Tri-Nations latest (Thurs)

Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Tri-Nations.

Richie reveals ref secrets

Richie McCaw told the media how he plays the referee and the opposition at the breakdown during matches.

The All Blacks skipper has been labelled a ‘cheat’ by some teams for his contesting and obstructing methods at the tackle point but he is happy with his style of play. McCaw says he knows how to push boundaries at the breakdowns.

‘If you go in gun shy you’re not going to have an impact,’ McCaw told media. ‘I think the big thing is to understand where you sit and what you’re going to get away with and what you’re not.

‘As long as you’re not putting the team under heaps of pressure you’ve got to still be at the point of knowing what you can get away with and what you can’t and the odd thing you might get wrong.’

Against the Springboks in Wellington a fortnight ago, McCaw admitted he was lucky not to receive a yellow card.

‘I think I gave away four penalties or it might have been five and there were a couple of them I was disappointed with.’

McCaw added that he has developed an ability to read a referee with his 85-Test experience.

‘How do I say it? What I think is right and what he (the ref) thinks is right could be different so you’ve got to figure it out pretty quickly,’ he said.

‘I always think the things I’m trying to do are the right things and if he’s penalising me for some reason I think ”geez I’m not going to get away with that today” or ”that’s not going to work with this ref”. Each ref is a little bit different. I have a fairly good understanding of where they’ll sit, just through experiences.’

All Blacks ban betraying photographer

NZRU CEO Steve Tew says there will no legal action taken against photographer Scott Barbour for capturing the All Blacks’ game plans on camera but he has been banned from training sessions.

The Melbourne-based Kiwi photographer created controversy on Wednesday after he took pictures of the All Blacks’ tactics on paper to be used against the Wallabies this Saturday, which were held by head coach Graham Henry at training. The photos were provided by Getty Images and published by the Australian media.

The NZRU have banned Barbour from covering the All Blacks at training during Bledisloe Cup Tests and will not allow Getty to send a replacement photographer. However, there is nothing stopping Barbour from attending this weekend’s clash in Melbourne as the union cannot make rulings on media coverage at matches on Australian soil.

Tew said the NZRU has contacted Getty after the incident and confirmed it will not sue the company.

‘There is no suggestion we will take legal action. We will obligate our contract with them. There will be no spiteful reaction and people are not going to see a knee-jerk reaction,’ Tew told stuff.co.nz.

Tew did not say how long Barbour will be banned, but team manager Darren Shand yesterday hinted that the photographer might be blacklisted.

‘People’s careers hinge on results,’ Shand said, adding that Barbour was no longer welcome at any of the team’s media opportunities.

197 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

• 1.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

Aish! Cheating…..

photographer!

• 2.David: Reply to this comment

London – South Africa flyhalf Ruan Pienaar has agreed his release from the Sharks and will join Ulster at the start of September, it was announced on Wednesday.

The 26-year-old, who was part of the 2007 World Cup-winning set-up and also plays at scrumhalf, is currently part of the Springbok squad competing in the Tri-Nations, but had agreed his move to Ulster in May.

Pienaar, who will join fellow South Africa caps Johann Muller and Pedrie Wannenburg in Belfast, was delighted with the agreement.

“I’m very excited about the change – I have been thinking about going to the Northern Hemisphere for a couple of seasons now and when the opportunity to join Ulster came up I was very interested,” he said.
    Continues Below ?

Pienaar’s two-year deal will commence on September 1 although he will be allowed to play for South Africa if selected for their Tri-Nations finale against Australia on September 4.

Ulster operations director David Humphreys said: “We’re delighted to have concluded the contract negotiations around Ruan’s move to Ulster. I would like to thank the Natal Sharks for their help in the matter and for agreeing to Ruan’s early release from his Sharks contract.

“We look forward to welcoming Ruan to Belfast in September. He is without doubt one of the biggest signings made in Ulster Rugby’s history and I’m confident that he will be a key asset to us both on and off the pitch.” – AFP

• 3.Andrews: Reply to this comment

Join the debate on Richie’s cheating ways….
    theroar . com.au/category/rugby-union/

• 4.JL1: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-1: McCaw is the the Hansie Cronje of rugby

Maybe he sold the photos to the press

• 5.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-4:

Bwhahahahahahaha!!! I bet you he is getting paid off to win games as well…

• 6.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-2: the truth of the matter is Ruan never bought into the 10 move…..ever!

That i do know for a fact…..he always maintained he was a 9 that could play 10, not the other way around.

Simply put he never had the mind set to do the change. This is why i have always maintained that a change of position at the high levels 1 st and foremost have to be accompanied by complete player buy in.

In the pro era if players are unhappy they vote with there feet.

We continue to lost top class players through the poorest of player management.

It is the real cancer in our rugby.

• 7.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@JL1(JL1)-4: theres only so many sour Saffas you can get into one photo though..

remember to smile :D

• 8.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-6:
    I understand what you’re getting at. The reality though, is that at the time we were direly short of quality 10s.

• 9.GeniusSA: Reply to this comment

Its all an elaborate ploy by the AB’s to set up an excuse for if they lose on Saturday to the up and coming Wallabies. Pocock will out cheat McCaw to the ball. Wallabies will win and then the AB’s will say their ship was harpooned by the journo’s. South African fans will laugh and ask who the whingers are now….

And so the wheel turns full circle :)

• 10.Staal: Reply to this comment

Good morning all.

Hope it’s a great day coming up for all. I see Panjo’s been found, Agliotti’s still a skelm, the Noth Pole is still melting and our own Woods is leaving.

Eish … life is interesting..

• 11.grant10: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-8: ja….

But again….its the poor player management that deprives a Peter Grant for an unwilling scrumhalf.

• 12.grant10: Reply to this comment

sharks are losing the crown jewels…..

Barritt….F Steyn….R Pienaar….

FFS just dont lose Bissy for overseas….please!

• 13.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

I love Richie.

• 14.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-7:

Modern day technology and the number will surprise you…smiles and all!

• 15.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-6: what happened to doing anything for the jersey or playing anywhere?! The kid James o’ Connor has played in three backline positions this year alone! What the hell is wrong with ruan?

• 16.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-12:

Force here we come…ek en my boet! Surely you nhave heared the rumours…???

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-13:

Watch it, he will steal your balls…!

• 17.Staal: Reply to this comment

imo…

Hat’s of to Richie…. he took us appart!

I personally think he is getting slower but that just show’s me how slow our loosies are…. :shock:

Well done Richie……. respect! I was there and saw it all… hel ons was pateties…

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Brussow & Steggies asb!!!!!

• 18.Sharkie10: Reply to this comment

Ruan’s move is a big blow to South Africa and the springboks. How could the springbok management do this to such a valuable player. He has never reached his full potential, because he was never allowed to.
    Now he maybe lost to the springboks forever.
    But i take my hat off to the sharks for letting him go, they understand where he is coming from and the way he was treated here. I just hope ulster plays him at No 9, becuase ruan has the ability to become the best scrumhalf in world rugby. I just no when he returns after two years. He is going to be a better, stronger and more experienced player, like i sayd, he may just come back as the best!

To make matters worse…Fourie du Preez is going to Japan. What are we left with? And what is saru doing to make our BEST players look for greener pastures!! Idiots!!!

• 19.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-15:

Deans love him and he loves Deans…you think Ruan and PDivvie have the same relationship?

• 20.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-16: I don’t have any, but if I did I’d love him to steal them too. I just freaking love Richie. :lol:

• 21.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-15: F Hougaard also happy to play anywhere.

Thats what i mean by player management….and the buy in…..our coaches need to get to grips with the players tempraments…..Ruan has been, at the very best, a reluctant 10. He has made this clear to all and sundry….and now says enough is enough.

We continue to not listen to our prized assets at our peril….

• 22.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-19: Pdv called him the Tiger Woods of rugby! :lol:

• 23.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-16: ja

And the Toulon rumours as well….

Sharks will rather accomodate plod.

The mind boggles.

• 24.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-21: Israel Dagg also said, full back or wing, he doesn’t care just get him on the field. Cory Jane too.

• 25.GeniusSA: Reply to this comment

Hougaard has exactly the same mental attitude as J O’C which is why they are make a name for themselves at a young age. All they want to do is play rugby and play great rugby. Every team needs that youthful exuberance that they bring, to freshen things up.

Hopefully Hougaard gets more opportunities whether on the wing or at scrummie (which is where I prefer him)

• 26.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Sharkie10(Sharkie10)-18:

You lot, steal them from the Free State and then don’t look after them. How many of the original renegades that moved over with Gysie are left? Hard to buy loyalty, is it not?

• 27.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

get rid of quotas January (like we did in the Aus test) – get rid of quota Kirchner … habana has been k@k this whole year, replace him with JPP …. play JdJ instead of WO and we will be yster again

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

i swear my heart breaks when i read of these top, in there prime players leaving.

It is such a huge inditement on our structures and abilities…..

Makes me more than a little mal….

• 29.Staal: Reply to this comment

Imo…. The Sharks also played their part in gooing Woods around in the backline… playing Kockott….

hmmm to be honest……. they’ve done it to Frans Steyn as well….

• 30.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-20:

He will steal your boyfriend’s too…

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-22:

Oh :shock: you think he cheated on PDivvie?

• 31.GeniusSA: Reply to this comment

Hougard has exactly the same mental attitude as J O’C which is why they are make a name for themselves at a young age. All they want to do is play rugby and play great rugby. Every team needs that youthful exuberance that they bring, to freshen things up.

Hopefully Hougard gets more opportunities whether on the wing or at scrummie (which is where I prefer him)

Ruan never had that mental attitude and fair enough to him. Coaches should have realised this and just let him specialise, however to their credit they saw immense talent and wanted to make a place for him but his feet weren’t keen.

He’ll come back better for it!

• 32.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-29:

Blerrie Natalians, seawater weakened their brains!

• 33.Staal: Reply to this comment

Ok … it must be said…. and one of the bloggers did…

wat de hêl gaan aan met Habana…

has this huy gone AWOL of wat?

and i am talking of the whole year so far…. S14 included?

What’s wrong HAbs?

are the rumours true??????

just asking….

• 34.Staal: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-32: :lol:

• 35.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-24: ja

mindsets are key….and reading them very important. I know of the talks Ruan has had…..virtually begging not to be moved…..

The days of Kragdadigheid and forcing players to do things they are not keen on went out the window with the pro era….Ulster have made it clear Ruan will be employed at 9…..hence the cheers i am outta here by Ruan.

• 36.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-33: SAME QUESTION CAN BE ASKED OF sPIES!

• 37.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

staal watter roomers?? dat hy swak begin speel het omdat hy weg is by die bulle?

• 38.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-30: Riche can have anything from me that he wants. :lol:

As for Ruan. Maybe hey? Who knows. :lol:

• 39.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-33:

Rumours? Kom, uit daarmee Boet!

• 40.grant10: Reply to this comment

last point on Ruan….then rant over.

The difference between 9 and 10 is bloody huge!

Okay…my moan is klaar.

Go well Ruan….

• 41.quotas_sux: Reply to this comment

spies had a blinder of a super 14 … habana had a shocker

• 42.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-38:

Sheesh Ross, you are such a sl*t ;-)

• 43.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-35: Well if he is comfy at 9 and has a club willing to pay big bux for him to play that position, then Good Luck Ruan.

What he needs to remember Grant is that Fdp is 1st choice. If his attitude is that 9 or nothing at all. Then he would be a bench warmer forever. I think the coaching staff have listened to him this season, but he hardly set the world on fire last Saturday.

• 44.Staal: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-36: hmmm…

not so sure of that…

but that’s your opinion….

he had average 3N so far yes……

but not average S14… that’s for sure…..

• 45.rossoneri: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-42: For Richeeee I am. Sorry. :lol:

• 46.grant10: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-43: Ros…..Ruan was more than happy to play for wildebeeste at 9 as opposed to 10….

He would have been more than happy to compete for 9 spot at sharks and boks…..

This i know….

• 47.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Staal(Staal)-44: ja….

meant 3 n ….Spies gone awol…..100% missing in action.

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-19: that has to be the most trivial reason for refusing to play a position ever!

Pdv loves ruan, did u miss how he always waxed lyrical about him, referring to him as the tiger woods of rugby! Ruan is a flake, period

• 49.David: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-35:
    This isn’t a matter of player management, it’s about team management. If Ruan didn’t want to be managed for the teams benefit, then what could PdeV or SARU do about it? Write him off and look elsewhere? Hell, when you look at what Bob Skinstad was prepared to do to play 7, not 8, for the Bok dirt trackers, then I’ve got no sympathy for Ruan.

• 50.Slartibartfast: Reply to this comment

@rossoneri(rossoneri)-45:

Ah yes and Ruan and…?

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.