Currie Cup latest (Wed)

Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Currie Cup.

Hougaard starts at 9

Francois Hougaard will return to his preferred position of scrumhalf for the Bulls’ match against the Lions.

Hougaard played the majority of the Super 14 on the wing, and was picked for the Tri-Nations because of his ability to cover two positions. Now that the Boks have a three-week break before their next Test, coach Peter de Villiers has released Hougaard to rejoin the Bulls.

Frans Ludeke has made several changes, with Dewald Potgieter coming in for the injured Deon Stegmann and Flip van der Merwe replacing Wilhelm Steenkamp at lock. Jaco Engels comes in for injured loosehead Dean Greyling.

Blue Bulls – Jaco van der Westhuyzen, Gerhard van den Heever, Stephan Dippenaar, Stefan Watermeyer, John Mametsa, Jacques-Louis Potgieter, Francois Hougaard, Gerrit-Jan van Velze, Dewald Potgieter, Derick Kun, Juandre Kruger, Flip van der Merwe, Werner Kruger, Gary Botha (c.), Jaco Engels.
Subs: Chiliboy Ralepelle, Bees Roux, Fudge Mabeta, CJ Stander, Ruan Snyman, Francois Brummer, Hayden Groepes.

Player boosts for Sharks

In addition to three of their returning Springboks, flank Jean Deysel and flyhalf Steve Meyer are set to feature against the Cheetahs on Saturday.

Meyer, who injured his ankle at training last week, will be available and Deysel is expected to make his first Currie Cup appearance in Bloemfontein this weekend.

Boks Ruan Pienaar, Beast Mtawarira and Ryan Kankowski are all available for selection while Willem Alberts will also strengthen the loose forward ranks after emerging injury free in his impressive return against the Pumas last Friday.

Bismarck du Plessis could feature this week, or the next, and will be subject to a late fitness test. Du Plessis missed the Boks first seven Tests of 2010 through a neck injury.

The Sharks will name their match 22 later this week.

62 Comments

• 1.Staal: Reply to this comment

Co nomments Dragons!

• 2.grant10: Reply to this comment

whats the latest on Bissy?

I hear he is training again.

• 3.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Ok so the sharks now have Kanko, Alberts, Deysel, Daniel, Botes. Nice depth there. Curious to see who they pick???

They better choose wisely, the Cheetahs are on a roll…(although I suspect that the Durban boys will have too much for the Bloem boys…)

• 4.money_man: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-2:

He’ll be back with the Sharks in two weeks, probably from the bench if at all…

• 5.grant10: Reply to this comment

@money_man(money_man)-4: thanks

will be great to have him back in the mix

• 6.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-3: Not so sure if sharks will win in Bloem…..

• 7.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-6: they should Grant, if they don’t then they’re really ****.

• 8.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-6: True. The Sharks have a great squad though, particularly when you look at Ruan back at 10, JPP at 14, The front 5, ….

This will be the match of the weekend for sure!

• 9.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-7: Bloem is a tough son of a gun my man….

on paper maybe….but on frozen bloem grass??

And cheetahs tails up….

I will say cheetahs by 8

• 10.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-8: ruan bak at 10???

Sharks 1st mistake.

Ruan will be so happy to get on that plane to Ulster…..poor bugger….messed about as bad as F Steyn…..and we know where that got us….

crazy….

work to do

• 11.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

Did they ever disclose the reasons for Steven Meyer’s sudden retirement from all rugby “for personal reasons”, and then his sudden return to rugby nine or so months later?

Was he busy drying out?

• 12.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-7:
    Dumb statment.

The Cheetahs are always strong at home in the CC. Especially in opening games. Also, have you forgotten who was in the finals of last years comp?

That being said, the Sharks suddenly have a great looking squad again. Circus by the sea indeed…
    Sharks to sneak it by less than 7.

• 13.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-8:

Plum wont play Ruan at 10. He’s never been a fan of playing him there and for good reason. Ruan always looks way more comfortable in his preferred no. 9 jersey.

• 14.John Galt: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-10:

Bissie has been taking part in contact sessions this week, he could be back in the next week or 2. Good news.

• 15.scar: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-3: Check the recent stats of Cheetahs vs Sharks games. The guppies are our ******!

• 16.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-9:
    @John Galt(John Galt)-12: same sharks that snotklapped the bulls? The cheetahs only scraped past the bulls mate. Did you okes watch any of the two matches?

• 17.scar: Reply to this comment

******, I said ******!!

• 18.scar: Reply to this comment

which is a small ****** type creature that lives in trees….hmmm

• 19.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-11: narcoticts, even though he’ll tell you it was a personal matter between him & his girl :roll:

• 20.scar: Reply to this comment

no reference to wildlife allowed unless it is predators …

• 21.WP Till I Die: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-19:

The way it was handled really does him an injustice, I mean imagine if he was just going through depression? Now everyone assumes it was banned substances.

• 22.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@John Galt(John Galt)-13: Fair point.

@scar(scar)-17: Good luck to your team. As an impartial observer this time I’m looking for a thrilling contest along the lines of the Cheetahs game last weekend.

@Transformation(Transformation)-16: I tend to agree with you there. The Sharks beat the Bulls easily and the Cheetahs only just made it. Stands to reason the Sharks must be favoured this weekend, particularly with the returning Springboks.

• 23.Bouts: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-22: Stupid comments. The Sharks played the Bulls at home, and the Cheetahs played away at Loftus. That makes the Cheetahs win better.

Sharks won something like 2 games against the Cheetahs in the last 6 years (in all comps). That’s with full strength teams.

@Transformation(Transformation)-19: Doesn’t sound like you watched either of the games if you don’t even know where they played.

Besides, in the S14 the teams ended on 9 and 10. That makes them just about equally good/poor.

• 24.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Glad to hear Bismark is on his way back.Excellent news.

I would slot him back in Bok fold immediately(like Oz have Moore,Nz did Nonu etc) along with JPP & Juan Smith.

Sharks XV

1.Beast
    2.Bismark
    3.Jannie
    4.Sykes
    5.Hargreaves
    6.Alberts
    7.Deysel
    8.Kankowski

9.Pienaar
    10.Pretorius
    11.Mapoe
    12.Lambie
    13.Jacobs
    14.Mvovo
    15.Ndungane

Would like to see this XV one of these days.

• 25.Jonck: Reply to this comment

Transformation – 16

Have you ever heard of homefield advantage? There is at least 7 point advantage for Cheetahs in playing at Bloem. Watch after CC and check that a team play nearly always better against opposition at home than away!!!!

• 26.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-23: Relax mate, just speculating. I predict a win for the Sharks, not becuase i like one team above the other, just because i favour the strength of the Sharks at the moment, with the returning Boks. If the Cheetahs win all credit to them.

If you think it’s stupid, fine, whatever.

• 27.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Jonck(Jonck)-25: Home field advantage is not nearly as great in the CC as it is in say the Super 14. Much bigger crowds, touring teams etc.

Yes, the Cheetahs have a bigger chance of beating the Sharks in Bloem, I fully agree with that. I suspect that the Sharks are more than 7 points better than the Cheetahs, although they do play above themselves in Bloem.

• 28.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-23:

..and yet The Sharks are still a more successful team in Super 14′s.

• 29.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-24: Hopefully he can get a few CC games in before the next 3N match. If he’s fit and strong enough he can add much needed mongrel to the team, but he does have to watch his penalty count.

The problem is then who do you drop? Smit? Not Likely. Chilli? Also not likely IMO. Quite a conundrum. JS back to prop??

• 30.XhosaKid: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-11: He probably suffered from the same “blood diseases” that Spies suffered from and was never the same player again, its called “roidslytes”

• 31.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-21: i know, well i guess we’ll never know.

@Bouts(Bouts)-23: wow! At what point did you gather that i don’t know where the games were played? Did i imply it in any of my posts? :roll:

• 32.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Jonck(Jonck)-25: @Jonck(Jonck)-25: the sharks are getting back their bokke & alberts too, really now! Do you sharks fans have such low exectations of your team or are kak bang of the cheetahs :razz: hahahaha

• 33.Partizan: Reply to this comment

The same hereditary disease Spies’ father died from? :/ … Its clotting on the lungs

• 34.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-11:

Ready to make his mark:
    Sharksworld chats to Steve
    Meyer

Posted in: Currie Cup, Original Content,
    Sharks by robdylan

After something of a false start to his
    Sharks comeback earlier this year,
    flyhalf Steve Meyer is very much
    committed to making a huge impact
    on this year ’s Currie Cup campaign for
    the Sharks. Sharksworld caught up with
    him for a quick chat.

With plenty of rumours doing the
    rounds regarding Meyer ’s unexpected
    and sudden “retirement” from the
    game, on the eve of this year’s Super
    14, we’ve been pretty keen to chat to
    the lad and get his side of the story. It’s
    fair to say that even though we might
    not have started any of the rumours
    ourselves, we ’ve certainly played our
    part in spreading them and it was in
    the interests of putting these to bed
    and setting the record straight that we
    were most keen to chat to Steve.
    Obviously, our discussion was largely
    dominated by these issues.

“I’m aware of all the rumours, but the
    reality of the situation is that I had
    some very personal reasons for
    needing to take some time away from
    the game, ” says Meyer. “I’m really not
    prepared to go into what those reasons
    were – it was something that came up
    in my personal life that I had to deal
    with and I ’ve done so now.” Needing
    to do diligence to at least one of the
    more plausible explanations, I was
    about to ask Steve about the drugs
    angle. He beat me to it, though, by
    saying that “it definitely has nothing to
    do with drugs.”

Now I guess you can
    argue that he was going to say that
    anyway, but I for one believe he is
    sincere about that, so you ’ll need to
    take my word for it!

“I realise that I let a lot of people down
    and I’m sorry about that,” Meyer
    continues. “You need to understand
    that I’m a huge Sharks fan too and have
    been all my life. Having to watch the
    Super 14 from the sidelines was very
    difficult indeed because I so longed to
    be out there on the field, giving my all
    for the team that I love. I know that the
    timing of what happened was bad and
    that it hurt the team, but i’s in the past
    now and I just want to prove how
    committed I am to the Sharks by giving
    it a proper go on the field. Just
    desperate to get out and do that. ”

Meyer reveals that he has received a
    number of lucrative offers to return to
    France in the meantime, but has turned
    those down in order to make things
    right with the Sharks.

Another angle that has surfaced is that
    the senior players in the Sharks squad
    may have been blocking his return to
    the team. Steve refutes this, saying
    that “the senior guys like Jacques
    Botes and Stefan Terblanche have
    been nothing but understanding and
    welcoming. They ’ve been around for a
    while and they understand how
    sometimes these things can come up
    that completely take your focus away
    from the game and that you just need
    to get through them. My return hasn ’t
    caused any friction in the team that I’m
    aware of – I love this team and if I
    thought that my being there was in
    any way harmful to the spirit, I would
    walk away. There ’s nothing like that,
    though. We’re all just training hard and
    looking forward to the game on Friday
    night. ”

We spoke a little about Steve’s time in
    France and about the circumstances
    surrounding his first exit from the
    Sharks, back in early 2006. Steve was
    part of the infamous “alternate squad”
    that lost to Griquas in the Currie Cup in
    2005; most of those players were
    released by the Sharks shortly
    afterwards. “It was a coach’s call at hte
    end of the day,” Steve says, “and
    although I didn’t agree with it, I could
    understand his thinking. I was sitting
    around not getting picked, so going to
    France seemed a good thing to do. It
    really was a great experience which
    helped me as a player – playing in the
    Heineken Cup (even getting man of
    the match once or twice) – and just
    getting that game-time under my belt
    was invaluable. The Sharks always said
    to me that I should go and make the
    best of the opportunity and that if I
    developed well, they would possibly
    look at getting me back one day; that ’s
    exactly what happened and I’m ready
    to seriously make my mark here now.
    “It’s a bit backwards, if you think about
    it. ”

Meyer continues. “Usually players
    make their name in South Africa and
    then go to France at the end of their
    career. For me, it happened the other
    way round !” Steve also confirmed that
    he’s not currently carrying any injuries
    or other concerns and that “I just need
    match fitness now, because I haven’t
    played at all in a few months”.

I’d like to thank Steve for taking this
    opportunity to talk to us and set the
    record straight. We all have personal
    matters that sometimes make it
    difficult to do our jobs and I don ’t think
    it’s reasonable for us, as fans, to expect
    that anyone should blurt the details of
    theirs all over the media. Steve realises
    that the fans are sceptical, but is
    committed to proving himself to the
    faithful, because, he says, “they are the
    reason we play the game, after all.
    Without fans, we ’d have no reason to
    exist”.

From my side, I’m quite happy
    to let this matter rest now and throw
    our weight behind Steve and the rest
    of the Sharks squad as they go out to
    bring the Currie Cup back to Durban. I
    hope you ’ll all feel the same way.

• 35.yank: Reply to this comment

Guys – Lets be real now. This is the year that the Sharks give the Cheetahs a real beating – even in Bloem. That Sharks’ line-up is embarassingly strong with so much depth at looseforward, front rank and scrumhalf and Lambie now looks to give them that extra depth at fullback/centre. Wings looking good too and even getting better with Mapoe on the way to add to JP, Mvovo, Ndungane and others.
    No – sorry Cheetahs, this year you’re in for a hiding, only Juan stands in the way of a 20+ point win for the Sharks.

• 36.Bouts: Reply to this comment

LOL! Yeah Yank. I’m sure they will. LOL!

@Transformation(Transformation)-31: *sigh* Well… you then obviously know nothing about the concept of home-ground advantage.

@Great White Shark(Predawn)-28: Really? How many time did the Sharks win a Super series in their 16 attempts?

• 37.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-36: okay bouts…nevermind :roll:

• 38.gretep: Reply to this comment

@Bouts(Bouts)-36:

How did the home ground advantage work against Province, I forget now???

• 39.gecko: Reply to this comment

I’m a WP man, but hell I’m excited about the Bulls lock combo for this coming weekend – for the future of Bok rugby.

• 40.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

rugby365.com’s team of the week:

15 – Riaan Viljoen (Griquas):
    If the Bok coaches get really desperate (they may be desperate already), Viljoen showed he would not let the team down. He is playing with an energy that is lacking in the national squad at present.
    Bubbling under: Jaco Taute (Lions)

14 – Gerhard van der Heever (Blue Bulls):
    He is everything that you expect of a wing. But then again, he showed his class in the Super 14 already.
    Bubbling under: Deon Scholtz (Leopards)

13 – Tim Whitehead (Western Province):
    This young man will be around for a while and if looked after carefully could grace the Green & Gold of the national team.
    Bubbling under: Stephan Dippenaar (Blue Bulls)

12 – Paul Bosch (Western Province):
    It may only be the Currie Cup, and the opposition were not of the highest quality either, but the indications are that a new breed of world-class midfielders are being groomed in the Currie Cup at present.
    Bubbling under: Stefan Watermeyer (Blue Bulls)

11 – Dumisane Matyeshana (Leopards):
    You expect wings to have real pace, skill and an eye for an opportunity. He ticked all those boxes.
    Bubbling under: Bjorn Basson (Griquas)

10 – Naas Olivier (Griquas):
    There are those who doubt his ability to step outside the Currie Cup arena. However, at this level he dictates games with ease and is a class act.
    Bubbling under: Sias Ebersohn (Free State Cheetahs)

9 – Sarel Pretorius (Griquas):
    The life and soul of a very entertaining Griquas team.
    Bubbling under: Michael Bondesio (Leopards)

8 – Duane Vermeulen (Western Province):
    Hard and uncompromising. The Springboks can do with some of his energy.
    Bubbling under: Keegan Daniel (Sharks)

7 – Juan Smith (Free State Cheetahs):
    If his name is not read out the next time a Bok team is announced, it will be an injustice and a disgrace.
    Bubbling under: Wilhelm Koch (Leopards)

6 – Deon Stegmann (Blue Bulls):
    You sometimes don’t know how valuable a player is until he is no longer there. His injury was a huge blow to the Bulls.
    Bubbling under: Pieter Louw (Western Province)

5 – Fudge Mabeta (Blue Bulls):
    He may be young and very inexperienced, but if he continues to improve as he has done this year there is a bright future ahead.
    Bubbling under: Barend Pieterse (Free State Cheetahs)

4 – Steven Sykes (Sharks):
    Trusty and dependable. A real workhorse in a very young Sharks pack.
    Bubbling under: Frikkie Spies (Griquas)

3 – Jacobie Adriaanse (Griquas):
    What a delight to watch an unheralded player step to the fore and then show the humility he did when winning an award.
    Bubbling under: Brok Harris (Western Province)

2 – Deon Fourie (Western Province):
    He doesn’t get many starting opportunities, but he certainly took his chance at the weekend.
    Bubbling under: Adriaan Strauss (Free State Cheetahs)

1 – Coenie Oosthuizen (Free State Cheetahs):
    Another young man that will be around for many years, and play at a much higher level, if he maintains this kind of form.
    Bubbling under: Dean Greyling (Blue Bulls)

• 41.catleya: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-40: No matter what the idiot who chose the rugby365 CC team of the week says, it will be a disgrace if Juan Smith is in fact picked to start in the Bok team right now. He will be exposed as being not ready yet as he is by own admission not fit and any unbiased fan can see that he is not taking full contact in the carry as of yet. So how can he play? Here is the poser- is Juan gonna go for the money like the other fatcats or remain true to form until now by putting the team first and walking away until he is fully fit. I hope I haven’t been off in my judgement of the man’s ethics.

• 42.grant10: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-29: JS back to prop??

Why o why do we have this fixation with accomodating an out of shape, out of form plod?

It sincerely boggles my mind? Absolutely nothing more than sentimentality.

Hell it really confuses me….

• 43.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-42:
    Actually, JS was always destined to move to loosehead. Now with his experience at tighthead he’d make a good bench backup.

• 44.catleya: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-43: Maybe he could be an option as Player 23!

• 45.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-43: @catleya(catleya)-44: Currently he just has no right to be in the match day 22….

we are far too sentimental….far too accomodating.

Far too stupid!

• 46.David: Reply to this comment

@catleya(catleya)-44:
    It depends on whether the money’s right. :lol:

• 47.catleya: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-46: You know then!

• 48.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-45:
    Look, I agree that JS is out of sorts and needs to decide on his future. I have the feeling that after his 100th match he’ll call it a day. As I mentioned in my previous post, he could add value to the squad, but I doubt whether he’d step down as captain and still continue.

• 49.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-48: ja

i also think the end of the tri nations will be the end of smit….

cant see him lasting 14 months. And with Bissy training again….

But he mustnt be in match squad as reserve, etc….it always ends in tears….there must be a new captain who gets on with the job….not in smits shadow….

My 2 c worth

• 50.grant10: Reply to this comment

Catleya….what position is dewalt playing for bulls sat?

7 ?

• 51.David: Reply to this comment

@catleya(catleya)-47:
    My lips are sealed. :lol:

Just got back from the airport after getting my wife on the plane for a couple of weeks in the UK. I’ve spent the last 4 days traipsing around various malls whilst she looks for clothes. I’m F…ing exhausted and now quietly getting pissed. So guys, please excuse any inane posts. :lol:

• 52.King Shaka: Reply to this comment

Interesting stat: as much as we Sharkies are the Cheetahs’s bunnies, we’ve beaten the Bulls 9 times in our last 11 CC matches. Insane stat.

• 53.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-51: enjoy the quiet time….

• 54.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-53:
    I will, and probably get some work done. :lol:

• 55.grant10: Reply to this comment

@King Shaka(zulu shark)-52: moer then bulletjies…..

just let us sort you fellows out…..you owe us 1 after snaking our home final super 14 chances

• 56.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-54: was the blondes Federal Congress the weekend…..hardly saw her….

bloody bliss….made me hanker for the simplicitys of being a free man…..

• 57.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-56:
    I think it’s the freedom of not feeling guilty for being who we are for a while.

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-57: amen to that Bro

• 59.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-58:
    Cheers, I need to get some sleep. :lol:

• 60.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-59: cheers dave

• 61.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

Francois Hougaard should be playing 9 for the Boks with Ruan Pienaar at 10.

Out with the old and in with the new.

• 62.Great White Shark: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-51:

You mean apart from your usual inane posts?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.