Learning from past lashings

JON CARDINELLI says that for the Boks to move forward, they have to look back at the successes and failures of 2006.

The Springboks have three weeks to reflect on what was their worst Australasian tour in four years. Only the three heavy defeats of 2006 (the 49-0 thrashing in Brisbane, the 35-17 hiding in Wellington and the 20-18 disappointment in Sydney) rank higher in the Tri-Nations’ Hall of Shame. Peter de Villiers said he doesn’t know where they went so wrong, a frightening admission one year out from a World Cup.

But talk of replacing De Villiers is pointless. The player-driven system is no secret, but the reality is De Villiers and his assistants are contracted until the end of the 2011 World Cup. If Saru fires them now, they’ll be paying them win bonuses even if the Boks defend their title under a new set of coaches.

Springbok rugby needs to make do with what it’s got, and if De Villiers, Gary Gold and Dick Muir are going to spend these three weeks wisely, they’ll be doing some research. Former Bok assistant coach Allister Coetzee has already compared the two campaigns, and suggested all is not lost. The big question is, will De Villiers take heed of history?

Jake White’s Boks finished last in the 2006 Tri-Nations and went on to lose two out of three on their end-of-year tour. The Sanzar tournament was lost on the away leg, but the Boks saved some face with two late wins. White then took a number of youngsters to Ireland and England, leaving several senior statesmen in South Africa to rest ahead of the 2007 Super 14.

The Boks lost 32-16 in Dublin and blew a half-time lead in the first Test at Twickenham to lose 23-21. They broke the Twickenham curse a week later when Andre Pretorius kicked four drop goals in the 25-14 win, a victory that began South Africa’s dominance over England in the build up to the 2007 World Cup.

While that was important, the value of playing youngsters and leaving the senior guys at home to rest was evident. Frans Steyn emerged as an important figure on the tour, and in 2007, the Sharks and Bulls contested the Super 14 final. South Africa rode the momentum into the World Cup.

De Villiers needs to keep this in mind when planning for the remaining games of the Tri-Nations and the subsequent Grand Slam tour. Playing his best available players and preventing the embarrassment of losing at home is imperative. It will also ensure they prevent a 3-0 drubbing at the hands of either the All Blacks or Australia, which would be a massive psychological blow before a World Cup year.

Following the conclusion of this tournament, De Villiers must decide on who to rest and who to take to the United Kingdom and Europe. Fourie du Preez and Andries Bekker have already been ruled out with injury, and the latter blow may suggest Victor Matfield should tour. But judging by the amount of rugby the 33-year-old has endured this year, and the adverse effect it’s had on his performance, it would be best to give him time to recuperate.

Persisting with the youngsters and alternative combinations should be the objective on the Grand Slam tour. The World Cup is the priority, and if defending their title means risking a few defeats on the Grand Slam tour, then so be it.

Follow JC on Twitter

Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

368 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All

• 251.cab: Reply to this comment

Who are the current world champions?
    Who are the current 3N champions?

Yes, the Springbokkies that is who.

• 252.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-232: Rather unusual statements. I take you have either been to the PdV school of media management, or have been gathering the wrong type of mushrooms?

• 253.cab: Reply to this comment

Bokke will walk off with the spoils in nz at next RWC and u numbskulls will still be s ratching your skulls at the machinations of karma schmarma.

Only thing is someone got to be sharp enough to ping that crook mccaw, he’s a wonderful cheat whom we have alot to learn from

• 254.cab: Reply to this comment

You’ll still be whinging about flukety fluke lucky turkey shoot and it won’t make the slightest goddamn difference cos for whatever reason the karma karma chameleon seems to love the Bokke, it must be Bakkies

• 255.willievz: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-243: Yes Skop even though I am still not conviced about Vermeulen, that combo of Brussow, Pogieter and Vermeulen looks very solid, especially if you pick a mobile hooker who can forage at the rucks, taking pressure off the 8 in this regard and therefore allowing Vermeulen concentrate on assisting turnovers and cleaning instead.

I am a big Joe VN fan as an allround rugby player – all the skils and can adapt to any specific game plan with ease. I would love to see him return to SA and contest for a place at the WC.

The reason I posed the question is that Vermeulen and Van Niekerk will probably play it out for one WC position.

• 256.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-251:
    NZ #1 team in the world. Most consistent #1 team in the world. No one hit wonder,unlike a few i can name.

• 257.cab: Reply to this comment

Hurricane yeah those rankings are ****, we cracked you lot 4 times last year, how the he’ll could you be rated no 1?

But at the end of the day u don’t get any trophies for a variable no 1 ranking

• 258.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-254: It’s the drink isn’t it? You are completely off your chops and can’t control that inner urge to shout from the rooftops how great you are. Mummy didn’t cuddle you enough when you were a little boy?

• 259.cab: Reply to this comment

Muttonbird,
    what is wrong with telling the truth? If the kiwis can prounce about after a couple of home wins with half our side missing, is it not equally ok for me to celebrate the trophies in the cabinet?

• 260.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-253:
    Will we shall see wont we. Unlike you i am not so sure that NZ or SA could take this. At the momemnt NZ are in a better position and situation than the Bok,but does not mean any these 2 team will amke the final,only someone arrogant would believe its in the bag,isnt that right Cab. Remember you will have either OZ or Ireland in the Qaurters,both these teams have beaten Boks on a regular basis. And from then on it will get harder. Sorry but there is no hiding in this RWC.

• 261.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-257:
    You are a dreamer,4 times??
    Dont be a ****

• 262.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-259: Yeah, that’s fine to crow about what the Boks have got now but be careful crowing about what you think they’ll have in 2 months, or 14 months.

Also, I’m confused when you say karma favours the Boks but everything else I read here suggests the whole World (and bizzarely, the Irish in particular) is against them.

• 263.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-257:
    Oh you want to know why you guys are not #1 in the world.
    Its based on Maths Cab,something by the looks of it you are not very good at.
    IF you didnt lose all your NH game over the last few season and lost to two county pub teams then maybe you could be called #1 in the world,but you are not.
    Its really funny how some of you guys cant see that NZ are a better team at the moment,actually they were a better team in 2007 as well.

• 264.cab: Reply to this comment

Hurricane
    are you trying to tell me that you don’t believe nz will be in the final?
    Hahahahaha
    who are u okes trying to fool with such false modesty?
    Remember what happened after nz were well beaten by france, it was a national shock, you’d all booked your tickets for the final.
    Let us at least be honest here

• 265.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-257:
    Correct no trophys but still the best team on the planet.
    Maybe you might get there with your double rating points like 2007,only to get smashed back to earth ( and #2 postion ) by the best team on the planet

• 266.cab: Reply to this comment

‘still the best team on the planet’ and you accuse me of arrogance?
    A world cup, a 3n trophy, a s14 trophy suggests something different

• 267.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-264:
    Am being honest.
    Its a RWC,one bad game and its all over. You cant tell me SA wont play a bad game can you.
    And you seem to be forgetting about other teams that can and have beaten SA lately. Dont be so arrogant to think SA will be in the final,cos if they dont make it,you will be the one i will be gunning for on this site

• 268.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-266:
    Super 14 trophy has nothing to do with Internationals,your not that stupid are you?
    Best team on the planet due to the fact that we are,not arrogant at all. I didnt say you guys wernt the 3N and RWC holders did i?
    I find it arrogant to say that SA will take the RWC in 2011 when we all know there are other teams playing.

• 269.cab: Reply to this comment

Hurricane you welcome to come gunning, but I merely expressing my opinion that the bokke will slap nz on their backyard – it could be a national disaster – i am therefore providing you fellas with a service – forewarned is forearmed.

• 270.cab: Reply to this comment

Right now it’s only a matter of time to see who is right, this reminds me so much of 2006 it’s frightening

• 271.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-269:
    I am sure you said that this year as well,oh well as you say there is always next year to look forward to. But take my warning,your road to the RWC final will be a rocky one,not like 2007

• 272.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-270:
    It does,and you guys were saying the same things.
    McCaw the cheat.
    Refs are garbage.
    Kiwis are K@K

It is frightening,but unlike 2007,you will have to play a couple of nations that are rated in the top 5 teams in the world.

• 273.cab: Reply to this comment

Kiwis are good, just not ad good ad the Boks
    Mccaw is an astoundingly good cheat, i have always been in awe of how he stays on the park
    Refs are ok, but need a great one like Barnesey to catch Mccaw

• 274.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-273:
    Anyway please enlighten me. Name the 4 times SA beat us last year

• 275.whatever: Reply to this comment

My d ick is bigger than yours……….nah nah nah Get real guys FFS!

• 276.cab: Reply to this comment

My **** is not that big, but the bokke are better than the abs

• 277.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-273:
    And in 2008,wasnt it SA calling Barnes a useless ref as well?

• 278.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-275:
    Honestly Whatever if thats the case there would be no contest.

@cab(cab)-276:
    Excellent Cab,keep saying that to yourself as long as you can sleep at night all is good.

• 279.cab: Reply to this comment

Hurricane, yeah he had a bad day, I think it was a one-off- gotta hit the sack – look forward to hearing your congruatulations when rightfully beat you okes in sa in the few weeks

• 280.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-279:
    Bah looks like you dont want to answer post 274.

Goodnight then

• 281.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

let me enlighten you something about karma chameleon schmarma

Its already written in the stars who is going to win the WC in 2011, and nothing you or I or PdV or Jake or Graham Henry or Robbie Deans or Martin Johnson or Declan Kidney or Marc Lievremont or Warren Gatland can do about it.

All they can do is prepare for it like they going to win it, but to determine who it will be only fate and the stars know that much.

Ultimately it will be won by the team and country who are destined to win it and who deserve to win it, and it could very well be SA again or it might be NZ#s dream of dreams to take it a second time at home.

World Cup competitions like all big extravaganza sporting events eg Olympics etc. tend to separate the men from the boys, but also what tends to happen is that in such competitions the real underlying psychological qualities or lack thereof come to the fore.

Its under such high pressure psychological circumstances where teams and individuals either fold and capitulate to the negative tendencies of either arrogance or fear or else pull through to show perseverance and resolve.

However as I have already explained above, its already a fete-a-compli who the winner will be, only problem is no-one without any clairvoyant visionary capacity know who that winner is.

So like any good game of chess, once the first pawn is set into play the game is on and one small move after the next results in the ultimate check mate, which to all intents and purposes has already been decided by the law of cause and effect.

• 282.whatever: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-281:

Inhale……hold, hold, hold……….exhale………..aaahhh, headrushes……….that is good sh itttte maaannnn!

• 283.poppa69: Reply to this comment

Man you must be hurting sooooo much Cab. As one who believed the SA dominance garbage, surely you’ve learnt not to expect so much.

Let it all out son, not good bottled up like that. Funny you mention injured players, no mention last year of that though when it afflicted Nz??

SA may very well win the WC next year, and I’ll congratulate them if they do, I know IF Nz win it, you’ll have some excuse as to why they did so.

The fact you laugh about Barnes, when we all know how poor he was on that semi shows how much your hurting.

Hope that sort of thing doesn’t happen to you guys next year, as kiwi refs have been organized for every game you play.

• 284.poppa69: Reply to this comment

CAB bwhaahahahahahahahahahahahaahhhahahahaahaha

keep hurting mate, its fun to read..

• 285.Waster: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-284: Yeah I reckon, he is just epitomising the arrogance that people think of when south africans are talked of, must be a ***** for the ones who don’t have such huge opinions of themselves

• 286.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Check this…

Richie McCaw admitted on Wednesday that he had operated outside the laws of the game against the Springboks on several occasions, but said that it’s all part of rugby.

Such a nice thing for the captain to say…since when is cheating part of rugby?

• 287.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-286:
    You have to be kidding me?
    Since when is biting and eye gouging a part of rugby?

So every player dosnt try to do something during the game to get on top. Habana spends most of his time offside to score his tries. We all know it and see it. Burger comes from the side so often its not funny,but it seems only one person i the world that pushes the boundries and that is McCaw.

• 288.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-286: how about protest armbands, are they part of rugby?

• 289.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-286:

Ritchie is honing his post rugby skills… He is going into politics. Best defense if offense.

• 290.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

How good is he? I completely understand why this guy is rated as the best in the business.

If circumstance permitted, could anyone here honestly say they would not have Ritchie in their team?

• 291.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-287:

Look, we can discuss this till the cows come home. The point I am making is that for a captain to come out and say he cheated and then gloss over it by saying it is part of the game is not on according to me. He is the captain after all and should set the example.

Eye gouging and biting should be treated as severely as the sanctions allow and have as little place in rugby as any other cheating.

• 292.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-288:

How does an armband influence the outcome of a game? Answer that and we can talk.

For the record, the armband fiasco was as stupid as the current rumblings of conspiracy theories and selling more WC tickets. But don’t let this make you take your eye off the ball…

• 293.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-292: you dont think the protest helped them in the 3Ns afterwards, especially games in SA, the ref was intimidated :wink: lmao

I think its strange for him to publically say that, so Id like to see you at least quote your source so we can ascertain its authenticity…

• 294.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-293:

Surely you not implying the refs cheated last year :shock:

Article is on news24, his own words.

• 295.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Probably comes from his interview with Duncan Johnstone
    You can find it on NZ Rugby Heaven

Richie McCaw has given a frank account of how he plays the referees as well as the opposition to maintain his mantle as the best openside flanker in test rugby.

The All Blacks skipper dominates opponents with his sheers skills and infuriates opposition coaches – most notably South African Peter de Villiers – with his tactics.

He has been labelled a cheat many times during his 85-test career but makes no apologies for his style of game.

He says he has a clear idea of how far he can push the boundaries in the most competitive area of the game at the breakdowns.

“If you go in gun shy you’re not going to have an impact,” McCaw told media as he prepares to tackle Australia in Melbourne this weekend.

“I think the big thing is to understand where you sit and what you’re going to get away with and what you’re not.

“As long as you’re not putting the team under heaps of pressure you’ve got to still be at the point of knowing what you can get away with and what you can’t and the odd thing you might get wrong.”

He had a tough time in the last test against the Springboks in Wellington with many considering he may have been lucky to avoid a yellow card.

“I think I gave away four penalties or it might have been five and there were a couple of them I was disappointed with.”

It was a matter of reading the referee as much as his opponents at times.

“How do I say it? What I think is right and what he (the ref) thinks is right could be different so you’ve got to figure it out pretty quickly.

“I always think the things I’m trying to do are the right things and if he’s penalising me for some reason I think ‘geez I’m not going to get away with that today’ or ‘that’s not going to work with this ref’.

“Each ref is a little bit different. I have a fairly good understanding of where they’ll sit, just through experiences.”

He doesn’t believe he has a privileged position as captain to exploit the nuances that come with being a No 7.

“I wouldn’t have thought so. They pride themselves on making sure they call it the same way no matter who it is. There are times I get it the other way perhaps.

“I do know what they are going to do and I always have a yarn in the shed before the game as to what they’ve seen previously or if they have got ay concerns. Hopefully they’ll tell me if they think I’m getting it all wrong.”

McCaw has revelled in the new rule interpretations and been delighted at the ability of his fellow back rowers Kieran Read and Jerome Kaino to take a bit of pressure off him.

He’s not just a scavenger now … he is showing his value as a link player as well in the high-tempo game the All Blacks have played.

Undoubtedly the player of his generation, he is being likened to Sean Fitzpatrick in terms of his leadership which has certainly grown.

It’s been hardened by some tough experiences – most notably the World Cup quarterfinal loss to France in Cardiff where the All Blacks fell apart under immense pressure.

There’s a sense that is starting to change.

There’s also a feeling that the fast game the All Blacks are playing is based around super quick ball and plenty of that is being delivered by McCaw’s marvellous skills under the watchful eyes of referees.
    Ad Feedback

He has South African whistleman Craig Joubert to deal with this weekend and a growing force in Australian flanker David Pocock.

It should be quite a night and one thing is for sure – McCaw as captain and flanker – will be right in the thick of it.

• 296.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

Dont see where he is admitting to cheating.

• 297.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-291:
    Can you please show me this post where he said in his OWN words he cheated.
    I am not calling you a lier but if your just quoting something from what a Journalist has said then sorry its worth nothing.

• 298.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-294: having read your source (a SA website), I could not find him once state that he cheats..

“I made a few mistakes. I think the important thing is to know what you will get away with. But I undoubtedly made mistakes,” said McCaw.

so your taking the reporters view that he categorically states he cheated? ummmm enjoy the rest of your day..

at least PDV has been quoted talking about coaching his team to cheat? (Cape Times Hoskin Interview)..

• 299.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-295:
    If thats it then what the hell are we talking about here. He didnt call himself a cheat.

• 300.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

He says he will continue playing his way as long as it does not place pressure on the team.

McCaw also admitted prior to Saturday’s Tri-Nations Test against the Wallabies in Melbourne that he was fortunate not to concede more penalties in Wellington.

You can add the article from NZ which also stated he cheats but that he is your cheat, so what.

Look, I know he is seen as a god in NZ so it is a fight I will never win against you. Lets just move on…

So who will be getting the rub of the green on Saturday, McCaw or Pocock?

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.