WP break Kimberley hoodoo
7 Aug 2010
GARETH DUNCAN reports on WP’s 50-3 thrashing of Griquas in Kimberley on Saturday.
The last time WP bagged an away victory against Griquas was in 2007 when they won 30-25. Since then, WP have had disappointing trips to Kimberley as they suffered two one-point defeats in 2008 (21-20) and 2009 (33-32).
This season, there was to be no upset as WP continued their five-match winning streak. Flyhalf Willem de Waal, who featured in his 100th Currie Cup match, played a key role in WP’s triumph as he kicked 18 points.
Province’s pack also had an impressive display as they out-muscled their Griquas counterparts, creating momentum through strong driving mauls and setting the backline up with quality ball.
A tired defensive effort in the second half contributed to Griquas’ defeat as it allowed WP to score five tries in the last quarter.
Province had a strong start to the match but they lost momentum when No 8 Duane Vermeulen was harshly yellow-carded for a high tackle in the 16th minute. Griquas created chances with their one-man advantage but failed to convert them while fullback Riaan Viljoen persisted with optimistic long-range drop goals when the counter attack was on.
De Waal starred in the first half as he converted four penalties to give WP a 12-3 lead at the break. Flyhalf Naas Olivier slotted one three-pointer for Griquas’ only points of the game. The hosts were also reduced to 14 men late in the first half as wing Bjorn Basson tackled De Waal in the air.
Outside centre Juan de Jongh scored the game’s first try after he dived in at the corner shortly after the restart. From then on, Griquas’ resistance crumbled and the flood gates opened as replacement hooker Deon Fourie, fullback Conrad Janjties, wing Gio Aplon, flanker Pieter Louw and replacement flyhalf Lionel Cronje all crossed the chalk to seal the bonus-point victory.

95 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All
7 Aug 2010, 16:53 pm
What a game. What a beating. What a team. Prrroooovince.
7 Aug 2010, 16:55 pm
great game Province,what a game .that Mxunyelwa lad looks a real prospect very big about 6-7 tacckles and one huge ball carry in 12 minutes, could be a find,De Jong was good too
Front runners by a mile. backs up what I was saying about the Blue Bulls relying on 3 or 4 players to actually give them the greatness, and without them the other players look positively ordinary. WP on the other hand….
Well played boys….
PROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVINCE!
7 Aug 2010, 16:58 pm
Paul Bosch the silent hero !!
7 Aug 2010, 16:59 pm
So much quality in our youngsters. The future looks goooood!
7 Aug 2010, 17:00 pm
there wasn’t a bad player on the field for province (at least in the second half) well done province … die currie cup kom weer
7 Aug 2010, 17:00 pm
Wasn’t the score 12-3 at halftime? ‘The hell happened?!?
7 Aug 2010, 17:14 pm
Thats what happens when you have some world class players on the pitch. Aplon, Flo, du Jongh
7 Aug 2010, 17:14 pm
and to think the sharks leaked a whole bonus point victory!
7 Aug 2010, 17:16 pm
And if brussow does not recover soon, Pieter Louw might turn out to be our best fetcter in the country after Flo.
7 Aug 2010, 17:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-10: in kimberley!
7 Aug 2010, 17:17 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-10: in kimberley! Provonce are overwhelming favourites!!!!!
7 Aug 2010, 17:18 pm
@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-8: Wind was strong, Ref was average and Griquas played well until they ran out of juice running constantly into the best defense in the World.
7 Aug 2010, 17:18 pm
How do you think Lambie will go today at 10?
7 Aug 2010, 17:19 pm
WP, the future’s so bright I gotta wear shades…
Lekker gees and lemonade.
7 Aug 2010, 17:22 pm
If you listened to the Bulls supporters last night – before this game they were decidedly nervous.
I think they’re a whole lot more nervous now.
Province produced excellent handling skills in the 2nd half after dropping one or two in the first.
7 Aug 2010, 17:25 pm
lekker, lekker, lekker. So incredibly damn lekker.
7 Aug 2010, 17:26 pm
@Jinx(Jinx)-16: Timbuk3
7 Aug 2010, 17:26 pm
Pieter Louw should be drafted into Bok’s immediately the best No.6 in the country by miles
This trio of Vermeulen, Louw and Louw would annihilate that overrated show pony fandango of Spies, Kankowski and Burger every day of every week including Sundays.
7 Aug 2010, 17:27 pm
@Windhoek.Lager(Windhoek.Lager)-19:
4 sure…
7 Aug 2010, 17:31 pm
Folks, could anyone please explain why we flopped in Soweto?
7 Aug 2010, 17:33 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-20:
Hi Skoppy,
I agree about the loosies.
Also, I hope you are now beginning to appreciate the value of de Waal at 10 – much better at 10 than Grant with his 10 m touch finders can ever hope to be
And Hoffman should start as well.
7 Aug 2010, 17:36 pm
hoffman is a great talent … but we must also remember that the standard of the CC without the Boks aren’t great … even Habana & january & WO who are off form will shine in the CC … wait for the last few games incl the semi’s & final
7 Aug 2010, 17:39 pm
@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-22:
I think it was just stage fright. The occasion became too big for them. The Bulls had the advantage of playing there the previous week with all the hype, new stadium, vuvuzelas, first final in years for Stormers/Province etc.
But the guys will have learnt from it. Hopefully it will show in a CC final.
7 Aug 2010, 17:57 pm
Hey you Province supporters – Great win but remember, you are far too close to the ABs……too often flatter to deceive when it really counts !!
Roll on Oct – Bulls vs Sharks fior the big prize !!
7 Aug 2010, 17:58 pm
we flopped in Soweto due to Schalk not being the glue he’s supposed to be cut out to be.
Willem de Waal is a steady journeyman against the likes of Naas Olivier who Province relegated to play for Boland before.
Grant would have had more points on the board and more tries scored in first half already. Bok’s main mistake in last 3 years was to persist with non attacking fly halves in Butch and Steyn and overlook play makers like Grant or Pienaar.
The other tangible fault of Bok’s game plan is rely on Fourie du Preez to control the kick and chase game behind useless combination’s of loose forwards such as Spies, Kanko and Burger.
Since Spies became starting No.8 we have gone steadily into reverse mode, and since Smit has been calling the strategy shots we have steadily regressed into moronic robots playing archaic rugby.
Play an attack minded scrumhalf (not Hougaard) with a running pivot (not Steyn – or de Waal) and a proper combination of loosies like Vermeulen, Louw and Louw behind a front 5 without a dead beat weight anchoring you to the ground like John Smit, and then Bok’s can turn their fortunes around.
Continue with this dead end JW/JS trajectory to nowhere and get beat every time, even at home.
7 Aug 2010, 18:01 pm
lol at anyone wanting de Waal over Grant. De Waal is as limited a flyhalf as you’re ever going to get.
7 Aug 2010, 18:05 pm
de waal is limited, but he’ll kick everything …. almost like kallis in T20 …. mr reliable…its up to the rest to contribute
7 Aug 2010, 18:06 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-28: Yeah, he is definitely the one weakness in the province back line.
7 Aug 2010, 18:08 pm
Indeed and to be fair he’s doing a good enough job despite his limitations. I just think of how this WP team could be even better with a proper attacking 10. There’s still so much untapped potential in this backline.
7 Aug 2010, 18:08 pm
@yank(yank)-26:
You’ve got to get there first!
Right now the Sharks are making a meal of it against the Lions.
7 Aug 2010, 18:11 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-31:
Not impressed with Cronje, Hoffman looks a much better prospect for 10.
7 Aug 2010, 18:12 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-27: You posted all of that without foul language
We are making progress
7 Aug 2010, 18:12 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-27: Skoppies, did you watch the match? Flo was decidedly absent today and Vermeulen hardly played the field on fire. As for Plo, he was better, but still fairly anomymous, apart from his try clinging to the back of the maul, which anyone of ten guys could have scored.
7 Aug 2010, 18:13 pm
@renoog(silent_shadow)-28:
I am sorry but you have no idea – WP hardly ever lost a game when he played for them- Neither did the Free State while he was playing for them – How many cups have Grant won for any team he played in (The answer is zero) – How can you argue against that?
7 Aug 2010, 18:15 pm
skopskiet just hasn’t had papsak yet … which is strange, cause normally he starts @ 12 :00
7 Aug 2010, 18:15 pm
@David(David)-33: I agree Dave. He actually looks out of shape fitness wise, like he is carrying too much weight. Conrad Hoffman I rate very highly. He is a playmaker.
7 Aug 2010, 18:18 pm
@catleya(catleya)-38:
Exactly my description of Hoffman a couple of days ago.
7 Aug 2010, 18:20 pm
I see Deysel has broken down again. Looked like ankle ligaments. Problem with him is he is carrying too much weight as well. The okes reckon bogger is better, but it is a falacy. If he drops 10 kgs he’ll be far more effective. I see Flo was very anonymous today as well. He could do the same.
7 Aug 2010, 18:21 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-27: I don’t think it’s accurate to say Butch is a non-attacking flyhalf, Bath score bonus point after bonus point with him at 10 and he’s the one who has been keeping it in hand when he’s come on for SA this year.
7 Aug 2010, 18:22 pm
@David(David)-33:
Hi David
Becoming a bit of an intercept specialist – second in 2 weeks. And I thought he was going to be caught before the try line.
Maybe if he has a start in one game, we can judge him differently – but not the quickest I’ve seen.
I’ve yet to see Hoffman at 10 – he definetly seems to be a playmaker at 15 when he comes on.
7 Aug 2010, 18:24 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-36: Helllooooo
Your team won again!!
7 Aug 2010, 18:25 pm
@Robzim(Robzim)-36: How can I argue against that? That’s some of the worst logic I’ve heard.
How about pointing out that de Waal has looked out of his depth every time he’s played in the Super 14?
Teams can certainly build themselves into successful teams around de Waal despite his limitations. No doubt though that he adds nothing in an attacking sense.
7 Aug 2010, 18:27 pm
@I am a stormer(I am a stormer)-42:
Also at 9. He has a great feeling for the timing of his passes.
7 Aug 2010, 18:27 pm
I’ve watched a lot of Hoffmann and he looks much better at 9 than at 10. Needs to be given a chance at scrumhalf though. Instead we’re turning him into some versatility player. Has actually done well at fullback when he’s come on though.
7 Aug 2010, 18:29 pm
@David(David)-39: I would realy like to see the likes of Hoffman, Lambie, Jantjies, Brummer, Taute, Bradley Moolman, Venter, even Cronje and a couple of the SA Schools boys put on some or other advanced coaching course linked with a skills development program and some physical development work to prep these boys and make sure we don’t lose them.
7 Aug 2010, 18:32 pm
@David(David)-45: He was an Sa Schools and SA u/19 scrummie. I reckon that is probably his best position.
7 Aug 2010, 18:34 pm
@catleya(catleya)-47:
Yep, we need some central planning from SARU regarding skills development for the youngsters.
7 Aug 2010, 18:36 pm
@carol(carol)-43:
Hi, yep we are looking good but it is still early days. The Bulls will be the main competition again this year so next week will be a good pointer.
Pages: [1] 2 » Show All