Reds spear floundering Force

The Reds ran in seven tries in a 50-10 rout against the Force in Brisbane on Sunday.

Take a bow Quade Cooper. The Reds pivot played a big role in the win, setting up four tries and kicking 13 points. His biggest contribution was in the first half when he set the platform for the hosts to claim their four-try bonus point in just the 33rd minute.

By half-time, the game was already won as the Reds were up by 28 points and the Force never looked like coming back.

The visitors produced a poor performance, mainly on defence, which allowed the Reds to capitalise. They slipped too many tackles, especially on the Reds’ first phase attack while they were too predictable on attack allowing the hosts to repel several try-scoring opportunities.

The Force’s defensive lapse came early on and saw the Reds surge into a 12-0 lead. In the seventh minute, the home side found themselves in the Force’s red zone. Cooper passed it wide to centre Anthony Faingaa, who had an easy 5m run through a gap for the opening score. Two minutes later, the Reds broke down the field again and wing Luke Morahan scored in the corner.

Centre James O’Connor opened the Force’s score tally with a penalty, but it was all Reds for the rest of the first stanza as they ran in another three tries and Cooper kicked a penalty to see the Reds to 36-3 at the break.

Fullback Peter Hynes was sin binned soon after the restart for an infringement at the breakdown. This allowed the Force to score their only try as they capitalised on their one-man advantage through wing Nic Cummins. O’Connor added the extras.

But that was to be all from the Force as the Reds scored all the points from then on. Despite running the changes in the third quarter and losing Faingaa to the sin bin for a high tackle, flank Scott Higginbotham was the third Reds player to grab a brace and seal their 40-point win.

72 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

Can the Force Dragons get rid of the wooden spoon?

• 2.gerhard: Reply to this comment

if the reds take this one, then i will have a full house on my superbru for this weekend

• 3.Karen: Reply to this comment

@gerhard: Me too :-D GO THE REDS

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

the Force is the only team the Sharks will beat.

• 5.Predawn: Reply to this comment

So right….but then again….:-))

• 6.klippies101: Reply to this comment

iam winning my superbru pool also
    lekker to see sa on top with bulls and stormers

what ever happened to reds prop rodzilla

• 7.klippies101: Reply to this comment

no i think the sharks will be the landers this weekend
    they will be stuffed from the flight to nz

• 8.K00s: Reply to this comment

2 NZ wins in 2 weeks … thanks to the Saders …surely its time to drop a NZ team and replace these palookas with the KINGS!

• 9.Karen: Reply to this comment

@K00s: :-)

• 10.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@K00s:

thats really perceptive of you, especially as we’re still 2 rounds off the halfway stage of the comp.

Lets not forget that 3 of the 4 SemiFinalists in 2009 came from the 1 country.

Have the Bulls & Stormers left SA yet ?

• 11.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@K00s:

How about the Lions and Cheetahs…that will be a good start.

In fact merge all three together and you will have 3 home bases.

• 12.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@K00s: how many years has a SA team got the wooden spoon in the S14? nuff said…

• 13.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

Eish Cooper knows how to break a line…suppose he is used to breaking in.

• 14.Karen: Reply to this comment

I can’t see the Kings or the New Melbourne rebels team performing better than the Force, Sharks, Lions – even the REds are only performing this season

• 15.Karen: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: The Lions/Cheetahs merge was tried before aka the Cats and it failed dismally

• 16.charo: Reply to this comment

@K00s:

caught a lot of fish there boet :grin:

• 17.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@charo: still. I see there are 2 Saffa sides that havent won a game in the competition at all yet????? 10 games = no wins bwahahahaha

thats much funnier then only 2 kiwi wins in two weeks, wouldnt you agree?

• 18.Lions_Soutie: Reply to this comment

Mckenzie is a brilliant coach!

• 19.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Ya but those are spineless fish….

• 20.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Good old queensland fighting spirit and Mckenzie, what a good combo..

• 21.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

No one cares for anything below the top 4.

1. Bulls
    2. Stormers

Anyway, I was planning on watching this match, but then, um, I just carried on living my life.

• 22.charo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

had to laugh at the way you guys reacted so furiously to such an obviously baiting post from koos.

• 23.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: yes, and number one has had Saffa refs for 5 games in a row, whats up with that? and they will be playing their 5th game at home this week coming too…I see you werent complaining when the bulls player lost the ball over the tryline and the Bulls were awarded a 5 metre scrum from the TMO????

your silence was deafening there Kobus, especially after all your ranting last week about ANZAC refs??

• 24.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@charo: so furiously bwahahahaha take a look at the sharks games thread the last two weeks to see “furious reactions” mate… not a good look from so many SA bloggers, or did you turn a blind eye to that??

• 25.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Mate Kobus Kitty is a quote supporter. You only chat to him if you want to wind him up. No point having a chat he had a regressive upbringing.

• 26.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

24. poppa69 so furiously bwahahahaha are you serious. Are you really a kiwi? Sure you are not an aussie in disguise?

• 27.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

quote = quota

• 28.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

Yes, that’s how this competition works… teams have home games.

Kaplan was very lenient to the Highlanders, he was letting them come in from all sides to stop the rolling mauls, which was pretty upsetting for me.

Lets not be spiteful now and try and deny the Bulls their rightful undefeated, number one on the log, maximum points effort at the moment, please it just looks terrible on you and perhaps your Maori heritage.

• 29.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack:

I remember you being furiously point put out of place by the ANZAC refs…as you said it.
    Shoe on the other foot… so it now does not apply.

• 30.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

damn it I am not doing to well with the typing.

• 31.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack: did you read the posts Kevin, or are you just trying to lift your ego by getting a reaction?? was our reaction over the top like so many did after the sharks lost both their games????? no, there is a noticeable difference..

• 32.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Karen:

I have been around awhile to know the Cheetahs and Lions were merged…I am now adding the King to the fold.

It will save SARU costs.

• 33.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: please , the 85 metre try was scored after a Bulls player came from the side, number 11 it was… and the penalty against the highlanders 5 metres out for attacking the man early in the lineout, WTF?? gees, at least I admitted the ref got it wrong in the sharks game, you guys just cant bring yourself to admit you also get the calls go your way can you..?

• 34.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.:

Inbreeding will do that to you.

• 35.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

31. poppa69 so that a yes then.

• 36.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty:

Whats that…. having a regressive upbringing!

• 37.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

I must admit your support for your teams impresses me, you stay up late to watch them play, even though you know without doubt that they’ll have 50 points put against them.

• 38.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack: tell me kevin, did our 3 little posts match the hundreds on the Sharks thread, which had much more bile and venom spitting forth??

be honest now, or are you going to divert from answering because your just a poor wind up merchant who needs validation because he has no friends??

• 39.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

The Reds will make the semis…with the Bulls, Chifs and Stormers/Brumbies.

• 40.charo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

pops, you guys reacted so furiously to an obvious wind-up from koos.
    it was really funny.
    would have thought a wind-up reply was more in order.

• 41.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty: Im a rugby man first and foremost Kobus, look at the stormers thread and see that I even complimented both the Stormers and Bulls for they way they have been playing, and congratulated both on their wins…

something most Saffas wouldnt do, it is the refs fault or a conspiracy, rather then the better team won on the day… and then when we allude to that with tongue in cheek we are poor losers and the like..

• 42.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

poppa69 so that a yes then.

• 43.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@charo: how was that furiously? I am lost as to how you think that was so vehemenent? as I said, look at the sharks games threads and you will see furious reactions, but again, you conveniently skirted that question?

• 44.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@charo:

I dont think Kobus knows how to wind up there seems to be some peronal character traits that have gone awery ove rthe years.

You read any of his posts you can determine over about his first three that he is dof. He is naturally agressive to any other point of you that he has.
    What we do then is to pick out moments so dig in to him because watch he wont be around when the Bulls lose…it is predictable.

• 45.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I am going now…I am shattered and my typing is a result of this.

• 46.charo: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.:

was referring to koos @ 8.

back to this game – reds are really looking the bizniz this season. everybody was saying preseason that the brumbies would be the top oz side, but the reds are playing such accurate rugby.

• 47.cane: Reply to this comment

@charo:

So koos is moon-lighting here now?

Things must be really boring over on ther Rebel-Talk.

• 48.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@charo: I never liked the little pumped up cockerel Cooper,but he’s sure showing his talents at 10..!

• 49.Porra the Fat Speedster: Reply to this comment

those inbred
    islanders
    under
    that thin
    cloud
    are too dumb
    to understand
    a
    wind up

• 50.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@wallabie.: 44

KK has defected from the Lions, is now pumping for the Bulls and clandestinely roaring for the Stormers. At the rate he chops (pun intended) he will be supporting Suntory and will have to change his nick to Kobe Kitty. Secretly he probably pumps for Stade Francaise … lovely pink jerseys.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.