Tri-Nations latest (Thurs)

Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Tri-Nations.

Richie reveals ref secrets

Richie McCaw told the media how he plays the referee and the opposition at the breakdown during matches.

The All Blacks skipper has been labelled a ‘cheat’ by some teams for his contesting and obstructing methods at the tackle point but he is happy with his style of play. McCaw says he knows how to push boundaries at the breakdowns.

‘If you go in gun shy you’re not going to have an impact,’ McCaw told media. ‘I think the big thing is to understand where you sit and what you’re going to get away with and what you’re not.

‘As long as you’re not putting the team under heaps of pressure you’ve got to still be at the point of knowing what you can get away with and what you can’t and the odd thing you might get wrong.’

Against the Springboks in Wellington a fortnight ago, McCaw admitted he was lucky not to receive a yellow card.

‘I think I gave away four penalties or it might have been five and there were a couple of them I was disappointed with.’

McCaw added that he has developed an ability to read a referee with his 85-Test experience.

‘How do I say it? What I think is right and what he (the ref) thinks is right could be different so you’ve got to figure it out pretty quickly,’ he said.

‘I always think the things I’m trying to do are the right things and if he’s penalising me for some reason I think ”geez I’m not going to get away with that today” or ”that’s not going to work with this ref”. Each ref is a little bit different. I have a fairly good understanding of where they’ll sit, just through experiences.’

All Blacks ban betraying photographer

NZRU CEO Steve Tew says there will no legal action taken against photographer Scott Barbour for capturing the All Blacks’ game plans on camera but he has been banned from training sessions.

The Melbourne-based Kiwi photographer created controversy on Wednesday after he took pictures of the All Blacks’ tactics on paper to be used against the Wallabies this Saturday, which were held by head coach Graham Henry at training. The photos were provided by Getty Images and published by the Australian media.

The NZRU have banned Barbour from covering the All Blacks at training during Bledisloe Cup Tests and will not allow Getty to send a replacement photographer. However, there is nothing stopping Barbour from attending this weekend’s clash in Melbourne as the union cannot make rulings on media coverage at matches on Australian soil.

Tew said the NZRU has contacted Getty after the incident and confirmed it will not sue the company.

‘There is no suggestion we will take legal action. We will obligate our contract with them. There will be no spiteful reaction and people are not going to see a knee-jerk reaction,’ Tew told stuff.co.nz.

Tew did not say how long Barbour will be banned, but team manager Darren Shand yesterday hinted that the photographer might be blacklisted.

‘People’s careers hinge on results,’ Shand said, adding that Barbour was no longer welcome at any of the team’s media opportunities.

197 Comments

• 1.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Aish! Cheating…..

photographer!

• 2.David: Reply to this comment

London – South Africa flyhalf Ruan Pienaar has agreed his release from the Sharks and will join Ulster at the start of September, it was announced on Wednesday.

The 26-year-old, who was part of the 2007 World Cup-winning set-up and also plays at scrumhalf, is currently part of the Springbok squad competing in the Tri-Nations, but had agreed his move to Ulster in May.

Pienaar, who will join fellow South Africa caps Johann Muller and Pedrie Wannenburg in Belfast, was delighted with the agreement.

“I’m very excited about the change – I have been thinking about going to the Northern Hemisphere for a couple of seasons now and when the opportunity to join Ulster came up I was very interested,” he said.
    Continues Below ?

Pienaar’s two-year deal will commence on September 1 although he will be allowed to play for South Africa if selected for their Tri-Nations finale against Australia on September 4.

Ulster operations director David Humphreys said: “We’re delighted to have concluded the contract negotiations around Ruan’s move to Ulster. I would like to thank the Natal Sharks for their help in the matter and for agreeing to Ruan’s early release from his Sharks contract.

“We look forward to welcoming Ruan to Belfast in September. He is without doubt one of the biggest signings made in Ulster Rugby’s history and I’m confident that he will be a key asset to us both on and off the pitch.” – AFP

• 3.Andrews: Reply to this comment

Join the debate on Richie’s cheating ways….
    theroar . com.au/category/rugby-union/

• 4.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-1: McCaw is the the Hansie Cronje of rugby

Maybe he sold the photos to the press

• 5.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-4:

Bwhahahahahahaha!!! I bet you he is getting paid off to win games as well…

• 6.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-2: the truth of the matter is Ruan never bought into the 10 move…..ever!

That i do know for a fact…..he always maintained he was a 9 that could play 10, not the other way around.

Simply put he never had the mind set to do the change. This is why i have always maintained that a change of position at the high levels 1 st and foremost have to be accompanied by complete player buy in.

In the pro era if players are unhappy they vote with there feet.

We continue to lost top class players through the poorest of player management.

It is the real cancer in our rugby.

• 7.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-4: theres only so many sour Saffas you can get into one photo though..

remember to smile :D

• 8.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-6:
    I understand what you’re getting at. The reality though, is that at the time we were direly short of quality 10s.

• 9.GeniusSA: Reply to this comment

Its all an elaborate ploy by the AB’s to set up an excuse for if they lose on Saturday to the up and coming Wallabies. Pocock will out cheat McCaw to the ball. Wallabies will win and then the AB’s will say their ship was harpooned by the journo’s. South African fans will laugh and ask who the whingers are now….

And so the wheel turns full circle :)

• 10.Staal: Reply to this comment

Good morning all.

Hope it’s a great day coming up for all. I see Panjo’s been found, Agliotti’s still a skelm, the Noth Pole is still melting and our own Woods is leaving.

Eish … life is interesting..

• 11.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-8: ja….

But again….its the poor player management that deprives a Peter Grant for an unwilling scrumhalf.

• 12.grant10: Reply to this comment

sharks are losing the crown jewels…..

Barritt….F Steyn….R Pienaar….

FFS just dont lose Bissy for overseas….please!

• 13.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

I love Richie.

• 14.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-7:

Modern day technology and the number will surprise you…smiles and all!

• 15.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-6: what happened to doing anything for the jersey or playing anywhere?! The kid James o’ Connor has played in three backline positions this year alone! What the hell is wrong with ruan?

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-12:

Force here we come…ek en my boet! Surely you nhave heared the rumours…???

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-13:

Watch it, he will steal your balls…!

• 17.Staal: Reply to this comment

imo…

Hat’s of to Richie…. he took us appart!

I personally think he is getting slower but that just show’s me how slow our loosies are…. :shock:

Well done Richie……. respect! I was there and saw it all… hel ons was pateties…

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Brussow & Steggies asb!!!!!

• 18.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Ruan’s move is a big blow to South Africa and the springboks. How could the springbok management do this to such a valuable player. He has never reached his full potential, because he was never allowed to.
    Now he maybe lost to the springboks forever.
    But i take my hat off to the sharks for letting him go, they understand where he is coming from and the way he was treated here. I just hope ulster plays him at No 9, becuase ruan has the ability to become the best scrumhalf in world rugby. I just no when he returns after two years. He is going to be a better, stronger and more experienced player, like i sayd, he may just come back as the best!

To make matters worse…Fourie du Preez is going to Japan. What are we left with? And what is saru doing to make our BEST players look for greener pastures!! Idiots!!!

• 19.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-15:

Deans love him and he loves Deans…you think Ruan and PDivvie have the same relationship?

• 20.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-16: I don’t have any, but if I did I’d love him to steal them too. I just freaking love Richie. :lol:

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-15: F Hougaard also happy to play anywhere.

Thats what i mean by player management….and the buy in…..our coaches need to get to grips with the players tempraments…..Ruan has been, at the very best, a reluctant 10. He has made this clear to all and sundry….and now says enough is enough.

We continue to not listen to our prized assets at our peril….

• 22.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-19: Pdv called him the Tiger Woods of rugby! :lol:

• 23.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-16: ja

And the Toulon rumours as well….

Sharks will rather accomodate plod.

The mind boggles.

• 24.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-21: Israel Dagg also said, full back or wing, he doesn’t care just get him on the field. Cory Jane too.

• 25.GeniusSA: Reply to this comment

Hougaard has exactly the same mental attitude as J O’C which is why they are make a name for themselves at a young age. All they want to do is play rugby and play great rugby. Every team needs that youthful exuberance that they bring, to freshen things up.

Hopefully Hougaard gets more opportunities whether on the wing or at scrummie (which is where I prefer him)

• 26.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-18:

You lot, steal them from the Free State and then don’t look after them. How many of the original renegades that moved over with Gysie are left? Hard to buy loyalty, is it not?

• 27.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

get rid of quotas January (like we did in the Aus test) – get rid of quota Kirchner … habana has been k@k this whole year, replace him with JPP …. play JdJ instead of WO and we will be yster again

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

i swear my heart breaks when i read of these top, in there prime players leaving.

It is such a huge inditement on our structures and abilities…..

Makes me more than a little mal….

• 29.Staal: Reply to this comment

Imo…. The Sharks also played their part in gooing Woods around in the backline… playing Kockott….

hmmm to be honest……. they’ve done it to Frans Steyn as well….

• 30.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-20:

He will steal your boyfriend’s too…

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-22:

Oh :shock: you think he cheated on PDivvie?

• 31.GeniusSA: Reply to this comment

Hougard has exactly the same mental attitude as J O’C which is why they are make a name for themselves at a young age. All they want to do is play rugby and play great rugby. Every team needs that youthful exuberance that they bring, to freshen things up.

Hopefully Hougard gets more opportunities whether on the wing or at scrummie (which is where I prefer him)

Ruan never had that mental attitude and fair enough to him. Coaches should have realised this and just let him specialise, however to their credit they saw immense talent and wanted to make a place for him but his feet weren’t keen.

He’ll come back better for it!

• 32.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-29:

Blerrie Natalians, seawater weakened their brains!

• 33.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ok … it must be said…. and one of the bloggers did…

wat de hêl gaan aan met Habana…

has this huy gone AWOL of wat?

and i am talking of the whole year so far…. S14 included?

What’s wrong HAbs?

are the rumours true??????

just asking….

• 34.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-32: :lol:

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-24: ja

mindsets are key….and reading them very important. I know of the talks Ruan has had…..virtually begging not to be moved…..

The days of Kragdadigheid and forcing players to do things they are not keen on went out the window with the pro era….Ulster have made it clear Ruan will be employed at 9…..hence the cheers i am outta here by Ruan.

• 36.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-33: SAME QUESTION CAN BE ASKED OF sPIES!

• 37.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

staal watter roomers?? dat hy swak begin speel het omdat hy weg is by die bulle?

• 38.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-30: Riche can have anything from me that he wants. :lol:

As for Ruan. Maybe hey? Who knows. :lol:

• 39.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-33:

Rumours? Kom, uit daarmee Boet!

• 40.grant10: Reply to this comment

last point on Ruan….then rant over.

The difference between 9 and 10 is bloody huge!

Okay…my moan is klaar.

Go well Ruan….

• 41.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

spies had a blinder of a super 14 … habana had a shocker

• 42.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-38:

Sheesh Ross, you are such a sl*t ;-)

• 43.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-35: Well if he is comfy at 9 and has a club willing to pay big bux for him to play that position, then Good Luck Ruan.

What he needs to remember Grant is that Fdp is 1st choice. If his attitude is that 9 or nothing at all. Then he would be a bench warmer forever. I think the coaching staff have listened to him this season, but he hardly set the world on fire last Saturday.

• 44.Staal: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-36: hmmm…

not so sure of that…

but that’s your opinion….

he had average 3N so far yes……

but not average S14… that’s for sure…..

• 45.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-42: For Richeeee I am. Sorry. :lol:

• 46.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-43: Ros…..Ruan was more than happy to play for wildebeeste at 9 as opposed to 10….

He would have been more than happy to compete for 9 spot at sharks and boks…..

This i know….

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-44: ja….

meant 3 n ….Spies gone awol…..100% missing in action.

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-19: that has to be the most trivial reason for refusing to play a position ever!

Pdv loves ruan, did u miss how he always waxed lyrical about him, referring to him as the tiger woods of rugby! Ruan is a flake, period

• 49.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-35:
    This isn’t a matter of player management, it’s about team management. If Ruan didn’t want to be managed for the teams benefit, then what could PdeV or SARU do about it? Write him off and look elsewhere? Hell, when you look at what Bob Skinstad was prepared to do to play 7, not 8, for the Bok dirt trackers, then I’ve got no sympathy for Ruan.

• 50.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-45:

Ah yes and Ruan and…?

• 51.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-46: Well he is still in the que at the Boks for 9, and Sharks this season did play him at 9, so what was the problem?

More cash? I don’t blame him.

• 52.Staal: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-47: yip…

him INCLUDED ….

let’s not see things in the Boks team currently in isolation…..

let’s not single payers out only on the 3N cause we were all useless… imo..

who had a great 3N in the Bok team?

ask me i saw the 3 games live….

not a pretty sight – i tell you..

• 53.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Ruan is a poor 10 and average 9 as witnesssed on Sat.

I never bought into the hype that this was a special player as he never delivered when it mattered most. Mentally he just did not have the belief….. which is a shame because to have talent is one thing …….not to realise this talent is a travesty.

Good luck to him in Ulster though !!

• 54.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-49: exactly right…..instead of forcing the ruan at 10 issue….a more willing 10 player should have been chosen….like P Grant.

That is the whole point….its the ‘accomodation ‘ type selections that make me so frustrated. Ruan not good enough at 9 so lets make him a 10….even if he doesent want to be there.

Dumb.

• 55.Staal: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-53: i honeslty thought he would develop into a very good 9…

but that’s just me..

but all the best to him…

• 56.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-48:

I was not trying to come up with reasons but now that you mention it, if he liked him so much why did he select and then persist with Januarie at 9 whilst he had Pienaar right there?

I don’t percieve to know or really care about the reasons for him leaving, what I do worry about is the number of youngsters we are losing. We use to say who cares, they old and not of use anymore, now we are losing players in their prime. A year before the WC I would much rather have the luxury of a Steyn and Pienaar around me than in Europe.

• 57.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-51: the bad blood is done and dusted…..Ruan feels its time to move on…..i wish him a sad farewell.

• 58.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-52: agree

theres issues….thats for sure

• 59.David: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-52:

Yes, the Boks were a shambles, but I caught a glimpse of a rerun of the Oz match when I was in the bank the other day, that epitomised Spies problem. It was when Stephen Moore broke around the back of the lineout and ran straight at Spies who didn’t even attempt to tackle. He just stood and watched as Moore ran around him before backing off in the other direction to cover the blindside.

• 60.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-56: so true that post

• 61.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-55:

Yip, we can only wish him well and who knows maybe he finds the spark that turns his career around, ala Percy !!

• 62.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-59: Spes and Plod were the worst of a very poor bunch

• 63.bluealligator: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-7: hey there poopa, you wifebeaters have only managed to win 2 out of the last 5 games against the Boks three of which were on NZ soil and you come on here all arrogant and stroppy I bet your wife/girlfriend were happier than you though that will be two less beatings than she took last year hey!!!

• 64.David: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-56:
    Be fair. Steyn and Pienaar left because they weren’t selected for the position they wanted to play, apart from the money, of course. Are we really prepared to accept players who say “pick me in the position I want, because I can get better money overseas with a club that will”?

• 65.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-56:

Give me a hungry , arrogant, tough Francois Hougaardt than a ocnfused, sulky Pienaar anyday !!

• 66.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-54:
    To be honest, I don’t see Peter Grant as more than a good quality S14 journeyman, whilst Ruan has genuine class to play a number of positions, which is why he’s so valuable as a squad member.

• 67.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-64:
    @justrugby(justrugby)-65:

Steyn and now Pienaar is only two of a much larger contingent plying their trade overseas now. It does not help to say but they did not want to play ball, how much did we do to try and keep them. How much did we do to try and convince others to stay and all of this does not answer the real question why so many, more than 2, left SA.

Time to stand up and face the problem, pointing fingers at Pienaar and Steyn is not the solution.

• 68.rangerman: Reply to this comment

i think it has now been conclusively proven that a strong province= fukall for the boks (sorry doc, your days of poaching young natal lads are long gone).

a strong natal side though…..that is a different matter.

and why have jaque fourie and habs picked up all these CT manners?(as g13g would call them)

very irritating.

• 69.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-56: both eddie jones & pdv said ruan would be a great 10, and pdv really believed it. I guess their relationship broke down when ruan’s kicking failed him in the 2nd Test agains the b&i lions, where morne took to the field and NEVER relinquished the 10 jersey!

I remember they showed ruan’s weird mug as morne was slotting in kicks, it was a face of disappointment & embarrasment.

The boy choked!

@David(David)-59:

• 70.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@rangerman(rangerman)-68:

That’s has got to be the biggest load of kak ever posted ……ever !!!!

What a childish post……..grow up man

• 71.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-67: straeuli & his sharks buffoons will tell you they tried hard to keep ruan in durban, even hypocritically citing that ulster were in breach of irb rules for talking to a player under contract. But i guess ruan had had enough of francois steyn bragging to about ‘ek het my pa ‘n dairy plaas gekoop’! So he also bounced!

• 72.David: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-67:
    The major problem is money, as the ABs are discovering. When you consider what’s on offer for a young player who believes he’s being overlooked for higher honours, it’s difficult to up the ante to keep them based on possible potential.
    I had a conversation with the ex Bok father of a young hopefull, who left for France just after the last WC squad was announced with the justification that he’d been overlooked for “quota” reasons. The kid was getting R200,000 pm, a car, accomodation and 3 months paid leave a year.
    BTW, I personally doubt whether he was quite good enough to be selected, and hasn’t exactly set the world alight at the club he went to.

• 73.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-59: isn’t that the same thing spies did to allow israel dagg the bonus point try in wellington? Ffs that guy pisses me off.

• 74.David: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-73:
    Yeah, he sort of waved an arm at him as he went past. :lol:

• 75.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bluealligator(bluealligator)-63: dude that’s not necessary, let’s keep it to rugby! The beat us 2-0 so let’s reflect on that…

• 76.Papoose: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-66: at least grant appears to have the temperament to handle international rugby and not like pienaar
    i mean how can we be discussing the lack of a players temperament for test rugby when the said player has almost 40 caps?

• 77.bluealligator: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-75: Hey there transformation I have on several occassions congratulated the AB’s for outplaying us but have sat over the last two weeks and watched poopa xenophobically slate and antagonise us so reacted in kind. I admit we have several problems within our camp at the moment and 90% of that lies with PDV, Muir and Gold the other 10% poor player management both can be corrected and we need to concentrate on that but it doesn’t hurt to put ignorant xenophobes in their places once in a while

• 78.mxhosa: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-71:

‘ek het my pa ‘n dairy plaas gekoop’ Gigitheka Pantsi Yintsini.

Did you hear that the Sharks didn’t bother to book accommodation in Bloem this weekend? Half their team is from the FS so most of them will be sleeping at home and bringing their teammates to visit.

• 79.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@bluealligator(bluealligator)-63:

sickening bile.

• 80.David: Reply to this comment

@Papoose(papaown)-76:
    You’ve got a point there. For some reason our junior and provincial coaches manage to coach all the creativity out of potential 10s. It’s been a trend in SA for decades now, when you look at the selection policies. Visagie over Barnard; Bosch over Kirsten and Cowley; de Wet Raas, Joel Stransky, Braam van Heerden.

• 81.Malema: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-79:

Stupid boy.

• 82.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

McCaw admits to ‘cheating’
    2010-07-28 22:30Email | Print

Richie McCaw (Gallo Images)
    Hendrik Cronjé

Bloemfontein – Richie McCaw admitted on Wednesday that he had operated outside the laws of the game against the Springboks on several occasions, but said that it’s all part of rugby.

The All Black captain was penalised five times against the Springboks in Wellington according to website ruggastats.com. This infuriated coach Peter de Villiers and a number of his senior players.

Irishman Alain Rolland was the referee who failed to punish McCaw with a yellow card for his transgressions at the breakdown and will again be the referee when the Boks play the Wallabies at Loftus Versfeld on August 28.

“I made a few mistakes. I think the important thing is to know what you will get away with. But I undoubtedly made mistakes,” said McCaw.

He says he will continue playing his way as long as it does not place pressure on the team.

McCaw also admitted prior to Saturday’s Tri-Nations Test against the Wallabies in Melbourne that he was fortunate not to concede more penalties in Wellington.

He said he would be wary of South African referee Craig Joubert in the weekend’s match against Australia.

McCaw and his counterpart from the Wallabies, David Pocock, nevertheless showed that there is still place for fetching flanks in the mould of Heinrich Brüssow in Test rugby irrespective of law changes.

Brüssow looks set to be available to join the Boks on their end-of-season tour to Europe.

McCaw also noted that Pocock had frustrated the Boks a lot at the breakdowns.

“He had a big impact there. The Springboks were also not as accurate as they would have liked to be,” said McCaw.

Pocock was penalised three times according to ruggastats.com.

• 83.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@mxhosa(mxhosa)-78: hahahahaha :D GPY indeed

• 84.David: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-82:
    Why have you just posted the opening article? :sad:

• 85.bluealligator: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-79: So inline with all most of your comments then should make you feel at home and looking at your reaction probably quite accurate.

• 86.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-79:

Shame

Not so well today?

• 87.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Papoose(papaown)-76: charlie, peter grant doesn’t have the stuff of test rugby pivots! He hardly commands respect in the s14! He is the saffa equivalent to stephen brett or donald! They all look good running around aimlessly while their media talks them up!

Wynand is on 31 or 32 Test caps, do you think he is international Test class?

• 88.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

The only cheating in rugby is steriods! The rest of the time you play to the ref in charge!

• 89.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

Well done Ritchie. Playing the ref is a part of rugby. The refs are definitely blowing differently in the 3N than in the S14, allowing Ritchie to get away with more. The more lenient a ref, the better a fetcher will look.

The problem I have is the refs sometimes seem to turn a blind eye to Ritchie because of who he is and more importantly, there is now a huge discrepancy in the way the game is played. In the S14 traditional fetchers were made to look redundant by the new applications, now they are as important as ever.

• 90.Ratel Brussow: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-82: Lets see how effective they are under the laws reffed by Joubert. I foresee many more penalties.

• 91.Flametop: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-88:

The Laws are a joke.
    I think as an example to kids it’s a disgrace.
    It sends out the message that to make it in like you have to cheat.

Insider trading, sharp practice, arson, murder, embezzlement.
    All ok just as long as you play the ref.

The real joke (and everybody knows it) is that McCaw is not even that subtle about it.
    Refs just don’t usually have the bottle to card him.
    He is a cancer on the game

Just as a matter of course.. why is it that there is not ONE interpretation of the laws that every ref follows.

Even as the fiasco of the World Cup with bad refereeing decisions and goal line disputes, in the cold light of day 9 out of 10 decisions will be agreed to be right or wrong by both sets of fans and commentators.

In rugby the fans never agree as the laws change from week to week and nobody including the refs have a clue what’s going on.

• 92.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@bluealligator(bluealligator)-63: hey Blue Alligator… thing is, after you guys won all 3 games last year, yourself, like a few prominent others, thought you would cash in on the moment…

remember all the “NZ rugby is K@k” stories?

well, what do you expect us to do now the shoe is firmly on the other (suspended) foot?

• 93.DonutDunning: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-69: Exactly my thoughts, I put something similar in a previous article.

PdV genuinely thought that Ruan’s best position was 10.
    Ruan could have just disagreed and worked harder to become the best 9 in the country, but he took the promise of a guaranteed spot at 10.
    When Morne’s form could no longer guarantee Ruan the 10 position, instead of taking that as a challenge he appears to have gone on the sulk, and is now leaving the country because he isn’t guaranteed a start in either position.

His whole attitude just seems to be too negative.

• 94.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

the guy who said NZ rugby is k@k had to be on TIK ..was it dawn or skopskiet?

• 95.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-94: it was 15+ of them mate :wink:

• 96.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@Flametop(Flametop)-91:

If he was in our team! How we wish – a great and noone can deny it. Just because he is an All Black doesn’t mean he isn’t good.

Bakkies is tasked to clear out players which are not the rules and cheating, yet you call Richie a cheat. Come now – let’s be fair.

• 97.David: Reply to this comment

@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-93:
    I just think Ruan sulked because he wasn’t allowed to put the ball into the scrum any more and pat his 8th man on the bum. :lol:

• 98.Bill Reyts: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-97:

No you thinking about Frans Steyn now!!! ;)

• 99.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-94:

Shut up.

Don’t ever mention my name, you idiot.

• 100.justrugby: Reply to this comment

What our learned Kiwi friends on here must realise is that the BBks are in dissaray , not sure what has gone wrong (well i have my own ideas), but do know that there is something terribly wrong.

If the Boks had beaten the Aussies I would agree that NZ rugby is on the up !!!

The fact that Aussies also hammered us begs the question is it not rather the Boks who have been poor rather than the AB’s being anything special ??

I was one who said and still maintain that this is an average AB side, containing players who were made to look ordinary in the S14 by SAFFA sides.

The decline of these same saffa players has been alarming rather than the AB’s on a huge upward curve and have suddenly now become invincible.

I think the Kiwis on here are prematurely getting excited !!!!

Maybe after Saturday we will have a better idea.

But fair game they have beaten us so lets take the banter like men !!!

• 101.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

McCaw has used his 85 tests to learn how to read referees.

Springboks just don’t have the smarts to learn that.

• 102.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Newest prequel coming up ……….

ROLLAND’S REVENGE

• 103.whistleblower: Reply to this comment

What happened to Peter Grant? Injured or Australia?

• 104.Dawn: Reply to this comment

@whistleblower(whistleblower)-103:

Japan

• 105.whistleblower: Reply to this comment

Did he replace “ons vir christus”? Is he finished with SA rugby?

• 106.David: Reply to this comment

@whistleblower(whistleblower)-105:
    No, he’s coming back next year for the S15.

• 107.whistleblower: Reply to this comment

Thanks guys.

• 108.daneb: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-104: alooo dawny ,,howz’iet ?

• 109.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-102:

ROLLANDS REVENGE
    “story of watching gold”

the man
    who needed to escape
    90000 SA fans,

by speaking their (rugby) language

• 110.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

if rolland ref’ed that the same game at the Boland Stadium, he would’ve needed John Edward to tell his story

• 111.bluealligator: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-92: I never said NZ rugby was k@k I enjyed a good Bok Season and have lambasted a poor Bok season this year by adding my opinion to what I think we are doing right or wrong. You on the other hand tend to never praise the AB’s or criticise them when poor but instead choose to slate, verbally abuse and add distinctively racist comment to cause derision keep that for NZ rugby sites we don’t need that here. It was me who said last year that I felt we were peaking too soon and found it concerning that the AB’s were struggling as it meant they would only improve so bud get a grip or get lost.

• 112.husky: Reply to this comment

Interesting that mcCaw should admit he cheats while he has so many supporters who cast him as being pure as driven snow. He’s the Thierry Henry of rugby. It shows how confident he is of P O’B's support to browbeat the refs that he can be so blatant.

As for Gwant10 whining about Pienaar leaving. Look in the mirror bru, he knows that supporters like you will turn on him in a moment, forgetting all he’s ever done. Rather be relatively anonymous in the NH. Do you really want to bring Butch back? He was great (neatly stunted by Paddy O’ Bumchums refs), good in the RWC but just a tad past it. OK for a substitution. We should be super coaching young fly halves.

Try be analytical, objective and not emotional, spewing hatred. With our limited coaching, amateur and divided admin, a myriad of political issues and non-existent development versus foes who are cunning, unscrupulous and totally committed on every level, legal, marginal and illegal, being a diehard Bok supporter may be just that. A diehard.

• 113.Mczana: Reply to this comment

Richie got away with murder as a result of the stupid reason to have NH refs in the 3N. These guys myt be the top refs in the world but they haven’t been exposed to the new rules. The SH refs took time to understand these rules in the begining of the S14 but @ that time so were the playaz.
    Now we have a situation of guys who are new to this fast paced game tryin to make calls on guys who have had more than 15 weeks to perfect ways to beat the opponent and the ref.
    Solution is to have SH refs and then implement these rules worldwide, then bring in these palookas next season when they have improved their game.

Practice makes perfect, sitsho isilungu.

• 114.RugbyRulz: Reply to this comment

@Mczana(Mczana)-113:

I would rather we all (SANZAR teams) have exposure to NH this year and not during the WCup. Hopefully next S15 we will see more NH refs and ours will go north. Only way to have ALL refs on the same page. ;)

• 115.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-28:

You cannae have it both ways, G10.

Youre an outspoken supporter of picking offshore SA players for the Bok team. Its shortsighted and self-serving that simply fails to see the Big Picture.

Pienaar leaves SA shores for 1 reason and 1 reason only. He knows that all the extra do$h he will earn for a few Magners League turn-ups (diluted teams, even likes of Munster), only to be expected to turn it on in the few Real McCoy H.Cup matches, will NOT mean he has to say goodbye to the Green’n'Gold’. So why shouldnt he ?! Therefore SA RUGBY loses another top player. There is no ‘punishment/payoff’ in terms of conditions-changed.

Krusty has picked every/most offshore Bok player at his disposal, even scorned-ex F.Steyn is merely in hiatus; so desperate is Krusty that he even picks them in bizarre field positions (JdV at WING ?!).

Stay local. Be rewarded.

Take the plane ?

A D I O S !

If you lose a player at 28yrs+, its disappointing, sad, but surely you wouldnt deny any player who has put in approx 10yrs at the top, body heart and soul, let him take the wedge elsewhere and experience new challenges. They still have 5yrs left in their careers, so noones the loser. But players in their early-20s ????

Something wrong there. Fix it.

• 116.Mczana: Reply to this comment

@RugbyRulz(RugbyRulz)-114: Thats another option as long as we’ll have uniformity as compared to the current circus. But then if the head is rotten, the whole fish is rotten. P O’B must go.

• 117.David: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-115:
    Which overseas based players are you referring to? There’s only Steyn and Butch.

• 118.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

McCaw admits to ‘cheating’
    2010-07-28 22:30Email | Print

Richie McCaw (Gallo Images)
    Hendrik Cronjé

Bloemfontein – Richie McCaw admitted on Wednesday that he had operated outside the laws of the game against the Springboks on several occasions, but said that it’s all part of rugby.

The All Black captain was penalised five times against the Springboks in Wellington according to website ruggastats.com. This infuriated coach Peter de Villiers and a number of his senior players.

Irishman Alain Rolland was the referee who failed to punish McCaw with a yellow card for his transgressions at the breakdown and will again be the referee when the Boks play the Wallabies at Loftus Versfeld on August 28.

“I made a few mistakes. I think the important thing is to know what you will get away with. But I undoubtedly made mistakes,” said McCaw.

He says he will continue playing his way as long as it does not place pressure on the team.

McCaw also admitted prior to Saturday’s Tri-Nations Test against the Wallabies in Melbourne that he was fortunate not to concede more penalties in Wellington.

He said he would be wary of South African referee Craig Joubert in the weekend’s match against Australia.

McCaw and his counterpart from the Wallabies, David Pocock, nevertheless showed that there is still place for fetching flanks in the mould of Heinrich Brüssow in Test rugby irrespective of law changes.

Brüssow looks set to be available to join the Boks on their end-of-season tour to Europe.

McCaw also noted that Pocock had frustrated the Boks a lot at the breakdowns.

“He had a big impact there. The Springboks were also not as accurate as they would have liked to be,” said McCaw.

Pocock was penalised three times according to ruggastats.com.

• 119.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-54: Oh come on, what is he, the messiah? Maybe he should just man up and play what’s given to him….but he always looked like a little lost sulking boy,and never really blew anyone off the park, so I don’t see what the big loss is, firstly…and secondly, maybe it’s not even asbout that? Maybe he just got an offer to go work in another country for a while, for a helluva lot of money, and decided it would be an adventure…who wouldn’t want to try something like that?

• 120.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-117:

Im referring to ‘Boks’. ie ones that have made Boks side and then left, only to be selected nevertheless.

JdV
    Butcher
    Steyn
    Matfield
    Smit
    BJ

shall I go on ?

• 121.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-101:

WELL it is difficult to learn anything if it is blown differently in each test and CLEARLY like McCaw is admitting he is allowed to get away with it and the Springboks, when they do it AREN’T!

No denying that McCaw is smart to push the boundaries, good for him, it is just that the Boks are not happy that consistency is not applied, from game to game AND, more importantly, during the game i.e. during a game, why should McCaw be allowed to get away with things but the other team is not allowed?

Seems to me that a major factor with the ABs strategy has been to influence the refs 1) to blow to suite their “style” (like less physicality and structure) 2) to favour them against other teams – like McCaw is admitting.

It probably starts with Paddy O’Brian (a KIWI) and then filters down to refs as they land in NZ.

IF they did not have the interpretation suiting their style and biased towards McCaw – they would be in trouble. McCaw admits it and knows it.

And lets face it after last years 3-0 white wash they needed to do something.

The only influence they do not have is with SA Refs, who coincidence, coincidence are rated the best refs in the world.

Go Figure.

• 122.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-75:
    “@bluealligator(bluealligator)-63: dude that’s not necessary, let’s keep it to rugby!”

You are a good moderator Trans and the foreign visitors to this site appreciate it.

• 123.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-101:

And prior knowledge makes you VERY SMART i.e. if you know EXACTLY HOW the ref is going to blow, it is EASIER for you to manipulate than the other team ….. and CLEARLY the ABs were pretty up to the situation ….

Hence the Paddy O’Brien and Refs “conspiracy theory”.

Just gotta find the emails now i.e. this has happened to SA Rugby before!

• 124.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-88:
    “The only cheating in rugby is steriods! The rest of the time you play to the ref in charge!” – Bill Reyts – 88.

+1

• 125.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-123: If you’re joking then that’s good comedy and quite funny for a South African but if you’re serious (and I suspect this is the case) then you must live a paranoid life and it’s hard to see how you enjoy rugby at all. Perhaps you want to go back to isolation when you only played with yourselves.

• 126.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@husky(husky)-112:

I agree with your first paragraph EXACTLY!

Also, both the Aussie and Kiwi Rugby Economies are in such dire straights that it is almost a “given” that they do everything in their powers to ensure that the game is played and reffed to suite their styles …. if not they would lose.

And we all know what loosing does ….. sports market share plummets, like in Australia, so it is VITAL that they win!

The thing that astounded me last year was all the HOO HAA about the boks kick and chase game! It put the fear of GOD into the Aussies and Kiwis as they knew that they could not compete with the Boks (results proved this). All this talk of boring etc. etc. was and is just a crock of poo …

I say this because that type of game is JUST AS SKILFUL as the running game.

And funnily enough the skill it takes to execute a Rugby Union kick chase strategy is EXACTLY the skill that the most popular sport in Australia is based on …. the sport of AFL. SO it cannot be THAT boring!! It is just boring when you lose.

The whole thing from rules and ref’ing just stinks in my opinion …… and smack of the Aus – Kiwi stich up to ensure their styles and sport market shares are maintained ……

Oh, and dare I mention that their is a World Cup in NZ next year – how they got it we do not know (another stich up??) – so an winning code will ensure excitement and interest and hopefully full stadiums (well, not many of the fields can you call stadiums ….. with 20-30K people capacity …. more people watch school boy games in SA!!)

• 127.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Flametop(Flametop)-91:
    “He (McCaw) is a cancer on the game.” Flametop-91

If he’s a cancer on the game then you’re a cancer on Springbok fans.

• 128.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-121: I dunno. I still have a problem with all this ‘interpreting the ref’ bull. Rules are rules and if you break them, Richie, it’s called ‘cheating’. That makes you unworthy. (and before the kiwis get themselves worked into a froth, I’m referring to him specifically because heh is now so confident of his untouchable status and the protection he gets from POB that he’s quite happy to give interviews about how skilfully he breaks the laws. Wow, what a leader, what an ambassador (and it shames me no end that at one time I referred to him as that) for the sport! And this is the ‘great’ man the kiwis as a nation grovel before. We see habitual offenders like Bakkies (rightfully) getting nailed, but the biggest habitual offender of them all is a national hero. What a joke.

The way I understand it is that a referee’s role is to see to it that the predetermined rules of the game are strictly adhered to to ensure a fair and even contest, to protect teams from dirty or illegal play, and to ensure that the team exhibiting the best skill on the day would win. What a delightfully outdated concept!

I know the quaint notions of fair play, sportmanship, self discipline etc are a thing of the past, but has it really got to the point where players can now crow about their skill at cheating to the world media? And be praised for it? Or when thuggery and violence is defended by the national coach. When a repeat offender like Burger gets away scot free with a second attempt at gouging in a year. Etc etc etc

And when this blatant cheating is pointed out afterward, the established response is then to label the team who has been WRONGED as whingers and whiners? Oh, and this is not a reference to any one team, or match, or sport, by the by, they all do it.

• 129.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@RugbyStudent(RugbyStudent)-118: Hendrik Cronje, the poor excuse for a journo, was doing “creative writing”.

Nowhere did McCaw ever admit to CHEATING, which is always a deliberate act. He admitted to MAKING A MISTAKE, which is always an unintentional lapse of judgement.

And there’s nothing wrong with testing where the ref’s limits are set, simply to see what you can get away with. It’s not like the moronic Bakkies who head-butts in open view, or stupid Schalk who gouges eyes deliberately and who then get crestfallen, woebegone and apologetic when they cop yet another suspension.

Now THAT is proper cheating! Stupid cheating — like writing a ransom note on your own personalised stationery.

• 130.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-125:

Yeah mate I am just as serious as Richie Mc is …. and you can have a “State of Union” every year with the Kiwis while we go for the REAL $$$$ in the Northern Hemisphere.

• 131.The Analyst: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-129:

Oh please you make it sound all so innocent ….. what a cop out “I made a mistake”!

• 132.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-129: LOL yea he made the same ‘mistake’ 6 or 7 times in a row!!!! Jeez how naive can you be

• 133.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-129: YOu’re exactly what i was on aboutin 128. Never about a fair contest, all about how much you can get away with

• 134.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Dawn(Dawn)-102:hello cougar :D

rolland’s revenge you say, will there be any glowing vampires :D

• 135.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-134: Man we are gonna be in for a long day at the office after they way out brilliant management slated him to anyone who would listen!!

• 136.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@bluealligator(bluealligator)-111: don’t worry mate poppa has been afflicted by a persecution complex, luckily the doctors say it’s temporary :D

• 137.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-130:

That’s priceless. Analyst is so sick of his team getting beat in the Tri-Nations he wants them to run away to the Six Nations.

If that happens you will watch your Rugby slide even further into the mire.

• 138.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-137: haha, the wheel turns quickly….just a year ago you guys ere in the same situation! But we’ll be back, have no doubts about that!

• 139.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

McCaw = our own Shabir Shaik

• 140.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

The limits are never crystal clear. An offside line is something that the ref must judge. A legitimate clear-out of a ruck also straddles a fine line. How much “slowing down” of the loose ball is slow enough to get penalised? How much off-true must a prop’s shove be to be judged to have been boring-in illegally? How long must play go on when advantage is being blown and what play constitutes advantage being over? When does a flat pass become a forward pass, or a knock-down become a knock-on? When has a player accidentally passed the ball into touch to concede a lineout and when has he deliberately thrown it out and needs a penalty against him?

It’s only the ref’s call. The ref is the sole judge of fact, and most of his reffing isn’t cut-and-dried.

It’s a subtle matter of interpretation and of laying down your limits. And players have to find out, in play, where those limits and and how consistently they’ll be defined and applied.

Often fans gripe loudly when a ref is too “pedantic” and sets such rigid limits that the game becomes a dull, stop-start snorefest. This is usually the grumble from SH fans directed at over-officious NH refs. But every player is entitled to test the refereeing ice underfoot until it makes ominous cracking noises. That’s not cheating; that’s doing your job properly.

• 141.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-130:
    “Steyn was off the pace because he’d played all of one season in northern hemisphere club competitions for Racing Metro.” – Jon Cardinelli on Keo.

Hey mate! This is what happens when you play in the North. Where’ve you been!

• 142.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-132: If he makes the same mistake 7 times and gets away with it 7 times, was it really a mistake?

That’s a Zen question, of course.

• 143.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@The Analyst(The Analyst)-121:

E N C O R E !!!!!

that brought tears to my eyes

• 144.SyKoPlaya: Reply to this comment

@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-110:

Best laugh today – thanks mate (LMFAO) !!!!

• 145.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-128:

before you start again

Can you please tell us which number is the next Hymn ?

• 146.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-135: if black panther is to be believed, rolland is a ‘hometown ref’ that gets influenced by the cheers of the crowd and atmosphere… :roll:

• 147.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-145: Praise my soul the King of Richie/ To His feet thy tribute bring…

• 148.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-135:
    “Man we are gonna be in for a long day at the office after they way out brilliant management slated him to anyone who would listen!!” – Atreides-135

Rolland is a professional referee and if he doesn’t do a good and impartial (do you even know what this word means?) job then he gets demoted. He, at least, will not take any baggage to Pretoria unlike SARU, the Springbok managemant, the players and most of all the fans. The only Saffas (other than the sane Keo forumites) that haven’t s.h.i.t. their pants over the ref in the last couple of weeks is the media.

• 149.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-128:

Your National Hero RWC Captain wore armbands on to a Test match field that gave a big F*CK YOU not only Adam Jones and Luke Fitzgerald, but also to the entire BIL squad and their Home Nations and peoples.

BUT more importantly, it gave an even BIGGER F*CK YOU to the entire sport of Rugby Union throughout the World. And for the avoidance of any doubt whatsoever, he refused to pay the insignificant fine handed out to him/them by the International Rugby Board.

Your opinion regarding R.McCaw is merely that. J.Smit didnt bother dabbling with ‘opinion’, he just confirmed the FACT.

• 150.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-149: talking about ‘F*ck you’s, here’s a HUGE one from Adam Jones to you Black Panther!

Botha was banned for two
    weeks for a dangerous charge on the Lions
    prop Adam Jones in a ruck which left the
    Welsh player with a dislocated shoulder
    requiring surgery. Botha’s appeal against
    the ban was dismissed, and he missed the
    third test against the Lions. The injured
    Jones himself later came out in defence of
    Botha, saying:

“Botha shouldn’t have been banned for it,
    nowhere near it. I don’t have any
    complaints. He just cleared me out of the
    ruck and I got caught. Everyone counter-
    rucks nowadays and, if anything, I was in
    the wrong place. He just hit me and I was
    unlucky. So I was surprised to see he got
    banned. I know we didn’t cite him so I
    don’t know why the independent
    commissioner did. It was just a fair ruck
    from a hard player. When I have met him
    before he seems like a tidy enough bloke
    so I’m not seeing it as anything
    malicious.”

so, who knows better what happened that day on the field? You or Adam Jones?

• 151.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-150: Excuse me, but it’s the player’s job to play the game not get involved with citing or judicial decisions. What would Jones know anyway?

• 152.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-151: jones wouldn’t know what happened to his own body? Are you serious?

• 153.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-152: Deadly. It’s not about whether he was injured or not – it’s about what the officials, the people running this game for everyone to enjoy, saw as dangerous and/or illegal.

• 154.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-153: fine.

• 155.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-153: but wakanathan mustn’t come here and tell us kak, the b&i lion management & adam jones didn’t see anything wrong from what bakkies did, only the citing commissioner! So for him to go on about ‘big f*ck yous’ to the lions and the home nations people is a whole lot of black panther bullsh*t!

Do you agree?

• 156.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-155:
    I do but…

only because the ‘big f*uck yous’ was supposed to be directed at the citing commissioner and not the players and fans as BP has suggested but…

as I understand it, the correct way to give a ‘big f*ck yous’ to the citing commissioner is through the proper channels via management and/or board and…

therefore to wear those armbands was giving the middle finger to the entire rugby community showing…

that board and management had no control over the players or…

the board and management condoned the armbands in which case they are just as undisciplined as the players which is exactly what is damaging the Springboks right now…

IMO.

• 157.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Since WHEN does A.Jones’ opinion have any relevance on the matter at all ? If any any player gives an SA-opposite answer they are summarily dismissed as “whingers and hypocrites” – lets take B.O’Ds example from the exact same Test for eg.

A. jones was just applying the Old-School approach of keeping it ‘on the field’. He was, conveniently, praised in SA. B.O’D chose the new-skool approach and pointed the finger. He was demonised.

It matters NOT what the players think. It DOES matter what the International Rugby community thinks, tho.

It was a BIG F*CK YOU, no matter how you try to dress it up.

• 158.Bok fan: Reply to this comment

Tell me are the refs ever liable for anything?

I would love to sit down with them after the past 3 games and have them try explain their “interesting” decisions to me, in fact I would pay good money

• 159.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-156:

Quite right, sir, and I might add, you put it far more eloquently.

And we might also cause to remember that the A.Jones quote re the hit from BaXXies, was released BEFORE he tuned in to see Smit lead his men on to the field for the 3rd Test with those arm-billboard saying a BIG F*CK YOU on it. I bet A.Jones must have thought that hilarious as he was in hospital in traction/recuperation for the next 6months.

• 160.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-157: talking about ‘dressing up’, you certainly enjoy flavouring your rambilings with loads of hyperbole hahaahaha :D

“that gave a big F*CK YOU not only Adam Jones and Luke Fitzgerald, but also to the entire BIL squad and their Home Nations and peoples.”

luke fitzgerald, the one schalk got 8 weeks for allegedly gouging? How were he armbands a ‘f*ck you’ to him, riddle me that, waka? :lol: what a joke!

• 161.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-156: quite right, directed at the farcical – for lack of a better word – decision by the judicial commissioner! And not to adam jones, the b&i lions management, the home nations and all it’s people, that is just ridiculous!

In the game between aus & england this year, the english hooker cleared a ruck with his shoulder, no citing!

At the Cake Tin Schalk did the same thing, went in with his shoulder and knocked corey jane back, ref penalised it. No citation!

And the only vague explanation that one gets is that, the victim didn’t get injured! Give me a break

• 162.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-160:

You have provided the answer all by yourself, thanks very much.

“allegedly”.

• 163.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-162: how predictable :D you went for the bait like i anticipated hahaha. Big F*ck Yous hey… You’re a funny guy

• 164.charo: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-148:

you’ve got that wrong muttonchops.

you seem to forget that a precedent has been set.

any ref in an all black game has to worry about your paddy o’brien.

refer stuart dickensen italy/nz.

publicly sh@t on by o’brien for not favouring the kiwis in the scrum.

as i said, a precedent has been set and every ref is now sh*tscared

• 165.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-164: quite right old squire… Big Bad Paddy! 8)

• 166.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-70: its true jr.

wether you like it or not.

a strong bulls side and a strong natal side equals a strong bok side.

hell, even a strong lions team equals a wc winning bok squad.

but now we see what effect the mercenary wp have on bok stars (habs and jaque fourie) and the selection of wp darlings over true ysters (louw over steggies) actually has on the bok side.

fear not, the natal and bulls boys will be back to rescue the day once they have had a well earned rest (chuck in two ysters from the FS for good measure).

• 167.rangerman: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-163: BWAAAAAAAHAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!

“allegedly”

that had blackpanty reching for the keyboard like a crack addict for a spoon.

we all know the citing commission found schalk not guilty of gouging.

last year the kiwis gave the world a big fk you by saying kicking was not a part if rugby, the year before they gave the world a big fk you by saying that drop goals were not a part of rugby.

the most insular people on earth but a genial bunch by all accounts.

• 168.Boksarenumber5: Reply to this comment

So Richie OFFSIDES McCaw admits he is a cheat

Refs are paid pimps

• 169.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

This appears to be a Keo 1st.

The more the Safas learn to hate Richie, the more the Kiwis learn to love Richie.

A Win-Win result then.

• 170.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber5(Boksarenumber1)-168: No, he doesn’t admit he’s a cheat. Because he isn’t one.

He admits only to sometimes making an occasional mistake. That’s not cheating, unless you’re too dumb to comprehend English.

• 171.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-128:

Great post Atreides, I fully agree and the notion that it is ok because everybody else does it, does not fly well with me. It is what will make a mockery of the game in the long run.

• 172.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@charo(charo)-164:
    “publicly sh@t on by o’brien for not favouring the kiwis in the scrum.” – Charo-164

No, publicly sh@t on by O’Brien for being rubbish on scrum rulings that game. After all Dickenson is an Aussie and in all his reffing career there he won’t have seen what proper scrummaging is.

• 173.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Boksarenumber5(Boksarenumber1)-168:
    Where does he say that?

• 174.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-172: anyone who watched that game knows Italy should’ve had a couple of penalty tries, what followed was pretty embarrassing for Dickinson, Paddy O’Brien and the IRB.

• 175.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-173: The SA propoganda machine in full swing..

not once in that article does he say “I cheat”..

yet every poor losing Saffa has clung to the reporters opinion, not the words quoted, as if it somehow means their team isnt the circus with krusty as their ringleader..

• 176.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-174:
    And i agree BH.
    ABs should have been penalised of the park in that game,i was embarrased watching it myself.
    But we all know refs can make mistakes and you seem to be very forgiving to some of them,like Barnes for instance.

• 177.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-175:
    You know how SOME of these South Africans can read between this lines. Only on the things they want to see cos at the moment i an doing the one finger salute to Bokarenumber5 but he wont see that.

• 178.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-177: mate, I dont understand these Saffas..

when they were winning and dishing it ad nauseam, it was only banter and we kiwis couldnt take a joke..

now when we dish it back, the banter, it is personal and vindictive apparently..

must be part of this conspiracy that seems to be the talking point on this blog lately..

what has happened to it all being “just banter” ????

• 179.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-178:

Yeah, fair enough….but when is enough enough? You don’t want to carry on like a spiteful little kid now do you? You are starting to sound vindictive…… just my opinion?

• 180.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-179: I agree, 3 weeks compared to 50 weeks, when is enough enough?

• 181.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-178:

Poppa, time to get off your high horse before you fall off. You repeat your sentiments at least once a day and we all get the point, really! Now do me a favour and stop labelling the Saffa masses all under the same umbrella, stop, look around and you will find lots of banter still happening.

You know, if you choose to only look out for the bitter and twisted don’t be surprised if that is what you find.

I for one can’t wait till tomorrow where I can sit back, relax and for the first time in 4 weeks just enjoy the rugby when two great teams smash the living daylights out of one another. No yellow cards for the Boks and no loss to contemplate and no hair pulling due to stupid coach selections and substitutions! Can only be a great weekend.

• 182.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-178:
    When the Boks are winning its called Banter.
    If they are losing its called arrogant,cheap shots etc. Not All our South African friends are like this as you know,but some can be a little sensitive.
    Good to see our local policeman Whatever is here to calm things down. :-)

• 183.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-182: that I do know, its the hypocrisy of it all that is sooooo refreshing…

the fact that we sheepshaggers havent choked in this years 3Ns, guess it was because we didnt return to “hicksville” where NZ rugby is k@k, and we dont have Ritchie Suarez injured this year, along with Paddy who is always chained to our back pocket, and our headmaster coach and his 700 page dossier proves there must have been a conspiracy against the good clowns of SA…

• 184.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-183:

Thought there was more to you mate than childish little cheap shots at ALL Saffa’s, but hey I’ve been wrong before……

• 185.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-184: post 183, how often did we hear all that sort of garbage mate?

and you expect me now to just drop it and ignore all that cr@p thats gone before..

double standards indeed…

• 186.whatever: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-185:

ok mate, whatever turns you on………….have fun! You sound bitter that’s all…..

• 187.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@whatever(whatever)-186:

Janee maybe he should not have hanged around for 10 months of ‘abuse’ from a few select bloggers, I think it left some scars…not sure it can be fixed!

• 188.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-182:

Yeah ok, the trick is not to become what you dislike the most…

• 189.whatever: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-188:

net so!

• 190.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-148: Well everyone’s been talking about how managing the referee is so important…and they haven;t been very smart about it, so not sure he will be particularly partial to lending them an ear…

• 191.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-145: Like I said, a quaint notion these days.

It would be Hymn number 3, the one after “Down with Justice 4″ and “Down with the Gougers”

• 192.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-149: If there’s anyone who regularly deserves a big F*CK YOU it’s the B&I Lions….actually nuking the whole god-forsaken collection of muddy sh*t piles would be even better

• 193.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-192: Ok maybe not the fans, they were pretty cool. Just their media and the players, then.

• 194.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-180: Was that ….a sob?

• 195.Atreides: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-171: Turning into soccer!!!!

• 196.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@Atreides(Atreides)-192:

yes, hmnmmmmm, quite.

let it all hang out

• 197.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-185:

and you thought that little love-in was going to last how long, exactly ?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.