Brache wings it for WP
30 Jun 2010
UCT centre Marcel Brache will make his provincial debut on the wing against the Griffons this Friday.
The compulsory friendly in Welkom is Western Province’s only fixture before their first Currie Cup game against the Cheetahs on 10 July. Coach Allister Coetzee has picked his strongest available side, and is unlikely to make many changes for next week’s game.
Brache comes in as a late replacement for Frikkie Welsh, who is recovering from a dislocated finger. Brache played outside centre for UCT in the Varsity Cup, but Coetzee feels he should be just as effective on the left wing.
‘I don’t want to speak too soon, but there’s something special about this boy,’ Coetzee told keo.co.za. ‘He’s a talented player and we’ve been very impressed with how he’s stood up to the contact.
‘As a university student, he hasn’t been gymming regularly, so that is something we’ll have to work on. But there have been no problems so far and I’m keen to see how he goes against the Griffons. He has a lot of fight in him, and is a versatile player that can play centre, wing or even fullback.’
The 23-year-old attended Rondebosch Boys High School and was never picked for WP’s Craven Week side. Since joining the UCT team, however, he’s made a great impact, and this Province call-up arrives on the back of his selection for the Springbok Sevens squad.
Brache will form part of back-three unit that includes Fabian Juries and Conrad Jantjes. This will be Jantjes’ first match since he broke his leg in May last year, and Coetzee is expecting the Springbok fullback to find his feet quickly.
‘Conrad has been through a number of contact sessions, and we’re now throwing him into the deep end. He must swim. He’s shown no ill-effects in training and is over the psychological thing [that's part of returning from a serious injury].
‘I would have loved to have given Conrad another game before the Currie Cup starts, but you can’t have everything.’
Paul Bosch fills the void left by Juan de Jongh at inside centre while Tim Whitehead moves back to his preferred position of No 13. With Peter Grant in Japan, Willem de Waal reclaims the flyhalf berth with WP vice-captain Dewaldt Duvenage starting at scrumhalf.
Coetzee has also moved Rynardt Elstadt to blindside flank, and there’s no place for Nick Koster in the matchday squad. It appears as if Koster will have to prove his worth in the U21 side if he’s going to push Duane Vermeulen for that No 8 shirt.
‘Rynardt can cover lock and flank, he’s very much in the Danie Rossouw mold,’ the coach said. ‘Nick is part of the bigger squad, but I want him to build himself up by playing for the U21s first. Now that he’s back in the loose trio, he needs to obtain a greater understanding of our systems.’
As reported by keo.co.za on Monday, Anton van Zyl will lead the side in the absence of several senior players on duty with the Springboks. Should WP qualify for the play-offs, they’ll welcome back these players, and Coetzee confirmed that Stormers skipper Schalk Burger will retake the WP reins in that event.
‘Worms [Van Zyl] has a good head on his shoulders and has been part of our senior group of players since last year. He understands the game well and should do a great job while Schalk is away with the Boks.’
WP -15 Conrad Jantjes, 14 Fabian Juries, 13 Tim Whitehead, 12 Paul Bosch, 11 Marcel Brache, 10 Willem de Waal, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Rynardt Elstadt, 6 Pieter Louw, 5 Anton van Zyl (c), 4 Adriaan Fondse, 3 Brok Harris, 2 Tiaan Liebenberg, 1 Wicus Blaauw.
Subs: 16 Deon Fourie, 17 JD Moller, 18 JC Kritzinger, 19 Martin Muller, 20 Pieter Myburgh, 21 Conrad Hoffmann, 22 Lionel Cronje.
By Jon Cardinelli

101 Comments
30 Jun 2010, 15:30 pm
@Gambit25(Gambit25)-2: It never ceases to amaze me how people comment on here without reading the article. It clearly says he is playing in the under 21′s for now.
30 Jun 2010, 15:35 pm
@bobbyboyshey(bobbyboyshey)-28: The sensible lad had no interest in playing for the sardines.
30 Jun 2010, 15:45 pm
@ARK(ARK)-51: Ja true hey! lol
30 Jun 2010, 15:51 pm
david blaine is apparently gutted.
his record of 42 days in a box doing fukall has just been broken.
by wayne rooney.
30 Jun 2010, 15:54 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-54:
30 Jun 2010, 15:56 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-54: LOL
30 Jun 2010, 16:04 pm
england has just released a flood warning as 5 million scots piss themselves laughing.
30 Jun 2010, 16:05 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-57:
keep it up bro ur on a roll
^5
30 Jun 2010, 16:10 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-57: Three hours of football and Robert Green is still England’s joint top scorer.
30 Jun 2010, 16:23 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-58:
Right, but it was also not fair on England to play in a match officiated be a Linesman and Referee who both graduated from the Stevie Wonder School for the blind and visually impaired (Uruguayan Agency).
30 Jun 2010, 16:26 pm
Rob i agree but the germans still would have won
they were top strong for england , england however are their own worst enimy , they were shocking the whole tournament
as for the officiating in the world cup it has over all be shocking to say the least
30 Jun 2010, 16:28 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-60: further more i had not really said anything against england
i just asked ranger to carry on with the good jokes
30 Jun 2010, 16:35 pm
First Englishman: “What was the final score in the match this evening?”
Second Englishman: “Nil-Nil”.
First Englishman: “What was the score at half-time?”
30 Jun 2010, 16:37 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-61:
I see Blatter has now appologised to England and to Mexico for the shocking decisions that went against them. Apparantly they are going to open up the discussion to possibly bring in goalline technology but he is adamant that they do not need any technology for offside and other offences.
Germany was probably stronger on the day, but who knows what would have happened if they allowed the goal – It could have been different as England would have played differently (and not catch up soccer).
All water under the bridge tho….
30 Jun 2010, 16:39 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-64: rob yes water under the bridge , but blatter is an idiot and is controlled with money i think
he says sorry to england and mexico??
what about all the other countries that suffered bad calls like the usa
2 goals dissalowed for offside when they were well onside
30 Jun 2010, 16:41 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-62:
Yip, sorry man, my post no 60 was supposed to be for Ranger – I watched too much football lately – eyes a bit tired.
30 Jun 2010, 16:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-66: lol its cool rob no biggie mate
30 Jun 2010, 16:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-66: i do however support germany
so i still happy in the world cup
30 Jun 2010, 16:49 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-68:
I support the Dutch now. My 3 teams were always Bafana, Netherlands and England so at least one is still around.
Never liked the Germans
30 Jun 2010, 16:51 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-69: lol i aalways loved the germans again and my wqide is of german heritage , sieg heil und sheize
30 Jun 2010, 16:51 pm
omg typos wqide = wife
30 Jun 2010, 16:52 pm
@rangerman(rangerman)-47:
Andy Goode an even bigger mystery ? There was a brainfart if I ever saw one !!
30 Jun 2010, 16:54 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-70:
I take it not much humour in the house then ?
30 Jun 2010, 16:57 pm
Where’s my boy Johan Sadie ???……..Sharks go make an offer !!!
30 Jun 2010, 16:57 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-73: afraid you guess wrong
30 Jun 2010, 17:00 pm
my team now Ghana.
But if kak goes down there i am now firmly behind the Spanish or Dutch….will be lekker to have a new team win it in Africa.
gERMANS ….NO THANKS….THAT GOALIE AN UNHOLY CHEATING SON OF A ….
30 Jun 2010, 17:01 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-75:
Lucky man
30 Jun 2010, 17:02 pm
@grant10(grant10)-76: BS grant
england lost get over it
ghana could still spring more surprises
dutch the same
most on form team prolly the argies
30 Jun 2010, 17:09 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-78: Germans cheated….klaar….goalie a bloody cheating son of a *****!
Eng had to throw men forward and got caught on the break….i hope Argies moer germans 3 zip, the goalie a cheat, klaar!.
Brazil also a threat….i enjoy the football…been to 3games so far….great stuff…but i agree …some terrible reffing calls….and at vital stages of the games too….
30 Jun 2010, 17:10 pm
and England are as pap snoek as smit at 3.
30 Jun 2010, 17:11 pm
@grant10(grant10)-79: how did the germans cheat????????????????????
the refs were useless and are to blame for the BS grant getting caught on the break is part of the game grant , and like the 3rd for the germans it looked like the englisshman was looking for parking as the german ran past the english defender
30 Jun 2010, 17:13 pm
@grant10(grant10)-80: but smit still 1 million times stronger then wussie watson
30 Jun 2010, 17:23 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-81: LOL
Ja….Germans were too strong, fast and young ! Better team won on the day, but that goalie should have indicated to ref it was a goal…fark me it was miles behind the line !
Anyway….except for some poor calls i have loved the WC….but hell i am moeg! All 3 games i been to in CT it has been either stormy or freezing! Hoping for a miracle ticket for sat for the germany…argie game….but okes bloody greedy, R2000.00 for a ticket a bit rough!
30 Jun 2010, 17:31 pm
@grant10(grant10)-83: lol grant true and yes it was a good goal , poor officiating
my restaurant has been pact most day with the foolsball
30 Jun 2010, 17:32 pm
@grant10(grant10)-83: another thing grant , with the way they all dive in football they all cheat in one form or another
30 Jun 2010, 17:37 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-85: glad the business benefitting …Cape Town has been absolutely fantastic….today i almost got taken out by a crowd of pissed Spanish on mountain bikes on my walk route!
This weekend will be insane again….lots of Germans here as well…
Its fantastic times….i am out there enjoying it as much as i can.
Ja, all the prima donna divers….last nite ronaldo done himself no favours, even my blonde called him a bit of a girl!!
30 Jun 2010, 17:42 pm
@grant10(grant10)-86: lol great stuff
yeah ranaldo to me is a little prima donna that spoils the game
he was not even in last nights game
30 Jun 2010, 17:51 pm
The Sharks CC side will give this Weepee side such a snotklap. Come to think of it, the Sharks S14 side gave the Weepee copycat S14 side such a snotklap too…
30 Jun 2010, 17:55 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-88:
30 Jun 2010, 17:56 pm
i see a lot sh.t talking towards blatter, what did the irb do about the forward pass that led to france’s try against new zealand? Was it referred to the tmo? Did wayne barnes lose his job?
It is sport, it is not perfect. If you want a game with reviews for everything go watch cricket or american football where the game take 4 hours to finish
30 Jun 2010, 18:14 pm
@grant10(grant10)-80: come on grant, what did you expect the german goalie to do? Pronounce to the rest of the world that the ball has crossed the line?
30 Jun 2010, 18:23 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-90: Blatter and his organisation stand to profit handsomely at the expense of SA…. He has rather outdated views on the use of technology…
30 Jun 2010, 18:35 pm
A forward pass or an offside is one thing but a try or whether a football has crossed the goalline is something else. At least rugby has got it right there with the TMO’s and there is no reason why football cannot do the same. Blatter has agreed to look at goalline technology again after this latest incident.
The German goallie is a cheat because he clearly saw the ball crossing the line and then went on acting as if it did not. That is cheating whichever way you look at it.
30 Jun 2010, 18:38 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-92: fyi the whole technology issue was put to a vote in march this year, the english FA & scottish voted for it but ireland & northern ireland voted against it. So even the big wigs in the uk don’t agree with each other. Ffs the irb wanted a £80 million pound upfront for the right to host the RWC. Australia even bowed out of the running saying they don’t have that kind of money to throw around.
30 Jun 2010, 18:42 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-93: this issue has been rehashed so many times, like i said, different FAs vote differently. Even Uefa’s Michel Platini hasn’t implemented it in the champions league. Only this year they tried 2 extra referees behind the goals in the Uefa Cup (europa cup)
30 Jun 2010, 18:52 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-94: So cricket and tennis can afford this technology but poofball can’t – reminds me of a “simulation” dive type of an excuse…
30 Jun 2010, 23:02 pm
they should wait a bit – one of the other provinces are shure to pick him up – or the overseas teams!? He’s to old for the ‘saders development squad – they want school kids.
1 Jul 2010, 08:46 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-95:
EP side to play Blue Bulls on Saturday, nice to Mxoli at 2 coz that’s where his future is at the top level… now if only they can get Buhle Mxunyelwa from WP, we could have a black front row to rival anyone in the CC premier division.
Coach Alan Solomans
15 Tiger Mangweni
14 Norman Nelson
13 Wayne Stevens
12 De Wet Barry (Cpt)
11 Milo Nqoro
10 Matthew Taylor-Smith
9 Donald Stevens
8 Daron Nel
7 Zolani Mofu
6 Jacques Potgieter
5 Lungelo Payi
4 Rory Duncan (Vice Capt)
3 Riaan Vermeulen
2 Sangoni Mxoli
1 Pumlani Nodikida
Reserves
16 Robert Dyer
17 Raoul Larson
18 Sphephelo Mayaba
19 Brendon Snyman
20 Jonathan Gagiano
21 Morne Hanekom
22 Marlon Lewis
23 Jaco van Schalkwyk
24 Mzwandile Stick
25 Paul Perez
1 Jul 2010, 08:56 am
“we could have a black front row to rival anyone in the CC…” – why do you want a “black” front row…?
1 Jul 2010, 08:59 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-99: Not enfranchised enough…