Nonu cleared

A judiciary has found Hurricanes centre Ma’a Nonu not guilty of foul play.

Nonu was yellow-carded last week in the Canes’ loss to the Cheetahs for a spear-tackle on Juan Smith, and was lucky not to be cited for that infringement. He fell foul of the law again for his tackle on Peter Grant in the 71st minute of their 37-13 loss to the Stormers on Saturday.

On Monday, Sanzar judicial officer Rob Stelzner considered evidence from the player, referee Steve Walsh, video recordings and heard submissions from Nonu’s representative.

Stelzner deemed Nonu’s tackle did not breach Law 10.4 (e) and adjudged that in an attempt to make the tackle, his arm slid upwards on impact with Grant’s ball-carrying arm. He ruled that there was no impact above the line of the shoulders.

In the circumstances he ruled that a penalty was sufficient punishment and as a result, the Hurricanes centre will be available for selection for his side’s next match against the Bulls on Friday.

157 Comments

• 1.gerhard: Reply to this comment

Lawless tackler, this Nonu

• 2.Airwell: Reply to this comment

We all thought it was a fair tackle and I was with Stormers supporters. Hard but good tackle. I really think Nonu is being targeted like JP Nel was imo

• 3.A_Poc: Reply to this comment

Hurricanes won’t miss him. He missed 4 crucial tackles. Most on Jacque Fourie.

• 4.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

I was gonna say: Ugly spear-tackling metro sexual dragon.

• 5.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Hidey Ho! no Cory jane and no Nonu hopefully! That will cut out a substantial portion of the Bulls home work, OCs and FB hurting us with our new approach.

• 6.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Stephan Dippenaar can be glad, ease him into super rugby.

• 7.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Zane Kirchner has his moments but his cover defense is poor and he gets stepped very easily. But at least he’s not afraid to tackle like gadget boy ER.

• 8.RedLion: Reply to this comment

The maori thug is finally cited. Grant is lucky to still have a head on his shoulders following that stiff arm challenge.

• 9.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Actually, it would be nice for the Bulls to bury a full-strength Hurricanes. Goodluck Nonu!

• 10.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: Big problem with this is now we are gonna have to hear that we played and put 50 on a sub-strength Canes outfit from the brainfart section of the Stormers gallery- you know those that are on the same level as the perrennial inhabitants of the East pavilion at Loftus.

• 11.catleya: Reply to this comment

Skoppies, did the Bulls organize with Rassie to have Naqelavuki take out Corey Jane and buy over the commissioner to site No’onu, like we arrange for hometown refs and the like?

• 12.sglazer: Reply to this comment

I think this is right. He has acquired a nasty edge to his energy, different to Bakkies Botha and Brad Thorn who find sheer joy in the combat.

Nonu needs to be clipped. It’ll do him good.

• 13.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: OCs and FB?

• 14.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven:
    Outside centers and fullbacks.

• 15.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@catleya:
    Hey I love the East pav- raccoon tan :)

• 16.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant:
    center=centre

• 17.oscarthedawg: Reply to this comment

@catleya: 10 : Unfortunately the brainfarters (of whatever persuasion) will always be with us. Personally, I think it farking amazing that two SA teams are at the top. Can only be good for SA rugby.

Personally, it’s just such a relief that the Stormers are finally firing. But as an ex Tshwane/Pretoria resident and now a confirmed Capey, the Bulls are my second team, so all’s good.

GO STOREMRSSSS!!! GO BULLLSSS!!!

• 18.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: oh ok, the one thing about the bulls is that they are leaking tries, but unlike bulls of old they are scoring tries…was really impressed against the tahs when they repeatedly went for the corner

• 19.sparticus: Reply to this comment

When butch james did the very same thing he was guilty. Same same. Thought the tackle was worthy a yellow actually.

• 20.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

“Perhaps we can force an upset,” Hore wistfully offered when asked what lay ahead in Pretoria.

Hate it whenpeople steal the underdog limelight :x

• 21.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@sglazer:
    It’s what he takes that ‘acquired’ him the so called nasty edge
    Lauaki’s the same, you tell me there is an honest drug test in NZ and I’ll point out at more examples.

• 22.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

2-bit Hore :lol:

• 23.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

@Seven:
    2 tries this weekend came off youngsters’ mistakes- Dippies fumble and Gerhard vd Heever trying to go for the intercept on Boys try.
    A 3rd came from Stegmann being blown for not releasing hich I think anyone who goes and revies the tape will see Deon did in fact release!:x
    This day light thing is an affront to rugby, 5 second rule is better. There must be the traditional scrap on the ground, good balance of players and skill sets.

Aaaaanyway, it should have just been 2 tries against the Bulls. Not so bad. Bulls will show their quality on tour. Youngsters up to speed in no time.

• 24.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Oh ja also, Jason Eaton out.

• 25.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Just realised that the Hurricanes have so many surnames to be made fun;
    Weepu
    Thrush
    Schwalger
    Ripia
    Paterson

• 26.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

and Eaton

• 27.catleya: Reply to this comment

@Agile ***-Tyrant: And Dagg’s first came of a knock on by us during adventurous play as well. And by the way, the “East Pavillion” was figuratively speaking.

• 28.wynkaptein: Reply to this comment

Ah man wanted to see him play

• 29.PLAYA23: Reply to this comment

I think its fair that he get some sort of hearing. Its debatable whether that was a dangerous tackle(judging from the comments above) but he has received yellow cards for the two matches prior to the Stormers game so they have probably taken those into consideration.

• 30.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@PLAYA23: I just think it is another JP Nel and Butch James type citing. All you need is another Terreblanche type Oscar performance from a player and you loose another quality player from Super 14. Super 14 must remain the toughest comp in the world and chasing away quality players is not the way to do it.

• 31.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@RedLion: if youre going to insult us, at least get his heritage right.. Nonu is samoan, not maori…

@catleya: and the Bulls forward lost the ball over the tryline and then the Bulls were given a 5 metre scrum by the TMO, so your point was exactly?

• 32.sglazer: Reply to this comment

@Hondo:

No wonder. Thanks for the info.

• 33.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@sglazer: bakkies never had that nasty energy, not once bwahahaha too funny, please, his suspensions would say otherwise..

• 34.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hondo: please Hondo, again with the unfounded steroids jibes? hell man, the sudden success of your two franchises would carry more steroid weight then our players using them…pathetic accusation…

• 35.catleya: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: It refers to his earlier post so you are taking what I said out of context.

• 36.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

I’ve seen worse…but he did try and send Grant into next week..!

• 37.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Do you think the Landers were hard done by the Ref?

• 38.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: in the end it didnt matter, but the SA side did get the 50/50 calls, and of which plenty aired their frustrations of ANZAC refs looking after their sides…

refs make mistakes I know that, but you come on here and its only ever SA sides that cop bad calls..

• 39.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: I think Grant had been chirping him the whole game. So all he wanted to do was take out Grant. Thats why Nono was no factor in the game he was trying to play the man. Something we can learn when we play the tri nations.

• 40.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I agree as a team you must as much as possible take the ref out of the game. Bad calls will be made.

• 41.PLAYA23: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: You know I agree with you. I do feel that the game is becoming a little soft and I really don’t like that. I’m a rugby player myself and it is the roughness off the game I enjoy and I think that most players would agree. So ja it may actually chase players away but we’ll have to see how things play out.

• 42.Airwell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: That said dont think the Bulls even got into third gear in this game. The Landers and Lions are in the same league :)

• 43.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: hehe yep, tend to agree with you… the Bulls did switch off after the opening 20, but any side does after a start like that… hard to maintain when its that easy that early…

• 44.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@Airwell: Learn what…chirp Nonu and his heads not in the game?

• 45.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@PLAYA23: Soft is one thing,but to malisciously try and send a player to hospital is another,that’s where the sport ends and it becomes gangsta.!

• 46.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: true. and yet Burger only got 8 weeks for trying to permanently blind a man in full view of millions watching on television… and only missed 4 games was it, atrocious…

• 47.PLAYA23: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: True

• 48.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Schalk will say he thought he had his hands on the ball :mrgreen:

• 49.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: :D

Ive always thought Nonu was over-rated anyways, missed seeing the tackle though so cant really comment on it…

• 50.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: The tackle’s quite ugly,full body length shoulder into the jugular of unsuspecting Grant,his head snapped back like a whiplash,particularly awful on HD slo-mo….

• 51.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 43 it showed a lack of hunger and arrogance. I had much more respeect for the Stormers. The game was pretty much in the bag by half-time but they keep up the pressure and it paid off handsomely.

• 52.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@KZN King Shark: was a very impressive performance from the stormers, have to agree totally… the Bulls may become complacent, winning all their games by 50 points, toughest job the coach will have is to keep them focussed and grounded… it may hurt them in future games if they keep beating sides like they are…

• 53.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Storm outta hell: sounds nasty… perhaps its what he needs, didnt look at all interested on Saturday in the parts of the game I watched, also Soialo is dead weight now unfortunately…

• 54.The Almighty Shaun: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: You are too dramatic mate ( Complete drama queen).. it was an arm to the chest.. Grant got up and dusted himself off and continued to play.. did you ever watch a scrum engage in slomo..awful mate.. very awful.. Every legal tackle in HD slomo is awful.

• 55.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Neither of them had their mind on the game…maybe they’re too focused on Loftus next week,maybe the Highlanders were also..?

• 56.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@The Almighty Shaun: The way his head snapped back he may very well have been stretchered off..have you ever played rugby dude..?..that was without a doubt maliscious intent.

• 57.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: nah, just think we have a lack of quality forwards in NZ at the moment, bar a few… some have slowed down considerably, and would have to say they are in the twilight of their careers..

• 58.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I dunno about that,all NZ scrums have fearsome reps…

• 59.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell: thats more because of Mike Cron and his work behind the scenes I believe…

perhaps if I said a lot are down on form, take the Blues forward pack as an example, they have at least 4 ABs in there, but are still getting trampled by most other sides in every other facet…

Ive always said NZ sides are slow to start in the competition, and still maintain that belief…

• 60.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: I hear you…Chiefs not playing well at home though,’Canes should be better back home,dunno about the ‘Landers at the house of pain..?

• 61.BASH!: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

Nah that description was bit dramatic dude.

I’m a stormers supporter, a Peter Grant fan and I’ve played rugby (only at school and club level though) but I didn’t think it was that bad. Penalty:Yes, MAlicious:Maybe, But definitley not as bad as you are making it out to be.

• 62.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Umugger mark II

• 63.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: Johnson huh, doesnt matter that he cant coach, he has his knighthood hahaha surprised you showing your face after your teams game… truly, how do you still see your side as a threat for next year?

must be high on the prozac there biggles?

• 64.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: for sure Poppa, some key players to return. They all said the same last time but it wasn’t NZ/OZ/Fra/Ire/Arg/Sco/Wal in the final. It was us….again :)

• 65.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: Like Ive always said Biggles, barnes made sure you didnt face us, cause he knew you wouldnt have got further…you know it too, just pains you to admit it :wink:

• 66.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

aw man… we’re helping the Bulls

• 67.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: the old, “not our strongest team” philosophy mate… love it, youve been living off that very line for how many years now? since 04? :lol:

• 68.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Hi Poppa – did you catch the French match – they were quite impressive and have as good as won the 6N. Next week will be interesting – England have a huge hill to climb.

• 69.catleya: Reply to this comment

@BASH!: I agree, and I’m a Bulls supporter, which theoretically and objectively should count for nothing, but does in the eyes of many seeing as we are playing them next.

• 70.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game: Hi HG, hope alls well.. nah missed seeing the French game.. they were my favourites for the tournament at the start, and they are definitely right up there with SA as the teams to beat next year… Yep, England are really struggling, must be injuries as BH alludes to lol… perhaps they have too many foreigners earning the pound in their leagues, has to stunt their local talent from coming through, a factor I think we are starting to see the results of with the national side..

• 71.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

Well done france Easily the better team in 6N

Well done reds they look a confident bunch at the moment

Thier 2 centers look very dangerous on attack

• 72.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: 70 France have got depth too, however the foreign legion in their Top14 don’t seem to stunt their talent as in England.

Some of the Top14 rugby is really decent – it would be interesting to see some of those sides, along with Munster/Leinster play against a few of the S14 sides.

• 73.BASH!: Reply to this comment

@catleya:

Maybe he’ll get off. I hope he does. I’ve always liked Nonu, never seen him as a dirty player. But maybe thats just because he hasn’t been on the losing side all that often in his career and hardly ever recived a hiding like he did on saturday. Frustration can make even the most sportsmanly player get a bit dirty

• 74.charo: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete:

that digby ioane is one hell of a 13.

did you see him take that kick and simultaneously step the force player before sprinting through for a try?

• 75.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:
    Well england dont play their young stars. Same old faces ite England squad
    Good to see the young SH get a cap even though it was on the wing.
    @BASH!: Yeah he is a decent player sometimes gets frustrated but playing for canes must be frustrating with all that talent.
    Chiefs area similar team

• 76.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@charo:

Yes agreed i only watched the highlights but both red centers look in great form
    Maybe the 2 wallaby centers and Mortlock on wing?

• 77.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete: 75. The England fllback looks pretty decent too.

• 78.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:

Yeah at last Fodan come on geez about time
    Wilkinson ? retire bud Somebody should tell him a bout repetive concussion syndrome.
    I think tyhe knock he has taken are affecting his decision making
    His centers arnt helping

• 79.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

The Hurricanes is under severe pressure. They have not earned a single point on tour as yet and if they lose against the Bulls their chances for a semi final will not be good. Expect a tremendous effort from them against the Bulls.

• 80.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete: Yup – Foden is good. I feel sorry for Wilkinson. The SH puts him under pressure and Flutey is no Jauzion, De Villiers or Greenwood.

• 81.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:
    Agreed he tries his best and has all the experiance. D Care’s 2 steps then pass does not help
    Time for new blood in English squad

• 82.SAinNZ: Reply to this comment

@poppa69:

“Soialo is dead weight now”

Have to agree with you there, and the amount of off the ball stuff that he was invoplved in over the weekedn, probably shows that he knows he struggling to impose himself in the game, and trying to do it in other ways.

I have never rated him though, but NZ has struggled for a good No 8 for years.

• 83.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@CoachPete: 81. You’re right on both counts. England and the Sharks are playing similar Rugby at the moment. No compliment for either. Your Stormers are looking very impressive at the moment.

• 84.CoachPete: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game:
    Yeah thanks i like what I see.
    Lots of reasons including the forgotten one good defense

• 85.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

we all know what nonu’s defense will be at the citing. ‘bro, i got some mascara in my eyes and couldnt see exactly where grant was.’

• 86.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

My experience is that serial offenders are so driven because they are losing their edge! When on top there is no motivation to offend (maliciously). Also, when they are allowed to get away with it (i.e. a slap on the wrist) they don’t get the message that it is a danger to their opponents. And dont feed me the garbage about it being OK because “it’s a man’s game”. It takes a “man” to wear the tough side of rugby without resorting to common assault!

• 87.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

And what about Valentine’s love tap on Sykes? :lol:

• 88.4thWiseMan: Reply to this comment

Looks like the Stormers are doing the Bulls a coupla favours. Hope they appreciate it.

• 89.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@Bludeks: agree 100%. i find that alot in club rugby aswell, serious problem i tell you. when a team is losing they resort to dirty play, off the ball scuffles. It sends out a bad example to youngsters watching the game thinking thats part of the game. Bullies in rugby need to be tought harsh lessons. You can play hard without being dirty.

• 90.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@4thWiseMan: was thinking about that incident as well :) i atleast thought he would be cited for that, i mean if schalk could be cited for that silly incident with the ref then he should be too, and hes was far worse.

• 91.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: admit what? our tank of a pack (the biggest in test history?) would’ve slaughtered yours and we had the tightest defence of the knockouts, Danny boy would’ve shed tears all over again complaining about his sore leggy, ickle bruise was it? :)

• 92.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: hows the english press behaving after the draw with the scots?

• 93.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Mustard: mostly complaining about the quality of the game, I think the knives are sharpened for the France match later this week. Something needs to change, imo it should be the forwards coach.

• 94.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Almightly shaun, if you watch tries or set pieces or any execution in slow mo you have to marvel at how a human brain can process information. A classic example is Hurdles 70m try for the Bulls, watch in slow motion. Magnificent. (okay that sounded homoerotic but i’m trying to describe sporting brilliance at the highest level)

• 95.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@SAinNZ: have to agree, we havent had an 8 for a while now who really imposes himself on the game… thats where Lauaki is such a disappointment, could have been a decent one… and with Read and McCaw it would have been a very good loose trio..

have been impressed with Read this season, does a lot of work and links well, but is not an 8 man in the mould of Spies or Zinny… Zinny was our last decent one, and for me a toss up between him and Shelford as our best ever.. Zinny more skilful, Shelford just hard and uncompromising, and had the mana as his record as captain proves..

@Big Hit: lol cant sell underwear with ickle bruises mate :wink:

• 96.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: Yes but change for the better not just for the sake of making changes. Look at the lions for eg dont know what they were thiking of to let H.Meyer slip through their fingers. Just from what i watch i cant really say appionting Martin Johnson was a success,there hasnt been significant improvement imo. Look he was a great leader back in hes day charasmatic and all, but coach? what experience did he have? Cant help but think if they hired Jake White there wouldov been a much bigger improvement. Dont like Jakey much but i must admit the guy can build a team and make them a unit.

• 97.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: hey poppa. Would go with Zinny any day of the week. Will never forget that drop kick. Though dont know much about Shelford i must admit

• 98.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Mustard: The reason I target the forwards coach is because the quality of the current tight five is abysmal, they’re really very poor, the likes of Borthwick, Payne, Deacon are try-hards. You’re quite right however, it’s up to Johnson to recognise it and he hasn’t so far, Jake probably would have but I’m not sure an overseas option is a realistic one in the eyes of the RFU.

• 99.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Mustard: Shelford was unbeaten as test captain, in something like 20 tests (approx.)

If ever there was one moment when Wayne “Buck” Shelford embedded his name forever into rugby’s rich history, it was during the infamous “Battle of Nantes” in 1986.

Playing only his second Test for the All Blacks against a physically intimidating French side, Shelford found himself at the bottom of a rather aggressive ruck on 20 minutes.

An errant Les Bleus stud found its way to his groin, where it somehow managed to tear his scrotum, leaving one testicle hanging out.

This alone would leave most men screaming in agony and heading for the nearest hospital. But not Shelford.

He calmly instructed the physio to stitch him up.

The French public were gobsmacked as an over-eager pitchside cameraman filmed the stomach-turning surgery, and even more so when Shelford returned to the field and carried on playing.

“I was knocked out cold, lost a few teeth and had a few stitches down below,” recalls the Saracens coach.

“It’s a game I still can’t remember – I have no memory of it whatsoever.

“I had to watch a video to realise what the game was actually like. I don’t even remember what the score was, I don’t really want to either.”

Just for the record, New Zealand lost 16-3. It was the only time Shelford was on the losing side during his distinguished international career, a result which he appropriately describes as a “faux pas”.

“It was one of the toughest Test matches I have ever played,” he said

I still have vivid memories of the man charging from the back of the scrum…

sorry for the long post…

• 100.rangerman: Reply to this comment

great post poppa!

howdy all.

well i see my sharies lost again. i was down in the transkei fishing and diving up a storm and didnt get to watch any rugby unfortunately but i see they only lost by 2 points.

agonisingly close again.

well dont to the brumbies and all the other winners (stormers and bulls, you keep flying the sa flag please).

and with that, i must sleep. fishing trips with the lads have my sleep cycle out of kilter.

• 101.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: thanks for the info boet, was a good read. Damn rugby was hard back then.

• 102.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@rangerman: @Mustard: I was fortunate to see the man play, hence trying to decide on Zinny or Buck is so difficult for me..

What a life Ranger, hope the fishing was grand and the diving serene..

there are some vids on youtube, not sure if they show his play at all, but there is one of him leading the Haka…

• 103.poppa69: Reply to this comment

http: //www(dot)youtube.com/watch?v=ItPmdSpBamk

this is a tribute to him, just watching it myself now..

replace the parenthesis and remove the spaces :D

• 104.Mustard: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: who do u think is the front runner for the no 8 jumper for the tri nations? Luaki has been dissapionting and Soailo pat hes use by date. Read or Kaino maybe?

• 105.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Mustard: I would think read is the likely candidate…and the way Braid is playing, I would like to see him and McCaw as the flankers…depends if they will relax the laws for those in Aussie… with Kaino as an alternative blindside.. the Saders have been playing McCaw at blindside, so think the ABs might try the same approach

• 106.Tjokker: Reply to this comment

Hopelik kry Ma’a Nonu nou wat hy al verlede week moes kry – 2 weke se verpligte rus. Was dit Bakkies of Schalk Burger of JP Nel sou hulle 3-4 weke gekry het.

Praat van Schalk, hy speel vir my weer baie goeie rugby vanjaar en sy span lyk baie goed. Sal sien hoe hanteer hulle die Cheetahs. My geliefde Bulls sal blitsig die verdediging moet uitsorteer – sommer Vrydagaand assseblief.

• 107.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Reds have been good with Braid, his maturity is helping the boys aplenty. I hope for the Red sake the ARU look at him favourably.

I reckon the blindside fit for McCaw is smart, it leaves Henry’ options wide open to play him either side depending on form. Kaino looks pretty good too, another year may be all he needs.

• 108.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Tjokker: Dunno Jokker, I didn’t watch the match (4.ooam) is a bit rich. If he gets a suspension it could help the Canes, he has been not good this season.

• 109.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz: I think Braid leaving Auckland has rejuvenated him, he is finally in a pack that works as a unit (and as a blues fan thats what irks me about them)… I also like McCaw at 6, though we dont really have anyone stepping up and demanding the 7 spot.. they are all very young, guys like Whitelock, Vito etc… Id still prefer a robust no. 8, with Read at 6 and McCaw in his preferred posi, but would be quite happy to have a Braid, McCaw, Read loose trio..

• 110.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: The AB loose trio needs to be settled this year. looks like soiaolo is on the outter especially after the last few games. what about kaino, messam, thompson?

agree that mccaw could establish himself at blind, but feel that read does a better job there than at 8. although i dont rate read a better blind than kaino or thompson or even messam. he has more bulk it seems but he isnt as destructuve type of player as the other 2.

that said it seems with the way the last few rounds have been, the bigger opensiders are fairing a bit better. on here there been comments about how the change in rule interpretation has given the bigger opensides a foot in the door.

i wonder if henry will stick with mccaw at 7, or will test him a few more times at 8. dont think he will play him at 6. it seems at 6 for the saders he is a bit too far from the action where is world class.

i’d like to see an AB trio of
    7 messam, 6 Read/Kaino, 8 mccaw

• 111.Rugbyfiction: Reply to this comment

Really think the Republic has the best bunch of loosies at the moment.

• 112.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

its been a while since nz has unearthed a freakish loosie talent that the coaches have bought into. other than messam the last few years, well since mccaw came into the test arena there hasnt really been anything.
    surely they are due for a freak. before mccaw was kronfeld, before him the iceman, zinny.

• 113.Rugbyfiction: Reply to this comment

Agree. Still think McCaw is the best in the business. But NZ now needs more than one freak to compete with SA.

• 114.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

@Rugbyfiction: vito is probably nz’s closest to something like spies, but he doesnt have the same size.
    there are some guys who culd still make the step up colin bourke, stephano and vito come to mind, but get impression henry has gone for read already and will chuck all his eggs in that basket and hope it delivers.

• 115.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Tomsta: No other country has a Spies, he is unique and suited to the Bok game. That does not mean a clone would necessarily suit another teams style. As long as the Bok game is successful, many little Spies-es will be cloned; it stands to reason. A perfect example of this is Shane Warne’ influence. Every kid in Australia instantly thought spin was cool. Jury is still out on his texting skills ;)

• 116.whatever: Reply to this comment

This guy is a walking card. Thinks he is untouchable as well. Don’t need doos’s like him on the park!

• 117.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

i thought the brumbies winger that shoulder charged odwa should have been cited too.

• 118.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@poppa69: Braid’s a prospect, but is he eligible to play for NZ?

• 119.cane: Reply to this comment

Nonu’s tackle looked fine to me. Across the chest.

“we’re not playing tiddly winks” are we now.

• 120.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@cane: C’mon dude…he tried to take Grant’s head off…Carter would have been hospitalised ..no fair..!

• 121.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@cane: Lol I actually agree, but had it been Bakkies on Danny Boy you’d be in a foaming froth

• 122.cane: Reply to this comment

@Atreides:

You got that right Atreides, Bakkies only has to appear on my TV screen and I’m purple with rage.

A couple of stiff Johnny Walkers and the blood pressure is back to near normal.

• 123.cane: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

I only saw his arm go across the shoulder and chest of Peter Grant. I’m sure Grant felt it, but it was not a decapitation.

• 124.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@cane: I’ll get Bakkies to blow you a kiss when he’s back on the pitch :lol:

• 125.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@cane: The way Grant’s head whipped back sure looked like a decapitation…

• 126.cane: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

whiplash.

He came to a sudden stop.

• 127.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@cane: Might as well have been an uppercut..!

• 128.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@cane: Lol I know the feeling, I used to get it watching Kelleher…

• 129.cane: Reply to this comment

@Atreides:

What could Lord Byron ever do to upset anyone?

• 130.cane: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

Yeah I agree…………..”You may as well be hung for a sheep, as a lamb”.

The SAFFA judiciary are going to crucify Ma’a anyway………………..So he may as well have given poor Pete an Upper Cut.

• 131.Storm outta hell: Reply to this comment

@cane: I dunno…the SAFFA judiciary are notoriosly slack on these things,more likely to see it your way and give him the doubt as a straight arm,more so ’cause Bash just shrugged it off…but he sure looked like a crash test dummy :lol:

• 132.cane: Reply to this comment

@Storm outta hell:

I will accept the Judiciaries findings, without rancor, based purely upon your post.

• 133.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Tomsta: forgot about thompson :oops: would be in my squad, but not starting…great replacement to change the game plan. Though on further reflection, Thompson and McCaw is quite decent because of his work rate too

as stated before, we need a robust number 8, no one has really stood up and asked for it, we havent unearthed a decent one since Zinny really.

weve generally always produced decent 8s, but we are thin there IMO. not necessarily a Spies mould, though think he would work in NZs game plan perfectly..

Zinny, Iceman, Kronfield, McCaw some good players missed out to like Mike Brewer…

Messam needs to mature as a player IMO, often gets isolated from his supports, and lacks confidence in test match rugby.. but not sure the coaches really brought into him either..

• 134.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Sooooooo…cleared.
    Nonu hit Spies in the throat last year in Wellington, got off free too.
    Well, I sure hope Wynand Olivier plants his colourful head in the Loftus turf like he did to Del Malmanche.

• 135.scar: Reply to this comment

….so lucky… does that make him fair game?

• 136.Agile Tit-Tyrant: Reply to this comment

Well he’s definitely going to pull stunts on Fryday, last chance in Africa. How upset an honest team: play negative dirty rugby.

• 137.Transformation: Reply to this comment

olivier & dippenaar vs nonu & smith…hhmm??? Should be a juicy clash, but i know Snakey can bamboozle dippenaar!

• 138.catleya: Reply to this comment

Thank goodness. Now we don’t have to hear it was because Nonu wasn’t there if we win.

• 139.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Things were much simpler in the past
    The teams took care of the like of Nonu on the field, the retribution was prompt and adequate, you didn’t get away with such things usually.
    Nonu seemed to get away with a lot, it bulds up nicely his intimidating factor.
    I would be surprised if he gets away with it against the Bulls though.

• 140.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@catleya: I don’t think they’d be saying that anyway the way he’s been playing in recent weeks. So typical that he got cleared though, thug idiot.

• 141.Transformation: Reply to this comment

rob stelzner must be an incompetent transformation appointee to let nonu off.

• 142.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

that’s insane… 2 weeks in a row and nothing!

• 143.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Maybe nonu wanted a go at fourie after last years 3N :)

• 144.sglazer: Reply to this comment

I’ll accept it this time, but next time (if there is one) he must be sanctioned.

He was wild the last match, and unruly this one. Hopefully this hearing will bring more reason to his play, without sacrificing natural aggression.

• 145.sglazer: Reply to this comment

However, as far as consistency goes in the judiciary system, there is none.

An independent panel of three Senior Counsel, one from each country, should be retained on contract to form and function the judiciary. I don’t accept there isn’t money to do this. It would cost all of several hundred thousand dollars per year in a billion dollar sport.

• 146.sglazer: Reply to this comment

Alternatively three independent Senior Counsel from London would do the job well

• 147.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

And, was it Nonu that crocked O’Driscoll when the Pommie Lions played the All Blacks in NZ? Could there be another to be so fortunate as to escape “deserving’ censure. Either the judiciary and/or THEIR “rules of engagment”. Supposedly they are waiting for a serious injury to propel them into pro-active action! The “judiciary” is as toothless as an old hen.

• 148.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

Perhaps Umaga was the culprit re O’Driscoll? Give a dog a bad name!

• 149.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bludeks: more like Umaga & Keven Mealamu

• 150.cane: Reply to this comment

Justice has been done. Nonu shouldn’t have been cited in the first place.

To those above, baying for blood like rabid dogs……………GFY’s.

• 151.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

I take it that Cane is as in ‘Cane? Then your stance is understandable. but I suspect you’ve never seen a rabid dog -mirrors excluded (Joke) – sick joke – appalling joke. I’ll resist a guffaw.

• 152.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: @140

still playing to the crowd there I see, BH. I dont remember you having a problem with Matfields attack on Elsom, a far more obvious case of being a ‘thug idiot’.

How pathetic that Nonu was cited for this fair tackle, desperation indeed.

• 153.cane: Reply to this comment

@Bludeks:

I know I was a bit over the top Bluey.

But WTF, I feel if you got something to say, get it out there.

• 154.cane: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther:

Panther, Son of Grond,

greetings.

• 155.Bludeks: Reply to this comment

153 Cane
    You’ll do. Non-aggression pact (metaphorically) just declared. A mate of mine (doesn’t know if he’s a Pom or an Oz) did say to me in mildly
    similar circumstances (Outrageously laughing) that he didn’t expect me to hit him with a metaphor. Incidently, Bludeks = Bloedbyl = Bloodaxe = Hjaltland = Shetland = Lundy

• 156.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@cane:

Just landed back on Mud Island after 3 gloriously sunny weeks in Godzone. Feeling somewhat refreshed and ready for a fight. The locals here put up such pitiful retorts that Im thinking I’ll leave Grond at home until Nov ’11 and just bring out my key-picking Swiss Army knife instead.

• 157.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther: Elsom started it, what did he expect? Matfield was just showing him not to mess around with the kid

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.