Smit to feel Bismarck’s heat
29 Jul 2010
GRANT BALL writes that Bismarck du Plessis’ imminent return to rugby heaps further pressure on John Smit.
Smit has rightfully been criticised by former players, coaches and the media for his performances over this international season, especially on the Springboks’ Australasian tour. On his return to South Africa this week, that pressure would have increased with news that Du Plessis – the Boks’ first-choice hooker last year – is back in training and taking contact after being out for three months.
Du Plessis won’t feature for the Sharks this weekend, but is set for a return to the 22 next weekend when they play the Lions. It will take some time for him to regain his best form and fitness after a serious neck injury, but what has been clear regarding Smit is that his form spirals without having Du Plessis pushing him, although he won’t have that luxury now.
Du Plessis’ return to the playing field will be two weeks before the Boks’ first home Test in the Tri–Nations, and while it would be unrealistic to expect him to force his way into that squad in such a short time, Smit will know that further laboured individual and team performances will have his critics salivating.
Smit will start at Soccer City, as part of the fanfare in the build-up has revolved around it being his 100th Test. Peter de Villiers has also stated his intentions and placed his faith in Smit until the end of the World Cup, handing him a contract until then.
If Du Plessis recovers fully from the injury and rediscovers any sort of form similar to last year, there’s no question that he offers more playing value than Smit. However, in the Boks’ current player-driven system, Smit’s leadership takes on even more importance, although even those attributes have waned with his and the team’s form on the decline.
Against the top nations like New Zealand, Australia and France at a World Cup, the Boks won’t be able to carry passengers and they require the best players on the field – not selecting a captain and then basing the rest of the side around that.
Du Plessis’ unrivalled physicality and mobility that sees him act as an extra loose forward – which will gain even more importance under the new law interpretations – was the initial reason why Smit was moved to tighthead in 2008. With Smit being so off the pace in the Tri–Nations at hooker, the remaining question is whether he’ll continue to be used there through until the World Cup.
After being so selfless for the Boks throughout his career, Smit needs to make the decision on which position he’ll play. He believes he offers the most to the team at hooker, but he’s been hampered by putting on extra weight for the tighthead switch. What’s clear with Du Plessis set to return is that Smit needs to be better conditioned and he must display a level of form that will silence his detractors ahead of the World Cup.
Accommodating Smit and Du Plessis in the same team has been a problem for the Sharks and Boks since 2008, and it’s set to continue with Du Plessis’ return next week.
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

210 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All
29 Jul 2010, 15:11 pm
Hooker dragons
29 Jul 2010, 15:18 pm
cue entry of grant10 from back left stage…….
cue spotlights…….
29 Jul 2010, 15:28 pm
the title is ****-erotic
29 Jul 2010, 15:29 pm
@charo(charo)-2:
Sharks: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Stefan Terblanche (captain), 12 Patrick Lambie, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Steve Meyer, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Ryan Kankowski, 7 Keegan Daniel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Ross Skeate, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Craig Burden, 1 Patric Cilliers.
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Tendai Mtawarira, 18 Eugene van Staden, 19 Willem Alberts, 20 Jean Deysel, 21 Ruan Pineaar, 22 Andries Strauss
29 Jul 2010, 15:35 pm
plod to feel bissie’s heat
29 Jul 2010, 15:38 pm
Probably the best thing about all of this is that Smit will inadvertently get rested the year before the RWC with Bismark starting for the Sharks and an end to Smit’s stint at prop.
29 Jul 2010, 15:39 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-4: resting Beast or is he not match fit?
29 Jul 2010, 15:43 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-7: hiyas BH
yes he is fit but plum felt he wanted to stick to the combo that had been playing so well together the past few weeks
also take into account the boks leave after 2 weeks and then the team is without them again
plum wants continuity thus he has stuck to the team unless injured
29 Jul 2010, 15:44 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-5: eish this darkie misbehaving again
good day old chap
29 Jul 2010, 15:45 pm
grantie is going to wet his speedo when he reads this…
Looks like transie has already wet his
29 Jul 2010, 15:52 pm
Bismarck sails again.
29 Jul 2010, 15:53 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-8: fair call sl. It’ll be interesting to see what kind of form BDP is in, Sharks looking good for the CC assault, finally seem to be getting some depth in the backline albeit Terblanche at 13 isn’t ideal.
29 Jul 2010, 15:53 pm
Will Bismarck be sunk by Smit’s torpedo?
29 Jul 2010, 15:54 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-9: hahaha hiyas bro ^5
@gunther(gunther)-10: i don’t wear speedos mhlathi wembuzi!
29 Jul 2010, 15:58 pm
which genius @ saru, thought it apt to negotiate the extra club side fixtures if pdv was talking like this before they left?
However, Smit stressed that a European
tour, which includes Tests against France,
Italy and Ireland and two midweek matches
against Leicester and Saracens, fourth and
first in the Premiership respectively, were to
be negotiated before they could reflect
positively on the season.
‘Yes, we’ve had a good season, but three
Tests remain. It’s a big challenge that lies
ahead and we start against a tough French
team, ’ the Springbok captain said.
‘There are also games against club sides that
have players from all over the world. That
amounts to five big challenges. ’
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers has
predictably opted to rest the majority of his
key players for Friday ’s fixture against
Leicester, but he conceded that the short
break would do little to refresh his battle
weary troops
‘We allowed the players to play in the Currie
Cup and we could see how it contributed to
the quality of the play. But we now play
against France and Ireland, and they are
going to take the game to us, ’ he said.
‘It’s not difficult to maintain the standards
that we set, but the players are
psychologically tired. We ’ll have to think
about how to overcome that.’
29 Jul 2010, 16:02 pm
I bet Bismarck is a real play buoy.
29 Jul 2010, 16:03 pm
Both hookers are a luxury to have, and offer different capital to the squad.
Smit is a scrummaging hooker. Bismarck is a physical mobile hooker.
When both are on form, it does not really matter who you pick. However, this selection has definite implications for the selection of loose trio.
If Smit plays, you need two deck players in your trio to compensate for his lack of mobility – one at 6 and the other preferrably at 8.
If Bismarck plays, you can get away with playing a single forager in the loosies, and have the option of playing a taller or bulkier nr8 that can serve as an additional line-out option or who can assist in cleaning at rucks and mauls.
Unfortunately, our loosie combos are a real worry to me.
The SA rugby public’s fascination with a Burger, Smith and Spies loose trio is a far greater concern than who to pick between Smit and Bismarck.
I wish our coaches would also reconsider the balance of the loosies, not only in terms of personnel, but in terms of the hooker selection that shapes the effectiveness of your backrow.
29 Jul 2010, 16:05 pm
you can slice it
you can dice it
you can spin it
you can do whatever you want to
but i tell you all right now
as nite follows day
as tuesdays follow Mondays….
Its all over rover….goodnite nurse.
All the aura…all the leadership….***** for sweet fanny aams when the big bad Kiwi, Frenchie, Aussie.Irishman and Argie come a knocking at the door.
Plod….do the right thing.
iF ITS NOT ABOUT YOU AND YOUR OWN EGO…..
SLIP QUIETLY INTOO THE NIGHT.
oR BE SHOWN UP AS A CANCER ???
29 Jul 2010, 16:06 pm
@willievz(willievz)-17: Our loosies should, as a combination, be Smith, Brussouw and Vermeulen. While Brussouw is injured Stegman or Flo.
29 Jul 2010, 16:07 pm
@gecko(gecko)-19: Who would you play as hooker with that combo?
29 Jul 2010, 16:08 pm
@gecko(gecko)-19: I should have added – for the gameplan the Boks wants to play.
29 Jul 2010, 16:09 pm
transie
Mhlati Wembuzi = boardshorts?
“they require the best players on the field – not selecting a captain and then basing the rest of the side around that.”
Smit wasn`t the best hooker at the last world cup either(Bissie and Gary Botha were even then), but he was still chosen by White (who would still select him now I`m sure) and Pienaar wasn`t the best in his position either but was chosen on his captaincy skills. So I think this comment holds no ground if you look at history. You need a strong leader when suddenly you`re losing to Fiji in a quarter final, or holding your line in pouring rain against the French in a semi. Choose your captain first when it comes to world cup, no doubt.
@willievz(willievz)-20: Hell Willie, tough one. As everyone I have a lot of time for Smit, but last year Du Plessis was the best hooker in world rugby. So Du Plessis.
29 Jul 2010, 16:10 pm
@willievz(willievz)-17:
Whats wrong with the Burger , Smith , Spies combo ?
The only combo id have instead would be Brussouw , Schalk , Vermuelen. Smith,Spies,Burger is a near perfect combo feared around the world.
29 Jul 2010, 16:11 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-25: That combo lacks an out and out fetcher – in the current game you need one. No doubt.
29 Jul 2010, 16:16 pm
@grant10(grant10)-18:
Enjoyed the intro..had week day infomercial all over it.
29 Jul 2010, 16:16 pm
@gecko(gecko)-26: Brussouw
29 Jul 2010, 16:17 pm
@gecko(gecko)-24: Going with your combo, Bismarck is the more logical choice to me.
People often wrongly credit our breakdown success in 2009 solely to Heinrich. While he was certainly my choice as world player of 2009, he was significantly assisted by Bismark in terms of slowing opposition ruck ball.
Remember that an opensider cannot participate at every single ruck. Usually, he is occupied at the first phase collision point, and will only be freed up when the third phase occurs.
As a hooker, Bismarck was usually not engaged in the first phase collsion as he had to make his way from the set piece and ridding himself from the neck of the opposition hooker at the scrum. But he did play a crucial role in slowing down opposition ball on the second phase breakdown.
As phase play progress, it is easier for both the opensider and the hooker to be engaged at similar collision points, but if you do not succeed in stifling opposition momentum on the third phase, you are in for a tough afternoon.
By only playing Heinrich as a forager or deck player you are, in theory at least, still in for a tough time.
The Bulls appear to be stern believers in this logic too, opting for a mobile hooker to accommodate a non-foraging nr8.
Play Smit at 3 again
@willievz(willievz)-20:
Agree 100%…it all depends on what the match day strategy is…..
29 Jul 2010, 16:18 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-28: I have answering to your ‘Smith,Spies,Burger is a near perfect combo feared around the world.’ comment.
29 Jul 2010, 16:18 pm
for me….
Bakkies [ with a sane head of course ]
juan smith
bissy
Add the mongril and tough steel.
Brussow….adds the out and out fetcher….
BJ / CJ adds the stablity at scrum time.
We want to play passenger like spies….we better have a Bissy…thats for damn sure.
Plod is quite simply superfulous.
Matfield a more than capable leader…..
It is absolute hogwash, sentimental, candy floss bulldust of the highest order that we so destabilise our team for the so called captaicy aura.
Its costing us gents….and will continue to do so.
Ask the kiwis on this site who they rate the most as SA hooker?
Ask them…..
29 Jul 2010, 16:19 pm
@wp_boytjie(wp_boytjie)-25: Very unbalanced combo with no forager. You will struggle to slow down opposition ruck ball.
29 Jul 2010, 16:19 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-30: are you farken be fark ????????
29 Jul 2010, 16:20 pm
@AJ(AJ)-23: what do you then when the strong leader is plodding around the field blowing hard in the 1st 10min, huh?
When the captains starts throwing duds nullifying out lineout, what then?
When the captain cant keep up with a rejuvinated keven mealamu, what then?
You get pumped by 30 pts for 3 consecutive games china
29 Jul 2010, 16:21 pm
bingo…
35. grant10(grant10) :
AHAHAHHAHAH
@gecko(gecko)-26:
I wouldn’t mind seeing a Stegmann (6), Kanko (7), Vermeulen (8) combo to see how they go.
29 Jul 2010, 16:23 pm
@charo(charo)-2:
ok, will somebody switch the spotlights off now….
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-39: Maybe in a SA A team. But not the Bok team. While he is fit, Juan Smith is a must.
38. Mike H(Mike H) :
Play Bissie or even Chillie the rest of the year and try get Smit into shape for the WC.
I heard Bissie doesn;t scrum well though and some blame him for or back pedalling scrum last year.
see the bloody accomodation selection tactics again??
See how the dof saffas think?
Smit a kak useless turbo reversing 3….
then shown up as an over the hill slow poor 2…
Bok scrum the only positive of the whole tour.
Mikes solution….
Lets accomodate Plod by destabilising the 1 and nly positive to come out the tour.
My mind boggles….i need to reach for a tablet….or better still…take a walk.
This idiocy kills me i tell you.
29 Jul 2010, 16:24 pm
@charo(charo)-40: yeah somebody needs to pull the plug
29 Jul 2010, 16:24 pm
@gecko(gecko)-32: They are not perfect , but I dont believe in chucking away expierienced veterans left right and center when results dont go our way.
Brussouw , Smith , Spies With Schalk on bench
Brussouw ,Burger , Spies with Flo on bench.
Spies needs to start performing. Too much talent there not to be performing.
29 Jul 2010, 16:25 pm
43. grant10(grant10) :
I was kidding mate – but i’d liek to see the scrum with Bissie there and another 3 to test the theory
29 Jul 2010, 16:26 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-39: why kanko at 7 when we have specialsits like Juan Smith, Schalk Burger,Deysel?
Damn….i will walk an extra km for that kak suggestion.
And i thought you were 1 of the brighter okes.
29 Jul 2010, 16:26 pm
no doubt about it…bissy is the business! plod will move to prop again…mark my words
29 Jul 2010, 16:27 pm
47. grant10(grant10) :
Go walk already!!
29 Jul 2010, 16:27 pm
heard that smittie and lukie had kissed and made up.
apparently butchie was the matchmaker.
can smittie stay now please grant10?
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 » Show All