Further blow to smarting Canes

Hurricanes fullback Cory Jane has been ruled out of next week’s match against the Bulls.

Coach Colin Cooper and skipper Andrew Hore made for a miserable pair following the 37-13 loss to the Stormers. The Canes have lost two on the road, and will end their three-match South African tour with a fixture at Loftus.

Cooper also confirmed Jane won’t be available for the Bulls clash following a massive knock to the head. In the first half, Stormers wing Sireli Naqelevuki bounced the hapless Jane en route to the tryline. Unfortunately for the Stormers, a pass in the build up had gone forward. Unfortunately for Jane, the Naqelevuki’s charge meant the end of his South African tour.

Jane was stretchered from the field and at this stage it’s unknown when he’ll be back. It’s hard to say his exit was a turning point in Saturday’s game, as the Canes were well beaten in every department.

‘We didn’t grab our opportunities and we were playing catch-up rugby from early on,’ Cooper told keo.co.za. ‘You can’t do that in this competition.

‘The way the Stormers attacked was really impressive. Their defence was excellent, and they managed to slow the ball down at the breakdown. We then became predictable on attack.’

The Canes managed two tries but these were scored when the win was beyond reach. Hore lamented a performance where the Canes opted to kick more than run, and mistakes limited their ability to build pressure.

It’ll be a tough ask to go up to Pretoria after heavy defeats in Bloemfontein and Cape Town.

‘We made it hard for ourselves against the Stormers and against the Cheetahs. We need to hold onto the ball a bit more in Pretoria and perhaps we can force an upset. We need to win that one if we’re going to get back into the competition.’

By Jon Cardinelli

45 Comments

• 1.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

well who in their right mind tackles Sereli?… I wonder who’s next on his hit list

• 2.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Sereli? Just another hard-running excellent polynesian out wide.

All those Kiwis virtually cut their baby under-nine rugby teeth by pulling down these grunty opponents in the tackle. It’s simply part of the growing-up drill in Aotearoa.

• 3.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

wasn’t this the same Sereli bloke that the WP folk wanted to post back to the islands after the CC semifinal?

• 4.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: Sireli’s Fijian, just like Sitveni

• 5.Warpath: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler:

Sireli is fijian thus Melanesian..I’m from fiji and i have always said Sireli is top notch..good thing he is getting back to form cause we really need a good hard-hitting centre *** the next World Cup

• 6.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Warpath: what do you think the Fiji RWC backline will be?

• 7.Gertjie die Brandweer Ertjie: Reply to this comment

Nonu needs a citing

• 8.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Jane is very lucky. Now he doesn’t have to be part of a time that gets touched hard at Loftus.

Naqelevuki is playing very well, like 2008.

• 9.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

team*

• 10.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Nonu needs a citing? Why?

He’s FAR better behaved than Julius Malema. And Julius never gets cited.

Excited, possibly. Cited? Never.

Nonu’s a quiet choirboy, really.

• 11.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Someone needed to tell So’oialo to calm down, did he think he was being headhunted or what?

What a bad loser.

• 12.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: @11

better being a ‘bad loser’ as a professional sportsman than a loser in life like you, KKK.

• 13.Warpath: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit:

Not sure, but not that good..all our best like Vilimoni delasau, rabeni, ligairi, little, rauluni, bobo will NOT play cause they will all be over 33 yrs old and thus won;t be selected… the new players simply SUCK, and not to mention we have a pathetic coach who doesn’t know head or tails about coaching…I’ll be surprised if we even win 1 match this time around.

• 14.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Well, maybe you’d like it if my team lost. I gotta try losing sometime, because I can’t seem to remember what it feels like.

I guess winning 14 in a row at home will do that to you.

• 15.RedLion: Reply to this comment

poor Jane, poor fellow suffered 2 massive blows to the head. The ball first woke him up then Fiji put him to sleep.

• 16.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: is that before or after you decided to jump ship, turncoat? you change teams more often then a hooker gets laid…

• 17.Airwell: Reply to this comment

“It’s hard to say his exit was a turning point in Saturday’s game, as the Canes were well beaten in every department”

Except the scrum JC Brock was being shown his butt hole the whole game. The Canes looked good in that department. But must say when Fourie came on Brok did look better.

• 18.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Why do you think I supported the Lions? I registered on this site about a year and a half ago, the Lions were awful back then too.

But hey, at least I’ll always support a South African side, unlike those coloreds at Newlands with Hurricane jerseys on… disgusting.

• 19.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: Have to agree it pisses me off to see a South African supporting the ABs or there franhises.

• 20.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: so how long have you been supporting the Bulls Kobus? since 2007?

and who did you support in 2008? I remember you telling us all you only support teams when theyre winning..

• 21.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Who were the ABs in the Blues team when they won the Super 10, 12 etc 3 times.

• 22.cane: Reply to this comment

Congratulations to the Storm Boys.

They have the best defensive record so far and are looking very good to make the semi’s.

My Hurricanes will miss Corey. Perhaps our best back.

• 23.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@cane:

Ag, what happened Cane?

• 24.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Spencer, Brooke Zinzan and Robin, Cooper, Howarth, lomu, Stanley, Dowd, Fitzpatrick, Olo Brown, M. Jones.. etc etc anything else?

• 25.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: they even had B.Lima, Eroni Clarke, Dylan Mika, Reichelman, Adrian Cashmore… they beat Nth. Tvl in the inaugural final in 96, and the Brumbies in the final in 97..

• 26.cane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Others, …………Ofisa Tonu, Joeli Vindiri, Eroni Clark, Andrew Blowers. Lee Stensness and Charlie Reichelman.

• 27.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@cane: Yep…Cory an outstanding back,must’ve felt like a left hook from ‘Iron Mike’ in his prime.

• 28.cane: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: Post23.

We were beaten by a far better Team on the day. (now there’s something you don’t hear everyday).

• 29.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: congrats to your team Storm, they were mightlity impressive..

• 30.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Thanx mate…a good game to watch..
    I see the non-believer Blouste has slipped a few places on the ladder :evil:

• 31.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: from a stormer prospective I imagine it was great to watch :D it hasnt updated for the Reds game yet, so both Blouste and I will drop a fair few places, sure there are a few who got the GSP as well..

• 32.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Stormers exposed again at scrum time. Hope they work on it. Backline looking much better when duvenhage at scrummie. Re the cape fans supporting the canes , so what? Its their choice. Get a life guys. You can support any team u like. I happen to be a die hard WP , stormers and bokke supporter but hey that does not mean you cannot support a non sa team if u from ct. My forefathers shed too much blood fighting to my democratic right for me not to not to excersise it.

• 33.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: That was a good team and the basis of the best AB team i have seen since 76. I think maybe you need to develop Blues Rugby more in NZ so you can have a strong AB team again to give us more of a go :)

• 34.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@sparticus: ‘Canes got a highly rated pack,so more than happy they held their own.. Stormers exposed when January came on and backline starts receiving man and ball at the same time :(

• 35.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Well done to ur team boet. I think Fourie should start though he seemed to stabalize ur scrum

• 36.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: its always been said that if Auckland are strong invariably the ABs are too… theres also another NZ “myth” that you can tell how the ABs are going to play by watching the Haka…

• 37.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Yep…funny that,I’d of thought Teabag would’ve fronted up better…Schalk stayed over at our lodge last night so I’ll have a word with him when he surfaces :D

• 38.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Maybe he was still sick or carrying an injury of some sort?

• 39.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Also rate him imo better than Bismark at the Mo

• 40.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: Seems a hooker today has more influence on the scrum than I thought. Look how well the Bulls are scrumming that Gary Botha is back. Last year they were pathetic.

• 41.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl: Yes Brigadier, suddenly the WP supporters are ooing and aahing aboit Sireli. Last year they wanted to stone him, now suddenly he is a hero.

But we are used to WP supporters humiliating themselves in a such a manner.

• 42.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Yeah well,just look at the Sharks and Boks scrums…obvious problems there..the Cape flu does take a helluva lot out of one,and a week is not enough time to recover completely,I reckon the teabag will be back better than ever,but Fourie is great too…

• 43.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood: Last year the dude was out of form,happens to the best of ‘em,and allowing the Bulls to scrape thru like that was a bitter pill to swallow…

I remember Bulls supporters calling for both Heineke’s head and Franse’s when the Bulls were so kak they couldn’t buy a game…cast your mind back :roll:

• 44.oscarthedawg: Reply to this comment

@sparticus: Agreed Sparticus, they can support whoever they like. And just to add, the Hurricanes supporters were a tiny section of the Newlands faithful. Why get your knickers in a knot?

• 45.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

stormers have only leaked 51 points in 5 games. good defence stormers well done.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.