Plum’s job safe
17 Mar 2010
Brian van Zyl says there are no plans to sack John Plumtree after the Sharks’ dismal start to their campaign.
Five straight losses sees a squad containing well over 10 Springboks languishing in 12th position on the log. The Sharks have won one game in their last 10 Super 14 starts. They haven’t won a match this year considering their pre-season losses to the Stormers and Force, and were also knocked out of the Currie Cup by the Cheetahs in a semi-final at home last year.
Sharks CEO Van Zyl described this run as a ‘downward spiral’, but was confident the side would be able to get out of the slump soon.
‘Plum’s job is safe,’ Van Zyl told keo.co.za. ‘It’s on the record that we’ve offered him a contract extension to keep him here. We just have to finalise a few details.’
The Sharks face the Highlanders and Hurricanes in their final two tour matches. Van Zyl said the Sharks board will decide who is to be held accountable for their tour results once the team returns home.
‘It’s hard to say what would happen if there was a winless tour,’ he said. ‘If anything drastic were to happen, it would have to come from a collective management decision.’
Van Zyl reiterated that he has full faith in Plumtree, who took over as head coach from Dick Muir after the 2008 Super 14. Since then, the Sharks broke their 12-year Currie Cup drought by claiming the title in 2008, but ended the 2009 Super 14 in sixth position after topping the log midway through the competition.
Fast-forward to a little less than a year later, and there are now big problems.
‘I think they’ve been unfortunate in that many bad decisions have gone against them,’ said Van Zyl. ‘A few bounces of the ball and losses of concentration have cost the team. They’ve only taken one smack, against the Crusaders, and I’m sure they’ll come good soon.
‘Our goal was always to make the semis, and from there to make the final. That looks unlikely now, but a good coach doesn’t become a bad coach over night. We’re just in a downward spiral, which has to be overturned.
‘We can’t win everything. Although we haven’t won the Super 14, we’ve been in more finals than any South African team.’
Van Zyl, like Plumtree has done this week, denied reports that in-fighting between the players is derailing the Sharks’ season. Van Zyl also refuted claims that Plumtree has lost the support of a faction of the squad and administration.
‘Those are just rumours,’ he said.
By Grant Ball

87 Comments
17 Mar 2010, 05:39 am
Over hyped and paid players-not the coach!
17 Mar 2010, 06:24 am
Sharks are starting to remind me of the mighty Lions from Gautengalleng
17 Mar 2010, 06:26 am
FYI – if there are rumours of rifts within the squad – that means that there IS a rift.
17 Mar 2010, 06:30 am
Gautengalleng gautengalleng, i wanna stay in gautengalleng, the crime is bad but what the heck, it’s keller om te lewe hier in gautengalleng!
Redlion should adapt lyrics to that song
17 Mar 2010, 06:32 am
Why not simply FIRE the faction of the squad who are not giving the coach 100% support? Surely if coaches and management can be hired and fiered then why not the players?
17 Mar 2010, 06:49 am
Things are not lekker at my sharks. John Plumtree might have signed a contract extension but that do not extent my sharkies performing.
17 Mar 2010, 06:55 am
its not plums fault. In fact before super 14 season started i said plum has a tougher job than PDV. Plum not making the big calls, he is simply a pawn in a far more deeped situation.
9losses out of last 10 in super 14,throw in the CC Semi loss and the 2 x preseason losses…..thats 13 losses out of last 14 games.
And we still believe scrum stability is unimportant??
Perhaps there are no rifts….?
Maybe its just that Sharks arent good enough?
17 Mar 2010, 06:59 am
why would plum be fired for winning 4 out 15 games? if saffa super14 were on performance contracts then naka drotske would not still be on the job. There’s a special kind of merit for saffa s14 coaches.
17 Mar 2010, 06:59 am
If there are factions, I can guarantee that the Dup brothers are in the one… They seem to think that they are bigger than the game at the moment…
That being said, they both suffer great frustration with John occupying both their positions.
If they want success, they need to make a few changes to the team. Either John is a hooker, or John is out. The non-performers need to go and the Dup’s need to suffer the consequences of poor discipline.
17 Mar 2010, 07:07 am
I know we are talking about current rugby news but just my 2 cents is this the sharks have been so-so the last ten years
17 Mar 2010, 07:11 am
so to alleviate my understanding, was this a plum job or not?
17 Mar 2010, 07:14 am
i would rather be the Zimbabwean Minister of Finance on a commission only basis than the Sharks coach.
17 Mar 2010, 07:20 am
@grant10: of course plum’s job is safe, van zyl and them will just give him a promotion to DOR and everything will be honky dory!
17 Mar 2010, 07:26 am
@Transformation: 13
Ja…perhaps Van Zyl should go!! Losing all those players ….bj…Steyn…barritt….etc.
More to go too….watch Kockitt…Muller….du plessis brothers…..to name a few.
Plum is just the ham in the sandwich….he has no chance, his hands are tied…
17 Mar 2010, 07:39 am
@grant10: 14
Really think Steyn is a loss and Kockitt. The Dup Bros Inc will be the scapegoats… even if they are not at fault.
17 Mar 2010, 07:48 am
Problem for the Sharks is that PDV playing Smith at prop. Now it is either PDV’ way of tapping John on the shoulder or he honestly thinks John capable. We all know the end result.
Tough when the worlds best hooker, WCup winning Captain and a JW mate, hasn’t really been surpassed. About all Bismark is better at is tackle count, little faster, oh and $hits all over John for temperament (emo moments). Maybe the best thing for BDP to do is move on from under, learn to scrum and grow confident in himself. Bismark has talent, he needs to be managed.
17 Mar 2010, 07:50 am
@poppa69: 11
More like a friggin raisin at the moment mate
17 Mar 2010, 07:51 am
Bumtree hanging around? Hmm..
17 Mar 2010, 07:51 am
i still believe bissy needs to be retained…..damn fine player.That front row shuffle makes the 70 s disco era look like a foxtrot….
No one knows where they stand.
Pdv has really put a farken huge hungry cat in the piegon loft….and poor old plum is defenceless….poor sod.
17 Mar 2010, 07:53 am
@grant10: damn fine player but a loose cannon and a walking penalty
17 Mar 2010, 07:57 am
@WP_: 20
Yes….his frustration is showing….things are unhealhy there in sharks land….2 sides to a story my man…..2 sides.
17 Mar 2010, 08:03 am
@grant10: Well we dont know what is going on behind closed doors at the Sharkies now do we?
17 Mar 2010, 08:04 am
Perhaps Sharks should sack all the non performing players who have had bad games over the past 3 weeks.
Beast, Bismark, JDP, Smit, Hargreaves, Alberts, Botes, Kockott, Pienaar, Jacobs, Pieterson, Murray, Terblanche.
I think that the Glenwood first team are having a decent season, Grant10, if you’re old enough, youre good enough, and experience counts for nothing, should they play the Glenwood side with their coach?
17 Mar 2010, 08:11 am
@BULLET: LOL
I am scared i may get a call up!!@WP_:
22 Some may know more than others.
17 Mar 2010, 08:14 am
S14 is aquicker game now! Need younger legs on the field. Smittie should play tests only!
Jannie, muller, smittie should rest!
Plum like Snor need to show whose boss. Too many boks resting in the s14 like the Stormers of old!
17 Mar 2010, 08:15 am
@grant10: Oh really…
I can see where this is going. You and your vendetta against JS.
Sigh…
17 Mar 2010, 08:24 am
leave the coach get, rid of some of the players
17 Mar 2010, 08:25 am
@KevinRack: 25
Good heavens….
Thats like saying smit cant go to high shool…he is too dumb….
so send him to varsity instead??
17 Mar 2010, 08:25 am
@st.a.t.w: 27
agree
17 Mar 2010, 08:29 am
@grant10: Comment 7.
Starting to worry about your maths boet.
5 losses in the S14 in a row, 2 pre-season and the CC semi. That’s eight in a row not 13 out of 14.
Unless they lost their way to the top of the CC log. Last team to beat the Bulls at Loftus = Sharks. In fact the Bull’s lost all their games to the Sharks in the CC. Check your facts before trying to create hype.
17 Mar 2010, 08:31 am
How many games did the Sharks win by a point or 2 and how many at the death of a match.They were lucky to win as many as they did last year already. It has nothing to do with John Smit or Bismarck or Jannie
Get real, this team lacks in many areas
The locks are really weak, the backrow average and the backline is loaded with mediocrity.
Nothing in the so called Academy and many players moved from the union and contract disputes up until the first match of the season
This is a team that has never had the depth or sustainable talent to remain at the top.
At best a low mid table finish for them
17 Mar 2010, 08:31 am
@KevinRack: 25 Kevvie, so you reckon the cricket model is the way to go? Some guys are for tests and some guys are for S14?
17 Mar 2010, 08:32 am
for those of you that might know
is there any truth to the rumours about a rift between some of the players and is Stefan Terreblanche going to retire anytime soon
17 Mar 2010, 08:34 am
From sharksrugby,co,za
Plumtree, Smit Dismiss Rift Rumour
16 March 2010 (15:14) – Responding to rumours of a “rift” in the camp by various media, The Sharks coach and captain were at pains to express their differences over a matter that is untrue and unfounded.
“I can categorically state that ours is not an unhappy team,” said coach John Plumtree from The Sharks base in Queenstown.
While the run of losses is a massive disappointment for the team and their supporters, that the reason for their slump is apparently a rift in the team is a rumour that has been created out of nothing.
“I am sick of reading that,” Plumtree added. “It’s being sensationalised, it’s incorrect and questionable and it irritates me because it’s all unfounded criticism.
“Yes, confidence can take a knock when you are losing and we’re no different to any other team. What is irritating me is all the reports of the team being unhappy, all generated as sensational talk by some aspects of the media.
“The team is really happy and working hard. We’re obviously not satisfied with where we’re at on the log, but the team have accepted that the responsibility is up to them, and whatever 15 or 22 are involved in the weekend, they know what they have to do.”
Captain John Smit was in agreement with his coach, denying that there was any disharmony in the side.
“I can tell you that if there was a rift in the camp, we wouldn’t be competitive. That makes it even more ridiculous. I’ve been on tours where things weren’t right within the team, when guys jump ship. We lost by 40 or 50 points.
“But there is no way we would be trying so hard if there was a rift in the camp. The rumours are completely untrue. This team is committed and with these rumours going around, I find that very irritating, because they simply aren’t happening. To Plum’s [coach John Plumtree] credit, of all the things we’ve got right, he’s managed to get the team to stick together in these tough times. Losing is not easy for any side, but we’re not losing because there are problems in the camp, that much I can tell you.”
A lucky bounce here, an unlucky call there and matters might have been different for The Sharks. Had they won the close games instead of losing them, when the margin for error was so narrow, there wouldn’t be untrue reporting aimed at creating discord.
“The biggest positive is that I have gained so much respect for Plum, it’s a hard place to be for a coach. Everyone is doing hours of work, from the masseuse, to the physio and doctor, to the coaches, but at the end of the day, they can’t influence what happens on the field. The players have all stuck together and enjoyed each others’ company. The fact that we’ve been in every game bar the Crusaders match shows that we are a competitive team, but the log doesn’t show it and it’s up to us to prove otherwise.”
17 Mar 2010, 08:34 am
@33
I thought Stefan has already retired checked him do a clean catch with his Zimmer frame
17 Mar 2010, 08:37 am
@Oubaas2009: 30
Read the arcticle….then do the maths….then apologise.
17 Mar 2010, 08:37 am
@JL1: 35
No….he dropped it!
17 Mar 2010, 08:40 am
@grant10: 36
You said “9losses out of last 10 in super 14,throw in the CC Semi loss and the 2 x preseason losses…..thats 13 losses out of last 14 games.”
Thats bull. Plain and simple.
17 Mar 2010, 08:40 am
do you honestly think that the coach or captian would admit that there are issues between certain teamates
17 Mar 2010, 08:41 am
Wiehahn Herbst is flying out to NZ as we speak to replace Deon Carstens as reported by sharkworld.
17 Mar 2010, 08:42 am
@Oubaas2009: my abject apologies if my maths a bit out……standard grade maths….and i havent fully woken up yet…
so its 12 losses in last 13 games then?
Much better????
17 Mar 2010, 08:42 am
and if smit and bismark are’nt drinking out of the same bowl what’s going to happen, come springbok time
17 Mar 2010, 08:43 am
@Oubaas2009: 40
Great news Oubaas….great news….
Wy to go sharks….now never ever ever bloody never choose smit at 3 again….
Herbst is damn good…watched him take out a strong wp team 2 weeks ago at newlands.
Well done sharks….i feel a win coming on here!
17 Mar 2010, 08:44 am
@st.a.t.w: 42
Thats my fear!!!!!!!
17 Mar 2010, 08:46 am
@st.a.t.w: # 42 Hep C won’t be an issue!
Dude all the speculation by all and sundry will be washed away if JS & BdP rotate; it ain’t rocket science. Run on hooker depends on the opposition. FFs only an idiot would not use this test season to bring Bdp up to speed.
17 Mar 2010, 08:50 am
@grant10: 41. Better but still shite. Going backwards….
Sharks have lost 5 in a row in the S14. Ok, thats 5.
They then lost their 2 pre-season matches. Ok, thats 7.
They then lost the Currie Cup Semi. Ok, thats 8.
They then beat Griquas in the CC.
So the losing streak is 8 out of 9.
If you are looking at S14 only.
In the Super 14, they have lost 5 in S14 2010. And they lost in 2009, 26-27 vs Bulls, 16-12 vs Waratahs, they then beat Highlanders 23-15 and before that lost to Crusaders 10-13 and Cheetahs 31-6.
So in the S14 they have lost 7 in a row. And 9 out of last 10.
Is that Standard Grade enough?
17 Mar 2010, 08:50 am
@grant10:
12 losses out of 13 games
that says alot for a team being captained by the springbok captain
17 Mar 2010, 08:53 am
@RugbyRulz:
i think bismark knows he’s a better player then smit therefore does’nt like sitting on the bench when he knows he should be starting
@Oubaas2009: 46
Damn….you good my man….can you do my tax return?
On a serious note…i am so happy about Herbst….watch this tighthead….strong oke my man!!
@grant10: 43. Ja, I think they should have had him over there from the beginning. Burden should be playing Vodacom Cup rather than getting rusty not even on the bench.
2 tightheads, JDP and Herbst.
2 loosheads, Beast and Carstens.
2 hookers, Smitty and Bissie.
Most teams would give their left testicle for that line up on tour!
17 Mar 2010, 08:55 am
work to do…cheers all….
sharks to whack the landers….easy peasy….
1 point!!
17 Mar 2010, 08:56 am
@Oubaas2009: 50
Exactly.
Having 2 x great hookers should be a blessing ….not a curse.
cheers…sorry for my poor maths earlier…
17 Mar 2010, 09:02 am
I know the wheel will turn and I wonder how some other fans would feel at losing some of the matches we have? Sure the Sharks have to blame themselves for not shutting out games, but no-one can say that they haven’t been unlucky. We’ve been plain robbed twice this season and that’s not including the Pro match or this last match where some crucial decisions went against us in the final minutes. Even the match winning penalty was skeptical. No the Sharks just need to get a win and then rebuild some confidence. They are playing with too much panic and low confidence at the moment.
17 Mar 2010, 09:04 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Agreed but as they say ‘you create your own luck’.
Ask the Bulls, you don’t need to be lucky when you put 50 on the scoreboard!
17 Mar 2010, 09:06 am
@st.a.t.w: # 48
STATW go read post # 50 < I agree with Oubaas and in the order he has them.
Come test time, depending on the opposition, the run on hooker will change. Why waste the different styles? But I would only ever play John Smit as a hooker. Smith should only play prop if during a game you run out of props, through injury… blood bin or whatever. Not just because… oh gee, John is a prop… some days.
OK… look at the Aussies, they have 2 hookers Polota-Nau & Moore. Who do you start with? See what I am getting at.
17 Mar 2010, 09:08 am
@Oubaas2009: Sure but you can hardly compare the Bulls to the Sharks at the moment. The Bulls are looking like the Crusaders used to. I’m just saying that this season its a fine line between 4 from 5 and 0 from 5. Last year we made the close ones stick, this season we are losing them. Probably lacking composure. Still I reckon the Sharks will hassle most teams on their day, its not like they are getting 50 past them like the Lions.
17 Mar 2010, 09:10 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR): Totally agree with you there. Funny that the Sharks defensive record is better than the Bulls! We just need to find another try scorer other than Kanko!
17 Mar 2010, 09:11 am
@grant10: 52 No worries mate, us Sharkies are just a little more defensive than usual given the current state of the nation! And boy does Keo like to rub it in.
17 Mar 2010, 09:13 am
Whenever as a coach your employer says you “have their full support” you know it’s time to dust off your cv…
17 Mar 2010, 09:15 am
@Ratel Brussow (MSIUR):
true, but the saders did’nt leak 3-4 tries per match
@RugbyRulz:
i hear what you’re saying but when the test season arrives are you willing to leave you’re captain on the bench
17 Mar 2010, 09:16 am
@gunther: 59.
“Plum’s job is safe,’ Van Zyl told keo.co.za. ‘It’s on the record that we’ve offered him a contract extension to keep him here. We just have to finalise a few details.”
What makes you think those ‘few details’ involve getting a win in the next few matches before he comes home!
17 Mar 2010, 09:23 am
Leave the du plessis brothers behind in Australia..
17 Mar 2010, 10:04 am
@gunther: # 62
You may get what you wish for… 1/2 of it. If it happens, so be it. Do not think McQueen would want both, Jannie could always apply for a work visa, doctors are always welcome.
17 Mar 2010, 10:06 am
@st.a.t.w: # 60 I don’t have a problem with my captain coming from the bench. McCaw does it, Morty has (when he was captain) and Smit will too. Teams have a 2 IC for these situations. In time the 2 IC ends up captain.
17 Mar 2010, 10:15 am
STATW… It is all conjecture at this point in time. May John lose 10kegs, Bismark grow within himself and the Sharks take a scalp… they need it.
17 Mar 2010, 10:18 am
Rulz
They are a package deal… they are like siamese twins on that they share the same braincell..
17 Mar 2010, 10:20 am
@gunther: Jannie got all of the braincell being a Doctor
17 Mar 2010, 10:25 am
@gunther: 66 Separating siamese twins will be a benefit. We all learn to fend for ourselves.
@WP_: 67 Genetics went awry there. About all they got in common is their name.
17 Mar 2010, 10:29 am
@Oubaas2009:
The losing streak is 8 out of 8 because they lost their last 8 games in a row.
17 Mar 2010, 10:32 am
@RugbyRulz: haha, well exactly.
17 Mar 2010, 10:55 am
Rulz
They have the same kak atittude, like the world owes them something..
17 Mar 2010, 11:10 am
I hope they do sack Plumtree.
The sooner the better.
Come on home Johnny,
Wellington is the place for You.
17 Mar 2010, 11:12 am
On a positive note..at least they’re consistent.
17 Mar 2010, 11:13 am
@Oubaas2009: 61. You’ve nailed it there.
17 Mar 2010, 11:15 am
The Sharks need a homegrown coach along with homegrown players.
The Blue Balls are an example to all South Afican franchises…with the exception of Bakkies that came out of Sharks country.
17 Mar 2010, 11:26 am
@Predawn:
17 Mar 2010, 11:35 am
@nama1: #61
sharks 2009 season results
vs stormers 20 -15
vs lions 25 – 10
vs chiefs 22 – 15
vs blues 35 – 31
vs reds 13 – 25 first loss
vs force 22 – 10
vs brumbies 35 – 14
vs hurricanes 33 – 17
vs cheetahs 6 – 31 2nd loss
vs crusaders 10 – 13 3rd loss
vs highlander 23 – 15
vs waratahs 12 – 16 4th loss
vs bulls 26 -27 5th loss
so the losing streak is 7 games (including this season’s 0 from 5), looking at the way the sharks started last season, the stormers should be wary of screaming
17 Mar 2010, 11:37 am
@Transformation: #77 the stormers should be wary of screaming play-offs too early
17 Mar 2010, 11:52 am
@Transformation: 77
Oubaas was counting their losses backwards to the CC semi-final, including the two friendlies against the Force and Stormers earlier this year.
Starting at the semi vs OFS the Sharks lost 8 in a row now. (I know there is suppose to be a difference between the CC team and the S14 team).
If we only look at S14 matches, you are right. They’ve lost 7 in a row. Taking it a step further, they’ve lost 9 out of their last ten S14 games.
It must be obvious to anybody that the rot did not only set in this year afa S14 matches are concerned.
17 Mar 2010, 13:24 pm
@JL1: Hi JLI as much as i agree I also dont
We had the depth and talent , we sold it and kept only a few talents
Lets take this same side and make a few changes
Bring back a Butch , F Steyn, Barritt , Bj Botha and that side would be totally different
Then take the fact that a Jfourie had approached the Sharks and they did not snap him up
Imagine this team had they just kept their stars
15 Ludick
14 Mvovo
13 J fourie
12 F Steyn
11 JPP
10 Butch
09 Ruan
08 Kanko
07 Alberts
06 Deysel
05 Muller/Mostert
04 Sykes
03 BJ
02 Smit/Bissy
01 Beast
16 Bissy/Smit
17 Herbst/Cilliers
18 Hargreaves/Mostert
19 Botes/Daniel
20 Cockott
21 Adi/Murray
22 Odwa/Stefan
I doubt this team would have struggled , all the Sharks had to do was keep what they had and add a Fourie that approched them
Of course they also lost Hernandez to injury, but to lose what they lost and not to replace with the same kind of quality , is not the way to go
At the same time the up and comming youngsters like lambie should be blooded more , thus this year should be taken as a failure, thus they should now blood the good youngsters and plan ahead.
Fact is they dont have the Stars they had and the rebuilding phase should start A.S.A.P
17 Mar 2010, 14:40 pm
@sharks_lover: sharks fans are pretty good at fielding imaginary teams!
How many time have we heard these words in the past year “They also approached Brussow to come to Durban,whoa imagine brussow, deysel & kanko!!!” daydreamers!
17 Mar 2010, 14:56 pm
@grant10: 7 – Plum not making the big calls? That means he’s weak and needs to grow a pair. van Zyl is a complete doos to keep him on. Plum is utterly useless and doesn’t have a clue!
17 Mar 2010, 14:58 pm
@KZN King Shark: “van Zyl is a complete doos” Full Stop!!!!
17 Mar 2010, 14:59 pm
@RugbyRulz: Bismarck is emotionally challenged. He’s a five year old in a man’s body. No place for an attitude like his in professional rugby. Adds no value to the Sharks or the Boks. Just gets yellow-carded and gives Saffers a bad name.
17 Mar 2010, 15:04 pm
@JL1: 31 Look it doesn’t help when our hairbrain coach insists on starting human snail Ndungane on the wing when we have Mvovo who has pace not even making it into 22! I mean what the hell happened last week! Murray came on at wing and so did Burden?! ***** not even a schools coach would be so idiotic! Plum doesn’t know what he’s doing.
17 Mar 2010, 15:28 pm
@KZN King Shark: relax mate , ur young heart is taking a beating
@Transformation: transie , dreaming is good n free aint it??
actual i think my posting does explain it well , all sharks had to do was hold onto what they have
to me anyhows its a combination of many things being the reason the sharks are struggling
coaching yes
players yes
management yes
17 Mar 2010, 16:00 pm
@Transformation: Stormers are 3-0 up on the Sharks since then…