Mapoe’s a Cheetah … for now
19 Mar 2010
Lionel Mapoe will not be allowed to leave the Cheetahs until October 2011.
It was reported in the media on Thursday that there was a contractual dispute between the star wing and the Free State Rugby Union, which linked him with a lucrative move to the Bulls.
The 21-year-old is currently signed on a junior contract, which sees him earn in the range of R200 000 a year. But president Harold Verster said the Cheetahs have offered Mapoe a better deal.
‘This whole story has been blown up by the media,’ Verster told keo.co.za. ‘Last year, Lionel was still playing in the U21 Free State side, which is why he was signed on a junior contract. He then had a great run of form from the latter part of the Currie Cup, we promoted him to the senior team and next thing people are calling him the next Bryan Habana.
‘Now his agent Mike de Haast is trying to find loopholes in his contract so he can leave the Cheetahs for another team like the Bulls. But I can ensure you this won’t happen any time soon.
‘I have spoken to Bulls president Boet Fick, CEO Barend van Graan and high performance manager Ian Schwartz personally and they gave me their word that they will not touch Lionel if he’s committed to us. Lionel’s contract is also legitimate, so there’s no way of him leaving us before October next year.
‘We are currently having negotiations with Mapoe and his representatives. They want more money and we have offered him a much better deal, considering he has been a top performer and we want to keep him longer than 2011. We hope to sort this out with him by Wednesday.’
Mapoe confirmed that he is happy in Bloemfontein but contradicted himself as he didn’t rule out a move to the Bulls.
‘I am happy here with the Cheetahs and I want to play for them,’ Mapoe told this site. ‘But I can’t comment on a move to the Bulls now. Maybe I will talk after the negotiations next week.’
Mapoe also refused to comment on staying at the Cheetahs after October 2011.
Meanwhile, scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn has been linked with a move to Worcester Warriors after the Super 14.
‘Tewis’s contract with us ends in May, then he will be a free agent,’ said Verster. ‘ We have offered him a contract extension, but we have received no word from him whether he wants to stay in Bloemfontein.
‘We do have some talented young scrumhalves coming through the system if he does leave.’

445 Comments
19 Mar 2010, 07:48 am
‘This whole story has been blown up by the media,’ Verster told keo.co.za. ‘Last year, Lionel was still playing in the U21 Cheetahs side, that’s why he was signed on a junior contract.’
That was LAST YEAR Verster!!
Why is he still on a junior contract???
These administrators don’t deserve to be running a Rugby union as big as the Cheetahs!!
19 Mar 2010, 07:51 am
Why would he want to stay at the Cheetahs for 750K a year if he can move to a more successful union and earn double the salary??
19 Mar 2010, 07:52 am
Surely his contract would be assessed once he gets promoted to the senior side?
If he is really intent to chase the money then let him I am sure Grey College will gave a replacement in the waiting room
19 Mar 2010, 07:53 am
Verster is a tightfisted ****. Mapoe earns a paltry R29 000 a month. Although maybe Verster throws in a bag of maize and some soap too.
19 Mar 2010, 07:54 am
If money is what it is all about then there would be no better home for him than at the Sharks
19 Mar 2010, 07:54 am
@wpw: They are offering him a better deal, Chill.
We are currently having negotiations with Mapoe and his representatives. We have offered him a much better deal, considering he has been a top performer and we want to keep him longer than 2011. We hope to sort this out with him by Wednesday.’
19 Mar 2010, 07:57 am
@4 How do you know that he is ****? They have, the union, has invested in Mapoe he did after all play in all the junior teams
19 Mar 2010, 07:57 am
I think a ‘junior contract’ is for Under 23s only
19 Mar 2010, 07:58 am
@JL1: Come on, he could do MUCH better than that.
19 Mar 2010, 08:05 am
@WP_:
Why only now??
19 Mar 2010, 08:05 am
@JL1: Anyone who pays a player of Mapoe’s caliber and rating R29 000 a month is a tightfisted ****. It doesn’t matter how young you are, if you play like a star they must pay like a star. He’s their best backline player and he probably earns the least. And this “much better deal” only cam about after Mapoe started looking around. Verster makes it sound like they did this of their own accord.
19 Mar 2010, 08:08 am
@katman: 4
And a one litre Mageu.
@JL1:
Verster has proved time and again that he is a ****.
What about his recent comment about mapoe not having medical aid and the union paid his medical bill of 25K
That comment was uncalled for. I wonder if he is mates with manie Reynecke cos between the Cheetahs and the Lions they are the worst run unions in SA.
@wpw: I agree with you it’s a bit late..
Who knows maybe they re-access on a season-by-season basis, but this scare has made them make an offer now.. Dunno
At least he’ll get a raise now
19 Mar 2010, 08:09 am
@wpw: hiyas wpw mate ^5 btw i posted something for you on sharksworld
quite funny actually
19 Mar 2010, 08:10 am
@JL1: a) who wants to be a sharks besides desperate lions these days? b)not sure he would definately start at the sharks ,not over jpp ,perhaps over ndungane but then there are young guns like mvovo and ndlovu c)bulls need wings ,on attack van der heever is good but poor on defence ,ffs he goes for intercpets on his 22 when there is a player overlap haha ,so bulls make sense
19 Mar 2010, 08:11 am
I bet that the arse hole better know as Rose gets paid more that Mapoe.
19 Mar 2010, 08:13 am
@baw: lets hope he stays at cheetahs becuase he certainly has potential and is a key figure in that side -brussow smith struass mapoe danger men in that side that are the backbone of the squad- Go Cheetahs !
19 Mar 2010, 08:13 am
@katman:
Bro, he is earning 29K a month for the S14 (which is about 3 months)
His real contract with the Cheetahs is 200K a year which is even less per month (under 17K per month)
19 Mar 2010, 08:14 am
another quota wanting a massive salary … whats new…
19 Mar 2010, 08:15 am
@wpw: quite shocking actually
the lad is worth 10 times that
19 Mar 2010, 08:16 am
Hey all… On a school bus… Really board… What time’s the rugga at?
19 Mar 2010, 08:17 am
@WP_:
Well, even if they do negotiate after the season has ended then why is he still on the same package he was last year??
He had a brilliant CC tournament and should have been on the EOYT imho.
They should have negotiated before the S14 began. They were never planning on increasing his salary. Why would they??
This Verster bloke is an idiot!!!
@SpringbokSarah:
17:05
@Agile ***-Tyrant: And a shirt from PEP at Christmas.
Wait a sec guys. Remember this is a business. Yeah, he should probably have received a better package by now, but Mapoe should get himself a better agent. HE should have been negotiating halfway through the CC last year! That’s how these things work! The agent failed him!
19 Mar 2010, 08:18 am
If wanna be Springb0ksarah comes on… Tell him to listen to cooler as ekke… “ek is original, jy is a copy, ek is a flashdrive jy is a floppy”
19 Mar 2010, 08:19 am
@Agile ***-Tyrant: isn’t there a morning game today?
springbok …i’ll send you a pic, but do you have a “spacecase”?
21 year old on R200000 ??? Fark me thats not too bad , what he expect ? He has not played super rugby yet and while I agree that he has HUGE potential and has not looked out of place yet , he is still only 21 !! FFS !!
19 Mar 2010, 08:20 am
What was the size of Habanas contract to the Stormers? It has been reported that the Bulls are offering 1.4 million a year to Mapoe. Is that not more than Habana wanted?
19 Mar 2010, 08:21 am
@Bouts:
Nah bru. We dont know all the facts.
What if the agent approached them already and got gatvol cos the union was not coming to the party??
He should never have been kept on a junior contract after the season he had last year.
He should have been offered a better deal!!!
19 Mar 2010, 08:21 am
@wpw: Maybe because he didnt play for the whole season last year?
I dont know, I’m not sticking up for them but I’m just saying that’s probably deal with all their youngsters coming through. It’s not such a big deal mate.
19 Mar 2010, 08:22 am
Not a big fan of them but he would do well to go to the Bulls…. but not sure that they will pay what other franchises would…. the are a stingy lot up there..
Hopefully he comes to CT where he can live the good life and where the money is!
But then again…. we should not get carried away.. the guy is still young and we shouldn’t brake the bank for him.
@SpringbokSarah: 08:35
@SpringbokSarah:
Oh that… you said “rugga” i assumed you meant…
ok that’s at 08:35 or something…
19 Mar 2010, 08:24 am
@sparticus: Star rugby players earn FAR more than that. You can’t compare Mapoe to another 21 year old selling photocopiers or working in a call centre. A rugby career is short and they earn big while it’s there. I find it hard to believe that you don’t know this.
19 Mar 2010, 08:24 am
@sparticus:
Well I can bet you Frans Steyn was not earning 17K a month after his first season of top flight rugby!!!
19 Mar 2010, 08:25 am
@Sonito:
Habana is apparently earning about 3.5 million a year!!!
FS is soooooooooooooooooooo much better than Mapoe lol …wpw you’re making it a race thing again … go f*ck a duck
@Luke_Twatson:
Come on, man. All quotas are non-white, but all non-whites aren’t quotas.
Mapoe is a great prospect, and I would be very happy if the Bulls can latch onto him. Plus, I like his accent big time.
School? Huh?
19 Mar 2010, 08:26 am
@Tacitus: You only like it because he talks like a dark dutchie.
19 Mar 2010, 08:27 am
@wpw:
Ok.
Anyhow it looks like the Bulls are offering double of what the cheetahs are offering or it could also just be his agent trying to spread rumours and up his price.
@katman:
Did I ever try to claim anything to the contrary?
@wpw: sorry but apples with apples please.
19 Mar 2010, 08:28 am
i have np with mapoe or his wanting to leave but i have to ask tacitus this question
taccy you said after the sharks lions court thing the sharks were guilty blah blah blah and that the bulls never get into contract issues unless the player is allowed to negotiate within the union where he is to leave
what now??? and i am not saying the bulls should not bid for his services but, he is still under contract and there is no evidence its a lions type contract
19 Mar 2010, 08:28 am
@katman:
“Dark Wing Dutch”
19 Mar 2010, 08:29 am
@Sonito: # 44..
Have spoken to Staal (keo blogger) and NO offer was made to him! None.
19 Mar 2010, 08:30 am
@Luke_Twatson: a pic of what? And what do you mean by “spacecase”
@WP_: tnx
@Agile ***-Tyrant: lol Saffa rugga?
true tact …but to compare him with FS is just crazyyyyyyyy
not as clean as you proudly announced hun taccy??
bulls doing a dirty on the cheetahs
# 49.
Meant that the Bulls did not make him an offer.
19 Mar 2010, 08:31 am
does anyone know what Robert Ebersohn is earning? He should also be on this “junior contract” if all things are fair…if he is not & earns more than R29 500 then **** Verster & his lame excuses!
19 Mar 2010, 08:31 am
springbok …. i suggest that you google the lyrics of the song…you’ll soon find out what the space case is for
19 Mar 2010, 08:32 am
@Wikus van der Merwe: what about school?
19 Mar 2010, 08:32 am
@Wikus van der Merwe: offer was made of 1,4 mil
was in the press
19 Mar 2010, 08:33 am
@Transformation: transie agreed , mapoe is a first choice star and should be paid accordingly
19 Mar 2010, 08:34 am
@Transformation: He probably does!
Why shouldnt he? What are you suggesting?
19 Mar 2010, 08:34 am
G2g bye
19 Mar 2010, 08:35 am
@Wikus van der Merwe:
I am comparing their careers at the same stage (2nd season)
Did Frans Steyn make his Bok debut in his first season of CC or was it the following year??
Just asking!!
@Luke_Twatson: Comparing Mapoe to Steyn at a similar time in Steyn’s career is actually a very good example. They both showed similar promise in their first year of top flight rugby. So not sure what you’re on about.
@sharks_lover: # 57
you believe the press..
19 Mar 2010, 08:36 am
@Luke_Twatson: lol are you trying to ruin in innocent drug free mind?
19 Mar 2010, 08:36 am
How many tries has Mapoe scored so far, just curious
( one try and that was already 6 weeks ago.)
He is a quality wing with all the attributes: speed, power, side steps, ball control and angles, he will be OK financilly soon
19 Mar 2010, 08:37 am
hahaha .. no sarah :p
19 Mar 2010, 08:38 am
FAAR too early for this.
19 Mar 2010, 08:39 am
Well I hope for Mapoes careers sake, he moves to the Bulls.
19 Mar 2010, 08:39 am
@Hondo:
What’s the number of tries got to do with it.
19 Mar 2010, 08:40 am
down syndrome
@Hondo: That’s a bit of a stupid thing to say given the team he playes for…
To compare the talent of the 2 players at that stage … huh?
if you can’t see that Steyn was exceptional and would be a bok at 19!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! then hell….
you cannot compare the 2 players……
FS won BOK games single handedly at 19/20 (not cheater games,TESTS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
I rate Mapoe but he is no FS at 19/20….
Mapoe’s production is no way near that of the Frystaat’s benchmark Chris Badenhorst, he is way behind Philip Burger too,
curb your enthusiasm guys, Mapoe is just a Super14 rookie but he will get his purse soon, doesn’t need your help.
19 Mar 2010, 08:42 am
its like SAICA .. if you’re black you become a CA, even if you kbnow **** – black diamond … you must earn mega bucks – else you play the malema race card and get a mo3rse salary
19 Mar 2010, 08:43 am
anyway fark ..steyn is a nr 10, 12 or 15 … how on earth can you compare that with mapoe …
19 Mar 2010, 08:43 am
@Luke_Twatson:
# 51 you made sence….
# 73 you went mad…
19 Mar 2010, 08:44 am
@WP_: plus Ebersohn has also been injured in the past couple of months, who has been paying his medical bills? Is Mapoe the only player lodging for free @ Cheetah House?
19 Mar 2010, 08:45 am
wikus … mad maybe … its based on facts .. don’t blame the messenger
19 Mar 2010, 08:46 am
@Transformation: Mapoe had a knee op too…
Paid for by Who? Can you guess?
19 Mar 2010, 08:47 am
Maybe eberdohns agent did purchase for him a medical aid..
19 Mar 2010, 08:48 am
@WP_: what do you think i’m suggesting?
19 Mar 2010, 08:48 am
@WP_: # 78
also wanted to post that. Good point!
19 Mar 2010, 08:49 am
@WP_:
Unfortunately, wings are rated by the tries they scored, Tereblanch and Pieter Rossouw scored a try every 2 Tests, one expected the Super14 production to be higher.
19 Mar 2010, 08:50 am
Bulls need to get frikkie “the eel” Erasmus to look at lionel’s contract..
@Hondo:
And white players will always be better than him.
@Luke_Twatson: # 77.
No problem
19 Mar 2010, 08:51 am
@katman:
Well said!!!
19 Mar 2010, 08:52 am
@WP_: it was paid for by the cheetahs, it was in the news yesterday…why should players of the same caliber get different contract packages?
Prawn … most of them are ..except Jorrie
@Transformation:
and if Ebersonn is on exactly that Junior contract. then what?
fck Mapoe?
a likely senario
19 Mar 2010, 08:53 am
@Wikus van der Merwe:
Dude, no one is comparing him to Frans Steyn!!
What we are saying is that both of them were very good talents in their first season of rugby!!
19 Mar 2010, 08:54 am
@gunther: maybe his agent did, maybe not!
19 Mar 2010, 08:54 am
Brumbies 10 – 3 ….
19 Mar 2010, 08:55 am
@Luke_Twatson:
You and Hondo, get a room.
Twat.
19 Mar 2010, 08:55 am
if he wants more money do what JDV, JS, Matfield did ..go play overseas …as easy as that … so special treatment needed
19 Mar 2010, 08:56 am
@Wikus van der Merwe: frans steyn will prove to be the biggest loss to SA ever
how the sharks let him go is beyond me
19 Mar 2010, 08:57 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
I think that if Ebersohn is also on a junior contract then that too is a disgrace!!
Does anyone know what the Seven’s Boks are currently earning??
Surely it has to be more than 17K per month (Mapoe’s current Cheetahs contract)
it will be a little funny if Mapoe plays like a complete nob on Saterday.
forget your pay rise for sure.
and forget about the bulls, they don’t want you any more either.
basically, mapoe needs to play like a frikken legend on saterday.
he’s put himself front and center.
@Dawn:
Just ignore the bigots Dawn!!
19 Mar 2010, 08:58 am
@Dawn:
Why?
Chester ratio is 1:2 as well, Paulse a bit higher 1:2.5
Habana is phenomenal rate 1:1.5 but it’s beefed up with glut of tries against USA, Samoa, Tonga and Fiji but still the best.
19 Mar 2010, 08:59 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl: i want compare apples with apples! Ebersohn has been playing for cheetahs u21, he went off to play Sevens, then only came back for last year’s currie cup & got injured, now Mapoe’s career trajectory charts exactly the same path. Why should then Ebersohn get a better contract than Mapoe if the Cheetahs apply fair business practices?
19 Mar 2010, 08:59 am
@wpw:
I think you guys are all missing the point.
the Mapoes and Ebersonns were more than happy to sign contracts 1 year ago for that said price.
Nobody forced them to.
19 Mar 2010, 09:00 am
There seems to be a strong suspicion that mopoe is being paid peanuts because he is black?
Surely he should take his case to court then, surely his agent would be using this to get his client out of his contract?
Or could it be that free state rugby is tighter than a fishes pooper…
19 Mar 2010, 09:00 am
@wpw:
Did you leave a **** ball in your back pocket AGAIN?
19 Mar 2010, 09:01 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Or else? Did you make the same demands of your white players?
@Hondo:
And you expect the same of Mapoe … NOW???
19 Mar 2010, 09:01 am
@wpw: # 90
and that is where i differ from you..
TALENT at that age… even for a blind bat to see.
FS = GREAT.
Mapoe = good.
Obvious to me..
No problem.
@sharks_lover: # 95.
Ya big mistake by the Sharks….
Pity Rassie did not buy him…
19 Mar 2010, 09:02 am
Mapoe, sorry lionel..
19 Mar 2010, 09:03 am
prawn .. stop making it about race.. its been 15 years …move on cherry
19 Mar 2010, 09:05 am
look simple business practice should adhere
contracts are given for a players rating by the union he plays for
fact is ebesohn is not a first choice player whilst mapoe is
so to my mind mapoe should be paid accordingly
19 Mar 2010, 09:05 am
@Luke_Twatson:
Doesn’t seem like 15 years on this site.
Address your comment to your fellow verkramptes
19 Mar 2010, 09:07 am
ebersohn
19 Mar 2010, 09:08 am
@Dawn:
but they haven’t put themselves front and center. Everyone will now be gauging his value by his next few performances.
and his last few haven’t matched his CC form last season yet.
I have no idea how much who get’s paid at the cheetahs.
but it is always dicy asking for a payrise when you are still green and,what I would consider, an unproven performer at s14 level.especially when, not 12 months ago, you where completely happy with the job and contract on offer.
dawn … sure …. not yet uhuru
Cherry?
My word..
19 Mar 2010, 09:09 am
@gunther:
You got to look at the alternatives the guy has at the age of 18, did he contemplate attending a Medical school (Jannie Dup, Johan Steiger, Brandon Venter), economics (Andre’ Joubert) or engineering school (Andre’ Venter) in Bloem?
If not then the Cheetahs got him to where he is now, hell, his agent didn’t even bother to provide him a medical aid.
19 Mar 2010, 09:09 am
Harold Verster is an idiot.
“Now his agent Mike de Haast is trying to find loopholes in his contract so he can leave the Cheetahs for another team like the Bulls. But I can ensure you this won’t happen any time soon.”
I remember a certain Lions administrator saying that not so long ago about Alberts and Ludik and Jacques Fourie!
The bloody Cheaters moan about ‘their’ players getting poached and they pay a top player for them last year R 200k. Get a life Verster et al.
No wonder Bloem is a such a backwater.
19 Mar 2010, 09:10 am
I think this whole thing has been handled very badly by the press and everyone. I agree his contract/salary should have been adjusted long time ago, but I think this Mike de Haast choose a very bad time to bring this up (just before such an important game). I hope they beat the Stormers anyway. I believe making a someone’s salary public is also unethical, it is supposed to be confidential. (At my work I can get fired if I discuss my salary)
As a Cheetah supporter, loosing talented players to other unions does not bother me so much anymore. We get used to it. If money is the only thing driving you, there will always be a bigger union prepared to pay more (e.g. Frans Steyn). Its an professional game. The fact is, in spite of this, the Cheetahs have managed to beat the “big cheque book” unions consistantly over the past few years, which to me makes them a better Rugby team in my opinion.
If Mapoe can get a better deal at the Bulls after his contract has expired, go for it with my blessing. In any other work situation all of us will do the same.
A few seasons ago the Cheetahs paid a lot of money for a player to “keep him”, but he was only able to play 3 games for the union that season because he was a Springbok and got injured. That does not make business sense especially for a union that has the player salary budget half of most unions.
19 Mar 2010, 09:12 am
@Wikus van der Merwe:
Wickus
Can you read??
OK, let me put it this way.
Both players were very talented of that there is no doubt!!
Hell, according to reports, the Bulls were VERY interested in him last year already!!
No one is saying he was AS talented as Frans Steyn. They play in different positions bru and they are at different stages of their careers!!!
What I am saying is that after Frans’ 1st season of 1st class rugby he was unlikely to earn 200K per year at the Sharks!!!
19 Mar 2010, 09:13 am
I wonder what cheetah house is like..
Is it like the playboy mansion?
With a grotto
And parties?
Is it near the Bloemfontein “waterfront”?
Are there bunnies or are lionel and Robert the bunnies ?
Time to phone carte blanche..
19 Mar 2010, 09:15 am
in Bloem 200K is mo3rse baie geld … in JHB its worth nothing …
19 Mar 2010, 09:16 am
anyway who said Lionel & Mapoe gets the same money …just assumptions …
@wpw: steyns first contract at the sharks was 650000 per year
@gunther: Its called the Backwaterfront in Bloem.
19 Mar 2010, 09:19 am
@Hondo:does francois hougaard hava an mbchb? What about stephan dippenaar, hurdles van den heever, do they have economics degrees?
Maybe Sias & Robert Ebersohn are CAs we just don’t know about it! What about WP Nel is he an actuary?
@gunther:
19 Mar 2010, 09:20 am
Harold Verster = Manie Reyneke = Dimwit
19 Mar 2010, 09:23 am
Wings do get injured often and Mapoe direct style of play put him at the high probablity zone.
I doubt Mapoe needs any advocate for a pay rise, Verster sounds reasonable to me.
19 Mar 2010, 09:23 am
@Normandp:
well,exactly.
everyone is well aware that the Cheetahs cannot match the other unions for salary what they can offer,however, is game time to youngsters.
beyond that,as I’ve already said,I don’t know who get’s what. But players of the same age and experience should fall into the same salary bracket.
19 Mar 2010, 09:25 am
R29 000 a month to play the best sport there is…and you only play 1 game a week … get clothes, rent etc for free … if Mapoe doesn’t want it ..i’ll take it!!!!
19 Mar 2010, 09:27 am
@Transformation: You tell me…
19 Mar 2010, 09:29 am
anyway, there isn’t any drama is there.
Mapoe will get an even better deal.
Play out his contract and then move to the Bulls.
19 Mar 2010, 09:32 am
@sharks_lover: Different Unions, so you cant compare…
19 Mar 2010, 09:33 am
@Transformation:
I don’t know, all I said is we aren’t sure know what alternatives the guy had at the age of 18?
In the Pre 1995 era, most SA rugby players at Test and CC level came out of the university, so they had a profession to fall back on, if you look at the 1995 RWC team, most had a degree – except Dalton and Small of course – and Chester was a Pro soldier.
The Unions then didn’t invest so much in developing players those days, that was left to the High Schools and Varsities.
Today players are developed by the unions at cost so unless they’re let go they belong to the union when under Junior contract.
19 Mar 2010, 09:36 am
@sharks_lover:
Wow!!
Was that a junior contract or did he get that when he signed from the Cheetahs??
19 Mar 2010, 09:36 am
I’m sorry, but I disagree with all that the Cheetahs treated Mapoe badly. In fact, they treated him very fairly and with good business practice.
Let’s fist look at Mapoe. He is 21 years old. Was contracted in 2008 for the 2009 season as a junior player on a standard JUNIOR CONTRACT to play u/21 rugby untill the end of 2010. Due to injury he got an oppertunity in CC and took it with both hands. He got drafted into the Cheetah S14 side and they have upped his salary to R 200 000 for the year. He has only played 8 CC games and 4 S14 games at senior level. He is not Springbok. He has however shown some potential, but hasn’t achieved anything yet! He doesn’t score a try a game! Win every game for the Cheetahs. Etc.
I fail to see how Cheetahs treated him badly if you consider that have also stated that they are willing to up his salary to R 750 000 per year if he stays untill the end of 2012. If you look at the breakdown it will be:
Year 1 (Junior player): R 80 000
Year 2 (Junior player – playing for the enior side in his 1st year): R 200 000
Year 3 & 4 (Senior player): R 750 000 per year.
That is not treating a player who has played only 12 senior games badly. Yes, he has shown potential, but hasn’t even played a full season of senior rugby.
I think Mapoe and his agent are the ones treating the Cheetahs badly. Trying to find loopholes in your contract? If you finish your contract and want to leave, fine! Nothing wrong. But, trying to get out of a contract early says more about your character than about your worth as a player.
19 Mar 2010, 09:37 am
@sharks_lover:
You’re not serious!!!
Hectic!!
19 Mar 2010, 09:38 am
@Oubaas2009:
Certainly, compared to Avril Williams that is
19 Mar 2010, 09:43 am
@fsjakes:
Voice of sensibility and prudence, might be too complicated for most on this site, please bear with them.
19 Mar 2010, 09:51 am
@Transformation:
Forgive me for picking up on this discussion half way through, but what’s with the obsession with doctorate degrees for young rugby players? By the way, you’d struggle to find a 20 year old with a doctorate, unless he skipped a few grades at school, wouldn’t you say?
But why do you ask?
19 Mar 2010, 09:52 am
@fsjakes: 134. Cheetahs are tighter than a Nun’s you know what. That’s what is comes down to.
Poor bugger had to go looking at other offers just to get a market related salary.
If someone else would pay R 1.4m for me, and I was earning R 200k, I would be peeved, so would you.
19 Mar 2010, 09:53 am
@fsjakes: fair enough, as long as it is across the board and no tomfoolery is @ play…
19 Mar 2010, 09:56 am
whats the big deal?
the kid is now being offered a better salary as he is proving himself and asset to the union.
the bulls want to engage his services because he is talented and they are happy to hire mercs in a pro game.
like every other union keo you dickwad
19 Mar 2010, 09:57 am
@Oubaas2009:
Well said bru!!
19 Mar 2010, 09:59 am
1.4m is a alot for a guy that will be playing Vodacom Cup ..he won’t make the Bulls 15
19 Mar 2010, 09:59 am
@ Gunther: Are you capable of comprehending the English language?? Did you actually READ the article before the inner machinations of your mind started reacting and constructing a protest – in true chip-on-your-shoulder style…???
Lionel is fast becoming a fantastic player – he was basically ‘nowhere’ relative to the senior team less than 12 months ago – THAT’S why he’s been on a junior contract. It has nothing to do with race. In fact – if anything – with quotas etc in force in SA rugby team and squad selections – believe you me – if any player of colour shows even a semblance of talent – the Unions will pay big money to keep him… Fact.
Secondly – unlike the wealthier fat-cat Unions – who, year after year, leech off the talent conveyor-belt that is Grey Bloem and Free State – Free State do NOT get the same slice of the sponsorship money-pie that they do. Free State, and Grey Bloem, is the nursery of SA rugby – yet the FSRU does not have the kind of financial clout of the other 4 major Unions – so, year after year, she loses several of her players – young and established players.
Mapoe – and especially his bottom-feeding-barbel of an agent, Mike de Haast – are nothing but greedy! What do they expect – 10 months in the limelight – and all of a sudden he must earn the same as a player like, for example, Juan Smith??? Free State believed in him – invested in him – nurtured him – selected him – where he got his opportunity to shine on the Currie Cup stage, for all to see – and not even a year later – this is how he/they want to repay the FSRU???? He owes them at least a ‘debt of gratitude’ – and time on the field.
If the sponsors (and SARU), like Vodacom, poured the same amount of money into Free State – as they do to the Blue Bulls and WP (and other sponsors sponsoring the Sharks and the Lions) – and thus afforded the FSRU the financial ability to keep HER players, born and bred in the Free State – guess which team would be winning the Currie Cup year after year, and with consequent Super rugby domination.
There should be a ‘fee-transfer’ system in place – whereby if another Union wants to acquire a player from a home union – where that player learnt his rugby through the home Union’s schools/youth training and development programmes/structures and academies – then the purchasing Union must pay a market-related transfer fee to the home Union for that player. Alas – I guess the corporate fat-cats in the 3 major urban areas wouldn’t agree to that – as the FSRU, and un-fancied Bloemfontein, would be the wealthiest Union in SA within a few years.
Play fair. Free State is our nursery – year after year – respect her, and the FSRU, for such. All they ask for – is a fair share of the money-pie in rugby – so that she can keep (most) of her own players.
19 Mar 2010, 10:07 am
@Nick Armstrong: 144. A fair share of the money pie? Why? They don’t have fans. They don’t generate money because they are a backwater. Its called capitalism.
19 Mar 2010, 10:10 am
@Nick Armstrong:
Nick
Should Mapoe still be on a junior contract in 2010 based on his good CC form last year??
It seems the Bulls are offering him 1.4 million a year. What would you prefer??
200K a year or 1.4 million???
19 Mar 2010, 10:10 am
@Nick Armstrong: 144. And Lionel and his agent are greedy? WTF bru. Is someone greedy to ask to be paid what you are worth? R 1.4m compared to R 200k? Come on.
I wish I was your boss when you came begging for a raise! Stop being greedy Nicky.
19 Mar 2010, 10:12 am
could be a close finish this game.brumbies need a penalty
19 Mar 2010, 10:15 am
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
wrong thread bru!!
19 Mar 2010, 10:17 am
can’t see either of these sides winning the S14.
…and stormers lost to the Brumbies as well.at home nogal
chuckle
19 Mar 2010, 10:25 am
@Tacitus: where is it that i said 21 yr olds should have “doctorates”?
19 Mar 2010, 10:27 am
**** Armstrong
I think you have the dog firmly by the balls there mate I was arguing the other side..
Now go back in your box ****..
19 Mar 2010, 10:31 am
R200 000 a year is peanuts. You can’t even afford a one bedroom apartment and still pay the electricity on that kak salary.
Luckily he should get a sponsored vehicle.
19 Mar 2010, 10:33 am
Hilux
19 Mar 2010, 10:38 am
@Nick Armstrong: 144. Why is it, in your argument, either R29 000 a month or Juan Smith’s salary? Is this because you have to use complete hyperbole to make your point? You wasted an enormous amount of time typing that long post because of your silly logic in the very first paragraph.
No matter how the rightwingers try to spin it here (and boy are they trying), he is paid a pittance for a player of his calibre and desirability. It matters not how recently he came through the ranks. It matters not how old he is. It matters not how many games he’s played for the Cheetahs. What matters is his worth – for his team and in an open market.
Verster tried to squeeze him, got found out and now he’s quickly made another offer. But sometimes this is how it works. Mapoe has a much more reasonable offer on the table. Verster keeps his star (at far less than Juan Smith’s salary, might I point out) and everyone is happy. For now.
19 Mar 2010, 10:39 am
“Meanwhile, scrumhalf Tewis de Bruyn has been linked with a move to Worcester Warriors after the Super 14.
‘Tewis’s contract with us ends in May, then he will be a free agent,’ said Verster. ‘ We have offered him a contract extension, but we have received no word from him whether he wants to stay in Bloemfontein”
GO!
What great news. Tewis is uncomprehensively ORDINARY.
19 Mar 2010, 10:40 am
@Oubaas2009: Oubaas, people are quick to point that rugby is a professional game when related to buying players. The thing that most people seems to forget is that in a professional game, some teams have more money than other teams. That means that some teams can pay their players more than other teams.
You call the Cheetahs “tighter than a nun’s…”. Yet, the Cheetahs have the smallest player budget out of all the big unions. They simply can’t afford to pay a player who has played only 12 games and shown some promise a salary of more than a million rand.
The Bulls can. Their player budget is 10x more than that of the Cheetahs. In terms of business sense for the Cheetahs: increasing a young 21 year old player’s salary from R 80 000 to R 200 000 to R 750 000 is what they can afford and good business sense. This is different for the Bulls, Stormers, Lions and Sharks.
What is wrong is trying to get out of a contract you where happy to sign, because suddenly everyone thinks you are the flavor of the month.
Try an make an intelligent comment for once…
19 Mar 2010, 10:45 am
@katman:
Why generalize like that? It’s not the rightwingers so much as the Free State supporters.
Really now, you hurt the feelings of rightwingers like myself who support Mapoe’s complaint.
19 Mar 2010, 10:46 am
Johnny is nie dood nie hy’s net uitgepass
19 Mar 2010, 10:47 am
@katman: You say that it doesn’t matter how old he is or how many games he played, but he should be payed what he is worth. What do you base that “worth” on?
What has Mapoe achieved in half a CC and 4 S14 games? Yes, he has shown some potential. But, he is not Springbok. He doesn’t score a try a game. He is not as quick as Habana. What do you base his “worth” on? Your opinion?
19 Mar 2010, 10:48 am
@fsjakes:
His worth is market related. And the market is willing to pay him R1.4m.
19 Mar 2010, 10:49 am
Mapoe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
19 Mar 2010, 10:53 am
@fsjakes: i agree, the bulls have BEE & affirmative action money pumped into their coffers!
19 Mar 2010, 10:55 am
@Transformation:
Good. Their money is good too, even if it is evilly obtained…
19 Mar 2010, 10:57 am
@Tacitus: What you are saying is that if one team is willing to pay a player 1,4 mil, that ALL teams must pay him that or they are doing him in – if you have been following the arguements on here.
That is where I disagree with you. The market is not willing to pay him 1,4 mil (By the way, the Bulls deny making an offer – so the numbers are probably offered by his agent…) the BULLS are willing to pay him that. His “worth” as a player will differ from team to team, depending on their player budget and what they need.
That still doessn’t mean that the Cheetahs are treating him badly, or gives him an excuse to try an wiggle his way out of a contract.
19 Mar 2010, 11:00 am
What is the big issue here? Mapoe has a contract and the Bulls said they will not negotiate if he is contracted…. the question is does he have an inforcable contract?
If I had a employed a contractor for Rx will I be paying him more halfway through because he is doing a good job? No
If I am scared he will not enter into another contract with me as a result that he found out he can earn more, I will up his salary to what I think he is worth to me not what he thinks he is worth!
Habanna thought he was worth more than the Bulls thought, so the Stormers are paying him in the vicinity of R3mil and the bulls can now pay Shadow R500 – 750K Mapoe R1.4mil and still have some change….. master stroke of the bulls I think
19 Mar 2010, 11:01 am
This issue is a sign of our times. Apparently contracts mean nothing anymore. The facts is that the Free State made him an offer before he was a star. This is a risk to the rugby union, and I assure you that plenty of talented players don’t make it to the next level.
Mapoe was happy to sign his contract for a x-year period at Rxx.yy
He should honour that contract and not run off to the Bulls to try and negotiate a better deal.
I work in a business world and currently my company are working on a contract where we are grossly underpaid. The way the real world works, is that you complete and honour your contract and then find something else
19 Mar 2010, 11:02 am
@fsjakes:
I’m pretty sure the Bulls aren’t still paying Gerhard vd Heever the same amount they did when he was playing for their junior team. And by the way, he is still only 20 years old, and technically still a junior.
19 Mar 2010, 11:04 am
@wpw: im dead serious wpw
when he got back from kiwi where he went to the murray mexted acadamy his contract was 650 000 py
19 Mar 2010, 11:04 am
@Tacitus: 158. I’m talking about the likes of Hondo and Luke Twatson, neither of whom are Free State supporters. How else would you describe them? Racist ********? Ignorant biggots? Help me out here.
19 Mar 2010, 11:06 am
@Tisme: Dunno if Shadow will be all that happy if Mapoe is getting so much more than him..?
19 Mar 2010, 11:07 am
@fsjakes: 157. Shame, the Cheetahs are poor and have no cash. They are tight, and they have to be.
They are also tight with holding onto their favourites. Think how they fought to hold onto Rassie, Juan Smith, Brussouw, etc BUT want to pay their own emerging black talent an un-market related salary.
Its not wrong to ask to get paid what you are worth, contract or no contract.
Its 2010 chum not 19voetsak.
19 Mar 2010, 11:07 am
@Tacitus: #168 again @tac, the Bulls have transformation money, the Cheetahs don’t…
19 Mar 2010, 11:08 am
@katman:
Poephols not worth engaging …?
This whole thing has been orchestrated by Rassie Erasmus. (Remember the guy that used the coloured lights and would field a different that the one announced when he was with the Cheetahs?) He was not accomplishe anything since moving to the WP/Stormers and he is seriously afraid of losing against the Cheetahs this weekend…
@katman:
But your categorisation falls flat seeing as I have the opposite view to them regarding Mapoe’s situation.
19 Mar 2010, 11:09 am
@Storm outta hell: dont know myself…. I am just picking figures out of the air here!
The point I am making is if you want to be a PROFFESSIONAL union get your contractual issues 100%…… ala Bakkies that took the BB union to court for a release and lost! not like the Lions
19 Mar 2010, 11:09 am
@katman: #170 he also subscribes to their thinking…
19 Mar 2010, 11:11 am
@Transformation: The bulls have money period!….. but that does not mean they will pay Habanna over the top for his services!
19 Mar 2010, 11:11 am
@Transformation:
And again, I say, the BEE guys may make their money through evil means, but if they channel it towards the Bulls then its evil origin can at least be countered through the noble use the money is put to.
Or rather, partly countered, I should say. You can never entirely rid yourself of the stench of how that money was “earned.” And I use the term “earn” very loosely here.
19 Mar 2010, 11:13 am
@Tacitus:
The key difference being, you’re a relatively intelligent Cultural rightwinger rather whilst the other two are dimb wit Racist rightwingers
Not rightwingers of the same kind nor class
Please do not lump yourself with those two poephols
19 Mar 2010, 11:14 am
@Tacitus:
Fruits of the poisonous tree?
19 Mar 2010, 11:14 am
@Tisme: # 177
only time BAkkies got klapped…
19 Mar 2010, 11:15 am
@Tacitus:
Almost all conservative right-wingers are pragmatists, eh?
19 Mar 2010, 11:16 am
@Tacitus: Ah, we’re making progress here. This is good. I knew it was a matter of time before you started distancing yourself from other rightwingers, It’s inevitable. You’re smarter than they are. Go with it.
19 Mar 2010, 11:16 am
Hi there, I have 4 season tickets available for tomorrow’s match at Newlands. I can’t attend due to other commitments. Tickets available at normal prices. Seats on Grand Stand, Lower gallery, between 22m and 10m lines on northern side, next to an aisle, with a full view of the Big Screen.
I live in Bellville and ideally if you want to use it, you’ll have to be around the Northern suburbs ( Bellville, Durbanville etc. ). Fax me at 086 513 8240 with e-mail address and other contact details and I’ll get back to you asap. Thanx. Charles
19 Mar 2010, 11:17 am
Again…
NO offer was made by the Bulls.
Sigh….
Even though i am not a Bulls supp – they are not part of this chaos regarding Mapoe… (for once..)
19 Mar 2010, 11:19 am
Nice one Blues….
Stormers to top the log come monday!!!!!!!!!!
19 Mar 2010, 11:22 am
@Wikus van der Merwe:
Ai these Stormers darem. So much confidence, based on so little substance. The fact that the substance this year is at around the 40% level, as opposed to the usual 10% level, doesn’t make the customary 100% confidence level any more justifiable.
19 Mar 2010, 11:24 am
Tend to think Tac’s nick is quite apt in this regard
He be quite similiar to that of a senator amongst the local right wingers … the learned and intelligent leader
The others be the foolish, disposable, little foot soldiers making repetative k*k posts embarresing themselves at the forefront
The foot soldiers come and go, as they have for the past several years, whilst the long standing senator safely pulls the strings from above
Think all the way back to the days of old STANley
@Tacitus: you bullies can’t tackle … we can…
easy game we have vs Cheetahs..
you guys going to struggle tonight….
@katman: There is a point made which makes sense though….10 months doth not a superstar make…I also disagree that one good season means you can name your price? It can all turn around very quickly….that sais, doubling his salary would make sound financial sense
19 Mar 2010, 11:26 am
Bulls made no offer. Thus the R1.4mil offer doesn’t exist. So… is R1.4mil really his value then?
The facts comes back to the agent being a worthless excuse of a person. He draws money from Mapoe every month, but NEVER made an effort to negotiate a salary increase. He never even got the simplest of things… a medical scheme… or even discussed Mapoe’s future as a player with him.
Suddenly out of the blue, he uses the media, telling lies about the bulls, to improve his own cut of Mapoe’s salary!!
19 Mar 2010, 11:27 am
… and the Cheetahs didn’t only double it, they offered a tripple increase of his current salary. For his experience, that’s more than enough.
19 Mar 2010, 11:27 am
@Bouts: the other side of the coin… good points there.
19 Mar 2010, 11:30 am
This is all a storm in a tea-cup!….. move on
19 Mar 2010, 11:32 am
@Heita:
You make me sound like Darth Sidious, when, if we had to get creative, I’d rather fantasize myself as being William Wallace or Vercingetorix.
In reality, I’m just a Bulls fan with a wide field of interest.
19 Mar 2010, 11:33 am
all i know is mapoe is a first choice player for the cheetahs and should be paid as such
i am not saying pay him as much as a bok or juan smith who is the capt
but hey he is a rising star and a starting 15 first choice player
hell i dont blame the bulls for making an offer
sharks should have :p:
19 Mar 2010, 11:37 am
@Tacitus:
Mmmm …. interesting as all were ultimately unsuccessfull … which i am sure you are aware of …
19 Mar 2010, 11:37 am
@Tacitus:
Both William Wallace and Vercingetorix were defeated and executed…
19 Mar 2010, 11:38 am
@Tacitus: lol. Why cant all rightwingers be like you?
19 Mar 2010, 11:39 am
@Tacitus: # 197
As a rugby (and Stormer
) supporter i mush say that you are one of the very very very few (handful actually)bloggers on this site who’s comments i take note of and most of the time respect.
19 Mar 2010, 11:39 am
@Tacitus:
But you have alterior motives Tact.
You want him to join the Bulls!!
19 Mar 2010, 11:40 am
this is an excerpt from the Oasis press release at the announcement of their multi million sponsorship to the blue bulls
“as the only black owned & managed company to sponsor a Super14 rugby team, Oasis Group represents the front line of rugby transformation. The most recent 2009 BMI survey revealed that the Bulls enjoy the largest support fan base of all the Super14 teams with no less than 2.75 million supporters nationwide, 62% of which incidentally consist of black & coloured supporters”
19 Mar 2010, 11:40 am
@Tacitus: You sure you are not Eugene Tereblanche… some say he has a way with words as well??
19 Mar 2010, 11:41 am
@Tacitus: #180
money laundering?
19 Mar 2010, 11:44 am
@Wikus van der Merwe: He does! Fascinating guy to listen to, great speaker.
19 Mar 2010, 11:45 am
@Wikus van der Merwe:
Well, he doesn’t have a way with horses…
19 Mar 2010, 11:46 am
@Taahirah: yah well,
Hitler was a great speaker to.
19 Mar 2010, 11:47 am
Let’s not have delusions of grandeur here. We’re just muppits posting on an obscure, sensationalist, hit-chasing rugby blog.
19 Mar 2010, 11:47 am
@WP Till I Die: # 209… who Eugene?
cause he fell off…..
19 Mar 2010, 11:52 am
How can anyone in their right minds laud Tacitus’ intellect, when is stupid enough to rate Pantoffel v/d Heever and the next best thing since sliced bread.
19 Mar 2010, 11:56 am
@Bod: #212 I was also wondering the same thing. I have it on good authority that ou Tac is actually Constand Viljoen
19 Mar 2010, 11:58 am
@Bod: it’s a sort of profuse irony….
19 Mar 2010, 12:00 pm
@Bod:
You clearly don’t have all the facts at your disposal. Herewith the full picture, which will clarify everything:
1. vd Heever wears a Blue Jersey
2. His home venue is Loftus Versfeld
3. His team used to be known as Northern Transvaal
4. He is replacing a traitor who sold his soul to go to the Stormers.
Need I say more?
19 Mar 2010, 12:01 pm
@Bod:
That’s MISTER Pantoffel V/d Heever to you, capish??
19 Mar 2010, 12:01 pm
And on a more seroius note, he is an amazing talent, who can score breathtaking tries such as the one we saw last week.
But I don’t really care if you don’t rate the guy. I’m just glad we have him on our side.
19 Mar 2010, 12:03 pm
Let’s say I work for Greenwoods in Cape Town – and Deloitte comes to me with a better offer. I have a contract with Greenwoods… All I need to do is give long enough notice when I resign from Greenwoods. Surely Mapoe has a stock standard employment contract with them – usually if you are signed for x-period of time your willing-new-employer-to-be buys you out of the contract by paying Greenwoods your salary for the time left on the employment contract.
A employment contract can’t keep you married to a company in SA. Go and ask the CCMA about it. Compensation & Reasonable notice must be given.
He can leave if he wants to – really he can.
19 Mar 2010, 12:03 pm
Tacitus – I kinda rate the young vd Heever – dont you?
19 Mar 2010, 12:04 pm
Ned …. but then again @ Deloitte you must work so much harder
19 Mar 2010, 12:05 pm
i would not mind if my beloved Lions buy that young son.
19 Mar 2010, 12:05 pm
Luke Watso…LOL…funny man hey
19 Mar 2010, 12:07 pm
mapoe went to hoerskool Fichardt Park in Bloem, anyone know if it’s a good school?
19 Mar 2010, 12:10 pm
@Ned: Unless your contract has a time specification in it. You should look at contractors as a comparison, rather than a corporate contract.
19 Mar 2010, 12:11 pm
@Transformation: It can’t be a good school if its in Bloem and it ain’t Grey.
19 Mar 2010, 12:12 pm
@Transformation: It’s a decent school. Was our main competitors most of the time (in rugby), with everyone losing against Grey anyways.
19 Mar 2010, 12:15 pm
@Oubaas2009: LOL! Please. Where do you think Grey buys all their talent from? The surrounding schools! It’s about 5 kilometers from Sand du Plessis where Morne went. I’d say Sand du Plessis, Fichardpark and Jim Fouche is probably very similar in size and quality.
19 Mar 2010, 12:17 pm
@Tacitus: hehehe, delusions of grandeur, or delusions of mediocrity?
19 Mar 2010, 12:17 pm
@WP Till I Die: maybe he has HIS way with horses…
19 Mar 2010, 12:25 pm
and Tac, you cant call Habana a traitor for leaving, or accuse him of selling his soul. its a proffesional game and there are no more “teams” only “companies”
sure, some of them are more like spazas (freestate) and some are mighty corporations (The Mighty Bulls) and some are dummy corporations (Sharks) but we support companies.
will Mapoe be selling his soul to move to the Bulls, or coming to his senses?
19 Mar 2010, 12:26 pm
@Oubaas2009: so Sand du Plessis is also k@k?
19 Mar 2010, 12:26 pm
@the peanut gallery: he’d have to carry a stepladder about, and he’s getting a bit old for that?
19 Mar 2010, 12:31 pm
tac
Bryan left the bulls to get away from bernie..
Everybody knows that .. It was never about the money..
19 Mar 2010, 12:31 pm
@roobarb2:
I wonder if Tact will call FDP a traitor once he leaves the Bulls after 2011.
19 Mar 2010, 12:33 pm
@wpw:
No, cause FdP will be heading to Japan (to partner Ismaeel Dollie at halfback) and not another SAFFA region
19 Mar 2010, 12:34 pm
@Tacitus:
Personally I am of the belief that even Kabous Van der Westhuizen would have scored that try without raising too much of a sweat rounding a couple of props, a hooker and other such porkers.
Jetshoes he is not… Pantoffel he certainly is.
Hang on to him as you will, as I am rather comfortable with the Veraaier and the Fijian hanging around, thank you…
19 Mar 2010, 12:34 pm
ROOBARB
If you join the Bulls its like a Soviet defector coming to America during the Cold War. If you LEAVE the Bulls, however, you’re like a traitor who left America to sell nuclear secrets to the Ruskies.
Very clear distinction. Surprised that everyone can’t see it.
19 Mar 2010, 12:35 pm
@Tacitus: Just as he sold his soul when you guys bought him from transvaal. Or wait, when you guys bought Victor from the Cats…. yes go look it up.
Come on man, it’s the professional era….
How dissapointed were you when you saw on this site today that Mapoe is a Cheetah till next year.
19 Mar 2010, 12:37 pm
@Tacitus:
Jinne
Who pissed on your battery this morning.
19 Mar 2010, 12:37 pm
Fourie gave 11 years to the Bulls. And he’s not going to another SA team. I wish him all the best. He’s earned it through and through.
19 Mar 2010, 12:39 pm
Stronter. As I said. You can’t sell your soul if you join the good guys. Only if you leave them.
19 Mar 2010, 12:39 pm
@Transformation: 231. Ja.
19 Mar 2010, 12:42 pm
Back to mapoe junior contract my arse..
The bulls made a big offer to the cheetahs for him last year and the cheetahs refused to even discuss selling him…
So don’t tell me he is only worth 200 k and room and board at hotel cheetah..when you weren’t prepared to sell him at any price..
19 Mar 2010, 12:44 pm
@Tacitus: Now thats a one eyed supporter. Passionate to the extent of some soccer hooligans. Like Whackheads clip from this morning.
So you must then hate Adriaan Fondse as well?
Thinking back to the old days, a blue bull would never ever leave to go to another franchise.
Aaaa the nature of professional sports
19 Mar 2010, 12:46 pm
@gunther:
Yes it’s called having your cake and eating it.
@Agile ***-Tyrant:
Only,it’s Mapoe!
Tac
I say again bryan never left for the money,,
Traitor my arse…
19 Mar 2010, 12:47 pm
thing is Mapoe can make his price… we all know that all teams must have at least 4 quotas .. Mapoe is one of the better quotas, not that k@k, but also no that great.
@ImAStronter:
And yet they were happy to accpet Francois Hougaard from WP??
Dude, Tacticus is what you call a hypocrite!!!
you can’t have your ‘Poe and eat it.
19 Mar 2010, 12:48 pm
“If you join the Bulls its like a Soviet defector coming to America during the Cold War. If you LEAVE the Bulls, however, you’re like a traitor who left America to sell nuclear secrets to the Ruskies.”
I mean, really! Look at this kuk.
19 Mar 2010, 12:48 pm
@Dawn:
No one pissed. It’s game day and I’m feeling aggressive!
19 Mar 2010, 12:49 pm
@Tacitus: lol, i hear you. my heart agrees, my head is not so sure
@gunther:
I know Janine personally, she wanted to leave Pretoria because she was jealous of Juanne stealing her thunder all the time.
@Dawn:
Come on Dawn (I see someone called you Prawn yesterday!). It’s just some fighting talk in the build up to tonight’s battle.
19 Mar 2010, 12:50 pm
@Agile ***-Tyrant:
Who is Juanne?
19 Mar 2010, 12:50 pm
@Tacitus: Just wipe that brown away from your mouth Tact. You gotta be the biggest talker of **** I have ever seen. I mean do you honestly think people take you seriously.
19 Mar 2010, 12:51 pm
I think janine has her eye on Schalk Burger, thats why she wanted to move
@Tacitus:
Pierre Spies’ wife.
Is like the mafia
“son? I have no son, go you are dead to me..”
Quite honestly I am suprised habs hasn’t woken up next to a bloody bulls head yet..
@Bill Reyts:
Whose your team, Billy boy?
19 Mar 2010, 12:52 pm
@Agile ***-Tyrant:
Ah. Makes sense.
Of course I want the bulls to win, but in a way if they loose then Tact will vanish for a month. Which one is better?
@gunther:
Habana IS dead to me…
19 Mar 2010, 12:53 pm
@Bill Reyts:
No, I’m asking who YOUR team is?
@Tacitus: Does it matter!
@Bill Reyts:
C’mon son, join the flow… get with it
19 Mar 2010, 12:54 pm
@Bill Reyts:
No. Just being polite. Pretending that I care. Cheers.
19 Mar 2010, 12:55 pm
Wobbly *** tyrant
The problem was bernie..smothering ..
Parents in sport look at lewis Hamilton also ditched his dad..
@Agile ***-Tyrant: Ever cast your eyes on Pierre Spies’ mother?
Rather easy on the eyes…
@Tacitus:
No,just kidding… awesome girl, I just don’t think Loftus is her style. Well, at now least she can compare her highlights with the team down there.
@Bod: Ok the discussion ends there!
19 Mar 2010, 12:56 pm
@Tacitus: I’ve just defected to Russia mate. Does that answer your question?
19 Mar 2010, 12:56 pm
@Mapoe_Quota: Fishing I see.
19 Mar 2010, 12:57 pm
Bod
Soccer mom?
just a question, would that contract be a basic package only?
dont they get win-bonusses?
ok not the cheatahs obviously, but assuming they did actually win, would they not get a bonus?
@gunther: Ja, I was with Bryan in the gym in 2004 when his dad booked him for the Bulls, and he was over the moon, so maybe right, Bryan never should have moved… That Bernie…
@gunther:
Please show some respect.
19 Mar 2010, 12:58 pm
@Tacitus:
Yep.
I see Prawn seems to be the order of the day.
It’s that Luke Twatson idiot savant.
It has been reported to the highest authority.
outa2009 .. and??
@gunther:
Hehe
No, she’s not American..
19 Mar 2010, 12:59 pm
hahaha @ prawn …. funny nick
19 Mar 2010, 13:00 pm
@Agile ***-Tyrant:
Are you a fascist with big fat wobbly man-boobs?
19 Mar 2010, 13:00 pm
Tacitus
He started it..sorry pops
Agile
Well it’s over with his dad now..
I wonder if Olivier will move on..
19 Mar 2010, 13:01 pm
@Mapoe_Quota:
Idiot
My nic isn’t prawn or can’t you read.
19 Mar 2010, 13:02 pm
@gunther:
Olivier
Matfield
Rossouw
Du Preez
will all move on after 2011. We need to start building now. And we are. Maybe Olivier will stick around for another couple of years, but the rest will be gone.
19 Mar 2010, 13:02 pm
Prawn
Cherry
What next?
Apple pie?
19 Mar 2010, 13:03 pm
prawn … there is a saying …If it walks like a duck and talks like a duck, it must be a duck
@Dawn:
Oh you know the type then? A women with experience
@Bill Reyts:
Dobro pozhalovat, tovarisch.
Za nasu Stormerskii Rodinu!
19 Mar 2010, 13:05 pm
@gunther: 284
“Well it’s over with his dad now..”
what do you mean? Somebody got to Bernie first?
19 Mar 2010, 13:08 pm
Tact
I meant moving on from bernie
But yes will have start rebuilding good players coming through, big vic to become the forwards coach?
19 Mar 2010, 13:10 pm
@Tacitus: You can add Pedrie the pusher, Derek Kuun, Gareth Botha, Guthro and probably Pierre Spies to that departure list.
19 Mar 2010, 13:11 pm
Now I mean bernie is no longer his agent ..
19 Mar 2010, 13:11 pm
@Oubaas2009:
Pierre will be captain till his early 30′s.
19 Mar 2010, 13:12 pm
Ja, I was trying to keep in the Godfather spirit
19 Mar 2010, 13:13 pm
@Oubaas2009: Gareth?
19 Mar 2010, 13:14 pm
@Oubaas2009:
Nothing wrong with wishful thinking, Oubabelaas. Except that you end up with inevitable disappointment. So try and control yourself.
19 Mar 2010, 13:14 pm
Agileboobmeistet
Ok I see…
I’m sure bernie sleeps with one eye open ..
19 Mar 2010, 13:15 pm
@Big Hit: Gary is short for Gareth. Although it may be different in Pretoria.
19 Mar 2010, 13:17 pm
@Tacitus: Tactipus, its not wishful thinking ou pal. I would love for them to stay in Zuid.
Its the lure of the euro/pound/yen/insert any other currency.
@gunther:
Sigggh.
The agile ***-tyrant is a beautiful South American fly-catcher, tyrant family. I changed my previous nick because it was too silly.
In pretoria Gary can often be short for piet..
19 Mar 2010, 13:18 pm
@WP Till I Die:
both also epitomize the backbone of their respective cultures.
19 Mar 2010, 13:19 pm
@gunther: 303. or Koos.
19 Mar 2010, 13:20 pm
Sorry if I made a *** of myself..
19 Mar 2010, 13:21 pm
@Oubaas2009:
Zim Dollar?
19 Mar 2010, 13:22 pm
@gunther:
I was gonna use “Ash-Breasted Tyrant”,but then a picture of Dawn popped into my head
19 Mar 2010, 13:22 pm
@Oubaas2009:
Going by your reasoning, no team in SA would have any players older than 26 years of age…
19 Mar 2010, 13:24 pm
@WP Till I Die: 307. You never know. Maybe for the Beast if Butana has anything to do with it.
19 Mar 2010, 13:25 pm
@Tacitus: maybe Oubaas 2009 doesn’t go for men older than 25, they’re too independant for him.
19 Mar 2010, 13:27 pm
@Tacitus: 309. Mass exodus. Just be prepared especially with a recession around. Or has it not reached Pretoria yet?
19 Mar 2010, 13:28 pm
Stilbly is maar die beste antwoord.
19 Mar 2010, 13:29 pm
@Oubaas2009:
Oubaas sounds like the guys who predicted a mass exodus after the 2007 World Cup, then after the 2009 Lions tour, now after the 2011 World Cup.
Some will go, some that went previously will come back, and some will stay just where they are. The Bulls manage this better than any other union.
19 Mar 2010, 13:31 pm
@Agile ***-Tyrant:
Do the man boobs wobble in different directions?
@Dawn: Ag mev.Dawn… I’ve been reading your comments for years, you crack me up.
But in answer to your question if I have “big fat wobbly man-boobs”,no I’m flat-chested like yourself.
Dawns physical blessings are off limits
Same as soccer moms..
And rugby moms…
Rather talk about how good hurdles is..
19 Mar 2010, 13:33 pm
Judging from what was said on Boots & All about the Rebels’ wishlist, the Cheetahs (and other unions) best start getting their contracts and deals in place.
19 Mar 2010, 13:36 pm
@gunther:
physical blessings?
you’re kidding right?
19 Mar 2010, 13:39 pm
@gunther:
Now you go and spoil dream of Mrs Spies life pre transformation to a soccer mom.
No man..
19 Mar 2010, 13:41 pm
@Dawn:
Sensible. I think you know who is behind the looming “gevaar”
Bly weg..
19 Mar 2010, 13:41 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Wat weet jy.
19 Mar 2010, 13:42 pm
@Bod:
Who?
(Where is that Mapoe Quota twit. And he has the nerve to criticise my nic)
19 Mar 2010, 13:43 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
You guys have never even seen Dawn, yet you see fit to be able to comment on what she looks like?
Sounds like a Malema tactic to me. Want to be put in the same boat as that individual?
19 Mar 2010, 13:44 pm
Another source of irritation… Keo’s little poll
“Do you think the sharks will break their duck this weekend?”
Who cares…. who really cares??
What difference is the silly little thing going to have on anything??
19 Mar 2010, 13:46 pm
Yaso maar julle kan n klomp stront praat!!!
19 Mar 2010, 13:47 pm
@Dawn:post251.
“If you join the Bulls its like a Soviet defecator….”
Now that is just out and out trolling Dawn!
19 Mar 2010, 13:47 pm
@Dawn:
The Kommandant GBS or one of his able lieutenants. It smacks of their “style”
19 Mar 2010, 13:49 pm
For those interested in roundball:
London – Titleholders Barcelona will play Arsenal in the quarter-finals of the Champions League and remain on course for a repeat of last year’s final against Manchester United after the draw was made on Friday.
United will travel to Bayern Munich for the first leg of their quarter-final with the winners facing either Olympique Lyon or Girondins Bordeaux in the semi-finals after the two French clubs were drawn together in the last eight.
Inter Milan’s reward for knocking out Chelsea is a quarter-final against CSKA Moscow, with Barcelona or Arsenal waiting in the semi-finals.
The quarter-final first-leg ties will be played on March 30 and 31. The draw was made at UEFA’s headquarters in Nyon, Switzerland.
Quarter-finals
Olympique Lyon v Girondins Bordeaux
Bayern Munich v Manchester United
Arsenal v Barcelona
Inter Milan v CSKA Moscow
19 Mar 2010, 13:51 pm
@wpw: @wpw:
I have this sudden need to support anything German…
19 Mar 2010, 13:52 pm
@Bod:
You can come and wash my BMW. :X
19 Mar 2010, 13:53 pm
@Bod:
Me too!!
I hope Bayern thrash the Manc Scum!!
They’ve got the easier draw.
I can’t see any team beating Barca…
P.S. Who do you support?? Chelski?? Liverpool?? Arsenal?? Wigan?? lol
19 Mar 2010, 13:56 pm
@wpw:
How many here are interested in roundball?
Show of hands?
19 Mar 2010, 13:59 pm
@wpw:
Stamford Bridge born and bred… not a nouveau wannabee. Grew up worshipping the likes of Mickey Droy and Ian Brittan plying their trade against the likes of Rotherham and Leyton Orient in the old second division
How times have changed… and you??
19 Mar 2010, 14:00 pm
A soviet defecator is a very unpleasant thing.
Too much starch …
The perils of a vodka and potato diet..
19 Mar 2010, 14:03 pm
prawn stop fishing
19 Mar 2010, 14:03 pm
@Bod:
Liverpool FC!!
19 Mar 2010, 14:05 pm
@wpw: Dont make your problems mine..
I am outta here, have a good one all
19 Mar 2010, 14:39 pm
@WP Till I Die:
you assuming i’ve never been for a drink at Fireman’s now as well?
19 Mar 2010, 14:43 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
I am – so disprove my assumption.
19 Mar 2010, 14:46 pm
@WP Till I Die:
i prefer to remain incognito,thanks.
but I know what I saw….and I prefer the Bulls Babes.
19 Mar 2010, 14:48 pm
Brigadier
Are you the barmaid at firemans?
The one with the genital piercings?
19 Mar 2010, 14:49 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
Prudent.
19 Mar 2010, 14:55 pm
@gunther:
no, i stopped frequenting that particular pub when i noticed the calibre(and talent) that started frequenting it.
19 Mar 2010, 14:59 pm
Where is Firemans?
19 Mar 2010, 15:04 pm
@iori Yagami:
cape town….dodgy place, lots of moffies and ugly birds,
avoid
(and the rugby is pish as well)
19 Mar 2010, 15:06 pm
Was that no to the barmaid?
Or no to the genital piercings?
19 Mar 2010, 15:06 pm
Was that no to the barmaid?
Or no to the genital piercings?
19 Mar 2010, 15:07 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: Where in Cape Town? Thanx for the tip. So thats why Dawn goes to Firemans.
19 Mar 2010, 15:08 pm
Sorry
Just wanted to be absolutely sure..
19 Mar 2010, 15:12 pm
Firemans: love to be there…
19 Mar 2010, 15:13 pm
@iori Yagami:
is it buitengracht street…up from that other moffie hang out”fashion cafe”.
@iori Yagami:
yes….that is a “No” on both counts.What is this infatuation capetonians have with genitalia piercing?
Please,please,please…..stay in the closet, especially when on open forum. there may be kids reading this stuff.
imagine your kid comes home and tells you he wants his **** clamped? I’d have a heart attack, you’d probably be proud as punch,ne?
19 Mar 2010, 15:15 pm
@Transformation:
come now, gawds truth!
there’s enough **** jockeys in the area without having to get quota ones in as well. Go to durban.
19 Mar 2010, 15:19 pm
Waht was this barmaid wearing that showed off her piercings?
19 Mar 2010, 15:22 pm
@Dantalian:
She only shows them to you if the tip was big enough…
19 Mar 2010, 15:23 pm
Sorry brig
I thought you were a chick..
Still no harm no foul hey?
19 Mar 2010, 15:24 pm
@WP Till I Die: Or if your ‘tip’ is big enough I guess.
19 Mar 2010, 15:24 pm
Wptid
Otherwise she will just show you the tip…
19 Mar 2010, 15:28 pm
great win by blues….good game….brumbies destroyed there scrum 6 love….but Blues still won….maybe my smit theory is wonky?
great for bulls and stormers….
Cant shake this apprehensive feeling i have about bulls and stormers this weekend.
Hope its just something i ate…
19 Mar 2010, 15:31 pm
Dandy lion
There’s always one that takes it too far..
19 Mar 2010, 15:33 pm
@gunther:
Are you saying she’s a shower, not a grower?
19 Mar 2010, 15:35 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl: “quota **** jockeys”?
19 Mar 2010, 15:35 pm
@grant10:
Sharks/Boks front row still make their Blues counterparts look like Argentinian veterans.
19 Mar 2010, 15:37 pm
@Black Panther: LOL
Believe me my comment re smit was very tongue in cheek….
It was rather disconcerting seeing the blues front row in turbo reverse overdrive….a mate of mine i was watching with remarked that it brought back memories of the boks front row!
19 Mar 2010, 15:38 pm
@grant10: I’m afraid not, Stormers have been playing well but not one guy in the team are used to winning regularly in S14. Pressure is going to get to them this weekend.
19 Mar 2010, 15:38 pm
@gunther: Gone to far? This is only the tip of the iceberg.
19 Mar 2010, 15:41 pm
@adj nm: 365
Ja….just got this deep apprehension….damn nervous…..
Bulls are a worry to me…leaking trys and need to sort this defence issue quickly.
I have been burned so many times by stormers i just am petrified to get my hopes up…..
I do feel sharks will take it tomorrow though…..
19 Mar 2010, 15:41 pm
I havent seen enough of the guy, so a little tolerance please
but
is Mapoe really good enough to justify the hype ?!
I mean ‘next Habana’ is hardly fair, considering thats comparing him with an Alltime Great, not just a current domestic star player.
Safas seem to fall over themselves in a race to overhype new players, every season its the same. Kiwis to a slightly lesser extent (eg Cruden last year), not immune however. But Ive lost count of how many Brent Russell, Jaco vd Westhuizens, Gaffie du Toits and Nick Kosters there have been over the years.
19 Mar 2010, 15:43 pm
Wptid
Not to put too fine a point on it..,
19 Mar 2010, 15:45 pm
@grant10: @364
now you know I agree on this 1 (obsession) point of yours. However it might pay to always remember, at the back of your mind, that 1 wee shove late at the Tron last year and how it probably saved the lardy butts of an otherwise dominant team from having the Test stolen from underneath them at the death.
Fair dues.
19 Mar 2010, 15:49 pm
@Black Panther: 370
Yeah….what a bloody scrum that was….he should of walked off and retired….could of gone don in a bloody blaze of glory!
Heard an interview with Dan Retief this morning….a leading rugby journalist….wery interesting….he also believes its time that some big decisions are taken…and believes that Smit needs to fully concentrate on competing for the 2 spot.
his words….’lets stop the silliness of Smit at 3′….
19 Mar 2010, 15:50 pm
don is down
19 Mar 2010, 15:50 pm
@wpw: One good CC does not guarantee you a place in the Boks. He needs to excel in the S14 first.
19 Mar 2010, 15:51 pm
@KZN King Shark: 373
Hi King….
best of luck for tomorrow.
sharks by 10.
19 Mar 2010, 15:55 pm
@Black Panther: hey waka…whats with playing hobbs @ 12 & this other boytjie pivot is he better than “butcher” or are they underestimating the tjarks?
19 Mar 2010, 15:55 pm
@grant10:@371
on this you are completely 100% absofarkenlutely spot on correct.
If ever there was a perfectly script-written moment upon which to hand up yer boots and ride off in to the sunset as a Legend, that was it.
Imagine, peoples, if you will. Instead of G10 harping on (and on) from his turbo-reverse soapbox these past 6mths or so, he would have instead been talking about that very scrum and how it enhanced the myth, not detracted from it.
*sigh*
19 Mar 2010, 15:58 pm
@Black Panther: For once I actually agree with you. In the grand scheme of thing Mapoe is a baby. He had a good CC and suddenly he was Habana number 2. Habs has grown into one of the legends of the game. To be hyped up as the next Mapoe he would have to be performing at Habs level if not even better week in week out. I’ve also hardly seen him play so I’m reserving judgement but jeez give the guy a chance to prove himself before you start hyping him up.
19 Mar 2010, 15:59 pm
interesting that, not only were the blues beaten in the scrums, they also lost the lineouts badly. in theory shouldn’t have won the game
19 Mar 2010, 16:01 pm
seems my next crusade may have tio be about the folly of not playing an out and out fetcher ….there is a growing cancer growing towards the Schalk at 6….Juan Smith at 7 and spies at 8 brigade….
This will see a revert back to the dark ages…..
First have to sort out the bok front row probl;ems first though.
Dammit…my work is never done.
19 Mar 2010, 16:03 pm
@charo: 378
Ye….a damn golden beautiful 10 minute patch…..3 tries…all over rover….
Great game!
I had Blues by 8….on superbru
19 Mar 2010, 16:03 pm
@grant10: Can’t see it happening man. This Sharks team is even worse than last week’s! What is the hell is Plum playing at selecting Stefan at wing? What’s his problem with Mvovo, the guy’s got pace to burn but he hasn’t been selected once on tour not even on the bench. Our season is lost, so why not give the young uns a chance? They might just surprise you. Stefan must be feeling so confident and happy having to start at wing at the age of 34!
Sharks management are smoking tik for sure. Beginning to think Plum has a problem selecting black players. Vulindlu and Movo nowhere to be seen and what ever happened to Ndlovu? I thought he was a promising young flanker. Ai yai yai kak to be a Shark right now.
19 Mar 2010, 16:04 pm
Mapoe….damn good youngster….all the attributes…..
one to watch.jpp MUST BE CAREFUL….NEEDS TO START LOOKING OVER HIS SHOULDER.
19 Mar 2010, 16:05 pm
@Transformation:
Oh how I pray for the hasty return of the heady days when the Highlanders ‘underestimated’ anyone !
I like Hobbs, altho any player dumb enough to dance the fandango prior to dotting down (vs Stormers ?) is a complete plonker (hi again KKK !) and not the ‘pro’ that he clearly thinks he is. In my books. WTF are YOU laughing at, Masaga ?!
But I really like what I see in Robinson. He is way, wayyyyyy, off the finished article just yet but he has that wee bit of sp*rkle I like in a FH. I only hope that the Highlanders hierarchy sign him up to a long termer and then ensure he is not over-coached and, instead, encouraged to play his instinctive game. I trust Glenn Moore implicitly on this count (it takes real cojones to discipline yr best 2 players prior to a match at Loftus). The returns from Robinson will probably come too late for 2011 but I see him – on the afforementioned criteria only – being a player in Black thereafter.
Crikey, Im not overhyping now am I ?!? eek ! youve got to forgive a loyal Highlanders fan now’n'then……..small crumbs…..
19 Mar 2010, 16:08 pm
@KZN King Shark: 381
Sharkman….i saw Mvovo at Newlands in a pre season friendly….he was poor ….appeared slow….seriously .
With lambie at 15i can understand the reluctance to expose Mvovo in the same game?
Your scrum will be solid….and the hunger will be there.
Heard Butch may be back in next few weeks….and also heard from a mate in Durbs the Jde villiers talks are heating up as well…
throw in BJ and its back on track…..dont despair my man….things are happening.
@grant10: I had Blues too, by bigger margin though but only one in my pool that picked them so happy days. So maybe you shouldn’t be nervous.
Agree Bulls need too sort their defense, they can’t just assume that they will score more without having to up their defence.
As for the Stormers game my heart and a bit of my head says Cheaters but if the Stormers takes it and it was a good game then it all is well for SA ruggas.
Enjoy!
@Brigadier Van Zyl:
You done insulting me now?
Got your kicks for the afternoon?
19 Mar 2010, 16:09 pm
@charo: @378
that would be a Sth African theory, then.
Or, more scarily, an English one.
There is more than 1 way to skin a cat, old boy.
19 Mar 2010, 16:09 pm
@grant10: 382 talk is cheap but money buys the whiskey.
19 Mar 2010, 16:11 pm
@grant10: Jean de Villiers going to Sharks?
Sh&t never though he’ll be playing in anything but the hoops.
It’s like imaging Helgard Muller in anything else but white and orange with a tinge of black!
19 Mar 2010, 16:12 pm
@KZN King Shark:
So true.
I have no money, therefore no whiskey.
19 Mar 2010, 16:12 pm
@adj nm: 385
Yeah….i will be there again….havent missed a game all season…including friendlies….enjoying the stormers brand of rugby….
but very wary of a confident cheetahs outfit.
If bussow was playing i wouldnt of slept tonight!
19 Mar 2010, 16:13 pm
@adj nm: 389
Just talking….but it may become a reality.
19 Mar 2010, 16:13 pm
@Black Panther:lmao…you sound like you’re making a case for mapoe to get more money
, thanks for the honest answer, i haven’t seen this kid, will be watching him closely tomorrow…
@KZN King Shark: both mvovo & lambie in the backline is asking for sh*t…
19 Mar 2010, 16:14 pm
That’ll be the foggy farking Friday when I let someone who calls himself Brigadier van Zyl mess me around.
19 Mar 2010, 16:16 pm
@grant10:
Stormers should take it, but I’m glad to hear that the boys still get the butterflies going
19 Mar 2010, 16:17 pm
@Black Panther:
i think i recall a lot of wailing from the kiwis about their **** lineout and how matfield dominated them. line out ball is the best 1st phase you can play off.
and with the rules being enforced this season, possession begets possession – lot fewer turnovers
19 Mar 2010, 16:18 pm
@grant10: You been to the game against Boland at the Cape Town stadium?
What is your thoughts? Should WP rugby move there?
19 Mar 2010, 16:19 pm
@Dawn: anyone who calls themselves Brigadier has a small willy.
19 Mar 2010, 16:19 pm
@charo:
sorry, laws, not rules
19 Mar 2010, 16:23 pm
@adj nm: 397
Yes …i was there.
Great stadium….and being right next to the Vand A waterfront it makes sense , from a locality perspective, to move there. Many will get sentimental about Newlands….i have been watching there since 1976….but big money will talk…i reckon WP And stormers will be there sooner rather than later.
Far better for me personally…i stay in clifton, very close to new Stadium…..
19 Mar 2010, 16:26 pm
@grant10: Oi don’t get me started! Old lazybones himself….but agree with you MApoe needs to be nurtured, not rocketed to the top of the pile – He’s got the goods but needs time to develop. A year from now, he’ll be ready ( ad we can compare tries scored with JPP…or more importantly, metres actually spent running, tackles made (prob be about 78 – 2) etc
19 Mar 2010, 16:27 pm
okay….beach calls….then a couple of cold ones and the Bulls….
Cheers all…have a lekker weekend.
19 Mar 2010, 16:27 pm
@grant10: Yeah Newlands have history behind it but if the poms could build new Wembley then Stormers can do the move as well.
Newlands will never be forgotten no matter where WP moves to.
19 Mar 2010, 16:29 pm
@grant10:
You can’t get any slower than Ndugane, any slower and you would be moving in perpetual slow motion. Well it seems that Vulindlu knows where the try line is, why not select him. Butch is at the Stormers and can’t see JdV coming anywhere near the Shark tank. BJ coming back would be a spark in a bone dry forest. The DuPleaseMe brothers would start a riot. Durban would go up in flames. Can’t see Smit being too bothered about being unseated but Jannie Hands of Hondkak would rip Kockett’s head off in anger. Speaking of which I hope Kockett’s learnt not to give that peacock Adam Thompson a flattie. This time it might be Bismarck trying to moer him because his big bro got his head shoved up his arse.
19 Mar 2010, 16:30 pm
@Dawn: Join the club.
19 Mar 2010, 16:40 pm
butch is staying put at bath…
19 Mar 2010, 16:50 pm
@charo: @396
then it should scare you even more that despite complete lineout domination (ABs were down to 7th choice there at times, dont pat yourself tooooooo hard on the back !), that the Boks still somehow managed to contrive flirting with defeat in the 1st 2 fixtures, before hair-brained implosions from the ABs, and but a fintertip away at the death in the 3rd.
Id go so far as to say that if the ABs were even a hairs breath away from parity at lineout time, then they would have been all over the Boks like eczema.
The Blacks have won many many Test over the years on nowhere near-parity. When they do finally unlock the secret, be afraid. Be very afraid.
19 Mar 2010, 17:02 pm
@Black Panther:
saffas will never be afraid of the all blacks.
respect, yes – but never afraid.
19 Mar 2010, 17:11 pm
@charo:
Im not so sure about that, youre nostrils appear to be flaring somewhat unnecessarily with indignant rage, a tweak of your inner machoistic sensitivities I suspect.
There have been times in the mid-90s, and the Mitchell era, and circa 2006, when there most certainly WAS fear – in a rugby specific brand – that there was undeniably pure and raw at the mere sight of the Black jersey.
Of course, you see the word ‘fear’ and probably think the old physical-threat-to-oneself kinda type. But Im talk more the between-the-ears, theyre about to humiliate us on the scoreboard, afraid-type.
mos def
19 Mar 2010, 17:13 pm
what time is KO for the Bulls match ?
19 Mar 2010, 17:23 pm
The Boks will never “fear” anyone. Respect them, lose to them, but fear them? Never.
19 Mar 2010, 17:43 pm
@Black Panther: #407: And I thought us Saffas were brainwashed about apartheid etc!! You guys are sooo brainwashed about the All Blacks! Sure, they are very good, but come on! You make it out as if they are super human, and that we tremble at the mere mention of the haka and black jersey! My advice to you is to tell that little imaginary friend of yours to move on to the next 6 year old NZ boy… His time is up with you! Have you ever watched “Waterboy”? We see the All Blacks as these grown up men, doing a silly dance, pulling funny faces. Lol!
No offence, we like you guys! You make us laugh, you entertain us!
19 Mar 2010, 17:51 pm
@Black Panther:
“indignant rage” ????????
19 Mar 2010, 17:51 pm
@Johan Fourie: @411 & 412
pure
unadulterated
100%
raw
rugby
F E A R
19 Mar 2010, 17:55 pm
@Black Panther: LOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!
19 Mar 2010, 17:57 pm
@Johan Fourie:
You know it
19 Mar 2010, 17:58 pm
@Johan Fourie:
and
@Johan Fourie:
I know it
@Black Panther: Know what?
19 Mar 2010, 17:59 pm
F
@Johan Fourie:
E
@Johan Fourie:
A
@Black Panther: It is good to hear that you guys fear the Boks, but don’t expect us to fear you guys! Come on!
19 Mar 2010, 18:00 pm
@Johan Fourie:
R
@Black Panther:
L
F E A R
@Black Panther:
O
19 Mar 2010, 18:01 pm
@Black Panther:
L
19 Mar 2010, 18:01 pm
@Black Panther:
19 Mar 2010, 18:02 pm
@Johan Fourie:
there is nothing to fear
19 Mar 2010, 18:03 pm
@Johan Fourie:
but fear itself
@Black Panther:
business slow?
or a good pub lunch
@Johan Fourie:
and that would be
@Black Panther:
pure
unadulterated
100%
raw
rugby
F E A R
19 Mar 2010, 18:04 pm
@Black Panther: Except for Bakkies! LOL!
19 Mar 2010, 18:04 pm
@charo:
yes, uber
dont drink during work hours. That would make me English.
19 Mar 2010, 18:05 pm
@Black Panther: Are you pulling funny faces while typing? Doing a silly dance.
19 Mar 2010, 18:07 pm
@Black Panther: I actually like you! You have a great sense of humor! Keep it up! UP!!!
19 Mar 2010, 18:11 pm
kick off in 50 mins so got to go
19 Mar 2010, 18:11 pm
@charo: Enjoy!
19 Mar 2010, 18:35 pm
Johan @435
you appear to be struggling with the concept of different types of FEAR
I don’t mean the waiting for the flying headbutt, leading elbow, eyeball gouging type of fear.
As I thought I explained quite clearly @409, the AB-fear is a wholly and far FAR more scary type of fear.
But
unmistakingly
devoid of all confusion
unquestionably
pure
naked
with total and a complete avoidance of all doubt
F E A R
19 Mar 2010, 18:52 pm
@Black Panther: the last time i checked warren gatland said the all blacks have lost their aura and i think the boks had a hand in everyone thinking that…
19 Mar 2010, 19:10 pm
Transie
ah yes, I seem to recall Gatts latest, but by no means only, attempt to shake the Boyos out of their 56yr long Ripped and van Winkled nightmare (aka FEAR) agin the Blacks.
Yep, that was just before they lost. Again.
Dear old Gatts. From “no aura” to a Wooden Spoon in 5mths.
He has nothing to fear but fear itself.
Forza Azzurri
Feari Neri !
19 Mar 2010, 20:05 pm
@Black Panther: OK, enough now. We do not fear the AB’s. Full sop. We find them funny though! So tell that little friend of yours to go away now.
21 Mar 2010, 07:47 am
@Johan Fourie:
did you wake up in the middle of the night, with cold sweats ?