De Waal crucial to culling Cheetahs
17 Mar 2010
Willem de Waal is a better backline bet than the inexperienced Tim Whitehead given the nature of Saturday’s clash at Newlands.
Juan de Jongh is unavailable for the Stormers this weekend prompting a debate on who’s the best man to fill the void. Allister Coetzee told keo.co.za on Monday he would choose between De Waal, Conrad Hoffmann, Whitehead, Frikkie Welsh and Dylan des Fountain to replace De Jongh and the suspended Lionel Cronje in the match 22. The team will be announced on Wednesday afternoon, and it seems Whitehead is the favourite to wear No 12.
The move makes sense in that Peter Grant will remain at flyhalf where he’s enjoyed a good start to the season. His hard running at the advantage line keeps the opposition defence from drifting wide, and his distribution (complemented by Dewaldt Duvenage’s swift service) is creating opportunities for the men outside. It’s believed the Stormers coaches don’t want to play De Waal at No 10, as his strengths are not with ball in hand.
The Stormers have scored nine tries in the last two matches. They want to keep the momentum going, but is exposing yet another rookie the answer? Are they so certain they can run the Cheetahs ragged? The fixture is more likely to be a hard grind up front with tactical kicking the order of the day.
Whitehead impressed in the 2009 Varsity Cup and has been part of the Stormers’ squad since the beginning of the season. With Morgan Newman injured, he now finds himself in contention for a start in the Super 14.
Another option, which has enjoyed success at this level, would be to move Grant to No 12 and play De Waal at flyhalf. De Waal only recently returned from a long-term neck injury, and but for that injury, would have started the season at No 10 as per the Stormers’ plans. Grant was originally expected to partner Jaque Fourie in midfield with De Jongh providing cover on the bench.
This move offers the Stormers more kicking options at 9, 10 and 12, with the flyhalf possessing the ability to punt the ball 60m into touch instead of 40m. And yes, 20m can make all the difference when you add the kicks up over the course of 80 minutes.
Two weeks ago, the Cheetahs were on fire against the Hurricanes. They have some good tactical kickers in Naas Olivier and Meyer Bosman, who must be the dangermen this Saturday. The Stormers need a player capable of countering this duo. They haven’t been tested in the tactical kicking department this season – the Brumbies’ kicked a lot, but lacked accuracy – and they haven’t met a forward pack that have put them to the test. They may find both on Saturday.
Coetzee is right in saying youngsters need to be backed, but not at the cost of a game-winning strategy. The Stormers have won four from five, but don’t need to get overconfident at this stage. Coetzee has also repeatedly said he will make selections or player rotations according to the opposition, and as history suggests, Cheetahs fixtures are tailor-made for De Waal.
The Stormers’ flyhalf orchestrated a win over the central franchise in 2009 and has proved the Cheetahs’ undoing in the Currie Cup as well. The Stormers are sure to continue in their attacking direction when they head off on tour, but they want to depart for that trip on a winning note. The smart selection for the Cheetahs’ fixture is De Waal. The tough decision on whether to stick with his boot or revert to Grant’s running game should only be made next week.
By Jon Cardinelli

147 Comments
17 Mar 2010, 08:18 am
i’m not so sure i want de waal in the team
17 Mar 2010, 08:18 am
Rookie at 12. That’s brave Alistair!
17 Mar 2010, 08:22 am
Just make sure you win Stormers
17 Mar 2010, 08:22 am
The rugby Genius Rassie has a plan …. his puppet Coetzee will do exactly what Mr Rugby says
17 Mar 2010, 08:26 am
be bold….go with Whitehead….
17 Mar 2010, 08:27 am
where’s Paul Bosch ?
17 Mar 2010, 08:30 am
this is the scenario the “drop de jongh” crowd wanted, now what?
17 Mar 2010, 08:31 am
Put who you want at 12, they will miss De Jongh’s tackling. As an outsider been impressed with him on defence.
17 Mar 2010, 08:35 am
@Oubaas2009: 8 de jongh is a massive ,massive,huge loss…..
17 Mar 2010, 08:37 am
@grant10:
Makes sense
De Waal does what he knows to do: kick to goal and kick away posession, that’s detrimental to the emerging Stormers bacline as a weapon
Grant and Duvenage have formed a good combo while the Stormers have at least 2 good inside centres in des Fountain and Welsh, there are few more other options.
17 Mar 2010, 08:38 am
@st.a.t.w: Bosch broke his arm in the Boland Warmup. Out for a few months I believe.
17 Mar 2010, 08:39 am
@Hondo: ja….my apologies to Robzim….but willem wikkelspies will ****** that backline….we must trust our youth more.
17 Mar 2010, 08:39 am
@Zulu_baby: The man in charge is AC and Rassie , if Rassie was that good how come we never played so when he was in charge ? Its a collective effort , give AC his due.
17 Mar 2010, 08:40 am
@st.a.t.w: Welsh at 12 is a far better bet than De Waal. Grant must play at 10 with Duvenhage at 9. Januarie buggers up any flyhalf with his poor service and running across the field before he passes. De Waal is as slow as a cart horse and can’t get his backline away if his life depended on it. I agree; we don’t want De Waal
17 Mar 2010, 08:40 am
Well we all knew that we were unlikely to go the season without some injuries, and we’ve all been talking about the increased depth in the squad, this will be a test of both depth and strategy. De Waal has the experience and I’d be inclined to go with him, simply because Whitehead is untested, even off the bench in this competition. I saw him in the varsity competition and he looked good, but it’s a big leap from there to Super 14.
It looks like he’ll be out for a few weeks, so I’d play De Waal at 10, Grant at 12, with Whitehead maybe coming off the bench. Then we can see how he looks. Remember, if Paul Bosch wasn’t injured he probably wouldn’t be getting a look in, so that makes him the no4 choice (after Grant, De Jong and Bosch).
That’s too risky in my opinion to throw him in at the get go. I’d be more inclined to agree with Grant10 about taking a gamble, but on an overeseas game, not here where we need to first make this game safe. And the Cheetahs have game this year. They are not going to be easy….
17 Mar 2010, 08:42 am
Des Fountain at 12 or De Waal at 10 with Grant at 12.
Choose, no other option.
17 Mar 2010, 08:42 am
but we did spart … 2 years ago, in Rassie’s first year as Stormers coach … then there was that 2nd year syndrome everyone goes through … Look AC is doing a good job, but i think Rassie is still pulling all the string – def. in the super 14
17 Mar 2010, 08:45 am
@grant10:
They pick themselves, it’s good to have De Waal on the bench though.
I doubt Habana and Fourie will miss De Johngh, they will see much more ball and faster.
De Jongh would have been dropped anyway, he rendered the acquisition of the two springboks a waste of money by the WP Union
17 Mar 2010, 08:46 am
Happy Saint Patrick’s Day everyone. Enjoy the festivities…dare to party (responsibly);-)
Wear green…and dance. Rock ‘n Roll may not take your problems away but it sure does allow you to dance on them.
17 Mar 2010, 08:54 am
De Waal is a plonker. Go with the lightie.
17 Mar 2010, 08:58 am
@sparticus:
ouch!! he looked promising
leave grant at 10 and bring in a new 12 even if it has to be whitehead , atleast he’ll have experience(and a cool head) on his in- and outside
17 Mar 2010, 08:58 am
Listen to IG AC
Be bold….
17 Mar 2010, 09:17 am
@Ig:
The way to beat the highly motivated Cheetahs is to dominate posession and to pin them back in their half of the field exploiting the relative weaknesses of their two wings under the high ball by pin-point kicks. To run against them will only play into their hands – the Hurricanes tried that and we all know what happened – WP also tried that last year in Bloem and lost.
The safe option to ‘guarantee’ a win would be de Waal at 10 and Grant at 12 with Frikkie Welsh on the bench.
Based on AC’s media statement on Monday he probably wants to start with Grant and Whitehead.
Hopefully Rassie can talk sense into his head but if he cannot he should just overrule him
17 Mar 2010, 09:20 am
@Robzim:
from what i can remember mapoe is’nt all that bad under the high ball
17 Mar 2010, 09:27 am
Go cheetahs..
17 Mar 2010, 09:27 am
@st.a.t.w:
He is not as bad as Jonkwe but is not the best either.
Jonkwe is extremely vulnerable.
Danillier has a massive boot but is relatively slow and it can also be exploited but the kicker must be very accurate – if you kick down his throat he will punish you.
17 Mar 2010, 09:30 am
@gunther:
The Canes never have 3 bad matches in a row and always win at least 1 game in SA.
17 Mar 2010, 09:43 am
@Robzim: I think you left out the word “before” in your post. As in “The Canes never have had 3 bad matches in a row BEFORE….”
‘Cos it’s going to happen this year…..
17 Mar 2010, 09:49 am
firstly I would like to say, my dad always told me, be carefull to say to much because sometime the best rugby players are those standing and watching the game… (sarcastic)
Give AC a break, he made some tough calls in the past, and those paid off, with duvenhage starting before januarie, and juan at 12, and gio at 14 with joe at 15, most coaches would have said no to these players, falling back onthe good old reason of these players are too light/small, or too young. BULLSHIT. Let this man decide, Rassie and AC is a well oiled machine, and their decisions was quite accurate….
They will choose the best team, if AC says Tim is the forerunner for 12, I am sure it is because he fitted better into the structure and training. With Grant’s confidence derived from last week’s game, you can’t move him AGAIN. I think AC and Rassie is doing something that many coaches must learn from, they play their game to their players talents, not what THEY think he must play. they don’t chop and change creating a Ruan Pienaar /Frans steyn/Lionel Mapoe scenario.
good for you. I have trust in your choice..
17 Mar 2010, 09:51 am
Robzim
Quality!
17 Mar 2010, 09:51 am
@st.a.t.w: @6 apparently, he is still injured
17 Mar 2010, 09:55 am
@stormersboy:
I was having a dig at “Go Cheetah” Gunther who is a Blue Bull fan – wanted to make him a bit worried
17 Mar 2010, 09:57 am
@Hondo: You clearly dont watch much rugby, did you see the last game, how many times De Jongh passed as opposed to running with the ball.
Dish the braai-talk bullshit
17 Mar 2010, 10:02 am
From allblacks.com
Looks like those Wp rumours were just all hot air:
Tietjens stays put as NZ seek to extend lead
NZPA – (17/03/2010) – Comment
New Zealand rugby sevens’ supremo Gordon Tietjens has distanced himself from reports linking him to a coaching role at South Africa’s Eastern Province.
The Port Elizabeth-based union – once coached by former All Blacks coach Alex Wyllie – appear confident of securing the services of Tietjens and New Zealand’s most capped halfback Justin Marshall for this year’s Currie Cup.
Tietjens confirmed he had spoken with Eastern Province officials but would not be available because South Africa’s domestic competition coincides with New Zealand’s preparations for the defence of their Commonwealth Games gold medal in India.
“I’ve had brief discussions, there’s nothing permanent,” Tietjens told NZPA from Adelaide where New Zealand contest the fifth round of the IRB world circuit from Friday.
“It won’t happen because it clashes with Commonwealth Games preparations.”
Tietjens, who is off contract with the New Zealand Rugby Union after October’s Commonwealth Games in Delhi, said Eastern Province envisaged an advisory role — not the position of head coach.
Eastern Province hope to gain promotion to the Currie Cup’s premier division and eventually join an expanded Super rugby competition as the Southern Kings.
They lost out to the Melbourne Rebels when Sanzar, the sport’s southern hemisphere controlling body, added another franchise for next year’s Super 15.
With sevens rugby an Olympic sport from 2016 in Rio, Tietjens has received feelers from United States and China.
Tietjens’ pressing concern is ensuring New Zealand maintain their series lead at the Adelaide Oval, where Samoa loom as their greatest threat.
New Zealand won the first two legs in Dubai and South Africa but were eliminated by Samoa in the semifinals at Wellington before the Pacific Islanders beat them in the Las Vegas final.
“They know the game inside out and have very good players in Mikaele Pesamino and Uale Mai,” Tietjens said.
“Like us they’ve been in three finals, we’re probably the form teams at the moment.”
New Zealand lead at the halfway mark of the eight-leg series with 84 points.
Samoa are on 70 while perennial powerhouse Fiji lurk on 68.
Tietjens has a largely unchanged squad from the Wellington and Las Vegas tournaments.
The only significant change is Bay of Plenty’s Toby Arnold replacing injured Counties Manukau speedster Sherwin Stowers.
Stowers will be in contention for the Hong Kong leg between March 26-28 if he passes a fitness test.
Tietjens names his squad for Hong Kong on Sunday.
NZ start their pool play against Scotland on Friday night (8.08pm NZT) and then play Tonga (4.13pm) and Argentina (8.18pm) on Saturday ahead of Sunday’s knockout phases.
New Zealand squad: Kurt Baker (Taranaki), Tomasi Cama (Manawatu), DJ Forbes (Counties Manukau), Paul Grant (Otago), Tim Mikkelson (Waikato), Zar Lawrence (Bay of Plenty), Fritz Lee (Counties Manukau), Lote Raikabula (Manawatu), Ben Souness (Taranaki), Toby Arnold (Bay of Plenty), Nafi Tuitavake (North Harbour), Save Tokula (Waikato).
17 Mar 2010, 10:03 am
@WP_: EP sorry, EP
17 Mar 2010, 10:03 am
Rob
The cheetahs are my second team…
How do you think the guys will go on tour?
Better than last year?
My source tells me the boys are VERY focussed..
17 Mar 2010, 10:06 am
@Robzim: Ah. Sorry. Didn’t get the irony….
17 Mar 2010, 10:06 am
Whatever you do, don’t move Grant from 10.
He is playing well and should stay there. It will do his confidence a world of good if he knows that he is trusted with such an important position in the team and that he is not just a stop gap for WdW.
17 Mar 2010, 10:08 am
We will destroy the mielieboere this weekend….. easy game. Fact!
17 Mar 2010, 10:09 am
@sparticus:
Dude, use that *ignore button* bru!!
17 Mar 2010, 10:09 am
Stormersboy
You have to dig deep for rob’s irony he makes you work for your laugh…
17 Mar 2010, 10:11 am
@grant10: Only problem with WP laaitjies they get pissed and start fight with Bulls supporters and the get bliksemed
17 Mar 2010, 10:12 am
@WP_:
Both Frikkie and Des Foutain are outside centers!!!
17 Mar 2010, 10:16 am
@wpw: Des Fountain is more than capable of playing 12 and has before for the Stormers…
I never mentioned Welsh! Are you seeing things?
17 Mar 2010, 10:17 am
De Jongh is no big loss … watch Fourie & Habana this weekend getting more ball …
17 Mar 2010, 10:18 am
@Robzim:
De Waal is useless bru. Always was and always will be!!!
Nothing more than a CC player!!
17 Mar 2010, 10:19 am
bad news for my cheetahs, de jongh is a quota, now we have 1 more player to worry about *sigh*
17 Mar 2010, 10:22 am
@WP_:
I’m just repeating with the Stormers coaching staff has said lately.
17 Mar 2010, 10:23 am
Let the derbies begin!!
cant believe its a whole 3 days till game time.
anybody here got a supersport s14 fantasy team?
17 Mar 2010, 10:24 am
@wpw: I know. I can also read. Tim Whitehead the front runner
17 Mar 2010, 10:29 am
Mielieboer
Looks like a good harvest this year.,
Maybe you will be able to buy some longpant..and shoe..
17 Mar 2010, 10:33 am
@gunther: LOL, funny enough i saw a proper boer standing outside my kids school on monday holding a mielie up in each hand and a boot filled to the top.
no sales were made while i was there… prob hasnt got his, “MIIEEEEELIIIIIIEEEESSS” yell sorted yet.
doesnt look too lucrative, we might have to chip in for the longpant.
17 Mar 2010, 10:33 am
I never agree with making two changes to a backline to cover one injured player. I do believe this may even things up on Saturday.
17 Mar 2010, 10:35 am
@Zulu_baby: @Mielieboer:
Fishing… are we?
17 Mar 2010, 10:36 am
@gunther:
Longpant and two- tone khaki shirt do not make good fashion.
17 Mar 2010, 10:38 am
you just need to beat the SARS system … best way = farming … kry vir jou malema
17 Mar 2010, 10:39 am
Pakalolo
Microwave popcorn..,that’s where the real money is… there will be enough cash leftover from buying the longpant for a penthouse at the bloemfontein waterfront..
17 Mar 2010, 10:40 am
@WP_:
You can read??
17 Mar 2010, 10:43 am
I agree with the Whitehead move.
Keep Grant and Duvenhage as the axis – uninterrupted.
Grant is a flyhalf. Put a CENTRE in at centre to replace the injury.
Lets not pull a Sharks / **** Muir and play scrummies at hooker and locks at centre etc etc ..
Have faith and play players in position.
This will work.
17 Mar 2010, 10:44 am
JC is an idiot and gives off the impression he’s de Waal’s agent
the oke isnt even in form
sometimes it takes a while to come back after an injury and to make 2 changes for 1 injured player could do more harm than good
look at the bulls, they make one change and keep everything balanced..ala Stephen Dippenaar when he replaced Jaco Pretorius
17 Mar 2010, 10:44 am
Robzim
Two tone khaki is the new black…
17 Mar 2010, 10:53 am
@Papoose:
They need hits bro!!
Hence the ‘controversial’ articles!!!
Why do you think they dont ban idiots like WHAT and MIELIEBOER??
Cos they need hits!!!
It’s all about the benjamins baby!!
17 Mar 2010, 11:00 am
wpw … stop being a racist c*nt .. drink a papsak & read die son …chill dude
17 Mar 2010, 11:00 am
Keo had to post this because their predictions were again proved wrong. Keo must be the only place where people actually think de Waal is a starting flyhalf for a Super 14 team. The man has consistenly failed at this level, is one-dimensional and has never been able to get a backline going. Do you not remember the Stromers campaign last year? aOr realise there’s a reason the WP Vodacome Cup team is being so roundly criticised for their lack of attacking prowess and inability to pick up a bonus point? It all starts with their no 10.
Tim Whitehead is by far the best option. Keep our flyhalf where he is and bring in a phenomenally talented player.
17 Mar 2010, 11:02 am
I can’t wait for Whitehead to perform well on his debut, the Stormers to win and pick up 5 points and Keo to STILL write an article criticising the decision.
17 Mar 2010, 11:07 am
@wpw: but now i saw a post earlier ..think from Grant, that said he spoke to Keo’s secretary who basically gave off the impression they cant give two hoots abt the bloggers and figures we’re mostly idiots anyways
the hits dont matter
was this accurate?
17 Mar 2010, 11:09 am
but wot happens then if grant gets injured?
their depth is lacking innit?
17 Mar 2010, 11:14 am
How much more risky is it to play a young, highly-rated, talented, solid rookie in his favoured position than a 34 year old, slow, “solid” kicking flyhalf that’s been out injured for ages and played no more than VC this year but has S14 experience?
AC is right, “good enough is old enough”.
And Whitehead is good. Have any of those commenting on him actually ever watched him? I for one am quite excited at the prospect. Sure, it’s a risk, but that’s where it’s down to AC and co to balance things properly on game day. If young Tim is not firing, then pull him and you can still play De Waal and Grant, but it’s far less diruptive and risky to make one change than 2 to your staring lineup.
17 Mar 2010, 11:17 am
@Vetkoek: its as simple as following the bulls formula and not **** muir/plums shifting of players
players lose confidence when that happens
its psycholgical
look at pienaar
EISH
17 Mar 2010, 11:19 am
@Papoose:
Lionel Cronje really stuffed up.
We need quality back up and he has looked good since arriving in CT.
17 Mar 2010, 11:20 am
@Papoose: Agreed and Grant is no exception to that. A few years back, he was being touted as a potential Bok 10. Then a dip in form, coupled with a lack of 12′s and suddenly he was being shifted around from 10 to 12 to bench.
Now he’s back at 10, looking good and looking happy and people want to move him around again?
If it ain’t broke.
17 Mar 2010, 11:24 am
@Vetkoek:
I think De Waal is 31 now.
I do agree though. We should rather give the youngster a go!!!
If he does well then we will have loads of depth at 12/13
Fourie
De Jongh
JDV (if he returns)
Whitehead
Des Fountain
Frikkie
Newman
17 Mar 2010, 11:27 am
@Vetkoek:
I think PDV made a HUGE mistake by selecting Ruan Pienaar at 10 for the Boks.
Peter Grant was our best 10 during the 2008 S14 and should have been in the Bok squad but PDV chose Butch James and Ruan as his flyhalves.
Grant is good enough to play for the Boks and he is by far a better 10 than Ruan!!!
17 Mar 2010, 11:28 am
@Vetkoek: 71
Agree
17 Mar 2010, 11:59 am
“It seems” ??? The standard of “journalism” on this site would make a tabloid writer blush. Come on JC, tighten up man!
Gavin Rich on Supersport:
“Peter Grant has really been playing well for us at flyhalf so I think we will only make the one change if it is necessary to do so because of injury,” said Coetzee.
17 Mar 2010, 12:12 pm
@Michael:
If AC said that, then I’m in full agreement with him.
Grant has done well so far and deserves to stay at 10. No need to mess him around just because we need a 12. There are other players available for that position. Choose one of them.
17 Mar 2010, 12:20 pm
Here’s Rugby 365.com’s team of the week. An interresting suggestion made on the site is to have a “plonkers” team of the week. That should get some (more) lively debate going here: any ideas?
Rugby365.com’s team of the week:
15 – Israel Dagg (Highlanders):
He showed how to live off scraps and is a master of making something out of nothing.
Bubbling under: Joe Pietersen (Stormers)
14 – Sireli Naqelevuki (Stormers):
It was indeed a close call – brute force against blistering pace. We opted for Naqelevuki after once again looking at his collision with Cory Jane – it was brutal.
Bubbling under: Gerhard van den Heever (Bulls)
13 – Jaque Fourie (Stormers):
His true qualities are shining through in a winning culture and he is a vital cog in an impressive Stormers backline.
Bubbling under: Digby Ioane (Reds)
12 – Berrick Barnes (Waratahs):
He is certainly making sure he is near the front of the line for the Wallabies’ No.12 jersey.
Bubbling under: Wynand Olivier (Bulls)
11 – Drew Mitchell (Waratahs):
Yes, we know it was the kittens they played against, but he still showed some blistering finishing qualities.
Bubbling under: Zac Guildford (Crusaders)
10 – Quade Cooper (Reds):
He does still have a tendency to be over-elaborate, such as his one-handed goose-step knock-on. But without doubt the standout flyhalf of the weekend.
Bubbling under: Morné Steyn (Bulls)
9 – Fourie du Preez (Bulls):
Without peer in the No.9 jersey.
Bubbling under: Kahn Fotuali’i (Crusaders)
8 – Pierre Spies (Bulls):
Teams must have nightmares about Spies when they know their next opponents are the Bulls.
Bubbling under: Kieran Read (Crusaders)
7 – Francois Louw (Stormers):
One of the most underrated loose forwards in the competition.
Bubbling under: Daniel Braid (Reds)
6 – Scott Higginbotham (Reds):
Another man that moves his huge frame around the park like a midfielder.
Bubbling under: Schalk Burger (Stormers)
5 – Andries Bekker (Stormers):
He’s adding a physical edge to his game – which is handy when you already have plenty of skill and pace.
Bubbling under: Isaac Ross (Crusaders)
4 – Dean Mumm (Waratahs):
Again, it was the kittens, but Mumm was a monster.
Bubbling under: Anton van Zyl (Stormers)
3 – Owen Franks (Crusaders):
He would have earned a few ticks of approval from the All Black selectors.
Bubbling under: Neemia Tialata (Hurricanes)
2 – Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs):
Ditto numbers 11 and four.
Bubbling under: Tiaan Liebenberg (Stormers)
1 – Ben Alexander (Brumbies):
It was his general play, more than his scrumming ability, that won him our vote.
Bubbling under: Gurthrö Steenkamp (Bulls)
17 Mar 2010, 12:26 pm
77. Who chose that team – Bob Skinstad?
17 Mar 2010, 12:29 pm
The value of having the Kings/Spears franchise can not be more stated, all these boys wouldn’t have left the SEC
6. Luke Watson, Keegan Daniels
7. Dewald Potgieter, Deon Stegmann
8. Kankowski
9. Kockott
10. Lionel Cronje
11. Jongi Nokwe
12. Tim Whitehead
13. Lionel Mapoe
14. Bjorn Basson
15. Zane Kirchner
17 Mar 2010, 12:33 pm
There are a few journalists, and they aggregate their choices. here are the individual selections:
Len Kaplan XV: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Sireli Naqelevuki, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Kahn Fotuali’i, 8 Kieran Read, 7 George Smith, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Ben Alexander.
Paul Dobson XV: 15 Joe Pietersen, 14 Sireli Naqelevuki, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Ben Alexander.
Tim Hancox XV: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Digby Ioane, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Will Genia, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Daniel Braid, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Isaac Ross, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Neemia Tialata, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Ben Alexander.
Jan de Koning XV: 15 Israel Dagg, 14 Gerhard van den Heever, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Francois Louw, 6 Scott Higginbotham, 5 Andries Bekker, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Ben Alexander.
@XhosaKid: 79. What makes you think that if there was a Kings/Spears franchise, they all would not have left the SEC?
Sometimes the grass is greener on the other side.
“It’s believed the Stormers coaches don’t want to play De Waal at No 10, as his strengths are not with ball in hand.”
if they don’t want him at 10 wtf is he doing in cape town?
17 Mar 2010, 12:34 pm
@XhosaKid:Yeah like all the guys left the Free State because there wasn’t a Super 14 team there either…
17 Mar 2010, 12:40 pm
Whitehead is set to start – there is not much doubt.
He is a good player – Not nearly as good as Paul Bosch or Juan de Jongh, but should hopefully be OK against the Cheetahs.
I do not agree that Grant is playing so well this year – he had one very good match against the Canes, before that he was average and his tactical kicking against the Brumbies was nothing short of woeful.
In previous seasons (And against the Brumbies this year) he failed time and again when up against teams with good kicking games and organised defences when his predictability on the attack and below average ability as a tactical and line kicker was exposed.
There is no reason why it will not happen again later this year when he plays against teams like the Crusaders and Bulls (Carter and Steyn) for example.
17 Mar 2010, 12:42 pm
@Heavens Game: Simply, look at the difference the Warriors cricket franchise has had as opposed to EP and Border cricket individually, do you think SEC school boys are dreaming of playing for the Dolphins, Lions, Eagles or Titans, the answer is NO, they are happy to stay and play in the region and thats what a professional franchise brings to the region.
Colin Ingram, Wayne Parnell, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Jon Jon Smuts, Colin Ackermann, Rusty Theron and Johan Botha would have left SEC if there was no franchise in the region, Boucher did but now he is back and brought along his mate Kallis
17 Mar 2010, 12:43 pm
@Heavens Game: the grass is greener in the SEC, just ask Kallis
17 Mar 2010, 12:45 pm
@XhosaKid: that’s about the only thing ep has going for it, and if that was such an attraction the h gibbs would have been there long ago.
17 Mar 2010, 12:49 pm
@XhosaKid: 86. Grass as in Boom?
17 Mar 2010, 12:49 pm
@XhosaKid: 85. Its just not cricket…
17 Mar 2010, 12:51 pm
@XhosaKid:
The warriors did brilliantly but they must thank Shukri Conrad for chasing Kallis,Prince and Boucher away from the Cobras.
If there was ever a blind move by any coach in any sporting discipline then that takes the cake.
17 Mar 2010, 12:53 pm
@the peanut gallery: My sentiments exactly. I am thankful that the power that be realized that he is not what we want at 10. Maybe the Cheetahs want him back?
17 Mar 2010, 13:01 pm
@GI POT:
@the peanut gallery:
The Stormers braintrust sang a different tune as short as a month ago when they were quoted that he only needs to regain his match sharpness to make it back into the team.
I am not sure what made them change their minds during the last month but it was certainly not something de Waal did.
I would like to see how Grant performs behind the Wp vodacom cup tight forwards who is giving a new meaning to the concept of Turbo reversing.
17 Mar 2010, 13:08 pm
@the peanut gallery:now who would the warriors rather have jaque kallis or herschelle gibbs?
@Robzim: who is “Jonkwe” is he like Brangelina?
17 Mar 2010, 13:11 pm
@GI POT:
Rassie signed De Waal didn’t he??
The fact that WDW is not getting an opportunity proves that Allister and his assistants are the ones calling the shots!!!
17 Mar 2010, 13:12 pm
@Robzim: #90 was content with taking “greener pasture seeking” boys like monde zondeki & robin petersien from SEC
17 Mar 2010, 13:12 pm
Robzim
Shukri must still have nightmares about that ..
Russel Domingo drinking champers out of two limited overs trophies wearing nothing but a warriors trophy …
I think they should call the rugby franchise the warriors as well. Success breeds success..
17 Mar 2010, 13:14 pm
@the peanut gallery: what does gauteng have that is so wonderful? Then bizhub lions & the golden lions? Pfffft!
17 Mar 2010, 13:17 pm
@gunther:
Did you hear that Niel McKenzie rejected a contract offer from the Cobras!!
Thank goodness!!!
Now all we need is for Shukri to get fired and we’ll recruit Domingo from the Warriors!!!
17 Mar 2010, 13:17 pm
Transie
He is Marius Jonker’s and Jongi Nokwe’s love child..
17 Mar 2010, 13:21 pm
I’m sorry this article is as braindead as they come.I really didnt think you guys could top yourselves after the absolute rubbish that has been written about the stormers ( and the bulls) but this just takes the cake. Has anyone from this site watched de waal play vodacom cup this year? Obviously not. Even making allowances for his pack, he has been atrocious. Not to mention that to call de Waal a weak link in the defence would be laughably understated.
To remove Peter Grant from flyhalf would annihilate all the progress this backline has made. Grant is far and away the best flyhalf in this country (miles better than the massively overrated Morne Steyn who is protected by the worlds best scrumhalf and who is going to get exposed as soon as he leaves Loftus, just like he was on last years overseas tour).
17 Mar 2010, 13:22 pm
While attending a marriage seminar on communication, Gatiep & Meraai listened to the instructor declare:
“It’s essential that husbands & wives know the things that are important to each other.
“For instance, gentlemen, can u name ur wife’s favourite flower? ”
Gatiep leaned over, touched his wife’s arm gently and whisper…ed, “Self-Raising, ne?”
17 Mar 2010, 13:23 pm
@GrantV: 100. You forgot Peter Grant walks on water too.
17 Mar 2010, 13:24 pm
Wpw
Your heart must have been in your mouth..
Sadly the cobras couldn’t afford him.. He certainly would have been a better bet than davies..
Dolphins should go for him they are looking to build a young team there he would be a great skipper for them..
17 Mar 2010, 13:30 pm
@gunther:
Look, I think Niel is decent but I just dont think we should sign him… I dont like the guy ok??
And it is all Joe Maher’s fault!!
17 Mar 2010, 13:32 pm
Heavens Game
It will save the cost of a plane ticket on their tour..
They can give Brok Harris two seats..
and two meals ..
17 Mar 2010, 13:45 pm
@Transformation: @93 & 97 i was talking about gibbs and the green “grass”. get it? do you need a picture?
who said anything about gauteng? i don’t live in gp.
17 Mar 2010, 13:57 pm
@the peanut gallery: my bad…
17 Mar 2010, 14:11 pm
It’s either Frikkie Welsh at 12 or De Waal at 10.
Could and Should rather have been Cronje at 10 , Grant at 12 maar nou ja…..
17 Mar 2010, 14:16 pm
@wp_boytjie: Yeah,that’s what it should be…so logical to go De Waal 10,Grant 12 then..or sensible…
Duvenhage’s swift service…Is that a dig at January’s pisspoor service..?
17 Mar 2010, 14:21 pm
@wpw: 101
17 Mar 2010, 14:22 pm
@wp_boytjie:
Frikkie Welsh is an OUTSIDE center!!!
17 Mar 2010, 14:22 pm
@nama1:
I see the witou’s don’t get it!!!
Its cos its Higher Grade!!! lmao
17 Mar 2010, 14:27 pm
@GrantV: You can’t serious. Feel free to make such bold statements when Steyn’s not the reason why wp can’t make it to a tournaments playoffs.
17 Mar 2010, 14:28 pm
@gunther: 105 hehehehe
17 Mar 2010, 14:31 pm
@wpw: You cant be stealing from the Warriors again, Warriors gave Mickey Arthur to SA, which set them back for a season, Keep Shukri and for the record, Prince and Boucher returned home, you guys still have Zondeki, Peterson and Justin Kemp that we have given you
17 Mar 2010, 14:33 pm
JC – please stop writing this junk. you’re meant to be a reporter; feel free to report but please bear in mind that you aren’t a rugby expert’s backside so please stop using this site as a platform for your opinions about selection etc. Plenty of other bloggers have already shot down your ideas about starting de waal and moving grant to centre, so I won’t repeat what has already been said with varying degrees of eloquence. I will say that it would be a huge step backwards and would completely disrupt the pattern the stormers are developing. Good for Coetzee, Fleckie and co for backing a talented young player and all the best to Whitehead.
Keo – how about posting a rugby playing CV for each of your journalists on this site. I’ve got a feeling we’d have a few C-teamers in the bunch. I’m not saying that you have to be a great rugby player to be a great rugby-writer, but a guy like JC should get creative with interesting story ideas, interviews, report new facts and basically pull his finger out and do some real journalism. We aren’t particularly interested in his ‘expert’ opinions.
17 Mar 2010, 14:36 pm
@GrantV: bloody hell mate….
whats with the nick?
Bloggers going to want to moer you on this site….you gotta have a bullet proof vest with that nic if you know whats good for you.
17 Mar 2010, 14:39 pm
Shukri told Bouch & Kallis that they weren’t good enough to make his quota tjommie team … nice to see how that blew up in his face
17 Mar 2010, 14:39 pm
@toughnrumble: 116
Well said. Articles should be facts rather than selection opinions. Often a tough line to follow, but that’s true journalism.
Don’t agree with your second statement though as most rugby players make pretty horrendous writers, but that just moves it back to the fact that article shouldn’t be opinion pieces.
17 Mar 2010, 14:49 pm
@Mutant: Mate, have another read of my post – what I said was that you DON’T have to have been a great player to be a great writer, which I think you are, in fact, agreeing with. I think we’d all prefer to hear opinions from people who have earned the right to spout them off. JC could have found one or two rugby experts – players, coaches, etc, who feel that de Waal should be starting and outlined their arguments here, and whilst I might disagree with his sources, at least the piece is backed up. If you can’t find an expert who shares your opinion and can give some solid reasons, then either you’re a lazy journalist, or they all also think your ideas are ****! sorry – starting to rant again, but I think we’re on the same page.
17 Mar 2010, 14:50 pm
and they haven’t met a forward pack that have put them to the test.
JC have you even watched any of teh Stormers games
17 Mar 2010, 14:50 pm
@Mutant: @toughnrumble: guys, take Pissant’s word for it, he came out and said these okes, Simon, Jon, Ryan Vrede have are no doubt talented writers & have been doing it for years.
17 Mar 2010, 14:56 pm
@Transformation: If the Mighty Pissant said it, then it’s clearly true. I shall henceforth treasure each word these great men write as a hallowed oracle shared by kind gods with us mere mortals.
17 Mar 2010, 14:57 pm
@toughnrumble:
Its SIR Mighty Pissant to you
17 Mar 2010, 14:58 pm
Stormers by at least 14 against FS with a bonus point try with or without WdW
@Alfred E Neuman: i grovel….
@toughnrumble: Yip, we’re on the same page although I don;t agree with putting up a rugby-playing CV, that’s all.
@Transformation: No way I’m doubting their journalistic skills. I’m in the industry and the guys can write, there are some excellent articles here and in their mags. It’s just that this article is based on JC’s opinion, which is not journalism. Maybe he was tasked with writing an opinion piece, but I don’t think he’s got the pedigree to be doing those yet (whereas Keo does). The point is, we don’t really care what his opinion on team selection is – we’ve all got one. He should have got a qualified opinion from a coach or player, that’s all.
17 Mar 2010, 15:00 pm
@Mutant: 127. My, my… some professional bitching going on here
17 Mar 2010, 15:03 pm
@Mutant: fair play. i retract my request for playing CVs and acknowledge they are not relevant. my sudden urge to see JC’s rugby playing credentials was probably cruel and uncalled for, but was also a knee-jerk reaction to his self-appointment as an authority. And, it’s become a bit of a habit for the man – he quite regularly uses this site to bless us all with his latest thought on selections.
17 Mar 2010, 15:04 pm
@Heavens Game: LOL, yes but the rant is over! Thanks for bearing with it.
17 Mar 2010, 15:05 pm
@Heavens Game:
it is the professional era
@Alfred E Neuman: Agreed…my picks are in and I went Stormers by 15
@toughnrumble: I thought the same thing when I read the article. Its a bloody stupid idea to even suggest using dewaal at flyhalf.this from this from the same people that have been hypercritical of the stormers attack up until the hurricanes game. Realy poor journalism
17 Mar 2010, 15:07 pm
@Alfred E Neuman: 131. The professional area for SA rugby journalism?
Other than on Keo.co.za, I think not.
17 Mar 2010, 15:07 pm
So moving on, what’s your guys opinion? I’d say back the youth and play Whitehead. We’re always going on about the Kiwi’s and Aussies playing youngsters, time for us to back our systems and send the lighties onto the field. IMO.
17 Mar 2010, 15:12 pm
@Mutant: I dunno….Willem sure knows how to beat those Cheetahs…
17 Mar 2010, 15:14 pm
@Mutant: I agree. losing de jongh is going to be a disruption, but bringing whitehead in means that there’s only one position changed and from what I’ve seen of the lad, he’s talented and will allow the players around him to maintain the style and strategy that has been working so well. if you bring de waal in, then you’ve got a vastly different type of flyhalf and a very different kind of inside centre – your whole game plan changes and not for the better in my opinion.
Besides, this kid is highly rated and on the way up. De Waal is not exactly in his prime or playing anywhere his best rugby, so for me it’s an easy decision.
17 Mar 2010, 15:15 pm
anywhere NEAR his best rugby…
17 Mar 2010, 15:17 pm
@toughnrumble: OK…I’ll go with that
17 Mar 2010, 15:42 pm
Its short, sweet and simple
Any journo advocating moving Grant to 12 and bringing in De Waal at 10 needs to be shot.
Patently ridiculous…
17 Mar 2010, 16:01 pm
What is this country coming to?
LEGAL DRAMA IN DURBAN ….. You HAVE to read this!
UNBELIEVABLE !
A seven-year old boy was at the centre of a courtroom drama yesterday at the Durban High court when he challenged a court ruling over who should have custody of him. The boy has a history of being beaten by his parents and the judge initially awarded custody to his aunt, in keeping with child custody law and regulation requiring that family unity be maintained to the highest degree possible..
The boy surprised the court when he proclaimed that his aunt beat him more than his parents and he adamantly refused to live with her. When the judge then suggested that he live with his grandparents, the boy cried and said that they also beat him.
After considering the remainder of the immediate family and learning that domestic violence was apparently a way of life among them, the judge took the unprecedented step of allowing the boy to propose who should have custody of him.
After two recesses to check legal references and confer with the child welfare officials, the judge granted temporary custody to The Sharks whom the boy firmly believes are not capable of beating anyone.
17 Mar 2010, 16:03 pm
Whitehead is in… De Waal onthe benchwith Sireli..
17 Mar 2010, 16:04 pm
tim whitehead is selected… de waal on the bench
17 Mar 2010, 16:04 pm
@Mielieboer: 141. Substitute Surrender ******* (Lions) for Sharks and then the article is spot on.
17 Mar 2010, 16:05 pm
@Mielieboer:
17 Mar 2010, 16:07 pm
sorry… something seriously wrong with my connection to keo… took forever to post that… tried again too… hence two posts…
17 Mar 2010, 16:25 pm
maybe it’s with keo.co.za…
doesn’t seem to be refreshing or updating…