Boks 22 All Blacks 29
21 Aug 2010
GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Tri-Nations clash in Soweto.
Full time: Boks 22 All Blacks 29
80 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! A match-winning touch down from Dagg, I told you they had to mark this guy. From a trademark Ma’a Nonu break, the replacement wing has a clear run to the corner. Carter rubs salt into the wound as he adds the conversion. Smit kneels down as he is clearly gutted, the Boks give away the game with poor defending at the death. The All Blacks celebrate the victory which confirms their 2010 Tri-Nations title. All Blacks win 29-22!
77 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Tough, tough call for the TMO, Shaun Veldsman, as McCaw’s foot finds touch at the same time as the ball grounds. However, the Boks only have themselves to blame as they let their guard down at a crucial stage. The visitors exposed them out wide (for the second time) to level the scores. Carter misses the conversion. Scores even at 22-22!
73 mins: Boks under pressure and they concede a penalty right in front of the posts. Carter is expected to make it a two-point game, but the pivot misses the easy penalty. Big let off for the home team!
72 min: With less than eight minutes remaining, Steyn commits a silly error by not finding touch from a penalty kick. Instead, it crosses the All Blacks’ dead ball line and the visitors get a scrum inside the Boks’ half.
70 mins: All Blacks are back on the attack shortly after the restart as Jane again finds some space. The wing puts the chip ahead into the dead zone but Pietersen beats him to the ball and dots down for a 22m drop.
68 mins: The Boks are penalised at the ruck from the resulting lineout as they obstruct the chasing All Blacks defenders from charging down Steyn’s clearance. Carter converts the easy penalty. 22-17 to the Boks!
65 mins: All Blacks have a scrum in centre field and they break down the left touch line. Jane finds some space on his way to the try line but is pushed out by Aplon.
62 mins: Boks set up the driving maul and roll 10m into the All Blacks’ half. Read is penalised for driving into the side of the maul and Steyn gets another opportunity to kick three points. Great attempt from the pivot as the ball sails over the crossbar. 22-14 to the Boks!
58 mins: All Blacks bring on Israel Dagg in place of Rokocoko for the last 20 minutes. Boks better be beware of this guy, very dangerous.
56 mins: Replacement scrumhalf Piri Weepu threads Carter into space out wide with a great long pass but the pivot is stopped inches from the try line and loses the ball forward after a great tackle from wing JP Pietersen.
52 mins: It’s turnover galore as the Boks and All Blacks make some great steals, but the visitors eventually come away with it. They break into the Boks’ half, but they get penalised as Owens blows for players clearing off their feet. Boks clear the ball back into All Blacks territory.
47 mins: BIG HIT! Skipper Richie McCaw gets smashed by opposite number Smith and loses the ball forward. Welcome back Juan.
44 mins: All Blacks slowly building momentum on attack as they work into the Boks’ half but they are restricted by impressive Bok defence. The attack comes to nothing as Jane’s pass to Muliaina drifts forward. Scrum to the Boks.
42 mins: Boks awarded a penalty at the scrum this time and Steyn kicks the Boks further ahead. 19-14 to the Boks!
41 mins: Steyn starts the second half with a high kickoff. Boks awarded a scrum after lock Tom Donnelly loses the ball forward. Boks then win freekick as the All Blacks are penalised at the set-piece and Burger carries play 5m from the try line. However, Hougaard accidently passes the ball into Owens and the Boks get another scrum.
Half-time: Boks 16 All Blacks 14
40 mins: The half-time hooter blows as the All Blacks have possession on the halfway line. Cowan decides to end the half as he clears the ball into touch. Boks enjoy a two-point lead at the break.
37 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! From a Brad Thorn break, the All Blacks move play to the right side of the field. They find an overlap as the Boks fail to spread their defence out side. Loosehead prop Tony Woodcock eventually runs in at the corner untouched for the All Blacks’ first try. Carter misses the conversion. 16-14 to the Boks!
30 mins: Boks find themselves on the counter attack as Smith breaks from his team’s red zone. The flanker offloads to a rushing Hougaard, who puts the chip through but is illegaly blocked from chasing his kick by wing Joe Rokocoko. Steyn converts the penalty to restore the Boks’ seven-point lead. 16-9 to the Boks!
27 mins: All Blacks get a chance to reduce the seven-point deficit as Matfield is penalised for not releasing after the tackle 40m out from the posts. Carter converts his third penalty. 13-9 to the Boks!
24 mins: BOK TRY! Boks awarded penalty from right in front but Steyn opts for the quick tap and catches the All Blacks napping out wide. After two strong carries from flanker Juan Smith and wing Bryan Habana, Schalk Burger drives over from close range. Confirmation is given from referee assistant Alain Rolland and replays show he was right. Steyn adds the extras. 13-6 to the Boks!
22 mins: Boks win the ball from the restart. Steyn sits in the pocket and lines up the drop goal. However, his attempt fades to the right.
20 mins: Carter converts his third attempt on goal to bring the All Blacks level. Scores even at 6-6!
19 mins: BIG HIT! From Gio Aplon nogal! The Bok fullback kills the All Blacks’ momentum as he crunches opposite number Mils Muliaina out wide. However, Steyn is penalised for being offside at the ruck.
16 mins: Boks penalised at the ruck in a kickable position after No 8 Pierre Spies commits a professional foul on scrumhalf Jimmy Cowan. But Carter’s kick comes off the left-hand post and the Boks clear the ball into touch.
14 mins: All Blacks tighthead prop Ben Franks concedes another penalty for not rolling away after the tackle. From 50m, Steyn converts his second penalty. 6-3 to the Boks!
10 mins: Some positive signs on attack from the Boks as they surge into the All Blacks’ 22m area. But their momentum is halted by No 8 Kieran Read for an illegal charge into the ruck. Pivot Morne Steyn gets his first kick and converts the three-pointer. Scores level at 3-3!
7 mins: Smit having a bad day at the office as Owens penalises the hooker for taking too long at the Boks’ second lineout.
5 mins: All Blacks get first opportunity for points as outside centre Juan de Jongh is penalised for a high tackle on wing Cory Jane. Carter lines up his first goal attempt and finds the target 50m out. 3-0 to the All Blacks!
3 mins: Skipper John Smit has an unfortunate start to his 100th Test as his first lineout throw goes skew.
2 mins: Boks win an early penalty as referee blows the All Blacks for illegal clearances at the tackle point. Steyn kicks for touch.
Kick-off: All Blacks pivot Dan Carter kicks off high and shallow and Bok lock Vitcor Matfield claims possession. Scrumhalf Francois Hougaard puts up the Gary Owen, which is followed by a wave of defence from the home team.
Springboks – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Butch James, 22 Wynand Olivier.
All Blacks – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 John Afoa, 18 Samuel Whitelock, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Israel Dagg.

428 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All
21 Aug 2010, 20:25 pm
The 2nd half was sureal, a sorry thing to watch, I was at Ellis Park in July 1992 when they lost last time to the ABs at Joburg, when J. Small dropped a winning try on the line.
I look up at the current back line, what do I see?
21 Aug 2010, 20:28 pm
@Petri(Petri)-387: Both New Zealand and Australia have lost all their Tri Nations games, but, strangely, not South Africa (yet).
21 Aug 2010, 21:24 pm
391 ALIBOY. That is why Juan Smith is such a solid player, he does not shine, but hit the advantage line, is a team player, and defend everytime.
21 Aug 2010, 21:54 pm
Well done ALL BLACKS. A very good win in a tight match untill the last three minutes.
Congratulations to them and their supporters especially Tackler.
On SA’s side:
People doubting JdJ vs Nonu: This is your time to speak out. How good was he. Clearly a contender for MOM imo.
Aplon was very good at 15. HG called it all along. Pity SA haven’t learn how to counter attack from deep yet.
Hougaard. I thought he had a very average 1st half apart from some good defensive work around the fringes.(How many times did somebody else had to pass the ball from a ruck because he was nowhere in sight?). In the 2nd half he started to play actually really well. Still feels that the Blue Bulls/Bulls team is where he should learn his craft as a SH and not the Boks. All in all, I’ll give him a C+ or even a B, for this performance.
John Smit: Well done once again on 100 test matches for your country. Your body language after the match said it all. Do the honourable thing now.
Hope us SA’cans will not do the NZ-thing and moan about the forward pass prior to Richie’s try like the AB’s supporters did after Barnes’s mistake in 2007. The ref actually had a good game imo.
Again, well done to the AB’s and their supporters. They deserve THEIR 3Nations Cup.
21 Aug 2010, 22:23 pm
3N is back where it rightfully belongs and it’s going to stay that way in 2011 again.
The Boks still think that you can sit on a cushion of a lead and defend your total instead of staying in try-seeking mode for the full 80+ minutes. They still play a 60 minute drama, not an 80 minute one — and the ABs know the script off by heart.
Three-zip. Revenge served up. And the big gap on the historical record grows ever wider.
So, when will the Boks get a real coach?
21 Aug 2010, 22:33 pm
So Boy Georges’ pattern is now clear
It’s a week buildup of complete & utter garbage, verminesque slander from an anonymous coward
Only to disappear within minutes when his team loses despite self-serving lectures to all’n'sundry about “supporting his team”.
He is the Karma Chameleon.
21 Aug 2010, 22:33 pm
We can make a straight swop.
Once Kiwis get their lighting right will we explore avenues to get another coach.
I hope Paddy stays on in his role next year; he will be crucial to the ABs success
You will cry next year
21 Aug 2010, 22:40 pm
Hey Sheriff
I seem to remember the TMO deciding in Boks favour in 2nd Lions Test. What was most strange was the lack of a camera angle – the ONLY defining angle – from the crowd side, that would have conclusively told us whether the leg was in touch. How very odd.
21 Aug 2010, 22:43 pm
@Black Panther(Black Panther)-408:
Read my earlier comments.
Cheater scored that try in my book; he might be a cheater but he has great vision.
21 Aug 2010, 22:44 pm
Kiwis have started a new trend.
They play every test with a squad of 23 players.
21 Aug 2010, 22:45 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-405:
We have JS, Matfield and FdP.
How ‘real” do you want us to get.
21 Aug 2010, 22:48 pm
Kiwis unable to win a test match without the assistance of the ref
Thats for sure
They know it, I know it.
21 Aug 2010, 22:53 pm
Are the peaking too early?
Will they choke?
Why do they get a yellow card in every 43 penalties whereas SA every 6 and Aussies every 7?
Will Ted fail again at RWC?
Will Dan and Cheater be injury free?
Will the lighting actually be fixed in time?
Will the iwi actually get the money as promised by the Govt?
Who will Kiwis support if Aussies and Boks pay in RWC2011 final?
************ Just some of the questions to reflect on**********
21 Aug 2010, 22:55 pm
Bold had them in first half but it’s an 80 min game, abs started to take over up front in 2nd half then kick n chase **** started to take over. Juan de Jong, juan smith, flip, and hougaard were outstanding.
1. Beast 2. Bismarck 3. Bj 4. Bakkies 5. Flip 6. Brussow 7. Juan 8. Scalk 9. Hougaardt 10. Morne 11. Habana 12. JdJ 13. Fourie 14. JP 15. Frans
16. Guthro 17. Smit 18. CJ 19. Matfield 20. Spies 21. FDP 22. Aplon
that side will win in 2011, no doubts in my mind
21 Aug 2010, 23:21 pm
@cab(cab)-414:
Flip and Bakkies together?
Morne at FH?
BJ and CJ? What have they bring to the table this year? Really. Apart from conceding penalties?
21 Aug 2010, 23:35 pm
fantastic game of rugby…
was pleased with the way the ABs held on and the intensity the Bokke showed was awesome… where has that been for the entire 3Ns?
easily see why J.Smit is my fav SA player, was immense..
commiserations to Bok supporters, was a horrible way to lose right at the death…
Sheriff, your whinging is destroying the many gracious posts coming from the majority of your countrymen… shame
21 Aug 2010, 23:39 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-416: should be Juan Smith… eish..
21 Aug 2010, 23:58 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-413: Sheriff, ok for one such sore post, maybe for a few but this is coming like “The Bold and the Beautiful” really with no end in sight in space of few hours – every topic I see there’s Sheriff with neverending whingeing.
Sad really.
22 Aug 2010, 00:04 am
I’d happily read posts from Sheriff for the next week.
No.
Year.
They just make me feel warm and content, deep inside. There’s nothing quite like listening to a Sore Loser to make 1 feel good about yourself.
Keep it up !
3 – 0
My guess us we’ll be hearing alot of references to the RWC from here on in. That’s the usual pattern after a Bok loss. Other than the usual “cheating refs/Capt/opposition” and declarations of war, of course.
22 Aug 2010, 02:02 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-413: Poor, bitter, cut-up soul. Hangs his happiness on a Bok victory and that alone. You got a lot more misery to come…
22 Aug 2010, 02:04 am
Congratulations and commiserations. How it played out for me who never actually saw the game. I dragged my sorry *** out of bed at about 1.30am to watch the game on live streaming,( dont have fox on purpose as i would never leave the couch) which I couldnt load to due Murphy’s law. So I flicked to Keo for live scoring and by this time it was about 72 minutes into the game and the Boks were leading about 19 -14. Then 22-17 at 77minutes and the f’n computer crashed. I went to bed in a bitter sweet mood, sad that the AB’s looked as if they were toasted and I took some consolation from the fact that we were at altitude, playing in Soweto with a dozen or so supporters and that the AB’s would still probably win the 3N’s. I know that they would have played their guts out and not been left wondering about their effort. For the Boks I felt some happiness, to turn a corner and give themselves some happiness and at the end of the day knowing that this just adds to the rivalry and the excitement when we play.
I saw most players were happy with the reffing in the blogs and that there would be celebrations in the Bok camp. As I closed my eyes and the last thought was ” there was still time for us to work some magic”. I woke up this morning and couldnt believe what I saw. So sorry for the Boks, but so damn proud to be a kiwi.
22 Aug 2010, 03:14 am
@captain fantail(captain fantail)-421: So balanced. U R an oarsome poster.
22 Aug 2010, 09:36 am
Muttonbird
rest assured, Capt Fanny has had his moments. Like we all have.
Let’s see how he responds once all the local bitterness takes a firm grip.
22 Aug 2010, 09:37 am
Hard lesson for Smitie boys.To have your cover defense outstripped by two forwards is criminal.It was clear from the start that both Burger and Spies do not have the pace to
contribute anything on cover defense.
Good old fashioned play would have seen no 8 hunting down
wingers and tidy up behind some very ordinary back line play.
Once the All Blacks sucked in defenders and start spreading
the ball the Bok defensive line went pear shaped with Habana
the biggest culprit. Does not say much for Boks defensive systems.
Hougaard did well but some sloppy line out ball and poor
tactical kicking by Steyn contributed to the Boks down fall
who were outplayed by faster reacting All Blacks.
22 Aug 2010, 10:05 am
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-413: Will the Boks lose to Wales and Fiji in the pool stages and therefore be on the plane home when the knock-out stages commence?
22 Aug 2010, 10:07 am
A@TheTackler(TheTackler)-425: And those hard-tackling Samoans are also in the Boks pool…
22 Aug 2010, 10:09 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-425: quite possibly we will not get through the pools….
really depends if we want to back slap the veterans for another year or not…..
22 Aug 2010, 17:13 pm
@Sheriff(Sheriff)-413:
Ha ha, Sheriff of Conspiracy County… we know we’ve got you good, when every excuse an 11yr old boy could possibly think of for losing is thrown in as a reason why you lost, when the simple fact is… you simply weren’t good enough. Own that fact and move on.
Don’t despair, the mighty Boks will be back, as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow.
Could you really expect to dominate NZ this year as you did in ’09? You must know that either of our proud rugby nations will bounce back from defeat with a vengeance, and that’s simply what the AB’s have done.
Unfortunately, it may be 12 months too early and the timing for the ultimate prize may favor you!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All