Cronje ruled out of Cheetahs clash

Lionel Cronje will not play for the Stormers this Saturday whether his weekend punch-up warrants further suspension or not.

The Stormers’ reserve flyhalf was involved in an incident following the victory over the Hurricanes last Saturday. A Cape Town newspaper reported Cronje was in a fight, arrested and taken to hospital because of the injuries incurred in the scuffle.

Stormers coach Allister Coetzee told keo.co.za Cronje’s lawyers will be dealing with the matter. Once it has been resolved, an internal investigation may be conducted.

‘It happened after the match, so it was on his own personal time,’ Coetzee said. ‘As far as I know, Lionel is alright and I don’t know anything about him having a concussion [from the fight]. He reported to the High Performance Centre on Monday morning and the medical staff have found nothing wrong with him, so I believe he is fine.

‘I said on Saturday after the Hurricanes match that I want Lionel to get more game time and to do that I want him to start in the Vodacom Cup. If he is cleared, he will do so this Saturday. So Lionel was never going to play for the Stormers this week in any case.’

Coetzee’s only injury concern is centre Juan de Jongh who will be further assessed by the Stormers’ medical team before a final call on his availability is made on Tuesday. De Jongh has had an ongoing elbow problem and complained of discomfort after Saturday’s game.

Coetzee is confident De Jongh will recover in time to resume his role at inside centre, otherwise Willem de Waal could be pushed into the starting line-up at No 10, a move that would see Peter Grant shifting to No 12.

If De Jongh passes fit, the Stormers management has to decide on a replacement for Cronje on the bench. Coetzee is considering De Waal or Conrad Hoffmann, despite the latter’s lack of game time at flyhalf.

‘We still see Conrad as a flyhalf even though he hasn’t played much at No 10 in the Vodacom Cup. What’s important is that he’s got some game time under his belt.

‘If you look at it another way, Conrad can provide valuable cover at scrumhalf now that Bolla Conradie is out with an injury.’

Lock Adriaan Fondse was expected to be back for the Cheetahs fixture but Coetzee said the second rower will prove his fitness in the Vodacom Cup this weekend. This puts him into contention for the squad to tour Down Under, and the head coach hopes Morgan Newman will also be ready for these matches. Players not considered for the overseas leg include Conrad Jantjes and Nick Koster.

Tim Whitehead, who has trained regularly with the Stormers, could be a bolter in that squad and will provide cover in the midfield. According to Coetzee, the rookie is ready to make the step up to Super 14 rugby and could make the cut ahead of more established players like Dylan des Fountain and Frikkie Welsh.

‘When you’re good enough, you’re old enough,’ said Coetzee. ‘You have to back your youngsters. Look at how the Bulls have backed Gerhard van den Heever, Francois Hougaard and Stephan Dippenaar. It’s exactly the same with us, we trust our young talent to do well.’

By Jon Cardinelli

52 Comments

• 1.cheetah jou lekker ding: Reply to this comment

Does anyone have more info on this?

• 2.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Actually, I like this. The Stormers players are nice and aggro. Its good to see from the tinkerbelles down South.

• 3.SamM: Reply to this comment

then again he is an X cheetah !

• 4.Jacques Snyman Website Design: Reply to this comment

I’d really prefer to see our boys keep their noses clean…..

• 5.Zulu_baby: Reply to this comment

Stormers 31 – Cheetahs 9

• 6.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I was talking to an ex springbok once and asked him: “don’t you get tired of constantly talking rugby with everyone you meet?” His response was, “no, but what really pisses me off is when you are out somewhere and some person who clearly hasn’t played any sport for many years, and probably was never any good at it anyway comes up to you and gives you advice or insults you or tries to solve your “current lack of form” problem in a drunken, obnoxious way”

I’ll bet you it was one of these…….

• 7.Airwell: Reply to this comment

Stormers becoming like Aussie and Kiwi rugby players :)

• 8.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: Lol, I’ll remember this response next time an Aussie or Kiwi is reported getting into a fight on a night out!

I can’t remember too many Aussies or Kiwis getting put in hospital recently during their “own personal time”!

• 9.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: LOL I agree the brokeback must be softer than the kiwi and aussies or they just cant fight

• 10.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

Hmmmmm. Those who slated Luaki recently here? The silence is deafening…

• 11.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

I, personally, wouldn’t pick a fight with Lionel Cronje… Maybe with Duvenhage or Joe Petersen ya :lol:

• 12.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Who is this whitehead guy ? Nice to see guys making the team on their abilities and not cotton wooled. Kinda sad that Frikkie Welsh dont make the cut , never been a fan of him but he really impressed me for WP in the CC. Well at least we know we have decent reserves waiting.

Now and this is my biggest gripe , Newman ??? Seriously ? I watched him very very closely last year , even missed the games live that I attended that he played and I will say what I said last year , he has not shown a small miniscule glimpse of anything remotelty promising for me. Sorry , I might be wrong in the long run but on current form and from what we seen last year he does not deserve CC never mind S14 start time. I would play him in the VC.

• 13.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

I’m not quite sure how I feel about De Waal in the starting lineup… Start Grant, and bring De Waal in off the wood, if at all. Can we please have some STRAPPING for De Jongh? I thank you.

• 14.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Dont you think De Waal can fight better than Cronje so he will at least not have to go to hospital when one of his fellow cape townians ***** slaps him,so maybe a better bench sitter :)

• 15.SamM: Reply to this comment

Stormers are playing their best rugby ever in the super 14 , but never write of the Cheetahs .. . . .

• 16.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: I don’t think we should be too mean to Cronje about having to go to hospital, the person he fought was pretty tough apparently, I heard she was almost as tall as Luke Watson.

It is funny to compare the response from the bloggers, the media and the coach to when something like this happens in NZ or Aus.

• 17.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: 16

Could’ve been one of those Bulls girls… I hear they pack quite a mean punch, and rather than face them head on, you should try to outrun them if you can :lol: :lol:

• 18.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: 14

He was arrested and THEN taken to hospital. Probably the standard procedure by the boys in blue (in this case, the police) when they arrest someone remotely well-known – to cover their own asses in case the boy was seriously hurt or something. The High Performance Centre’s medical staff found nothing wrong with him… Come on, they make our boykies tough over here :lol:

• 19.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

Cronje was hassling my wife.

I gave the kid so many lefts, he was begging for a right.

Sorry Lionel – sleep tight !

• 20.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: I doubt it was one of them bulletjie girls – all of them are far taller than Luke Watson.

• 21.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21: 20

And wider too.

• 22.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Still think De Waal would have sorted it out without an injury. He is from the States after all

• 23.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: I must say, those girls next to the field at Newlands are bigger than a fair few of the players on the field, and I am not only talking of little Joe.

Scary sight when those girls do their leg kicks.

• 24.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

HAHAHA! Actually, I’ve been up close and personal (not as personal as I’d like) with those girls (there’s a photo floating around on the Player 23 site somewhere). They’re not that big hey, and most of them are petite. All smaller than me, and I barely pip 1.78m.

Those high leg kicks are a different story entirely… I think the word I’d use is, “impressive” :lol:

• 25.renoog: Reply to this comment

From what I’ve heard about Cronje he seems to be a very down-to-earth kid. Let’s try reserve judgement until we’ve heard the full story. Haven’t all of us gotten into fights for one reason or another?

• 26.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@renoog: Moi never am a good boy

• 27.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

He was no doubt baited into it. If the bloggers here spewed half as much vitriol in real life as they do on this site, I wouldn’t blame Cronje for taking a swing at his antagonist. Hell, had I been within earshot, I probably woulda given ‘ol Lionel a hand.

• 28.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

OK, I could probably revise that comment, but you all get my drift, I’m sure.

• 29.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

It’s tough being in the limelight. Trust me I know. You have a traget on your back sometimes, any oke with a couple of Kraaifontein Cocktails on him thinks he’s going to be the man and show you a thing or two. Whatever it was, the truth will probably out in a day or two….. :)

• 30.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

Kraaifontein Cocktails :lol:

• 31.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy:

So erm, Stormersboy… Pray tell, what exactly were you in the limelight for?

• 32.Warpath: Reply to this comment

uhm, just move Sirel to 13, Fourie to 12 and bring Aplon to 14…simple?

• 33.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan:Well there was this ex-beauty queen, a circus clown, myself and a case of Johnny Blue…..and that’s when all the trouble started…..

Never mind. Nothing, forget I said anything. That’s what anonymous blogging is all about, after all….. :)

• 34.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@Warpath:

Yes, that’s right hey, Sireli plays his rugby for Fiji at centre. Could work.

• 35.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: 33

Hmmm… This didn’t happen to all take place at a Polo match, did it?

• 36.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Warpath:

Because Fourie cant pass,Sireli cant tackle and never played together as a combo.also both havent played those positions more tha 5 times in professional careers.

• 37.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Yes, at Kurland in fact, but we were just “clowning around”…

• 38.Warpath: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami: Sireli can’t tackle?..thats new..he is one of fiji’s best defenders and weirdly our best linebreaker 2 years ago in the Pacific Nations Cup..only thing he lacks is speed, though his acceleration (which looks like a moped going down a road) is quite good

• 39.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy:

Soooooo… Either you got into a fight with the guy that’s currently shagging Lee-Anne Liebenberg, or you are the guy that’s currently shagging Lee-Anne (HIGH 5!)

• 40.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Let me set the record straight. I was kidding about me being in the limelight, but I have been fortunate enough to have spent a great deal of time around top level professional sportsmen over the years, both professionally and over time, personally too. I’ve seen the **** that they have to put up with from a sometimes well meaning public, which is all fun and games, but occasionally someone just behaves like a do3s. And that’s when things sometimes get interresting.

I’ll tell you a story from a while back that will bring a smile to you face:

Some years ago (last century in fact) I was at the J&B Met with 2 WP players, one being a very large loose forward, who were getting quite a lot of attention from a slighly tipsy blonde in one of the marquees. The blonde had obviously set her sights on the slightly smaller, but more well known of the 2, but it wasn’t really working out, as said player’s girlfriend made an inopportune appearance. Not to be deterred, the tipsy blond slinked over to the big fella, and, not having recognised him, asked in her best “come hither” voice: “So, what is it that YOU do…?”. The big fella looked down into his drinks glass, pondered the question for a bit and responded with a complete deadpan expression:…

“I’m a Jockey…..”

• 41.Ned: Reply to this comment

jaaa….toe kry daai windgat laaitie lekker op sy moer…

• 42.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy: 40

BWAAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAA!! Even big forwards got jokes yo :lol:

• 43.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Warpath:

Sireli cant tackle front on,which is medium for outside centre birth,plus at 13 you are the marshall of the line calling etc..Sireli cant do that.period

• 44.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

And where the hell is JJ?

• 45.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

One of his team-mates ought to have whacked him with a woman’s handbag and made him cry. That’s what more evolved team-mates do for a wasted, stroppy compadre.

• 46.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Leigh Anne Liebenberg sounds like the wrestler who beat up Sky-High Lee, that blerry Yankee. Pass me the popcorn, chewing-gum peanuts and bubble-gum, Daddy.

• 47.Quagmire: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: Now you can only call it sugar balls these days – the song has been edited for PC reasons of course. Ag Pleeez!!

• 48.Quagmire: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah: Last I heard JJ was on the TV show Good Times! Kid DynOmite!

• 49.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Those sugars have no sense of humour, hey?

• 50.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler: 46

I highly suggest you Google Image Lee-Anne Liebenberg, and see what comes up, bru.

• 51.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: Look, I don’t think that anyone will disagree that Lee-Anne is smoking hot. And lovely in person too, which isn’t always the case. But I’ll agree with Tackler there, when she opens her mouth she sounds like a cross between The Nanny and that Amanda Forrow woman who used to be on Five FM…. Amusing for the first 5 minutes but after that….

• 52.olly.B: Reply to this comment

its quiet funny because the guy that cronje was in a fight with… he my friend and the guy is still in high school, and he put lionel in the hospital. how weak is cronje. lol.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.