Never satisfied
19 Jul 2010
Morné Steyn is determined to surpass his feats of last year and become the complete flyhalf.
While Steyn had a dream debut Test season – kicking the series-winning penalty against the British & Irish Lions and finishing as the top point-scorer in the Tri-Nations – he’s not dwelling on the past.
‘I had a wonderful season, I couldn’t have asked for more. But am I content? Do I think I’m a world-beater? Not at all,’ Steyn says in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week. ‘I know people will be watching me more closely in 2010. What I achieved last year is of no relevance. Not being content with what you’ve achieved is a trait shared by the world’s best players, and I want to be considered in that group.’
In the same article, Fourie du Preez explains what makes his halfback partner so effective, while Bulls kicking coach Vlok Cilliers reveals Steyn’s training secrets.
– The Springboks have more depth than any other rugby nation, but Peter de Villiers must decide who his first-choice players are
– Under the current laws, South Africa doesn’t have a more versatile flanker than Francois Louw
– Rassie Erasmus and Frikkie Erasmus insist that South Africa’s players will benefit from a new International Super Rugby tournament and that it’s a crucial step forward in the game’s evolution
– Sonny Bill Williams rejected a lucrative offer from Toulon to chase his All Blacks dream
– South African-born forward Jarrod Saffy has turned his back on rugby league to play for the Melbourne Rebels
– With Carl Hayman opting to stay in France, Owen Franks is being tipped to wear the All Blacks No 3 jersey at the World Cup
– Sharks coach John Plumtree is having to rebuild his side after losing a dozen players in the past three years
– In Peter Grant’s absence, Lionel Cronjé can use the Currie Cup to prove why he’s Western Province’s best bet at flyhalf
– New Golden Lions coach John Mitchell on turning the team around, fears that he could poach players, and living in Johannesburg
– Marius Joubert on winning the Top 14 with Clermont, missing out on the 2007 World Cup, and his future plans
– Ex-Wales and Lions centre Scott Gibbs wants to settle down in Cape Town
– Why it’s time for Craven Week quotas to be scrapped
PLUS: Eddie Jones column and double-sided poster of Gio Aplon and Gurthro Steenkamp

52 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
19 Jul 2010, 05:39 am
one dimensional dragon…
19 Jul 2010, 05:42 am
Good player but doesn’t have the ability to bust a game wide open like Carter, great at Loftus kicking penalties though.
19 Jul 2010, 07:21 am
COMMENTS ON NEW ZEALAND WEBSITE:-
OPINION: Richie McCaw might get away with murder, but hey, at least he’s our murderer.
The freak flanker brings out the worst in opponents like Springbok Danie Rossouw and the best in obsequious referees.
McCaw probably should’ve been binned for his chicanery at breakdowns, but he’s so polite to whistlemeisters they simply keep warning him, as did Alain Rolland.
Rossouw sank his Springboks at Wellington on Saturday night when he trudged to the cooler, more for intent to boot Richie over the goalposts than for a damaging kick. Just imagine the coaches at every pre-test team meeting. “If you can, get that McCaw.”
Remember Irish No8 Jamie Heaslip who saw red and kneed McCaw at New Plymouth last month and was redded by our friend Wayne Barnes.
McCaw remains our hero, for his work-rate alone and the opposition can stay paranoid about him for all we care.
“I was guilty of giving away a couple of penalties, of not holding my feet a couple of times,” he told us after the match
19 Jul 2010, 07:26 am
sorry MS…..i would drop you. You seem to ‘freeze’ away from the sanctity of SA….
Give me Ruan at 9 [ pole kicking ] Butch at 10 and F Steyn for the monster kicks…..
Then we see the backs cook ….
19 Jul 2010, 07:31 am
@DROOOL(DROOOL)-3: Shame their hero is a cheat, says a lot about that KIwi nation
19 Jul 2010, 07:37 am
Morne needs FDP to shine atm. Nice cover though.
19 Jul 2010, 07:38 am
Steyn is a limited player, but when you play a game plan focused on his strengths, he is very impressive. The Bulls are able to bring the best out in him, the Boks were able to last year – in South Africa, New Zealand and Australia.
We have no structure when we get the ball at the moment, and this is influencing everyone, noone more so than Morne Steyn because he has to try and catch the rubbish from Januarie, and he gets given slow ball and is expected to conjure something up with it.
Ruan Pienaar has been found wanting when pole kicking at Currie Cup level, Super 14 level and International level – in South Africa and overseas, and as for Butch, I haven’t seen him doing anything since 2007 apart from get yellow carded and try to fight people.
The problem at the moment starts with the coaching and lack of strucutre in the attack, not with Morne Steyn.
19 Jul 2010, 07:39 am
Morne is poorly served by a woefully weak pack of forwards and a scrumhalf who really isn’t equipped with skills higher than provincial Vodacup level.
While these things take off some of the gloss, a really good flyhalf can still shine behind a beaten pack and an average-to- slow scrummie — witness a great Puma, Hugo Porta or Natal’s Keith Oxlee or Griquas Piet Visagie.
Morne can’t make excuses. He’s still many miles away from being another Dan Carter or Jonny Wilko.
19 Jul 2010, 07:41 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-7: i would give Butch a full 80 minutes against Aussie…..no use 3 minutes here and 5 minutes there…..or worse still at 12 !
Give the man a chance i say .
19 Jul 2010, 07:43 am
Who is the defense coach for the Boks?
19 Jul 2010, 07:44 am
@grant10(grant10)-9: at least then we can compare fairly.
19 Jul 2010, 07:48 am
@grant10(grant10)-9: I think it is a poor reflection on De Villiers again. Butch should have had 80 minutes at 10 against the Welsh or the Italians. He could even have played both the Italian tests at 10 so that he can have a full chance to prove himself – perhaps one game with Pienaar at 9 and one with Januaire at 9.
This season so far has shown no planing from de Villiers and our much vaunted depth has not be tested or properly managed. Its a shame.
19 Jul 2010, 07:53 am
@JL1(JL1)-10: A cheese-eating surrender ******?
19 Jul 2010, 07:54 am
minkie?
19 Jul 2010, 07:55 am
@DROOOL(DROOOL)-3: just wait until black panda gets here with thw vitriol, you will regret ever posting that story
19 Jul 2010, 08:01 am
IMO… BUtch James is now the Michael Catt of SA… Aggenee man….
That’s another serious step backwards or to quote a frase…. Turbo Reverse!!
19 Jul 2010, 08:02 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-12: ja
the 3 stooges are really pathetic……we lose Sat badly against Aussies and the heat will be white hot in the kitchen…..watch the long knives get drawn then.
19 Jul 2010, 08:05 am
@Staal(Staal)-16: hi Staal
Maybe…..but i am sure he will offer more than what appears to be a limited and 1 dimensional MS….
Why is it MS seems unable to stamp any sort of authority on proceedings?
We saw it last eoyt and now again?
Even with FDP last year he seems to play poorly away from home/
It is a concern for me.
19 Jul 2010, 08:07 am
@Staal(Staal)-16: Staal…..the Plod dilemma is reaching epic proportions now.
How much longer is cappie going to grace us with his presence?
Ek kan dit nie langer vat nie man!
Ek gaan eerder strand toe as om die Turbo reverse michelin man te kyk!
19 Jul 2010, 08:08 am
@grant10(grant10)-18: Hi Grant.
Read my post on other thread.
Also read = FORWARDS!
NO player in the world can play with bad ball and no support at the brakedowns…. NONE! Imo….
Also read = COACHING!
19 Jul 2010, 08:14 am
@Staal(Staal)-20: without doubt the quality of ball has been very poor….in fact i feelk for Ricky as well…..although it was blatantly obvious that ruan pienaar made a visible positive difference when coming on at 9 last test….
Ai my man….we have some serious problems…..not lekker times…
19 Jul 2010, 08:19 am
OK manne – klaar almal geskype in SA.
Almal is heads-up oppie plaas.
Cheers!
19 Jul 2010, 08:24 am
@Staal(Staal)-22: Any truth in the news that Bakkies has signed for the french again?? It’s reported on iafrica.com
19 Jul 2010, 08:41 am
@JL1(JL1)-5:
and you say alot about yours
19 Jul 2010, 08:48 am
@grant10(grant10)-21: Grant,
At the moment it seems like the Boks have no gameplan. If the (proven successful) kick-and-chase plan is adopted, Morne is the man. When you want to play a running game, we dont have a flyhalf that can “general” that gameplan. PDivvy knows what he has in the -let be honest- one dimentional Steyn. He should theb opt for that gameplan. It worked last season, and it works for the Bulls. Like McCaw said last year….its one thing to know what the Bulls will do, but its another thing to be able to sop it. So, I think they should work harder on executing the kick – and – pressure gameplan. JMO
19 Jul 2010, 08:50 am
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-24: that wally is not a true reflection BP….
19 Jul 2010, 08:54 am
@UnbeataBULL(UnbeataBULL)-25:not sure the 1 dimensional game plan is going to win us many games…..we need to adapt to a more multi dimensional game imo…..
The rule interpretations and the lack of a Brussow type has almost made the kick n chase defunct.
For me i would at least see what a ruan 9 and butch 10 offered us…..
We have nothing to lose…..
19 Jul 2010, 08:59 am
Sharks lost a dozen players in three years?
Shame, we lose more every single season to the Bokke.
Sharks must stop moaning.
19 Jul 2010, 09:11 am
Morne, you have done well with the service you have gotten from that worthless pig, but one man can only do so much.
19 Jul 2010, 09:25 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-29:
You think Morne could R U N with the ball for a change?
Plan B – Have a go and not kick the fkng ball all the time.
19 Jul 2010, 09:33 am
@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-29: you should be looking at your captain mate…
19 Jul 2010, 09:34 am
@oodles(oodles)-30: Well, would you run the ball with Wynand Olivier on your outside?, I won’t either.
Pienaar, Butch, Habana, De Jongh, Fourie, Hougaard, Aplon should be in the team for the weekend.
19 Jul 2010, 09:50 am
@coma(coma)-32: Attacking backs to score more tries than the opposition. Couldnt do any worse than the last two tests.
19 Jul 2010, 10:00 am
@coma(coma)-32: Give WO some quick ball and see how he does this WP obsession with bad mouthing WO is pathetic. The stats all show he does nothing wrong against quality opposition. This reminds me alot of what was said about Pakslae a couple of years back. Calling for JDV is a mistake he got run over by Nonu FFS, he needs time in the Currie cup to adjust to our rugby again. With JDV playing inside centre the would have scored 50 against us. WO is our best inside centre at the mo with JDJ hes backup imo. My only change to the Bok team would be to start with Pienaar instead of RJ.
19 Jul 2010, 10:20 am
I’m starting to see a pattern here…
Spies, Victor and Smit have all recently been on the SARugby magazine cover. All 3 are playing rubbish rugby by their standards…
Please, for the love of all things green and gold, DO NOT put Fourie du Preez on the cover!
19 Jul 2010, 10:24 am
@grant10(grant10)-4:
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-7:
FFS…. give Carter a scrummie like Ricky and see if he performs?
Rugby is a team sport, won through a collective effort, we dont have that collective anymore…. or rather, we have the collective but dont use them…. our selection process is flawed
19 Jul 2010, 10:25 am
Start Pienaar at 9 then judge Steyn, no flyhalf is going to shine getting man and ball at the same time.
19 Jul 2010, 10:43 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-37: Agreed as well as the rest of the backline.
19 Jul 2010, 10:44 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-35: The pattern I see is world class players move to WP and they slowly become ex world class players
19 Jul 2010, 11:28 am
@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-35: Wynand Olivier was probably the centerfold in all three those issues mentioned?
19 Jul 2010, 11:31 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-37:
Dont be silly.
Ok lets have a look at this. Steyn is getting the ball and the player at the same time,wouldnt you think he would actually stand a bit further back,or maybe change the angle. Something at least. Just cos your #10 does not mean you have to stand 12 feet from the halfback. If he has time to put up those high kicks he had time to run or pass it.
19 Jul 2010, 11:37 am
@NZINCHINA(NZINCHINA)-2: His limitations seriously affect the rest of the backline.If you examine the influence of a Quade Cooper or Daniel Carter on a rugby match with ball in hand you’ll realise how much of a liability he is. Ruan Piennar should grow some balls, work on his kicking and finally deliver on the talent we all know he has instead of whinging about playing at flyhalf.The only way l see Morne Steyn starting at Test level is at Inside Centre.He has the distribution skills and would need to work on his physicality.Olivier’s ceiling is the Super 15,age is catching up with JDV(look at his Munster form and has anyone wondered why they didn’t fight to keep him for one more season),Juan Dejongh is a 13 for the future,Butch is not a center.I blame the Sharks for not supporting PDV by playing Ruan at scrumhalf,he was correct to move Ruan to Flyhalf its just unfortunate that he did not receive the support from the Sharks.
Spies is a disaster at 8th man,he’s a flat track bully and fails to perform behind a struggling pack.Kankowski has the same limitations,that’s why l feel Vermuelen or Watson are more suited to international rugby because we already have enough size in the team and what we lack is tactical nous at 8th man.
Ricky needs to work on his fitness because that’s the one part of his game that’s exposing him, they were periods in the game were he was playing unbelievably well but ran out of gas due to his conditioning.Its time the bulls invested in Houghaard at scrum half in the currie cup instead of having him in the springbok camp at wing without playing a game.
l’m a PDV sympathiser but feel he’s completely losing the plot,the resources at full back are bare and Francois Steyn has to be recalled,Morne Steyn’s only contribution is off the boot otherwise he’s killing the backline.The best hooker is bismark…liebenberg and botha should be figthing for a place on the bench.Smit and Chilliboy should be nowhere near the squad.Beast needs to leave the Sharks because they’ve seriously mismanaged him.He’s a pale shadow of the player he once was
19 Jul 2010, 11:42 am
@DROOOL(DROOOL)-3: We let him get to us,our Rugby I.Q is not the best
19 Jul 2010, 11:54 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-7: “Steyn is a limited player, but when you play a game plan focused on his strengths, he is very impressive”.
You meant to say Strength,beyond his boot all other facets of his game are not up to international standard.He cant step,very slow off the mark,not the greatest passer,no pace,no vision,average tackler…one trick ponies can only get you so far.By moving him to centre,you retain his boot while giving the the NO 10 to a real playmaker
19 Jul 2010, 11:57 am
@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-12: Piennar actually looked more like the flyhalf than the due wearing the Number 10 jersey when he came on on Januarie
19 Jul 2010, 12:39 pm
Everything started to fire as soon as they took that warthog off the field and put Pienaar on. Januarie is a disease that infects the whole team, it’s absolutely disgusting that he is in the team. Like the first game, he gave away two more tries, and cost us many opportunities with his piss poor decision making, lack of ability to be at the break down and his awful service. Morne Steyn has opposition players all over him… and no, he doesn’t even have the option of standing deeper because Januarie has a limitation on how far he can pass.
19 Jul 2010, 13:29 pm
steyn needs to get some decent ball to attack the line with like he does for the bulls. he also needs some options running off his shoulder when he does move forward.
people tend to forget that he is indeed initially a running flyhalf kicking has always been considered (ironically)his weak spot.
the bulls backline has not had any problem scoring tries in the past 2 seasons.
Carter shining in all circumstances is just horseshit.
He’s always looked ordinary when the kiwi pack have been bettered.
19 Jul 2010, 14:17 pm
@Brigadier Van Zyl(Brigadier Van Zyl)-47: He was initially a running flyhalf at Currie Cup Level. He’s running game would have never cut it at international level, thats why he’s only made it at test level due to his kicking.Even with FDP as his scrumhalf and JDV on his outside,he’s running game was mediocre
19 Jul 2010, 18:13 pm
Overated, useless, lack of creativity…all these terms describe Morne “Needs someone fimiliar on my side” Steyn.
Fly in Jaque Louis Potgieter!
20 Jul 2010, 02:28 am
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-49:
Wow, what a dumb comment.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All