Sensational Stormers clobber Canes

A physically and tactically superior Stormers side secured the bonus point in their 37-13 spanking of the Hurricanes.

A small sector of the 45 000-strong crowd came to Newlands for what newspaper billboards predicted as a ‘Hurricane warning’. Those South Africans supporting the men in yellow left disappointed, as the Hurricanes never mustered as much as a breeze.

The Stormers were the team that entertained the crowd, but the platform for a spectacular running performance was established through a drive for territory and a clinical forward showing. They cashed in on an early opportunity when the Canes impeded in the first minute, and scored a beautiful try on their next visit to the opposition 22.

The forwards were typically aggressive at the breakdown, and although they didn’t always end up on the right side of referee Steve Walsh, it was their victory at this battle that determined the greater outcome.

Francois Louw made a magnificent steal deep in the Canes’ 22, and the ball was flung as far as outside centre Jaque Fourie. The Springbok fixed his defender before floating the pass to Pietersen, who in turn found Sireli Naqelevuki with the perfect offload.

The big Fijian has been criticised for his relaxed running style, but on this occasion, he could do no wrong. The Canes’ kickers targeted his wing but Naqelevuki often beat the poor kick chase once securing the catch. He was also involved in the Stormers’ second try in the 31st minute when he carried two defenders on his back and handed Pietersen the final pass.

The hosts had ample opportunities which they failed to finish, but they managed to retain possession through their almost masochistic approach to the breakdown and kamikaze-style defence. The visitors made too many errors in Stormers’ territory to build sufficient pressure, and rightly went to the break with a measly three points.

Pietersen missed the first two conversions, but the manner in which the Stormers finished the first half rendered the misses inconsequential.

A lineout on halfway was collected and driven 40m before the ball emerged and travelled towards Bryan Habana’s wing. The Canes’ defence looked to have Habana covered, but a quick recycle saw Dewaldt Duvenage exploiting a massive hole in the flyhalf channel. Duane Vemeulen scored his try unopposed, an atypical score considering how prominently he featured as ground-gaining ball carrier early in the fixture.

The Canes spent the first 10 minutes of the second half camped in the red zone, but determined defence and pressure-enforced errors kept them tryless.

Fourie had an outstanding game as did his centre partner Juan de Jongh. The hard-running youngster got close to scoring in the 53rd minute, as did Brok Harris from the ensuing pick and go. TMO Shaun Veldsman ruled the ball was knocked on, much to the crowd’s annoyance.

But the Stormers stayed hungry, and their territorial and forward dominance continued to irk the out-muscled and out-thought Canes. The visitors failed to collect a loose ball which was hacked and gathered by Peter Grant. Although stopped short, the support arrived in the form of Harris, who wasn’t to be denied a second time.

The score secured the bonus point, and all that remained was for the Stormers to keep the Canes honest in the final quarter. Captain Schalk Burger weighed in with some brutal hits and his team-mates took a cue from his sustained intensity. The Canes continued to blunder, and dangermen like Ma’a Nonu were played out of the game.

David Smith touched down in the 68th minute and Tyson Keats on full-time, tries that cost the Stormers their second consecutive clean sheet. But considering the Canes’ attacking reputation and penchant for pinching tries at the death, the Stormers will be proud to have kept them to two tries. The Stormers also scored their fifth when Fourie ran an angle and powered through the exhausted Canes defence.

The performance is the Stormers’ best to date, and a massive result considering they’ve beaten two traditional giants, the Waratahs and Canes, by a comfortable margin. They’ll be favourites to take the Cheetahs next week, and with that result they’ll head on their Australasian tour with a record of five victories from six matches.

Their attack still isn’t perfect. Ball was spilled in contact and the lineout wobbled on a few occasions, and if synergy is their goal they’ll need to eliminate those errors.

What is a big plus is the Stormers’ defence is still king, as they’ve only conceded four tries in five games. If they can keep the current line-up together, they’re going to be extremely tough to beat.

By Jon Cardinelli

389 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All

• 351.Karen: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: Geez never knew you were blonde :-) You will be working your *** off this week wrt the song and other things – no time for playing this week :-)

• 352.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Karen: what am I playing?

• 353.I am a stormer: Reply to this comment

@ Brigadier van Zyl: Where’ve you been all day? Over stayed your welcome at Loftus?

• 354.ET: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Agree with you it is all damn confusing and it definitely has all to do with Slap Roussouw as the other 2 senior coaches are both forward orientated okes.

That team of ours (Soda and I) is given me some grey hairs presently and lost today to a good Southampton team. As long as they can hold on to 2nd they will be promoted. The Eater week-end will as usual decide who goes up and down, so i am just hanging on.

How do you like my punishment of mostly, by far, Shark rugby games?

BTW, don’t sell our Paradise short by saying, as you once recently did ,that ” you think it is Paradise”. IT IS PARADISE. Be aware I always silently read your posts despite being very busy.
    OH! as far as “kreefing goes, Kommetjie corner is defintely the place. One Christmas Eve a friend and I pulled out 24 of size with ring nets in that kelp and traded some just undefsized one for quarts of beer at that camping site at that time.Even then we were only allowed a specific # per permit so we left after dark and with some hidden under our sailor caps to get them out of the reserve. I promise it only happened that cheating way once,knowing your concern for conservation.

• 355.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

nope,had to go and work after the bulls game. Pretty kak game actually.

• 356.Karen: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: mmm there is Flo, Peter, Joe, Schalk and a few others that I could mention ;-) No playing at the rugby field this week :-D

• 357.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Karen: roflmao! Not Schalk but you got my top 3 spot on… lol playing at the rugby field, marketing… more or less the same thing for me

• 358.Karen: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: Shame poor Schalk will be sad :-) I am out of here – a good win for our team

• 359.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

@Karen: Cheers Karen

• 360.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ET:

Even although I do not know much about them I hope your team hold out and make it – for your and Sodas sake!

I am not the biggest soccer fan in the world but still enjoy the occasional game – as far as British soccer is concerned I support Liverpool – from the days of Kevin Keegan.

World cup? Lets hope and pray – one world class player (Steven Pienaar) might not be enough, but maybe we can pull of a surprise and make the second round.

Re the Rock Lobster – ag, u know we have all “stolen” a few in our time – as long as we do not do it for commercial gain it is not so bad.

Do u plan to stay in the USA for good?

• 361.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ET:

The Sharks suck – sorry for the punishment.
    Imo it is time for John to call it quits and to give the new guys a chance.
    He should have retired after the 2009 success and is currently only destroying his legacy.
    It’s quite sad, he seems to be unfit and overweight and I do not know why he is soldering on.
    Money maybe?

• 362.ET: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Robbo, definitelly not.
    We have no such intentions of staying here permanently even though it will be very easy for my wife and I to get green cards because of the shortage of expertise in our respective fields. The demand in both our fields is so great that I can, if I choose, work for 3 seprate bosses but will then be dead on my feet and have no time to enjoy that money.
    Our children do not want to leave S.A and esp. Cape Town and as long as you sell C.T. to the outside world you will nostalgically remind me of the huge sacrifice I am making by working here.
    We still own our house about not more than 2 miles from the Newlands stadia and close to Red X hospital.

• 363.ET: Reply to this comment

That team of ours(Soda & I) we will never be able to ditch because it has such a phenonmenal history. And the only reason they are so low(after being so high and mighty) is because one big crook(skelm is a better word) cheated them, not so long ago, of close to 100million pounds through very poor business deals.. So top class players like Rio Ferdinand and others all had to be sold.
    Hey! I know it is late for you and the sun is still in the heavens for me so feel free to tell me to shut up as tomorow is another day.

• 364.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@ET:

Great stuff man, This place is still the best.
    I also have work and family connections in Australia – it’s a great place but imo it is still much better here in CT, so I will stay here.
    We must make a plan to meet and have a red wine or 2 when u come to CT again.

Nice chatting – see u later – it’s past bed time here.

• 365.ET: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:

Smit has played extremely poorly this year and I gave him a scathing report in that first game in the Antipodes. There was not one decent scrum with him that day. And he was poor again yesterday.

He defintely needs to do the honourable thing. He is part of the precarious state the Sharks find themselves in.

I cannot understand the hold that he and others have on PdV.
    Actually, I do, and it is not too disimilar to your notion.

• 366.ET: Reply to this comment

@Robzim: @Robzim:

@363

Hey! I know all that and the fact that your trip there took you off here for some time.I tell you I do read you and thus read you like a book.

It was really great comparing notes again in a very quiet and always civil atmosphere.

go well.

• 367.whatever: Reply to this comment

Rodney and Ma’a up to there usual off the ball dirt I see.

Good one Stormers, hope we can win away from home as well!

• 368.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Robzim:
    More than likely, it designed to give the rookies backs plenty minutes of 1st class running rugby to build up their confidence, on the road they will be more structured.
    3 of the Bulls back line are Boks first choice, it is no co incidence

• 369.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Oh no! What’s happening to the Caaaaaanes? Two losses in a row, ‘aye?

I told you, the Chiefs and the ‘Canes’ are pretenders. Some tried to deny me, I told you though. I told you.

The Stormers made them look one dimensional, Jaque Fourie showed why he’s the best outside center in the world.

Oh my word, my two teams roll on.

• 370.catleya: Reply to this comment

@I am a stormer: 335 Yes and a former Bull teaching the Stormers how to scrum!

• 371.Karen: Reply to this comment

@catleya: He was at the PUK institute of rugby in 2005 -2008 so that does not make him a former bull

• 372.boeta_A: Reply to this comment

Gee…I always seem to come in too late after all that’s already been said on this forum. But I think that too little has been mentioned about the technical side of the Stormers game. It is undeniable that the Cane’s weakness is at their flyhalf. If they don’t shange him after this game they can call it quits for the S14.
    Their forwards didn’t do to badly in the scrums, but then again, they have some AB’s in there.
    I think the Stormers coaching team must have read what I said in the forum last week, coz Jaque Fourie really came to the party. Maybe he wasn’t really match fit last week.
    Peter Grant was also solid and his distribution was flawless. He even attemted to break the defensive line a few times, which is usually his weakness. Luckily he had Fourie to run at the defence to create some space.
    Dewaldt Duvenage only made one mistake in the game, and gee, did he look disappointed. The game changed when he left the field and Ricky came on. Why don’t they just kick Januarie off the field?
    The Stormers defence seems to be their main strength this year, but they’re were rushing it a bit in the second half, especially Bryan Habana. In fact, the second Canes try came from gaps created due to rush defense. Be patient boys.
    Joe Piersen was once again in top notch form. This guy can just do no wrong.
    It was the first weekend I was glad they had a right-wing that can’t kick a ball. Otherwise they would’ve given away too much possession, which was the one area the Stormers stood out.
    And lastly, the Stormers’ star winger was back this weekend…no, I’m not talking about Sireli. Welcome back Tian. lol!

• 373.boeta_A: Reply to this comment

sorry for some of the typo’s in my above comment.

• 374.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Karen: He played for the Bulls Karen- ask him personally if you don’t believe me!

• 375.Karen: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Ok I checked he played in the late 90′s but they were called Northern Transvaal and not the Bulls.

• 376.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@boeta_A: Joe was great,just needs to work on the place kicking imo…

• 377.Karen: Reply to this comment

@catleya: And the Bulls have a Stormer coaching their back-line – welcome to professional rugby :-D

• 378.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Karen: Quite! Catch my posts 331 and 340.

And for what it’s worth I wasn’t aware you guys distinguish between Northern Tvl and the Bulls. The sting of your sarcasm feels the same, but my blood stays blue.

• 379.Karen: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Lol sorry I won’t keep quiet because you say so. Northern Transvaal was a CC team :-) and at one stage the Stormers were called the Western Stormers – lots have changed. As for your blood being blue – geez then you need to see a doctor because all human beings blood is suppose to be red :-D And you know what you need to get a sense of humour which you are seriously lacking

• 380.Karen: Reply to this comment

Catleya – sorry misread your post as quiet and not quite – my apologies for that error but then you would probably not accept it

• 381.Karen: Reply to this comment

But if you actually meant quiet then I retract my apology :-D

• 382.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Karen: Apology accepted, so I guess I have a sense of humor after all. I’m just sitting here wondering what I did wrong to arouse your chagrin. Must’ve been something terrible!

• 383.Karen: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Hey I am definitely not upset with you :-) That is why I apologised when I saw I misread your post. Peace :-)

And the part about the blood – hey that is tongue in the cheek (some Stormers supporters do have a sense of humour) and kudo’s to you for having a sense of humour

Have a great afternoon and I will see you on the blog sometime soon (just go have your blood checked out at the doctor – very worried about the colour of it :roll:

• 384.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Karen: Where do you scratch out these oopbek Smileys? Or are they just reserved for Stormers supporters this morning?

• 385.Karen: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Would you rather prefer an evil smiley ???

• 386.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

to have blue blood must mean you are an alien from outa space, ok no wonder those obese nose ringed rhinocerous looking behemoths look somewhat sub human. Maybe David Icke has a point, maybe all blue blooded blou Bulls supporters are in fact extra terrestrial beings not from this planet. With cold blooded blue liquid coursing through their veins.

• 387.catleya: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Or maybe the connotations should be a little more figuratively, which would tend to imply “royalty”. Use it, don’t use it. Come to think of it, in that case we probably deserve a little mor erespect than is being shown us here!

• 388.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Karen: Hell no, the evil bit comes through strong enough in the words Anything more would just be an overkill, don’t you think?

• 389.byoboy: Reply to this comment

well done Stormers excellent game!!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.