Boks 29 Italy 13
19 Jun 2010
Keo.co.za brought you live commentary from the Test in Witbank.
Full-time: Boks 29 Italy 13
80 mins: Italy have the ball and are 5m out, but a wild pass sees the ball knocked-on as the final hooter blows. The referee ends the game.
78 mins: Italy in a great position to secure a consolation try as their forwards work play a metre a way from the try line. However, the Italians lose the ball forward and with a few seconds remaining, the scrum should be the final play of the game.
74 mins: Frustration begins to creep in as the Boks struggle to find continuity with ball in hand. A lot of off-the-ball incidents.
69 mins: Boks’ errors are allowing Italy to score points and add respectability to the scoreboard. Spies’s infringement at the breakdown allows Bergamasco to kick another penalty in front. 29-13 to the Boks!
66 mins: Boks have the feed to a 5m scrum, but No 8 Pierre Spies drops the ball backwards and Italy steal possession. Italy clear play to the halfway line.
64 mins: James returns from the sin bin but replacement centre Juan de Jongh replaces him in the midfield.
62 mins: Italy try! Tebaldi breaks through a gap in the lineout created by replacement lock Alistair Hargreaves. The scrumhalf offloads to his skipper Sergio Parisse to score. Bergamasco adds the extras. 29-10 to the Boks!
61 mins: Aplon breaks for what seems to be his third try in two Tests, but the referee penalises centre Jean de Villiers for an early tackle on Bergamasco.
53 mins: James receives a yellow card for a dangerous tackle.
49 mins: Bok try! The Boks have a patient approach from centre field as they work several phases towards the try line. Quick ball and slick passing sees Kirchner find space on the outside as the fullback dots down in the corner. Steyn kicks the difficult conversion. 29-3 to the Boks!
45 mins: Boks win a penalty and Steyn kicks an excellent touch finder in Italy’s red zone. The home team work several set phases towards the try line but the Italians make a crucial steal and Gower hacks the ball away. Boks break back into Italy’s 22m area but they knock on the ball. Pressure eases for Italy as they win a penalty from the resulting scrum.
42 mins: Boks work the ball in centre field from a scrum but are penalised for side entry at the breakdown. Italy find touch inside the Boks’ half.
41 mins: Steyn kicks off and Italy settle outside their 22m area. McLean clears.
Half-time: Boks 22 Italy 3
39 mins: Bok try! Boks break into the Italians’ red zone again. The ball is knocked backwards but Steyn capitalises on the messy play to break through Italy’s defence and dive over. Steyn converts his own try. 22-3 to the Boks!
35 mins: Aplon is penalised for being ahead of Kirchner as the fullback clears the ball. However, Bergamasco misses the goal attempt.
32 mins: Italians are punished again for players running ahead of the kicker before the restart. But the visitors do well to turn the Boks scrum 90 degrees to win the feed, even without Castro.
30 mins: Bok try! From a lineout 8m from the chalk, the Boks drive ahead with a rolling maul. The Italians do well to disrupt things as the maul goes messy, but flank Francois Louw breaks away in the corner for the Boks’ second try. Steyn misses the tricky conversion. 15-3 to the Boks!
23 mins: Boks break on another attack. Kirchner passes the ball and Habana breaks into space by beating two defenders from the halfway line. He gives the chip ahead but falls as he is bumped by an Italian defender. However, replays show it was a dive.
21 mins: Great kick! Steyn clears the ball from his own half and finds touch in the Italian half. Difficult clearance considering the ball was carried into the 22m area. Boks find position in the Italians half.
18 mins: Castro goes off with a back injury, prop replacement Lorenzo Cittadini comes on.
17 mins: Bok try! The Boks steal the ball at the lineout and work the ball through the hands. Fullback Zane Kirchner gives a chip for Habana to collect and the wing runs clear for the opening try. Steyn converts. 10-3 to the Boks!
16 mins: Scrumhalf Ricky Januarie breaks from his own half and passes to wing Gio Aplon. But Aplon’s chip ahead goes out on the full.
14 mins: Habana chases well after the kickoff and the Boks win a kickable penalty from the breakdown as the Italians are blown for holding on. Pivot Morne Steyn levels the scores with his first penalty. Score even at 3-3!
13 mins: Italy have the first try-scoring opportunity as they win a turnover from a Bryan Habana counter attack attempt. After four breakdowns, Italy are 5m out but scurmhalf Tito Tebaldi’s selfishness costs his team a sure try. But inside centre Butch James is penalised for offside and wing Mirco Bergamasco converts from right in front. 3-0 to Italy!
7 mins: Great kick! Pivot Craig Gower pins the Boks in their 22m area with a great touch finder from his own half.
5 mins: Monster scrum! Steenkamp wins a penalty in the second scrum as the loosehead gets the better of Castro, outmuscling his opposite number.
2 mins: A lot of attention heading into the Test was on the scrum as Boks field the same front row that was dismantled in the midweek clash against Leicester with Martin Castrogiovanni at tighthead prop last November. But a strong opening scrum should give Jannie du Plessis, Chiliboy Ralepelle and Gurthro Steenkamp some early confidence.
1 mins: Poor start for Italy. The visitors are blown for players in front of the kicker, fullback Luke McLean, at the kickoff. 50m scrum to the Boks.
Springboks – 15 Zane Kirchner, 14 Gio Aplon, 13 Jean de Villiers, 12 Butch James, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Dewald Potgieter, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield (c), 4 Bakkies Botha, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Gurthro Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Bandise Maku, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Alistair Hargreaves, 19 Ryan Kankowski, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Juan de Jongh, 22 Bjorn Basson.
Italy – 15 Luke McLean, 14 Kaine Robertson, 13 Andrea Masi, 12 Matteo Pratichetti, 11 Mirco Bergamasco, 10 Craig Gower, 9 Tito Tebaldi, 8 Sergio Parisse (c), 7 Alessandro Zanni, 6 Simone Favaro, 5 Quintin Geldenhuys, 4 Valerio Bernabo, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Leonardo Ghiraldini, 1 Salvatore Perugini.
Subs: 16 Fabio Ongaro, 17 Lorenzo Cittadini, 18 Marco Bortolami, 19 Paul Derbyshire, 20 Simon Picone, 21 Riccardo Bocchino, 22 Gonzalo Canale.

247 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
19 Jun 2010, 17:28 pm
yeh ur right england would of beated us?? although we beat england 36-0 in the pool games
but no u r right…
19 Jun 2010, 17:30 pm
@cab(cab)-200:
very true cab
although smit has been playing prop all season..give him time to get his fitness in order which he will do…
and totally agree on all your other points..
19 Jun 2010, 17:33 pm
Chili Boy and Gurthro stuffed up Castrogiovanni good and solid forcing him to cry off with sore back bone. Something we haven’t seen happen by a bok front row for some time.
Damn sight better than the joke we saw last November till Smit moved back to 2.
19 Jun 2010, 17:40 pm
@umfaan(umfaan)-202:
yes Smit has been a great team oplayer all along and has simply asked what the coach has asked of him, but he now need to make a difficult decision since he is getting on, either he takes a few moths off to get into terrific shape so that he is competitive with the dynamic demands of a modern hooker or perhaps its time to start playing a more managerial or bench role – but he cannot be carried even if he does not like to rest, his conditioning is just not uop to it, he;s natually a big guy but at his age he now need to get his fitness and conditioning better than ever before if he wants to compete with the big guns. he should def be kepy on board thru 2011 even if off the bench.
Gurthro was the big mover in the boks today, as he is for the Bulls, chilliboy is way off Bismarck and even Botha and Liebenertg, i think he;s potentially as good if not better, but he needs to the s14 game time.
19 Jun 2010, 17:48 pm
Chili Boy far better choice at 2 than Gary Botha, thousand times better, so too Maku better than Botha and better than Smit also.
Achilles heel in this Bok team is Kirchner at back. James at 10 or 12, Pienaar at 9, he must play 10 if at all, and Spies / Kankowski at 8, neither of them proper grafting classic No.8′s.
19 Jun 2010, 17:50 pm
@cab(cab)-200:
I agree about Spies coming off the bench, but Pottie should be at 8. It’s his natural position and adds some brains and distribution skills where it’s needed most.
19 Jun 2010, 17:50 pm
the problem with the bok packs was that their are a few senior players that are very clever rugby-wise and tru control the game with guile, rather than sheer hard graft, but this is when bok teams can be beaten, when they coast, and when their too many chiefs and not enough indians/
its why i always like burger, cos that afkophonder just goes bossies for 80 mins and is all over the oppo. louw and potgieter are more refined but they;ve injected much needed hunger into teh bok pack as evidence by the great display against the french pack, who dont have any chiefs, their pack is just one big committed set of indians.
problem is smit, matfield and spies are def chiefs who prefer the looser game where they can watch the game unfold. i;d drop all 3 too the bench and see what happens, but with this lak of leadership, do not introduce rallapelle or raybenheimer or the blonde notal lock – go for the S14 dorm players.
I believe we will win all our EOY games if we pick two hardworking locks for the collisions, a dybamic hooker and a tighter 8th man.
19 Jun 2010, 17:54 pm
watch today’s game and see how effective Chili boy was through tight and loose. 1000 times better than Smit of last week and better than G. Botha any day of any week.
Problem here is Bulls pretensious smoke screen of promoting Rallepele and Maku while they play Botha and Kuun above them.
Front row of Steenkamp Rallepele and Du Plessis smashed Castrogiovanni and co. Thats a first for Bok front rows of recent years including Smit Bj and Beast.
19 Jun 2010, 17:55 pm
@David(David)-206:
yes i suppose thats where i thought of it, but i think the modern game prefer an 8 with a bit of phyical go-forward from the back (palu, picamoles, luaki, that samoan machine) and am not sure that is potgieter, who seems almost interchangeable with louw although they somehow compliment rach other very well, there are subtle differences to their styles, but they get through an immense amount of work, neither have the beliiherent prescence of burger and i think you need that.
the engligh have done well to retain moody and easter in this respect.
19 Jun 2010, 17:56 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-208:
yeh maybe thats why he plays 3rd choice for bulls?
chili is light years away from our first choice hookers…spesh bdp
19 Jun 2010, 17:59 pm
nah Botha has had a helluva season, i was not a huge fan before, but he has come back from his stint in the NH a far improved player, his conditioning is superb, his throwing is good, his work on the ground is fantastic, his scrummaging is abasolutely excellent and is one of the real reasons the bulls have stepped up since the previous year where they had gurthro and kruger but were getting drilled, but he is also very dymanic and strong in the tightloose.
I saw Rallapelle in the u19 world up and thought he was probably the best prospect i seen in ages, but he needs regular a14 gametime, he is not at Bothas standard, and this is because he is not playing reggularly.
19 Jun 2010, 18:03 pm
@cab(cab)-211:
dont say this to skopskiet
he wont be happy that south africa shouldnt play there like 7th choice hooker!!!!
astonishing!!
@cab(cab)-209:
I agree that Pottie isn’t the battering machine that’s generally preferred at 8 nowadays. He’s more in the George Smith mold, who I reckon played his best rugby at 8.
Bismark is a poor scrummager, he’s good in loose but poor in tight. Rallepele better than him up front by some distance. Liebenberg and Maku also better in tight and as good in loose. We don’t have a problem at hooker and we actually don’t need Botha or Smit or Bismark unless he’s used as a bench option.
Start with front row of today play Flip and Matfield or Flip and Bekker and back row of Louw Smith Potgieter or Vermeulen, Spies off bench. Thats a winning combination. You have my word on it. Burger is like Bakkies Smit and James klaar gelag fini.
19 Jun 2010, 18:09 pm
if you want a battering ram No.8 its not Spies or Kanko or Potgieter. Then you need either Alberts or Vermeulen. Potgieter better at 7 or off bench behind Smith because he’s versatile enough to cover all 3 loosie positions.
19 Jun 2010, 18:11 pm
@David(David)-213:
yes and suppose some players make more yards running into space, potgieter and van niekerk and watson all more mobile guile players – but i like potgieter over the others cos he;s tighter and attacking the ball for 80mins.
Rallapelle is def not better than Bismarck, thats utter political arguementative **** imo. Rallapelle may one day be better than Bismarck, but to do so he needs to learn and refine his trade at the top level by playing regularly, and leaving the bulls who play botha and kuhn ahead of him.
19 Jun 2010, 18:14 pm
the aussies missed george smith today, pocock is good, but you needed the vet against the dogged NH teams. Mind you with Benn Robinson, Stephen Moore and Palu out, not too mention baxter and horwill, todays result was not surprising at all – put those chamges in and the assies are a different prospect. their backs got buggerall ball today, cleaned out by england.
19 Jun 2010, 18:16 pm
choices at 6 – Brussow, Burger, Louw, Potgieter
Choices at 7 – Smith, Louw, Deysel, Burger, Potgieter, Van Niekerk,
Choices at 8 – Vermeulen, Van Niekerk, Spies,, Alberts, Potgieter, Burger, Kankowski.
Take your pick its not the top 3 individuals that count but the best 3 some combo that will do the trick.
19 Jun 2010, 18:18 pm
@cab(cab)-217: feels good to read that, last time we cleaned out a side properly was the 2007 WC
19 Jun 2010, 18:21 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-219:
haha, nah they knew they were cleaned out today, just finished a skype call with an aussie pal who was severely distraught at teh manhandling recieved – they also dislike being beaten up by the english, but am afraid it was one way traffic today upfront, not so?
alsways thought lewis moody was very good, see they’ve mad him captain, very simular to Shalk.
19 Jun 2010, 18:26 pm
Rallepele is better than Bismark. When Bismark was packing down at 2 we got drilled every which way, front, back, sideways, you name it. Today was first time our front row performed to scratch for sometime. You can’t see it then thats your bullsh’t brain thats brain washed.
Play Bismark at 2 and watch it go pear shaped again. When Smit went to 2 after Bismark went down thats when both Sharks and Bok’s came right, before that we got shunted every which way in every direction and Sharks lost 5 on trot. Rallepele is better on todays performance than Bismark has been the last dozen performances especially in tight phase and not too bad at loose either.
Nothing wrong with Rallepele or Maku, as much you tout Bismark or Botha above them I say bullsh’t they both better and given time they’ll prove it. In spite of your brain thats screwed same as most other so called rugby fundi’s that can’t see sh’t for trees.
19 Jun 2010, 18:31 pm
absolute bullshit, rallapelle is not better than bismarck, and lets not blur a collective tight 5 effort in the scrums to be the responsibility of rallapelle, who is hald the size of smit and bismarck. besdies, rallaepele strength is his mobility and dynamism in the tightloose, not in teh scrum.
Bismack is far out in front of the rest, but then its Botha cosely followed by
ebenberg and then Ralapelle. A very fit conditioned Smit also challenges Bismarck for a starting role.
19 Jun 2010, 18:34 pm
absolute political **** of the highest order and u can lump me with whomsoever you want, you talking out of your hole again.
19 Jun 2010, 18:45 pm
you obviously didn’t watch Italy and France shove Bismark Smit and Beast up their @sses with Matfield and Botha and Smit and Roussow packing behind them.
Bismark is our single weakest link in the front row, ask Os Durandt he’ll tell you the truth of the matter. You got Rallepele’s specs in relation to Bismark? I bet Chili is heavier or pretty close. Same with Maku.
Gary Botha learned some technique in Europe which improved his game and right now he’s a better scrummager than Bismark. Smit on form perhaps still top in tight but not in loose.
On current form with decent props either side Chili or Maku or Liebenberg as good if not better than Bismark or G. Botha or Smit who is totally out of it at this juncture.
19 Jun 2010, 18:46 pm
@cab(cab)-220: aussie actually won some scrums but they lost at ruck time. Moody is a top competitor, although like Schalk he’s always carrying injuries which can be limiting, way better than Borthwick however.
I thought Boks were going well but too many subs brought into to an already new team. JDJ, Olivier or JDV at 12 for you?
19 Jun 2010, 18:51 pm
are you honestly saying you would pick rallapelle over bismarck?
bismarck has got a bietjie grootkop, but he is still a bladdy good player and hugely destructive. he is the sort of player who with Bakkies, when fully fitted, and hungry are really what define the bok pack, and what setip the wins over the real big fish, the All Blacks and the BIL.
also lets compares applea to apples, the boks on their eoy tour were always going to be a totally differnt prospect on home ground, both in the scrum and anywehere else. i’ve always been a huge fan of gurthro but he was slammed by many on here including yourself for being driven back, but those tours are totally different conditions – tho its high time we started winning on them like the kiwis do.
19 Jun 2010, 18:53 pm
De Villiers rates Chili and Maku over G. Botha thats why they in his team, and so do I.
You obviously didn’t watch the much vaunted Castrogiovanni get shoved into turbo reverse today by Steenkamp Chili and Du Plessis. Damn sight more than Bismark achieved with similar support surrounding him.
Bismark is kak scrummager and only good in loose he’s the single reason our scrum suffered they way it did with Smit Bismark Beast packing down together. Go ask Os if you can’t take my word for it.
19 Jun 2010, 19:07 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-225:
yip, scrum ok, but collisions won by england and the young aussie props lack of presence big part of the tightloose contest.
at 12, behind a big bok pack, my preference is for the more attaking de jong, then WO and then JDV. Actually i think 12 is Frans Steyns best posi but we need him at fullback. But de Jong offers a sharpness on attack which we have not had since the days of Gerber. And if this bok team has a Bod that can cause havoc in midfield as well as the pacey wings outwide and the Bok pack – could be one of the best teams of all time.
19 Jun 2010, 19:08 pm
actaully probably getting ahead of myself, we probably need a couple worldclass THs to really omplete the picture.
19 Jun 2010, 19:11 pm
227. skopskiet(yliad) :
June 19th, 2010 at 6:53 pm
De Villiers rates Chili and Maku over G. Botha thats why they in his team, and so do I.
ater about 3 or 4 years of posting here, i#m going to say – I agree with you Skop on this one.
I would like to see De Jong get a full game next week inside of JDV
19 Jun 2010, 19:13 pm
“De Villiers rates Chili and Maku over G. Botha thats why they in his team…”
He is the coach and will be judged on the results, which are very good. However, i do not subscribe to the horsemanure propaganda that there are no quotas, this econimical with the truth to say the least, since we all know that any coach has to agree to certain tranformation imperatives placed on them by SARU. Now this is fine, but dont expect me or anyone else to believe these are merit only selections. I believe Rallapelle could and should be as good as Botha, but to do so he needs to be playing regular S14 rugby, this is not rocket science.
19 Jun 2010, 19:22 pm
in fact, i;d go so far as to say that if PdV is going to select Ralapelle for the Boks then the bulls should be compelled to pick Rallapelle over Botha to give the player the relevant exerpeicne needed.
But this is also unfair, since why should the Bulls and Botha have to test your theories out as to who is better when their theories have been put to the test and proven.
Instead what should happen is a draft system needs to be put in place where if the national coach is going to select these players, they need to get regular s14 game time so that when they are picked for the Boks they know what to do. It also does something else, which is it allows us to compare them to players like Botha when they go up against each oether, lile the liebnerberg-botha contest earlier this season.
but this alternative is teh most charmed window-dressing quota susyem in place, whereby a player with zero hard yards is sustained at the very top – where else in test rugby do you see that – and thats the real differnce between nz and us on these eoy tours, where are bencj and depth is inexperienced.
19 Jun 2010, 19:31 pm
@cab(cab)-232: forget it, the bulls will never do that
19 Jun 2010, 20:57 pm
Bulls are hypocrits, big breek do gooders to the non white quota’s who collect splinters sitting on their benches week in and week out. Maku and Chili should f off from Bulls same as Burton Francis did and let them stew in their closet transformation smoke screening and then they can play Botha and Kuun to their hearts content . One big fat sham this cr@p load of political bull sh’t pretenses.
Problem in Sa all the franchises are more or less the same, no real drive for real development and they don’t give a continental to the national cause only their own mercenary style broederbonding, so players from second tier simply don’t get the recognition unless they satisfied with Vodacom cup level representation.
Cheetah’s are worse than Bulls in the discriminationary stakes. Lions are up the creek management and player resource wise. Sharks don’t know their collective @sses from their elbows and neither do Stormers to similar extent due to all the jockeying between the political interest groups.
Meanwhile the players needing development get side swiped by the inherent underlying paranoid protectionist sentiment that still pervades this sport from the turret tops of its heilige school system where rugby is a religion bred into the psyches of certain youngsters as some type of hereditory prestige and tradition instead of just simply being a sport where individuals excel without the stigma of their grandfathers glorious genes watching over them..
19 Jun 2010, 21:39 pm
South Africa must be the only country in the world that does not pick its national sports teams on merit. That the Boks are still the No 2 team in the world is nothing short of amazing. The simple truth that people like dear old Skopskiet will never realise is that “development” should not happen at the international level, or the Super 14 level. The Vodacom Cup is precisely the sort of tournament where development should take place. Set quotas in stone at the Vodacom Cup level and then allow Super 14 coaches to draft the players they want into their teams. In that way, PDV would be able to choose players of colour who actually deserve to be Springboks.
19 Jun 2010, 21:53 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-235: Ja Guthro Steenkamp & Bryan Habana are only there because they are black. Juan De Jongh and Gio Aplon only score tries because the other team let them through on acts of charity.
Chili played well today.
Zane was good as well.
Rowdy was poor.
19 Jun 2010, 21:58 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-236: I agree: Ricky was the only player of colour who really let the side down. I don’t think Zane deserves to be there either. My comment was made in reference to the “”development debate”. I think Aplon should play fullback and someone else can come in on the wing. I liked the look of Basson towards the end of the Super 14. And Hougaard would be an awesome selection once he recovers from injury.
19 Jun 2010, 21:59 pm
Steenkamp has been nothing less than awesome in the first two Tests. Today he could have been MOTM.
19 Jun 2010, 22:27 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-237: Boet I think we are on the verge of exiting this horrible “quota” debate. Frankly, and this is simple maths, as we get a larger talent pool through all races embracing rugby, we will get even better, and this will be scary for the rest of the world.
Rowdy is rubbish.
But Butch & Jean on form are not good enough to make our national squad let alone team. But I am sure that I will be vilified for saying that. I would take Jean De Jongh ahead of both of them, as well as Wynand (who is better than Butch by several miles).
19 Jun 2010, 22:32 pm
@kaksioek(kaksioek)-238: I agree. He overcame a huge psychological barrier in Castrogiovanni early. I haven’t seen him play better, and is his early Cheetahs days he was outstanding too, but he’s way our best loosehead now, no contest.
He and Morne were our best players today.
20 Jun 2010, 00:01 am
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-239:
De Jongh is a delight to watch, innit.
Select NH-based backs at yr peril. How much more evidence does 1 need ? There is an argument that forwards dont regress as much as backs oop narth, but even then it is a risk.
JdV has been reduced to kick’n'chase at Munster, something he should be familiar with after his recent Bok days. But the man is, simply, way better than that. When I watch Dougie Howlett in the same team, its nothing less than sad to see talents like that reduced to rush-defence operators. Maybe Habana should be the next signing, another grossly under-utilised mega-talent.
20 Jun 2010, 08:13 am
Chili has played 2 games. One good game and the second so-so. Yet, the transformation pushers are now rating him higher than world stars like Bismarck. Rather tragic and a recipe for disaster. But keep on selecting him and we`ll see what happens against the likes of NZ, etc.
20 Jun 2010, 12:22 pm
chilliboy has played damn well…..i havent seen much of him but can see why PDV rates him.
To be fair though, Bismarck is, imo, the best 2 in the world. He would be in my team if fit and healthy every time.SAdds true mongril and is like a 4 th loosie….
20 Jun 2010, 13:02 pm
Bismark should be a flank not hooker. Kak hooker decent loose forward.
He adds dimension in the loose where his mongrel value is appreciated (when he’s not giving away points and penalties through his reckless discipline) then gives it all away in the front row where we get shoved to kingdom come.
Liebenberg, Chili and Maku are all capable hooker’s better than Bismark in tight exchanges and just shade him in loose but all are pretty valuable round the park.
So depending what you want from your No.2.
Best scrummager
John Smit
Gary Botha
Liebenberg
Chili
Maku
Bismark
Best loosie
Bismark
Maku/Liebenberg/Chili
Botha
Smit
Best of both worlds
Chili/Liebenberg/Maku
Bismark
Botha
Smit
20 Jun 2010, 13:14 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-244: Fair comment skop….
but i would like to see how Bissy goes between a proper 3 and 1 ….i am a bit reuctant to call Bissy a poor scrummager at this point as he has had to endure the Smit at 3 situation at super 14 and national level….so i will reserve judgement for a while.
20 Jun 2010, 13:30 pm
yeah Bismark could perhaps just come right up front if packing down with proper tight and loose heads beside him. Remains to be seen but Os publicly declared that Bismark packs too high for an effective 3 man hit up front and that Bismark was our weak link in the tight 5 lack of domination last year. Thats why when Smit had Bj and Beast together they took care of Castro etc but not when Smit was at 3 and Bismark at 2. Then we were back peddling for all we were worth.
My front 3 for Wc 2011 would be
Steenkamp,
Chili or Bismark or Liebenberg,
and Kruger
Bench
Smit or Chili or Bismark
Jan Du Plessis
Captain would be Juan Smith not Matfield
20 Jun 2010, 13:32 pm
where are those fools who said Genia is better than Fourie??? Genia had a SHOCKER yesterday. Overrated and average ….
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All