Preview: Wallabies vs All Blacks
30 Jul 2010
JON CARDINELLI foresees another Blackout this weekend as the Wallabies won’t be able to live with the All Blacks’ physicality.
Last Saturday, the Wallabies landed a blow that sent the Springboks down to the Tri-Nations canvas. They were rougher, tougher and ultimately smarter, and at the end of the Australasian tour from hell, the Boks had no reply.
The Wallabies’ dream start, however, will be short lived. They have home advantage, but they’re playing a team that’s grown stronger with every game this season.
After a scrappy start against Ireland and Wales, the All Blacks hit their straps against the Boks to score two bonus-point wins. They also managed to limit their opponents to two tries in two matches and 29 points overall.
The Aussies enjoyed similar success on the defensive front, but relied heavily on the boot of Matt Giteau to see them home. Their superior physical display was complemented by their ability to retain possession for long periods, and halfbacks Will Genia and Quade Cooper were instrumental in penetrating the Bok defence.
The All Blacks won’t be so generous. They smashed the Boks at the tackle at Eden Park and at the Cake Tin. In Richie McCaw, they have a player capable of slowing or stealing possession, and this will be key considering the All Blacks need to disrupt the Wallabies’ rhythm.
Cooper’s suspension is a setback for the hosts, even though Giteau is a more than competent 10. Whether he can offer Australia the same attacking edge is doubtful.
Neither Giteau nor Berrick Barnes are known for their abilities to take on the defence, and this, along with Australia’s likely loss at the collisions, is bound to limit the hosts’ overall potency. The All Blacks, having dominated the tackle point, had an easy time marshalling South Africa’s wide forays, and we should see more of the same in Melbourne.
The set-pieces will be interesting with Stephen Moore bolstering the Wallabies scrum and Nathan Sharpe sure to test an All Blacks lineout that enjoyed plenty of success against the Boks. But it will come down to the breakdowns and collisions, and the Aussies will play more territorially.
The Wallabies hardly kicked last week because they didn’t need to. The momentum was provided through their breakdown superiority, and as long as they retained possession, they usually prospered. This week, they’ll be outmatched in this area. They will strive for good field position and then try to build an attack from deep within All Blacks’ territory.
The Blacks will continue to employ their surge and destroy brand, although the Wallabies’ defence will be tougher to breach than that of the Boks. Dan Carter will vary his play in the early stages, and only once a comfortable lead’s been established will the visitors cut loose.
It may not be another bonus-point victory, but the win should bring the All Blacks one step closer to reclaiming the Tri-Nations title.
Prediction: All Blacks by 10
Wallabies – 15 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 14 James O’Connor, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Berrick Barnes, 11 Drew Mitchell, 10 Matt Giteau, 9 Will Genia, 8 Richard Brown, 7 David Pocock, 6 Rocky Elsom (c), 5 Nathan Sharpe, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Salesi Ma’afu, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Benn Robinson.
Subs: 16 Saia Faingaa, 17 James Slipper, 18 Rob Simmons, 19 Matt Hodgson, 20 Luke Burgess, 21 Anthony Faingaa, 22 Kurtley Beale.
All Blacks – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan; 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 Ben Franks, 18 Sam Whitelock, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Israel Dagg.
Follow SA Rugby mag on Twitter

286 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All
30 Jul 2010, 15:00 pm
Kan iemand hier vir my se of die Bulle
al ooit teen die All Blacks gespeel het
op Loftes, en wat was die score???
30 Jul 2010, 15:00 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-144: This coach has however raised the bar. Gone are the days where we go to NZ and are content with losing by a couple of points.
We have lost at home to 2 of the strongest teams in World rugby and now everyone wants his head. I don’t think PdV has been hung out to dry as much as him being measured against a different set of expectations.
30 Jul 2010, 15:02 pm
@Diontnz(Diontnz)-150: @Diontnz(Diontnz)-150: oh adam freir wrote it…oops
30 Jul 2010, 15:03 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-148: I don’t want to go to Australia but I also want to tell the truth.
I’m not putting my head in the sand like the rest of you muppets in case someone calls me a racist, or defeatist, or traitor.
Ignoring it won’t make it any better.
@Corndog(Corndog)-152:
JJ Harmse of all people wrote a brilliant piece in which he compared Jake White and Peter de Villiers at similar times in their coaching careers.
2006 was a watershed year for White; will the same hold true for de Villiers?
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-154:
Fair enough.
30 Jul 2010, 15:04 pm
@Corndog(Corndog)-152: Dude I don;t like Div and don’t think he should have the job. Neither should Muir or Gold or Smit.
Div is arrogant like all people in jobs for which they are not qualified.
30 Jul 2010, 15:05 pm
Kan iemand hier vir my se of die Bulle
al ooit teen die All Blacks gespeel het
op Loftes, en wat was die score???
30 Jul 2010, 15:05 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-156:
30 Jul 2010, 15:08 pm
@IOU(IOU)-158:
Dink nie so nie – ek kan net dink aan die NZ Cavaliers wat Noord-Transvaal op Loftus gespeel het in 1986, die Cavaliers het 10-9 gewen.
30 Jul 2010, 15:09 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-160:
Mind you, the Cavaliers side that toured in 1986 was basically an All Black team – I think 28 of the 30 who toured with the Cavaliers were All Blacks before that.
@IOU(IOU)-158: Sorry kan nie help nie. Maar dit sal seker voor die isolasie periode gewees het.
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-157: Whether you like an individual or not does not determine the standards against which the person should be judged.
I have never heard of a coaches head being called for due to losing against 2 of the worlds best sides in there own back yards. Until 2 years ago the idea of beating the All Blacks in New Zealand was a pipe dream, now we have done it 2 years in a row, hence the bar being set higher than ever before.
We have been outthought by AB’s and Aus this year after we did it to them last year. They have raised the bar and it is up to us to repsond.
Baie dankie vir die reply!
30 Jul 2010, 15:11 pm
En ja, daai was die wedstryd wat daai lae skurk Burger Geldenhuys vir Andy Dalton se kakebaan afgeslaan het.
30 Jul 2010, 15:13 pm
@Corndog(Corndog)-162: Our coach is a muppet, like him or not.
Dude you can’t seriously consider Div as the best man for the job. His selections in the positions of Assistant Coaches should be enough to show you he doesn’t have either the intelligence to hire the right guys, or he is too arrogant to surround himself with clever people.
Either answer is not good enough. Do you think Branson or Trump are brain surgeons? No they are not but they hire brain surgeons on their teams.
30 Jul 2010, 15:16 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-161: I remember that tour as I was in NZ at the time.
The anti-apartheid activists wanted to kill us ‘Seth Effrican’s’ who lived there. They also wanted to kill the Cavaliers.
It was sad. Rugby vs non-rugby in the same house.
30 Jul 2010, 15:16 pm
If Aussies take this one, then it will give the Boks something to play for in the home leg other than just pride. Go the Wobblies!
30 Jul 2010, 15:18 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-166:
Yes, there were rumours about payments under the table to the All Black players to go on tour.
I think none of them were selected for the All Blacks for a few Tests after they returned, as a form of punishment.
30 Jul 2010, 15:22 pm
@Diontnz(Diontnz)-150: as it says at the top, adam freier wrote it and i’m definitely not aussie!
30 Jul 2010, 15:23 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-168: They were not allowed to play for the Abs after that.
The NZRU have done some dumb things over the years, like banning Stu Wilson and Bernie Fraser for writing a book (Ebony & Ivory) and getting PAID!!
Shock horror (like the Boks were never paid LOL.)
30 Jul 2010, 15:23 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-165: In 2004 when Jake was appointed there were a few eyebrows raised. I think there were some good provincial coaches that were overlooked.
I agree that PdV was not the person with the best provincial record as Meyer was, but he had similar credentials to JW.
You have your opinion and I have mine. Neither of us are going to change our minds on a Friday afternoon. And these things have been debated at lenght by people that know a lot more than we do.
You can’t deny that his results have been up there with the best coaches since re-admission though
30 Jul 2010, 15:25 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-169: Is he not the guy that plays hooker for one of the S14 Aussie franchises. He is very well versed for a hooker.
30 Jul 2010, 15:28 pm
just give snorre a PR MANAGER so they can keep him out of tthe media!
30 Jul 2010, 15:31 pm
@Corndog(Corndog)-171: I agree to disagree.
I would just like to see some results that are positive (not even score-wise but in attitude).
I would seriously do away with Smit and Muir though.
Anyway, as you say, we won’t change anything.
30 Jul 2010, 15:34 pm
@Corndog(Corndog)-172: um, yeah. If you read the piece he says even he himself got the fire burning up his bum when tatafu polota-nau got to the tahs, competition is good! Which is the opposite here in south africa, john smit knows, he could be as kak as earl rose he will still be picked because of his mythical leadership aura that this springboks team of professional player can’t play without!
Apprently without Smit the bokke become like the u12 of skopskietfontein pre-primary school
30 Jul 2010, 15:35 pm
“Neither Giteau nor Berrick Barnes are known for their abilities to take on the defence……….”
JC………
Do you have a white cane?
and a quide dog?
AB’s to win all their games if they stay constant in selection.
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-174: ave to agree with you on Muir he does not inspire confidence.
A win would be nice, but I think we should write this year off and brand some youngsters, similar to the 3N prior to the ’07 WC. We have a lot of talent but they are short on experience, we can build at home and on the NH tour this year and have a much larger pool to pick from in 2011.
30 Jul 2010, 15:37 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-176: Also saw the comment on Giteau. Not sure what was being smoked when the article was written.
30 Jul 2010, 15:43 pm
agree
team for rest of 3n
1.beast
2.botha/liebenberg
3.kruger
4.flip
5.roussouw/skeate
6.louw
7.potgieter
8.daniels
9.houghaard
10.jl potgieter
11.vd heever
12.jdejong
13.fourie/lambie
14.aplon
15.f steyn
30 Jul 2010, 15:45 pm
@Corndog(Corndog)-178: since when didn’t muir inspire confidence? He nearly won the s14 with the sharks the year before he became pdv’s assistant, what was kak about that achievement? If it wasn’t for that drunk steve walsh or that poephol frans steyn the sharks would’ve been champs and relegate heyneke meyer to an also-ran!
30 Jul 2010, 15:47 pm
@Corndog(Corndog)-179:
I see on Keo’s “Poll”………..65% of Keo’s Faithfull think the Wallabies will win by 15 points or more.
30 Jul 2010, 15:50 pm
or a team with nothing to loose to break aussies in half
1.wp nel
2.schalk brits
3.jaco engels
4.bakkies
5.johan muller
6. wicus van heerden
7. baywatch
8. luke watson
9. kocket
10. butch
11. akona
12. de wet barry
13. jp nel
14. meyer bosman
15. jaco vd westhuizen
with an irish ref 7 yellows in 1st half but cooper in hospital hahaha joke….
30 Jul 2010, 15:51 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-168:
$100,000 each Cavalier.
Paid by some SA Newspaper.
Thirty pieces of silver.
30 Jul 2010, 15:54 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-184:
That’s a bit more than 30 pieces of silver.
30 Jul 2010, 15:55 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-184:
New Zealand Dollars?
30 Jul 2010, 16:05 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-181: Put it this way mate, not many Sharks shed a tear when Muir left.
30 Jul 2010, 16:12 pm
@David(David)-185:
Matthew 27.3
30 Jul 2010, 16:13 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-165: Steady now, we all know muir is good and I can’t say I’m in a position to comment on the rest of his panel, BUT
The real shocker is his team selection.
People, his head is not being called for just because of two games?!
His head is being called for:
- His consistently poor team selections.
- A piss poor end of year tour.
- Being handed the two teams that contested the S14 final and
then some more good international players for good measure
and then delivering a team that can barely seem to wipe it’s own arse in a coherent fashion.
- Oh, and his magnificent displays of intelligence and maturity when corresponding with the media.
Still think this is all just a knee-jerk reaction?!
30 Jul 2010, 16:16 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-189: Muir is rubbish. Don;t think he’s a good coach and as a person he’s not my favourite either, but that’s another isssue.
Div and his selections are awful, from Captain to positional changes to Muir, Gold and the rest in between.
30 Jul 2010, 16:21 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-176: Think we should try and raise some money for a guide dog for JC…
30 Jul 2010, 16:24 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-190: Come on, Muir took the Sharks to the S14 final, was only walsh and/or francois steyn kicking out between him and winning the S14.
30 Jul 2010, 16:24 pm
@WP Till I Die(WP-Forever)-186:
yes NZ$.
Probably around US$80,000 at that time.
Enough to purchase, a very, very, nice suburban homes in NZ at the time.
Not bad money for a Railway Worker, like Scott Crichton. Enough to tempt many a battler.
30 Jul 2010, 16:26 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-192: Mate you’re not going to change my mind on Muir. Ever.
Don’t like his coaching style, don’t like him period.
I have zero time for the guy, he has no moral compass.
30 Jul 2010, 16:28 pm
Does anyone else find these pop-up corner ads a pain in the arrssshole!!!!!!
30 Jul 2010, 16:30 pm
@Johnny7(Johnny7)-191:
It might be easier/cheaper, just to chop JC’s fingers off.
That should put an end to this kind of reckless typing.
30 Jul 2010, 16:39 pm
Well at least the Boks cannot loose this weekend.
30 Jul 2010, 16:40 pm
Did someone mention chopping off fingers?
30 Jul 2010, 16:44 pm
@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-194: sharks supporter?
30 Jul 2010, 16:45 pm
@BULLET(BULLET)-197: loose is like a pair of trousers that fall off.
Lose is to not win, to be beaten.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 » Show All