Sharks sign Potgieter

Bulls flyhalf Jacques-Louis Potgieter will play for the Sharks in the 2011 Super 14.

Having spearheaded the Cheetahs’ 2009 Currie Cup campaign, Potgieter moved back to the Bulls in 2010 and was part of the team that won the Super 14. But given that Morne Steyn holds a monopoly on the No 10 jersey at the Bulls and the Sharks are short in this position, Potgieter has decided to make the move to Durban.

The Sharks are currently using Steve Meyer at pivot, and while they are losing the versatile Ruan Pienaar to Irish club Ulster at the end of the year, former Springbok Andre Pretorius has also been linked to the KwaZulu-Natal union.

The Sharks play the Bulls this Saturday, with Potgieter starting for the men in blue.

176 Comments

• 1.robdylan: Reply to this comment

Pretorius has been more than “linked to the union”… he’s in Durban and has been named in the Currie Cup squad. Now if he could just get fit… :)

• 2.Sucaballuc: Reply to this comment

Who is the crackhead who recruits for the Sharks? Awful.

• 3.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

B*stards. All parties involved in this treachery.

Negotiating with a player while under contract. That’s supposed to be a contravention of some kind of rule, as far as I recall.

• 4.RedLion is born again: Reply to this comment

poor JLP I feel sorry for him joining those baaastard Sharks.

• 5.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Sharks renegade mercenary men! goyougoodthingmercenarySharks and take the trophy.

Viva pillaging!
    Viva big check books!
    Viva professional sport!
    Viva Greys Sharks Academy!

• 6.Karma-zaf: Reply to this comment

Great signing for the Sharks…..Flyhalf problem solved :D

• 7.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Guess the eberhsons are staying in Free state. Going nowhere boys.

• 8.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

Good signing all round. He was never going to start for the Bulls and was being wasted on the bench. I have the feeling he might be the second best flyhalf in South Africa and we might get to see this next season.

There is plenty of young talent also coming through at the Bulls and they now get the chance to perform at Super 15 level.

• 9.HongKongSlong: Reply to this comment

Good for SA rugby. This guy is a talent that is being wasted on the bench at the Bulls. The Boks need all their talented fly halves playing as much competitive rugby as possible, should the injury strike. Only Chilli gets to play without playing, no more!

• 10.Sonito: Reply to this comment

Have the Sharks signed any exciting centers yet? Meyer Bosman does not count. In desperate need of a 13!!!!

• 11.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@robdylan(robdylan)-1: Which might only be in 2012 :)

• 12.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-3: Did the Bulls not target Mapoe the same way ? Besides Jacques-Louis Potgieter played for teh Bulls , Cheetahs , Bulls and now Sharks in 3 years more or less , does not sound like he is very loyal so he might come back again.

• 13.Boks should grow moustaches for RWC: Reply to this comment

Seems like JLP is the new Lance Sherrel? How about a stint at the Lions next… followed by a season at Griquas? Then he could be pulled out of retirement in 2017 to join a strugggling Province side?

• 14.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-12: The Bulls never targeted Mapoe. There were press rumours that he was going to move to the Bulls, with the Bulls working quickly to quash the rumours and promising the Cheetahs that they won’t approach any-one on contract.

• 15.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-14: clearly rudolf straeuli doesn’t give two sh.ts about these irb regulations, he’s just been going around pillaging willy nilly!

• 16.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-15: it was funny to hear him bring up the IRB regulations in reference to Ulster and Ruan Pienaar.

Pot, Kettle, D!ckhead.

• 17.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Ag shame….are the Sharks being ugly to you lot ? Go cry by your mommies.

Tell me – if any of you hypocrits moved jobs – did you wait until you were no longer employed by your current company before you went for your interview at your next ?

Please – grab yourselves a cup of warm milk, and a blankie and go have a little cry and a lie down.

GO SHARKS !

• 18.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-14: What utter kak. Didn’t the Bulls approach the very same Jacque Louis-Potgieter during a Currie Cup season with the Cheetahs ?

Bulls have just gotten back exactly what they did to the Cheetahs with Potgieter.

But then the Bulls are experts at telling everyone what huge christians they are, but they can headbutt, shoulder charge and generally act like a bunch of savages on the field.

Hypocrits.

• 19.robdylan: Reply to this comment

you’re allowed to negotiate with a player within the last 3 months of his contract, and Potgieter’s Bulls deal is up in October.

• 20.grant10: Reply to this comment

Probably best for SA rugby and JLP…..with MS signing a long term contract JLP would not have got much super 15 rugby, so one can hardly blame him.

Definitley a blow to Bulls quality depth, so i can understand there fans frustration, but the bottom line is JLP had a choice, and only a 1 year contract, so he was entitled to make the call without his character being questioned….imo.

• 21.Falken: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-18: You obviously dont know anything about contract negotiations?

• 22.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@robdylan(robdylan)-19: Rob – did we hear a big hoo haa when Waylon Murray went to the Lions ? Did any of us even know that Henno Mentz went to the Lions before we saw him playing in a Lions jersey ?

Did we hear a bunch of little girls wailing when Skipper Badenhorst signed with the Cheetahs ?

Have we heard a bunch of snivelling about Ruan Pienaar joining Ulster ?

Or when Johan Muller left ?

• 23.mainland: Reply to this comment

good- what was he thinking going to the bulls to play 2nd fiddle for.

• 24.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Falken(Falken)-21: I asked you – if you have ever moved employers – did you resign first before going for an interview ?

If not – WHY NOT ? You dishonorable person !

Grow some balls. I might not know anything about contract negotiation, but nobody knows the terms of the Sharks negotiations with Potgieter. Its all a bunch of speculation.

• 25.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-18: What a strange post.

I was not complaining about Potgieter going to the Sharks, I am quite happy that he is leaving. And the remark about Christianity is irrelevant and makes you sound like a bigot.

I was directly answering a question about Mapoe and have no idea about how Potgieter ended up at the Bulls and if the IRB regulations were ignored or not. When he went to the Bulls, there was no furore about it, sand his contract was up at the Cheetahs when he signed for the Bulls. I can’t see what is wrong with that. He didn’t break contract when signing for the Bulls, unlike Mapoe.

I hope you enjoy your bought team because buying players has brought so much success to the Sharks. 1 Currie cup in 14 years? Well done. By the way, how do you recork a champagne bottle?

• 26.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-22: We did hear snivelling about Ruan leaving. Kaptein Staaldraad was moaning something about IRB regulations when Ulster announced Pienaar was heading their way.

• 27.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mainland(mainland)-23: Brilliant signing for the Sharks. Potgieter was arguably the 2nd best flyhalf playing rugby in South Africa – between him and Peter Grant.

And Morne Steyn will take a big package deal to play overseas sooner or later. I mean, can you imagine what he would be offered ?

I just hope Potgieter can settle down at the Sharks.

• 28.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-27: Morne signed until 2013.

• 29.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-25: Get over it.

• 30.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-26: ‘Moaning something’…really ? I didnt see it covered on every single rugby website ?

Can you find the article ?

Try typing in ‘Lionel Mapoe Sharks’ and see how many articles you get about the poor little injured Lions.

And by the way, Mapoe could not have been under a valid contract – because this issue was considered at a hearing, and Mapoe’s negotiations with the Sharks were determined to be legal.

As were Willem Alberts and Louis Ludick.

Dont blame the Sharks if other unions are too doff to draw up a contract.

And I am a Christian myself, but I flinch at the idea that the ‘hand of God’ looks after a bunch of thugs.

• 31.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

Anyway, the Bulls have loads of youngsters in the pipeline. But this might weaken us in the short term – if Steyn or Olivier get injured during next year’s S15.

But by 2012 we should have adequate backup depth in all positions again.

• 32.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-28: Better hold onto him, or the horrible Sharks might come snatch him away….then you all can have another crying session.

• 33.mainland: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-27: yeah- great for’em. desperately need an attacker in there now.

• 34.Falken: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-24: Exactly you know nothing so dont judge any union! You cant even defend your Guppies because you know nothing.

• 35.UnbeataBULL: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-17: Mature post there!

I am all for JLP moving to the struggling Sharks. For once – in three years, the Sharks will have a decent Flyhalf, with the ability to change the game with one moment of brilliance.

Good buy guppies! Now to fill the other 14 vacant positions….

• 36.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-24: Thats a strange analogy. Should there be any prohibiting in my specific field of employment, eg: A non-competition clause in my existing employment contract with company X, prohibiting me from being employed by Companies Y and Z it would be dishonorable of to to go for an interview with Companies Y or Z. If not, its a free market.
    As a Bulls supporter Im honestly bot losing any sleep over JLP’s departure as MS has resigned untill well after 2011. Couple that with the likes of young Brummer waiting in line I wish JLP the best. Sad that he has resigned himself to not lifting the Super Rugby trophy in 2011 though.

• 37.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-32: You are a strange man. I haven’t once complained about Potgieter going to the Sharks, but I haven commented on the dodgy dealings regarding Mapoe.

I hope Potgieter brings your team unheard of success – maybe your team will be able to make the semi-finals next year?

• 38.ShaunMichaels: Reply to this comment

Sharks Super 15:

15: Pat Lambie
    14: JP Pietersen
    13: Adi Jacobs
    12: Meyer Bosman
    11: Lionel Mapoe
    10: Jaque Louis Potgeiter
    9: Rory Kockhead
    8: Ryan Kankouski
    7: Willem Alberts
    6: Jean Deysel
    5: Alistair Hargreaves
    4: Steven Sykes
    3: Jannie 2 + 3
    2: Bissie 2 + 3
    1: John Smit

16: Craig Burden
    17: Beast
    18: Gerhard Moster/Ross Skeate
    19: Jaque Botes
    20: Charl McCloed
    21: Steve Meyer
    22: Stephan Terblanche

• 39.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-37: Well, you can maar stop commenting on the dodgey dealings regarding Mapoe. An appropriate panel was put together to assess the situation and it was decided Mapoe’s negotiations with the Sharks were legal.

Please note that despite all the Bulls fans crying foul, the Bulls have not chosen (not yet at least) to seek legal representation in this matter.

• 40.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-36: Not, it would not be dishonorable, it would be illegal.

In that case, please seek legal respresentation and take the matter further.

So far, the Sharks have not lost any of their cases.

• 41.UnbeataBULL: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-39: You’ve got one Bulls player. Now you just need 14 more quality players to win the Currie Cup…. Good luck!

• 42.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-39: Once again, one Bulls fan has cried foul – Tacticus – and the rest of said, oh, how interesting.

I have not seen that the Mapoe saga has been brought to an end – as far as I know where he is playing this year is still up in the air. If you have proof from an article, pass it may way.

You over react – very defensive of the Sharkies. If only your players were as passionate about the Sharkies as he are – then you might actually win something.

What did happen to that golden generation of yours?

• 43.UnbeataBULL: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-40: True….but they haven’t won any trophies either…. :-)

• 44.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-40: No. Illegal is something that is sanctioned by criminal law. It would be a breach of contract. Dishonoring the contract. Dishonorable thus.

• 45.Dusky: Reply to this comment

If you breach contract, you have broken the law. Try it….and see how quickly you end up in court.@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-42: Our Golden generation went to the same place the Bulls uber kak generation of the 90′s went to. But, the wheel will turn again.

Victor, Du Preez, Bakkies….cant carry on playing forever.

• 46.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-45: Yeah, you have bought a good number of players for the future. I wonder if they will win a trophy before they too become disillusioned and head off overseas.

• 47.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-44: Ahhhh…only infringements specified in criminal law are illegal….

Geez – you are much cleverer than me….thanks for that piece of information.

• 48.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-45:

Look, you’ve won all the contractual disputes. Well done.

But whether these dodgy aquisitions assist in your team spirit and cohesion on the field – well – I think your trophy cabinet is proof enough of the error of your ways.

Especially when you compare it to that of the Bulls, who follow the exact opposite approach to Strauli. Heyneke even commented on his frustration that other unions don’t follow the same ethical approach to contracting that the Bulls do.

I believe that was a thinly veiled reference to the Sharks.

• 49.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

I just knew when I read this headline that the posts would be full of Blue Bulls indignation and Sharks bashing. The fact is, it’s job and like any other, people will move. the fact that the Blue Bulls have supposedly got some sort of internal code that they live by is credit to them, but it does not discredit anyone else. This isn’t slavery, it’s capitalism and the business of sport. Nobody has embraced that ethos better than the Bulls.

JLP is a great talent, and I’ve written many times on this site that he may be the 2nd best no 10 in this country, however due to lack of proper game time it is too hard to say for sure, but that it would be best of SA rugby and his own career if he moved elsewhere (I even mentioned the Sharks as the best possible candidate).

This has now happened and he now has the opportunity to prove himself. Good luck JLP. The sharks are shaping up to be a real force again, after a couple of bad years.

The irony in this is that if you take this year into account, and allow for one or two positional improvements, the Sharks would have been in the top 6 teams, making 3 SA sides in the top 6, but under the new rules of course only 2 would go through…

Well done to the Aussies for pulling that fast one….

• 50.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-46: I wonder…who can tell…?

Who would have said that after the Bulls were such an embarrassment to SA rugby in the 90s that they would develop the best South African Super rugby team ever ?

The Mapoe incident is resolved. I quite frankly dont have the time to search for an article for your educational purposes, but it was resolved. I advise you to look it up before you continue with your unsubstantiated whining.

• 51.capebull: Reply to this comment

Firstly , I think JLP needs to play he is to good for the bench.
    Secondly , I find vit interesting that the Sharks have been involved with a lot of ligal matters the last two years , Alberts, Ludick , Mapoe the list is endles.

Ruan , Muller , Steyn all leaving ( not a sinking ship)

Interesting that the form of the Sharks team has taken a slump the last two years.

I wonder why ?

• 52.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-50: I have looked it up and as far as I can see it is not yet resolved.

• 53.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-50:

Anyone with basic rugby knowledge would have said that, seeing as the Bulls had been the best SA rugby team since 1938.

• 54.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-47: I could go into a tirade bout the difference between contractual and criminal law but I sense it would serve no purpose. Hope you have a good day.

• 55.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

So, how is this wonderful Sharks acadamy doing lately?

• 56.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-48: Ag, ou Heynekie can maar make a thickly unveiled comment if he likes – I doubt the Sharks will care.

Ask Bakkies to pray for the Sharks sins please – but please not to headbutt anyone in church.

• 57.ShaunMichaels: Reply to this comment

You bigots keep going on about the academy. do you even realise how much money that academy makes for the union??

• 58.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

I’m starting to think Skopskiet has a point about this whole karma thing.

Sharks purchase Hernandez: He gets a season ending injury.
    Sharks purchase Andy Goode: He is no Goode.
    Sharks purchase Meyer: He “permanently retires from rugby” – temporarily.
    Sharks purchase Mapoe: He is injured.
    Sharks purchase Ludik: He gets a season ending injury against the British Lions.
    Sharks purchase Alberts: He has been injured more than he has played recently.

Sharks purchase Jacques Louis Potgieter – ?

Will he become a B*dhist monk and retreat to a monastary in the mountains of Tibet for the duration of his contract?

• 59.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-56:

Good luck with your mix and match team next year.

Meanwhile the Bulls have already got the following players younger than 25 waiting in the wings:

Gerhard vd Heever
    Stephan Dippenaar
    Stefan Watermeyer
    Francois Brummer
    Francois Hougaard
    Gerrit Jan van Velze
    Dewald Potgieter
    Deon Stegman
    Flip vd Merwe
    Juandre Kruger
    Wilhelm Steenkamp (It was a pleasure lending him to you guys for the S14. Anything to help out friends in need).
    Fudge Mabeta
    Werner Kruger
    Chilliboy
    Bandise Maku
    Dean Greyling

Ok, there’s a whole lot more, but that’s already more than 15 players, so I’ll leave it there for now.

Good luck buying a team for the future. We already have one.

• 60.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-58: And, I am sure we will be punished by the guy Pierre Spies points to all the time. Although, I think we received all our punishment in the 2007 Super 14 final. :-)

• 61.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-60:

Nah, seems to me your punishment continued in 2009 and 2010. And it seems unlikely to end in 2011.

• 62.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-59: Werent these the same boys that got their backsides plumbed for them in the early part of last years Currie Cup and had to be saved by the returning Springboks ?

Sharks have got just as many youngsters. We just dont have as much chaff….chaff includes Watermeyer, Dippenaar, Brummer, Mabeta, Chilli….I dont know if you think those names strike fear…ummm….but they dont….(just for your info)

• 63.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@robdylan(robdylan)-19: well, the Ebersohn boys are on record saying Dolf approached them before the 3 months period with contracts that he demanded they sign :roll:

and when was Lionel Mapoe signed, was it 3 months before his contract expired?

Bloody pillagers!

• 64.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-61: Perhaps you are right. I mean to end top of the Currie Cup log and then lose to the Cheetahs…that had to have been the Bulls prayers answered. Bakkies must have really headbutted someone really hard for the Lord.

2010 – we havent received our full punishment yet, but if its anything like last year, at least we can make sure the Bulls win the Currie Cup this year again without inflicting defeat on the Sharks – just like last year.

• 65.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-62:

Riiight.

I can see how you have a youngster better than Brummer waiting in the wings at flyhalf. That’s why you had to buy Meyer, Hernandez, Potgieter, Goode and had to embarrass yourselves with Monty Dumond, right?.

Looks like you’re in for a long season next year.

You guys have Pat Lambie. That’s it.

• 66.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-24: calm the f.ck down, you’re acting like a spoilt brat…there are no over-arching rules in my field of work that guide contract negotiations, if i have secured a job elsewhere i need to tender a month’s notice to my current employer and then leave after that but sport contracts are not the same as regular employment contracts!

Get over yourself, it’s a fact rudolf straeuli cried foul when
    ulster spoke to ruan before the stipulated time so for him to be going around approaching other contracted players is hypocritical! What part of that don’t you get?

• 67.capebull: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-60: Do you understand the term circular reasoning ?

Fact is there’s something wrong at Sharkies, to ignore that shows a lack of understanding.

To think that you can buy sucsess is a very short term view. The Sharks and Lions tried it before and its not sustainable.

• 68.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-65: What you mean ‘we only have Pat Lambie’ ?

Is that the belief that makes you sleep better at night ?

Sharks have lots of youngsters boet – you’re kidding yourself – but if it makes your poo a bit more solid to live with that belief, then so be it.

Please Brummer is useless. I will admit there are useless players at the Sharks, but then please be realistic from your side as well. Assebliefie…

• 69.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-59: Well it seems you are fine then. You better look after those guys, having too much emerging talent often brings it’s own set of problems, look at province at the moment, with the centres that are coming through. Bosch, Whitehead, De Jong,Newman. All good players but effectivekly competing for 1 super 14 place and at best 2 CC places. Great to have the depth, but there’s a real risk of losing one or 2 to another team.

But it’s a free world, so I can complain about it, but I can’t do much more than that.

I’m sure that’s not the last Blue Bulls player of high standard you will lose, it’s in a way a compliment to your structures and depth. However inconvnient.

• 70.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-53:

Tac, why go on so?

a) There is nothing wrong with the signing. JLPs S14 contract is over and he is entitled to look for his next years contract. No doubt the Bulls offered him one and the Sharks can give him a starting position.

b) You are quite correct that the Sharks are in a bad space right now. We will come out.
    Remember the state of the Bulls less than 10 years ago. They couldn’t beat a carpet and look at them now.

c) The Academy is fine. Not doing quite as well as the Bulls Academy but fine.

d) The Bulls also make signings. I notice you don’t ask any questions there

e) After all the JLP hype I hope you guys remain ‘objective’ when he plays for the Sharks this year

• 71.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Biscuit(Biscuit)-70:

He will only play for the Sharks next year. But if I had any say in it, that would be the first game he plays again between now and then.

• 72.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-68: Tacitus is to a balanced view as Bakkies is to self restraint. But he’s never pretented to be anything other than a One eyed Blue Bulls supporter who couldn’t care about any other province. He wouldn’t be able to name you more than 5 sharks players outside of the starting 15 on any given day, because he’s simply not interrested. He comes from the view of “My team has won the last few super 14 rugby titles so anything I say about them is correct and anything you say about them is wrong”.

Once you accept that viewpoint, his posts are easier to understand.

• 73.David: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-53:
    Other than that small blip when WP won 5 CCs in a row?

• 74.capebull: Reply to this comment

Just read on sky24, Bulls signed Lambie till 2015

• 75.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-72:

When the Bulls won 1 S14 title it was 100% more than any other SA team has achieved.

When they won a second S14, it put them in a different league to other SA teams.

When they won their THIRD S14, they established a dynasty that I predict no other SA team will be able to match in the next 30 years.

Once any other SA team has won even ONE Super 15 title, then they can start thinking about being in the same league as the Bulls.

Until then, there really is nothing to talk about.

• 76.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-61: Boet – to be honest, I am just giving you a bit of grief.

The Bulls management has been exemplary over the past few years, and one can see it in the successes they have achieved.

They definitely represent a model for others to strive toward – and it will probably take a while and a few management changes if the Sharks are ever to reach the Bulls level of success. I am sure your team will continue to march on.

I definitely respect them, and actually the Bulls are my second favourite team. I was wearing BLUE for the Super 14 final this year.

Ek gee jou maar net bietjie gas. :-)

• 77.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-73: Yeah, and the other 10 trophies they also won during that time. Or the 17 trophies the WP won before then (when the Blue Bulls fell under Transvaal, which sould have given them a stronger team, but for some reason didn’t).

• 78.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-73:

….in the amateur era.
    …with home town refs.
    ..and didn’t have to tour australasia for 5 weeks.
    .not quite the same
    hell, that was so long ago I wasn’t even watching rugby yet.

• 79.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-72: Not defending Tacitus (he doesnt need it) but have you read all of Dusky’s comments? The childish retorts? The name-calling and low grade sarcasm when confronted with facts? You should not have bothered.

• 80.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-74: Thats ok, because Francois Steyn is coming back to the Sharks.

• 81.David: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-75:

“Until then, there really is nothing to talk about.”

So why do you continue to bring it up then? :lol:

• 82.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-71: tacci and here i thought you had a brain , your a one eyed idiot

infact the bulls management unlike you have a great relationship with the sharks management , prolly more so then any other union

JLP is and was negtotiated with according to the laws of thwe game

but because you have not the brain capacity to understand how it works , you rant and rave on here like a 2 year old?????

you teams players also come from all over the country and are not all real pretoria boys as you lay claim to

now get ur little mind out of 1930 and move on

you never used to cry like this when ur union stole the players for free in the old days via military etc??

infact we atleast pay for those we take

• 83.mozez22: Reply to this comment

I don’t see what the issue is with buying players. It’s a professional era, part and parcel of the game. Get used to it. Not every union can produce youngsters like the Bulls can, so what do you do? I’m happy the Sharks aren’t sitting there with their hands up their arses.

And this contract BS… Are you supposed to wait for every single player you would like to purchase to run out of contract? That could be a long wait. If you can negotiate compensation, then swell. If not, find somebody else.

• 84.Brigadier Van Zyl: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-77:

theoretically….the cheetahs combined with the lions should give us a pretty decent super 15 franchise?

wait, didn’t we try that already?

Face it….pound for pound, the Bulls have just produced more since 1938. Fck, the bulls have won more trophies in the past 18 months than Province have in…..?? 20 years? or more?

• 85.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-78: home town refs??
    you gotta love that remark when the balls had one or 3 of the most one eyed refs in this country
    like tappe henning

• 86.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-76: look who is crying over Irb rules while approaching the Ebersohns outside of the same window period!!!!!!

Sharks refute Pienaar move

Rudolf Straeuli denies that Ruan Pienaar has signed a two-year deal with Ulster and says the Irish club are breaching IRB regulations.

Pienaar’s move to Northern Ireland has been speculated about since before the start of the Super 14, but the Sharks say Ulster have no right to speak to him yet as his contract only expires at the end of this year. Reports on the weekend also stated that Pienaar’s relationship with Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has soured, and De Villiers said that Pienaar is likely to leave at the end of the year.

Although the Sharks acknowledged the move is on the cards, commercial manager Straeuli said it wasn’t confirmed.

‘Basically, they’re announcing something they can’t announce,’ Straeuli told keo.co.za.

Ulster have stated that the deal is already done and that they’re in talks with the Sharks regarding Pienaar’s release date.

‘We’re in no negotiations with them,’ said Straeuli. ‘We have a right to match their offer and we won’t release him, we’re fighting for him.

‘According to IRB regulations they are speaking to a player outside of the window period in terms of when his contract ends.’

Johann Muller’s departure to Ulster was confirmed in February, and since then the club’s operations director David Humphreys has been trying to entice Pienaar to join Muller and BJ Botha in Belfast. Humphreys came to Durban at the start of the year, where he also reportedly spoke to Pienaar.

‘We were well aware of Johann’s situation the whole time. But with Ruan, they aren’t consulting with the right parties,’ said Straeuli.

Pienaar also has a Bok contract until the end of this year, but according to weekend reports coach De Villiers seems resigned to the fact Pienaar will leave. De Villiers has repeatedly stated his preference for selecting locally-based players, and if Pienaar were to head north under a year before the World Cup, his chances would be severely jeopardised.

Straeuli wouldn’t confirm or deny whether Pienaar was looking to leave and said the Sharks would arrange a meeting with him on his return from Bok duty.

Meanwhile, as the Irish media and Ulster have been stating for over a month, they consider Pienaar’s arrival a formality.

‘Bringing Ruan to Ulster is a massive statement of our ambition to be competing with the top teams in the Magners League and European Cup,’ said Humphreys.

‘He is one of the most naturally gifted players in world rugby and having had huge experience at international level with the Springboks, we believe Ruan will help Ulster achieve success over the next couple of seasons.’

Pienaar will feature at flyhalf in the Test against Wales in Cardiff on 5 June, while the Bok squad for internationals against France and Italy will be announced the next day.

By Grant Ball

This entry was posted on Friday, May 28th, 2010

• 87.mozez22: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-74: Can you link to that story?

• 88.mozez22: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-84: Don’t start with the WeePee lot, they’re on another level…

• 89.capebull: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-77: No one can be stronger if part of Lions
    @Dusky(Dusky)-80: You wish, I think lose Staulli and your coach.
    Dare I say it , Smit to

• 90.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

you gotta love bulls supporters, idiots will never change from being idiots BWAAAAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

they lose a player fairly and start snivelling like 2 year olds

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-84:

noone denied that the bulls are great and have been brilliant

but as soon as someone proves a point where their team was great you guys try playground whim boohooo tactics as why ur better

david never said the bulls havent been good or great , just reminded you of an era where the province was great and THEY WERE

whether you have the kahooners to admit it or not

• 91.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-85: Check this out. How many matches have the Sharks won where Jaco Peyper was the referee ?

He is following strongly in Tappet’s shoes.

During the time the Sharks were enjoying more than an 80% win rate, they won something like 1 out of every 10 matches where Tappe was the ref. Seems a little strange doesnt it ?

• 92.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tacitus(Tacitus)-75: When the Crusaders (or Blues) had their great run of Super Rugby victories, did it make the rest of the NZ players or franchises irrelevant? Players like Kronfeld, Lomu, Cullen, Umaga, Randall, (and the list is long) all were outstanding players from other teams for the All Blacks and NZ was undoubtedly the no 1 team in the world at the time. Granted they had a solid core of Crusaders (and Blues players before them) that made up the team, as we do now with Bulls. But never did more than 50% of the team come from one provincial set-up, and the National squad was all the better for it. As it is now. If the All blacks had chosen 15 Crusaders or Blues players to represent the All Blacks they would have fallen badly short. As would we if we were to pick 15 Blue Bulls players.

So no, your team’s run of 3 victories is not all it’s about. It’s about much much more than that. Once you actually get this, I’m sure your rugby enjoyment level will increase immensely.

But I doubt you will.

• 93.capebull: Reply to this comment

The standard of rugga in europe clubs is very low. Juandre Kruger was a star , to me it seems he was batling in cc

• 94.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-86: transie and non of that was in all the countries papers

you really think we give a rats *** about the journo’s in here??
    hell dingbat even you cry about them and their **** reporting on a daily basis

or do you only cry selectively??? :d:

• 95.David: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-90:
    Thanks. I’ve never been one for getting involved in a “mines bigger than yours” competition. To listen to some of these guys, you’d swear they’d actually played a part in winning those trophies. :lol:

• 96.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mozez22(mozez22)-87: Its complete nonsense – Pat Lambie’s dad played for Natal, and the family history goes way back.

There is more chance of falling pregnant to a pineapple than Lambie ever going to the Bulls.

• 97.capebull: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-90: It seems when a argument is to good to follow , best answer is , to make personal attacks, mooi man.

• 98.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-91: agreed dusky

i had a word slinging match with pyper in witbank last year when the sharks had a friendly there against the pumas

and remeber how he mumbled like a little girl when i told him he is not good enough to referee school rugby

• 99.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-82: @Dusky(Dusky)-80: talk about trying to strong arm and poach kids! Rudolf is a hypocrite

Force target Saffas

The Force want to sign junior South African flyhalves Sias Ebersohn or Elton Jantjies while they are also looking for a hooker.

Sias has been frustrated at the Cheetahs because of the lack of game time, while brother Robert has had more senior opportunities at centre. The former Baby Boks flyhalf did not feature in the Super 14 while he was second-choice in the Vodacom Cup team behind Louis Strydom.

Sias confirmed that he has been offered a deal by the Force but admits it will be ‘Plan C’.

‘The Cheetahs are my first choice and it will depend on the offer they give me whether I will stay or not,’ Sias told keo.co.za. ‘I want to extend my contract but it will be stupid for me to stay if I don’t get opportunities. I want to play in the Currie Cup and Super 15.

‘The Sharks have also made a deal for me and I will sign for them if I’m not happy with the Cheetahs’ offer. If both deals go sour, then I will consider going to the Force. I want to play Super Rugby and if that’s my only opportunity, then I will take it.’

Sias added that he’s not the only one being targeted by the Force.

‘The Force came out to watch me play six weeks ago and they made me the offer. They are also looking at other young flyhalves, with Jantjies being one of them, and want to sign an international hooker. I’m not sure which hooker they have in mind.’

Both Ebersohn twins’ contracts with the Cheetahs will expire at the end of the Currie Cup. Their future will only be confirmed after 1 July, when their transfer window opens.

Robert, who was also approached by the Sharks, said the Cheetahs will be his first choice too but is disappointed by the lack of communication from head coach Naka Drotske and his assistant Hawies Fourie.

‘I want to stay loyal to the Cheetahs and my future will be decided in the next couple of weeks,’ said Robert.

‘However, I have to admit that I am disappointed that both Naka and Hawies haven’t spoken to me yet. It’s strange that Hawies said I want to stay because I haven’t had the opportunity to say anything to them.

‘[Sharks commercial manager] Rudolf Straeuli approached us a few weeks ago and he wanted Sias and I to sign immediately. But we declined because we can only sign new contracts from 1 July and we want to do things the right way.

‘Rudolf then said the Sharks will move on and look for other players and it’s not certain whether the deal will still stand. But we will see how things work out in the next two weeks and discuss matters with our agent Gerrie Swart.’

This entry was posted on Thursday, June 24th, 2010

• 100.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-89: I tell you what, more than being beneficial to the Sharks, a return by Francois Steyn might actually save the Springboks.

So – you’re right…I do wish !

• 101.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@mozez22(mozez22)-87: mike lambie is a personal friend , and the answer to your question is NO

@David(David)-95: lol

• 102.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-99:

Seriously dodgy. Strongarm tactics.

Who would want to play for guys like that?

• 103.capebull: Reply to this comment

East Coast Radio just reported ” Woman falling pregnant to a pineapple”

• 104.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-84: You’re talking about merging 2 established teams like the Cats and Cheetahs. Before the Blue Bulls there was only Transvaal. So no, the 2 examples have absolutely nothing to do with each other. The fact is, Province have had amazing periods of dominance, just like the Bulls have now. But no-body north of the vaal will ever recognise that. Have you noticed how many province supporters give the other provinces their due and acknowledge that great teams are usually only made great by the great opposition that the they play against? Sadly all too many Blue Bulls posters on this site forget that. It’s just Blue bulls Blue Bulls and the rest is irrelevant. Samprass’ achievements wouldn’t be as great for the fact that he had to bead Agassi so many times (although Agassi also won 7 grand slams and took all 4) etc etc etc.

• 105.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-99: I dont want the Ebersohns. Quite frankly I am pleased if they choose to stay loyal to the Cheetahs.

They hardly set the world alight. Pity because at Craven Week level, they were brilliant. Unfortunately, they seemed to have flopped after that.

• 106.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-103: If it were KFM, it would be ‘man falls pregnant to pineapple’

• 107.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Sharks players 25yrs-under

Kankowski
    Cilliers
    Hargreaves
    Kockott
    Swanepoel
    JP Pietersen
    Mvovo
    Lambie
    Mtawarira
    Burden
    Herbst
    Cronje
    Mapoe
    Ludik

There’s enough there going fwd along with mid 20′s veterans such as Alberts,Bismark,JduPlessis,Sykes,Mostert,Pienaar(dont know if Ulster move is complete yet)
    Etc

Sharks need a decent 12 now.

Post 2011 Sharks XV

1.Beast
    2.Bismark
    3.J.DuP
    4.Mostert
    5.Hargreaves
    6.Alberts
    7.Deysel
    8.Kankowski

9.Kockott
    10.JLP
    11.Mapoe
    12.????
    13.????
    14.JPP
    15.Lambie

• 108.capebull: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-104: The fact is that Wp was dominatnt in cc before 1938, there after the competition was played and won with finals. They since only won 11 or 13 of the finals, the Bulls won 23 of the 47 finals since 1938 @Dusky(Dusky)-106: Stranger things are happening, people are actually still supporting the Lions.

• 109.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@capebull(capebull)-108: The correct tally is 23-15 in titles, which yes puts the Bulls ahead, but read my post 92 to get my point. No one is disputing who has won what. No-one ever has. Sadly though, all too often that is the de-facto reason given by too many Bulls supporters on this site for why their opinion is the only one that counts. That was the point of my posts.

• 110.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-107: Isn’t Mapoe’s first choice position at 13 ? If so, the Sharks need to endure with him there to develop him for the future.

The Sharks are after Juan De Jongh. With De Villiers back at WP, Juan knows he will take a backseat to the much punted combination of De Villiers and Fourie.

If the Sharks can sign De Jongh, they will have two nice new centers to take forward into the future.

I think Mvovo is more likely to develop into the Sharks first choice Nr 11.

Sharks backline for the future;

15 – Lambie
    14 – JPP (but maybe the Sharks will sign the Lions Killian soon)
    13 – Mapoe
    12 – De Jongh
    11 – Mvovo
    10 – JLP

• 111.Dusky: Reply to this comment

Hey did any of you see the Sharks have signed another Bull !

Their doctor.

• 112.David: Reply to this comment

I reckon JLPs move to the Sharks is good for SA rugby and all credit to the Bulls for letting him go.
    My main worry is that because the S14 Franchises have just become an extension of the 5 major Unions, the young talent in SA is not being given the chances they would normally have, as Unions focus on signing players primarily focused on strengthening their S14 Franchise. The Sharks is a prime example. They are the only Franchise not to have a CC union partner or partners, so they’ve taken to using the Free State as their feeder. Apart from seriously weakening the Cheetahs franchise of players every year, it also affects the Cheetahs financially.
    Most of this is SARUs fault, as they handed the responsibility of managing the S14 over to the major unions at the expense of the National game.

• 113.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-110: Look, I was prepared to debate this with you in a civil manner until you mentioned De Jongh…..

• 114.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Good Buy!

Sharks needed a 10 since Butch James left.

They now have plenty of back up with monty dumond and steve meyer

Also good for cheetahs that ebersohns are staying, cheetahs need to hold onto all their players and they will start being a force.

Sharks dont need mapoe either,

Has he actually signed for the sharks??????

• 115.mozez22: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-101: Thank goodness!

• 116.David: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-113:

• 117.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-113: I always find it really funny when people start stating which player their team should purchase and slotting him into the team as if it is a given.

• 118.mozez22: Reply to this comment

All in all, this is a good move for Sharks. We need a quality flyhalf, we got JLP. Sorted. Let’s move on.

Now, for a quality centre.

Don’t care how we build a team, as long as it’s a winning one…

• 119.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

This now a better buy than some of the overseas deadbeats!

• 120.GTN SHARK: Reply to this comment

I love the way you Bulls ***** and moan about Province and Natal buying players. Tuks get money from the Blue Bull Company and what did they do, bought the whole Grey first team from last year. Oh the Blue Bull academy is soo great, how many of those boys coming through there are from the free state. This is professional rugby, if you want a player, you buy him. STop moaning.

Lionel Mapoe – bids came from Sharks, Bulls and Province
    Bulls tried to buy Bismarck and Jannie.
    Brussouw was in negotiations with Natal but also got an offer from the Bulls to come play with another Grey boytjie Stegman.

Fact of the matter is over the years the Sharks have been very loyal towards its Free state signings, especially the Grey boys, and it even goes back as far as Ollie Le Roux and kabous.

Just stop moaning about player transfers and contracts being contravened, in the end if a contract is broken it is the players fault for allowing it, but you cant hold it against him if the Union he’s with has him on a 200k a year contract when a certain Blue company offered him R1.4 mil for a year, oh yes and that player is Mapoe.

Good stuff Keo.

• 121.Taahirah: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-113: Told you.
    :P

• 122.capebull: Reply to this comment

@GTN SHARK(GTN SHARK)-120: So what you are csaying is that all the boys in Grey were born in FS ?

• 123.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-99: hahahaha! and sias, the grootbek youngster with “plan a, b and c” was left in the dust as the sharks signed JLP from the bullies (whose whining i am particualarly enjoying today-i respect their rugby opinions and it seems like losing this player hurts, yes please sharkies!).

maybe dolph was trying to help sias by getting him to commit before JLP?

but the cocksure young un who hasnt played superrugby thinks the world will wait around?

bye bye sias, we will still take robert though.

• 124.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-117: Yeah I think we should sign Daniel Carter next year, as well as Mills, Mike Phillips and Paul ‘O Connell.

Next year’s Stormers team:

15 Mills
    14 Aplon
    13 Fourie
    12 De Villiers
    11 Habanna
    10 Carter
    9 Phillips
    8 Vermeulan
    7 Flo
    6 Schalk
    5 Bekker
    4 O’Connell
    3 CJ
    2 Liebenberg
    1 CJ

Done deal really…. ;)

• 125.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Taahirah(Taahirah)-121: Yes you did. And you were right.

• 126.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-112: oh david, come now buddy.

how many lions players in the stormers team?
    how many fs players in the stormers team?

your lot are far bigger poachers even with your franchise “partners”.

count em and weep.

• 127.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-124: but you do realise that holding onto all the centers wp have at the mo will be very difficult?

there is no quick fix for TOO MUCH talent.

you cannot simply rotate as that will destroy continuity. what else? actually HOPE for an injury so all of them will be happy at getting some gametime?

juan de jongh will either be very patient and wait out the hugely overrated JdV or he will make a move.

to the sharks.

or it will be whitehead. or newman.

i will watch with interest.

• 128.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-126: I thought we weren’t going to go there again… ? :)

• 129.capebull: Reply to this comment

The Bulls are always setting the pace , for the pretenders, as quoted by the Stormer coach Allister” We are 3 years behind them ”

The Bulls Rugby Union has just announced that they bought the S15 title for next year. Heynecke said ” This was the best thing to do, In stead of spending millions on players like the Sharks. This will ensure that we can all go on holiday next year , and the trophy will stay at Loftus.”

• 130.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-127: Which is why I am fine with Potgieter going to the Sharkies. Gives the upcoming 10′s and 12′s at the Bulls the chance to play Currie Cup/Super 15 and not head to other teams.

Am excited to see how Brummer goes for example.

• 131.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-128: :lol:

i didnt, david did.

really, i dont know what kuk your press feeds you down in the cape?????

but i am always here, ready to pounce on lazy spouting of old generalisations like “sharks are poachers, wp and the other unions develope their own” LMAO!

• 132.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-127: Check out my post 69. I echo exactly the same sentiment.

@rangerman(rangerman)-131: I don’t car who started it, now go and sit in the corner!!!! :D

We developed De Jongh. We get to keep him. I’ll personally see to that. :)

• 133.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-130: ja, i have heard a lot about brummer.

look forward to our game this weekend.

• 134.JR - The Real Make The Circle Bigger: Reply to this comment

Yessssssssssss!!!

• 135.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-133: After my big mouth, I am a little nervous about it!

Will be interesting after the Bulls win against weak opposition last week and the Sharks’ loss to the Griquas.

• 136.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-132: de jongh is practically a shark already.

it will be good for sa rugby no?

• 137.Pepe: Reply to this comment

The Sharks need to sign a new coach we are going nowhere quickly with
    Plum. We in for another dissapointing season I can see that.

• 138.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-135: ja, i had a KUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUK day last sat.

oh the bleakness :lol:

• 139.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-136: No no no it won’t nuh-uh. never ever ever (holding my hands over my ears and shaking my head violently)……

• 140.Frankly speaking: Reply to this comment

Look at these tuna fans…already assembling backlines which include players from other unions (those already and not yet contracted)…

JdJ is going nowhere, nor is Whitehead. Bosch or Newman you can have in return for Lambie…and we’ll throw in a box of wine and a crate of snoek for good measure :)

• 141.David: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-131:
    I didn’t mention anything about poaching, just the fact that because of the S14, the major unions are building/buying depth at provincial level. I mention the Sharks specifically, because they don’t have any provincial partners and don’t want any, as it’ll water down the Sharks Franchise earnings and also the Unions. The whole point of a regional competition, such as the Super Series, is to combine a number of provinces into one regional team, which is why the Franchises and National sides fell under a seperate “Professional” arm of SARU. Whilst the current situation might favour the major Unions financially, it’ll affect the availability of young talent to compete at a higher level, in the long run.

• 142.willievz: Reply to this comment

To put it bluntly, I get the idea that players at the Sharks are more interested in the coin they earn than what they can achieve in the jersey.

Compare them to the Bulls in terms of camaraderie and you will see what I mean.

Their shopping also signals to lower steps on the ladder that there is no faith in the youth structures of the Banana republic.

Since the 1990s, I count at least 5 foreign flyhalves who applied their trade in Durban. At least they signed a “local” pivot now.

• 143.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-139: :lol: and LMAO!

@David(David)-141: David, you mentioned the sharks specifically as draining another union (also specified) of all its talent.

i simply pointed out that the stormers are even bigger drains on other franchises despite having franchise partners and access to probably the largest talent pool in the country?

so why start your thesis with the sharks taking players from the fs david?

oh, i know why. because it is an old, hoary chestnut and you chose to propogate this myth instead of actually looking closer to home.

the simple fact is that the sharks are a succesful stand alone franchise that do not benefit any other unions but i find it amusing that you think boland gain so much from the alliance with wp.

in fact, the griquas seem the biggest beneficiaries of the constant player drain from fs as their players get exposure in superrugby precisely because of it.

all are not equal, not in life and not in sport. and you cannot legislate equality, you can only achieve it through good old fashioned effort.

again, ask the griquas.

• 144.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-141: No I think your point has good merit. The Sharks had a partner in PE but bought them out as it suited them. So now it’s Durban all the way….or should that be (cough) Bloemfontein and Durban all the way….

• 145.justrugby: Reply to this comment

JLP…….. look forward to playing centre or wing or FB…….hell knowing the Sharks you might even get a run at scrum half !!!!

• 146.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-142: ag get off your high horse willy.

recently the bulls bought jaco and habs and juandre kruger and bakkies tried to dash for cash, habs did and so did vic.

frans hougaard comes from the cape and now drives an m3 or a hummer (oh, thats vd heever sorry).

you think they play because they love making you happy?

what a joke.

p.s. JLP was last bought BY THE BULLS mate.

• 147.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-144: :lol:

and soon cape town and bloem and durbs all the way buddy.

@justrugby(justrugby)-145: :lol: hi jr. great signing for the sharks i am sure you will agree?

• 148.Frankly speaking: Reply to this comment

Can anyone tell me what the story behind Steve Meyer is?

He flew back to SA to help the Sharks in the S14, and then for no reason “retired”…only to make a comeback 4 months later

I suspect he was either on “juice” or some illegal substances

• 149.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking)-148: that seems to be the general suspicion.

• 150.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-147:

Jokes aside , the best signing for a long time !!!

• 151.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-147: grrrrrr….

• 152.David: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-143:
    You’ve missed my point entirely. I’m not defending the Stormers, or WP. What I’m saying is that the original purpose of the Super Series was to showcase the top 150 players (4 franchises then) by by creating regional sides. With the major Unions (not franchises), who form the core of each franchise, signing whatever talent is available they end up hoarding younger players who have to wait until the incumbent is either injured or goes overseas. This applies to both CC and S14, instead of the younger talent being spread out amongst the different franchises and Unions.
    The Super Series was never intended to be a club competition but an international regional one which has been shown by the speed with which the ABs have rebounded back from a major exodus to Europe.
    Juan de Jongh is a case in point. He stated to show his talent at CC level at 13 the season before Jaques joined WP, and continued at 12 when JdeV left and Newman was injured. Without that exposure he’d probably still be playing Vodacom Cup rugby and not even being seen as a worthwhile CC/S14 acquisition by any other major union.
    The other downside of SARU pandering to the major unions and not enforcing their authority over the S14 Franchises, is the lack of S14 rugby in the EC and exodus of young talent out of the region to other provinces.

• 153.Frankly speaking: Reply to this comment

I think JLP has a lot of talent and can become a very good player if given game time.

IMO he is probably the 3rd best flyhalf currently playing in SA, behind MS and Bash. And with Grant probably heading overseas soon, he could well find himself being called up to the Boks after the WC.

• 154.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-150: agreed, a very good bit of news for us sharkies.

• 155.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking)-153: JLP is way better than Morne Steyn.

• 156.stand-off: Reply to this comment

JLP is overrated. Sharks desperate.

• 157.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@stand-off(Braders)-156: :lol:

• 158.Hier kom groot k..: Reply to this comment

Demmit – he was good member of the Bulls squad but had to play second fiddle to Morne (an symphony orchestra needs second violins). Now he is going to be the soloist on the dungheap in Durbs!

• 159.grant10: Reply to this comment

best signing sharks have made in a long time…..JLP is probably overall a better 10 than the 1 trick pony MS…..

Good for Sharks Rugby

Good for SA Rugby

And great for JLP….

imo

• 160.willievz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-146: No for sure, I am not saying that the strategy is limited to a particular franchise.

The point I was making is that it is one thing to buy the player and relocate him geographically, but another thing to intertwine and diffuse him into existing structures and the broader rugby family.

As a stern Griquas supporter, I am fully aware of the historical purchasing strategies of both the Bulls and the Sharks. A sensitive topic for me.

• 161.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-155: wot r u smokin bru
    can i have some of tht :-)
    In Steyn we TRUST

• 162.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-160: the sharks are reknowned as a family franchise mate.

players like butch, barrit, smittie, johann muller, aj venter, gary teichmann, mark andrews, steve atherton etc etc etc are all legends in natal and if some of them leave and then return, the majority prefer to return to durbs.

why do you think that is buddy?

ag, its a pointless discussion really. you have your view coloured by emotion and so do i.

bygones.

• 163.willievz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-162: Actually I try to stay emotion free in rugby discussions. I would like to think that I succeed too.

You are right, Durban used to be such a place. Maybe it still is. I just don’t see evidence of it on the park and on the scoreboard.

I get the impression that there are a lot of ‘camps’ in the current Sharks squad that divide the ‘family’.

Do you have any views on their poor results?

• 164.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-163: their poor results?

sure.

we lacked quality in a few key positions this year. center and 10 most notably.

we also lost our first home game very contraversially, kockott had an off day with the boot vs the cheetahs and we embarked on the tour from hell.

unless you missed the last 15 years of superrugby, you probably noticed that wins in australasia have not been assured or common.
    (i wont mention getting screwed by poor reffing on selsame tour)

then we won 7 of our last 8.

so if these “poor results” were such a surprise to you or prove to you that “camps” divide the sharks squad, i would suggest that you either have an emotional agenda or enjoy hearsay.

either way, pointless discussion.

• 165.willievz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-164: Well if you were happy with your team’s Super 14 results this year I guess this surely is a pointless discussion.

• 166.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-165: ag willy, lets just try and stay friends eh?

you stick to the bulls and griquas who play rugby just for the fun of it and seriously consider giving all their money away to charity.

and i will stick to my mercenary sharks?

ok buddy?

great.

• 167.willievz: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-166: Ok, but I will never stick to the Bulls ;)

• 168.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-17: Hey Dusky – for you about Mapoe and the Sharks’ dodgy attempts to get him. It still hasn’t been decided:

supersport.com/rugby/currie-cup/news/100714/Mapoe_must_wait_until_end_of_July

• 169.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

Well well well – this is good news

Sharks backline of

9> Kockott
    10> JLP
    11> Mvovo
    12> Adie
    13> Swanna
    14> JPP
    15> Lambie

might just do the business and look a lot more dangerous in the Super 15

• 170.foreverrugga: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-169: has Stefan been dropped?
    9 Rory
    10.JLP
    11.Mvo
    12.Adie
    13.Stefan
    14.JPP
    15.Lambie

could do the business

• 171.toe-jam: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-169: your big problem is adi,the man will not be what sharks want him to be,at least not at 12,maybe playing in a lessor league at 13.

the loss of barret and steyn caused some worry in the sharkies backline.

now with ruan gone, who will fill your 12 and 13 slots?

adi over rated and stefaans is getting a lil slow i’d say

• 172.toe-jam: Reply to this comment

@toe-jam(toe-jam)-171: and im not talking about cc,who will effectively fill your midfield come s15?

• 173.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@toe-jam(toe-jam)-171: Meyer Bosman, Lionel Mapoe, De Jongh and Riaan Swanepoel.

Bosman will likely join the Sharks for next years Super 15, and I imagine they would have concluded negotiations with De Jongh by then as well.

• 174.HookerHamz: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-56: this Bakkies who you keep insulting was actualy also targeted by the Sharks before the whole 3month window as well as WO and Habana but the Sharks lost that one.so just leave Bakkies alone and just accept that the sharks are always going out of thier way to get these players to dishoner thier contracts.

• 175.Biscuit: Reply to this comment

@HookerHamz(HookerHamz)-174:

The Sharks did not need to ‘get’ Bakkies to dishonour anything.
    He did it himself trying to escape his contract to go to France

• 176.toe-jam: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-173: if they have half a brain they will buy more players,but can they afford all the players u are mentioning?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.