Lions’ woes gives Kings credibility
15 Mar 2010
Hennie le Roux believes it will take at least four years until the Lions can compete at Super Rugby level.
Friday’s 73-12 hiding from the Waratahs was another embarrassment for the once-proud union. Two out of five matches this season they’ve conceded over 70 points, while 29 tries have also been scored against them, making them the worst defensive unit in the competition.
Coach Dick Muir is clearly trying to get the players to play a brand of rugby that doesn’t suit them. The Lions have no current top internationals in their squad, but even without the big names, there is no excuse for the lack of a plan and not being competitive.
Muir has failed to instill structure on attack or defence, and the results have been patent as the players lack a clear plan.
‘Psychologically, the players must be confused,’ former Lions flyhalf Le Roux told keo.co.za. ‘But the key thing for me is why the Lions don’t have one Springbok in their side.’
Le Roux retired after the 2000 season, when the Cats ended fourth on the Super 12 log and lost to the Brumbies in the semi-finals.
‘In 2000, the financials at the union read that there was R88 million available. Now you’ll find that’s very different [in 2007 the GLRU generated operating losses of R14.839 million].
‘In the last eight or nine years they’ve bought the wrong players and have been doing the wrong things. Now they’ve got players at the bottom of the barrel.
‘Climbing out of this hole could take another four to eight years. You can’t get into the top six in this competition without at least three or four Boks.’
No international in the peak of his career would want to go to the Lions, as proved by Carl Hayman and Simon Shaw rejecting offers, while Jaque Fourie left last year as he looked to get out of the losing culture in Johannesburg. The lack of pride shown by the players in the Sydney massacre also suggests many problems within the camp, while Muir’s purchase of Carlos Spencer was a poor one – continuing with the trend of recent years.
However, Le Roux believes the problems have been caused by those higher up.
‘For me, the problem is much deeper than taking a pot-shot at the players. Dick’s purchases depend on his views and the player must fit in with the game-plan. I hope Carlos is still good enough but we can’t blame this all on him.’
As another long season awaits, the Lions’ long-term involvement in the competition as a single entity must be questioned. With the Southern Kings looking for a spot in the Super 15, the best option would see the Cats franchise revisited.
In 2000 and 2001 the Cats – comprising of players from the Cheetahs and Lions – made the play-offs.
‘There’s no doubt it’s a bit of a stretch for the Lions to come back and be the union they once were,’ said Le Roux. ‘Decisions need to be made for the long-term, and not for next week.’
Although the current administration sit with the problems of the last decade caused by their predecessors, CEO Manie Reyneke and president Kevin de Klerk must take the blame for Muir’s appointment. There was no continuity or planning from the Currie Cup to the Super 14, and the outcome is the Lions again fighting for the wooden spoon.
Le Roux was critical of the union’s past administration, and feels it will be difficult to rectify the situation in the near future, giving further credibility to Kings’ inclusion in place of the Lions.
‘These results are disappointing to say the least. It’s evident the union was run by people incompetent in their particular industry. It has long-term knock-on effects, and the current administration are still feeling it. There have been changes in the last six months, but the downward spiral has been to such an extent that it’s difficult to get traction.
‘Friday’s result is a manifestation of what’s been happening for the last decade.’
By Grant Ball

81 Comments
15 Mar 2010, 05:02 am
The reason the Cats made the playoffs in 2000 & 2001 is because they did not have a freckled ****** for a coach.
15 Mar 2010, 05:16 am
The “Kings”/”Spears” (whatever) have as much credibility as EP-Border-SWD. Pathetic teams. Easybeats.
In the rugby world, that’s so close to total zero credibility as makes no difference.
The imaginary and fictional “Kings” can never gain any brownie points by the failure, however dismal of any other SA franchise.
Only a clot could dream otherwise.
So, the task is clear: first get EP-Border-SWD to actually win the leagues in which they all traditionally languish in the cellar. Only then will anyone take them and their Super Rugby fantasies seriously.
15 Mar 2010, 07:09 am
You will always struggle to attract sufficient supporters to Ellis Park from the Northern Suburbs. Best to build a new stadium in Randburg or move the players to P.E.
15 Mar 2010, 07:38 am
like i said yesterday … only 2 NZ wins in 2 weeks ..thanks to the saders …. drop a NZ team, their time is up and the seats empty … bye bye NZ – the Wes Indies of rugby
15 Mar 2010, 07:44 am
Bring on the Kings, new venue/regions, new culture, new beginnings, the ***** Cats are tired and in need of a shake up, I don’t think SARU should give them 4 years. Time for change..
15 Mar 2010, 07:49 am
@ Posts
I have been saying it for years now, sell Ellis Park to a soccer club, and build a stadium in a more suitable location, was the rugby public feel safe to go and watch the game. I love Ellis Park, still one of the best stadiums once you are inside, but what a **** location of late. Parking is always an issue, if you don’t buy your parking ticket at Computicket. If you decide to go and watch the game at the last minute you will not find suitable parking.
The other thing is people like to “kuier” and braai before and after the game, but you can’t really do it at Coca Cola Park, what a joke for a name anyway. So I agree fully with you POSTS, sell the stadium and build a new one. I really don’t think our current management understand their target demographic and this stage.
15 Mar 2010, 08:04 am
@ Thistle
To bring the Spears in the S14 is not the answer. Look at the Reds, they got a decent coach and look at them now, playing good rugby. The Reds are playing for each other, and they are looking better and better each week. Muir was not the answer; we needed someone like H Meyer who believes in structures, not flashy rugby.
Believe me Thistle the Spears will get hammered 100 points plus every game in the S14, now that will be embarrassing. The thing is the Lions management is to blame for this demise in the Unions status as a rugby powerhouse, for making the wrong calls. First of all they never should have used Jake White to make his assessments; the axing of Loffie was not the answer. If Loffie had some sort comings with his coaching, why was he not assisted by White to rectify this?
Secondly we just need a couple of clever people to make the right decisions for a change. People that can make rugby and business decisions at the same time.
15 Mar 2010, 08:18 am
15 Mar 2010, 09:05 am
@RedLion: Don’t listen to them Red. I admire a team, with no Boks, that front up and give it their all.
In Oz the ARU would offer assistance, as they are the Reds. I don’t know if it works that way in SA, but it would be nice if there was an extended olive branch. The Bulls helped the Sharkes with players… perhaps a little management tutorial would help.
I mean this in all sincerity, no smart ar$e intent.
15 Mar 2010, 09:23 am
Time to cull these kittens!
They had their time and it’s up. Give the Spears a go.
15 Mar 2010, 09:25 am
Or Kings or whatever their names are now…
15 Mar 2010, 09:29 am
@Blue Lion: As far as I know they can’t sell it because they don’t own Fanta Grape Park.
15 Mar 2010, 09:46 am
@K00s:
You are joking………………..surely???????????????
15 Mar 2010, 10:03 am
Spot on, Hennie, the problems are deep and will take a plan, a will and patience to rectify.
We’ve been saying this for years, yet nothing ever happens at this union to pull it our of the mire.
But please, the Kings are not the answer…the Lions, **** as they undoubtedly are, would thrash the Kings. Better that the Kings start assembling a squad now, in anticipation of a play-off, home and away, with the worst of the SA franchises, to see who plays in 2011.
And no resurrection of the Cats, either. Geographically, the only union could be between the Bulls and the Lions, playing out of a new Midrand stadium, under the name of The Gauteng Thunderstorms or Gauteng Lightning, for example.
I know Bulls fans will poo-poo it, saying they don’t want our useless mob, they’re doing just fine by themselves. But we will rise again, and when we do, just imagine what a great franchise we’d have, with Super titles aplenty…
I can dream, can’t I?
15 Mar 2010, 10:04 am
@Mary Lynn: He has a point
15 Mar 2010, 10:11 am
Jeez guys, I’m so sick of this Lions **** that I’m seriously considering turning my back on them. I’ve had it. Chances are good that the Stormers will get one supporter added to their growing list. I’ve been sticking my neck out for the Lions for too long. Hell no!
15 Mar 2010, 10:24 am
@Katsesnor: Dude, this last weekend was the straw that broke the camels back. I’m done with this team. Year in and year out it’s the same old story. I’m now throwing my hat in with the Stormers, my home team and where I watch my rugby. Even told my dad this weekend. He said it is fine, I can support who ever I want. Heck, he even thanked me. Said I made it very easy when he has to redo his will, none of this dividing business…. Even so, I have jumped the sinking ship that is the Lions. Care to join me? GO STORMERS!
15 Mar 2010, 10:28 am
The Lions/Cats wrote off Chester Williams, Frans Ludeke, Loffie Eloff, Laurie Mains and now **** Muir.
Their problems are bigger than just a string of ‘bad’ coaches.
15 Mar 2010, 10:35 am
The problem is not that the team has no Springboks. The problem is that the coach and administrators are clueless!!
Get rid of the whole bunch and get some people in who are passionate about rugby.
Where is Louis Luyt when you need him??
15 Mar 2010, 10:39 am
Some of u ppl are jus nt the btightest at all!
15 Mar 2010, 10:40 am
@usualsuspect: Next time you want to insult people learn to spell first….
15 Mar 2010, 10:44 am
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!:
lol im nt insulting ppl,jus callin a spade a spade!by the way i can spell,jus tht we all nt perfect and we can make mistakes!By the way hw about u stick with ur team and stop being a follower!
15 Mar 2010, 10:49 am
@usualsuspect: Surely if you support a team, you are a follower of that team? You seem to make a lot of mistakes in your posts. Where are the capital letters? And you appear to be adverse to including vowels in your words.
aeiou – There, I gave you set, feel free to use them. For good measure I shall include a “y” as you seem to not have one of them either.
15 Mar 2010, 11:01 am
Hold on a minute here Okes!
Roll back the insults for a moment. Take in some fresh air, pause, touch, then engage the brain.
- The Season is a quarter the way through. Lets wait a bit before consigning this Team of battlers to the dustbin of World Rugby.
- ******** Muir is attempting to build from “Ground Zero”. With no Boks and a Team used to being walloped. This is no easy job.
- At times the Lions have shown some spine and the will to win, I for one like their positive attacking attitude.
- Lions have scored more points than the Stormers.
- Lions have won as many games as the Sharkies.
- True, Points Against does leave room for improvement.
“Rome was not built in day”.
15 Mar 2010, 11:04 am
@usualsuspect: I have supported this team for close to 26 years. In those 26 years 11 of those they haven’t won anything. Winning is not everything but the way this team is run they don’t deserve to be supported. Personally I have had enough and since I live in Cape Town I will now support the local team. Haven’t been to Ellis Park in 15 years and not planning in going there any time soon. You can choose who you support, so can I. I choose the Stormers.
15 Mar 2010, 11:05 am
“- Lions have scored more points than the Stormers”
LOL …. wtf???
15 Mar 2010, 11:05 am
@usualsuspect: Post 20.
I have never seen anyone on here claiming to be the “brightest”.
15 Mar 2010, 11:06 am
@cane: The worry is that the Lions have gone from Rome to ground zero. They have constantly tried to rebuild, but failed due to mismanagement, poor player management and poor recruitment. If this was the first season where this has happened, that would be fine, but it is the 6 or 7 I do believe.
They don’t have the structures or materials with which to build a better team. A player like Burton Francis has regresesd in his performance levels, and signings such as Carlos Spencer drain the bank account and give the youngsters a poor example to follow. **** Muir might be building from ground zero, but his plans and way of doing aren’t effective.
15 Mar 2010, 11:07 am
@K00s:
Slow day over on the Rebel Site Koos?
P.S. You must be pleased with the Cheats improved showing so far.
15 Mar 2010, 11:08 am
@WOLFMAN21:
If u notice,He used to b a lion….and nw like every Tom **** and Harry ppl are all of a sudden stormers supporters….hence he following the rest.Its funny hw we as human beings tend to follow each other,jus last year the stormers didnt have much support!
Secondly tymz hav changed,i am nt 50 yrs old like some of u ppl,so 2 save tym,i dnt nid 2 use capital letters,this is nt a hi skul essay and i dnt nid 2 impress nebody!all tht matters is tht u can read wat im sayin and i suspect u will respond wich beyond reasonable doubt shows u undastand wat i am sayin!
Look i am nt here to insult anybody,but jus reading thru sum of these posts it makes me realize hw sum ppl think,i mean all of a sudden nw,**** Muir is a “******”,or hw the kings dnt deserve a chance and blah blah!
15 Mar 2010, 11:10 am
Cane … well done on the NZ team performances … 2 wins in 2 weeks …
15 Mar 2010, 11:15 am
@usualsuspect: I’m not even going to read that. Learn to type like a normal human being, until then your opinion will not count.
15 Mar 2010, 11:19 am
@K00s:
Swings and roundabouts Koos.
(actually it’s even worse than that. The wins have only been in NZ Vs NZ situations).
HOWEVER………….being lectured on a lack of wins by a Cheetahs Supporter, is a bit like being given a lesson on food hygiene by Suzie.
15 Mar 2010, 11:21 am
I do think SARU will have to re-visit how the players are allocated to the franchises (clealry its not working), perhaps go the similar way of drafting, we can not have a franchise with three/four Springboks for the same position and the other franchises battling to field a competitive side. I think Hennie is correct when he says that the winning culture is just not there , they are confused, I agree the long term vision should be to revive the Cats and look a introducing another franchise to replace the Lions, be it the Spears Kings – I don’t care SARU have a responsibility to get involved.if we don;t change then the bottom line is the Aus Dollar is more attractive to our fringe- up & comming players, they’re going to be attracted to places like Melbourne, Perth & Sydney, hell Rugby League in Australia are now targeting our youngsters.
15 Mar 2010, 11:21 am
@usualsuspect: Firstly, the Kings don’t “deserve” a chance. They have done nothing to “deserve” a chance. They are given a chance because they are perceived as being “entitled” to a chance.
2ndly, da reactions u c ere r da reactions of peeps who r disgruntled and angry at sumting they feel very passion8 about (I can also do it). Otherwise they wouldn’t be on this blog, making emotional posts lamenting the failures and weaknesses of their team.
Thirdly, in order to read and understand your post, I had to dumb myself down to the level of your writing, so I downed a bottle of Vodka, and read your post aloud in a voice crossed between George W. and Malema through squinty eyes. Language does develop, fair point, but you write as though you are illiterate. Good luck when you hit university or the real world. “hi skul” seriously dude, what the hell?
15 Mar 2010, 11:24 am
Lions will finish the year with 3 wins.
All at home.
Reds, Sharkies and Force will lose to the Bloomtown Rats.
Plus 5 bonus points.
Lower mid-table finish. Better the many previous years.
15 Mar 2010, 11:27 am
Cane ..still blame Suzie? How would you prefer to play a final? With 4 or 5 players will a bit of a upset stumic? Or 3 or so players with broken bones (in SA’s case) Then there is also that try of Ruben …
15 Mar 2010, 11:30 am
@cane: Get you facts correct before your heart speaks…..Stormers have scored 140 points and concieded 51 points the Canned Lions however have scored 121 points (Of what 60 points was from the game they lost) and they concieded 228 points (that is almost 5 times more than the Stormers)
And yes Rome was not built in a day, but the Lions stopped building a loooooooong time ago and now they are only crumbling!
15 Mar 2010, 11:31 am
Well, I did say this before the season: wrong time to build a new team! Yeah, this team has the potentional (without Carlos) to become great, but with the looming Kings, it was the worst decision ever made at the union. Luyt definitely wouldn’t have done it. Bet ya he’s waiting for a big offer from the union.
15 Mar 2010, 11:32 am
@cane: Not to dissappoint you mate, but please look again.
Lions have scored 121 points (of which more than half came from 1 game!!). Stormers scored 140 points.
Let’s not even start comparing points difference – Lions worst in Super 14, Stormers best, etc. etc. etc.
15 Mar 2010, 11:35 am
@cane: Maybe the Lions will also finish the season with a full-time backline coach?
15 Mar 2010, 11:36 am
Wolfman21,,, Hmmmm,,, not that the Kings deserve a chance. The franchises were allocated by SARU, they can revisit their allocation of these franchises. They were not allocated on performances they were allocated per regions, the Coastal Sharks comprised KZN, EP & Border, the Stormers (remember that amazing first jersey) represented Boland and WP. The Cats comprised of Cheetahs and the Lions. I don’t know how SARU allowed the Coastal Sharks to get to where they are today. I think we could spend weeks talking about SARU allowing the Eastern Cape unions to fall apart, however the reality is the Eastern Cape needs franchise representation, so do not assume its solely based on entitlement or performance, there are bigger things in South Africa that still need to be addressed, however if you’re an EXPAT you will not want to hear about the need to make things right, it has to happen. This is South Africa time to move on..
15 Mar 2010, 11:38 am
@WTF?!?:
**** sorry WTF?!
My local Newspaper here in Wellington must have made a printing error.
They have the Storm Boys as 103 points for.
15 Mar 2010, 11:38 am
@WOLFMAN21:
lol u crack me up u knw tht!I will tell u y the kings desreve a chance!Firstly the hounest truth of the matter is tht in the past the EC was nt given a chance!Your SARU back then did nt assist the province,they had ur traansvaals rather 2 pump money in2!Your mark Andrews.Rassie Erusmus etc all from EC but they had 2 move,as money talks!today,Rory,Kanko,Luke watson,Potgieter,Brent Russe,Wandile,Ndungane,the list goes on and on,all from the EC!allot of the talent comming thru is from the EC,but are ur freinds doing anything to develop the province…..no!Look at the Varsity Cup…Francois Peinaar and his freinds at FNB are pumping money in already well established Universities (all White) if i may add.I mean Pukke,UCT,Shimlas,Maties are all already moneyed up….wat about fort hare,uwc,Wits etc,y nt grow the game ther!You still have the Craven Week….Danie Craven is the very same person who said a Black Person will never play rugby….!The EC,Black ppl have been skrewed ova interms of rugga and i think they deserve a chance,its nt as if the lions or the cheetahs hav been doin the nation proud!Look at hw they played against the BIL…….we nid 2 c wat they can offer!
LOL who says i am nt a graduate my man?or i am nt working already?Assumtions is the mother of all **** Ups Chap!
15 Mar 2010, 11:44 am
Muir was the wrong choice, not only is he one of the boks assistant coaches and thus has a job much more important than this one, making the lions job almost a side project but rather they should have employed someone who has developed lasting structures at other teams, if you look at the Sharks you can see that there was no lasting structure created there (previous coach was..you guess it..it was ****).
The Lions need some proffesional structures in the long term and some wins in the short term (to inspire any player to think of playing there).
15 Mar 2010, 11:44 am
@Breakdown Boy:
My sincere apologies for casting dispersions on the Storm Boys points scoring achievements to date.
I was wrong.
Not by a great deal…………….but wrong.
15 Mar 2010, 11:47 am
New look Lions:
1. Heinke Van Der Merwe
2. Hanyani Shimange
3. Faan Rautenbach
4. Jacques Lombaard
5. Franco Van Der Merwe
6. Cobus Grobelaar
7. Wikus Van Heerden (captain)
8. Joe Van Niekerk
9. Jano Vermaak
10. Burton Francis
11. Wandile Mjekevu
12. Frans Steyn
13. Marius Joubert
14. Tonderia Chavhanga
15. Brent Russell
16. CJ Van Der Linde
17. Danie Coetzee
18. Francois Van Der Merwe (The Dentist)
19. Ernst Joubert
20. Jacques Coetzee
21. Deon Van Rensburg
22. Earl Rose
Better?
15 Mar 2010, 11:48 am
@cane: No worries…it’s been a tough year for newspapers and the first people that get fired when newspapers struggle are the sub editors and their main job is to look for mistakes.
In future, mabey check figures online…keo, silverfern or what ever rugby website makes you boat float…
@Thistle: Your post has basically agreed with mine. In order to right the wrongs of the past (which is admirable and needed) the Eastern Cape are entitled to a franchise. As you have said, it is not based on the comparative weaknesses of the Lions or the playing strengths of the Eastern Cape Dragons (this is, in my opinion, the best name for them).
My use of the word entitlement did not carry any negative connectation with it. If the Eastern Cape Dragons do play in the Super 15 it is because they would have been granted the right, hence they would have been entitled to it.
You appear a touch bitter towards expats-what a bizarre attitude. Many people move around the world these days for economic, educational and social reasons. Not every expat is a racist fleeing South Africa or TheTackler – just ask any number of South African sportsmen or Marius Kloppers, for example.
@cane: Stormers on 89 points diff…best so far
15 Mar 2010, 11:51 am
Lions fans here on Keo,
are generally speaking,
a Better Class of fan than some of the other Franchises.
Redlion being the exception to that generalisation.
15 Mar 2010, 11:56 am
Lions should open the cheque books and buy:
CJ Van Der Linde
Hanyani Shimange
Francois Van Der Merwe
Ernst Joubert
Joe Van Niekerk
Derick Hougaard
Marius Joubert
Brent Russell
15 Mar 2010, 11:59 am
Wolfman, will be honest there are EXPATS that only like SA Bashing,,, there are that still support the need for change I prefer the latter. I think we do however agree there has to be some changes made to the current franchise system, however I don’t think changing the Lions to another name will make the difference that is required, this franchise is in need of a huge paradigm change, perhaps send the current bunch of administrators and coaches off to planet Zanussi to start a rugby team…..
15 Mar 2010, 12:00 pm
Puff , where they going to get the money ?
15 Mar 2010, 12:01 pm
@cane: Post 50.
Redlion……………….That was not a serious post …………………..so remove the needle from the ******* doll’s shoulder right now.
please.
15 Mar 2010, 12:05 pm
@cane: 43
Perhaps your newspaper has the stats as they were BEFORE the weekend’s fixtures, where Stormers picked up 37 points (+ 103 = 140) against the Canes.
Use it, don’t use it.
15 Mar 2010, 12:06 pm
@puff: This is a bunch of has-beens if ever…Joe the only one playing decent rugby…I suppose the Lions could do no worse..?
15 Mar 2010, 12:07 pm
@Thistle: There are certainly some Expats who enjoy bashing SA, as there are many South Africans who also enjoy bashing the country. Polite dinner time conversation in SA often tends to focus on the weaknesses of the country and ineptitude of the government.
I think that SARU should have said last year that for the start of the Super 15 they are going to investigate the franchising for the competition and assign five franchises to regions in South Africa. They should have stated that this will be done under a variety of criteria and each region(s) that wants a franchise should apply. For all I care, one criterium could be “Transformation” or something along those lines. Then they could have figured out whether the Eastern Cape Dragons can have a successful team and who should not have a franchise.
15 Mar 2010, 12:08 pm
@cane: My only worry is how you got a lock of hair.
15 Mar 2010, 12:11 pm
@WOLFMAN21: Should read how HE got a lock of YOUR hair.
15 Mar 2010, 12:12 pm
I have two Lions jerseys for sale, one CC one and a Super14 SAA sponsored one. Buy both and get a Lions cap for free. Money will be used towards a Stormer jersey.
Jerseys: R200 each
Cap: R50
Shipping in RSA free if you buy both otherwise R50 for Speed Services.
15 Mar 2010, 12:12 pm
@cane: pretty soon I will be the only Lion left standing. Gone are the other senior Lions like hmmm, cab, grrr who was a Lion, ned, etc.
15 Mar 2010, 12:15 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: 60 – give it to Dawn, she is a true Lion.
15 Mar 2010, 12:16 pm
@RedLion: Sorry bru….
15 Mar 2010, 12:22 pm
let’s face it, most of the side aren’t even proven CC performers. What was everyone expecting to happen?
The fact that the lions go through coaching staff every couple of season’s, when everyone knows that it’ll probably take a 4-5 year turnaround can’t help matters very much.
also the fact that they can’t hold on to their best players is another issue.
15 Mar 2010, 12:23 pm
@4thWiseMan:
Thank You 4th Wise Man. Your explanation taken into consideration with publishing deadlines, time zones, the orbital oscillation of this, Gods Great Blue Masterpiece and Editorial ineptitude makes perfect sense.
(Unfortuneately I cannot retrieve my E-Mail to the Editor of the Newspaper in question).
15 Mar 2010, 12:23 pm
Ironically, on closer analysis, you’ll probably find Ludeke produced the best results in his time with the lions.
15 Mar 2010, 12:26 pm
@<a href="#comment-1541453RedLion:
Last man standing.
Where the Badge with honour.
15 Mar 2010, 12:39 pm
R300 for the lot…?
15 Mar 2010, 12:48 pm
Just been told the price for jumping ship is to give away old kit for free.
It feels wrong to be that cruel though….
15 Mar 2010, 12:53 pm
@Grrrr….I used to be a Lion!: keep those jerseys, they may become priceless if the beautiful go extinct.
15 Mar 2010, 13:19 pm
I feel your pain puff but some of your proposed acquisition would be astronomical in terms of price especially looking at position Lions are lying at both literally/figuratively.Most marquee players would only go to Lions for over-bloated price ala:Man City.
These are my suggestions(plus a few bargains who are quality players)
1. Heinke Van Der Merwe
2. Hanyani Shimange
3. Kevin Buys
4. Wilhelm Steenkamp
5. Francois Van Der Merwe
6. Johan van Deventer
7. Wikus Van Heerden (captain)
8. Ashley Johnson
9. Jano Vermaak
10. Burton Francis/Earl Rose
11. Bjorn Basson
12. Walter Venter
13. Juan de Jongh
14. Tonderia Chavhanga
15. Brent Russell
16. Deon Carstens
17. Richardt Strauss
18. Jacques Lombaard
19. Todd Clever/Derrick Minnie
20. Jacques Coetzee
21. Marius Delport
22. Earl Rose/Francis
15 Mar 2010, 13:24 pm
I think headlines like these pop up when this website doesn’t have anything positive to add and want to stir up some news.
First of all when a team does poorly there is always the “off with their heds” call whether its the coaching staff or now dropping a team from the competition.
Memories are short in rugby. Only a few years ago the Bulls were the worst team ever in the competition having 500 points drilled past them in a single season, finishing last. I don’t think the Lions have ever finished last either – they haven’t won it twice like the Bulls either – were inaugural Super Ten winners. No one called for the axing of the Bulls, or amalgamting them with another team. Things that would have damaged them and look where they are today.
If any other SA team were to come into Super rugby, the last placed SA S14 team should play a home & away leg promotion/relegation game. If this “new” team can’t even beat the Lions, why persevere?
There is still a lot of rugby to be played in this competition and these speculations ALWAYS come too early. The tunnel looks pretty dark for the Lions but they have always been underdogs and have absolutely nothing to lose for the rest of the Super 14. They wont finish last this year of that I’m sure and will once again prove to be their own worst enemy.
15 Mar 2010, 13:34 pm
On another note, wonder if Heineke had got the coaching job if he would have lured D Hougaard from Saracens, they are such big buddies.
The Lions are without a reliable number 10, the basis of a good team. Short a lock, Mr Stolz is a 3 penalties a game player and Jacques Lombaard not getting more time in the starting VX has my puzzled.
There is hope with the likes of Elton Jantjies, Jaco Taute and Earl Lewis waiting to gain experience and play for the Lions in years to come.
15 Mar 2010, 13:44 pm
**** has had a measure of success with several rugby clubs or unions. He can’t have suddenly become a bad coach. Surely the fact that the last few Lions’ head coaches have all been successful elsewhere but have all failed at the Lions means that the problem is not the coaches but the union itself. The Ellis Park management must take the blame.
15 Mar 2010, 13:56 pm
Rose/Burton = k@k …. you need a quality 10. Shimange = hond k@k …
15 Mar 2010, 14:06 pm
at times like this I wish I was Hancock. I would fly over to training session right now, kick Rose between his match sticks and let him chew on some new sweets. Then I would slap off his scrum cap and shove his head up Chavanga’s ***!
You can bet your life that no player wearing a red jersey will want to lose another match.
15 Mar 2010, 15:29 pm
Only in SA will some people want to replace a team doing badley with a team that does not even exist … for crying out loud.
.. then try a deguise it as development … who is going to play for the spears / kings … imports .. many from the lions.
I have no problem if the kigs / spears exist and then beat the lions in 2 promotion / relegation games.
The lions board has to carry most of the blame .. the players don’t chose themselves, and they put the **** coach there. **** is the wrong man for the job .. especialy when you could have had HM.
The fact the a player like earl rose is on the bench, or the starting 15 says it all about the lions. Nobody has ever tried to pouch him and get away with a loop hole in the contract .. he is worth more to every other team in the lions ‘team’
15 Mar 2010, 22:05 pm
I think **** is a good coach- but he is not a good director of rugby for oputting structures in. I thnk when he took teh job, he expected the absolute basics to be there, and did not realise that he would need to build an entirely new union from the ground up, with the stone around his neck of hitting red tape at every turn from a bunch of amateur gravy train freeloaders with hidden agendas. Hell, I am not sure even Heyneke could do this.
At least he had the support of teh unions administrators behind him. I swear that the pst CEO should be sured to give back any money that was pad to him. his affairs and leadership should be investigated and put into a textbook of how NOT to run a business.
What is that d00s doing now? I am sure there are a few ex-supporters that would like to firebomb his shop right now.
16 Mar 2010, 01:29 am
@RedLion:
I’ll be with you, RedLion.
You NEVER, EVER, abandon your team, no matter how tough times are.
You just hope and pray that someone in charge has the sense, the will and the fight to get on with the job of re-building from the ashes.
16 Mar 2010, 01:36 am
@mshiniwami:
I’m always amazed when Chavanga is seen as someone to retain.
Her may have speed but he lac ks every other attribute…good hands, vision, side step, tackling ability, a boot.
No, he should be at the starting line of the 100m sprint, not on a rugby field.
He’s ****, and epitomises the poor buying decisions made by the Lions. Lose class like Habana, van Niekerk, Jantjes, Fourie, Alberts, even Ludik, over the years, replace it with rubbish like Chavanga.
And surely, surely, Doppies is now seen for what he always has been…a journeyman out of his depth at this level.