Preview: Wallabies vs All Blacks
30 Jul 2010
JON CARDINELLI foresees another Blackout this weekend as the Wallabies won’t be able to live with the All Blacks’ physicality.
Last Saturday, the Wallabies landed a blow that sent the Springboks down to the Tri-Nations canvas. They were rougher, tougher and ultimately smarter, and at the end of the Australasian tour from hell, the Boks had no reply.
The Wallabies’ dream start, however, will be short lived. They have home advantage, but they’re playing a team that’s grown stronger with every game this season.
After a scrappy start against Ireland and Wales, the All Blacks hit their straps against the Boks to score two bonus-point wins. They also managed to limit their opponents to two tries in two matches and 29 points overall.
The Aussies enjoyed similar success on the defensive front, but relied heavily on the boot of Matt Giteau to see them home. Their superior physical display was complemented by their ability to retain possession for long periods, and halfbacks Will Genia and Quade Cooper were instrumental in penetrating the Bok defence.
The All Blacks won’t be so generous. They smashed the Boks at the tackle at Eden Park and at the Cake Tin. In Richie McCaw, they have a player capable of slowing or stealing possession, and this will be key considering the All Blacks need to disrupt the Wallabies’ rhythm.
Cooper’s suspension is a setback for the hosts, even though Giteau is a more than competent 10. Whether he can offer Australia the same attacking edge is doubtful.
Neither Giteau nor Berrick Barnes are known for their abilities to take on the defence, and this, along with Australia’s likely loss at the collisions, is bound to limit the hosts’ overall potency. The All Blacks, having dominated the tackle point, had an easy time marshalling South Africa’s wide forays, and we should see more of the same in Melbourne.
The set-pieces will be interesting with Stephen Moore bolstering the Wallabies scrum and Nathan Sharpe sure to test an All Blacks lineout that enjoyed plenty of success against the Boks. But it will come down to the breakdowns and collisions, and the Aussies will play more territorially.
The Wallabies hardly kicked last week because they didn’t need to. The momentum was provided through their breakdown superiority, and as long as they retained possession, they usually prospered. This week, they’ll be outmatched in this area. They will strive for good field position and then try to build an attack from deep within All Blacks’ territory.
The Blacks will continue to employ their surge and destroy brand, although the Wallabies’ defence will be tougher to breach than that of the Boks. Dan Carter will vary his play in the early stages, and only once a comfortable lead’s been established will the visitors cut loose.
It may not be another bonus-point victory, but the win should bring the All Blacks one step closer to reclaiming the Tri-Nations title.
Prediction: All Blacks by 10
Wallabies – 15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Matt Giteau, 9 Will Genia, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Matt Hodgson, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Anthony Faingaa, 22 Kurtley Beale.
All Blacks – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan; 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Israel Dagg.
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

286 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All
30 Jul 2010, 09:38 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-46:
Leeroy Houston seems to be highly rated in OZ,went on tour with Wallabies a few yrs back as a 19 yr old.
I believe he has the tangibles to become a Kefu type 8 as well but it’ll never come to fruition due mainly to his conditioning.Which is pathethic.Period.
30 Jul 2010, 09:41 am
@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-13: Very genorous of you giving the margins you have. I think the Ab’s will be looking at between 19-24 points over the Wallabies.
You have to take into account they played a team (Boks) that had just had the snot belted out them for two weeks running and then they let in two try’s as well. I think the margins will be quite even going to the sheds at the break but the AB’s will put on the surgeons gloves and take them apart piece by piece in the last thirty. I think they may even give the Wallabies bigger shock than the Boks.
Looking at guys like O’conner, they will hammer the like of him and wear out the tough guys with their relentless style of play and as the Wallabys are not a team that really all stand up and are counted the onslaught will be too much for a few to handle.
AB’s 35+ Wallabies 15-
30 Jul 2010, 09:41 am
I think those that say O’Conner and Barnes can’t tackle are a bit misguided, I saw him drop Big Vic and Guthro, plus a few big Figians this year. He has very good technique IMO
Barnes had a tackle count of 24 on one super 14 game. That’s huge. I rate him as one of the best defensive backs around.
Before the Bok game I also wanted Higgenbottom in place of Brown, bur Brown had a big game and you cant drop him off the back of his best game. Stanaforth too is up there, a real blue collar player.
Amazing, a depth argument/discussion on a wallaby thread…Good signs for the future?
Last year was supposed to be the best tri-nations….I recon this is going to go down to the last few matches…here’s hoping
30 Jul 2010, 09:45 am
@muffy(muffy)-53: yep i saw that! He dropped guthro big time, got him around the legs and floored him. Good technique as you said!
30 Jul 2010, 09:46 am
@HongKongSlong(HongKongSlong)-32: You spot on and the test season has shown that the new laws will have little effect on someone like Brussow’s contribution.
Yip with Brussow and Stegman out, we have very little options to be honest. Quite scary but not surprising since the coaches in SA are clueless when it comes to balance in a lose trio
30 Jul 2010, 09:47 am
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-55: Maybe Derrick Kuhn?
30 Jul 2010, 10:02 am
I enjoy this bloke’s column, no frills or useless bits just the facts.
ADAM FREIER
July 25, 2010
The power of the press and how we are all
at the mercy of the public and, in some
cases, our peers has been evident during
the week. Jason Akermanis is a special
athlete and, by all reports, a unique
individual
I don’t know Jason personally, but what I
can take from his sacking is that he is a man
who lives and dies by the sword – his
opinion.
Brendan Cannon’s comments towards Peter
de Villiers, although harmless, sent
shockwaves through the Springboks camp,
and generated enough noise to provoke an
apology. That’s the beauty and harsh nature
of the media.
But expressing an opinion on a player is the
most delicate matter of all. It’s a challenge
that all coaches face. How do I get the best
out of that player without hurting them or
the team? Using the press can be difficult,
some have mastered it, while others don’t
have to, which is an art in itself.
Robbie Deans and Graham Henry are among
the very few that don’t. These coaches are
very much on similar parallels in ensuring
their message is clear and precise, while
protecting their greatest assets and still
getting the best out of them.
If you watch either of them being
interviewed, they are professionals at
making sure they don’t put their foot in it.
One misinterpretation can create a
completely different presentation. As we
have seen with other coaches (should I say
de Villiers?), imagine the devastation that
would follow if Deans or Henry put their
stars on notice at a press conference. It
would be a media frenzy and it would take
weeks for the team to get back on course.
They don’t single out any particular players,
their efforts or form with words, but
introduce a little thing called ”healthy
competition”.
Henry started about 12 months ago with
some of his All Blacks. Mils Muliaina has seen
the emergence of plenty of stars all capable
of wearing the All Blacks’ No.15 jumper like
Cory Jane and Israel Dagg.
What this has done is create a healthy
nursery for a player to be the best they can
possibly be. The result? Mils has stripped
back a few kilograms and produced some
devastating rugby at the end of a white-hot
All Blacks back line.
The same with Tony Woodcock, who has
been New Zealand’s loosehead prop for
many years. But this year Henry did not
guarantee him a spot in the starting XV, or
even the 22 following the arrival of the
Franks brothers at the beginning of New
Zealand’s international season. Woodcock
has had to work hard to get back into the
run-on side and looks leaner and meaner.
Piri Weepu falls into the same category.
Although he started against the Springboks
through the injury to Jimmy Cowan, he still
had to work extremely hard to bypass
players such as the Blues’ Alby Mathewson
and the Crusaders’ Andy Ellis. Would Weepu
have been the player he was against South
Africa if he was daylight in front of all No.9s
in New Zealand?
So let’s apply this method to our Wallabies
stars. Nathan Sharpe’s international career
appeared over in 2009 with Deans’s
selection of James Horwill and Dean Mumm
as Wallabies locks. The result: Sharpe played
out of his skin for the Western Force in
2010 and is playing the best rugby of his
?career, at the age of 32.
Anthony Faingaa could turn Matt Giteau into
the player he never thought he could be,
too. Would he improve if the coach or some
Wallabies legends in the media put him on
notice through the press? Maybe. But most
probably not.
Then the most talked-about comeback of all,
Drew Mitchell. Getting left out of the
Wallabies squad and returning through
injury, Mitchell worked overtime on his
game.
Would Mitchell have pushed himself if
he was granted a walk-up start?
There is no question my best season was
when Tatafu Polota-Nau joined the
Waratahs.
Let’s hope Deans can continue to find ways
of pushing the Wallabies without
‘Akermanising’ himself in the press.
Two coaches, two nations. Same nationality,
same applications in achieving the best
from their men.
Who has the better timing? This will be on
show in Melbourne on Saturday night. Bring
on the Bledisloe.
30 Jul 2010, 10:02 am
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-55: Brussow would be huge this year, low to the ground, fast, strong and ball hungry, not interested in the man (read Schalk), will be the first pick in my bok team when fit again
30 Jul 2010, 10:10 am
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-55: They made a good point on Reunion last night, why pick 2 ball carriers at 7 & 8 if you aren’t gonna carry the ball?
You’re spot on there….can’t wait to see Ratel back in the picture!!!
Has anyone ever seen Spies actually lying on the ground?
30 Jul 2010, 10:12 am
@muffy(muffy)-58: Yea he might not be as big as Pocock but he’s easily as strong
Schalk’s history in my book too. Was disgusted with the way he clawed at Pocock’s face…..even before he slammed him, he was clawing at the side of his head…what is he, a frikkin schoolgirl???????
30 Jul 2010, 10:13 am
@muffy(muffy)-53: How did Higginbotham not make the squad?
30 Jul 2010, 10:14 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-59:why should he? Spies stops runaway trucks my man!
30 Jul 2010, 10:16 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-61: higgins (meisiekind killer) was injured @ the end of s14 don’t know if he’s fine….
30 Jul 2010, 10:17 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-62: Lol…I’m not buying into all the Spies bashing so much, but he definitely needs to up his work-rate and get a bit more aggressive
30 Jul 2010, 10:22 am
if higgins killedWO, imagine what we would do to de jongh … we all know how WO killed JDJ in the Super final
30 Jul 2010, 10:30 am
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-65: um, de jongh would never be left behind by higginbotham in a sprint race, never hahahahaha
30 Jul 2010, 10:45 am
nee, hy ken al weghardloop van die polisie in mitchelsplain
30 Jul 2010, 10:47 am
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-52:
Be careful with predictions like that, Poppa will be calling you an arrogant p**ck and slating your family & history – or does arrogance only apply to Saffa’s when they back their team?
I think the All Blacks will win this but not by 20 points – I reckon around 7-10 points for this game. The Aussies will have a bit of confidence from last week despite how bad the Boks were so will give it plenty. Once you get them back to NZ then you can start talking about winning by 20+
30 Jul 2010, 11:00 am
@muffy(muffy)-58: Agreed. Like I’ve said before, the first 2 players in your side should be a reliable goalkicker (M Steyn) and a genuine fetcher (Brussow). Since Fdp is the best player on the planet he can be included with the above 2 names IMHO.
@Atreides(Atreides)-59:
Haha. You mean why pick 3 ball carriers if you not going to carry the ball. Spies is the most overrated player in SA with Brussow the most underrated
30 Jul 2010, 11:02 am
@Rugby-1(Rugby-1)-68: Yea the AB’s are not going to stand back and let them hold onto the ball the way the Boks did….104 breakdowns and they retained possession 103 times? That’s a bit of an indictment on our loosies!!!
30 Jul 2010, 11:10 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-70:
Yes I agree, we were **** & going into a test match with no recognised fetcher was a seriosu step backwards. Have to wonder what the coaching staff do all week, that was a schoolboy error
I just think the Aussies will be playing out their boots this weekend, and they do have a bit of confidence now. They will defend a lot better than we did and make it tough for the All Blacks. I still fancy the AB’s to win (they are a much better team), but talk of 20+ points is pretty arrogant considering the abuse these boys have been throwing at Saffa supporters for the very same thing!
30 Jul 2010, 11:12 am
@Atreides(Atreides)-70: Could you send that info to the coaches. I dont think they getting why we couldnt defend or get momentum going.
I dont think it would help anyway because for some reason Pdv is thinking like Jake White re a fetcher.
30 Jul 2010, 11:16 am
I see all the antipodean apologists and armchair Bok naysayers have colonised Keo…
30 Jul 2010, 11:17 am
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-67: hy is nie van mitchellsplain nie doos
30 Jul 2010, 11:20 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-73: nee fok, hier kom kak!
30 Jul 2010, 11:21 am
I fancy the Aussies for a win this weekend.
Not only do they have a good chance on home turf they are better sports on the paddock.
Go Aus!
30 Jul 2010, 11:23 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-76: There will also be no sheepshagger partiality from evil leprechaun refs in the back pocket. Quite plainly John O’Neill woul not countenance any of Paddy OBriens shenanigans. full stop.
30 Jul 2010, 11:28 am
transform .. nee, wie het gese hy doen, hy doen net sy drugs en crime daar
30 Jul 2010, 11:33 am
So now PdeV doesn’t appreciate a fetcher after selecting Ratel? The main reason he went with Flo for the tour was that Flo and Schalk were highly effective as a combo in the S14, especially at working the new law interpretations.
What happened in NZ was that the ABs had worked out a way to nullify their tactic and prevent Flo from getting to the ball. He wasn’t helped by the refs interpretations either. The point is that the SA coaches didn’t have another fetcher option available and in order to combat the Aussies tried a different tactic with what was available.
30 Jul 2010, 11:45 am
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-78: hehehe jy praat net klomp kak
jdj is ‘n moerse gooie speler en jy weet
30 Jul 2010, 11:47 am
@David(David)-79: If you recall Brussow was only brought in after Schalk was suspended (A suspension which won us the series in my opinion) and not at the start of the season like he should have been.
Fair enough regarding your comment on Schalk and Flo but after the first test with Bakkies sent home, the first thing Pdv should have done was send a genuine fetcher like Stegman over to balance the loose trio?
30 Jul 2010, 11:47 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-75: What kak! I am pinpointing AB preciousness way before it starts pi.ssing the rest of Bok supporters.
I know how AB supporters think: Contrary to all this facade about “rivalry” and “respect” the sheepshaggers don’t respect Bok rugby and they have more of a rivalry with the Wallabies (Bledisloe cup). We are the poor cousins in 3N from their POV. Plainly.
Memories of all their bullshyte have been blurre by recent success of the Boks. Time to start remembering…
30 Jul 2010, 11:49 am
@David(David)-79:
Well why go with 1 fetcher and how many centres? The squad selection was poor, we should have had options with the depth we have but we didn’t and ended up playing a tactic against the Aussies that 90% of fans and commentators knew was wrong – but hey apparently that’s okay because had to make do with what we had. How unprofessional
30 Jul 2010, 11:50 am
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-78: So. You are from PE. Where in PE are you? Forrest Hill Shebeen?
30 Jul 2010, 11:54 am
At least we know the breakdown calls will be reasonable with Craig Joubert at the whistle. Certainly better than some of the NH rookies we’ve had to deal with.
30 Jul 2010, 12:00 pm
@David(David)-79: it worked in ’08 at ellis park when div played burger, spies & smith against waugh, elsom & palu (waugh was replaced by george smith) 53 – 8
30 Jul 2010, 12:02 pm
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-81: schalk didn’t play the 1st match because of a calf injury…
30 Jul 2010, 12:06 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-85: craig joubert watched boots ‘n all, he knows he must nail mcCaw or Keo will slate him in business day come monday!
30 Jul 2010, 12:06 pm
@rossoneri(rossoneri)-84:
Just ignore the twat.
30 Jul 2010, 12:09 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-87: Then how did he manage to gauge the guys eye??
30 Jul 2010, 12:10 pm
one day to go boys and girls, The kiwi’s have a spring in their step and are confident, that’s good to see. The wallabies have been given a hammering in the press for not going on the job so expect 80 mins of high octane play. I feel that the Wallabies are a lot more settled this year, good scrum, good line out, Genia is majic, Burgess was **** last year and I think really cost us. This game will depend on the who wins the breakdown and if the S14 is any judge Jourbet will be hard on teams who deliberatly kill the ball. If McCaw gets 10 mins cooling off then its really game on because he won’t push it again. They can do it but they need to turn up, I just have a feeling they will. Can’t predict the score
Dis Naweek !!!! kom ons fo%&&^n duik
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-85: Even Craig Joubert is better than some of the oirish excuses for leprechaun refs that have been on show in tokoloshe land…
30 Jul 2010, 12:14 pm
@Bok fan(Bok fan)-90: only @ loftus, 1st Test was in Durban
30 Jul 2010, 12:17 pm
I love the smell of whining in the morning.
30 Jul 2010, 12:26 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-88:
Haha
Many have felt the wrath of the Keo’s business day column!
30 Jul 2010, 12:27 pm
@Yetirat(Yetirat)-96: Business day is definitely not the Economist…
30 Jul 2010, 12:34 pm
Keo….if you write such rubbish in your weekly newsletter please take me off your mailing list.
You are becoming as soft and accomodating as the average saffa brainless moronic, candy floss, feeble minded, limp wristed mommas boys.
If Plod is not good enough, then he in not good enough. Giving caps away for ‘the occassion ‘ is sick and weak.
You can continue with the ‘Fat Boys Club’, together with the slapgat back slappers.
Its WP nd Vasco Da Gama Football Club for me.
I wont be hoodwinked or sugar coated into believing or buying into the rabble currently parading as the national team….
Klaar.
30 Jul 2010, 12:38 pm
801. grant10 :
November 15th, 2009 at 8:08 am
#792 Real Deal: Korean vet man….screw you wally….you reckon its okay for a Bok captain to denigrate a fellow Bok in a book it shows up your lack of moral fibre….actually expected a bit more from a traditionalist like you….seems you okay with this as long as Smit is climbing into Luke.
Hypocrite….go back to Korea….The new SA dont need your kind here.
so thats my grant doesn’t like JS … its all about the cancer puke
30 Jul 2010, 12:43 pm
@quotas_sux(quota_conrad_jantjies_is_jorrie_muller)-99: yes….partly true.
Fact that he is out of shape and playing the poorest rugby i have ever seen from him certainly adds to my hoping Plod retires.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 » Show All