Brache wings it for WP

UCT centre Marcel Brache will make his provincial debut on the wing against the Griffons this Friday.

The compulsory friendly in Welkom is Western Province’s only fixture before their first Currie Cup game against the Cheetahs on 10 July. Coach Allister Coetzee has picked his strongest available side, and is unlikely to make many changes for next week’s game.

Brache comes in as a late replacement for Frikkie Welsh, who is recovering from a dislocated finger. Brache played outside centre for UCT in the Varsity Cup, but Coetzee feels he should be just as effective on the left wing.

‘I don’t want to speak too soon, but there’s something special about this boy,’ Coetzee told keo.co.za. ‘He’s a talented player and we’ve been very impressed with how he’s stood up to the contact.

‘As a university student, he hasn’t been gymming regularly, so that is something we’ll have to work on. But there have been no problems so far and I’m keen to see how he goes against the Griffons. He has a lot of fight in him, and is a versatile player that can play centre, wing or even fullback.’

The 23-year-old attended Rondebosch Boys High School and was never picked for WP’s Craven Week side. Since joining the UCT team, however, he’s made a great impact, and this Province call-up arrives on the back of his selection for the Springbok Sevens squad.

Brache will form part of back-three unit that includes Fabian Juries and Conrad Jantjes. This will be Jantjes’ first match since he broke his leg in May last year, and Coetzee is expecting the Springbok fullback to find his feet quickly.

‘Conrad has been through a number of contact sessions, and we’re now throwing him into the deep end. He must swim. He’s shown no ill-effects in training and is over the psychological thing [that's part of returning from a serious injury].

‘I would have loved to have given Conrad another game before the Currie Cup starts, but you can’t have everything.’

Paul Bosch fills the void left by Juan de Jongh at inside centre while Tim Whitehead moves back to his preferred position of No 13. With Peter Grant in Japan, Willem de Waal reclaims the flyhalf berth with WP vice-captain Dewaldt Duvenage starting at scrumhalf.

Coetzee has also moved Rynardt Elstadt to blindside flank, and there’s no place for Nick Koster in the matchday squad. It appears as if Koster will have to prove his worth in the U21 side if he’s going to push Duane Vermeulen for that No 8 shirt.

‘Rynardt can cover lock and flank, he’s very much in the Danie Rossouw mold,’ the coach said. ‘Nick is part of the bigger squad, but I want him to build himself up by playing for the U21s first. Now that he’s back in the loose trio, he needs to obtain a greater understanding of our systems.’

As reported by keo.co.za on Monday, Anton van Zyl will lead the side in the absence of several senior players on duty with the Springboks. Should WP qualify for the play-offs, they’ll welcome back these players, and Coetzee confirmed that Stormers skipper Schalk Burger will retake the WP reins in that event.

‘Worms [Van Zyl] has a good head on his shoulders and has been part of our senior group of players since last year. He understands the game well and should do a great job while Schalk is away with the Boks.’

WP -15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Fabian Juries, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Paul Bosch, 11 Marcel Brache, 10 Willem de Waal, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Rynardt Elstadt, 6 Pieter Louw, 5 Anton van Zyl (c), 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Subs: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JD Moller, 18 JC Kritzinger, 19 Martin Muller, 20 Pieter Myburgh, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Lionel Cronje.

By Jon Cardinelli

101 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.garth: Reply to this comment

Duvenage is k@k.

• 2.Gambit25: Reply to this comment

Still no Koster… Injured?

• 3.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Must say WP forwards not bad at all this year. Hope the backline will fire. Dewald can prove this season how good he realy are. Couple of names i don’t know but i hope they going to do it for us this year.

• 4.garth: Reply to this comment

Where is Koster?

• 5.Gambit25: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-1: You smell like K@k

• 6.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

De Waal? How old is this dude? Quota!

• 7.Gambit25: Reply to this comment

Will each team be allowed 8 subs in the Currie Cup?

• 8.garth: Reply to this comment

@Gambit25(Gambit25)-5: Smell. A new skill you have picked up over the net…hey.

• 9.Boer in beton: Reply to this comment

WP has a strong Currie Cup team lined up. That front row looks great. They will be hard to beat…but still “GO BULLE!

• 10.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-6: :lol:

your comments on every thread are so amusing i am surprised that you dont have a cult following yet.

• 11.Gambit25: Reply to this comment

I think this will pretty much be the Currie Cup team…

I would’ve preferred a halfback combination of Hoffmann/Cronje!

Also, expect to see Koster come in for Elstadt at 7 with Elstadt dropping to the bench to cover lock/flank

• 12.rangerman: Reply to this comment

this side will be cannon fodder for the mighty sharks.

• 13.bobbyboyshey: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-12: oooooh. i’ll take that bet! but i’d include bax, koster and cronje in the starting lineup.

• 14.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@bobbyboyshey(bobbyboyshey)-13: ok bobby me boy.

the sharks are now in the strange position of not making up 40-50% of the bok team and instead only having a few players missing for the cc.

kinda like wp since 2003.

i sense a second cc in three seasons for the sharkies.

• 15.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

jeez, WP is churning out centers like there’s no tomorrow! newman, koster, de jongh, whitehead and now this kid.

bloody hell.

maybe they should start focussing on getting some quality 10′s as well.

• 16.gunther: Reply to this comment

Mighty Gonnorhea.

• 17.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-14:

4 senior trophy’s on the bounce for the bulls?

• 18.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-16: You have it? :lol:

• 19.katman: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-12: Who in turn will be a hors-d’oeuvre for the Hungry Lions. That’s the food chain for you.

• 20.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-6:

no no no.

we all already know, that quota positions…are for non-white players.

not pensioners.
    pensioners are still selected based on merit.

• 21.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-17: haha, we shall see but i think the quality the bulls have lost will hamper them when they play the sharks.

the fs, as usual, will have the benefit of a settled side.

• 22.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

Fabian Juries must still be the doffest oke about.
    He could have played S14 all season for the Cheetahs and gotten himself into Springbok contention.

Instead he sat on the bench for the Stormers, when he did eventually get onto the bench.

• 23.katman: Reply to this comment

Why do all Province threads have the male underwear banner ad on them? Or is this just a completely freakish coincidence?

• 24.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-21:

It’s true….Bulls will be basically at vodacom cup strengh for a few games.

• 25.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

It is unfortunate that the Currie cup has become to the big unions what the Vodacom cup was always supposed to be.

• 26.wpw: Reply to this comment

I am not a huge fan of Myburgh. I think Yaya Hartzenberg is a HUGE talent and he will be a great asset to WP rugby for years to come.

Where the hell is Nick Koster??

• 27.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@katman(katman)-19: haha, i am more a pick ‘n pay guy than a checkers chappie.

(the boer war retail style)

@katman(katman)-23: :lol: i think not.

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-24: ja, it is quite weird that the better a franchise does at s14 level, the worse its core unions chances are at cc level.

shouldve seen the writing on the wall in 2008 :lol:

that said, the bulls have done well due to their immense squad and great structures.

• 28.bobbyboyshey: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-14: that’s only because the sharkies have failed to blood quality talent, with the exception of lambie, for the last 3 years. with dudes like terblanche moving from one position to another and a handful of number 10′s trying to fill the gaps. why didn’t sharks sign jean de villers? they need a 10,12,13

• 29.gunther: Reply to this comment

Katman

There is no such thing as coincidence when it comes to oonerpantie advertising.

• 30.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@bobbyboyshey(bobbyboyshey)-28: ja, your guess is as good as mine though i think the sharks have blooded a few like mvovo and vulindlu, pat cilliers and more to come this cc.

the problem is not the poor run, its how long it lasts but i guess as a wp supporter you know that already :lol:

• 31.grant10: Reply to this comment

ag bloody hell man….not Wikkelspies at 10 again!

Lionel Cronje must really have made huge kak to constantly be benched…..sorry wp…looks pretty ho hum to me.

• 32.grant10: Reply to this comment

no fetcher…..a retreaded young lock at blindside flank….a center at wing…..

a carthorse at 10.

Makes me mal.

• 33.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Glad Brache is getting an oppurtunity. He was very good in the Varsity Cup. Reminds me of JPP with ball in hand strong, balanced runner. Can take 50 m kicks too.

What is De waal still doing in this team?? Please WP sell him or release him!! He is not helping us in anyway. Cronje should start.

I think its right that Koster plays a bit of U21. Remember he only recently returned to forward play.

• 34.Willehonde: Reply to this comment

What the hell is the point of playing oupa de Waal against the Griffons???

Where is JJ Engelbrecht? I would at least have Koster on the bench.

The currie cup should be used to develop talent not be a life life for pensioners!

• 35.moedeloos: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-32: is that like playing an inside centre at 15 for the boks ;-)

• 36.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-32: I also have a problem with no fetcher….Myburgh should start with P. Louw at 7.

• 37.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-30: What I as a WP supporter know is that, I dont even consider a conversation with Natal when it comes to Currie Cup, in fact you should be having that debate with Border and Griquas, those are your close competitors in terms of winning the Currie Cup.

• 38.grant10: Reply to this comment

@moedeloos(moedeloos)-35: LOL

Jaaa boet.@iori Yagami(iori Yagami)-36: my thoughts exactly.

• 39.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-32: I’m still trying to figure out, WTF is Allister doing, why can these guys ( Coetzee and Erasmus) play a 20yr old Australian who is less talented than Lionel Cronje, why?

• 40.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

That WP tight five looks very strong, we should dominate most scrums and lineouts.

• 41.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-37: well thats sweet mate, but that doesnt mean natal wont be playing your lads.

if ancient history keeps you happy then hang onto it by all means but remember, us natal boys feel the same way about talking with stormers fans when it comes to superrugby :lol:

• 42.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-39: True guy makes no sense at all. They need to get de waal out of there.

• 43.grant10: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-39: very confusing for me as well…..

• 44.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

Good to see Martin Muller back in the fold. He looks like a great prospect. Our depth is actually quite good, we should easily make the semi’s.

• 45.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-41: last time I checked, the Sharks haven’t won any Superrugby, have I missed something…

• 46.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-39: i agree, why matt toumama was brought out is still a mystery to me?

• 47.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-45: haha, you must have missed all the semis and finals we played whilst you were washing your car and grant was gardening :lol:

• 48.Doppies_better_than_De_jongh: Reply to this comment

LOL @ washing car & gardening

• 49.iori Yagami: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-47: Are you serious about the Sharks chances for the CC?? What will be their strongest team.

• 50.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-47: :lol: :lol:

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.