Lions call on shrink

GLRU president Kevin de Klerk won’t fly out to New Zealand, but instead psychologist Henning Gericke has been called out.

In a press release on Saturday morning, the Lions president said he would join up with the Lions to provide ‘moral support’. Now he has opted against that, and Gericke will attempt to restore the damaged psyche of the players after five straight losses and a 73-12 hiding from the Waratahs.

The 2007 Springbok World Cup-winning sports psychologist has worked with the side in the latter part of last year and for their two earlier home games in this year’s campaign.

‘After reviewing the current situation over the weekend,’ said De Klerk, ‘I have decided not to undertake the trip to New Zealand. Instead I’ve decided to send our team psychologist, Dr. Henning Gericke, in my place.

‘I have full confidence in the coaching staff and in Henning’s ability to lift the team, and I am certain that they will bounce back over the next weekend.’

De Klerk said he couldn’t afford to be away from the office at this time.

‘There are many commercial and other commitments that have to be attended to – both at the Union and within my own business – and again, after careful thought, it has become evident that the 12 days away from the office could not be sacrificed.

‘Again, I wish to reiterate that I have full confidence in the coaching staff and the team to do this turn around.’

The Lions face the seven-time champions, the Crusaders on Saturday.

61 Comments

• 1.Grrrr....I used to be a Lion!: Reply to this comment

A Dragon to late….

• 2.Grrrr....I used to be a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Is the shrink going to play fullback in stead of Rose?

If not save the money on that air ticket….

• 3.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

At this point, they’ll need a combination of Tony Robbins, Deepak Chopra, and the Dalai Lama to inspire them :lol:

• 4.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

In a hypothetical stretch of the imagination, imagine the state Ruan Pienaar would have been in if he was plying his trade at the Lions… He woulda been on the brink of his third nervous breakdown by now :lol: :lol:

• 5.SamM: Reply to this comment

Just heard that the Crusaders have also called in a shrink to help them contain their laughter during next week game

• 6.Paws: Reply to this comment

How about finding a defensive coach and sending him?

How about finding a proper rugby coach and sending him? .. incase you don’t know what he looks like, he is now back at the bulls as there director of rugby you %$#@ idiots.
    Only the Linos will have a chance to hire HM, and then chose **** .. %$#@

%$#@ lins board .. a-holes.

• 7.Sonito: Reply to this comment

HaHAHA. Kevin de Klerk must read this blog.

• 8.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

Wise decision by de Klerk not to go to New Zealand as it will be a massacre of note for the next 2 home games for the Crusaders and Highlanders.

They will also want to pleasure themselves at the expense of the Leeu’tjies.

The Christchurch & Dunedin bells will toll and the Kop Dokter is not going to stop the blood letting and crying.

This is like canned Lion hunting and the Lions have been stuck in the dark ages with no hope of getting out of this funk with the lot they have at the Coke Tin.

**** Muir is caught in the headlights and there is not a squeak from him in turning this around. Why? Because his masters at the Coke Tin are in a meltdown and it shows on the field.

• 9.Gordon Gekko: Reply to this comment

The Poll above right has left out the Admin & MisMngmnt as an option.

Who’s to blame for the Lions’ rotten form?

A combination of all three

The players

The coach

The Management.

Total Votes: 924
    Started: March 12, 2010

• 10.RedLion: Reply to this comment

:cry:

I wanted to fly there but I don’t have my powers

• 11.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@RedLion:

I think you would be the Lions only hope.

• 12.Grrrr....I used to be a Lion!: Reply to this comment

It is actually quite laughable…

“Don’t worry, nothing is wrong but we are sending over the head doctor to help you okes in your time of need.”

Really, what message does that send?

What is he going to do anyway….

• 13.Thistle: Reply to this comment

clearly they don’t know what they are doing,just the otehr day they said he was going,,,,, I’m going, no I’m not, I’m going, no I’m not….. hell no wonder the Lions are in disarray

• 14.rangerman: Reply to this comment

jake “winning ways” white must be thanking his lucky stars he got out while he did.

dickie has no chance with this bunch but might lift them to the level of the wildebeests by sometime next year.

• 15.RedLion: Reply to this comment

@Sonito: if I had my Hancock powers Rose’s head will be right up Chavangas *** right now.

• 16.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Well at this fkg stage I need a psychologist as much as the fgkg useless team.

They have driven me MAL!

And the booze has stopped working.

So Henning – just keep flying anti-clockwise. I am at the top, in the middle. Of the USA. Which is something of a relief because no one knows fokkol about rugby, let alone the Lions.

• 17.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: If I had Hancok’s powers they would be “pulling a train”.

Seriously there are SA professional rugby players in Devon Second Division better than these pallookas.

• 18.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Calm.

• 19.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: ag cmon man, give us a roar.

or at least a little ditty about the sharks.

and while you are at it, tell me if you think the lions will concede over a 1000 points this year?

• 20.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: This is worse than when you gave up ***, which depressed me for quite a while.

• 21.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

De Klerk says both the Lions “and his other business” require him to be in SA at this point in time.

Why does de Klerk have another business that also needs running while being president of the Lions franchise at the same time?

What is this? Is he running the Lions during his lunch breaks at his day job? During the night shift? Is he taking leave at his main business in order to attend Lions board meetings?

Geez these guys are amateurs. No wonder they’re losing by 60 point margins and sitting with Creative **** as their head coach.

Get a guy who can give his full attention to the job to serve as your leader, for goodness sake.

• 22.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Pot Kettle Black

• 23.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

PLUS I have to go through the nerve wracking support of an average 3′rd Division English Football team.

• 24.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus: Aye.

• 25.katman: Reply to this comment

I hear “psychologist” and I look at a guy like Willem Stoltz and I can’t help but think that this plan is a bit like sending a Bulls supporter to the Louvre.

• 26.RedLion: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: not even the Sharks song will cheer me up. :sad:

• 27.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: sorry soda, couldnt resist having a pop back at redlion.

i have family who are lifelong lions supporters and i feel for you guys.

• 28.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@katman: Thank goodness we have Yak skiing to fall back on. The Lions Yak skiing team is the best in South Africa by far.

• 29.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Honestly, have these guys not heard of video conferencing?

• 30.Sonito: Reply to this comment

@RedLion:

Stay Strong, RedLion!!

• 31.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

I have never given up ON ***.

Rest assured.

• 32.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: Bushy, both of us are having a depressing season.

However I can always see Sharks getting out of the mess, but the whole kit and caboodle in Johannesburg need to go fishing, or attempt to learn something from our world class yak skiing team.

The yak skiing team have: Good players, who work hard at tehir craft and are not show ponies or one trick ponies. Good administrators who know what to do and who are professional and competent. And they have a coach who can coach.

• 33.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus:

Exactly.

Even Jerry Jones owner of the Dallas Cowboys and Chairman Jones Oil/Land Lease quit the latter to concentrate on Cowboys.

And he made his fortune on Oil/Gas exploration

• 34.Sonito: Reply to this comment

As long as the Sharks beat the Stormers to knock them out of the Semi finals. I will be happy. :wink:

• 35.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Well – light at teh end of the tunnel, the world is just a little bit sunnier.

Now go and find a handsome devil from up North, none of these half-*** Cape Town “men” are worth the time or money.

• 36.katman: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: You say that, but I have it on good authority that the Yak Skiing Federation’s bid to have the sport included in the next winter Olympics has already been thrown out. What’s the use then of having the best Yak Skiers in the world?

• 37.brains_trust: Reply to this comment

sad to say but the Lions are an embarrassment to the other SA Rugby franchises in the S14

• 38.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami: I suggest the Reverend Jim Jones would be a good role model for the “mighty” Lions.

• 39.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

What about the Lions curling team?

• 40.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Seriously.

I am SO looking for a Scot!

I luv ‘em!

• 41.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@katman: I blame it on the International Federation Of Yak Skiing. They are also useless. They are useless as the gin-soaks of the International Rugby Board who are so dof the don’t even own rugby.com (Ralph Lauren does).

• 42.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Nah, you’re fkn confused by the accent, the pale pasty fellas with love handles with red hair on them. The kilt is a strategy to hide the hairy love handles.

Also they eat fried Mars Bars.

I have one word for you when it comes to men – Johannesburg.

• 43.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: We’re kak at that too. But I heard that Eddie The Eagle was training our ski jumpers and we are looking quite skillful.

• 44.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:

Ag please man.

I watch Scotland in the 6 Nations

None of them match your description.

And they have whiskey on tap.

• 45.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: That’s like saying all American men look like Brad Pitt.

But they do have whisky.

BUT they also drink Iron Brew. Yukkk! The worst cool drink ever made.

Tennent’s might be teh worst beer ever made, actually that’s not true American Light beer is worse.

• 46.toddke: Reply to this comment

Now for any Palooka who opposes the Southern Kings to replace this lot, then please stand up and raise your hand.

Seriously, how long have the Lions been at this? This is embarrassing to SA Rugby. So pull finger SARU and replace these clowns with someone else. And not in 2015 either. 2011, and before the Melbourne Rebels take all SA’s talented youngsters.

• 47.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@toddke: 46. You are right. It seems even the Kings wold be more worthy than the Surrender *******. (Lions)

• 48.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Dawn: Dawnie. The Scots do not have “whiskey”. That is reserved for the Irish. The Scots have “Whisky”.

• 49.nr nine: Reply to this comment

Maybe there is to much pressure on this young team, I do not know, i try and stay positive but what the hel!

GO LI…. STORMERS!!!!!!!!!!!

• 50.Transformation: Reply to this comment

mjekevu must be bawling his eyes out!

• 51.Thistle: Reply to this comment

45. SodaJoe Hmmm IronBru,, a great drink, they sell more of this cold drink than Coca Cola in Scotland… I see you can get it locally now… mostly in JHB so that’s why their rugby has gone to the Scots …

• 52.GatvolLeeuFan: Reply to this comment

When are they sending rugby players?

• 53.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

FFS does this guy still run his own business on the side? So he is an amateur just like the tossers before him?

Do these guys never learn? Rugby is a professional sport now dammit- and requires the full time attention of professionals- in admin as well, not just the players.

His stupid decision to come across “for moral support” was ridiculous to start off with – what the hell did he think he was going to do that **** has not already tried? A rousing speech? Leading a haka? FFS!!! He probably wanted to look for business opportunities in Oz for his business. Can you spell “conflict of interest”?

Anyway I am glad he realised that it was blatantly obviously a gravy train trip, and got someone eles who might be useful to go.

That Lions admins setup is still clearly as amateur and dumbass as ever. The rot RUNS REAL DEEP.

• 54.rugbynut: Reply to this comment

Why don’t they both go? No money? The Lions administartion has become such a joke. Why does SA Rugby accept such medoicrity?

• 55.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@rugbynut: 54. Because SA Rugby administrators are mediocre…

• 56.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@SjamBok: Well said.

• 57.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

roflmao! Are they for real?

• 58.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

@toddke:
    I raise my hand!

Let the Kings assemble their squad now (with players signing a firm commitment to play for the franchise for the next three seasons, to have committed sponsors, etc., etc.) and, at season’s end, play a home and away fixture against the bottom finishing SA franchise.

If it’s the Lions, **** as they are, I will bet my bottom dollar they’ll thrash the Kings.

The winner of the play-off then progresses to Super 15 2011, and so on and so on until finally the Kings earn the right to play in the big league.

Simply replacing the Lions with the Kings will shower even greater embarrassment on SA rugby.

Anyone who challenges the Lions’ right to be in Super rugby needs to remember we have earned that right…after all, we, along with only the Bulls, HAVE a Super rugby title to our name, albeit a Super 10 title.

• 59.Joe Maher: Reply to this comment

Of course, in post 58, final para, I’m referring to SA franchises only…not for a minute diluting the achievements of Crusaders, Brumbies, Blues…

• 60.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Re the Lions , funny that now no-one is mentioning Jake Whites name.

• 61.Grrrr....I used to be a Lion!: Reply to this comment

I’m going to watch this this coming weekend just to have a good laugh.

GO STORMERS!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.