Sharks’ problems a national concern
15 Mar 2010
A Springbok front-row that should be dominating at Super 14 level is being schooled at scrum-time.
Beast Mtawarira, Bismarck du Plessis and John Smit’s aptitude as a unit at the set-piece has been continually questioned over the last year. First came the Lions series, where Mtawarira had a massive opening 40 minutes against Phil Vickery, but has since failed to produce a dominant scrumming performance in attacking the opposition tighthead.
Questions were raised over Smit’s ability as a No 3 throughout the Tri-Nations, while the Boks’ fallibilities at scrum-time were exposed by France and Italy before BJ Botha restored some respectability against Ireland with Smit at hooker and Du Plessis on the bench.
Smit has started all the Sharks’ Super 14 matches this year, three of those at tighthead and two at hooker. Smit’s leadership is unrivalled and with him at No 2, the Sharks’ scrum has been more solid, but then Du Plessis’ value in loose play is negated as he only comes on late in the game.
In those three matches where Mtawarira, Du Plessis and Smit have started, you would expect an international front-row to dominate at Super 14 level. That hasn’t been the case, and the Chiefs, Crusaders and Brumbies have held the advantage at scrum-time.
Those who believe the scrum will have less of an impact due to the new law interpretations are also wrong. The more the ball is in play, the more knock-ons and therefore the increased number of scrums, which means this set-piece will be even more important in addition to the psychological advantage it hands the superior side.
Against the Brumbies on Saturday, the Springbok and Sharks front-row again floundered. Against Salesi Ma’afu, Stephen Moore and Wallabies tighthead Ben Alexander, who plays loosehead for the Brumbies, a series of scrums inside the opening minutes of the second half showed how the Australians mangled the Sharks.
From a 5m scrum, Smit was first penalised for the incorrect binding, and straight after, the Brumbies marched the Sharks back to within inches of the line as the Bok front row looked to suffer the ultimate humiliation: a pushover try. The scrum collapsed, but on the front foot and with all the momentum, the Brumbies heavies’ pick-and-drives led to Alexander’s second score as the hosts re-gained the lead at a crucial time.
Worryingly, it is not only the scrum that is a concern for the Sharks. The form of most of their senior players and Springboks has been ordinary, while basic mistakes such as unclaimed kick-offs and errant passes have become the norm.
Against the Highlanders on Saturday however, they have their best chance of a win on the road.
The Landers have conceded 83 points and 11 tries in the past two weeks in South Africa, and after a long return flight all the way to the South Island of New Zealand, they will be physically and mentally drained.
The Sharks have now lost four matches by five points or less, which isn’t a positive but rather a major worry. Opportunities to close out the contest will again present themselves at the House of Pain, and whether they seal the result will depend on whether the Sharks have learnt from their many mistakes over the opening five rounds.
By Grant Ball

63 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
15 Mar 2010, 05:24 am
They have serious issues in the front row…the Du Plessis brothers think they are bigger than the game, Smit is past his best and the Beast is overrated…
Time for the Sharks to make a new plan(start with settling on combinations would be good).
15 Mar 2010, 05:30 am
Black Panther will be all over this thread, like flies to a cow pat.
15 Mar 2010, 06:06 am
The problem is in the locks. They need more steel there.
15 Mar 2010, 06:11 am
Have to disagree there Lazer. We have the same guys at springbok level and then even with the might of Bakkies/Victor/Russouw behind them they have been going more and more backwards come scrumtime.
I agree with RFiction that the DuPlessis brothers are windgat. John Smit might be older and less mobile, but he’s still a great player and hooker and one of the toughest guys around. As for Beast… I think the guy has lost confidence with the guys around him. He was scrumming way better two or three seasons ago when he first came on the scene.
I hope this is only a temporary problem for the sharks and one they can sort out sooner or later. They have to save some face for the SA teams
15 Mar 2010, 06:12 am
@sglazer: Also need an 8 man to keep them ‘LOCKED’ Kanko is a pretend 8, he doesn’t keep his head in long enough, after the shove to maintain momentum. He takes a peek (like a flanker) and the wheels come off.
15 Mar 2010, 06:12 am
It’s a change of attitude, the Bulls players are always looking to see who they can pass to. The Sharks look straight ahead and would rather go down then give a “mate” a run.
15 Mar 2010, 06:17 am
@posts: That is another issue that falls on the coaching shoulders. Coaches need to foster an attitude within the team, of playing for each other. If he can’t manage the team… weed it.
15 Mar 2010, 06:17 am
Yes, I see what you’re saying. However, Bismarck is big and strong, and John is a seasoned campaigner.
At national level I’d like to see Heinke in at loosehead and Beast on the bench. I like Beast a lot, but I think he’s being promoted too soon just because of his colour. He’s an impact player at the moment, and should be blooded to the starting lineup over time.
I think the Sharks should follow a similar strategy (do they have a strong alternative), and I do feel their locks need an enforcer.
15 Mar 2010, 06:18 am
The Smit at tighthead experiment hasn’t worked, it is time to decide what the plan is for him next. Either start with him at hooker or have him on the bench behind Bissy.
@vanhunks: There is big talk over here that both the Du Plessis boys could be headed for the Rebels next season.
Anyone in Durban heard about this?
I have also heard Kockett, but that could just be a case of me ****-stirring more than anything
15 Mar 2010, 06:23 am
Yes I believe your namesake is pining to hang about Lygon Street, supping to his hearts delight.
15 Mar 2010, 06:27 am
Yep, Smit at tighthead has failed dismally. I don’t know who they are fooling? Should the guy be given even more time to grow into the role? He’s 33 years old!!
I wouldn’t mind if Jannie Dup moves to the rebels, but Bismarck is a great rugby player with a greater attitude problem. Hopefully that can get sorted out. If he and John Smit have to take turns at the sharks to get game time, then so be it. The one is the best hooker in the country and the other is the only real captain option for the next world cup.
Lazer – apparently the Sharks think of Sykes as an enforcer and they claim heir to Bakkies’ throne. Don’t know what banana leaves they are smoking
15 Mar 2010, 06:43 am
@vanhunks:
Perhaps in time, but now Sykes is good but I’m not seeing steel in him yet. They need steel now I think.
I agree about John and Bismarck rotating.
The scrum does gain stability when Jannie Dup is on in place of John, but he’s not a ballplayer at the moment. In the modern game even tight-heads need to handle well.
They need a stronger loosehead. Beast on the bench.
15 Mar 2010, 06:44 am
@RugbyRulz:
I think they have to work around Kanko. He’s a great ballplayer and reads the game well. I agree he has to keep his head in longer at scrumtime and be part of the shove for longer too.
15 Mar 2010, 07:04 am
Smit is too big now and watching him walk around the park is disturbing. The poor guy is down! Play him at two, as Bismark’s attitude is affecting all the boys in the team.
15 Mar 2010, 07:09 am
@DonutDunning:
Van De Heever is also being targeted with Kockott as both can play for the Wallabies and are interested in uni scholarships, as well as a lock, flank and hooker at Super level that have not yet been capped, and a few beefy Craven week kids.
15 Mar 2010, 07:16 am
If the Rebels sign Van den Heever Tacitus will have a sudden, spectacular bowel movement!
15 Mar 2010, 07:16 am
I backed the Sharks against the Chiefs in my fantasy cup and have not since. The performance by both was enough for me to know neither would make the top 4. Why should I change that opinion this weekend? Ok the Sharks will have the ‘travel’ advantage over the Highlanders. They have acclimatised, lolling about at Manly (I kid you not) so, the ditch hop-over will be a breeze.
Sharks with their backs to the wall, should kill the Storminated, Bull-whipped, Highlanders. Or will they?
I am getting greedy, going for the big points… Might even whack the Mercedes on them too for good measure. I am carving up our league, so I will be bold.
Highlanders to fillet the toothless Wobbegones.
15 Mar 2010, 07:41 am
Honestly do not think the Sharks problem is of National concern to me…
it’s their problem…
they can sort it out if they are prepared to make the tough calls… but imo they are sugarcoating their problem and try to work around it…
naw… they are a great franchise but will have to face their inability to progress….
Seen a bit if that game and honestly some of the boks in the Sharks are horrible….
15 Mar 2010, 07:43 am
This Keo worship of Smit is just plain dumb!
He has captained a talent-laden Sharks team for many years and has 1 Currie Cup (by a bare 5 points, it could have gone the other way too) to show for it.
His Springbok success is due to other players!
Smit is a self-serving glory boy who has cost the Sharks plenty.
The first step is to get rid of him.
Then the du Plessis horrors.
Then Olivebush, and all the other disciples of Ian Macintosh.
They have shown over many years that they do not know how to win tournaments.
Why do they keep doing the same thing expecting a change?
They need players with attitude, – like Kockott, on the park, not the spaced-out, “Woe is me”, Pienaar.
They need forwards that commit to the breakdown, not who go and stand in the backline hoping to become the next glory boy who never passes the ball.
15 Mar 2010, 07:43 am
@WP Till I Die: #16 lmao…i agree
…good morning
15 Mar 2010, 07:53 am
@sglazer:
The Beast turns the ball over 6 times a match, he makes one tackle and never to be found at the point of impact on defence, always on the fringes (pay attention next time you watch)
IMO the Beast, Jacobs and Ndungane wrote off the season for the Sharks whom unlike the Bulls and the Stormers didn’t have the guts to drop them.
15 Mar 2010, 08:42 am
The only time beast has been dominant at scrum time is when he was engaging illegally…check the first half of the 1st test of British and Irish Lions match.
Ever since Beast has been a mite!
15 Mar 2010, 08:45 am
The beast and Du Plessis brothers should not get a bok call up based on current form. John Smit is lucky to be such a good captain, else he should not make it either. It’s still a long season,but my pick for bok team on form is Wian Du Preez, Liebenberg and BJ.
15 Mar 2010, 08:45 am
This conversation is getting boring.
15 Mar 2010, 08:46 am
The Sharks are not that far off from a win. The sharks will get their first victory this weekend.
They have had tough opposition.
15 Mar 2010, 08:47 am
Smit to 2..
Du plessis brothers to anger management..,
15 Mar 2010, 08:50 am
@wallabie.: The Sharks should win, the law of averages has to favour them.
15 Mar 2010, 08:59 am
Let’s talk about Bissy.
Yeah – he’s most likely the strongest hooker in SA but IMO he’s also the dumbest hooker.
He gives away countless penalties for off the ball stuff and I find that he link up play is wanting.
His scrummaging is one of the worst in SA and he has no real pace.
He does rip quite a few balls as a result of brute strength but does he offer enough to the boks to gloss over all the other problems he brings?
15 Mar 2010, 09:37 am
@brains_trust: Roid rage will do that…instead of posturing and posing and flexing your fists at everyone including the ball boys, why not try be a bad-*** in the scrum? Who does he think he’s intimidating? His absurd posturing and absence of anything remotely resembling discipline is costing the Sharks…and his brother seems to be following in his footsteps too. I hope and pray they both bugger off to the Rebels!
15 Mar 2010, 09:47 am
Sharks just need a bit of luck… Maybe just need one 50/50 call to go their way so that they can just win a game.
Things could be different again for them after that. Their backline sucks though and Jannie Du Plessis should never wear a Bok jersey again!
15 Mar 2010, 10:02 am
We can kiss the 2011 WC goodbye .. Smit and to many like him who sould not be there in 2011 will be.
15 Mar 2010, 10:06 am
It’s about time that the powers that be realise that John **** is not a tighthead prop.
He must revert back to hooker as quickly as possible and they must perhaps persevere Jannie at tighthead until somebody else is obtained. They should do everything posible to get BJ Botha back as quickly as possible.
Bismarck can be rotated with John giving John more rest time, which would hopefully prolong his playing career and keep him fresh for next years World Cup.
15 Mar 2010, 10:10 am
Look it is easy. John Plumtree must get the balls to make some tough calls. and according to me, Pieter De Villiers must put up his hand in this matter.
John Smit is going to be our captain and hooker for the world cup, we all know that, now why the hell doensn’t Pieter tell Plum, that he must play him on hooker???
Then. The two Du Plessis boeties, must really sit down and decide, becasue I think that they are talking so much about leaving, to up their “market value” in SA. they must stop eating up each others ****, with this, “if you touch my boet, ill bliksem you” attitude, and play the game. They are a negative force in a team that needs uplifting attitudes.
it is easy, don’t pick Bismarck, we have Gary and Adriaan, who is tough for go forward, theyre scrumming is of the best, they both have experience and they are GREAT leaders… so why on earth do we have worry about these two. DROP THEM!!!!!!!
No doubt that Kanko is one of the greatest “ball players”, but let him play with the ball on 7…. where he has more space to run and less time to stick in his head at the scrum. they have one of the best 8′s playing on 7. he will gain 10 more meters EVERYTIME he picks u the ball.
come on Plum, this is not difficult…
15 Mar 2010, 10:39 am
What happened about Valentine’s slap..??…how long was Kockott out for when he brain farted..?
15 Mar 2010, 10:53 am
I have a couple of things to say
1. 8 players to scrum, not 1.
2. When smittie plays tighthead, bismark plays hooker. Now, is the scrum worse because smit is at 3, or is it worse because now bissie is at 2, instead of smittie at 2 ? Could it not be bismark that is the weak link ? Smit fails at 3 because he has bismark at 2. Scrum is better with smit at 2, because he’s a better scrummaging hooker than bismark.
On Saturday I cant remember the scrum being any better with smit off the field. In fact, Sharks were doing worse with him off the field.
What pisses me off is that everybody is slagging Smittie when there could be 7 (at least 5) other players contributing to the bad scrum.
The simplest solution is usually the correct one – it is bismark that has a negative impact come scrum time.
Thats my theory.
15 Mar 2010, 11:18 am
Boys, it is easy ….
Played golf with Rod McQueen a few weeks ago and he told me some interesting things which MAY effect the Sharks. You will all understand once he announces his signings for the Melbourne Rebels.
And remember, you heard it first HERE!
Can say no more ….
15 Mar 2010, 11:21 am
The Sharks front row problems is easily solved, but not, John Smit and possibly The Beast both need a much needed break. Possibly John Smit more than most, that man needs some rest!!!
15 Mar 2010, 11:28 am
The Sharks clearly haven’t played to potential this season, however, they came within a penalty of beating the team in Canberra that beat the Stormers at Newlands ?
Lekker lag almal…Stormers still have to play the Sharks – in Durban. Good luck !
Overall, the performance wasn’t great – definitely not at Bulls level, but the Sharks are looking like they are slowly turning the corner. They may well be on the return path when they get back to SA and play the two teams who may be fighting for home play-off positions.
I have got a feeling Sharks supporters will still have something to cheer about this season. And maybe a little ironic giggle here and there.
15 Mar 2010, 11:31 am
@The Analyst: I hope the Melbourne rebels take some of the Sharks dead wood. I cant think of a single player in the Sharks team that I would really miss right now.
To be honest, I still think the Sharks best back is Rory Kockott and their best forward is Steven Sykes. If the Rebels take either of those two off us, or both…that might hurt a bit.
The rest ? I think it may be good for the Sharks to have a bit of a ‘pruning’.
15 Mar 2010, 11:33 am
I see not even an article on the poor Sharks front row is enough to tempt Grant10 out of hiding…..
15 Mar 2010, 11:56 am
It’s a tricky situation and, after everything that’s been written on the subject, it’s clear the solution is likely to be painful. I’ve applied my out-of-the-box thinking to the problem though and think I’ve come up with a way forward for the Sharks/Boks front row. They should pack down backwards and get their turbo-reverse working for them instead of against them.
You’re welcome.
15 Mar 2010, 11:56 am
Grant10 will emerge from the mist when the Rebel announce their hooker.
Don’t know what all the fuss is about, having 2 great hookers is a godsend. Not many hookers play the full 80, so what is the problem. Work out who is best to start and who to finish with. Either way Bizzy needs to learn to scrum, Smit obviously hasn’t been able to pass it on to his padwan.
Bizzy packs too high… Front row back as if squatting on the crapper. Bizzy squats as if he is pushing iron. Technique is all wrong.
15 Mar 2010, 11:57 am
back = pack
15 Mar 2010, 12:11 pm
@stormersboy: He’ll be out of hiding come the 10th May. TRUST me.
15 Mar 2010, 12:15 pm
@SJonesIsAGit: Funny thing is, I didn’t think the Sharks scrummed all that poorly against the Brumbies. We had that one hiccup on the tryline which resulted in a try for the Brumbies, but in general through the match I cant say it was any worse, or better for that matter than the Stormers or Bulls performances this weekend.
I played in the backline, so, perhaps I cant understand scrum dynamics, however in this game it looked like we were getting much cleaner ball from the base of the scrum.
No less clean than the amazing Bulls and incredible Stormers.
I am quietly confident about the local derbies coming up for the Sharks. I think ol Grant Balletjie will be a lot more alarmed when he sees South Africas top two sides this year pack down against that useless Sharks scrum.
My word – if he is alarmed now…just wait. Things will look seriously bleak for SA rugby then.
15 Mar 2010, 12:43 pm
very busy ….so unable to post. However….some of my thoughts.
The sharks were destroyed at scrums while Smit was at 3 …fact. Remember you dont have to turbo reverse to be poor at scrum….you just need to be reversed….watch the 2 x trys Brumbies scored….all started with Smit being mahandled…again. Those not wanting to front the reality, i warn you we will be massacared against the French…..we go with this palooka shark front row we will negate Spies and FDP…and MS…watch out Boks ….you are warned…..
Smit is nowhere at all….he is a lumbering liability. Time to retire….its done,klaar,finito….no way back now for smit. Gary Botha, Liebenbeg and Bissy counry miles ahead of him at 2 and Smit is being humbled…destroyed and embarressed at 3.
Time for matfield to take over ….no time to procrastinate….this is the real deal…not Girl Cubs….those that cant admit it are either obstinate blind bats or sentimental candy floss for brains romantics that will see the Boks lose rather than make the tough calls…..
Turbo reverse Smit ….do the hoourable thing.
Well done Bulls and Stormers….i was at Newlands…best display i have ever seen from a stormers team in super 14 ever.
Bulls are scary….thanks the merciful angels we got them at Newlands.
sharks….get that smit onto the bench….or else the losses will continue to mount….he simply cannot and will not ever be a 3….choose him there and see the losses mount week by week by week….how many in a row now ??
France around the corner….unbeaten and in all probability 6 nation champions….
anyone here brave enough to start with that sharks front row??
Not me…..!!!
and remember …i called this pain and suffering before smits 1 st game at 3…..
Dont have to be a guru….its simple….tightheads are born…not made….smit will never cut it….every week he regresses….he is so behind the 8 ball now….no coming back for him….
sorry…thats my opinion.Less said about Muir and the Lions the better.
Please PDV….dont be sentimental or bulldozed anymore….make the tough calls….for your own and the boks sake….we have a real chance to retain Bill….massive talent and the overseas players as well….but sentimentality and accomodation selections may ruin it for us saffas…..be brave….
outta here.
15 Mar 2010, 12:47 pm
Smit was always the 2nd best player, but best captain. Where is his so-called leadership now. Beast put in 1 dencent performance and is hoping to build a career on that. The du Plesis brothers don’t impress me at all, to many stupid mistakes by 2 inteligent men.
Sharkies, things are looking good in Bloem, go buy yourselves another team.
15 Mar 2010, 12:51 pm
@bozo: 19. “His Springbok success is due to other players!” – yes it is – Rugby is a team game.
Like many other Bok “supporters” kick-a-man(or Springbok Captain)-when-he-is-down is definitely at work here.
So Smit had no effect when Tonga were about to beat the Boks in the WC, Smit also had no effect on the team when Fiji were about to knock the Boks out of the World Cup?
Smit also had no effect on the 1st BI Lions test after his substitution and his re-entry into the game when momentum was with the Lions in the dying moments of the game? Smit also didnt score the first try?
We all know the Sharks problems are not the fault of Smit on his own. You are right, a TEAM player’s success is in a large part due to his team mates and coaches, but it works both ways. The Sharks lack of success is not due to Smit only.
Have more loyalty to a Bok captain who has definitely played a huge role in affording you and others plenty of bragging rights with Kiwis and Ozzies.
Smit had a part to play in a WC, 3N win (3-0 over NZ), BI Lions series win.
Stop being a BOZO.
15 Mar 2010, 12:54 pm
@Beast: “1 decent performance” – LOL. The refrains of “BEEEEAAAAAAST!” in stadiums around the world make that statement redundant.
15 Mar 2010, 13:09 pm
@Aus_Rebel: Oh really? I did write once that Van der Heever and Flip van der Merwe were both looking to leave to the Rebels, but I was purely just trying to freak out gents like Tacitus. Wasn’t aware there was any merit to it.
He is always welcome. That sort of raw pace is something the Wallabies have lacked for a while now. I thought a speedster like Frankie Fainifo might really step up this year but he hasn’t really had much ball.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All