All guts, no glory
21 Aug 2010
JON CARDINELLI reports on the 29-22 victory that boosted the All Blacks to the Tri-Nations title and a clean sweep over the Springboks in 2010.
What an anticlimax. You would have expected the Boks to finish this game with a lap of the field; their record-breaking captain riding high on their shoulders. Instead, John Smit’s team-mates had to lift him from the deck at the final whistle. Smit’s devastation said it all. Four losses from four matches, the last defeat coming on the Highveld.
In the final analysis, the result confirmed why guts and passion are simply insufficient in the big Tests. The game was there for the taking, but the Boks were beaten by a better team.
Smit’s initial entrance set the tone for an improved Bok effort. The camera tracked Smit’s progress down the tunnel and as he emerged, 94 000 fans rose in rapturous recognition of a decade of contributions in green and gold. Riding on that wave of euphoria, South Africa’s biggest crowd belted out a deafening rendition of the national anthem and drowned out New Zealand’s haka with a cacophonous ‘Ole, ole, ole’.
Many felt this energy would give the Boks the edge they lacked Down Under, and in the opening stages it certainly made a difference. Inspired by the gritty Juan Smith, the Bok pack turned in an aggressive showing, and from that platform, halfbacks Francois Hougaard and Morne Steyn proceeded to implement the kick-chase strategy.
The accuracy of these high bombs troubled the All Blacks’ back three, but the hosts struggled to take advantage of these mistakes. Their lineout continued to disappoint, Smit conceding possession in the first two set-pieces, and Victor Matfield battling to contest effectively on opposition ball.
Sensing the weight of occasion and how it may evoke a robust showing by South Africa’s forwards, the All Blacks avoided extensive confrontation. They often exposed the Bok defence in the wide channels, and showed a willingness to run back the less accurate kicks, keeping the ball alive even if it meant surrendering as many as 10 metres.
Some patient phase play led to a clinical try by Schalk Burger, but the Boks conceded a breakdown penalty that was goaled by Dan Carter almost immediately after. The defence lapsed in that crucial period before half-time when Brad Thorn broke the line and set up a wide-sweeping move which culminated in a simple run-in for Tony Woodcock.
The visitors bossed territory in the second half and were helped by the Boks’ misguided intentions. The home team would defend like demons, but a counter-surge so often resulted in a loss of possession.
A three-pointer by Steyn in the 64th minute established a comfortable 22-14 gap, an advantage the Boks seemed unlikely to relinquish. But an instant of indiscipline gave the All Blacks a sniff, a breakdown transgression by CJ van der Linde allowing Carter a simple penalty.
Carter missed a subsequent shot, but the All Blacks continued to apply the pressure. Another quick shift to the wing caught the Boks napping, and a great finish by Richie McCaw leveled the scores.
Carter missed the touchline conversion, but it didn’t matter, as a Ma’a Nonu linebreak sparked the clinching try for Israel Dagg. It seemed fitting that the move was birthed from a breakdown turnover, although on this occasion the All Blacks counter-ruck menace provided the forward momentum.
The result gives the All Blacks a clean sweep over the Boks in 2010, a record that will give them psychological points going into a World Cup year. It also wraps up the title for McCaw’s men and leaves the Boks on one solitary log point after four matches.

573 Comments
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All
22 Aug 2010, 11:06 am
We can’t always win, sometimes you face a better team and thats what the AB’s are. I was happy with the way the Boks played and can’t fault a single player.
There’s still too much tome before the start of the World Cup and one never knows what may happen. I still think the Boks can get better we’re too good and too rich, in terms of players and coaching, to not be better than whoever we face in NZ.
I’m surprised at some Bok fans, we never had a winning record against the AB’s with Jake White at the helm and we still managed to win the World Cup. PdV doesn’t have a winning record either and the World Cup is is still a year away.
We all need to calm down and stop being so “doom and gloom” about a few Tri-nations losses…………
22 Aug 2010, 11:06 am
@poppa69(poppa69)-382:
That man for me is what epitomises the best in leadership. Probably not the best ever player/hooker of his time but brains/smart, no one touches him.
Support him, bring back the tours. Best thing that can happen to rugby. That is the reason why the Brittish Lions are so good for rugby. Tri-Nations is stale. Want to see the midweek games in rural areas. For me that is the magic of rugby tours where everyone can say I saw the All Blacks virtually in my back door.
22 Aug 2010, 11:08 am
Big mistake even considering or expecting Smit to lead this team to WC 2011 glory, biggest mistake anyone can make least of all him. Most ridiculous expectation of all time, the man is FAT, such condition does not befit an international rugby captain, and if it does then this sport is not about excellence but about sentimental goody guys get favors but they never gonna WIN anything.
Start getting REAL for a change Sa’rugby fraternity, you seriously want to defend WC 2011 crown then start smelling the reality and get down and honest REAL!.
22 Aug 2010, 11:19 am
Smit is better in interviews than Victor mumbling in Snor City Troglodyte dialect interspersed with lots of long “yaaaarrrs”, like the old pop-eyed sea-captain in “The Simpsons”.
22 Aug 2010, 11:34 am
We should be at the town square preparing a lynch mob.
22 Aug 2010, 11:35 am
Juan Smith for captain, only valid candidate there seeing Watson or Van Niekerk are plying their leadership roles elsewhere. If captaincy was all or only about interviews then bring Smit on last 5 minutes off bench, seeing he is the ultimate quota player now then swap his honorary place with Chiliboy he can captain and prepare his interview speeches from the bench.
In fact Smit can take CJ’s place as honoray white boy quota seeing as either is as useless as next, least Smit can still use that 125 kg lardass frame to some good last 5-10 min after he’s done his interview speech prep, by then he should know if it will be a winners or losers speech he has to render at the interview.
22 Aug 2010, 11:39 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-406: don’t be surprised if Juan is banned for his encounter with Nige
22 Aug 2010, 11:45 am
@skopskiet(yliad)-406: Cutting as ever. Where to from here? We are ***** from a tactical view point the fact that prop scored a try on the iwng after teh ball was handled by three forwards of which oen was a lock just shows how ***** our tactics are.
Can anyone explain the logic of replacing Hougard? He played exceptionally well for someone who usually plays on the wing. We need Spies as a no8 impact he is not a groveller Schalk at 8 and Brussow or however else can fetch at no 6. We lack someone fast and strong on his legs
We have two no13s probably mossie will end up on the bench as he is a versatile player and hopefully PdV has taken his ego and put it in his back opocket and F.Steyn will be at no 15. For my money I would pick Lambie as my starting 10 for the next two matches. Morne Steyn has been made into to much of a one dimensional player.
With Bismark back in the frame we shoud get a bit more kick out of our tight forwards if PdV leaves Smit out (which seems the logical choice). Habana at no 11 has been abysmal in cover defence and someone needs to kick his backside or he needs to be left out.
What say ye?
22 Aug 2010, 11:47 am
@Peter Mkata(Peter Mkata)-402: hey Peter, hope your well mate… was a cruel way for the bokke to lose last night…
Yep, the best part of that column from Fitzy for me is when he speaks of Don Clarkes emotion after they won in 96 (still NZs greatest sporting moment for mind)
Agree with the tour sentiment, have missed them terribly. it also is to my mind a much fairer system of comparing teams…
its what has created the tradition and the rivalry we all love..
22 Aug 2010, 11:54 am
@grant10(grant10)-393:
Having read your comments through out the various threads it has become more and more clear to me that you have a very narrow minded opinion and something you should have a look at.
To say and I quote from you “I will always remember Smit for dragging the Boks down an inglorious hole of mediocrity” just proves the point that you have are pretty clueless. What I and I should imagine the rest of South Africa to remember John Smit by is lifting the World Cup, the B&I lions serious and the Tri Nations, the last two just 12 months ago. And wasn’t it the same John Smit that had to come back onto the field in the 1st test against the Lions when things very going tits up to bring calm amongst the guys.
Have read over your starting 15, to drop Burger who has been the form loose forward in the Tri Nations and put Flo in the side proves that you a either seriously hung over from yesterday or you just don’t have a clue.
22 Aug 2010, 12:01 pm
@Cubic(Cubic)-388: Don’t shout. It’s rude.
22 Aug 2010, 12:02 pm
@Stormpipe(Stormpipe)-410: its no use even responding to grants idiotic stupidity when it comes to john smit
see grant is prolly one of those okes that hated blacks as a kid
today he thinks he is this freedom fighter , and like a guy that stops smoking has gone overboard in hate for smokers
grant hates smit because he dare tell the truth of what happened in the bok camp and mentioned that watson was being said to be the cancer in the bok team by the senior players
this tiarde of grant has nothing to do with smits abillity or anything , it has to do with grants obsession
he has actually become sick with it
he shouts smit had in every post he makes,
now grants Gf is a DA member/ worker/ whatever , and he not thinks he is fighting apartheid ( which is dead a buried and rightfully so )
but grant is on the warpath because his beloved watson is this martyre for freedom
GRANT can be a very nice guy , but when it comes to smit , he is a idiot , acts like a 2 year old ,
i seriously dont care if the oke does not want to talk to me here after but i am saying it as it is, and trust me 95% of bloggers in here think of him this way
22 Aug 2010, 12:02 pm
@Cubic(Cubic)-388: What a crock of donkey droppings.
22 Aug 2010, 12:03 pm
@Stormpipe(Stormpipe)-410: oh and the hate for burger is that he also was against watson
22 Aug 2010, 12:06 pm
@Stormpipe(Stormpipe)-410: still believe against Pocock we need to fight fire with fire….choose best fit fetcher we currently have.
As for Smit….your hero, my cancer….thats the way it is….
22 Aug 2010, 12:07 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-414: i actually pity the bloke , as he actually is not a stupid man, and i am sure he is a decent bloke
just very obsessed with hatred
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-413: morning (evening?) cpt. fanny, bet your feathers are on display today
well done to your team, they were excellent.
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-414: Flo for Burger certainly makes no rugby sense, Louw just hasn’t cut it whereas Burger was motm
@grant10(grant10)-415: god gert imma make you drunk when i get there and wash ur brain out
22 Aug 2010, 12:09 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-417: BH flo is not bok material
and yesterday i felt kanko put paid to the verneulen theory
even in saying that vermeulen did play his heart out
vermeulen would be a far better bet then flo , or alberts
all 3 quite slow but all 3 very hard and good ball carriers that also hit the rucks hard
22 Aug 2010, 12:11 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-412: Leave politics out of it Rambo. Smit is a fat, useless rugby player…..that is the reality, today. Maybe a year or 2 ago he was okay, but not now.
Your saying i hated ‘blacks ‘ is a sad reflection on you…..you sick my man…..that is a very libellous accusation.
And leave my girlfriend and her job out of this…..you very close to getting yourself in some serious trouble.
22 Aug 2010, 12:12 pm
Firstly:
-The Boks were desperately unlucky.
-They played with great heart.
-Improvement beyond measure, compared to the performances in NZ and Oz.
They have should feel proud of their performance.
And YOU LOT………..should be PROUD as well.
That was one hellofa test Match.
Secondly:
Formalities out of the way…………………who wants a fight?
22 Aug 2010, 12:12 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-396: Must be that time of…or maybe BH is mellowing with time
22 Aug 2010, 12:15 pm
@grant10(grant10)-415: i know you will not agree but there is only one fetcher in SA
thats brussow
i gave you a good example vefore where a team without a so called fethcer can beat a team with a fetcher
when the sharks beat the stormers in the super 14 they beat them with agression and power
deysel alberts and kanko hit schalk , flo and vermeulen off the ball in rucks and malls that they were not even a factor
i was told the pieter louw is also a fetcher , well according to the mighty skopskiet he is
well yesterday a none fecthing loose trio AGIAN put paid to the wp trio
in the bok game the MOM was schalk who is not a fetcher
yes i am not saying you dont need a fetcher , i am saying choose the right loose trio combinations that can counter when you do not have a fethcer in the team
juan smith is a 7 , flo is a 7 who would you choose ???? i know who i would
22 Aug 2010, 12:16 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-419: there are certainly better options than Flo at present, I have only been able to watch highlights of most of the CC games so far but Kankowski definitely is more of a grafter than Spies and Willem Alberts is a certain Bok in the future.
22 Aug 2010, 12:16 pm
@grant10(grant10)-420: nope i would speedo , i told you before you brought the politics into it
dont cry about it becasue others are seeing you for the politics in you
22 Aug 2010, 12:18 pm
Ooops,
I see the fighting is already under way.
22 Aug 2010, 12:19 pm
@grant10(grant10)-420: is that a threat??? dude please do ur best
and as for your GF you yoursefl brought her into this site by mentioning her in here and what she did
grow up grant not everyone cheers you for a national heroes insults
and read carefully i said probably hated blacks , never said you did , understand english
but the way you carry one is sick , get control
22 Aug 2010, 12:20 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-424: BH the boks need more of the schalks and alberts and juans that give their all , hard men
22 Aug 2010, 12:22 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-427: sl
tHATS IT MATE…..
LAST POST EVER TO YOU….
YOU CAN GO FARK YOURSELF….
WE DONE.
ok for the sake of peace ill ignore anything this oke says , just not worth the attention
@grant10(grant10)-429: np grant
Goodbye
@Panzer Chief(cane)-421: Me I wanna fight.
Mate your ‘blacks were good but they are peaking way too soon, again.
Do not believe your teams self hype just because they beat an average Bok team. Next year there will be 7 changes to the team that lost yesterday. Bismarck, Brussow, Bekker, Bakkies, FDP, Mossie and monster boot Steyn will all be in the staring 11 for the RWC to choke the MIB’s … oh it is true.
22 Aug 2010, 12:23 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-426: I think that this one is more of a ‘domestic’
@RedLion is born again(RL)-432: Gm cane congrats on your teams win
@RedLion is born again(RL)-432: oops clicked on wrong nic
well RL congrats on ur teams win too
22 Aug 2010, 12:24 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-426: congrats cane , 3 min of brilliance and game set and match
22 Aug 2010, 12:24 pm
move Morne Steyn to 15 where he can perform his last line of defense and his place kick rescuing acts from. He’s not too shabby as a tackler but useless as a pivotal play maker.
We lost both Pienaar and Grant through pathetically stupid player resource management. Any Aussie or NZ coach would have reaped the full value out of either or both those two, now the dumb d’cks are considering reverting to last epoch Butchie boy as our last option at 10.
Pat Lambie can step up, I reckon the lads got the mental edge for the bmt requirement though its one mammoth jump from CC to Bok’s. Pienaar should have been persued with in spite of his jittery mind he still possessed way more natural flair than M. Steyn ever will. Peter Grant was the go to decision in 08 but was Smit and Muir that chickened out and played Butch with FdP that year, we all know how that backward ploy panned out, 19-0 and the rest, cause as always saffa mentality is always about 3-4 light years behind the game.
Grant or Pienaar would have brought on a complete different more proactive type response in the team, but its kick n chase garbage that is our 2007 penchant for security first type rugby, and now 6 internationals down the track on the trot as losers and we cling to this deadbeat archaic style yet.
Smit is the proponant and architect of this game plan, they open secretly chucked out the running ball through hands game plan of De Villiers in 08 and open secretly declared we reverting to our ‘known strengths’ ala kick n chase hum drum obliviousness and now we have the proof of the pudding but somehow nobody is hungry for such desert no more.
I’d consider this as the team for Aussie
M. Steyn
Aplon
De Jongh
De Villiers
Habana
Lambie (no one else got hands up – can’t be worse than M. Steyn now that Grant or Pienaar out)
Hougaard
Burger
Smit (c)
Potgieter
Matfield
Flip
J. Dup
Bismark
Garthro
Beast
Smit (can cover 2 and/or 3 – else we need Chili and Kruger)
Roussow
Spies or Louw (though I think I’d prefer Vermeulen or Alberts to step up)
Sarel Potgieter
J. Fourie
JPP
. .
22 Aug 2010, 12:25 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-435: I am indeed pleased with this weekends CC results … congrats on a famous win for your team too.
22 Aug 2010, 12:26 pm
I have been reading this blog. Smit’s time is over extra wegth aside. Bismark is back and he should be chosen. Smit’s tighthead days are non existent. You do tno chose a captain first then have the team carry him. He must be selected on merit like everyone else and quite frankly teh fire haas gone out of Smit and ha been so for a while. Juan is as good a captain adn so is matfiled (as much as he sound dumb when he speaks). Give the number of key players missing from our side and none missing from the AB’s I think they shoudl be more worried than us about next year provided we have a fair ref as well. The fact that the try was not a try adn that there were a couple of unspotted offsides and forward passes does detract from teh fact that teh ABs played better rugby than us.
SA needs ot make a few critical chices ahead of next year if we want to win (and we can) in 2011.
No1 Guthro with Beast on in teh 2nd half when speed counts more
No2 Bismark
No3 We still need to find a prop
No4 Flip seemed a capable sub for Bakkies and if Bakkie shas nto sorted his agression out he cannot be selected
No5 Matfield is also past his prime he loiters in the tight phases at the best of time
No6 Rattle no questions here
No 7 Juan by far the best we have had and his reintorduction mad a huge difference
No 8 Schalk with Spies coming on in second half
No 9 FdP hesis the koning but FH a good sub
No10 Morne has become stereotyped and he either brakes away from these shackles or I would start soemone like Lambie who can break the line
No11 BH but he needs some major spice to bring back the memories of old otherwise there is plentiful supply of left wings BH’s cover defence has become a nightmare
No 12 JdV no questions
No 13 J de Jong and Mossie (I would start JdJ and keep mossie on teh bench for the first half)
No 14 JPP he has shown why he should be there
No 15 FSteyn no questiosn he has the potential for being the best in the world G.Aplon coudl be a good stand in off the bench
No 16 Beast
No 17 Smit? or Chilliboi
No 18 Danie
No 19 Spies
No 20 Mossie
No 21 F Hougard
No 22 G Aplon
22 Aug 2010, 12:26 pm
@Objective 101(Objective 101)-408: Test rugby has always been a contest of fine margins and although the theory that there is no consolation in defeat, I’d suggest there are a number of positives for the Boks and their beleaguered coaching staff, and this from an Aussie. But you Saffas are just so uptight at times – cold-eyed analysis not emotional over-reaction is required.
These are my observations of New Zealand’s remarkable final-minute win: for 60 minutes, the ABs were knocked back in the tackle, rattled in the set piece, surprisingly in the scrum and sorely lacking the cohension and composure we’ve seen throughout the TriNations from this very fine side. SA’s gameplan of offensive defensive and pace and numbers to the breakdown and effective kick chasing was working; the rookies brought in all brought infectious energy and a willingess to keep ball in hand and attack the Kiwis. Hougaard, not withstanding some errors, was exceptional at times and will provide useful support when Mr Rugby returns.
Having recently read Jake White’s “Black and White” book, the similarities between South Africa now and then are uncanny – from five defeats in a row in 2006 (including the 49-0 TriNations drubbing by the Wallabies) to the heavy defeat to New Zealand in Pretoria amid a calatolgue of injuries and calls for White and Smit to be axed. Then came Rustenburg and the rest, is history. No question the Boks are missing Broussouw (spell?), but Bismark Du Plessis, Beast, Jacque Fourie, Kankowski and Steyn will all be in the selection mix for the Tests against us unfortunately on the Highveld where the Wallabies record is awful (two wins is surely non-negotiable and likely for Puff Divvy?) and if you include the other absentees, like Botha and FdP, that is a heck of a roll call and no country, not even the ABs would cope, a point reinforced by Juan Smith’s superb return until he was surprising subbed.
That said, there are issues that need to be resolved, especially at 2,8 and 10. Smit is a legendary skipper, but his body is suggesting he is over the hill. Complete R and R and a proper conditioning programme from now until the Super 15 could turn things around for him. I hope it does, but there’s no way he should play in Pretoria and Bloemfontein. Let Matfield captain in his 100th Test and BDP start at 2. I’m simply not convinced by Morne Steyn: sure he’s a superb goalkicker, but his tactical kicking and use of the ball out of hand cost his team heavily last night. He also poses no running threat himself, making it easier to defend against. Spies is an eccentric – flashes of brilliance that knocked the stuffing out of NZ and serious pace in the first half, so much so that none of his team-mates could keep up, but then he faded significantly in the crucial last quarter. Perhaps Rossouw or Burger should have been moved to 8 with the introduction of Louw, who also hasn’t convince he’s international class. Nevertheless, lots of good things to come out of Soweto and with the returning ammunition, the Boks have the capacity and wherewithal to be a real threat to a near full strength ABs side playing unbelievably well. So chin up. Try losing 8 times (probably 9 in three weeks) in succession to the same opposition – not that’s serious pain!
22 Aug 2010, 12:27 pm
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-417: yes and no..I’m really a bit of a softy and would like to have seen Smit have a good 100, he may not play against nz again and we would more than likely have won the 3n’s anyhow. good game, close, lucky, plucky, courageous and one that will go down in NZ history. the good thing about it was the conspiracy theories are put to rest and NZ showed that they do have the goods. Still it was disappointing to see the Boks play there marbles off and couldnt play the full 80.
22 Aug 2010, 12:28 pm
@skopskiet(yliad)-437: We lost them because they were money grabbing, doodle f..wits only caring about their wallets and pay checks, in your own words
22 Aug 2010, 12:31 pm
@Objective 101(Objective 101)-439: You forgot to mention a decent coach and assistants are also needed
22 Aug 2010, 12:32 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-428:
Your WHOLE TEAM played well Shark Shagger.
But for Fate,
and Fred’s little boy Isreal.
The final score may have been kinder to the Boks.
I see John Smit was blaming himself for the loss.
What a Captain.
I’m almost sorry he lost.
He carries the loss,
on his own shoulders alone,
for one error in the last few seconds of the game.
Fate can indeed be a cruel thing.
22 Aug 2010, 12:34 pm
@RedLion is born again(RL)-432: Try to wrap your head around the fact that this AB team has not reached its ‘peak’ so to speak. It is still a work in progress and they have alot of work to do before the WC and even
GH and the team still believe that they 25% to go yet. You can talk up the ‘hope’ they have peaked but they havent.
22 Aug 2010, 12:35 pm
@KeyserSoze(KeyserSoze)-440: Not should have read = now, of course, and I forgot about Bekker, who was the standout forward in the Super 14, IMO.
22 Aug 2010, 12:35 pm
@grant10(grant10)-415:
Mccaw is a must better player/fetcher than Pocock and lets be honest he didn’t cause a lot of havoc that warrants the thinking that we need a specialist fetcher in Flo to counter Pocock.
As for Smit I am not having a full on go at you, all I am trying to say is that the guy does not deserve the criticism that you are giving him rather the recognition that he has done the Boks far more good than bad. Sure this season he is not covering himself in glory but he is still by far and away the best captain we have ever had and deserves a lot praise than what he is getting.
22 Aug 2010, 12:36 pm
@RedLion is born again(RL)-438: thanks RL
22 Aug 2010, 12:37 pm
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-445: okay then, and try to wrap your head arond the fact that they have not beaten our best team either.
22 Aug 2010, 12:38 pm
@Panzer Chief(cane)-444: thanks mate
lol @ sharks shagger :wink; ya damn sheep shagger
mate JS is a great as king Richie is , these are great players and great leaders
they dont place themselves on pedestals
Pages: « 1 … 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 » Show All