Regan rocks Jake’s comeback

MARK KEOHANE says Jake White won’t coach the Boks again as long as Regan Hoskins is Saru president.

Hoskins on Monday admitted the world champions did not have the best at the helm. But here’s the kicker. In an interview with the Cape Argus, Hoskins said Bok coach Peter de Villiers was no worse than World Cup winning coach Jake White, with Hoskins saying the two were on par as far as coaching goes.

‘We’re concerned about the losses. We shouldn’t change the personnel – in other words we shouldn’t sack the coach. I wouldn’t say he’s the best coach in the world, but I wouldn’t say he’s inferior to Jake White. I’d say they are on a par,’ said Hoskins in the interview. ‘My issue with the coach is his media comments – I think that detracts from his ability. That’s where I’d like to concentrate.’

Hoskins, when De Villiers was appointed, said his own choice was Heyneke Meyer and that De Villiers’ appointment was based on issues greater than rugby. It was a transformation appointment.

Once again Hoskins has highlighted this by publicly saying his coach – the coach of the Tri-Nations and world champions – is not the best in the business. White, though, will feel insulted that Hoskins considers his successor to be his equal as an international coach.

The comment is ignorant and outrageous because you can’t compare De Villiers to White when it comes to technical ability. However, it is not unexpected as there is no love lost between Hoskins and White.

Last year Hoskins said the Boks were a better team under De Villiers than they were under White and a happier team. In a news statement he lauded De Villiers’ tenure as the Bok coach.

White on Sunday told Rapport newspaper that he would apply for the Bok job post the 2011 World Cup, but given the history between Hoskins and White there now seems little chance the World Cup-winning coach would be a consideration.

Hoskins is at the helm for the next four years as president and that would mean the last two would overlap with any new Bok coaching appointment. Hoskins is still a believer in Meyer, and when De Villiers goes Meyer will be the first recommendation.

Hoskins has never forgiven White for what he wrote about his relationship (as president and coach) in his autobiography Black & White.

And to have put it so bluntly in an interview – what he thinks of White as a coach – tells you if it is up to Hoskins, White will remain a part of Bok rugby history and not the future.

This is the fight White will be up against if he is serious about wanting to coach the Boks again.

223 Comments

• 1.grant10: Reply to this comment

circus !

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

far rather have Heyneke,Mallet,Solomons than White anyway.

• 3.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Hoskins is being pretty honest imo.

• 4.tassiebok: Reply to this comment

Why would we want a good coach when we have PDiv? Need to stay with the best! Look at the results!! hehe!

• 5.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-2: not Ludeke the coach of the double S14 winners?

• 6.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Oooh foook , net toe ek dink ons rugby is gesond begin dit weer kraak en sommer moerse kraake.

• 7.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Keo, I think you know as well as I do the timing of White’s remark of wanting his old job back was perfectly timed.

Nothing happens out of chance and where White had to sit quietly by last year when Hoskins had a go at him saying PDV was a better coach for the Boks or the Boks were better than him it is now White’s turn to tighten the screws on Hoskins with the other rumor of players wanting him to return to the setupin some way gathering momentum, and PDV’s much publicised unhappiness with his support staff earlier in the year.

But yes, everyone loves a circus.

Best theatre in the world this.

• 8.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

This is more a political issue than a sporting one.

Rugby and the fans will suffer in the end.

• 9.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

I’d say these comments are fair. PdV is not inferior to White (just look at record), but they are by no means the best in the business as their are many more superior coaches in world rugby. We do well because of our players physical talent, not because of our Superior Brains Trust. Everybody knows this.

• 10.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-8:

This is even more an issue of ego’s than it is one of politics.

• 11.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

Meyer any day! Fake White always had to call in the knowledgeable like Jones. He was not that good but relied on his back ups to assist.

A coach or captain or player for that, that talks bad about anyone in the team shouldn’t be at the helm or in the team.

In the old days problems were sorted out at practice and one on one – now in books and in the press.

• 12.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

Yawn, I’m going back to a rugby thread.

• 13.Dazzler: Reply to this comment

Jeepers, this website makes me laugh sometimes. I mean how dare anyone compare Div with the darling White!!??

Compare their results at the same stage in their Bok career, and I’m quite sure you’ll find their records are similar, in fact i’m sure Div is ahead.

White was also average… just like Div. WE have short memories in this country

• 14.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@Ratel Brussow(Morne Steyn is under-rated)-12:

There is one?

Where?

• 15.Diekenner: Reply to this comment

White is a cheesehead.Enough said.

• 16.John Galt: Reply to this comment

*** for Tat. Hand bags at 40 yards…

White saying he should never have been forced into a position of resignation and Hoskins saying that the ‘appointment based on issues greater than rugby’ was the right one.

Only thing is while this girly cat fight was going on, you had coaches like Heyneke Meyer on the sidelines being wasted.

• 17.ET: Reply to this comment

Another year another slap in the face. What an insult when your ‘boss’ says you are ” not the best ” and this after victories against the BL, TN champs all in one year.

I hope you all realise what happens when you go for weak, non-thinking, peripheral people of colour. Go for the best even if they diificult to control because they are principled around the concept of non-racialism. They are there,lots of them but they are not a r s ecreeps unfortunately and are unlikely to be found in ‘Die Ou Transvaal’ and definitely not in Tshwane.

• 18.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

the rugby world must be laughing their arses off! What a shambles…..

let’s see, there was Louis Luyt, Markies with his remark, harry with his ‘vision’, mallet fired for voicing an opinion on ticket prices, strauli’s staaldraad and white’s watson debacle…..now we were treated to PDV’s rants.

SARU has been a joke ever since Nelson Mandela was released…not that the two have anything to do with each other.

• 19.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Can someone tell me what makes Meyer head and shoulders above the other candidates…like say AC, Frans, Naka, Plum etc… I would like facts not opinion..

• 20.The Bill: Reply to this comment

Anyone remember when Keo thought Jake White was the worst thing in the game of rugby? He practically vomited when he spoke about him & now this…

If nothing else, stand by your principles, not who can get you the best publishing deal…

• 21.The Bill: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-18: Quite right, Luyt predates Madiba being released.

• 22.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

The coach that said the least and did the most is still legend..Kitch Christie.

• 23.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@The Bill(The Bill)-21: in terms of SARU rugby he doesn’t. only go involved after 92….before that he was TRU president….whilst moonlighting as a fertilizer salesman ;-)

• 24.BESTER: Reply to this comment

Eddie Jones said, White would even consider making Luke Watson his captain, if he gets the nod,

Bath already appointed him there new skipper.

• 25.Bantu Beeko: Reply to this comment

Thank you Regan.Let that bugger rem
    ain history,he is clueless anyway.I also dont believe in Heyneke either,his methods are outdated that why he failed at Leicester Tigers,no wonder the Lions didn’t want him either.Rather go for someone dynamic like Alistair.

• 26.THEBokFan: Reply to this comment

I dont think Hoskins’ comment is “ignorant and outrageous” – at this stage of their respective Bok coaching careers, White and PDiv are on par, if anything, PDiv has the edge as he has a Lions win, and wins in NZ… White and him are then equal on the 3Nations win…

For all the apparent “technical ability” of White, PDiv has actually accomplished more.

This is one of the mysteries of a great coach/team and to make a winning team. You can never put your finger on the exact recipe

• 27.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

Kitch was the bomb buddy…..it took a Scot to teach us how to play rugby!

• 28.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-19: The massive difference he made at the Bulls taking them from last to first in the Super 14; the amount of Currie Cups they won with Meyer as coach, and the also the amount of quality players developed while he was there.

His player management is apparently very good, and he knows when he needs to get people in to help him with the coaching.

• 29.scrumfan: Reply to this comment

I’d like to see Allister Coetzee have a go. Mind you I really wouldn’t mind if it was Heyneke Meyer either.

BUT, I don’t think its as bad a we are making it out to be. Some guys desperately need a rest/reconditioning program (Smit, Matfield, Spies, Burger, Habana, Steyn). Some guys need to return from injury etc. (Smith, Brussouw, Du Plessis, Du Preez, and now bekker) and we need to make some smarter selections. Unfortunately Olivier hasn’t stepped up, yet again, and playing De Villiers on the wing was a disaster.

The Tri-Nations is all but over for us, give the back-ups (De Jongh, Aplon, Potgieter, Flouw, Hougaard, even Chilliboy a run). The youth might do us some good.

the above considered for the home leg:

1. Steenkamp
    2. Rallepele
    3. vd Linde
    4. Russouw
    5. vd Merwe
    6. Flouw
    7. Smith
    8. Kankowski
    9. Pienaar
    10. James
    11. Hougaard
    12. De Jongh
    13. Fourie
    14. Pietersen
    15. Aplon

• 30.green field: Reply to this comment

Somebody please send these polookas on a PR course. All of them – president, coaches, players, ex coaches, groundsman, accountant, family, friends…the whole bloody lot!
    Red faced in Green and Gold!

• 31.ufo: Reply to this comment

@BESTER(BESTER)-24:

seriously…???

sheesh… good to see jake is a man of principle… sticks to his guns…

unless he wants his old job back…!! :shock:

seems JS has got a bit too slow fetching those beers…

• 32.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@BESTER(BESTER)-24: A couple of things – as far as I can tell Bath have not appointed him as their skipper.

And also where did you see Eddie Moans say that?

• 33.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

if we had nz’s rugby administration we would have dominated world rugby long ago…..that’s a fact.

• 34.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-28: How did they, the Great Northern Transvaal team, get to be to be so bad, I mean who coached them to last in the S14?

• 35.BESTER: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-32:

Dawson: keep Claassens as captain
    England rugby legend, Matt Dawson, says he thinks Bath may have made a mistake by not keeping Michael Claassens as captain for the coming season.
    The club have opted to give the captaincy role to Luke Watson who has only just joined the club.

I’ll get you Eddie’s quote

• 36.Cyperus: Reply to this comment

Can anyone tell me why Spies has become so anonymous during the last couple of games?

• 37.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-34: From my understanding, very poor administration, poor coaches, a failure to adapt to the professional era etc.

Heyneke is credited with bringing about a massive change at the Bulls, installing quality coaches from under 19s upwards, installing decent structures and in improving professionalism.

There is probably a degree of hero worship that goes on, and the legend is probably greater than the man in real life, but there can be no doubting what he acheived with the Bulls.

• 38.Kietzphat: Reply to this comment

White wasn’t the greatest coach, but he was a pretty decent manager. His strength was surrounding himself with the right people.

• 39.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@Kietzphat(Kietzphat)-38: what, like team manager silas ngkula or whatever his name was? Ha! ;-)

• 40.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Ok, this was pretty senseless by Regan Hoskins as there is no benefit to him to make his thoughts public. Pdivvie is on par with Jake White and if you take his record against the top 4 nations, its better! Yes, go look!

So imo opinion fuc Stavos, Richard Loe and whoever. These experts overseas coming down on our coach have a lot to say about us but guess what their teams hasn’t won the world cup since the end of the amateur era (2001).

So now the feeble amongst us come out and portray these overseas comments as gospel. Guess what leaving your team when they need you most is probably a portrayal of SA today. Its great when its good but when there is the slightest wind, everybody turns on each other.

I think PDivvie should get Matt Proudfoot and Alistair Coetzee in as assistants as well as Tim Noakes as fitness consultant.

• 41.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Heyneke was offered the job after Rudolph I-am-white-and-not-qualified Straueli f’d up. He declined.

• 42.Tisme: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-34: Hey *******, It was HM when his wife battled cancer (fact)

….. and they didnt allow HM to implement the structures he designed (fact) it was only after another 2 coaches cocked up that they were with their to back against the wall (fact) and only then bought into the HM blue print (fact) it took him 2 years with a 6th place and then a win (fact) after he was allowed to get the feeder systems and talent identification in place, not to mention the coaching classes to school teachers…. or the conditioning programmes for young talent!

Any other sarcastic questions you would like to ask?

• 43.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-40: the end of the amateur era was 1995 – what are you on about?

• 44.theOracle: Reply to this comment

“Hoskins, when De Villiers was appointed, said his own choice was Heyneke Meyer and that De Villiers’ appointment was based on issues greater than rugby. It was a transformation appointment.”

Did Hoskins really say that PdV was a transformation appointment? Did he say those words? Does anyone have a transcrtip of the interview?

• 45.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@BESTER(BESTER)-35:

Strange, I got a completely different quote:

World Cup-winning scrum-half Matt Dawson believes Michael Claassens should continue to skipper Bath Rugby this coming season.

“Michael Claassens is a great player,” said the retired England legend. “He is very well respected and he is someone Bath need. I think he quite enjoyed the responsibility on and off the field last season. I can’t believe he won’t be captain again.

“Michael has been at the club for a few years and perhaps has more of a Bath vibe about him than Luke Watson who has just been there for a season.

“But Watson did come in and play well and he does have great leadership qualities.”

thisisbath . co . uk

• 46.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Frans Ludeke???????!!!

Ok, so Heyneke Meyer took 7 years to build the Bulls team. He was fired twice during that period.

Frans Ludeke was also fired twice from the Lions nogal. Now suddenly he is the best coach in SA? So its ok to say Pdivvie used Jake White’s Boks to win but its sheer Frans Ludeke genius that moulded the Bulls into a winning team. Give me an F’in break.

Heyneke didn’t want the job when it was offered. Jake WHite knew for 2 years his job was on the line. Between cheating on his wife, could Jake not fill out his CV?

• 47.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-43:

Hahahaha, really? Ask anybody outside of the top 5 rugby unions in SA if that’s the case?

• 48.Tisme: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-41: he declined because JW did not apply before the cut-off date and then SARFU requested him to apply extending the closing date, in HM eyes they then already made up their minds, and thus withdrew due to their lack of professionalism…… cant fault this man’s integrity?!?

• 49.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

someone as dynamic as Allister “F*ck the bonus point, we just want to win” Coetzee??

• 50.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@Tisme(Tisme)-48:

Whatever, you at least have to try or show desire or fight.

• 51.Transformation: Reply to this comment

why are we even talking about jake white? Which team has he coached since ’07, what has he achieved since the world cup? The guy is an outright slimy opportunist and is astute at playing the media. For all this supposed technical what what jake has, his kak attitude ensures that no country, even russia want his coaching services.

Now why would the people he sh*tted on in his money-making book want to employ him again?

‘show some class, jakey’ :D kinda hard when the man has none.

• 52.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Tisme(Tisme)-42: Whooaa there buddy! I don’t even want to know what the stars “Hey ******* ” stand for in your comment… I asked a sincere question and just wanted a simple answer! Not a personal attack!

You did not have to bring in the wife bit in that answer too (that is personal IMO). Please refrain from doing that on a rugby blog. :roll:

Now all you needed to say was the Heynecke coached the Bulls to last place. I would have just moved on after hearing that! :lol:

• 53.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-5: no….

Heyneke rather…

but i am a Mallet supporter….1 st and foremost

• 54.grant10: Reply to this comment

@BESTER(BESTER)-24: great for lw…..true leader from the front….

So he is Bath captain now as well?

Where did white say he would appoint LW captain?

• 55.Tisme: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-50:
    What! with these bunch of clowns, asking for candidates to submit their CV’s then after the closing date tell all that applied “we are extending the closing date to accomodate one fellow that we feel must apply”….. what a FKN joke!

But that does not stop there, during this time Luke Watson is forced into a team
    JW flies to SA during a tour to get reprimanded over results

HM is the clear favourite as coaching pedigree and the make a “transformation appointment”

FFS would you want to work for these bunch of clowns???

• 56.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

jeez you guys can moan.

Heyneke Meyer is the best coach in SA at the moment, but he comes from the bulls, so a lot of muppets here won’t like that fact.

Bulls – Pretoria – Afrikaans stigma. too bad…

• 57.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Tisme(Tisme)-48:

” he declined because JW did not apply before the cut-off date and then SARFU requested him to apply extending the closing date, in HM eyes they then already made up their minds, and thus withdrew due to their lack of professionalism…… cant fault this man’s integrity?!?”

What has changed now at SARU or SARFU? I think he should keep his good integrity and stay away from the Bok job! that’s what I think…I sure do :lol:

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-45: man oh man….cream rises to the top.

Maybe my dream of a wc 20-11 assault with LW at the helm may still become a reality…

• 59.Tisme: Reply to this comment

oh and by the way, I never liked JW, I actually prefer Pdivvy, but his recent antics indicate that he could actually be a clown

• 60.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Kind of strange to criticise Krustys lack of media savvy on the one hand and then state “he’s not the best” on the other, thereby tarring himself with the same brush.

Talk about personalising politics, large egos at work here.

• 61.Tisme: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-57:
    Agree! he must stay with the Bulls….. even a coach like Ludeke thrives under the structures implemented by HM

;-)

• 62.klippies101: Reply to this comment

i dont beleive meyer will ever get the job. i dont beleive the anc will ever let another white man coach the boks

• 63.Tisme: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-58: LW at the helm of the Boks?????? dream on my boy

• 64.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Alister Coetzee will be the next Springbok coach. Hands down.Bet the house on it.

• 65.Tisme: Reply to this comment

@klippies101(klippies101)-62:
    Agree

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-64:
    Yup, another transformation appointment?

*Luke leading the Boks* the thought of that makes me nauseas!

• 66.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@klippies101(klippies101)-62: not even the anc stands a chance in the SARU ranks…..those corridors are reserved for thick skinned money crazed fat cats….oh, hold on, actually i think they may just get along nicely….

• 67.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Other than Kitch Christie and Nick Mallett (pre-Teich brainfart) the Boks have never had a coach who is the best in the world in his time.

PdV is just about equal to JW.

I admired JW bloody mindedness, but his treachery with PdV is the same, if not worse than that which he experienced from the Cheekies and others during his tenure.

Good on you Oregan Hoskins…

He will always stand in the pantheon as a WC winning coach but his current machinations are unedifying.

• 68.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tisme(Tisme)-63: i certainly will continue the dream.

He would be far better than plod

• 69.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-68: Are you also anti Schalk Burger and anti Andries Bekker considering they have also stated that they did not enjoy playing in the same team as Luke at Western Province?

• 70.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

why was pdv appointed? who forced oregan to make that decision? government? butana kompela? cedrick frolick? zuma? who? if he was a political appointment, who made the call?

• 71.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Tisme(Tisme)-65: take a pill if it makes you nauseous.

I been on a diet of painkillers for 2 years now watching plod run out in front of the boks….or should i say waddle out !

Luke is the man….

and i reckon we havent seen the last of him

• 72.grant10: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-69: not a huge schalk fan…..he definitley is no fetcher….could never come close to LW in that regard.

A Bekker is a future great….but i hope he overcomes the back surgery.

• 73.grant10: Reply to this comment

someone phone Mallet ….

• 74.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Tisme(Tisme)-65: fact of life in this country unfortunately. Having said this Alister has got the experience and had had some success, as an international coach under Jake and with the Stormers this (and hopefully next) year.

I’d be really surprised if Luke gets another look in. Chilli will be the next Springbok captain, you can bet your holiday house on that one….

• 75.RaGe_X: Reply to this comment

Alright, who are the smartasses who voted for Muir/Gold?

• 76.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-67: “Unedifying”. Splendid stuff!

• 77.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

@Tisme(Tisme)-55:

If you think that, that only happens when a springbok coach is picked, you are seriously wrong. I just think its weird that Heyeneke who so wanted the job and would put his life, his marriage (then again he dropped Leicester mid-season to go home) and put in blood and sweat for the Boks didn’t fight more for the job.

• 78.logie_Jumpbuck: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-72: what back surgery? did i miss something?

• 79.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-76: or uneddieflying over to help him out :wink:

• 80.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-78: Out until the end of the year – he needs surgery on a disc in his back.

• 81.theOracle: Reply to this comment

Against top 2 rivals (not sure what the ranking is at the moment)if memory serves me correctly.

PdV GH PdV RD

2008 1 2 1 2
    2009 3 0 2 1
    2010 (semi) 0 2 0 1

Total 4 4 3 4

Anyone want to predict what the scoreboard will say after 3 home games?

I think I’ve got too much time on my hands… let me get back to work…

• 82.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

I think a killer coaching team would be:

Nick Mallet – Head Coach
    Matt Proudfoot – Forwards Coach
    Alistair Coetzee – Backs Coach
    Alan Solomons – Technical Coach

• 83.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RaGe_X(RaGe_X)-75: Moi – for all of them, I wish.

A bulldust banana republic vote for a bulldust keo banana republic election.

• 84.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

so jake cheated on his wife, so what? didn’t PDV also poke a chick in EL?

• 85.theOracle: Reply to this comment

PdV GH PdV RD

2008 1 2 1 2
    2009 3 0 2 1
    2010 (semi) 0 2 0 1

Total 4 4 3 4

That should look better! :roll:

• 86.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-85:
    Oh d a r n it!

anyway PdV is on par with GH at 4-4 …
    his is trailing RD 3-4 3N games…

• 87.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-82: Mine would be:

Mallett – Manager
    PdV – Head Coach
    Rossouw – Backs
    Plumtree – Forwards
    Les Kiss (remember him) – Defence
    Conditioning – anyone but the incumbents

• 88.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-79: Even better LOL!!!

• 89.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@RaGe_X(RaGe_X)-86: eish. that is not on.

• 90.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-56: that’s a shame if true, although I don’t agree that Meyer deserves the job. It should be Ludeke’s and his coaching team on merit, he’s the one who led the Bulls to two S14 titles and won the CC.

• 91.RaGe_X: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-91: Agreed, will delete my cookies and change my pick to him.

• 92.Ig: Reply to this comment

@RaGe_X(RaGe_X)-86: Eish and people wonder why we label Bulls fans idjits and backward.

Time to emigrate you chop.

• 93.AJ: Reply to this comment

I am sure these comments are out of context from Regan Hoskins. There is no way he would say his coach is not the best in the world, at least he wouldn`t say it that way. But these kind of stories sell papers. He has done a very good job in backing his coaches, like them or not, this is definitely another play on words by a desperate journalist.

• 94.RaGe_X: Reply to this comment

@Ig(Ig)-93: my post is entirely factual other than using the K-bomb, you cannot refute that.

• 95.Ig: Reply to this comment

@RaGe_X(RaGe_X)-95: Well actually its complete **** – but why bother arguing with someone of limited intelligence?

• 96.Roy: Reply to this comment

good bye RaGe_X.

• 97.gunther: Reply to this comment

Rage x @86

Not cool not cool at all.

Very embraboer.

• 98.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

Jake White wins against Fiji, Samoa, USA, Argentina, England,next thing, the guy is a legend, WTF!!!!, line up all these teams in next four weeks and PDV will beat them without breaking a sweat!!!!!

• 99.Wolf: Reply to this comment

I think we had a very similar discussion in 2006 when JW lost in NZ and Oz…I actually remember people wanting Rassie to take over…or Mallet. Same thing…and we all know what happened in 2007.

• 100.Ig: Reply to this comment

@Wolf(Wolf)-99: Indeed.

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-98: Also very true.

What i don’t understand is bar 2004 and last year – this is pretty standard fare for our Tri-Nations away leg.

• 101.RaGe_Xx: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-98: 5 nations in 4 weeks… go back to school kid

• 102.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Wolf(Wolf)-99: You speak truth

• 103.Wolf: Reply to this comment

@Ig(Ig)-100: I agree…not sure what the rush is to throw in the towel with this current Bok team and management. We are also missing 6 players who would make a significant impact.

I think we should wait until after the next 3 matches are played to see where we stand. Should we win all three all it says to me is that it’s standard business as usual in that all three teams are good at home. With the upper hand going to NZ who will be hosting the WC.

• 104.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@RaGe_Xx(RaGe_Xx)-101: Yes, will play Fiji on Saturday, Samoa midweek, then Argentina and England on the weekends, The Boks have just played 3 tests in 3 weeks against number 1 and number 3 in the world, surely they can handle four minnows and 1 home nation, in fact here is there squad.

1. Guthro, Beast
    2. Chilliboy, Smit
    3. BJ, CJ
    4. Rossouw,Fondse
    5. Matfield, Bekker
    6. Schalk, Brussouw
    7. Juan, Flo
    8. Potties, Spies
    9. Ruan, Ricster
    10. Steyn, Butch
    11. Habana, Nokwe
    12. JDV, JDJ
    13. Mossie,
    14. Aplon, Basson
    15. Steyn, Jantjes

Anyway this is hypothetical, the point was/is Jake White played against Fiji, Samoa, USA, Argentina and England and now some of you are making him out to be a freakin genius, **** that!!!

• 105.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@AJ(AJ)-93: quiet true, in fact, had Regan said the coach is the best in the world, Keo and his side-kicks would have made a headline about it, so whatever Regan says will always be twisted to suite the agenda.

• 106.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Can anyone remind me which Keo-blogger resides in Paris ?

• 107.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

So how many tests have Pdivvy lost with a margin of 49 points? And how often has he lost 5 in a row?

• 108.grant10: Reply to this comment

all 88791 tickets sold in soccer city for kiwi test.

• 109.GriekwasStormer: Reply to this comment

@XhosaKid(XhosaKid)-104: Let me start by saying, I won’t appoint him as coach again due to the way how he handled Schalk Brits in the media. Luke Watson brought it onto himself when his dad helped him get a selection, so I won’t completely blame JW for that one.

However, a WC win is a WC win! It’s like an Olympic gold medal. For the next 4 years you are the World Champs/Olympic gold medalist.

That said, I hope they appoint Rassie/AC next year. Rassie as director and AC as coach. They took the Stormers from a poofter team to playing in the final.

• 110.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Wolf(Wolf)-99: The worry for me in this is the idea that as part of our World Cup winning strategy we have to be humilated in the Tri-Nations the year before the world cup, and more importantly lose the psychological edge of beating New Zealand in New Zealand – the country of the World Cup.

The problem is not so much that we lost, but rather the manner in which we lost. We seemed sterile, and bereft of ideas. We also didn’t adapt from one test to next, and appeared to be tactically inept.

It is all good saying that we have won the World Cup from the same position, but this fails to consider the manner in which we lost, and also a million other facts that surrounded our World Cup victory.

• 111.willievz: Reply to this comment

He should just speak in Afrikaans and get an interpreter, all the European and South American football coaches speak in their mother tongue.

However, I suspect there would be political issues regarding such a move.

• 112.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-110: What did our “pychological edge” get us this season.??

• 113.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

WPW et al, Torres has just confirmed he is staying at Pool

• 114.Wolf: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-110: Do agree with you to a certain extent…and do agree that if we had won in NZ we would of help a psycological edge for next years WC…but that being said there is A…a lot of rugby still to be played between now and next’s years WC including another Tri-Nations…and B…correct me if I’m wrong but for the most past the All Blacks have ALWAYS held the psycological edge going into the past WC’s and we all know how much that helped them.

My thoughts are simple…lets wait and see where we are after this Tri-Nations and take it from there. Can our boys turn it around…because if they do…other teams will take note.

I bring up similarities to 06/07 only to illustrate and even though we thought we were dead and buried for 07 we won. I even remember a panel discussion with all the previous WC winners asking which team would be the biggest failure…and John Eales said the Boks.

Cheers.

• 115.SteveWarren: Reply to this comment

If jake white was such a great coach why hasn’t someone else hired him I agree with hoskins

• 116.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-110: Even more worryng is the fact that the majority of players are 4 years older and we have yet to see a young face in our team.

Unfortunately SA Rugby is now reaping the rewards of is own policies. When last did we see an U19 or U21 team in a world cup final? Just look at the Craven week selctions and tell me if the team selected consists of the strongest school players (not provincial players as quota politics comes into play in provincial selections). Why si development money lining the pockets of teh development officers and nto being spent in develpoing school player talent whatever colour or creed they may be? WE haev no policy forget abotu team level, we have no national sport policy either than vying for mediocrity so what do you expect.

We have finally hit where we want to be, mediocrity, the simple admission that we have a coach that is not the best but meets the greater aim of “transformation” criteria and politics proves it. What are we transforming a winning team into a losing one by appointing incomptent joe? Anyway if the boks continue to lose spectators will start voting with their feet and then we ‘ll see the demise of rugby as a sport of excellence in SA. Maybe by tehn soccer may have sorted its own p[roblems out so we will have at least a team selected on merit to cheer for even if they are pretty *****.

• 117.Boksarenumber5: Reply to this comment

Snort the Affirmative Action m o n k e y

• 118.Boksarenumber5: Reply to this comment

@Objective 101(Objective 101)-116:

Quotas will be the death of SA rugby

ANC will be the death of SA

lol @ your soccer comment
    bafana is a fully racist team

• 119.Objective 101: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber5(Boksarenumber1)-117: No need to be insulting to the person but he is way out of his depth. Only more losses wil make people chaneg their mind. Forget about JW I am looking at present times.

• 120.chubb: Reply to this comment

Bring the Beast and Smith back!!!

• 121.Boksarenumber5: Reply to this comment

Bob Dywer one of the greatest rugby minds said this

“KIRCHNER IS A GOOD PLAYER BUT DOUBT HE IS WORLD CLASS,
    APLON I LIKE HIM
    FRANS STEYN IS A MUST
    MORNE STEYN I AM IMPRESSED WITH HIS DEVELOPEMENT BUT
    IT WOULD BE VERY IMPRESSIVE FOR HIM TO PLAY WELL IF YOU HAVE ‘DUDS’ INSIDE AND OUTSIDE YOU”
    Referring to Januarie and Olivier

South Africa’s rugby minds are idiots

• 122.Boksarenumber5: Reply to this comment

Lol Jake must be on some heavy medication

• 123.coherence: Reply to this comment

The people have spoken. Heyneke Meyer should be the next Bok coach.

However, I think PDV is a good coach when he is humble. Over the last year or so, he has probably been the opposite of humble. If he changes his attitude over the next few weeks, then the Springboks can be strong again.

• 124.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Difference, bar colour between Jake and PDV.Jake started building PDV modifying.To modify something is not unusual,I did it myself in order to extract more power, high lift camshafts,pistons,skimmed heads, carbs,you name it, I had it.
    Later in life after I had learnt my lesson,that is a better
    to buy a fast car and leave as it is,it was too late.Wish
    I had some of the dough back though might come in handy today.
    Guess PDV is still to learn the drawbacks of the modification
    game to.Some of the Boks look seriously overweight,as if on
    weight gain programme.

• 125.coherence: Reply to this comment

@Brentie1(Brentie1)-124:

Nothing that can’t be fixed. If PDV becomes humble, he can improve his selections.

If you’re hoping we will win the next RWC, you can forget about it. NZ extremely unlikely to lose at home, and PDV’s planning for the World Cup has been bad.

Jake White’s planning for the RWC was great, but that was all he had to offer. We also had some luck during the RWC, and if we didn’t have that then Jake White would forever be remembered as a mediocre coach.

In summary, there are pros and cons to the two coaches. Right now I wish Heyneke Meyer had been in charge, but I know PDV can still turn things around if he changes his attitude.

• 126.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

there was no luck. NZ lost to France – therefor France was the better team. France & Aus lost to england = England was the better team … we beat england … we are the champs …as easy as that ….

We can’t say Spain were lucky – cause they never played Brazil

• 127.coherence: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-126:

France scored a try from a forward pass and had a lot of decisions go their way in the match against New Zealand. New Zealand was evidently in poor form. In the knockout stages, the Boks were poor against weaker teams like Fiji, the USA and Argentina. They somehow managed to wake up when it really mattered.

Things could have been different. On top of that, Jake White managed to get Eddie Jones as a consultant. He was reportedly an influential part of the coaching set up. What if Eddie Jones had been unavailable?

South Africa has made very brief appearances at the top of the IRB rankings, whereas NZ has dominated. If you don’t think there was any luck in this victory, then you can prepare yourself for bitter dissapointment in the future.

• 128.JL1: Reply to this comment

Well, well, well!
    Seems that the Lang messe are out and the “get rid of PDV” is gathering momentum
    Harry Viljoen resigned because of that sort of pressure

Jake White use to say, or was it it Nick Mallet, that you get 2 types of Bok coaches.Those that have been fired and those that will be fired

• 129.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

I was a Jake White fan.

The man restored pride in the Springboks.

Not the best coach. He had his limitations. But the best of a very sad bunch that marked SA’s worst period of results in their history:- 1997 with Du Plessis and post the 1999 RWC with Viljoen and Streauli.

But Jake has had his chance. Time for a new direction and fresh ideas.

I also think the timing of his statements reflects poorly on him.

But re the recent performances… let’s be brutally honest:

Januarie
    Olivier
    Jean de Villiers on the wing
    Kirchner
    Kankowski

These players aren’t the best in their positions? What were they doing on the field?

Beast
    Bismark
    Juan Smith
    Heinrich Brussow
    Fourie Du Preez
    Frans Steyn
    JP P

These players are all not available for one reason or another (mostly injury)

Matfield
    Smit

These players either need a long break if they have any hope of reaching the 2011 RWC, or a bick kick up their arses.

Sack the first list, get the 2nd list back and motivate the third list and voila, big difference to the team.

• 130.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Jake cannot add value to the Boks.

It’s as simple as that. We need not discuss it any further.

What he has achieved tho is to become one of rugby’s most self-absorbed an narcissistic characters.

How can someone be so out of touch with where he is at?

• 131.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

By definition, White IS or WAS the “best in the world”. So if PdV is not, then he clearly is not as good as White.

How the HELL can you be happy with a coach that is NOT the best in the world? Hell, we should be the leaders of teh world – we have the most passion for the game, and the largest pool of very talented personell (players and coaching wise). How can he be satisfied with mediocity?

• 132.JohnX: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-130:

Jake White can always add value, even did so at the GLRU if only they followed through with it.

Being self-absorbed & narcissistic doesn’t mean he doesn’t know his rugby.

• 133.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Jake had a 66% win record. Currently PDV has — guess what? — a 66% record.

Looks at the scoreboard.

It’s six of one and half-a-dozen of the other.

Jake really wasn’t crash-hot. Mediocre is the word. Div too.

Graham Henry has an 81% win record.

• 134.Yetirat: Reply to this comment

I think the lesson to be learned here is don’t employ any coach at National level until they’ve proven themselves at the highest domestic level .i.e. Currie Cup.

• 135.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-126: Spanish chests would be puffed out a whole lot further if they somehow HAD beaten Brazil. They know that. So do you.

• 136.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-133:

Grey-ham Henry.

Please advise him to plan in advance whether he will clap his hands, punch the air or give his mate a high 5 when something good happens during the game.

He also looks so tentative. Almost as if he wonders whether Paddy’s plan will actually come to fruition.

For example: Will they do a replay that shows that Nonu did not ground the ball?

Someone must have given the brief: the higher the likelihood that the AB score the higher the number of replays. It is for that reason that Nonu’s was replayed for a maximum of 1 time.

When Nonu’s mates asked him: did you get it, in other words, did you ground the ball, he simply nodded because he did, but only AFTER the ref awarded the try

• 137.JohnX: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-133:

Give it time, Peter’s year from hell is just getting started.

• 138.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Note to the RWC2011 RWC organisers: please ensure that the lighting at the stadiums = sufficient

Boks not used to play in candlelight, which is 30% why they were beaten in NZ; 60% to ref and the rest due to boredom

• 139.wooden spoon: Reply to this comment

Jakey had 66.7%

PDV has 65.6%

So Henry has lost 19%…

Well every 4 years you can guarantee 1 loss to France at the RWC…

The vast majority of the rest… and I mean the vast majority… 7 out of 12 losses … have been to the Boks.

• 140.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-138:
    I know how you feel.
    I sat through a game in 2007,it was a final of some trophy. These teams had perfect lighting and good refs yet they still made the game boring.

• 141.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-130: Jake is his own worst enemy. I’m sure I speak for many who believe the man has an opinion of himself one step too far. Confidence is one thing. Arrogance is quite another. Consider the following: Mallett found him surplus to requirements. He won a WC and was promptly relieved of his duties. He has been ‘coach jobless since that WC. Why?

• 142.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Boks, despite the slight setback of the last 3 weeks, the most feared rugby side on the planet.

The world is in a state of equilibrium when the Boks win.

• 143.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-139: hullo Spooner. Welcome back. Again. Couldn’t resist could you. The same old, same old. :)

• 144.JohnX: Reply to this comment

@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-139:

Jakey had to build a team from scratch, PDV took over World Champions.

I’ll always be a Jake White fan!

• 145.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@TASSIES(TASSIES)-141:

I have written extensively here how Jake should be involved in grassroots rugby.

There can be no denying that he has a passion for rugby.

Teacher background x passion for rugby = school boy rugby coach

That is where Jake had his happiest years, read his book.

• 146.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@JohnX(John_Psycho)-132: half the job is man management. Jake appears to operate like the schoolmaster he once was. Namely selecting personal favorites and stubbornly sticking to a philosophy which simply wasn’t working. If referring to “the fetcha da beer theory”.

• 147.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

I dont like the yellow colour of the chairs there in the Cake Tin

Boring.

• 148.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-145: not arguing with you on that point lawman. Makes perfect sense. Book read, done and dusted. The book told me a lot about the man I didn’t admire. But I doff my hat to his many achievements, mostly under enormous pressure and against all odds. But my opinion remains until someone convinces me otherwise.

• 149.Heita: Reply to this comment

@JohnX(John_Psycho)-144:

Adding value is about showing a MEASURABLE improvement
    In the years leading to 2009 the Lions made the CC finals/semi finals
    In JWC(coniving)W year of 2009 they did not make the knockouts
    So lets talk fact based on hard measure
    And lets not forget, despite endless self marketing not a single big job offer; he is busy coaching school coaches for goodness sake
    Over to you

• 150.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

@Heita(heita)-149: well I’m asking myself the same question. People don’t like arrogant. Jake exudes that nauseous condition and one has to believe it is one of the reasons why he is in fact only coaching at that level today. Who knows the truth but one is left to wonder why.

• 151.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-142:
    Feared??
    I wouldnt go that far.You cant fear a team and expect to win. The Abs dont fear them,as will as the Boks dont fear the ABs as PDV explained this as he jumped on the plane before the first game in Auckland this year.

• 152.TASSIES: Reply to this comment

damn quiet tonight. I’m going to bed. Cheers oaks. Till another time.

• 153.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-147:
    Yep understand. The Boks have seen to much yellow of late.

• 154.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-153: yep, the lawman and his “observations” ..

if ever there was blind “justice”

• 155.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Meanwhile in NZ, 83% of people indicated that they do not believe that foreigners should be able to buy farmland there.

The fascination with PdV continues – 10pics of the unpredictable PdV on NZ Herald online; Boks clearly the most admired team on the planet

Also, you can now see the sum total of Grey-ham Henry’s moves on a one-pager – on a pic there – those are the only moves he could come up with

• 156.charo: Reply to this comment

truth of the matter is….

jake brought back the tradition and values of the bok jersey and culture.
    ok, he wasn’t the greatest coach.
    but..after the dark days of dolfi and corne krige we lost the thuggish behaviour and image.
    jake brought back the honour of handing out and receiving the bok jersey.
    loyal and revered boks were honoured – no new players every test.
    all this counts a lot to reviving the bok brand and pride.
    unfortunately i think pdv has reversed a lot of this good work with his bizarre outbursts and general lack of discipline shown lately.
    nevertheless, to me, pdv is more of a rugby man than jake.
    pity we can’t find a morphed combination of the two men

• 157.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-153:

I stated before that I wanted the Boks to win Saturday’s game for the Aborigini communities in Australia, but have now diarised it for a future date

I didnt see anythin special in the Wallaby team, our guys were just “gatvol” – a SA expression that means sick and tired

You would be too if you are cheated LEFT, RIGHT AND CENTRE.

• 158.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-155: “admired” ?

too much lager lawman…

PDV is so popular in NZ, along with Schalk, that they have done some advertising for McDonalds in NZ..

theyre selling

“the krusty burger”

even in Januarie

they were going to call it a happy meal, but apparently the longer it stays digested, the more nausea it creates..

• 159.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Cheers fellas.

Last thought: New Zealand is wrong.

But justice will come. Just like the iwi had to wait all these years for the Govt to reimburse them.

Newspaper headlines 2 June 2025: New Zealand and Alain Rolland apologises to SA Rugby formally.

• 160.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-142:
    “The world is in a state of equilibrium when the Boks win.”

Your tiny world is, yes.

• 161.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-155:
    Sheriff,i was under the impression that big time movie stars and overseas companies have been buying huge blocks of land and i think it was that the majority of people wanted at least a cap on how much land they can buy. NZ is small country unlike South Africa but no one wants to buy land there for some reason,would you know why?

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-159:
    ” Just like the iwi had to wait all these years for the Govt to reimburse them.”
    I am maori Sheriff and what you are saying is rubbish.
    As if you are worried about Maori anyway. But i could be wrong and if you have changed a corner then you should help the coloured in South Africa as well.
    You know the thousands that have no running water,power or sewers.

• 162.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-136:

and Ruben Kruger scored (’95). Right ?

and James Dalton scored (’98). Right ?

• 163.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-155:

How do you know this – bored in SA ?

• 164.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

The rot starts at the top with Hoskins been the chief clown. Too many potical appointments and not enough rugby men in the management setup.
    The Bok stops here

• 165.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-161:
    Hmmm that was ” Could have turned a corner “

• 166.Monty: Reply to this comment

Please please SA rugby – keep PdV on as coach until after the world cup in 2011. Then we(NZ) may have a chance and not choke in the semi when we meet SA.

• 167.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Monty(Monty)-166:
    We choked in the quarters last time,dont look to far ahead of ourselves

• 168.Hondo: Reply to this comment

Matter of interest:
    Since when that anc poppet Hoskins is called ‘Regan’?
    I thought he is called “Oregan’?

• 169.Hondo: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-163:
    I think he emigrated recently to either Oz or NZ, his rugby comments deteriorated accordingly

• 170.Storm Voort: Reply to this comment

Lets just get one things straight…..Jake White is not the be all of coaching. PDV has his faults (numerous to be honest), but so does Jake. Would Brussouw been given a chance under White with his view on the role of the fetcher? Hell no…..and would Smit still of been captain under White even if he wasn’t playing up to standard anymore? I’d take a guess and say yes.

Jake White won the biggest prize in rugby, the World Cup. BUT…what else did he achieve really? Not much to be honest……

That being said I think PDV has to prove now that he has what it takes to make the hard decisions….and he needs to shut up!!!!

• 171.BreakdownBoy: Reply to this comment

Hoskins is probably the best administrator the game has had in SA for a long while. But his personal feelings is a bog weakness. I personally think he is an ANC puppet but a well organized ANC puppet. I also don’t see White coming back. We need a lasting impact at the bok setup. Not just regarding certain players but regarding structure and the positions that the bok staff should have.

What did Pdiv start his tenure with. Himself, Muir and Gold? There was no analyst, forwards coach, defensive coach, scrumming coach or kicking coach. Only leter did PDiv employ the latter two. We still don’t have a recognized forwards coach!

A structure is needed to make it clear that every bok team needs the right staff from the get go! Jake White brought in more people from the beginning as he new that he can’t do it alone.

In the end PDiv is a BEE appointment, end of story. Alistair Coetzee would have been a much better appointment if they so dearly wanted colour. But I suspect Hoskins is bloody bitter *** who hated the Jake White Coaching team.

Our administration seems to be continually stuck in the amature area!

• 172.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Hondo(Hondo)-169:

sure about that ????

• 173.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Storm Voort(Storm Voort)-170:

What else did he do? You mean outside of picking up a team in tatters, moulding them into a team good enough to win the WC. In the process also mending the image of a dirty bunch of ******** and rebuilding the respect others had for the Springboks…well, not much I suppose.

• 174.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Note to Jake White:

Allister Coetzee has called on Springbok supporters to back their team during this difficult time and he is confident the Boks can “fix the potholes” in the home leg of the Tri-Nations.

This is how you do it Jakey

• 175.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-174:

Exactly, I have great respect for Allister and would back him utterly and completely to be the next Springbok coach after Peter de Villiers’s contract expires after the RWC 2011.

• 176.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-175:

Shame on you.

You would see Allister subjected to the same level of abuse shown to Div here!

• 177.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

Oh and FYI…

Cant remember who highlighted it yesterday but Luke Watson has not been officially appointed captain of Bath (not yet in anycase) – nothing is official as of yet.

• 178.wpw: Reply to this comment

@PissAnt(PissAnt)-174:

:twisted:

• 179.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-176:

One of the drawbacks of high office, I’m afraid, is that you subject yourself to public criticism.

Nowadays, if I see a post I don’t agree with, I just scroll on by.

My stress levels are great as a result :lol:

• 180.munkiboi: Reply to this comment

this whole thing is just further embarrassment at a time SA rugby does not need it.

Hoskins critices PDVivvy for comments to media and really Jake and Hoskins are not helping the situation by getting themselves in too.

• 181.garth: Reply to this comment

If it were up to me, Jake, Snor nor Hoskins would be involved. I’d put Morne Du Plessis in charge of SARugby and Meyer in charge of the Boks. Nobody wants Snor and Hoskins there, so who exactly put them there? We need rugby people run rugby. Not useless pawns.

• 182.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-181:

Morne DuP will not touch SA Rugby with a 50 foot long pole.

He tried that once and realised his mistake very quickly.

• 183.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-161:

“As if you are worried about Maori anyway. But i could be wrong and if you have changed a corner then you should help the coloured in South Africa as well.”

Yes yes! Please help!

• 184.Dawn: Reply to this comment

“You know the thousands that have no running water,power or sewers.

Smelly coloured!

• 185.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Jinne.

Some days this blog is a hoot!!!

• 186.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

most of them have soap, they just prefer not 2 use it

• 187.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Anyhoo.

I’ve decided to line the cast and crew of New Moon against a wall and shoot them.

Slowly.

• 188.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-186:

And you can join them.

• 189.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

yes prawn

• 190.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

PDV shud man up and resign or gurantee us the WC which he damn well cnt .FUKN clown

• 191.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@BULLETHEAD Jnr(BULLETHEAD Jnr)-190: why should he do that, because he just lost games to the same teams he klapped last year? :roll: did henry resign when he got 3-0 by pdvor coach jsmit, matfield & du preez last year?

• 192.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-189:

Prawn….aich! I think I’ll use that one.

• 193.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

How does one shoot slowly?

• 194.BULLETHEAD Jnr: Reply to this comment

believe me its different PDV does not knw wat the hell he is doing!! Things will not get any better for the boks while his still in charge. its back to the dark days of 2003. I mean ask the man wat his game plan is and all you,ll get is rhetoric about flowers blooming,pots, pans and moses playing scrumhalf

• 195.zoo cleaner: Reply to this comment

You saying JW was tactically astute?

You mean the only coach in world to never appreciate the value of a fetching flank? You mean the coach who only had one – one – tactic which was to boot the ball deep and pressurise. 2006 was as much about how limited JW was a coach as it was about anything. To have relied on Schalk Burger so heavily was pathetic and it showed in those results.

“How to win with 30% possession” by JW.

JW would not have beaten the Lions and if he did, he would not have won the 3N – because he would not have selected Brussouw (“too small”).

Its plainly obvious that the primary reason we were so dominant last season was the emergence of a genuinely balanced backrow. This balance was again lost this year. Finally we could turnover ball and gain parity if not dominate possession. That gave FDP and MS more than enough ball and enough time to work their accurate kicking game and move it around the park with confidence because the ball could be protected.

The only difference is that JW was better with the media than PDivvy.

• 196.cab: Reply to this comment

‘the Krusty Burger’ – LMAO

great to Head Snr Coach De Villiers and Schalla dominating the headlines in kiwiland.

• 197.cab: Reply to this comment

Krusty the clown, hahaha, Coach De Villiers’ needs a decent PR man, **** he could have such fun downunder with that and bait those ********.

• 198.cab: Reply to this comment

whats going on with the sterretjies, looks like scope.

• 199.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-198:

Al die vloekery

• 200.cab: Reply to this comment

oh ja, better try mind the p’s and q’s.

• 201.julz: Reply to this comment

Down with egos, quotas and politics. Give us the best and cut the ****…..

• 202.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

Div is no where near half the coach that Jake was… at least with Jake he had a plan and didn’t look and talk like the village idiot.

• 203.Porra the Fat and Clever Speedster: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-17:

where
    is tshwane
    you
    arrsecreep

• 204.Mally: Reply to this comment

What does Hoskins actually do?

• 205.ET: Reply to this comment

@203

It is clear that you are so fat a r s e d and thus sitting on ‘ jou breinpietjie’ that you have no understanding of emphasising specific, particular localities.

Use your lexicon to give you a workable understanding of;
    1. emphasising

2. specific

3. particular

4. lexicon

Those are not Portugese (or Brazilian slang) words you know?

• 206.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

@Mally(Mally)-204: hires a clown who is an under qualified coach to coach the national team and makes the Boks a laughing stock.

• 207.ET: Reply to this comment

@Mally(Mally)-204:

Pander to his ‘verkrampte plattelandse’ bosses so that he gets there votes next time they vote for that office.

• 208.ET: Reply to this comment

@fish out of water(fish out of water)-206:

But Hoskins himself is hired by clowns, the unfortunate thing is that those clowns are more amusing because they speak a non-African language(always amusing to Africans as opposed to Caucasians/Europeans) and, more importantly, they control the pursestrings that so interests Hoskie.

• 209.ET: Reply to this comment

@fish out of water(fish out of water)-206:

All in all it is a veritable CIRCUS of CLOWNS where each one tries damn hard to outperform the others, hence the hilarity while in the meantime the ABs are on the cusp of greatness, again.

• 210.fish out of water: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-208: This is true, so basically we are scr*wed…

• 211.cab: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-209:
    cusp of greatness my arse, they aint won a world cup in over 20 years.

• 212.cab: Reply to this comment

We are the champions, my friends
    And we’ll keep on fighting – till the end
    We are the champions
    No time for losers
    Cause we are the champions – of the world

• 213.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-211:

Well if they do so next year(win WC) then the word cusp will be removed to make the greatness a reality.

The original words “cusp of greatness” belongs to that great Aussie lock and WC winning coach, Rod McQueen. So argue with him.

• 214.cab: Reply to this comment

ET come now, we must work in the present.
    Currently the Boks are world champions and 3N champions, we are holding all the cups – all polished.
    So we lose a few matches in the 3N with half our team missing, never fear Coach De Villiers is eyeing out the Grand Slam.

• 215.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-214:

Cups are dead inanimate objects not even worth the money for the price of Brasso.

Grand slam? Shows you need a bed at Valkenberg.

Too much is rotting in sick S.A. rugby. It will all come down like a stack of cards(YCs & RCs at that).

I will say that they will barely win, at least, one game at home just because they are s h i t scared of their fans.
    If they do not do that then the S H I T will truly hit the ceiling fan.

• 216.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Well done people of Catalina for voteing out distgusting cowardly bullfighting.

• 217.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-216:

Catalina never has nor ever will have any bullfighting. It has concrete casinos and cheesy Americans in chinos. Everywhere.

Catalonia, perhaps.

• 218.Bluewhitegreengold: Reply to this comment

15 Steyn/Jantjies/Joe Pietersen
    14 Vd Heever/JP Pietersen
    13 Fourie/De Jongh
    12 De Villiers/De Jongh
    11 Habana/Aplon
    10 Grant/Steyn
    9 DuPreez/Vermaak/Hougaard
    8 Spies/Burger
    7 Smith/Flouw
    6 Brussouw/Burger
    5 Matfield/Bekker
    4 Roussouw/Fondse/Skeat
    3 Steenkamp/Beast
    2 Smit/Bismarck
    1 CJ/BJ/Jannie

Squad that can defend the World Cup. Won’t happen but my 2c

• 219.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-217: Thankyou, you right tokoloshe. :lol:

• 220.blueboy: Reply to this comment

Finally hoskins has admitted that snor`s appointment as bok head coach was a quota appointment (and that should settle any arguements once and for all) to the detrement of sa rugby,and to think HM got shafted for snor it is a f#####g disgrace,i have no other words to write.

• 221.TheBoksAreBack: Reply to this comment

Yeah … when will the racism in SA stop, its been over 20 years already FFS … enough already.

Just put the best in each position, full stop. Stop being so brainless thinking racist quotas. If you put the best in each position instead of ‘carrying’ quota’s the business thrives and grows and more opportunities are created to employ more. Quotas kill economy.

• 222.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-219:

and lets not forget that jewel of Italia, Catania.

let alone Santa Catalina in Chianti. Of course.

• 223.stormer in a teacup: Reply to this comment

I look forward to the AB’s winning the World Cusp, because they won’t win the World Cup.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.