Rassie allays 20/20 concerns
24 Jun 2010
Rassie Erasmus says the IPL-styled rugby competition won’t contribute to player-burnout and that its success could lead to further opportunities for the 20/20 format.
News of the proposed International Super Rugby (ISR) tournament broke on Sunday, and the response from the public and media has been predominantly negative. The breaking story prompted more questions than it answered, and its confirmation that the new ISR would model itself after the money-spinning Indian Premier League led to all sorts of negative connotations.
WP senior professional coach Rassie Erasmus and lawyer Frikkie Erasmus are part of the consortium that will manage the tournament, and have come out in defence of the newly-proposed format. They had only planned to address the media once everything had been finalised in the next two months, but the leaking of information last Sunday has resulted in an earlier explanation on how the competition will work.
The rules and format are yet to be finalised, but the competition will be staged over a three-week period in January 2012. Over 200 of the world’s best players will compete across eight privately-owned franchises for a lucrative cash prize. Games are 20 minutes a half, hence the reference to cricket’s Twenty20 format, and will be played at the two new World Cup stadiums in Cape Town and Durban.
Player management’s become a touchy topic at Test and Super Rugby level, and by 2011, coaches will have to plan according to the extended Super 15 tournament. By 2012, Argentina will have joined the Four Nations. How can you justify playing another tournament before the rugby year even starts?
Rassie Erasmus believes fears of player burnout are unnecessary, and that contracted ISR players will benefit from playing in the tournament.
‘As a coach in the Super Rugby tournament, I am aware of the concerns,’ he told keo.co.za. ‘While I’m involved in ISR in a personal capacity, I’m still the senior professional coach at the Stormers and Western Province. If ISR threatened the players’ well being in the Super 15, it would be a conflict of interest.
‘There won’t be more rugby if you think about the fact that each ISR game is 20 minutes a half, and that during that time of year, players are already conditioning themselves for Super Rugby. What people also need to realise is that we’re not taking an entire team away from the coaches, but merely the world’s best players. It’s not like each Super 15 team will lose 15 players.’
Erasmus said that while players will be contracted for a three-week period, the competition takes place over two weeks. The week preceding the competition is spent planning and training. Once the tournament kicks off, there are seven match days over a fortnight, and on each day four games will be played over a three-hour period.
Frikkie Erasmus is involved with the contracting of players, and is certain that 90% of the targeted group will be available following the 2011 World Cup.
‘The tournament will be staged at the ideal time, because most players will come off their contracts after the 2011 World Cup, and can be contracted for the three-week period in January 2012,’ he told this website. ‘As we all know, a lot of players from South Africa, New Zealand and Australia plan to leave their respective countries after a World Cup and pursue the Euro in the northern hemisphere. South Africans go to Europe for the money and nothing else. Now they won’t have to.’
This will benefit South African players who don’t quite make the Springbok cut. Many talented players have sought a bigger pay-cheque and greater playing challenge after failing to crack a regular place in the national side. With the kind of money bandied about in ISR, the better provincial players won’t have to defect to Europe. According to the Erasmus pair, rugby players are set to earn the same kind of money that’s earned in the IPL.
‘There will be a bid for each individual player, but there are rules that need to be respected,’ said Frikkie Erasmus. ‘Different players will fall into different categories, so obviously you can’t pick 15 players in the same category. We are still working on the formula to ensure every team remains competitive, and it’s not a case of the richest team dominating.’
The consortium is currently in talks with Saru and the IRB, and hopes to secure the backing of both bodies. Although this is not necessary given ISR is considered a separate code to the one governed by said bodies, Rassie Erasmus feels it will be better if everybody was on the same page. In the long-term, the 20/20 format could be utilised in other competitions.
‘All that’s wrong and boring about rugby can be solved in this format, which is why people need to give it a chance,’ he said. ‘We are working out the perceived problem areas at this stage, but it’s a very exciting thing to be a part of. It’s meant to entertain, but it’s still good rugby.’
By Jon Cardinelli

176 Comments
24 Jun 2010, 05:36 am
Please noo Rassie,
just concetrate on winning a trophy.
How about working on one unified international season.
How about working on one bringing more countries in the game.
24 Jun 2010, 05:45 am
This Rassie rugby 20/20 idea is about as appealing as a cup of cold sick.
24 Jun 2010, 06:00 am
So is it still a 15 a side format?
I just don’t see the point of the whole thing to be honest.
Rugby already has a fast, action-packed version of the full version in Rugby Sevens.
Sevens is soon to make Olympic Games status, so has the potential for ground-base popularity to skyrocket. Now is not the time to ruin that potential by introducing a rival, pie in the sky format of rugby that will be challenging for the same viewer base as Sevens.
24 Jun 2010, 06:37 am
I have always perceived Ra$$ie to be arrogant, and based on this, I have a strong dislike for him and the things he stands for.
I hate the IPL and everything it standards for – excess, arrogance, a poor quality of cricket packaged as “entertainment”, greed, and disregard for the ICC and for the best interests of cricket. Why does Ra$$ie want to bring all of this into rugby?
We moan about the Australians wanting to change rugby to be more “entertaining”, and now Ra$$ie wants to create what is essentially a new sport with new rules and plays to get rid of the “boring bits”. (I don’t find a lot boring about rugby other than the Stormers backline play.)
What will this involve? Limiting the amount of rucks by giving the ball to the other team if you can’t score within 8 or 9 phases? Not having reset scrums? Limiting the amount of kicking? Getting rid of a couple of players so that there are more gaps? Making the field wider?
I wonder how much discussion there has been with European players and clubs. A lot of them won’t be coming off contract after the world cup, and a lot of players who want to pick up contracts after the world cup will be expected to start playing in October or November.
I hope this fails miserably, which I think it might do as the IPL is based on a massive domestic audience, massive TV contracts and cashed up Indians who get a hard on from owning a sports team.
24 Jun 2010, 06:47 am
Hopefully this gets blocked. Rassie had a taste of a successful season and getting greedy. This would mean S14 teams would play without a break. A little selfish.
24 Jun 2010, 06:48 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-4:
- Make the offside line 10m back so that teams have space to run.
- But then limiting the amount of attacking moves to 6 before you have to hand the ball over to the opposition.
- Make penalties only worth 2 points to discourage goal kicking.
- Get rid of lineouts to discourage tactical kicking.
- Scrummaging can slow up the game, so make scrums non-contestable.
- With scrums gone, big props like Gurthro are just taking up space, so replace him with a bunch of big n’ fast guys all in the Spies mold.
- 15 players doesn’t leave many defensive gaps, so drop the amount of players on each team to 13.
Sound familiar?
24 Jun 2010, 07:14 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-6: Yep – give them all tight shorts and slightly camp shirts, and we can call them the Northern Province Bullsdogs, the Western Province Storm, the Free State Panthers, the Natal Sharks (that doesn’t need to change!) and the Jo’Burg Tigers.
This reminds me a bit of the alertnative rugby commentry take on the differences between league and union – youtube.com/watch?v=9JWLSNbqaUI – perhaps this is where Rassie found his inspiration?
24 Jun 2010, 07:27 am
So the only agument salesman Rassie could fall back on in response to the player burnout issue is that they would have been training wth their Super 15 teams in any case?
Pathetic reasoning from Rassie and his cousim Frikkie Mcquire.
24 Jun 2010, 07:28 am
argument and cousin, for those who can’t read my early morning scribble.
24 Jun 2010, 07:31 am
If the ISR threatened the players well-being in the Super 15 that would be a conflict of interest.
Er yes exactly Rassie you greedy ******.
24 Jun 2010, 07:34 am
Poor idea and a waste of time. we already have 7′s and that has been a huge success and has brought more and more new rugby fans. to non/new rugby fans, its a already a bit confusing and now we want to confuse them even more with another version?
24 Jun 2010, 07:35 am
A of no consequence Rassie self styled 20/20 rugby series and some mundane test in the serious backwaters of SA against a real cr@ppy team.
Is it only I that is battling to get motivated with the oval ball at the moment????
Bring on the round ball…
24 Jun 2010, 07:39 am
@Bod(bod)-12: See how you feel when it is the All Blacks versus the Boks at Loftus, or Newlands!
24 Jun 2010, 07:39 am
mmmmmm… What are the chances of getting injured in a cricket game? and What are the chances of getting injured in rugby game?
Not to worry clubs and provinces it is just your star players playing in this tournament.
24 Jun 2010, 07:40 am
kak idea.
24 Jun 2010, 07:44 am
The other difference between rugby and cricket is that cricket is a team sport based on individual performances rather than team work. You don’t need to know the players around you to score a 100 or bowl a yorker.
You do need to know the players around you to launch a counter attack, or to build synergy in an attacking backline. It is relatvely easy to create a defensive line, but to develop cohesion in an attacking line is tough. We see this often with the Baabaas or with teams who don’t have a lot of time together – national “A” teams, new combinations in warm up games, etc.
24 Jun 2010, 07:47 am
I think this idea can be filed under “DOOMED TO FAIL”.
24 Jun 2010, 07:49 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-13:
Thats a different story, but c’mon, the Boks vs Italy in Slummies??
I was at Newlands for the Frog test and was bored to bits. We gotta move away from the odd “ole ole”, mexican wave and that stupid aniquated cockeral crow, that are all as yesterday as the rinderpest.
Give me North Korea vs Slovakia in Polekwane any day…
24 Jun 2010, 07:49 am
i hope so sonito.
24 Jun 2010, 07:50 am
i think this is a great idea … we will see more matfield’s, J Smit’s etc after retirement from the 40/40 game. Like Warne & Hayden in the IPL …. Rassie jy was nog altyd ‘n slim bliks3m! … jyt A Coetzee ook mooi geleer by die WP
24 Jun 2010, 07:55 am
@Bod(bod)-18: Yeah, soccer atmosphere is great – thats why I quite like the vuvuzela! I remember watching a game where they play drums all the way through the game and that really gave it an interesting atmosphere which ebbed and flowed with the game.
Warm up games for rugby are almost over, luckily, bring on full stadiums, the Haka and a bit of biff between Bakkies and Thorn!
24 Jun 2010, 07:56 am
Disco-Lights RassieTafarian… salasie ei!
24 Jun 2010, 07:58 am
Cheetahs say no to Rose ===> PDV k@k seker in sy beste onderbroek
24 Jun 2010, 08:00 am
@WO_owned_De_jongh_in_super14_final(suffer_guy)-23: suppose his going rate is too high for Bloem
24 Jun 2010, 08:08 am
wonder what is his rate … i think he’s worth R500 a season – max!
24 Jun 2010, 08:12 am
What’s these little dots?
24 Jun 2010, 08:16 am
its to help ppl like you dawn. They do it in Die Son as well ..or so i heard
24 Jun 2010, 08:18 am
‘All that’s wrong and boring about rugby can be solved in this format, which is why people need to give it a chance,’ he said.
Imo is drank n lelike ding as jy dit misbruik…..
24 Jun 2010, 08:18 am
@WO_owned_De_jongh_in_super14_final(suffer_guy)-27:
People like me?
What kind of people would that be?
24 Jun 2010, 08:20 am
dawn …those with Std 5 ;-p
24 Jun 2010, 08:23 am
@Staal(Staal)-28:
More Mnr Staal.Hoe gaan dit met u?
24 Jun 2010, 08:25 am
@Fern(Fern)-31: Skitterend en jy ou maat – hoe lyk dinge.
Hoe gaan dit met die golf n eiendom daar by jou – kannie onthou of jy golf speelie.
Ek’s bly om te sien jy sit hierdie NZ’landers nog op hul plek.
24 Jun 2010, 08:27 am
@Staal(Staal)-32:
Nee ek speel nie golf nie.Wens ek het n golf eiendom gehad.ek sien daai mark sukkel nou.
Eks besig met iets groots.
24 Jun 2010, 08:31 am
rugby in Durban in January?
Hell….tweny minutes a half will be a killer in that weather that time of the year!.
No Rassie my man, you can slice and dice this but the real rugby fan not going to fall for this .
24 Jun 2010, 08:31 am
@WO_owned_De_jongh_in_super14_final(suffer_guy)-30:
As opposed to you who went to special school and only made Sub B.
24 Jun 2010, 08:32 am
no ways you can play rugby in durbs in jan
24 Jun 2010, 08:38 am
dawn that the best you can do? And i thought piet’s hoochie girl can do better
24 Jun 2010, 08:43 am
@WO_owned_De_jongh_in_super14_final(suffer_guy)-37:
I can.
But it’s too early and would be entirely wasted on your micro-intellect and maggot-sized brain.
24 Jun 2010, 08:43 am
Well of course Rassie does not see a conflict of interest or how this would negatively affect players and the game in general.
He is only looking at the $$$ signs.
Kak idea, even after this attempted explanation of it.
24 Jun 2010, 08:45 am
And exactly how is rugby boring???
The ‘boredom’ generally associated with rugby is not so much the product as it is the amount of rugby being played negatively affecting the product – now you want more?
24 Jun 2010, 08:51 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-4: “…new rules and plays to get rid of the “boring bits”. (I don’t find a lot boring about rugby other than the Stormers backline play.)”
I’m sorry, did you even watch any of the Stormers games? They scored a try which is the best try of the damn tornament! They broke the record as the only SA team to beat all NZ teams in one season. And on top of that they aquired 8 BP during the 2010 season (more than the Bulls). And while we are at it, how can you call a backline that has J Fourie, Habana and De Jongh boring.
Either you are a sour grapes Lions/ Sharks supporter or a blinded Bulls/ Cheetahs supporter or just a twat.
24 Jun 2010, 09:03 am
i actually like this idea… this will benifit rugby, well i hope? it s gona be mostly “almost” retired players like john smit, howlett, collens(NZ) wilkinson… okes that still have it but wants to retire out of international rugby?
24 Jun 2010, 09:05 am
I actually don’t mind if they do go ahead with this
competition & Everyone is always negative about change
& new ideas but as we get use to it people will eventually get behind it.
Nobody can ever wait for the S14 to kick off in Feb. so this will be a pre-season fix & I think it will give an indication
of what’s to come in the S15, besides, if it keeps our local talent in SA i’m all for it.
24 Jun 2010, 09:15 am
20/20 rugby?? I thought 7′s filled this gap?
24 Jun 2010, 09:18 am
@Breakdown Boy(Breakdown Boy)-41: I’ll go for the twat thanks. Touch insecure there about the relative achievements of your beloved Stormers team this season?
The Stormers backline was **** off first phase and also off phase play, as opposed to turnover ball when they were able to combine forwards with backs to score sweet breakaway tries, or great individual efforts a la Jacque Fourie versus the Crusaders.
The try you refer to, I imagine, is the one against the Chiefs which was scored off turnover ball, and was not thanks to the backline but interplay between forwards and backs with Schalk Burger and Louw playing prominent roles in the try.
And as for your bonus points – four of your eight precious bonus points were won due to losing by less than 7 points – what a great sign of your brilliant backline play!
The relative success of the Stormers in the Super 14 was based on agressive defence and turnover ball, not flowing backline movements. They had the highest amounts of turnovers throughtout the season, and this is what helped them to be losing finalists – not their backline. Know your strengths and improve on your weaknesses.
24 Jun 2010, 09:19 am
I’m sure all the guys making the $$$ signs whould’ve had a totally diffrent point of view if some of the $$$ came to their pocket. The 20/20 was a format many shot down as well and now it’s brillian and watched my millions. Samething with Rassie’s idea. Everyone got the 5 sents worth an the stage all negative, I say give the guy a change. Come with your negative critism when the tournament fails.
24 Jun 2010, 09:21 am
@Bod(bod)-18: soccer might have all the bells and whistles in the stands to make it entertaining, but barring the odd game here and there, it can’t compete with the intensity of a rugby game (even against the pasta eaters), where it really counts – between the four white lines.
24 Jun 2010, 09:24 am
@the peanut gallery(peanut)-47: oh and rassie, your idea is just as k uk as your disco lights.
concentrate on weepee – it’s what you’re paid to do.
24 Jun 2010, 09:26 am
This is good news if you are a cheerleader.
If you are a rugby player…
Not so much.
@CapeStorms(CapeStorms)-46: 20/20 is brilliant if you’re into flashing lights and dancing girls. that’s why the injuns love it – similar to bollywood.
as a sport it’s pretty ****.
@CapeStorms(CapeStorms)-46:
I say show me one positive thing to come from this tournament.
Even the laws will change so will this even be rugby?
Why simply not follow league then?
24 Jun 2010, 09:30 am
I wonder who will be dumb enough to invest in these teams?
It is surely gonna make for some interesting team names.
24 Jun 2010, 09:32 am
Can i buy a team?
24 Jun 2010, 09:35 am
The equation is quite simple for me.
Would this benefit the game of rugby?
If yes, how?
If not, what’s the point?
24 Jun 2010, 09:35 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-54: The point is money.
24 Jun 2010, 09:39 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-55:
My only interest is the game, so then there is no point.
24 Jun 2010, 09:41 am
No matter how much you slice and dice this proposal, it remains a **** idea !!
24 Jun 2010, 09:42 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-56: Yeah, I agree. Nothing about developing or growing the game, nothing about developing skills, or improving opportunities for any-one.
Rather it is about making “rugbytainment” so that it can be “sold” and make money for the players, team owners and the league. And they want us to pay for it.
The IPL, for example, does nothing for developing the game. They don’t need to because all they have to do is take the cream of the crop, play to their desire for money, and bugger the influence and impact on everything else.
24 Jun 2010, 09:45 am
I wonder if Rassie and Frikkie plan to invest a large portion of their own money in this idea. Probaly not.
24 Jun 2010, 09:45 am
@Tacitus(Tacitus)-9: You going to the game this weekend?
24 Jun 2010, 09:48 am
Classic article on iafrica.com yesterday:
“No thanks! That is the unequivocal message from the Free State Cheetahs to the agent trying to peddle enigmatic Springbok utility Earl Rose to them, in exchange for fellow Bok tourist Ashley Johnson.
Cheetahs backline coach Hawies Fourie confirmed to this website on Wednesday that they have declined the offer to obtain Rose’s services………….
Fourie felt that Rose, who has fallen out of favour at the Lions and was axed from the Super 14 squad by Springbok backs coach **** Muir, simply carry too much baggage to make him a viable acquisition.”…..
Classic stuff!
24 Jun 2010, 09:50 am
Earl come to EP …. we need a reserve fullback for our EP Academy B team
24 Jun 2010, 09:52 am
I am looking forward to the final between the Pic n Pay Shelf Packers vs the Anglo American Rockbreakers with the Engen Oil Pumpers unlucky to miss out on a place in the final.
We will have Big Mac touchdowns, seven eleven drop goals and Exclusive Books Strategy Breaks.
Not to mention Macro Penalty Kicks.
24 Jun 2010, 09:58 am
why don’t these money people just buy the Super franchises? The Lions will be a great buy.
24 Jun 2010, 09:59 am
@gunther(gunther)-63:
24 Jun 2010, 10:05 am
@RedLion is born again(RL)-64: Now that you mention it… Im gonna table an offer for the Lions. I have about R233.75 in my wallet. Should have enough left over for the Spears…
24 Jun 2010, 10:16 am
Red Lion you are to late.
Have you not seen this competition?
“Wimpy Mega Breakfast!”
Order any one of Wimpy’s legendary breakfasts together with one of our gourmet coffees and you stand to win a controlling interest in the Golden Lipns Rugby Football Union.
Offers ends 1 August.
Terms & conditions apply.
24 Jun 2010, 10:22 am
At least we will see the best players and not a bunch of useless quotas!
24 Jun 2010, 10:24 am
@Falken(Falken)-68: You mean another Rugga SA? That Rassie is a sly one…
24 Jun 2010, 10:24 am
@Falken(Falken)-68:
You mean guys capable of winning the World Cup, Tri-Nations and Super 14?
Cant wait.
24 Jun 2010, 10:25 am
I actually had an idea to promote rugby during the WC to the soccer fans. It was a Canned Lion Hunt, but the GRLU turned it down due to a lack of players. The idea was that you could get 14 of your mates together and play a game of rugby against the Lions, with a win guaranteed.
24 Jun 2010, 10:26 am
rassie
better
you just
voertsek
24 Jun 2010, 10:28 am
I see the Aussies are already opposed to this.
24 Jun 2010, 10:29 am
@Porra the Fat Speedster(Porra)-72: Hi Porra
I was at the portugal …korea game …brilliant!
Can you boys nail the Brazilians Friday? I am going to watch at the Brazilian Supporters club to watch but will be firmly in the porra s camp!
24 Jun 2010, 10:31 am
Maybe Buthana Kompela can by his own team and call the ANC AmaBoshaBasha!
24 Jun 2010, 10:33 am
@PissAnt(PissAnt)-73:
That’s only because it wasn’t their idea.
Whoever dreamed up this 20/20 BS has got rocks in their head.
An eight team tournament would require four to seven weeks. Even if it started in the first week of January, its still going run into February, right in the pre-season for Super 15, right in the middle of the Guinness Premiership, the French Top 14, the Magners League, the Heineken Cup, and into the first rounds of the Six Nations.
The world just doesn’t need a meaningless “not even real” Rugby tournament.
Ain’t gonna happen, or at least not with any global world-class talent involved.
Roar!
24 Jun 2010, 10:35 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-45: Sure they weren’t consistant but they still scored some great tries from their backline play. I refer to the great try scored from a scrum against the Crusaders ustilising no 9, 10, 13,14.
And yes I am sensitive, they had a brilliant seasone with all their outside backs scoring at least 3 or more tries this season.
And who scores tries of 1st phase backline moves? Besides the bloody Bulls/ Boks/ AB who have the best player to ever grace the no 9/ 10 jearsey. (du Preez/ Carter).
Sorry about the attitude, I just hate these central SA fans who hate WP for some or other reason.
24 Jun 2010, 10:36 am
@Falken(Falken)-75: Amaboshabosha
24 Jun 2010, 10:37 am
@Falken(Falken)-68:
Who. The white guys?
24 Jun 2010, 10:37 am
@cooky(cooky)-77:
Yeah but each team will probaly play two to three games a week but dont worry they are only 20 min halves
24 Jun 2010, 10:38 am
No the ANC
24 Jun 2010, 10:38 am
@grant10(grant10)-74:
I’d like to see him try and nail the Brazilans.
24 Jun 2010, 10:39 am
@Breakdown Boy(Breakdown Boy)-79:
You dont need a reason to hate WP.
24 Jun 2010, 10:40 am
@Falken(Falken)-83:
The ANC playing rugby now?
Never knew.
24 Jun 2010, 10:42 am
@grant10(grant10)-74: I had a great time for USA vs Slovenia at the Den, those yanks are fun people and look set to win it, the cup. I will be in the platteland this Saturday supporting them again.
Go USA
24 Jun 2010, 10:49 am
i didnt even read the article.
the ranger has no time for kuk.
i will boycott any attempt at this kind of money making at the expense of my beloved sharkies and ensure my mates do too.
rassie and his cuzzie must simply *** off with their “wrong and boring” bits of rugby.
they bore me.
24 Jun 2010, 10:50 am
@Dawn(Dawn)-86: the Robben Island Exiles xv.
they are a bit long in the tooth these days.
24 Jun 2010, 10:52 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-88:
gm ranger bro
24 Jun 2010, 10:54 am
i cant see the sharks letting a team play in this kind of comp and that just before the start of the super 15
24 Jun 2010, 10:55 am
@rangerman(rangerman)-88:
Don’t worry about your Sharks, Rassie said it was for the top 200 players internationally.
24 Jun 2010, 10:59 am
bloody hell….now i am subjected to smit in this nonsense as well…..will my suffering ever be stopped! And on my doorstep too!
24 Jun 2010, 11:01 am
I
Methinks Rassie is looking for a new paypacket. He didn’t deliver on his early year promise of the Stormies would win S14 now, did he? Maybe his time at WP is up?
Any Stormers know whats going on?
24 Jun 2010, 11:02 am
GO GHANA!!!!
24 Jun 2010, 11:03 am
@grant10(grant10)-93: what has smitty got to do with all this??
24 Jun 2010, 11:03 am
@ GRANT10-93:
Nah! Don’t worry. It will be over soon. Just wait till we know whats gonna happen to Rassie. Then you’ll hear some stories.
24 Jun 2010, 11:04 am
@grant10(grant10)-74: how were the portugese fans?
24 Jun 2010, 11:04 am
@David(David)-92:
24 Jun 2010, 11:06 am
Know what?
At last there’s something 99% of you guys agree on! I agree too. Really s**t idea.
24 Jun 2010, 11:07 am
What an absolute load of rubbish!! RUBBISH!! RUBBISH!! After a long 10 month season of rugby – players and fans (yes – us) all look forward to a break from the game over the December/January and early Feb summer holiday season. So, too, do our wives and girlfriends…
Who honestly gives an absolute iota of a damm about some innocous, bastardised, version of the game???? Who cares – it’s absolute rubbish!
1)They’re not playing for any international team (ie – so no appeal to “country”).
2) They’re not playing for any province or provincial franchise (ie – so no appeal to province – ala the Currie Cup and Super Rugby).
Who are they playing for?? NOBODY. NOTHING. Nothing – but their pockets. Wow – let’s all get excited about pumping more money into the pockets of individuals playing for nothing but themselves. Sure… NOT!
Who gives absolute toss about, say, for example, the Cape Town Mountaineers playing the Port Elizabeth Wave Riders or the Jo’Burg Gold Diggers…??????? WTF??? Who honestly gives a sh#t???????
January is a time for the beach, hiking, outdoors, around the pool, rock pools and skinny-dipping, summer holidays, QT with loved ones and family, parties with friends, going away, more wild parties, enjoying everything that is summer – NOT for watching a stupid, bastardised, version of rugby!
I, for one, will not be wasting my holiday season party money on this k@k!
24 Jun 2010, 11:08 am
Only boring thing about rugby right now, is Rassie and his lawyer, Frikkie something or other…
Eish!
24 Jun 2010, 11:09 am
@David(David)-92:
skerp daai David
24 Jun 2010, 11:16 am
@Mafoota(Mafoota)-102: isn’t that Frikkie chap related to the country and western singer Tommy Dell?
24 Jun 2010, 11:20 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-103:
Yeah, I got a wake up call this morning finding out that it will cost me R8,500 to fix a few small problems with my wifes car.
24 Jun 2010, 11:23 am
Thumbs up for Erasmus for taking the iniative for bringing in new ideas.
24 Jun 2010, 11:24 am
@Mafoota(Mafoota)-97:
you’re
a speedster
too
?
24 Jun 2010, 11:26 am
@Nick Armstrong(Nick Armstrong)-101:
an january
uses
january
to fill up
the
sheetbag
to the brim
24 Jun 2010, 11:35 am
How can you honestly expect Rassie to offer an objective opinion on this matter when he has a vested business interest in the ISR?
24 Jun 2010, 11:36 am
@David(David)-105:
you should send her to that insurance company that only insures women.
and watch the rands roll in.
24 Jun 2010, 11:38 am
@ PORRA no 108 – LOL!
Yeah – seriously – who gives a toss about a bunch of gluttonous rugby-whores playing for nothing but their pockets?? When you could be skinny-dipping with some babes or on a beach somewhere…??? Loving the summer fun – or watching this k@k???
Lol – it’s a no-brainer.
Who still watches the IPL cricket anyways??? What a load of k@k! Never mind – with their gluttonous greed – they will slowly kill the passion for that version of the game……
And – there’s infinitely more money in (and passion for and interest in) organised rugby. If this rubbsih interferes with the preparation for Super Rugby – the unions could challenge either the players or the organisers themselves…
If a player wants to play in this k@k – then don’t select him for Super Rugby which commences in February…
24 Jun 2010, 11:45 am
@gunther(gunther)-110:
It’s just small mechanical issues, not damage.
24 Jun 2010, 11:53 am
Honestly now Rassie…
How would you feel about this competition if you were still a player?
24 Jun 2010, 11:56 am
@David(David)-112:
gearbox?
you know what they say..
if you can’t find it grind it.
24 Jun 2010, 12:03 pm
@gunther(gunther)-114:
No, fuel pump, lines and brakes plus service.
24 Jun 2010, 12:05 pm
I think Rassie and Frikkie are missing the point here. Money? Who is going to sponsor this shite?
7′s is our 20/20 and its hardly a format that is as well supported as 15′s in terms of spectators and sponsors.
Rassie wants to be the next Rupert Murdoch.
No wonder WP is battling to win anything, if this is what Rassie spends his time doing!
24 Jun 2010, 12:06 pm
‘There won’t be more rugby if you think about the fact that each ISR game is 20 minutes a half, and that during that time of year, players are already conditioning themselves for Super Rugby. What people also need to realise is that we’re not taking an entire team away from the coaches, but merely the world’s best players. It’s not like each Super 15 team will lose 15 players.’
Geez Rassie, you seriously question the intelligence of some rugby lovers.
This competition is not about the amount of game time or a trade-off between play time and training time.
There are logistical issues associated with a tournament like this. Travel schedules.
There are mental conditioning issues for players, who were looking forward to a cold beer and time with their families.
My gut, however, tells me that most players will fall for this farce. Anything to make a quick buck. Sadly, the fans will follow too, at least over the short-term (and I will probably be a guilty party too).
As a Super 14 franchise coach, you should be a mentor for the players, knowing when your resources require physical and mental conditioning. You should discourage them from taking part in such a spectacle.
However, you are wearing the hat of a typical business tycoon who is trying to exhaust his labour force in order to make a short-term profit, whilst ignoring the long-run economic benefits of not participating. But don’t worry, this is a typical problem in business, which now seemed to have syphoned through to sport.
You know better than this Rassie.
24 Jun 2010, 12:09 pm
‘All that’s wrong and boring about rugby can be solved in this format, which is why people need to give it a chance,’ he said. ‘We are working out the perceived problem areas at this stage, but it’s a very exciting thing to be a part of. It’s meant to entertain, but it’s still good rugby.’
What exactly is wrong and boring about rugby?
What do you aim to see more or less of in general?
What can you see more or less of in 20 minutes a half?
Comparing rugby to cricket is a false foundation for your premise anyhow.
24 Jun 2010, 12:12 pm
A better approach would be to promote Sevens Rugby.
Very entertaining and at least this is a game-type in which valuable skills can be learned and shaped.
Which strings would a player be able to add to his bow in the 20/20 format?
A greater attacking acumen such as in 20/20 cricket? How are you going to facilitate it in 20 minutes a half Rassie?
24 Jun 2010, 12:14 pm
@willievz(willievz)-119:
You’re taking this one badly… let it go son
24 Jun 2010, 12:17 pm
rassie
is now
going to
transform
from a
failed coach
to a failed
businessman
24 Jun 2010, 12:18 pm
@Bod(bod)-120: The problem is that I will let it go eventually.
I will fall for this farce.
So will the rest of the rugby public.
24 Jun 2010, 12:20 pm
@willievz(willievz)-122:
Its not going to happen, so dont worry about it…
24 Jun 2010, 12:27 pm
As it is we are suffering from an overload of sporting Stimuli. Most people don’t even care that there is cricket on in the West Indies at the moment. The brain can only take so much….
24 Jun 2010, 12:29 pm
@ WILLIEVZ – well said mate! 3 fantastic posts – perfectly put.
However – one thing – we (the fans) will NOT buy into this k@k. As I said in my post – WTF – who cares about a bunch of rugby-whores playing for nothing/no-one but their own pockets.
Pointless and meaningless for the rest of us. They’re not representing country or province in any organised rugby tournament or international Test – ie POINTLESS RUBBISH.
We won’t be watching or buying – we’ll be on the beach and buying at the club or bar.
Unions must tell players – if they play in this sh#t instead of going through official Union-sanctioned conditioning programmes – then they won’t be selected for Super Rugby.
Simple.
24 Jun 2010, 12:35 pm
@Nick Armstrong(Nick Armstrong)-111:
@willievz(willievz)-117: Well said guys! Of course Rassie will defend this – cos he stands to profit from it.
I totally agree that this is a waste and further over-extends our players.
If there is no loyalty (eg country, province etc) then there is no emotional attachment or desire to watch the games.
This is a bad idea – there is nothing wrong with rugby – this was easily the best year of SuperRugby (maybe not if youre a Kiwi) but the games and scores were great.
24 Jun 2010, 13:09 pm
1. You won’t ever get a straight answer out of Rassie.
2. If I were WP I’d be questioning his loyalties and seeking compensation.
3. I see Smit and co are in, no surprise there, he’s making payday even longer. Another reason to not focus on the Sharks.
4. 7s is the short form, there is nothing wrong with the long form, it’s certainly not boring.
5. More fans will bypass this than watch it, unless someone pays for TV rights then it doesn’t matter.
6. This whole thing illustrates what is wrong with rugby : greed.
24 Jun 2010, 13:15 pm
‘All that’s wrong and boring about rugby can be solved in this format, which is why people need to give it a chance’.
So Rassie has his business hat on right now. I think it’s greedy and unneccesary.
I wonder how the ‘top players’ contracts are structured and if they are ‘allowed’ to partake in other competitions….either from a national perspective of provincial.
24 Jun 2010, 13:17 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-127: point number 6 is on the money….excuse the pun.
24 Jun 2010, 13:25 pm
think this idea is pathetic…Rassie would say its a great idea etc coz its going to fill his pockets..pathetic.
24 Jun 2010, 13:28 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-130: If they want to do something like this rather televise a couple of interprovincial warm up games (to break the Christmas rugby draught) like the ones between Sharks and Stormers at the beginning of this season. Rassie’s idea is nothing but a money making scam.
24 Jun 2010, 13:33 pm
I’ll start the facebook profile: I hate 20/20 rugby.
Join me…..
24 Jun 2010, 13:34 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-131: That is a great idea, but I’d prefer to see proper Bok trials before the test season.
24 Jun 2010, 13:44 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-132: i hate facebook just as much as i hate 20/20 rugby.
@David(David)-105:
good one buddy.
24 Jun 2010, 13:51 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-133: Ja that would also be really excellent, they must get them started again and televise it.
24 Jun 2010, 13:52 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-134: did you piss of an ex and now you’re hiding your face or do you genuinely not like facebook? i’m just asking….
anyway, back to the topic at hand.
rassie has come a long way since his Despatch days, but this is too much.
24 Jun 2010, 14:02 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-134:
rangerman… well I never!
At last, someone of true class that detests that godforsaken Facebook as I do.
I dont know which I hate most… Facebook or Twitter
24 Jun 2010, 14:07 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-136: i genuinely dont enjoy getting friend requests from people i have successfully avoided for years.
my exes are sad, not angry.
24 Jun 2010, 14:13 pm
@Bod(bod)-137:
ranger is hiding from a his other wife and kids in Margate…
they are after him for kwazulunatalimony…
24 Jun 2010, 14:15 pm
@Bod(bod)-137: If you post on Twitter does that make you a “twitter”, a “Twit” or a “twat”??
Or all of the above?? (sorry Bob, I really like and admire you and all but seriously….it’s not that interresting)
24 Jun 2010, 14:15 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-138: fair enough.
@gunther(gunther)-139: hahaaa…
24 Jun 2010, 14:16 pm
@Bod(bod)-137: i have had my monthly keo rant about how twitter an egotistical wan kathon.
no wonder keo gives it such prominence.
do i really care what he thinks about when he is having a poo or cooking dinner?
no.
in fact, i dont care what anyone elses 30 word thoughts are. give me well reasoned argument or comment and i may pay attention.
twitter is the fast food of idiotic social commentary.
24 Jun 2010, 14:17 pm
@gunther(gunther)-139:
how did you hear about that?
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-140: it makes you a tunc.
24 Jun 2010, 14:17 pm
@gunther(gunther)-139:
ol ranger rates himself a bit…
First he reckons his wife looks hot in a bikini and now he reckons his ex’s are sad, not angry.
I dunno…
24 Jun 2010, 14:19 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-134:
Thought you’d enjoy it.
24 Jun 2010, 14:19 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-140:
In the case of or midget host’s tweets that we are now subject to… I would go for all three
24 Jun 2010, 14:21 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-142:
Who am I to argue such prophesy??
I concur 400%
24 Jun 2010, 14:26 pm
@Bod(bod)-144: hehe, they are sad they ever met me.
see how easy it is to put words in someones mouth?
@Bod(bod)-147: yip yip yip.
24 Jun 2010, 14:26 pm
@Bod(bod)-144:
ranger’s exes are sad because they new him before he was famous…
@rangerman(rangerman)-143:
thangyaverymuch..
I’ll be here all week.
24 Jun 2010, 14:28 pm
And then you get the next marvel of all intellectual inventions by those wanting to be part of the in crowd.
The poll…. yes…. the poll
Do you think the Boks will win by 50… yes or no?
Who really cares and what earth shattering inpact is the “outcome’ going to make???
Strange things these polls…
24 Jun 2010, 14:30 pm
@Bod(bod)-147:
I think we should refer to Keo from now on as “TweetiePie”.
24 Jun 2010, 14:30 pm
If you use Twitter for business it actually is a great tool, depending on your profession. I find it great for mine, I learn about new media developments as they happen and can adapt.
To follow celebrities etc, well that’s all a bit sad really.
24 Jun 2010, 14:41 pm
@David(David)-151:
BWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!
TweetiePie it is!
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-152: fair enough.
24 Jun 2010, 14:41 pm
The 5 steps to being rugby cool on this site:
1 Have a facebook profile
2 Tweet and twitter your pearls of wisdom to no-one that cares
3 The Blackberry Curve is non-negotiable… nothing else matters
4 The Highlanders are the Landers, the Hurricanes are the Canes and the Crusaders are the Saders
5 Have an air-brushed characture of your face done and plaster it on your homepage
Now you are in…
24 Jun 2010, 14:44 pm
@David(David)-151: Tweetie Pie it is…….
My brother was on twitter for a while but got bored with it quite quickly…….He just followed all the FHM models anyway and once the restraining orders started arriving it stopped becoming fun for him…
24 Jun 2010, 14:45 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-152:
a great tool..
nuff said..
24 Jun 2010, 14:47 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-155:
LOFL!
24 Jun 2010, 14:49 pm
@Bod(bod)-154:
6. the rugby ball is the “pill”
7. the changeroom is the “shed”
24 Jun 2010, 14:49 pm
@David(David)-151:
I can live with that!
Just look at the 5 year old mugshot of ol Keo at the top of the page and start hurling “Tweetiepie” at it and it does become quite apt
24 Jun 2010, 14:50 pm
@David(David)-151: The thing is, keo doesn’t tweet us with respect.
Sorry, wespect.
24 Jun 2010, 14:53 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-158:
Correctomundo
But the final qualification has to be that you have never played a game of rugby in your life and your buddies call you Tweetiepie
It all starts coming together…
24 Jun 2010, 14:58 pm
@katman(katman)-160:
24 Jun 2010, 14:58 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-155:
can you get a restraining order slapped on you because of twitter?
****….
24 Jun 2010, 15:01 pm
@Bod(bod)-161: you must of course have a merry band of men who share your thoughts and of course, be able to reverse your jersey.
24 Jun 2010, 15:02 pm
@gunther(gunther)-163: You need a lawyer?
24 Jun 2010, 15:05 pm
@katman(katman)-165:
and a passport…
24 Jun 2010, 15:09 pm
@gunther(gunther)-163: Well, that and the photos and flowers and late night phone calls and hang ups……
But that’s a story for another day and another website
24 Jun 2010, 15:10 pm
@katman(katman)-160:
24 Jun 2010, 15:12 pm
@Bod(bod)-159:
That’s what I thought.
24 Jun 2010, 15:13 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-167:
Its all so easily misunderstood I know…
She broke my heart so I ripped hers out…
Jeannie D if you’re reading this honey I can explain…
24 Jun 2010, 15:20 pm
@gunther(gunther)-170: He he he I’m sure julius Malema is just misunderstood as wel…..
24 Jun 2010, 16:14 pm
Disco Rassie’s appointment as HC, and subsequently S-Pro Coach of the Stormers / WP had me thinking of Rafa Benitez (embattled, former Liverpool mentor).
At the time of his employment, Rafa had a gifted squad and set out to build quality in depth for the Merseysiders. Stevie G already part of the squad, he made notable acquisitions in Fernando Torres, Javier Mashcerano, Iaquinta, Dirk Kuyt, etc. Liverpool, playing with one of the best squads ended 7th (if I’m not mistaken) in their recent premiership campaign. The coach is now on his way out to Internazionale (Milan), and a once proud team looks like they may follow in the footsteps of the Magpies (read Newcastle) to being former glory boys of yesteryear.
To compare Liverpool’s fall from grace to that of WP rugby may be like comparing apples with pears – and it’ll probably take an extremely chilly day in hell before Schalk-the-Hulk and such is relegated from CC rugby (even S14, once the Spears stake their claim) – but you can draw comparisons between Disco Rassie and Benitez.
Enter Disco Rassie a few years earlier into the WP Rugby fold – the mercenary immediately started to recruit players like it’s going out of fashion. Take into consideration that Rassie-Tafarian never played with the (THEN) size of WPRU’s cheque-book (sadly, the FRRU don’t have a cheque book – they have to make ends meet with petty cash), the man was like a kid in a candy store. Notable success aside (w.r.t. Duane Vermuelen), he contracted an over-the-hill AJ Venter, HIS quota selection in Hilton Lobberts (Lobberts, IMO is player who deserved more opportunities at the Bulls above a then out of sorts Wannenburg, and at the Stormers – well AJ Venter), elusive pivot in command Willem De Waal (elusive, huh?… nuff said), runner in the wider channels hooker Schalk Brits, etc. We can probably name a few more – and you’d start getting the picture of Rassie-and-cuzzie’s character.
With the above said (and this notion of IPL-type T20 rugby), does Raz-and Cuz have WPRU (and SARU) best interest at heart?
Look at what Alister Coetzee achieved with largely the same squad of players… enough said.
24 Jun 2010, 16:36 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-158: 8. Understand what the words “tactical intelligence” mean.
9. Believe everything reported by an “impeccable source”.
24 Jun 2010, 20:59 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-173:
10. Refer to “open secrets.”
11. Use every cliche under the sun
12. Cut and paste like a pro.
25 Jun 2010, 04:49 am
has anyone asked the players yet?
25 Jun 2010, 05:14 am
Potblou (172) You have surely done your homework on Liverpool. Your comparison is brilliant. The 20/20 rugby scheme of Rassie and Frikkie is the next step in undermining Bulls rugby. Conspiracy theory coming to life. The Stormers have progressed from a 75-14 loss in 2005 to a near win in 2010. (Bekker, Schalkie and Jean futured in the 2005 match). Anyway, they might have pulled it off this year if Bekker didn’t incur a lower back injury in the back of an Audi with tinted windows the week before the big clash.