Slick Sharks slaughter Leopards

The Sharks hammered an outclassed Leopards outfit 51-6 at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium.

The hosts were expected to be competitive after their spirited fightback against the Bulls at Loftus last week where they lost by just five points, but after they trailed 13-6 after half an hour, matters declined as they conceded seven tries. The Sharks claimed their second try with 10 minutes of the first half remaining and in a blitz before the interval, they had secured the bonus point as the siren sounded when Louis Ludik dived over.

The Sharks have been lauded for their entertaining and open play, and again their offloads and running were superior to an outclassed opponent. However, young Pat Lambie exhibited a wise head in certain situations when he ensured his side wasn’t predictable by putting the ball behind the Leopards when pragmatism was required in the first half. Although performances against the Leopards and Lions are hardly the acid test, Lambie has easily passed both. Lambie was subbed after 57 minutes, a luxury coach John Plumtree could afford with the one-sided result.

Springboks Beast Mtawarira and Bismarck du Plessis also came on early, the pair entering the fray after 51 minutes. They were quiet (except for some ill-discipline from Du Plessis), but after lengthy lay-offs for respective reasons, the game-time will only do them good.

Keegan Daniel was again a standout, while another player to impress with his raw pace, power and stepping was Lwazi Mvovo. Like many players Mvovo needs some refining, but every time Mvovo touched the ball the small but appreciative Rustenburg crowd got off their feet, an encouraging sing for the 24-year-old.

However, by the final stages, the Sharks had laid such a platform and the Leopards were missing tackles with alarming regularity.

The Sharks will be encouraged by the showing, but Plumtree and co will realise their toughest test of the season comes next week against Western Province.

Meanwhile, Griquas returned to winning ways with a convincing 58-25 victory over the Pumas in Kimberley after leading just 22-20 at the break.

72 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

Well, it is great to see the future 2010 Currie Cup champions and the future Super 15 champions playing so well.

An 80 minute performance.

Notes for Plumtree:
    * Keep the penalty machine on the bench for the season, Craig Burden is better in any case
    * Daniel, Albert should always start somewhere
    * Swannepoel looked great when he came on, great tackles
    * Lambie looks good at 10, keep him there
    * Where will JLP play next season? Is Oupa retiring?

Notes for PDV:
    * Mvovo should be in the bok setup
    * As should Burden, Daniels, Alberts, Lambie

Now, to crush WP…

• 2.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

oh…and dragons, I suppose

• 3.swynboer: Reply to this comment

WOW what a game, the player that impressed me was the big guy Ross Skeate, running, tackling, jumping , passing and so physcial,great skills, and can get around the park for 80 mins, boy is he a big guy, he also looks very tough.
    The other players that had a great game was Sharks, they are playing like a team. It is great to watch, but the game against the WP is the main game.Good luck Sharkies.

• 4.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-1: :D Nice post there, but let us keep our players for now for the CC. We need em to win this thing.

Agree though all those players should be Boks. How was Mvovo? He is just awesome at the moment. Well so is Burden, Daniels Alberts and Lambie. Pity Deysel got injured would liked to have had him to play next week with Alberts against Province.

Nice win there by Sharks but very one sided. Next week it will be different against WP. Should be a cracker at the tank.

• 5.Puma: Reply to this comment

@swynboer(swynboer)-3: Thanks buddy. We doing to need all the luck but can’t wait for that game against Province going to be a cracker I think.

• 6.willievz: Reply to this comment

Anyone knows the Griquas/Pumas score?

• 7.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-4:

For sure, I am happy to keep the guys for the CC – I am guessing (read: hoping against hope) that Pdivvy will opt for a young side on the EOYT and these guys will make the cut.

Then they will be a shoe-in for the 30 man squad during the WC.

Also, just to stir the pot.

Craig Burden > Gary who? & Tiaan what?

Mvovo > Aplon & vd Heever

• 8.Puma: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-6: Hello Willievz,

Griquas 58 – Pumas 25.

• 9.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

Also, all this k@k we havce been reading on supersp0rt

Is the powerbase shifting south from the north…

All crazy SOB’s – the power is shifting to the KZN coast again!

• 10.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-7: :lol: You will get some going here……hehehe.

Have to agree Mvovo is playing totally awesome. Pleased he never got selected just yet. Need him for the CC. He will no doubt get a call up for eoyt and so will Lambie. But watch Burden will just get overlooked.. The norm. Think in the CC he is the best hooker at the moment.

• 11.willievz: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-8: Howzit Puma, Thanks. Your team appears to bring home the bacon :)

• 12.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-9: East Coast………hehehe.

Though have to wait and see our game against Province next week. Bissie can go and play for the Boks. A penalty just waiting when he comes on. Rather have Burden anytime right now at hooker for Sharks.

• 13.Puma: Reply to this comment

@willievz(willievz)-11: So far they are Willie, but your team looking so much better than in the S14 too. Hope you can keep your coach but read The Force still want him for S15. Pity that he is doing great with the Lions.

• 14.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-10:

Ja, I also have a feeling he will be overlooked, as he is wrongly labeled in the same group as Schalk Brits – just becasue he is a “running” hooker.

No mention that he finds his jumpers, is strong in the scrum, gets turn-overs in the loose and so on.

But no.. we’ll get Chilliboy and “Penalty Machine” Du Plessis before we get CB

• 15.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-12:

Agreed, I saw Bissy twice doing his “mock-hit” little school yard bully act against 2 Leopards guys

Bissy, leave that cr@p at home boet…

• 16.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-14: That is my feeling too Doomsayer. For now going to enjoy seeing him play CC for the Sharks. He is great to watch. Actually the whole team are.

We will know where we are though after we play Province next week that will be a test for sure.

• 17.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-15: I know and he does give away plenty penalties. Not just our Sharks but Boks too. He needs to smarten up and get the discipline.

Anyhow I am out of here now Doomsayer. Catch up tomorrow.

Well done to our Sharks again :D

• 18.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-17:

Cheers Puma, have a great weekend!

• 19.SpringbokSarah: Reply to this comment

Quick note… Bath won 26-14

• 20.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@SpringbokSarah(SpringbokSarah)-19:

Bath is a great town – great team too.

Who is playing 10 for them now?

• 21.Faker: Reply to this comment

Flip guys all due respect CC is 3rd tear rugby after Internationals and S14 – to rave about players performances here and call for Bok caps is surely premature! I agree that the Shocks played well – but hell look at who they were playing against! Some perspective would be great.

• 22.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@Faker(Faker)-21:

It’s hard to have perspective at the top of the log ;)

• 23.nama1: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-7: @Puma(Puma)-10:
    Burden?
    Third choice hooker at the Sharks? You talking about him being a Bok.

So PdV can’t be THAT wrong making the 3rd choice hooker of the Bulls a Bok.

• 24.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-20: former Leicestre flyhalf Sam Vesty (1 cap), well he’ll be playing there until James returns at least

• 25.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Doomsayer(www.pollwar.co.za)-22: You guys have racked up more bonus points than us, I wonder if this will end up being the telling factor for a home final?

Anyway, good performance by your guys. Nice to see that the youngsters are coming through nicely. I must say, listening to the “make them Springboks now” comments, I am reminded of how provincialism is alive and well, as it shoud be. And by the way, Burden has to stand behind, Botha, Liebenberg, Fourie, Maku, etc as well. ;)

And as for top of the Log, we’ll chat later, ne? :D

• 26.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-23: just wanna point out that ur not comparing apples with apples , but again the old race card is always brought into the convo , how delightful and convinient

i for one am not shouting for anyone to be boks as in the case above

and i am not questioning chilli’s selection

but you compare someone asking for a playing to be a bok that is actually playing rugby and getting the chance to prove himself????, again i am not saying he should or shouldnt be a bok , infact i dont think so , he has a long way to go

again i am not saying the bulls did or didnt give chili a chance to prove himself

i am asking how you can justify your comment about a player that is in the bok team that did not prove himself in any game or games before being selected.

quite sad really as one is actually playing in games

• 27.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

Sharks are playing the kind of rugby that the Boks could only dream of.

No room for Fatboy Smit in the Sharks, and as for Bismark, chap each penalty should take 10k off your salary. You and your brother can march now pal.

Maybe a guy like Burden won’t step up to Boks, who cares. At CC level he is THE BUSINESS!
    Mvovo, Daniels, Skeate, Alberts, Lambie. Luddick etc etc are all playing fantastic rugby.

SO so good to see a lot of the guys from Natal coming through the ranks, this team looks fantastic.

Good job Plum

• 28.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

STill a lot of water to flow under the bridge before one gets too excited

but yes sharks are playing very good rugby , and good one the eyes

even poor players from before like strauss are looking the business

• 29.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

let’s not get carried away gentlemen.wait for the playoffs,real acid test.

Some players playing great rugby like Mvovo,Lambie,Daniel(player of the CC so far) etc.great to see but all too often have we seen overhyped CC performances result in test failure/obscurity.

Jury is still out of likes of Ludik(who I don’t rate-a Roets clone),Daniel,Lambie,Skeate.

Mvovo is the obvious & destructive player in CC at present.just needs to continue & his time will come.

Shark fans we’ve seen this all before…ex:Van Biljon,Russell,Halstead,Brink etc…they achieved nothing if I remember correctly…jus dissappintment

Good performance.that’s it

• 30.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@nama1(nama1)-23:

Oh, I like Chilliboy – I think he is a good hooker.

I just like CB more – thinks he offer more and should be in the Bok setup.

Also, when I say setup I mean the extended 30 man squad – not the starting team, y’dig?

• 31.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-25:

HAHA! Yes, I am trying hard at the provincialism thing. I am just so glad the Sharks are looking like something again after 2 lean years.

• 32.Doomsayer: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-29:

C’mon man – don’t deflate the tires of our Sharks Hopemobile.

We can dream, hey?

• 33.baw: Reply to this comment

this leopards team almost beat the bulls at loftus last weekend…hmm wouldnt it be funny if the bulls down wp …
    @stormersboy(stormersboy)-25: Why botha and fourie? who is fourie ?isnt he the stormers reserve hooker? eish you named two province players there -but i agree he should be behind liebenberg ,if we had to go on form from the s14-not a chance behind any of the bulls hookers tho

• 34.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-29: Don’t be like that.

If this were the WP they’d be on the rooftops saying they had won the RWC, S15, Heineken Cup and IRB 7s all at once, without actually playing.

Let us Sharkies be happy. :-)

• 35.Puma: Reply to this comment

@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-28: For sure Sharky, Sharks playing some really good rugby and sure is good to watch them right now.

• 36.Puma: Reply to this comment

@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-29: Mshini, Us Sharkies just feeling great for now. You are right though buddy, the season is still too early. We will know where we are next week after playing WP. Just have no idea how we lost to Griquas? Though since then we have got it right. For now I feel great to see our team play some really good rugby.

Yip, Ludik is okay for me too, not as great as I thought but he will get better he is talented and needs time too. Only will rate him after the CC. The others that are standing out so far are: Mvovo just awesome, Lambie superb, Burden really has taken me by surprise, thought to see him play like that. He is the best hooker in CC so far. Skeate was really great last night and so too Keegan and Alberts.

• 37.Travelling Shark: Reply to this comment

Ludik has been injured for a while and is getting better with each game he plays
    Mvovo, Burden and Lambie continue to impress.
    Thought in the first half Skeate was nowhere, but came out firing in the 2nd, with Mostert coming back from injury the locks are looking healthy
    Kockott played well, would still rather have McLeod…
    Strauss, who is this guy? looks like a new player, and from one of his biggest critics, keep it up mate! Swanepoel learnt how to pass, I reckon the new signings have been a wake up call…
    Alberts was immense as usual, he is a proper 8th man, when will PdV… actually scrap that, he is rubbish and deserves to play CC rugby for life…
    Bismark, nope, no thank you, makes too many stupid mistakes, he is a liability and would stick with Cooper and Burden.

Nicely done Sharks, now for WP next week!!

• 38.rugbywriter: Reply to this comment

I hear Sarel Pretorious scored two tries for the Griquas and had another amazing performance. Do people not realise how good this guy is? He’s 10 times better then your mesiah Pienaar will ever be.

• 39.rugbywriter: Reply to this comment

Also, nice to see some people finally realising that Bismarck sucks and is nowhere near SA’s best hooker

• 40.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@rugbywriter(rugbywriter)-39: Bismark and his brother are walking penalties, always have been. Hope they go play together somewhere else.

• 41.rugbywriter: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-40: I’ve been saying that since 2008 and have been ridiculed non-stop

• 42.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

@rugbywriter(rugbywriter)-41: Well whoever laughed at you needs their heads read. The very idea that they are a package deal, that they give away so many penalties etc doesn’t seem to bother some people.

And here is my thing:
    Sharks play in Super rugby and CCup. Not in tests. We need guys who perform at provincial level, the rest is a bonus. Burden does exceptionally well at CC level. Better than Bissy, better of course than Smit.

Horses for courses, we have the right horse, send the others packing.

• 43.goyougoodthing2: Reply to this comment

What happened to this blog/????

• 44.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@goyougoodthing2(goyougoodthing2)-43:

For some reason, Keo and his people are too busy to update and supply any news on a weekend. I suspect they are so busy now with other things that they have forgotten where their bread and butter comes from.

In other words, they are resting on their laurels and don’t seem to notice the comments about the site’s downward spiral.

We’ll see soon enough I suppose…

• 45.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@JockBok(JockBok)-44: They’re all being wined and dined in the press boxes, supposedly getting close to those amazing sources that Iafrica and Rugby365 seem to have, in the hopes of not being continuously scooped by the other sports websites.

But then I guess we can’t complain, we get these amazingly insightful articles about division in the Bok Camp and why Div should do what we’ve all been saying for months.

Life’s tough at the top…. ;)

• 46.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-45: Not to mention the ever present live CC threads….

• 47.JockBok: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-46:

It’s just so weird. I would swear that a saboteur has infiltrated Keo towers and is busy sabotaging the web site in an attempt to drive down the number of hits.

Either that, or complacency seems to have set in. Either way, watch the hits drop if this keeps up…

• 48.Transformation: Reply to this comment

come on Lions!!!!

• 49.sparticus: Reply to this comment

Congrats LIONS !!!!! Nice win and great comeback there in the end. Where is the thread ? sorry for posting here.

• 50.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-45: LOL , jaa the open secret scoops !! Sadly things have been downhill.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.