Wikus flies to Lions’ aid

Wikus van Heerden has been granted an early release by Saracens to join the Lions in the Super 14.

Van Heerden intended to see out the English season before completing a move back to Johannesburg where he would play for the Lions in the Currie Cup. However, the desperate situation has necessitated a request being sent to Saracens, and Van Heerden will join the Lions with immediate effect.

Saracens director of rugby Brendan Venter was sad to see the former Springbok flanker go at this stage of the season, but holds no grudge.

‘Wikus has produced many outstanding performances for Saracens and we wish him and his family well,’ said Venter.

249 Comments

• 1.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Wikcus is a Dragon!

• 2.puff: Reply to this comment

You have to admire Van Heerden’s decision to rejoin the Lions.
    I’m sure he feels there’s unfinished business.
    But it has to be said I feel he’s on a hiding to nothing.
    He’s a great player and an exceptional leader, but still…
    A bridge too far?
    One man is not going to cure the Lions’ woes.

• 3.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

The Lions play 50% better with Wickus at the Helm.

• 4.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

is he coming to Johannesburg or flying straight to New Zealand ? :-)

• 5.wpw: Reply to this comment

I suppose he returned to Lions country cos no other union wanted him.

The Bulls have over enough looseforwards and so too the rest of the SA teams in the S14.

• 6.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@puff: True, what you say Puff. But if they can keep him for maybe 2-3 seasons, they can build a decent side with his leadership.

• 7.Vundu: Reply to this comment

They must be paying him a small fortune.

• 8.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@wpw: If i were the Sharks i would pick him up. Much better than Botes and Keegan.

• 9.Jinx: Reply to this comment

With his stetson, his spurs and his pistols. I dunno what the Lions sheriff is going to do? Maybe Wickus wants to break his heart again…just for oldtime sake.

I do wish him well.

• 10.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@Vundu: You think so?

• 11.Luke_Twatson: Reply to this comment

Rebels keen to lure Vermuelen
    43 minutes ago

The Melbourne Rebels have upped their interest in SA players with Stormers No 8 Duane Vermuelen reportedly on their wishlist.

• 12.Jinx: Reply to this comment

I guess Wickus wants another shot in the drawing board business. ;-)

• 13.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Wonder how much that cost the Lions?

• 14.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood:

Wickus is a true blue…he’s doing it for the lurve.

• 15.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@BlueBlood: I dont think much….they already broke the bank by getting King Carlos. Wikus is a loyal guy so he wont mind taking a pay cut.

• 16.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

Stormers fans say “Bye Bye Vermeulen.”

• 17.grant10: Reply to this comment

this Wickus is the real deal….what a player….

Would rather have bought a couple more players like Wickus than broke the bank for Spencer.

Make him skipper as well….and play Johan van deventer in place of Baywatch.

• 18.Sonito: Reply to this comment

The Sharks could do with Wikus.

• 19.puff: Reply to this comment

@wpw:

Disagree.
    Looking ahead, the Bulls are acqually short on depth when it comes to loose forward and wing.
    Let’s look at the loosies:

Stegman, Kuun, Wannenberg, Rossouw, Potgieter, Spies, Van Velze.
    Wannenberg and Rossouw won’t be around for much longer.
    The Bulls could do with another quality loosie.

As for the wings:
    Hougaard to scrumhalf when Du Preez leaves.
    Van Den Heever, Ndungane and Mametsa (who hardly ever gets Super 14 game time).
    The Bulls would do well to contract the likes of Mapoe or Bjorn Basson.

Other than that, they are well covered.

• 20.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009: Is this a serious comment?

• 21.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami: Melbourne Rebels are keen on Duanne according to sport24. He is not capped as a Bok and they reckon he could play for Oz.

• 22.Paws: Reply to this comment

This is a start .. but Wikus is in for a surprise

Now:

Get rid of ****
    Beg HM to take over
    Get rid of rose
    Spencer more coaching than playing role

… for a start

• 23.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

I dont think Duanne would give up on the Boks that easily. Besides the rebels will be the new whipping boys of super rugby.

• 24.puff: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009:
    Hmmm

Pocock
    Elsom
    Vermeulen

Not too shabby.

Add Kockott in the mix as back-up to Genia!

• 25.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Dream on guys…Vermeulen will be in the bok squad for 2011 NZ World Cup. He would not be such a doos. The Melbourne Rebels will be the Valke of Super Rugby.

• 26.onerb: Reply to this comment

And please dump Grobbelaar. He is useless and his post match interviews are so predictable.

• 27.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

It will take the Rebels are few years to become competitive.

• 28.puff: Reply to this comment

@iori Yagami:

The Lions may play 50% better with Wikus at the helm.
    But they still lose with Wikus at the helm!
    I hope that will change, but still it has to be said.

• 29.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Jinx: yes, I’d be more concerned if I was Tacitus about a guy like Potgieter who may be left out in the cold

• 30.puff: Reply to this comment

@Jinx:

Burger
    Brussow
    Smith
    Spies
    Johnson
    Rossouw
    Potgieter
    Van Heerden
    Van Niekerk

All ahead of

Louw
    Vermeulen
    Kankowski
    Deysel
    Stegman

At this point, as far as PDV is concerned.

• 31.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@onerb:

As predictable as Wickus’ speeches when he last played for the beleaguered Lions. 9 million drawing boards. Noooooh!!

I say re-cycle the Coke Tin. The Lions are flat. No fizz.

• 32.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@puff: True. I think it will change. He will add stability to the team and lead by example when it comes to defence. **** Muir’s vision is just all wrong for the Lions. Lions are better suited to a structured forward orientated game plan. The heads up rugby will come once you are settled and sure about the team and the game plan.

• 33.puff: Reply to this comment

I’d pick Francois Louw for the Boks out of that bottom list at present.

• 34.puff: Reply to this comment

Lions need to know who their top 15 players are.
    Can one say who their top hooker is?
    No.
    Their top tighthead?
    No.
    Their top locks?
    No.
    Their top flyhalf?
    Potentially but then let him settle (Francis not Spencer!).
    Their top outside centre?
    Their top wings?
    Their top fullback?
    No, no and no.

• 35.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@puff:

I would drop Danie (bless his soul) and Big Joe from your top lot for 2011 NZ.

Flo is a boykie…agree.

• 36.puff: Reply to this comment

1. Heinke Van Der Merwe
    2. Cobus Grobelaar (You who diss him now, tell me, were you calling his name to be drafted into the Bok squad not so long ago?)
    3. Wikus Van Heerden
    4. Jano Vermaak
    5. Burton Francis
    6. Doppies La Grange (I don’t rate him too highly but I guess the stats don’t lie.)

In my mind, these are the six definites on the team sheet.

• 37.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@puff:

Nein,nein, nein… ;-)

• 38.onerb: Reply to this comment

@Jinx:

Or at least sell it for some salvage and move to Ruimsig stadium now! Hell 5 000 supporters in a 10000 seater looks and sounds better than 5000 in a 60000 seater.

They could probably buy out ruimsig stadium outright and buy, buy a great team, make it a 15000 seater and have change!

• 39.Oubaas2009: Reply to this comment

So if the Rebels get their wishes and have Bismarck, Jannie and Duanne in their pack with Kockott and Cipriani at halfback, Rod Macqueen will work some magic there.

• 40.puff: Reply to this comment

@Jinx:

What Rossouw offers is awesome forward utility value.
    He can play number 4 and 5 lock.
    He can cover blindside flank and 8th man.
    There aren’t many who can do this.
    PDV will have a look at Big Joe when the Boks play Wales next.
    Of this I am almost certain.

• 41.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@puff:

Getting King Carlos was a daft idea.

• 42.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@puff:

Yes,agree, BUT Father Time is ticking on.

• 43.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@onerb:

:lol: :mrgreen:

• 44.puff: Reply to this comment

@Jinx:

Should’ve rather drafted in:

Hanyani Shimange
    Willie Wepener
    Francois Van Der Merwe (The Dentist – Flip’s brother?)
    Big Joe
    Marius Joubert
    Brent Russell

• 45.puff: Reply to this comment

@Jinx:

Can still offer that great utility as a reserve for the 2011 WC.
    Bekker will be back up lock at this point and Brussow possibly back up loosie.
    So Danie will be there in case of injury.
    Who were our back ups at 2007 WC?
    Albert Van Den Bergh and Johann Muller.
    Would choose Danie over either of them any day of the week.

• 46.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@Oubaas2009:

Jannie Dup is beyond the magic factor. His rugby mojo has gone AWOL for the rest of this lifetime. 8)

• 47.onerb: Reply to this comment

@Jinx:

All the lion supporters from the surrounds will go and watch there. Guys from Krugersdorp, roodepoort, randburg etc

But that will take balls of steel and no-one at the lions will make such a call.

• 48.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@puff:

You have a good point Puff. To remind me of Uncle Albert VD Berg and Johann Muller has now spoilt my arvie. :evil:

• 49.puff: Reply to this comment

Mtawarira
    Du Plessis
    Smit
    Bakkies Botha
    Matfield
    Burger
    Smith
    Spies
    Du Preez
    Steyn
    Habana
    De Villiers
    Fourie
    JP Pieterson
    BJ Botha
    Ralepelle
    Rossouw
    Brussow
    Pienaar
    Jacobs

I’d say that at this point, barring injury, the players above are PDV’s definites for the 2011 WC.

With:

Van Der Linde
    Olivier
    Frans Steyn

Potentially in the mix too.

• 50.puff: Reply to this comment

And mayb even:

Van Heerden
    Van Niekerk
    Januarie

• 51.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@puff:

Agree. Just shows the vision up at the top of the Lions. :roll: Zilch!…although I do back Kevin De Klerk to ignite the right gunpowder down the line. As Hennie Le Roux said…the resurrection of Lions rugby will take at least 4 years. Lonely years…

• 52.grant10: Reply to this comment

@puff: you killing me again with Smit at 3 boet!!

• 53.puff: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Just calling it the way PDV sees it.
    I reckon if the Bok brainstrust come to their senses and manage to secure Frans Steyn for first choice fullback come RWC 2011, then PDV will defs take Earl Rose as his back up 15 and cite the fact that Earl has utility value.

But Grant 10, think about it.

A match starts with Mtawarira, Du Plessis and Smit (don’t blow a fuse now – hang on)
    and ends with
    Smit moving to hooker
    And Van Der Linde replacing Beast at 1
    And BJ slotting in at 3 with Bizzie going off.

• 54.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@puff:

Ralapelle for another 7 mins in the RWC. Nooooh!

I’d rather have a black nugget painted Tiaan Liebbenberg or The Cheetahs Hooker Strauss. OR even the Bulls reserve hooker …Bandise Maku.

• 55.puff: Reply to this comment

Ralepelle will go to RWC 2011 if fit.
    No two ways about it.

• 56.puff: Reply to this comment

It is how it is gents.

• 57.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Must go dudes… thanks for the gesels…

• 58.puff: Reply to this comment

1. Mtawarira
    2. Du Plessis
    3. Smit
    4. Botha
    5. Matfield
    6. Burger
    7. Smith
    8. Spies
    9. Du Preez
    10. M. Steyn
    11. Habana
    12. JDV
    13. Fourie
    14. Pieterson
    15. F. Steyn
    16. Van Der Linde
    17. Ralepelle
    18. BJ Botha
    19. Rossouw
    20. Bekker
    21. Brussow
    22. Van Heerden
    23. Van Niekerk
    24. Januarie
    25. Pienaar
    26. Nokwe
    27. Olivier
    28. Jacobs
    29. Mapoe
    30. Rose

Could be a lot worse.
    Most rugby-playing countries, if not all, would be envious of the depth in this squad.

• 59.puff: Reply to this comment

Of course there are question marks over some of these players for a variety of reasons:

Current form
    Playing out of position
    A PDV favourite despite there being better quality elsewhere in the same position
    etc.

But by and large the talent and experience is all there.

• 60.puff: Reply to this comment

Okay.
    Talking to myself now…

• 61.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@puff: Olivier on current form needs to be in the mix. Even starter ahead of Jean.

• 62.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@puff: I just couldn’t start with the Sharks front row. I would have changed it up last year already – the scrum was getting smashed, and that is never good for a psychological point of view, and getting quality possession.

I am a bit worried that the Boks are on a down hill path, although at the moment it is still flat and that come the world cup, the squad will be in need of new blood which by that stage has not been given a chance to gain experience yet.

• 63.puff: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21:

Fair enough.
    It’s a valid concern.
    It is nice to see some of the newer guys stepping up now though.
    A guy like Bekker for instance.
    I used to wince when I saw his name ahead of Rossouw’s on the reserve bench.
    But now I’d place him ahead of Rossouw myself.

Mtawarira
    Smit
    BJ Botha
    Bakkies Botha
    Matfield
    Burger
    Smith
    Spies

Will still do the job come RWC time.
    HAPPY NOW GRANT 10?

• 64.puff: Reply to this comment

Oh wait, you have Burger issues don’t you?

• 65.puff: Reply to this comment

Bench:

Bismark
    Van Der Linde
    Bekker
    Brussow

Surely the envy of the rest of the world?

• 66.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@puff: I am happy with that, there is in my opinion a question mark ove Burger. His last 3 games have been his best for a couple of years, and if you keeps playing to this standard, not a problem. If Brussouw comes back alright from his injury and has a good season, perhaps he can slot in?

My replacements for the older players (if necessary) there would be: Smit – Bismarck; Bekker – Matfield; Bakkies – Kruger/current youngster at the Bulls; Burger – Brussouw and hopefully Smith is still going strong.

• 67.puff: Reply to this comment

Smit
    Botha
    Matfield
    Rossouw
    Burger
    Smith

Will all add value at RWC 2011.

As will:

Du Preez
    Habana
    JDV
    Fourie

A lot of these players, if not all of them, will retire from test rugby after the World Cup. So they will give the tournament their all.

Someone like Burger is too good not to return to form, which he is aleady proving.
    Plus the new laws suit his game.
    In fact, they pretty much make him the ideal loose forward.
    The same applies to Francois Louw.

• 68.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@puff: We will see. PDV is going to have to make some tough choices in the next 18 months.

• 69.grant10: Reply to this comment

@puff: thats better….

but i would not have Burger at 6 if Brussow fit….

and of course being an unsentimental ruthless son of a b….i would have Bissy at 2….

Smit on bench.

• 70.grant10: Reply to this comment

a lot of water to flow under the bridge still…

• 71.RedLion: Reply to this comment

:roll:

• 72.KZN King Shark: Reply to this comment

Wikus van der Merwe

• 73.catleya: Reply to this comment

@puff: Forgot about someone like Dewald Potgieter , haven’t you? He should at the very least be ahead of Joe van Niekerk and Wikus van Heerden, and probably Brussow as well, who might not be matchfit by then.

Furthermore, he is the only other loosie who can play a Schalla type game at 6 and a Smith type game at 7, so he is the logical heir apparent to either of those two for that type of gameplan, plus he brings unique distribution skills and therefor continuity to the table which can only suit PDivvys gameplan.

The remainder of the S14 WILL underline this.

• 74.catleya: Reply to this comment

Flo in my book is just a little one dimensional. At best he is on par with any one of 10 opensiders in SA as fetcher. He does not have the defensive or attacking skills of Potties.

• 75.baw: Reply to this comment

@catleya: uve lost youre min hes no where near as good as brussow ,and those guys are better than him as they have played in so many competitions and against so many oppositions ,by the way jpp and dewald potgiter are the same size and weght,hectic

• 76.grant10: Reply to this comment

right now if anything happened to spies or Juan smith i wouldnt hesitate for a second…..

i would call on Dewalt Potgieter…..what a player!!

• 77.Seven: Reply to this comment

@puff: that XV would retain the trophy….

a little too “white” perhaps?

• 78.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Seven: but then again our soccer team is a little more black than it is coloured…

• 79.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

Well thank goodness, another world class player with a million miles on his clock coming to play.

I would like to start the 2010 S14 again.

• 80.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Vermulen is Bok quality. After Spies the next best #8 in 2010.

From a Bok perspective – fantastic bench opportunity – plays 7 & 8 and also excellent in line-out and tight.

Seems to be playing much tighter this year, and my only concern is that he seems to have lost a bit of pace.

• 81.Seven: Reply to this comment

@puff: pt the stronger scrummaging pack at 63

• 82.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: DWP is a little small, he is betwixt & between – not big enough for 7 (or 8) and too big for a fetcher 6. Not as hard as Schalk – who is BACK.

• 83.Seven: Reply to this comment

@Seven: or the stronger scrummaging pack at XV…

• 84.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

Ah fok, I hate smileys I don’t even know how to do them.

• 85.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: is this the real sodajoe??

• 86.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Speedy. I am returning to my origins as a statement of racial harmony.

• 87.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

I also need to smoke dope to fkn get through a Lions game.

• 88.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

And it looks fkn impressive on the Keo boards.

• 89.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

I also fancy myself is a clever funny oke.

• 90.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: who is your soccer team….

i am not convinced!

• 91.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Speedy. The Mighty Whites and no other.

Hell time coming up:

Milwall
    Norwich
    Swindon.

Oi vey.

All 3 in excellent form. The Whites – not so much …..

Another reason to smoke dope.

• 92.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

I am standing in solidarity with Skopjah, Transiejah, Rangerjah, Jahzim, and Jah Hit.

But Hondo is Jabba The Hut.

• 93.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: okay….

i am convinced…

Ja….dope will help the pain…..

i find 2 x prozac s before the 1 st Smit at 3 scrum assists me a great deal.

• 94.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: LOL

You more of a nutter than ever…..

had a good lunch??

• 95.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Me too. But in truth I also feel that Beast is in awful form. He seems to have regressed in scrumming technique too. Interestingly all our Kiwi bloggers called this during the autumn tour.

• 96.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 95

Ja…..but seriously,i watch those scrums like a hawk….chalk and cheese against Brumbies once smit was subbed …scrums were far more solid….even a few high 5 s seen given by sharks front row after 1 scrum.

Will watch closely Sat….good move by plum…..throwing down the gauntlet to the 2 x du plessis boets….clever.

now they must shape….

• 97.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Nah. everyone was going on about race again the other day, how unusual for Keo, but i did this DNA thing with National Geographic and all known DNA originates in Ethiopia, so we are all Ethiopians.

Then I just wanted to have a good time. Jah mon.

• 98.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@puff:

Ugh, No

1. Mtawarira (Been found out & low on confidence)
    1. WP Nel
    2. Du Plessis
    3. Smit (I hate to say it but I hope that he gets seriously injured and goes to the WC as an assistant coach. He’s living on borrowed time and tainting his own good name)
    3. Wian Du Preez
    4. Botha
    5. Matfield
    6. Burger
    7. Smith
    8. Spies
    9. Du Preez
    10. M. Steyn
    11. Habana
    12. JDV
    13. Fourie
    14. Pieterson
    15. F. Steyn
    16. Van Der Linde
    17. Ralepelle (Good God No!)
    17. Strauss
    18. BJ Botha
    19. Rossouw
    20. Bekker
    21. Brussouw
    22. Van Heerden
    23. Van Niekerk (Joe? Seriously?)
    23. Kankowski
    24. Januarie (Like the guy. Good player but just not as good right now as:)
    24. Pienaar (As a scrummie but FH bench cover)
    25. Grant
    26. Nokwe
    27. Olivier
    28. Jacobs
    29. Mapoe
    30. Rose (OMFG!)
    30. Viljoen

• 99.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Lets see. I called a Sharks win, I feel that they are on the edge of turning it around. Jannie Poep will always be pap. Biz can’t scrum really, and as I said Beast is not playing well (and as an aside Guthro is in the form of his life – I have always loved Guthro, but his scrummaging has been very poor the past 3 years).

• 100.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 97
    Well i went for a 3 km jog this afternoon….almost died….no bloody ethiopian genes in this bod i tell you!!

• 101.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 99 guthro has been fantastic….not sure what he is putting in his cereal but fark me he has scrummed like a demon…..seems ld Gary Botha has taught Guthro and Werner some new tricks.

• 102.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@YoMama: WP Nel is a tighthead 3, and Wian Du Preez is a loosehead 1.

We have 2 very good looseheads in form – Wian & Guthro. Besat would be exceptional player for last 20.

BJ Botha is the best 3, but someone out of Beer Belly Nel, Big Boy Buys needs to step up. Smitty was never good enough to play 3.

• 103.grant10: Reply to this comment

@YoMama: 98
    smit at 3….dont spoil my evening boet!!

• 104.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: J a that Bulls unit is very good. And as someone who was made to eat his words regarding Morne Steyn, Gary Botha looks to be doing the same – is it my imagination but he has got a lot bigger?

• 105.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: wp nel has been poor this super 14….

Brock has been a rock…

but werner Kruger has really stepped up.

Watch this new kid Wiehahn Herbst for the sharks soda….a real 3….all scrum and very dumb….

just like a 3 should be!!

• 106.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 104
    For sure he has got bigger….seems to have matured a lot.

Perhaps it should be compulsory for our tight 5 okes to spend a year or 2 in europe…

• 107.YoMama: Reply to this comment

@grant10:

Read more carefully, my point exactly.

• 108.catleya: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: I reckon he just might be a little harder than your holy Schalk, and your views on size is just a bunch of ****. If any of that hogwash was true guys like Brussow and George Smith and Phil Waugh would never have played and Potties is a darn sight bigger than them in any case.

• 109.grant10: Reply to this comment

@catleya: I agree with you 100%….

Soda has been smoking his socks….

dont worry…..lets see who gets this prediction right….Dewalt will be at wc 2011 and lead boks thereafter….matter of time.Smit already on a slippery slope…

• 110.grant10: Reply to this comment

@YoMama: 107

Be more sec ific bud….you losing me here?

• 111.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Catfish. If anyone on this site is a bigger fan of Brussow The Diamond or Stegmann son of Phil Waugh I would like to know it. I have little reagrd for size realtive to position and ability.

I think Dewalt is too small for a blindside flank, I like my inside centers to be big and fast like Jamie Roberts, I like my wings to be very fast fullbacks.

Predilection.

Actually regrading Schalk Burger I have certainly been crucified by more than most regarding my opinion of his form last year, and my opinion that he should play 7. This year he’s playing bloody well.

I also like my rugby pundits to be somewhat objective.

• 112.grant10: Reply to this comment

specific@grant10:

• 113.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

puff has lost his marbles. These okes want to take Jake The Funny Fake’s team intact to the Wc 2011

Let them take

Beast
    Bismark
    Smit
    Botha
    Matfield
    Burger
    Smith
    Spies
    Fdp
    Steyn
    Habana
    Jdv
    Fourie
    Jpp
    Steyn

Steenkamp
    BJ
    Bekker
    Roussow
    Pienaar
    Januarie
    Olivier

Thats about as close you’ll get to 2007 team projected to 2011

I’m ready to bet that team won’t get past the semi’s and will run out of gas and get exposed.

Play those dead beat hero’s I dare you, cos then you on a hiding to nothing and we gonna lose.

• 114.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: What?? Rubbish boet. If anything I have always said that Dewalt is overrated. Very good but behind a large number of 7′s in my book:

Juan Smith
    Schalk Burger
    Flo
    Jean Deysel (although not this year)
    Willem Alberts (conjecture – he needs to play more there, but I ssupect he has the goods).

But that channel is very physical, and requires some strong scrummaging support.

• 115.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 111

jA….bRUSSOW Is a mighty loss….

steggmann and brussow still the classic opensiders….

schalk has been very good….still looks and plays like a 7….

dewalt is the rolls royce….more brains and guile than all of them….

and tough as nails…leaves deysel in the dust!

• 116.catleya: Reply to this comment

@grant10: I can’t believe some of these okes. They’ll throw an up and coming youngster away for two has beens that couldn’t cut it two years ago already and ran away overseas, and are only returning to get onto the WC gravytrain in the hope of increasing their market value should we win, like most of the senior guys in the Bok team and will all run away after money post WC.

Respect to FdP for the way he has done his thing. Very few of the rest could afford to do the same though because they have some serious competition suddenly- maybe Victor and Bakkies could as well Habs and Fourie, but the rest are all sleeping a little more restless with every passing night.

If I were PDivvy I would start my succession planning before the WC and not after, cause he just might be left rather thin overnight afterwards if he doesn’t. To my mind that will be his biggest challenge.

• 117.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: You know who is bloody fantastic this year – Coenie Oosthuizen. In the unfortunate position of being behind Wian in the pecking order, but man he’s good.

We are currently blessed with 5 very good looseheads (sorry none wearing a Stormers jersey):

Guthro
    Wian
    Coenie
    Heinke
    Beast

Coenie should convert to a hooker. How scary would that be?

Guthro
    Coenie
    Buys (ok I just chose him because he’s a huge scary motherfkr)

• 118.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 114

No bud…..disagree….Dewalt imakes more tackles…more offloads….is a banker in the lineout….has loads of brains….seriously talented….

Juan Smith is a hardened veteran….and a legend. But if he pulls a hammie….i would call dewalt!

• 119.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: On current for Deysel is not playing well.

On current form Dewalt Potgieter has hardly played.

So …

Flo vs DwP – I will take Flo.
    Juan Smith vs DwP – I will take Juan.
    Vermulen vs DwP – I would take Vermulen
    Schalk vs DwP – I would take Schalk (new law interpretations are playing well to his strengths as a 6 though).

• 120.grant10: Reply to this comment

@catleya: 116
    This is a HUGE year for PDV…he needs to stamp his authority and make some helleva tough calls….its going to be tough on the oke….either way he is going to be unpopular.

Succession plan must start vs wales…..no time left to procrastinate….

some players need to do some honest introspection too….or as skop has just said….semi at best!

• 121.grant10: Reply to this comment

You and your converting of players!

But hell that would be a bloody scary front row!

• 122.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Juan’s biggest risk has always been concussion, and I think he really needs to be careful.

But sorry – I disagree with you about DwP. Not that I think he’s a kak player, just not the best 7 or 6. Betwixt & between.

He’s good in the line because he’s so light they sommer throw him in the air.

• 123.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 119

Okay…lets wait and see how super 14 develops.

• 124.catleya: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: I’m glad to see the old Skoppie back. I agree 100 percent. Everybody forgets there are still 2 s14′s, a CC, a trinations and an EOY tour to get past before WC. How many of the outoppies are gonna be around and in top form come next year?

• 125.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@grant10: Bogger off. I HATE converting players as you know. ******* son of a speedophile.I have stood by your side for a while. Ok not quite – I think Ruan is a better 10 than 9.

But I think that a loosehead to hooker is not too much of a stretch.

• 126.grant10: Reply to this comment

No soda…i cant take you serious with that new nic….cmon…go back to the old one boet….

Dewalt is so damn good he can play at 6,7 or 8….a bit like BOB….except a bit less flashy….

• 127.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 125

Problem is those props cant aim lekker in the lineouts bud….they all skeef and over the top…

• 128.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

Bye everyone gotta go. See you through the window.

• 129.grant10: Reply to this comment

@catleya: 124

We may lose a clutch of 2007 players before wc 2011….

Thats why i am relieved okes like Andries Bekker, Dewalt and a few others look classy enough to make the step up….and it is vital that we trust these okes with starts in major internationals in 2010….so they can really mould into bok set up.

• 130.grant10: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: cheers

• 131.schalla: Reply to this comment

Here’s my 2011 squad. I’ve just gone for two players in every position, as some of these okes offer versatility. I have not taken into account race as I do not feel that should ever be a factor.

1. Beast/ Guthro
    2. Smit/ Bismarck
    3. BJ/ Werner Kruger
    4. Bakkies/ Danie
    5. Vic/ Bekker
    6. Schalk/ Heinrich
    7. Juan/ Pottie
    8. Spies/ Vermuelen
    9. Du Preez/ Pienaar
    10. Morne/ Grant
    11. Habana/ Kankowski —- seriously think we should try this
    12. JDV/ Olivier
    13. Fourie/ De Jongh (Jacobs is SHITE)
    14. Pieterson/ Mapoe
    15. Frans/ Kirchner

Let me know your thoughts guys and girls….

• 132.catleya: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: On current form Potties is the best 7 in this country as G10 says. Only reason PDivvy is hanging on to Juan Smith is his experience, and nobody can argue with that. You are obviously a size man like ol’ Jake the Fake.
    Flo is too one-dimensional, Duanne is too slow, you watch it, right about now Schalla will be starting to look over his shoulder, because the blond guillotine is coming through! And by the way you’re living in the past- Potties has put in some work in the gym from the looks of it, and it is telling, if you ask me.

Just you watch this sp!ot

• 133.grant10: Reply to this comment

@schalla: not bad my man…..give or take 3 or 4 changes…imo

• 134.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@schalla: not many one can argue about schalla , good squad

• 135.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@catleya: hiyas cat , who is flo??

• 136.schalla: Reply to this comment

SHARKS_LOVER : Flo is Francois Louw the Stormers number 7.

Grant who would you include/ exclude from that squad?

• 137.grant10: Reply to this comment

@schalla: schalla….i would take Juandre Kruger in place of D Rossouw….i think Juandre will prove himself over next year….

Also Nokwe in place of Kanko…

CJ VD Linde in place of werner…

januarie in place of Ruan

otherwise i am about 100% with you.

Of course i am not convinced Smit will last 18 months….g botha would be my other hooker if he didnt make it.

• 138.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

1. Beast/ Guthro
    2. Smit/ Bismarck
    3. BJ/ Werner Kruger
    4. Bakkies/ Danie
    5. Vic/ Bekker
    6. Schalk/ Heinrich
    7. Juan/ Pottie
    8. Spies/ Vermuelen
    9. Du Preez/ Pienaar
    10. Morne/ Grant
    11. Habana/ Kankowski —- seriously think we should try this
    12. JDV/ Olivier
    13. Fourie/ De Jongh (Jacobs is SHITE)
    14. Pieterson/ Mapoe
    15. Frans/ Kirchner

Its a good squad

I’d consider the following

Heinke/Oosthuizen
    Liebenberg
    Flip
    Flo
    Duvenhage
    Le Grange
    Viljoen

• 139.catleya: Reply to this comment

@schalla: That is my squad of 30 that I would back for WC2011, even Kanko @ 14. If we need another extra hooker I’d go Adriaan Strauss, another scrummie F.Hougard, another prop CJ, another lock Flippie vd Merwe, another loosie Stegmann, another utility back Joe Peterson.

One can’t see things much different to this on merit, but the rainbow might be a little pale.

• 140.grant10: Reply to this comment

stuff to do ….cheers all

SL…stop your **** …and your hustling for RT….dont disgrace your name even more!!

• 141.schalla: Reply to this comment

GRANT : Good point about CJ I forgot about him. Agree though he’s a fantastic addition.

Don’t know much about Juandre to be honest but given the reviews (and especially from you ) I’m looking forward to seeing him in action.

The Kankowski thing you’re probably right on but could be an interesting experiment..The SA Lomu? or would that be Spies?

The Januarie call is tough but Ruan is just too talented not to be there- especially in his preferred position.

RE Smit – if he Doesn’t go the distance I’d be more inclined towards Tiaan or even Strauss to be honest.

• 142.filthy Luca: Reply to this comment

137. grant:
    Please…Gary Botha is pedestrian.
    On the BIL tour last year John Smit was ferocious, maybe a little out of form at the mo but he will be back in time for the WC – class will come through

• 143.catleya: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Can’t complain about your backups. None of them would let the team down, neither would Juandre Kruger. Funny how the team kinda picks itself if you put aside the bs prejudice. Great team Schalla!

• 144.schalla: Reply to this comment

CATLEYA : I agree with all your additions except for Hougaard as backup 9. He has the talent but hasn’t had the exposure at 9 in the S14.

With regards to the “rainbow”- 7 of my original 30 were (and I DETEST this term) players of colour. What would be the satisfactory number?

• 145.filthy Luca: Reply to this comment

138. skopskiet:
    I like your idea of Kanko on the wing but not to replace Habs. I would rather use him to light a fire under JPP’s arse.

• 146.schalla: Reply to this comment

SKOPPIE : Good backups for sure. My only concern is that Coenie doesn’t get the gametime his talent needs, although I can’t really think of any franchise where he’d be first choice loosehead….?

• 147.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Liebenberg far better bet than Strauss

Liebenberg got the full package of tight and loose

Strauss will get shunted in tight games, and plays too loose in loose games.

Liebenberg is perhaps even a better conventional hooker than Bismark, and Smit is just too overweight at the mo. 123 kgs is way too heavy for a mobile hooker.

• 148.schalla: Reply to this comment

Random question guys, would you consider taking Frans Hougaard as a wing?

• 149.charo: Reply to this comment

@schalla:

not for me.

not when we have the likes of mapoe, chavanga etc available

• 150.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

I’m not a Kankowski fan

I’d sooner leave him out, unless played at wing I don’t see a place for him

No. 8 should be a choice between Spies with Vermeulen backing up

Right wing should go to JPP and then its a choice between Mapoe or Van den Heever as back up.

Left wing is Habana and Nokwe territory.

Little Joe Pietersen is playing out his socks and probably better all round FB than Kirchner, but perhaps too early to make that call to international level. I like Viljoen, I think he’ll come good at 15, another Frans Steyn in the making.

So if you take the promising backs

Viljoen, Kirchner, F. Steyn
    JPP, Mapoe, Van den Heever,
    Habana, Nokwe, Basson,
    De Jongh, Fourie, Jacobs
    Jdv, Olivier, Le Grange,
    M.Steyn, Grant, Pienaar
    Fdp, Duvenhage, S. Pretorius, Hougaard

Thats 22 backs for 7 places, enough for 3 teams and thats without including Kankowski.

• 151.schalla: Reply to this comment

CHARO : Yeah I suppose you have a fair point.

Catleya has a point as well though. He’s really talented and should somehow be a part of a 30 man squad I reckon.

• 152.charo: Reply to this comment

@schalla:

the guy is one helluva prospect.
    great talent and attitude.
    reckon he will be the next bok scrummie after fdp

• 153.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10: stfu you f8687 moron

and when in jhb you little ars creeping whimp come say it to my face

ur a waste of human skin

• 154.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@charo: charo good day mate hows you doing up north?

• 155.grant10: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: 153

Oh dont worry…i will…gladly.

• 156.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10: dont talk it prick , do it

• 157.schalla: Reply to this comment

SHARKS_LOVER : Why the aggro towards Grant? Let’s stay calm and just keep talking about rugby I think.

You reckon we’ll beat the ‘Landers this weekend?

• 158.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@grant10: and stfy further , i dont need your little chirps ,

ill not waste a min further on an ignorant wanker like you

• 159.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@schalla: schalla uhm know the history first mate

enough said

as for the game schalla i dont think we will win no

i think to many changes made from a team thats already unsettled

• 160.carol: Reply to this comment

Meanwhile…back at the ranch….

Carol submits her super 14 predictions!!

Is this fight club tonight btw?

Boy’s please….. :-(

• 161.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@schalla: i have the sharks losing by 3

• 162.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@carol: hiyas carol hun how ru doing??

• 163.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@carol: you should be happy your team is flying high

• 164.schalla: Reply to this comment

SHARKS_LOVER : Lots of changes but I think theyre good ones. The Du Plessis bro’s will fire up because theyre both starting together. Lambie will have a point to prove as its his debut and hes a talent.

Daniel > Botes…imo

Mvovo should play ahead of Stefan though

• 165.carol: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: Doing fine until I saw two bloggers I like tearing chunks out of each other!!

The Bulls are a ray of sunshine though and I am glad the Stormers are really beginning to find their feet again too.

Is it The Sharks week this week? I hope so….

Now, we just need The Lions to get themselves ‘organised’ a bit!!

• 166.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@schalla: lambie is a huge talent schalla

as for mvovo i feel plumtree didnt want to play lambie and mvovo and have 2 juniors at the back

thus the stefan on the wing to help lambie gel in and also help calm him

• 167.charo: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover:

i’m ok thanks.
    seems you taking a bit of stress at the moment?
    would like to suggest rather ignore bloggers that you don’t like.
    soda joe is that type of blogger – well mostly 8)

otherwise you just feed the ulcer

• 168.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@carol: sorry carol but i wont sit back being trashed for also blogging on another site

and if i want to invite others to also blog there it has nothing to do with them , they over value their little opinions and ego’s

to me they nothing more then a zero on a contract

• 169.schalla: Reply to this comment

SHARKS_LOVER : Good point. 2 rookies at the back could be a disaster.

How far away is Ludik from being fit?

• 170.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@charo: lol true charo but trust me no ulcer here

for the most i do , actually today broke my own rules

• 171.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@schalla: not sure mate

it seemed all was going fine till he pulle up in the game against the wpxv

• 172.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

SL tell me something, you such a windgat over on your schmuckaby club, you carry on like a moegoe over there also, or you reserve such windgat big breek tendencies for only when you come vent your spleen over here? They let you gaan aan like that in your tooth fairy back slap community, or its only when you come show your true colors over here?

• 173.charo: Reply to this comment

since we are commenting on the sharks team on this lions thread……i think plum has been quite astute here.

1. giving lambie a go but with the security of grandpa nearby

2. letting the dup bros get their way…and see if they sink or swim

• 174.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@schalla: also the reason smit is on the bench is because he twisted an ankle and they felt it better he rested and will only play if needed

news is it has heeled far quicker than expected

• 175.catleya: Reply to this comment

@charo: Schalla, I agree with charo. Same reason for including Joe Peterson. The oke is versatile, has a Bok blazer, is apparently the heir apparent to FdP, so why not give him the exposure, even if only the culture.

• 176.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@charo: true thats why i know playing stefan is the right move

in smitties case charou its because of a niggle

what i find strange is that the trio of deysel kanko and alberts has not ben tried

i know however plum feels we have to have a speedy 6

• 177.carol: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: Usually me that gets charged with that!!
    Being a PR person for RT? :-)

• 178.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@carol: lol carol

my own fault actually carol i know better then to argue with their sought

i do normally just ignore whatever they post

but i will now :wink:

• 179.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

whats the case with RT actually, are they just too quiet for comfort, maybe their big fat grandiose defection has fallen flat on its overrated face, is this the reason all their stalwarts come here looking to soft soap for converts, or to try get other bloggers to get banned from here?

• 180.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@carol: i saw rudi last week , he soughted something on my lap top for me

next week i told him to get his golf clubs out , its rusting :lol:

• 181.charo: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover:

kanko is the game breaker in the sharks at the moment.

would playing both alberts and deysel help him get open field ball?

maybe…..but i acknowledge that plum knows one hell of a lot more about rugby than i do

• 182.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@charo: only reason i think it would work better charou is because the rules make for fetching to slower, cleaning out rucks are now more in play

this means a kanko can play off stronger ball carriers

but yeah i agree plum knows more this is why i dont harp on it

• 183.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet:

Big chip on your shoulder hey…

Sad actually …

• 184.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

hiyas blouste

• 185.carol: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: How is he doing?
    A walk on the golf course should be good for both of you!
    Especially if you have a bet on the side!

• 186.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover:

Hey boet.

Fancy you team to go all the way this weekend…

• 187.carol: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Skop…I would hate you to be banned…just for the record!! ;-)

• 188.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@carol: lol he doing fine ty hun

we visit quite a bit now

he a very nice person

• 189.Blouste: Reply to this comment

@carol:

Hi Carol…

You well?

• 190.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: eish i hope so blouste , but i know the house of pain is just that

not everyday you go there and win

but hope yeah lol

• 191.carol: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Hiya Blouste…Have done my picks…!!

• 192.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

bulls to win comfortably tomorrow carol

bulls are playing with huge heart this year

• 193.carol: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: 188 – I know !! ;-)

• 194.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Yes …gotto go and do mine now…

Still have’nt made up my mind…:lol:

• 195.charo: Reply to this comment

@carol:

carol, there is no way that any administrator would have the guts to ban skoppie.
    there would be a riot on keo – especially from us “more mature” bloggers

• 196.carol: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: Hi Blouste, have just spent the day at The Races…All well thanks!

Hoping I can get some good Justin TV coverage this weekend, we have got the last of the 6 Nations too!

• 197.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

i have bulls by 20

stormers by 8

• 198.carol: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: I will miss any Friday matches….Now our company has blocked the internet access too…Aarghhhh!!

Imagine that!

• 199.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

charou mate so not being prepared to take his insults make us immature?

• 200.carol: Reply to this comment

@charo: Charo, in my early days Skop was always being banned!! :lol:

Roy must have got used to him now!

• 201.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@carol: lol

guess you better find a way to get off work and go watch somewhere

• 202.carol: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet: Speak to me you grumpy old git! ;-)

• 203.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

well carol catch you 2morrow im off

wanna go do another article for 2morrow

tc maam stay safe ciao

• 204.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

good night charo

• 205.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Anyway, off to make my picks.

Enjoy guys and lady…

Spek tomorrow during the first game maybe…

Ciao…

• 206.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

nighters blouste take care mate

• 207.carol: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover: See you Sharkie…

You know my Bloggers Party Guest list would be a disaster, all the bloggers I really like just hate each other!!

Interesting really…I would have a great time until the fights started! :lol:

• 208.carol: Reply to this comment

@Blouste: See you too Blouste..
    GO BULLS….

• 209.Blouste: Reply to this comment

Speak…*****

• 210.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: 92 ‘jah hit’ :lol:

seriously tho, will the real sodajah please stand up?

• 211.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@catleya: Dude you obvioulsy don’t watch that much rugby. “On current form” – Dewalt Potgieter has been injured.

Flo “one-dimensional”? Fk I obviously know buggerall about rugby.

• 212.SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia: Reply to this comment

@charo: 181. Deysel at 6 & Alberts at 7 will enable Ryan to really do well. BUT when your scrum is pap, no 8′th man can really perform to true potential. That’s the flaw.

I have Sharks for a win by the way.

• 213.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit: OK. But someone has to make a stand for peace love and Haile Selassie.

• 214.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@carol: Well I like to drink. I have excellent taste in rock n roll. I know about cheese. I am a handsome devil from Johannesburg via the snowy wastelands of Northern America.

I know not to lick lampposts – even in summer.

I think I would be an excellent guest.

• 215.charo: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia:

surely the 2 burly boys at 6 & 7 will make the scrum less pap – and give kanko a chance at open play?

how much quicker is keegan anyway?

• 216.carol: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: 214 – Soda, you would be most welcome, actually I would probably need you as the mediator/ bouncer!

Imagine Rugby Talkers on the right of the room and Keo’ites hovering on the left…..Where would the ‘wetalkrugby’ Lions fans stand do you suppose! :neutral:

Are you the Lion of Ethopia btw? Or is it someone blogging in the ‘style’ of Soda

• 217.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@charo: I agree. And it’s a thing that some doffies don’t get – #7 has to be able to scrum to balance the bleddy ship, but whatever.

Yes.

It will. But you can’t stop a back pedalling scrum from the side.

God bless Bakkies Botha.

(And Flip v d Merwe is now better than Oom Danie at that. Sykes not bad. Jiandre Kruger is referenced a lot – I’ve never seen him play).

• 218.cab: Reply to this comment

look its very simple, let me break it down, if you dont value schalk burger and john smit, you know f-all about anything.

• 219.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@carol: Nah. I am The Lion Of Ethiopia. Jah mon. Someone needs to take the wind out of the sails of the black and white moron racists.

We’re all Ethiopian. But only I am The Lion.

The whole RT/Keo thing is pathetic. Who cares. People can hang out with whoever they want in my book.

There are jerks on both sites.

I like more here. And god forbid I got even more distracted from making a living.

• 220.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab: Cabernet. On form Schalk is back & the new interpretations of the laws are playing to his strengths.

John Smit is over-weight, out of form and a rubbish 3.

Bloody argumentative Parisian baguette you are.

• 221.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab: And anyway I know about cheese, wine, cider, whisky, bourbon, Campari, moonshine.

I also know NEVER to lick a lamppost – especially in a Minnesota winter, but summer is not good either.

• 222.cab: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    damm fools dont know their arse from their elbow.
    why you think the stormers win when he plays, its almost as simple as 2+2 and yet these midget lovers gaan aan en aan.

• 223.cab: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    so whats the difference between whiskey, scotch and bourbon – and do you smaak n klippie en coke?

• 224.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab: Cabernet. Last year he was lousy and completely outshone by Brussow the Diamond. And teh Stormers were kak too.

This year, boy is playing bloody well, and if anyone says he can’t link he knows bogger all too.

Smitty is being oushone by every front ranker in world rugby except Jannie Poep.

• 225.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab:

Whiskey – Irish.

Scotch – Whisky

Bourbon – Barley/Rye Whiskey aged in barrels – originally sent down Mississipi to New Orleans (Bourbon) in casks.

All good.

Brandy – not so much. With Coke, not so much. Actually never.

• 226.charo: Reply to this comment

@cab:

must say, irish whiskey does it for me.

bourbon probably the bottom of the list – perhaps you have to acquire a taste for it?

cheers boys – keep well

• 227.cab: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    Brussouw is awesome, but i still take a side with Schalk Burger in it any day of the week, tho i agree he is outstanding competition.

Smit will only improve, like Os in his golden days, he offers more than just scrumming, which is especially important in the high intensity rugby played down south which is where the world cup in 2011 will be played. most okes are doff and single-minded, they still thinking primary functions, they need to skrik wakker and open their dof koppe. in the NH, i agree with you tho, there its horses for courses, and you play BJ.

• 228.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@charo: Charo – different kinds. But most are fuller bodied and “sweeter”. Think of it in terms of “varietals”. Always nice to mix it up.

**** Creek is a nice small step up. But Jack is always good.

• 229.cab: Reply to this comment

both brussow and burger get stuck into anything, the difference is brussow has to disrupt with skill, whereas burger is just mayhem and you got a real problem handling mayhem ek se.

• 230.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab: Actually I am quite pleased with the talent available at the moment:

In order:

Loosehead: Guthro/Wian/Coenie Oosthuizen/Heinke/Beast/CJ (But CJ unbeatable bench option)
    Hooker: Bismark (when not braindead)/Liebenberg/Smit/Strauss
    Tighthead: BJ/WP Nel/ Kevin Buys

• 231.cab: Reply to this comment

@charo:
    oh right, i thought it was the scottish stuff that was boss. SDtodders will surely prefer the kiwi whiskey.

• 232.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab: Schalk has looked more than skilful this year.

The new tackle interpretations require more bulk to tackle, let go, snaffle. The 3 steps need bigger okes. Flo is also beddy good in this regard.

Mayhem nearly got Schalk banned for the season 2 games ago – klapping a Kiwi/Aussie ref and he was done.

• 233.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab: By the way – the new big Whisky deal is Japanese whisky and by all accounts they are really starting to do some cool ****.

No jokes.

• 234.cab: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    ja some very good players coming thru, cheetahs looking good, but they also their own enemies, i think old frans verster is not the sharpest knife in the draw, wtf are they paying mapoe 200K for? it almost like cotton-picken wages. am afraid those okes better come right otherwise they lose another talented player just when they looking good.

• 235.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab: Mapoe is the real deal. For sure.

But he’s very young, and he can be fed up and trained up. Long career ahead of him. And a lot of these young black kids have not had the nutritional advantages that stand them in good stead – who was that fast bowler, can’t remember his name.

• 236.cab: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    he actually passes very well, most dont notice or it evades that heavily rutted koppe.
    but i still like it when he just does the big bosh and then again and again. they somehow think the game should be played by the pinball wizards, if you want brains, go play chess.
    this is why you know not to lick the lamppost in a minnesota winter.

as for our lions, they must surely shoot that arme ou leeu, its getting worse and worse…

• 237.cab: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe:
    ja that fast bowler looked very promising, but delicate. mapoe is tough, they must pay him or go back down to bottom of league.

• 238.cab: Reply to this comment

wtf happened to winning ways and the Lions?
    actually winning ways knows exactly what to do, the problem is the Lions dont appear to have the budget he knows is needed.

• 239.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@cab: Ag boet. I knew it would be bad, but I really didn’t expect to see the rubbish we’re seeing.

Fortunately being in Minnesota helps.

Anyway old friend, nice to see you and talk. I always enjoy it.

Hope to see you soon.

At least through the window.

Au revoir.

• 240.cab: Reply to this comment

later soda

• 241.grant10: Reply to this comment

cab

you gotta be the most sentimental tunnel visioned 1 eyed old git on keo.

Why dont you call F Pienaar out of retirement, and while you at it i hear Morne du plessis can still jog, call him too.

NO ONE disputes Smits status as a leader and his overall contribution to bok rugby….but that dont change the point that to attempt to win a WC with a reverse gear turbo boosted useless tighthead makes no sense at all…..

that doesent make the overwhelming majority of saffas who are having serious doubts and reservations , idiots or dof or any of the other descriptions you arrive at.

perhaps it makes you those words you throw about with such *** abandon.

maybe you are , like Big Hit, a 007 undercover agent trying to lull us saffas into believing the scrums are superfulous…..

well…try and try and try again….we not stupid !

• 242.Richie_7: Reply to this comment

@grant10: So then Grant10, we agree that John should be the hooker for WC2011?

• 243.Jacques Snyman Website Design: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe: Ngam – what a talent, sadly let down by poor childhood nutrition

• 244.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Richie_7: 242

Only of he proves better than Bissy,G Botha and T Liebenberg…

• 245.catleya: Reply to this comment

@SodaJah The Lion Of Ethiopia:
    He came on for 20 minutes vs the Tahs before the bye and immediately made a huge impact.
    His continuity game and defence were patently evident to anyone who wanted to see in his 60 minutes vsthe Landers. He made the tries for WO and Spies simply by in both cases straightening, taking the contact and passing. Any of the other top loosies in SA, especially Juan Smith, would have tried to go the extra yard on the carry and the continuity would have been lost. Also with the first try of Gary Botha he was up in support on the inside. All of that was great, but most impressive for me was his defence. Huge.

Personally one of my loosies will always have to be continuity players with strong defence. There are other guys to make the carries, like Spies and the locks- not that Potties doesn’t. He just knows when to pass and let the team score in stead of going for personal glory. Nothing wrong with that!

• 246.grant10: Reply to this comment

@catleya: 245

yES….100% CORRECT….

More brains than any other loosie in SA.

• 247.Johnny7: Reply to this comment

@catleya:& @grant10:

Potgieter is HIGHLY overrated. Ask any S14 coach, who they would rather play against: Potgieter or Stegmann, Potgieter or Brussow, Potgieter or Schalk, Potgieter or Juan Smith? I would bet you they’d say Potgieter everytime.

• 248.Johnny7: Reply to this comment

This seems a bit like a band-aid for a bullet wound. That said, maybe Wikus’s leadership and experience might just help them settle a bit. And who knows, they might just finally turn the corner.

• 249.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Johnny7: 247

Not sure about that….but iif i ever get the chance i will ask them.

Till then you just speculating?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.