re in the area i think
14 Mar 2010, 21:07 pm
@Heavens Game: And I can dance
14 Mar 2010, 21:07 pm
@poppa69: bye
14 Mar 2010, 21:10 pm
@SpringbokSarah: 184..Nope.. Political and economics.. not rugby
14 Mar 2010, 21:10 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: 188. Aha – a Bach playing Savion Glover. There are no limits.
14 Mar 2010, 21:11 pm
@poppa69:
cheers pops – better luck to your team next week.
178. poppa69:
So we have 2 SA teams top of the log – an unusual state of afairs although it brings me joy, Sadly my beloved Sharks are in the ****. Still fancy the Crusaders being there at the end of the comp, too much class. Nobody else putting up their hands at this stage, as far as the shackledraggers are concerned, I like the Reds.
@The Almighty Shaun: lol my view on politics, it doesn’t matter who you vote for, you’re screwed either way
@poppa69: Cheers Poppa
14 Mar 2010, 21:12 pm
@Heavens Game: My FB profile pic is more recent.. enjoy
14 Mar 2010, 21:12 pm
@The Almighty Shaun:
14 Mar 2010, 21:14 pm
@Pearl Rose:
pearly, your question was so inane and infantile i couldn’t be bothered to answer it.
@The Almighty Shaun: 196. Sorry. Don’t do facebook, am more LinkedIn inclined.
yes I believe PA just up the road in Capri somewhere. Didn’t know that ufo’s also around these parts. You can leave a message on here when you in the area to make a time.
14 Mar 2010, 21:16 pm
STORMERS YEAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH
Watch out Bulls the South easter is blowing
14 Mar 2010, 21:17 pm
@SpringbokSarah: Don’t be disheartened.. we have other ways of making a difference.. The blogosphere has presented us with a wonderful opportunity to change things.. pity SA still remains backward with regard to broadband access for all
14 Mar 2010, 21:19 pm
@skopskiet:
Skoppie hey there
There was once a man form Capri
Tried to pee over a tree
the tree was too high
he peed in his eye
Now the poor ******* can’t see
14 Mar 2010, 21:20 pm
@Heavens Game: 199.. I am also linked.. but I have never used it except joining one community that I was invited to.
14 Mar 2010, 21:23 pm
@CoachPete: I like you
@The Almighty Shaun: cyber space… nothing really matters, what you say doesn’t really count… like Zuma really reads blogs… it’s the lack of morals and interrogatory but let’s leave that for another day
14 Mar 2010, 21:26 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: It is actally incredibly useful for a networking site. The knowledge share in the groups is very, very good.
14 Mar 2010, 21:26 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
I like you too
Hey when I dont bleed green and gold I bleed blue, and its not BULL’s blue.
14 Mar 2010, 21:28 pm
@SpringbokSarah: 205.. Obama rose to power through a phenemonal cyber campaign..
Got to go.. I need to show the family how use the new Wii fit that I bought.
14 Mar 2010, 21:29 pm
hey coach, how you like that all encompassing Storming performance yesterday. I reckon Bulls might be just a little wary and concerned about the new emergence of the rising force from the south back at the cattle ranch.
14 Mar 2010, 21:33 pm
@CoachPete: lol ja it’s blue not baby blue
@The Almighty Shaun: I live in SA remember
@skopskiet: Bulls are worried I rate
14 Mar 2010, 21:34 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: A man of your ilk should be able to understand that stats are one thing, but that there are other things that need to be factored in, like what would be best for a Bok team- a totally commited young turk or someone who by his own confession did not want to be there in the first place.
Luke Watson was part of the analysis because any analysis without him would have been a joke, but surely you would agree that that very same analysis showed that there was very little to choose between him and my eventual candidate. And that choice was born from my most honest assessment, and I will not apologize for that.
You will, from visiting this site, also know that I am not a Jean Deysel fan, because inspite of his many good attributes, I do not believe he is an ideal fit with any two candidates for the other loosie positions as part of a Bok loose trio. It is not about the individuals, but about the balance in the trio as a result of how they compliment one another. But that is just my personal view- based on my own bias, for it will always be there, my statistical analysis and any other ancilliary factors that may have a bearing.
Likewise, if this does not match your opinion, so be it, but it does not give you the right to accuse me of having made a so-called critical error.
14 Mar 2010, 21:34 pm
@skopskiet:
Yes I like the what i see
Forwards and backs playeing well together
As you know for years I have said JF is best 13 in the world and its showing.
Yes the last game at newlands angainst Bulls may be huge.
its sometime away, still a lot of rugby to play but right now Bull are letting in quite a few tries while Stormers are scoring and defending well
Mayby by May our Stomers and the North wester will blow the Bulls off the park
14 Mar 2010, 21:36 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
Yeah baby blue bulls looking south shaking in their boots
14 Mar 2010, 21:40 pm
@skopskiet:
And grant’s confidence up,getting quality ball and It helps when you see our 11 13 and 14 ouside you ?
@Heavens Game:
i am also on linkin but, like shaun, don’t take enough advantage of it.
although it did get me contacted by a head hunter who has me lined up for a position in the big naartjie
Cheers. Dinner calls
14 Mar 2010, 21:41 pm
@Heavens Game: I am proberbly the most connected person at the moment.. ok huge exaggeration..
But besides my FB, website and my time on this blog where everybody knows my real name… I also work with 500 companies across the UK and Europe..
Funny thing happened a week ago.. I work on the same floor as one the Ministers (Uk) and we obvioulsy cross paths with him and his staff.. One of them came into my office and asked if I had fancy paper to print on.. after a bit of discussion it turned out that they were meeting a SA delegation and needed good stationery … I had worked with quite closely with one of the delegation when I was in SA.. The minister was impressed.. I am now one step away from.. No 10
14 Mar 2010, 21:44 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: #176 great observations shaun!
I said the same thing on the game thread. i’m interested in what Tacitus has to say about his Blue Bulls playing like clones of the multiple championship winning Crusaders
14 Mar 2010, 21:46 pm
@The Almighty Shaun:
in our family, it is the kids who show the adults how to work new-fangled electronic gadgets
14 Mar 2010, 21:47 pm
@CoachPete: ja Bakkies did say Stormers were the team to watch
14 Mar 2010, 21:49 pm
@catleya: 211.. I will like to take this discussion further because it has huge implications.. I will catch up with you in the week because I have to go now… Go well
Cheers all.. good night
Forget about Luke and move on with your life… He’s not bothering anybody
Evening folks.
How was that try by young van den Heever…
14 Mar 2010, 21:50 pm
@The Almighty Shaun: night
14 Mar 2010, 21:51 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
This good start at home is going to help when they tour
last year they started 0-2 at home then had a good away tour.
I hope with some good wins there are some bonus points too,
with a possible home semi maybe?
14 Mar 2010, 21:51 pm
@Tacitus: never mind that… Did you see Lane flop?
14 Mar 2010, 21:52 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
Did I see what?
14 Mar 2010, 21:52 pm
@Tacitus:
Future bok maybe? JPP at 15?
14 Mar 2010, 21:54 pm
@CoachPete: its looking very likely
14 Mar 2010, 21:56 pm
@Tacitus: lol sorry predictive text… Did you see Jane flop
14 Mar 2010, 22:01 pm
One team we should not overlook are the brumbies
With Matt, Mortlock, and Rocky there and on 4 wins too they may be the Aussie team to beat (besides reds)
14 Mar 2010, 22:04 pm
@CoachPete: you had to pick the team we lost to
14 Mar 2010, 22:05 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
Then that makes them a very good team
14 Mar 2010, 22:10 pm
Van den Heever is quick no denying but I still say Mapoe is a better prospect at 14, more of an all round comprehensive rugby player and better on defence too.
Form team for now
J. Pietersen
Mapoe
Fourie
De Jongh, Jdv, Le Grange
Habana
Grant – Steyn
Duvenhage
Vermeulen – Spies
Smith – Burger
Louw
Matfield – Bekker
Flip
Kruger
Liebenberg – Bismark
Steenkamp – Oosthuisen.
14 Mar 2010, 22:11 pm
@CoachPete: no they got lucky… I demand a re-match!
14 Mar 2010, 22:14 pm
@skopskiet: flooooooooo!
14 Mar 2010, 22:16 pm
@skopskiet:
Only 9 Stormers in that “best team” starting line up? You’re getting soft in your old age.
14 Mar 2010, 22:16 pm
@skopskiet:
Yes about 14 VD heever may have a shot
I like WO at 12
You know my 9 selection
Grant on form yes
Spies my edge Vermeulen but Sormers loosies as a group doing very well
Otherwise all the rest on form no problem
14 Mar 2010, 22:21 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
You may just get your wish
Stormers Vs Brumbies at newlands (semi final)
14 Mar 2010, 22:22 pm
Bull Vs Crusaders at Pretoria
Stormers Bulls final at Newlands
14 Mar 2010, 22:23 pm
Im out… Cheers all…
Stormers forever!
14 Mar 2010, 22:26 pm
@CoachPete: yay!
@CoachPete: ****…
14 Mar 2010, 22:29 pm
@SpringbokSarah:
Why **** ???? nothing like Stromers beating Bulls twice at newlands in one year
14 Mar 2010, 22:39 pm
Ok saffas have all gone to sleep
Cheers all
14 Mar 2010, 23:56 pm
@CoachPete: Pom’s however still awake…
Hiya Coach, another time perhaps!
15 Mar 2010, 03:27 am
Bulls backline is going to struggle this coming weekend. Its between Houghaard and Rose for the title of S14 worst defender…Houghaard does his best to stay away from contact. Good with ball in hand though. But as soon as they play a side who defends well the Bulls will struggle.
15 Mar 2010, 04:43 am
@Rugbyfiction:
You must be getting confused between him and Dippenaar, they both have the same hair style.
Dippenaar is the real weak link in the Bulls defense. But I agree somewhat, it seems there are always overlaps as if the two wings don’t call.
How much longer until Jaco comes back?
15 Mar 2010, 05:35 am
@Kobus Kitty: When he can shimmy up the horns in less than 15 seconds.
I reckon I would set my alarm to 4 am to witness Cirq de bulle
15 Mar 2010, 05:44 am
Jaco went on on Saturday. What a joke.Desperate times call for desperate meusures…