Sharks sink errant Lions
7 Aug 2010
GRANT BALL reports on the Sharks’ 48-19 mauling of the Lions in Durban.
Pat Lambie played his first match for the senior side at flyhalf, and was up against fellow 19-year-old pivot Elton Jantjes. The pair traded penalties early on, but Lambie had most of the opportunities to show his credentials as his side had all the ball in the opening half. He directed play well and varied his game, and also wasn’t afraid to have a go at attacking the line himself – as shown when he ghosted over when he threw a dummy to flummox the defence.
The big difference between the pair was that Jantjes made a few unforced errors, but on the whole they were impressive.
That 8-3 lead after Lambie’s try was negated when Stefan Terblanche opted for a poor grubber. The ball found its way straight to Deon van Rensburg, who ran 50m to score to hand the Lions a 10-8 lead after they had little ball.
The Sharks led 18-16 at the break after the kickers traded penalties and Jacques Botes lunged over, but a two-point lead would have left John Plumtree seething. For all their dominance in possession, the Sharks couldn’t put the Lions away – who have a new-found resolve in the defence and some structure on attack under John Mitchell.
Jantjes kept his side in the contest with his unerring kicking at posts, but another mistake from the pivot – this time an intercept to Lwazi Mvovo – extended the Sharks’ lead. After 48 minutes the Sharks held a comfortable 28-19 lead.
In the end that was the difference between the sides as the Sharks were able to retain possession for long periods, while the Lions couldn’t do the same with similar confidence. After having so little ball in the first half, the Lions were desperate to retain possession and they tried to run from deep. But as the match dragged on the Lions lost their resolve and structure and it cost them again – this time another intercept from Jano Vermaak found its way to Craig Burden, who sprinted over from 30m for the bonus point try.
The hooker was replaced after 58 minutes when Bismarck du Plessis made his return to rugby after three months out with a neck injury. Du Plessis had a quiet run-out, gave away two penalties due to over-eagerness, and conceded a tighthead, but this was more about getting time on the park again.
Mvovo finished off his brace with another explosive run, while Lambie kicked his way to a personal haul of 28 points.

165 Comments
7 Aug 2010, 19:08 pm
Lions cant seem to improve , lol
7 Aug 2010, 19:08 pm
Pathetic
7 Aug 2010, 19:15 pm
The Lions are improving. 2 intercepts made the score worse & took the fight from the Lions.
When the Lions play some of the smaller sides & get a few wins, gain confidence, they will become a handful.
7 Aug 2010, 19:21 pm
keo & the Currie Cup … ? whats the story
7 Aug 2010, 19:34 pm
Guess whose back
7 Aug 2010, 19:35 pm
eminem ha a new cd out??
7 Aug 2010, 19:35 pm
has
7 Aug 2010, 19:37 pm
And these lions are still k@k! Bunch of circus kitty cat clowns.
7 Aug 2010, 19:38 pm
FOR THE 400th TIME
Lions are needing Earl back!!!!!
Put Elton at 12 and they have the best 10/12 in the competitions
7 Aug 2010, 19:39 pm
@sk0pskiet(sk0pskiet)-4:
Keo is helping SANZAR kill the Currie Cup.
7 Aug 2010, 19:40 pm
Skop! Howzit mnr? I’m back from my hiatus.
7 Aug 2010, 19:41 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-10: @Slappes(Slappes)-11:
Excuse me but does sirs know if they are announcing Bokke squade today?
7 Aug 2010, 19:45 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-12: Tomorrow I read. Not sure of the time though.
7 Aug 2010, 19:46 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-11: Wrong Skop.
7 Aug 2010, 19:47 pm
The lions are due a run of wins which will happen after there first big win, which should create the necessary confidence. They are playing good rugby and improving with every game.
7 Aug 2010, 19:49 pm
Pace of the game was awesome, I saw the future CC and Super 15 champs today and they were not playing the Griquas.
Sharks are looking dangerous for the first time since 2007.
Here are some toughts:
* Get Mvovo into the Bok setup
* Ditto for Craig Burden
* Keep Bissy on bench for a little while, still a penalty machine
* Jannie played very well today
* Lambie is a class act – so is Jantjies (pity about those kick-offs)
* Daniels was a demon today, as was Alberts
* Oupa is going for the grubber too much
7 Aug 2010, 19:49 pm
Yeah, tomorrow sometime. Check the supersport site.
7 Aug 2010, 19:54 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-16:
Slow down boet…….that side put 50 past the side you guys lost to and never conceded a point against the side you played tonight and that’s minus most of our Boks……………so calm down !!!
I do like Lambie though, he showed me more potential in one game as a FH than Pienaar showed me in a whole career !!!!!
7 Aug 2010, 19:57 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-17:
Hi Slappes !!
7 Aug 2010, 20:01 pm
@JockBok(JockBok)-13: @Slappes(Slappes)-17: Thank you gentlemens
7 Aug 2010, 20:03 pm
thats the wrong skopskiet you talking to this is the original the other one is imposter just look for the ’0′ instead of the ‘o’. Sure sign of flattery when these idiot d’ckheads start impersonating you.
7 Aug 2010, 20:04 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-18: Just as well you not a Bok coach, hey!
7 Aug 2010, 20:05 pm
@JL1(JL1)-22: Although saying that , even blokes like you could do a better job than the current coach
7 Aug 2010, 20:08 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-18:
No need to be calm when the future is clear.
You too will see this once we crush WP
7 Aug 2010, 20:08 pm
@JL1(JL1)-22:
Not you again !!!!! , next you going to tell me what a great FH Pienaar is and I will again give you a 1000 reasons why he is not……but then you need to understand rugby …..so i’ll be wasting me time !!!!!!……..so let’t agree to scroll past each other !!!
7 Aug 2010, 20:09 pm
@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-24:
That might happen !!
7 Aug 2010, 20:11 pm
sharks looking the business, quality all around the park, Wp and Sharks top flight teams to fight it out for title this year. Without cancerian capitain Smit suddenly sharkies look like a decent rugby team. Keep Smit far away from that team and start progressing forward instead if stagnating in reverse. Burden is great talent streaks ahead of Smit at 2 and way better than overrated Bismark too.
7 Aug 2010, 20:12 pm
Well Alberts certainly looked as though he wanted to prove a point tonight……huge game from the big fella !!!
Only drawback is he lacks pace, a bit like Duane !!
7 Aug 2010, 20:19 pm
Lambie won’t make international fly half neither will Lionel Cronje.
Lambie great provincial level prospect but not international.
Sharks sans Smit are good rugby team much better than when he drags them down same with Wp sans Burger.
Burden and Mvovo to step up to internationak level maybe Alberts as fill in 4/8 cover off bench. Both Alberts and Vermeulen streaks ahead of Kanko or Spies
7 Aug 2010, 20:22 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-29: And you base that on their play against the Lions
7 Aug 2010, 20:23 pm
Justrugby, Real Skop- howdy! Ive been away but now Im back. Pity though about these other idiots still on here. Oh well, theyre most prob. Shorks supporters.
7 Aug 2010, 20:25 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-31:
Good to have you back boet !!
7 Aug 2010, 20:32 pm
Alberts were magnificent! Shame he got penalised for the best hit this year! Thought Taute was dead
Lambie is a good player, but certainly no flyhalf. I hope to see him back at 12. Why didnt Kanko play? Is this a sign that he might start for the Boks and thus being kept from the field to avoid injury? What a shame we dint see more of Deysel, hope the injury isnt too bad.
7 Aug 2010, 20:33 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-29: i dissagree ,i think lambie will be a bok someday ,burden looked awesome ,but alister hargreeves and keegan daniels realy realy where the catalyst in the forwards tonight
7 Aug 2010, 20:37 pm
@baw(maxed)-34: I agree, Keegan must be knocking on the Green and Gold door. And Hargreaves is looking quality over and over. Dont agree with Burden, I feel he is good a provincial level, hell ,he is explosive, but gets knocked back easily in the tackle, and isnt the best scrummager. But he is pretty exiting when he breaks
7 Aug 2010, 20:37 pm
howdy JR / Slappes good to have you around again
Burden for me most exciting 2 in the country way better than Smit or Bismark
Mvovo got some quality on the fly but would have to check against poper oppo and on defense.
Jake made Murray and Pretorius Bok’s at 13 and neither are remotely international class.
Talented backs coming through
Lambie
Viljoen
Taute
Basson
Mvovo
Aplon
Mapoe
De Jong
Pretorius (9)
Hoffman / Duvenhage (9)
7 Aug 2010, 20:41 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-25: Early on the sauce?
Minnie looks a promising no.7 down the line pretty mobile and strong
Sharks in serious need of a proper 13, Stefan was just horrible tonight. Where is young Stemmet that played for Maties last year. I am certain he was signed by the Sharks. Maybe it is time to give him some proper gametime.
7 Aug 2010, 20:44 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-36:
Hi Skop
Certainly an abundance of young talent around !!!!!
7 Aug 2010, 20:47 pm
@Slappes(Slappes)-31: and why would the idiots be SHARKS supporters.
7 Aug 2010, 20:50 pm
@JL1(JL1)-37:
You delusional ?? !!!
7 Aug 2010, 20:50 pm
always rated Hargreaves and Sykes as a combo. With them and Fondse / Van Zyl available and Vermeulen / Alberts as 8′s/4 off bench and Flo, Plo, Potgieter, Minnie, Daniels around possibilities endless.
Strange how everyone goes gaga over Daniels when he’s almost carbon copy of Watson of few years back yet Watson was a spoke in the wheel of progress while Daniels gets accolades.
7 Aug 2010, 20:52 pm
Burden, Hargreaves, Daniel, and Alberts were all dominant on the night. Keegan Daniel could’ve made a great centre imho. He’s got the vision, dynamism, and even the pace.
7 Aug 2010, 20:53 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-43: Explain how Daniels is a carbon copy of Watson?
7 Aug 2010, 20:56 pm
@King Shaka(zulu shark)-44: A lot of Bulls supporters will have a heart attack hearing this, but Hargreaves is the next Matfield.
7 Aug 2010, 21:01 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-41:
I think Slappes is just taking the piss – although if one gives it a bit of thought he might have a point.
7 Aug 2010, 21:03 pm
Mvovo is a powerfull runner, but needs variation to be cosidered international class. Just being a finisher is no longer enough at international level. Alberts is a perfect bench replacement for the Danie,AJ roll of cover for 4,7 and 8.
7 Aug 2010, 21:04 pm
@Skiballas(Skiballas1)-45:
Not much resemblance if any imo – Watson has more play making abilities, more ball skills, better fetcher, better leader and so on.
7 Aug 2010, 21:08 pm
@David(David)-48: Agrred, Nokwe , van Den Heeva or Demas provide much more.
7 Aug 2010, 21:09 pm
@King Shaka(zulu shark)-44: He has the ability to play flanker, wing, fly-half and fullback
Luke Watson cannot play those positions
7 Aug 2010, 21:11 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-49: Personally I feel everyone looks Keegan over due to the Saffa fascination with size. If the boy was 110kg and delivered the same performances he did the last few weeks, everyone would have been screaming for him to be a Bok.
7 Aug 2010, 21:12 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-50: What you smoking due?
7 Aug 2010, 21:12 pm
howzit Rob / David
Sorry Rob you greeted me earlier but on phone between games difficult to keep up, hope you doing good.
7 Aug 2010, 21:13 pm
Why did Kankowski not play?
7 Aug 2010, 21:15 pm
@Skiballas(Skiballas1)-53: I am not smoking mister. Nokwe is best wing in country after Habana when in form. Van den heeva is one for future. Demas is a superstar if given his chance. He has good kicking game and speed is faster than a honger jakkals
7 Aug 2010, 21:16 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-54:
Hi Skop.
7 Aug 2010, 21:19 pm
Daniels playing similar role for Sharks now that Watson played in 04/05, link man and fetching running flank. Watson a better game reader maybe not as quick but back when fetchers were a no no, Watson was king of the linking fetching game breaking role Sa’s equivalent of George Smith probably better.
7 Aug 2010, 21:20 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-56: No comment on Demas, he isnt international quality! Nokwe is on and off. He has had lots of chances, but he goes walkabout every now and again. That seems to be the problem. I am not saying Mvovo should be a Bok, but hell mate, you have to agree that there is exitement in the air when the man starts running
Van den Heerver will never be heard of again come next season.
7 Aug 2010, 21:22 pm
Lets debate. Instead of saying why Daniels deserves a crack at the Green and Gold, lets ask for reasons he shouldnt be.
7 Aug 2010, 21:24 pm
@Skiballas(Skiballas1)-60: We have nothing to lose by testing him
7 Aug 2010, 21:27 pm
@JL1(JL1)-61: I agree. Saffas seems to hold on to old memmories, espevially grudges. We never played Butch as much as we should have, because up until 2006 everyone was still b#tching about 2 tackles he made in 2002.
7 Aug 2010, 21:30 pm
@JL1(JL1)-61:
Kanko and Daniels are interchangeable. Neither is more than S14 quality.
7 Aug 2010, 21:30 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-47: Have thought about it and came up with SHARK ENVY.
7 Aug 2010, 21:32 pm
@David(David)-63: Why?
7 Aug 2010, 21:35 pm
@Skiballas(Skiballas1)-65:
I reckon they both have a lot of talent, but not the ability to enforce their presence at test level.
7 Aug 2010, 21:36 pm
@Skiballas(Skiballas1)-60:
I am not saying size is that important but Daniels will give at least 10 kg’s in weight away to any current international flanker who plays for the top 5 teams. Even relatively small players like Heinrich Brussow or David Pocock are about 10 kg’s heavier than him.
So, imo, unless he is exceptional, he will always lose out to a heavier player and Keegan, although good, is not exceptional
7 Aug 2010, 21:37 pm
if were left to our to our strengths geniuses like White and Smal and maybe even Div and Gold players like Daniels, Botes, Brussow, Watson, Floors, Stegmann, Potgieter, Mboyiso etc would not feature in our thinking we rather go for brawn over mobility and get taken to the cleaners by players such as Pocock McCaw
7 Aug 2010, 21:41 pm
With Permission, interesting one from (Daily Telegraph Aus)
“Springboks fail to see funny side By David Campese”
I LIVED in South Africa for three years so I’ll give you the word: They reckon everyone in the world is against them.
When it comes to rugby, they’re the world champions and when the pressure gets cranked up, strange things can be said and done.
The ruckus about Peter de Villiers and the Rugby Club is an example.
Being realistic, they didn’t pick the right team against New Zealand. Before he lays blame elsewhere for losing, de Villiers needs to accept his very large share of responsibility.
Wynard Olivier, Zane Kirchner and Francois Louw are not Test standard. Chilliboy Rallepele shouldn’t be there. Nor should Ricky Januarie. Nice guy, but Ruan Pienaar was the better 9 when he came on.
But people act strangely under pressure and back home, de Villiers is under a very bright spotlight.
Rugby is a religion in South Africa and when they start losing the whole country rips into them.
South Africans love their rugby and they’re angry about Springboks defeats. They want people to blame. The Springboks chose the refs.
As for Brendan Cannon’s “clown” comment, Afrikaaners don’t have a big sense of humour. They are serious characters, and rugby is a serious business. It’s no surprise they’ve taken offence. It’s been a handy wagon-circler as well.
In defence of de Villiers, if we didn’t have his out-there quotes, how boring would rugby be?
And the way referees are these days, you can understand a coach starting to tear his hair out.
There’s way too much inconsistency from refs these days, and there never seems to be any accountability. But it should come as no surprise. The IRB is run from the northern hemisphere and they’re jealous because the southerners win everything. How about that for a conspiracy?
unquote
@skopskiet(yliad)-68:
Pocock is a Spies with rugby ability.
@Robzim(Robzim)-67: I respect your opinion. I do feel though that we overlook players who create opportunities for others. Even a useless tool like Spies will benefit from playinf with Daniels. The boy make a lot of halfbreaks and is always keen to offload to players in better positions. The bigger flankers tend to try and do everything themselves, and when they run into trouble they offload to a player who isnt in a good position. Generally, a problem with all Saffa players, I guess.
7 Aug 2010, 21:47 pm
@Treehugger(Treehugger)-64:
SHARK envy?
mmmmmmm….. a person sometimes feels envious towards winners – I am not sure whether the sharks really qualify as winners – they struggled a bit lately, did they not?
7 Aug 2010, 21:51 pm
@Skiballas(Skiballas1)-71:
Lol, I agree that if Spies only had half the skills of Keegan Daniels we might have had a world beater at no 8 instead of a “useless tool”.
7 Aug 2010, 21:53 pm
yeah Pocock and that English flanker with pace are athletic players with some grunt and speed and handling ability but especially they ready to mix it on the ground and in trenches something both Kanko and Spies are very shy to do.
Daniels is very much a Watson type player, though player for player Watson still leaves him in the shade in the cerebrum division. Bok’s will never really know what they lost by turning one payer in to a catalyst martyr, Watson is a combo of a Brussow and a Daniels with brains.
7 Aug 2010, 21:59 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-74:
All is not lost, in a years time, after losing the world cup and the final swansong of the puppet (de Viliers) and the so called “senior players” Watson might be the man to lead SA rugby to a new rugby horizon.
7 Aug 2010, 22:01 pm
@Gerhardt(Gerhardt)-69: Campese is the best damn backline coach on World Rugby. Come back Campo, the Sharks need you!!!!
7 Aug 2010, 22:02 pm
@coma(coma)-76: Hmmmmm, think that should be “in”, but then again, I’m drunk.
7 Aug 2010, 22:03 pm
Bit late I fear Rob, like everything seems we do in this country we wake up long way after horse has bolted. Watson was on fire through 05-08, any other country would have drafted him up to senior international rank, only here it is a lesson always too late for the learning made of sand, where even his holiness pope White has now had an about turn of face on the matter, too late she cried, way too late.
7 Aug 2010, 22:08 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-78:
You are right, it is probably a missed opportunity, Smitty will have a 100 caps and ONE world cup winners medal at the end of next year
7 Aug 2010, 22:08 pm
Campo is / was a genius, same with Louden and Kiss and Jones, only coaches that could do anything with our rugby talent were Aussies and now the Kiwi Plumtree starting to turn Sharks around.
If we had Aussie brains in our coaching fraternity AB’s wouldn’t smell a win for toffie apples, seeing that its dumb saffa brains they got to contend with the playing fields even out one hell of a way further than 50/50, they get the lions share of the gradient simply due to our abject sterile negative inverted paranoia, something old Campo has hit the nail on the head about right over there in the Aussie press.
7 Aug 2010, 22:14 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-80:
The closest we have to Campo in this country is Slapchips and Robbie Fleck but sadly none of them is even close to coaching the backs of the boks.
Instead we have (a) ****…
7 Aug 2010, 22:15 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-81:
***** = Diek
7 Aug 2010, 22:16 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-82:
They do not like the “c” instead of the “e”
7 Aug 2010, 22:20 pm
@rugbygenius(rugbygenius)-56: hahahaha Rugby Genius indeed. More like Rugby nincompoop.
Nokwe good but not the next best thing – perhaps youre right he´s the next best thing after Habana considering Habanas lack of form, Van Den Heever still hasnt done anything amazing – he trots over after having passes flicked to him. Scoring tries is the least he can do in that situation. And Demas is not a superstar i´m afraid. Maybe he will develop into one in future but right now he´s too frail.
Best wings in the country when on form – Habana, Pietersen, Aplon (now he is a real superstar), Lwazi Mvovo, Lionel Mapoe and Basson seems to be developing well.
7 Aug 2010, 22:22 pm
Biggest problem we have in our couching is that we believe in superstars. You, Mr Superstar, take the ball and try to score. Once you cant, give it to next Superstar irrespective.
If I watch the Wobblies and the Blacks, they set other players in the team up to score. They dont run right up to the defense, realise, oops, there isnt a agap, and then pass it to the next guy. Noo, they believe the best weapon is the guy next to you, and your only job is too make sure that weopen is utilised fully.
7 Aug 2010, 22:25 pm
yup such are the truths Rob, and the breaks, the good guys get shunted while the domfoks get to be hero’s or villains or both.
De Villiers surrounded himself with the wrong people, his main weakness is not so much his lack of rugby acumen but his simplicity and naivety. He looked up to the wrong people for his guidance and support and each one lead him up the garden path thinking they doing the country a great service.
Fleck and Roussouw with say Proudfoot and the other Pieter de Villiers (from France) as assistants instead of these palookas we got and then a string of senior players who didn’t read the coach the riot act about reverting to our kicking chasing 2007 archaic strengths might have performed miracles instead of the doldrums of delinquency we find ourselves in now.
In 08 we should have picked wisely and not gone for Saffa brutality as our core. Should never have picked Butch to 10 or Smith, Burger, Spies, Kanko as our loosie vanguard. Thats why we lost 19-0 and the rest, simply because we couldn’t adapt our thinking from 2007 and we still can’t. So now we are further down the track behind the 8 ball from 2007 – 2010 we haven’t evolved an inch instead we gone in reverse due to the fear that grips our thinking when its time to move on and relieve ourselves of our staid and dead end histrionic attachments to the past.
7 Aug 2010, 22:38 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-86: This coach cannot select a team for tekkie
Morne Steyn was a default selection
Brussouw was default selection
Lucky ones those
Kanko at 7,JDV at 14 etc etc etc and then he sends his bench on 10 minutes into the second half
I am not so sure the people around are responsible for those moves, time that he holds his hand up and accepts responsibility
7 Aug 2010, 22:40 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-86: Is it Coetzee, Fleck, Proudfoot or Rassie?
7 Aug 2010, 22:42 pm
The Lions will not win with Jantese, who is no doubt a promising talant but has no experience in structured rugby and how to control posession, like Genia, he creates plenty omayhem that in the end resulted in a degrade of the lions’ structured defence or their attempts to do so,
Bring Herkie Kruger back
7 Aug 2010, 23:01 pm
@JL1(JL1)-88: nobody’s going anywhere until I get a cup
and helloooooooooo people
7 Aug 2010, 23:06 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-90: Hello, and it is about time for us to get a cup
7 Aug 2010, 23:13 pm
Anyone know what time the Bok team anouncement is tomorrow?
7 Aug 2010, 23:13 pm
@JL1(JL1)-91: it better be! I’ll be in matric next year… the last time we won a cup I was in grade 2 or 3
7 Aug 2010, 23:15 pm
@catleya(catleya)-92: nope sorry
7 Aug 2010, 23:16 pm
“Sharks sink errant Lions”
don’t everybody?
7 Aug 2010, 23:17 pm
@Auntie Mavis(Auntie Mavis)-95: aw but haven’t they won a game this season?
7 Aug 2010, 23:18 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-74: Now in my honest opinion – and i´m not a Luke fan after his tirade against Bok rugby, he plays well and is a quality player. We had him playing in the Bok setup and he did well. But I honestly dont think you can compare him to Brussouw firstly, and secondly I suspect that Daniels is probably a better player than Watson even. Perhaps over time he will develop more. But Luke was made to look very good hanging on at the back of the maul and scoring the tries when his fellow forwards were putting in the hard graft.
I wouldnt mind giving him another try in a Bok jersey in future if he can swallow some bile and behave himself like a decent human being.
Brussouw – now in my opinion he was single handedly responisble for a lot of our victories last year. He outplayed McCaw on numerous occasions and I still dont think the SA rugby fraternity realise how important a player he is. You cant compare Stegmann and Francois Louw even. Just wait till he gets back into the game and see what happens.
7 Aug 2010, 23:18 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-94: Don’t you have some inside info?
7 Aug 2010, 23:22 pm
@catleya(catleya)-98: er I don’t know if you’ve noticed but I haven’t really been on the rugby scene much… only reason I knew Flo was back cos somebody sent me an email!
7 Aug 2010, 23:23 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-97: And Luke did credit his team.
Luke can’t be a Bok… not for another year and a bit anyway
7 Aug 2010, 23:26 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-97: I too believe Brussow is a very big loss, but I think our problem lies with an unwillingness amongst our coaching corpse to accept that we have a serious bit of catch-up to do. Last year the AB’s kakked off against us. They went away and worked on their game and came back to crush us.
What did we do? From what I can see, a whole lot of nothing! Certainly no lateral thinking, that’s for sure. At least I suspect that’s the case. I’ll know immediately I see the names of the squad whether the current triumvirate have any inkling of what needs to happen.
7 Aug 2010, 23:30 pm
Anyway, good night everyone.
7 Aug 2010, 23:30 pm
@catleya(catleya)-102: nighty night
7 Aug 2010, 23:31 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-100: Yeah sure – I think he has great leadership qualities which make him a good captain. But I think he will come back and people will probably give him another chance. If he just said sorry like the Ozzies did to the Aborigines then all would be forgotten
7 Aug 2010, 23:34 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-104: as far as he’s concerned, he’s done nothing wrong.
Born leader that one, I’m sure he’s in for an awesome season
7 Aug 2010, 23:39 pm
@catleya(catleya)-101: 1000% agreed. Selection is a big issue, as is tactical acumen. Conditioning and intensity when playing another.
Coaching Corpse – now thats very perfectly worded.
I suspect we´ll be in for more of the same hairbrain bulls!te. With Ruan Pienaar injured now he will persist with Butch James and will undoubtedly choose Ricky Januarie and Francois Houghaard as his scrumhalves.
We should be looking to a younger alternative to Ruaan Pienaar not an interim world cup solution (at flyhalf that is – where o where is Peter Grant now) and secondly Januarie shouldnt be in a Bok jersey anymore. Sarel Pretorius should be the replacement. And Francois Houghaard used as an interim cover at scrumhalf and a sub for wing or outside centre where he does the most damage in my opinion.
Imagine Houghaard at 13 and Aplon/ Mvovo/ Mapoe at 14?
We´ll probably lose the World Cup because no one will fire De Villiers and co… because its the lot of them not just Puff Divvy.
7 Aug 2010, 23:41 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-105: therein lies the problem. One has top be man enough to relaise when youve gone too far and been too dumb. What he said was beyond what needed to be said and the whole vomit thing was pretty distasteful.
7 Aug 2010, 23:42 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-106: Ruan’s injured?
Peter’s in Japan… don’t worry, he’s on speed dial
7 Aug 2010, 23:44 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-107: but the thing is, he didn’t say he wanted to puke on the jersey. There is a way around it but nooo what do I know?
7 Aug 2010, 23:45 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-108: Ruan´s Ac Joint is buggered – out for 4-6 weeks. Wont be playing in Sa again before Munster.
Yeah bring Pete back – now! He had such a fantastic Super 14 and then they go and overlook him again and get and ageing old yellow card as his replacement. Disgusting really. Puff Divvy always on about picking players on form. he wouldnt know form if it was shagging his trouser leg.
7 Aug 2010, 23:47 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-109: He didnt? He never denied it. And Vomit is the same as puke hehe.
7 Aug 2010, 23:50 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-110: HE’S GOING TO MUNSTER! See what i miss when I study?
P Divvy and Peter were chatting after the final in Soweto, apparently Peter is his picture… just to the sides
Lol ja he did, radio show… he explained that’s not what he said, his speech was actually a motivating a religious speech… go figure
7 Aug 2010, 23:51 pm
My form team if everyone was fit right now would be:
1 Beast
2 Bismarck
3 BJ Botha
4 Danie Rossouw
5 Victor Matfield
6 Brussouw
7 Juan Smith
8 Pierre Spies
9 Fourie du Preez
10 Morne Steyn
11 Lwazi Mvovo
12 Juan de Jongh
13 Jacques Fourie
14 Gio Aplon
15 Patrick Lambie/ Frans Steyn
16 Coenie Oosthuizen
17 Deon Fourie
18 Andries Becker
19 Duane Vermeulen
20 Sarel Pretorius
21 Peter Grant
22 Francois Houghaard
7 Aug 2010, 23:54 pm
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-112: Well hopefully he makes the call instead of just using Butch James. Pete deserves it. He´s an awesome player and seems a very humble guy.
7 Aug 2010, 23:55 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-111: must sleep… apparently I have to be up early lol
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-113: no no no, you can’t take my players, I’m using them at the moment
7 Aug 2010, 23:57 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-114: aw you’re so sweet, I’ll tell him lol cheers
7 Aug 2010, 23:59 pm
Really impressed with Elton Janjties and Patrick Lambie
South Africa got 3 good 10′s coming though the ranks in lambie, lionel cronje and janjtes
Also Deon Van Rensburg, Lwazi Mvovo and Craig Burden had great games, burden is under estimated
Cant wait til the squad is named on sunday
I thinks Janjtes may be in it, along with mvovo, Adriaan Fondse and jean deysel if he isnt injured
8 Aug 2010, 00:06 am
My team if everyone was game ready
1 Beast Mtawarira
2 Bismark Du Plessis
3 BJ Botha
4 Danie Russouw
5 Victor Matfield
6 Schalk Burger
7 Juan Smith
8 Duan Vermeulen
9 Fourie Du Preez
10 Peter Grant
11 Bryan Habana
12 Jean De Villiers
13 Jaque Fourie
14 JP Pietersen
15 Conrad Janjtes
16 Tiaan Liebenberg
17 Cooenie Oosthuzyen
18 Andries Bekker
19 Francois Louw
20 Jano Vermaak
21 Morne Steyn
22 Gio Aplon
23 Gary Botha
24 CJ Van Der Linde
25 Adriaan Fondse
26 Jean Deysel
27 Francois Hougaard
28 Elton Janjties / Patrick Lambie / J-L Potgieter
29 Bjorn Basson
30 Juan De Jongh
8 Aug 2010, 00:49 am
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-117: Lets hope for a breath of fresh air. We sure cant get much worse.
8 Aug 2010, 01:08 am
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-118: Pretty solid team except no Brussouw?? Pure madness
Theres some amazingly fresh and fired up new talent in SA. the youngsters will take the Bok team to totally new heights – amongst others:
Wickus Blauw, Werner Kruger, Coenie Oosthuizen, Deon Fourie, Craig Burden, Keegan Daniels, Sarel Pretorius, Francois Houghaard, Elton Jantjes, Patrick Lambie, Lwazi Mvovo, Bjorn Basson, Lionel Mapoe, Juan de Jongh, Tim Whitehead, Lionel Cronje, Dewalt Duvenhage, Dewalt Potgieter, Jean Deysel, Willem ALberts, Flip van der Merwe, Bandise Maku, Mjekevu, Dumisane Matyeshana, Riaan Viljoen, Paul Bosch, Ashley Johnson, Deon Van Rensburg, Michael Killian etc. Cant wait to see a new generation team. Perhaps a mistake trying to keep so many 2007 WC squad members together.
But theres still time before the WC. Its just going to take some balls by management.
8 Aug 2010, 03:38 am
Dumisane Matyeshana & Michael Killian will battle to get game time at 1st division …
8 Aug 2010, 04:13 am
@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-112: FYI, Pienaar’s signed a two-year deal to play for Ulster, in the Magners League and Heineken Cup. His aforementioned shoulder injury means the Sharks have already released him early from his contract. Once coached by Alan Solomans, Ulster is rapidly becomming the Saracens of Irish rugby with BJ Botha, Robbie Diack recently joined by Johan Muller and Pedrie Wannenburg. Personally, I like what RP offers but he was a victim of his own versatility as well as piss poor man-management, particularly at international level and, I suspect, has almost certainly played his last Test for the ‘Boks.
8 Aug 2010, 06:25 am
BJ Botha needs to hurry back to Ulster. Useless and over-rated.
Ruan Pienaar needs a few seasons in the Northern Hemisphere to find his mojo. Good coaching for a change will be just the thing for him.
8 Aug 2010, 06:31 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-123:
Ruan needs to stay in one position
8 Aug 2010, 06:42 am
Absolutely. His kicking has improved drastically since 2009 but I think for his ‘frailties’ mentally as a test player, he would be best suited to the scrummie role. A decent coach would bring out the talent he so obviously has as a rugger player.
8 Aug 2010, 06:45 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-125:
yes the shunting around has not helped at all
I think 9 is his position and with Fdp out it would have been great to have an in form ruan there (not ricky)
But he is a very talented rugby player
8 Aug 2010, 08:22 am
A really great Springbok team:
Smit
Bismarck
BJ
B Botha
Matfield
Brussow
Burger
Spies
du Preez
M Steyn
Hougaard
de Villiers
Fourie
Lambie
F Steyn
CJ
Liebenberg
Rossouw
Bekker
Smith
van der Heever
Pienaar
With the versatility in the backline and bench, the Boks can swop F Steyn for centre/flyhalf, Lambie for fullback/flyhalf, Hougaard to scrumhalf, Pienaar to scrumhalf/flyhalf/fullback, and of course 5 power fowards on the bench, perhaps even better than those starting.
My power team should trap any Moari maneating AB’s scum!
8 Aug 2010, 08:24 am
Isn’t it funny how much BJ Botha divides the public’s opinion?
One thing’s for certain, our scrum is more solid with him there than without, so he gets my vote.
Have we got to the bottom of why Snor Divvy refuses to select Rory Kockett? Kockett is a cut above any of the potential Du Preez replacements, it seems silly and petty to ignore him.
Deysel is a player the Boks will be sorry not to have play for them either. Juan Smith and this guy should be fighting it out for number 7. Pure class.
Mvovo is making great sides – expect to see him selected for the Boks soon (and the way Habana is playing, maybe sooner than later).
8 Aug 2010, 08:33 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-128: the bok scrum is the only part of the machine that actually works!
Deysel out for at least 6 to 8 weeks with ankle injury.
Kockitt seems out of favour at the sharks as well….
8 Aug 2010, 08:35 am
regretfully plod will be accomodated at loosehead in the best tight 5 bok player currently, Guthro steekamps place.
Sad , unfair and another injustice at the ‘Altar of Entitlement ‘……all to satisfy the personal desires of the Chairman of the Fat Boys Club.
8 Aug 2010, 08:44 am
@grant10(grant10)-129: who played 9 for the Sharks yesterday?
8 Aug 2010, 08:48 am
Keagan Daniels is a very underated player. Shows size doesn’t necessarily make you a good player.
8 Aug 2010, 08:50 am
@wooden spoon(wooden spoon)-131: macleod….and he played damn well….sharks were simply brilliant!
8 Aug 2010, 08:50 am
@Bill Reyts(Gumboots)-132: agree….what a performance by sharks….sublime
8 Aug 2010, 08:54 am
@grant10(grant10)-134:
Yep they were fantastic!
8 Aug 2010, 09:14 am
Rory Kockott gets under the skin of his Australasian rugby opponents more than any other player in South Africa and for very good reason. He is confrontational, skilled and gives no quarter on the field of battle.
He is good for at least two yellow cards in South Africa’s favour as the other side would infringe just to try counter his attacking game. What a wasted talent by the selection clowns.
8 Aug 2010, 09:16 am
congratulations to the sharks…!! and to all their fans…
they are looking VERY damn impressive and you guys must be loving their form…!! enjoy!!
8 Aug 2010, 10:02 am
By Bok team : coached by PDV playing PDV’s type of rugby – we will be unstopable
BJ
Chilliboy (c)
CJ
Bekker
Lobberts
Floors
Johnson
Vermeulen
Heini Adams
Grant
De Jongh
Earl Rose (play him centre!)
Habana
JPP
Aplon
time for the lily white ppl to admit that they are old, unfit and slow
8 Aug 2010, 10:03 am
@sk0pskiet(sk0pskiet)-138: yawn
8 Aug 2010, 10:07 am
You’d be lucky to beat The Sharks with that team. The Kiwis would do a 50 plus on that clown outfit.
8 Aug 2010, 10:09 am
@grant10(grant10)-134: Go support your very own brokeback team – the Sharks are for Sharkie supporters only.
SHARKS FOREVER!!!
8 Aug 2010, 10:15 am
Sharks will fade away in the latter part of the CC ..as they usually do ..
8 Aug 2010, 10:19 am
sharks has the backbone of a bosmossel ! … come the semi’s then they’ll lose to a team like griquas after being up 18 – 0 @ halftime … maybe they should go play first division for a season or two, learn to win a semi & a trophy (thats if they can beat boland or the kings)
8 Aug 2010, 10:22 am
@sk0pskiet(sk0pskiet)-143: Yaah, ek se
8 Aug 2010, 10:26 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-141: Crow away, but remember, it’s the lions you are talking about. The whipping boys of SA rugby, so a cricket score would be expected. Having said that, congrats, some players looking really good yesterday. Not as good as our WP boys, but then we understand….
8 Aug 2010, 10:31 am
I’m not sure of the point here. Is it Sharks envy?
One can only hope that they prove you wrong. We all live in hope of another Currie Cup win. Unfortunately they woke up too late in the Super 14 and had the worst try record of almost all the teams (we won’t mentions the Lions) but I’m still a rabid Sharks supporter no matter the outcome.
Our coach has made many silly decisions but the NRU are sticking with him which might be starting to reap some early season rewards. Once again we live in hope that it isn’t another lemon.
At least Plumtree is sane…not like the other fellah.
8 Aug 2010, 10:32 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-145: Howzit Stormersboy. Really looking forward to the WP/Sharks game at the tank. That should tell us where my Sharks are. If we don’t lose Mvovo, JPP and Lambie to the Boks should be a good battle with your team
When is the Boks squad announced? Think today sometime not too sure.
8 Aug 2010, 10:33 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-145:
Yep Province will be one the favourites and for good reason. Brilliant coach too.
8 Aug 2010, 10:33 am
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-145: Crowing, fark me, coming from a weepee supporter. You may start to sound like a self-congratulary Kiwi…
Shivers, that was a bad insult… Apologies!
Yeah, some players looked good but what I most enjoyed was the “smash-mouth” style reminiscent of the 90′s Sharks… Don’t let the ball go and take it up in the 10 / 12 channel.
Good win for Weepee against the diamondbacks…
8 Aug 2010, 10:35 am
I hope Lambie isn’t included in any Bok team for at least another year. His reputation will never be the same again under the present Bok coach.
8 Aug 2010, 10:41 am
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-149: Cut me deep Shrek…..
Yes, the 2 form teams in the comp at the moment. Let the best team win hey? Some of the youngsters in bothe teams showing up the older Bokke at the moment.
I always wondered if the Springbok team was chosen automatically from some form of quantitative ranking system, who would be in it at the moment. We all know many of the players currently in the team wouldn;t be there, but i always wonder who would. Kind of like the Ryder cup where the top x get automatically chosen and the captain has 2 wildcard choices, something like that….
8 Aug 2010, 11:21 am
I have been very disappointed in the Locks, Hargreaves is not very good at all, Sykes has improved his work load and is playing well. I would like to say well done to the Sharks for obtaining Ross Skeate, he is class and streaks ahead in this country, he will take some time to settle at the sharks in as do all players that are of his international level. The speed that he operates at as well as the work rate is great. At last the sharks have someone that has some brains in the forwards. The young hooker is great around the park, not good at set pieces and can not hold his own at the scrum.The loose players do not play with the ball but run and die. The game is about moving the ball.
8 Aug 2010, 12:10 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-120: Well when you put it like that then theres loaqds of talent
Only reason no brussouw is because louw and deysel have performed this season and we havent seen how they compare to brussouw because of his injury
The hype around brussouw is abit much
Would be good if BJ came back to South Africa
Even if it is the sharks, but they have beast, jannie, smit, cilliers, herbst
Stormers team would be complete with BJ there but someone like cheetahs or lions would benefit greatly
8 Aug 2010, 12:20 pm
Interesting facts -
Of the 39 regular Sharks contracted players:-
Only 7 are from Durban;
18 from the Highveld;
The other 14 are from the Cape, Freestate and other areas.
Basically The Sharks are thieving from the Johannnesburg/Pretoria area.
8 Aug 2010, 12:25 pm
I’m still living in the hope that PDivvy will begin to wake up- no he won’t drop John Smit, tghe man owns his soul, but we might see some young blood.
Some honest facts:
1. Gurthro is the most complete LH in this country, followed by Coenie Oosthuisen. Beast is showing the effects of sitting on the bench for the Boks, yet we might see John Smit try to resurrect his legacy here. Hardly fair.
2. Gary Botha,, Tiaan Liebenberg, Adriaan Strauss, all better than Smit are clearly out of favour. Chilliboy, in spite of another kak game for the Bulls, and Bismarck ( two penalties in five minutes and battling to find his jumpers) clearly share the inside track with John Smit. Craig Burden is a major liability come scrumtime.
3. BJ is not bad but for my money there is realy only one tighthead in SA now- Werner Kruger, and I liked what Frik Kirsten showed for the Bulls, but again I reckon there won’t be many surprises with CJ and BJ being the go to guys.
4.Danie R is our only current fit worldclass 4, with Fondse coming along some. Flippie vd M is blowing hot and cold for me and is very penalty prone, but has his foot in the door and will probably be preferred. Steven Sykes has lost a lot of the hard edge to his game, and it’s about here where we need to start praying for the return of Bakkies in a sound frame of mind.
5. Truth is , with Bekker out, there is only one name here and that is Victor, and then there is Juandre Kruger if we start prepping him now, and the best way of doing this is to let him play CC for now. Alistair Hargreaves shows some promise, but continues to flatter to deceive.
6. Without Brussow and Stegmann here, we are battling and the closest thing to a fetcher here would have been Flouw, but he is completely out of sorts at the moment. He was totally out of it for Province yesterday, so I would be concerned if I were him. Anyone trying to tell me Keegan Daniel and Pieter Louw are fetchers need to have their heads read. Best option as fetcher here is Botes but PDivvy would probably prefer Schalk Burger for his experience and defense, which I for one can’t argue with. Sadly Daniel is very skillful to the extent that every now and then he will embarrass opposition sides, but there is no true consistency. I don’t shoot him down for his size, but for his lack of consistency.
7. This is a no-brainer and it is not because Juan Smith is back, because he isn’t- not yet anyway. The best 7 by a country mile on form is Potties, and he is growing in stature with every game. Deysel has just shown again he has feet of clay, or an achilles heel or both and with Juan Smith not a shadow of the great player he was, the options are limited, with Pieter Louw probably the only other guy with the kind of all round game to cover here.
8. I must say I have been Pierre Spies’ harshest critic for his lack of gumption, and I stand by that, in spite of knowing he will still be preferred. He has the speed and strength, but somehow he lacks the heart. Kanko to me is not a test player because he simply goes awol when the going gets tough. We saw it versus Oz again last test when he was unfairly, for him, started at 7. Hence I have tended to lean towards Duanne Vermeulen, but ironically, in the last two games for Province he has disappointed me. He lacks speed in his game which diminishes his impact, and yeterday Willem Alberts highlighted the same shortcoming in his own game. He has all the physicality and skill and commitment, but he lacks the edge due to a lack of pace, which is much the same problem as I have with Deysel at 7. If PDivvy is going to go for Juan Smith at 7 , he could do a lot worse than play Potties at 8.
9. In spite of everything going for him, Hougard is still a little raw for a test scrummie, but his guts and tigerishness should compensate for his lack of finesse. He remains a far better option than January, who I hope will be whitled from our game. For now though Ricky might still be preferred as cover. Sarel Pretorius has shown flashes of brilliance, coupled with the odd disturbing crack under pressure which borders almost on panic, and Dewald Duvenhage has failed to impress me sufficiently with especially his optiontaking and kicking game needing a lot of work. I would then rather go for a playmaker like Conrad Hoffmann who in spite of his total inexperience has the skills and heart and panache to come through.
10. Whether we like it Morne steyn has to be the go-to man for now, until we can blood the duo of youngsters we have in Jantjies and Lambie. JLPotgieter has also shown touches of brilliance, but he also makes himself guilty of bad optiontaking with ball in hand, and his defense is suspect as well. I must say I would tend to pick both youngsters and blood them. Jantjies’ tackle on Deysel surely has dispelled the myth that he shirks his duties come tackle-time. I know they are young but they both have it, and if you’re good enough you should be old enough- straight from the Oz playbook. But we will probably see Butch James hang onto his Bok spot given our relative inexperience at 9.
11. Then out of form Habana might find himself holding on to his place for his experience, but with the emergence of one Lwazi Mvovo I would dtart to look over my shoulder if I were him.
12. The axe might have finally fallen on Wynand Olivier in spite of the fact that I rate him. He just might be saved by the fact that Mossie still has a game to sit out. We will probably see Jean de Villers hold retain his precarious purchase on a Bok spotas well, but only for the sake of partnering Juan de Jongh in Mossie’s absense, and he will probably be the first to admit that.
13. Juan de Jongh should be a shoe in along with Jacque Fourie.
14. Aplon is the incumbent and has done nothing to warrant any concern about his presence come the time for the team to be read out. JP Petersen will probably be added in, and no-one can really complain.
15. Zane Kirchner for me is a banker in the side, but P Divvy might pull in Francois Steyn now that Ruan Pienaar is gone. It would make sense to include him at the expense of Butch and the two youngsters at 10, but somehow I doubt that.
8 Aug 2010, 13:12 pm
@catleya(catleya)-155:
Interesting facts…..Bwahahahaha…….facts that you just sucked out your _ _ s?
8 Aug 2010, 13:31 pm
@jonnow(jonnow)-156: The smell might not work for you but it is a true as it comes. What do you disagree with, then we can see who is the wishfuull thinker come the team announcement.
8 Aug 2010, 14:48 pm
To be honest Catlea, not that much. Just amused at you passing off your rambling opinions as “interesting facts”.
8 Aug 2010, 14:54 pm
Which goes to show, it is much more fact and and a lot less opinion. But then that’s just opinion as well.
Jokes aside though, most of these so-called opinions have panned out so clearly and so regularly in practice that one can hardly be blamed for regarding then as fact. Which makes one wonder how the coaches and selectors keep missing the trick.
8 Aug 2010, 14:55 pm
@Rhys7(Rhys7)-153: Wait till brussouw comes back and gets in form. Youll rue those words. He is on a par with McCaw and theres no player in SA apart from him thats on a par with McCaw. Thats saying a HUGE amount. His defence is rabid, he steals ball and makes a nuisance of himself at rucks and is a strong ball carrier and offloads excellently in the tackle. Mark my words. Watch what happens when he comes back into the mix. He is in the same class as FDP, Victor Matfield etc in being a master of his particular art. He has been missed enormously.
8 Aug 2010, 15:08 pm
@Slumtown(Slumtown)-160:
Agree with you 100% on Brussouw. Still remember how he single handedly beat the Sharks a year or two ago in a S14 game.
Just my opinion.
9 Aug 2010, 07:27 am
Do the math with the other teams Great White Shark…not just the sharks that are buying guys….Did the same excercise with the Bulls…enjoy……!
9 Aug 2010, 09:51 am
The Bulls too?
9 Aug 2010, 11:48 am
Maybe we should see the stats on all the Currie Cup teams’ players?
What Brussouw did in the past may be completely negated by how the refs have been told to blow the games. This only the AB’s Paddy O’ Brien decides.
10 Aug 2010, 09:13 am
@Great White Shark(Predawn)-154: I would be interested to know;
Of the regular contracted players in the WP/Stormers sides, how many are ‘from’ the Western Cape ?
And, please define ‘from’i.e does ‘from’ mean they were born there, go to school there, university ?