Boks 22 All Blacks 29

GARETH DUNCAN brought you live commentary from the Tri-Nations clash in Soweto.

Full time: Boks 22 All Blacks 29

80 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! A match-winning touch down from Dagg, I told you they had to mark this guy. From a trademark Ma’a Nonu break, the replacement wing has a clear run to the corner. Carter rubs salt into the wound as he adds the conversion. Smit kneels down as he is clearly gutted, the Boks give away the game with poor defending at the death. The All Blacks celebrate the victory which confirms their 2010 Tri-Nations title. All Blacks win 29-22!

77 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! Tough, tough call for the TMO, Shaun Veldsman, as McCaw’s foot finds touch at the same time as the ball grounds. However, the Boks only have themselves to blame as they let their guard down at a crucial stage. The visitors exposed them out wide (for the second time) to level the scores. Carter misses the conversion. Scores even at 22-22!

73 mins: Boks under pressure and they concede a penalty right in front of the posts. Carter is expected to make it a two-point game, but the pivot misses the easy penalty. Big let off for the home team!

72 min: With less than eight minutes remaining, Steyn commits a silly error by not finding touch from a penalty kick. Instead, it crosses the All Blacks’ dead ball line and the visitors get a scrum inside the Boks’ half.

70 mins: All Blacks are back on the attack shortly after the restart as Jane again finds some space. The wing puts the chip ahead into the dead zone but Pietersen beats him to the ball and dots down for a 22m drop.

68 mins: The Boks are penalised at the ruck from the resulting lineout as they obstruct the chasing All Blacks defenders from charging down Steyn’s clearance. Carter converts the easy penalty. 22-17 to the Boks!

65 mins: All Blacks have a scrum in centre field and they break down the left touch line. Jane finds some space on his way to the try line but is pushed out by Aplon.

62 mins: Boks set up the driving maul and roll 10m into the All Blacks’ half. Read is penalised for driving into the side of the maul and Steyn gets another opportunity to kick three points. Great attempt from the pivot as the ball sails over the crossbar. 22-14 to the Boks!

58 mins: All Blacks bring on Israel Dagg in place of Rokocoko for the last 20 minutes. Boks better be beware of this guy, very dangerous.

56 mins: Replacement scrumhalf Piri Weepu threads Carter into space out wide with a great long pass but the pivot is stopped inches from the try line and loses the ball forward after a great tackle from wing JP Pietersen.

52 mins: It’s turnover galore as the Boks and All Blacks make some great steals, but the visitors eventually come away with it. They break into the Boks’ half, but they get penalised as Owens blows for players clearing off their feet. Boks clear the ball back into All Blacks territory.

47 mins: BIG HIT! Skipper Richie McCaw gets smashed by opposite number Smith and loses the ball forward. Welcome back Juan.

44 mins: All Blacks slowly building momentum on attack as they work into the Boks’ half but they are restricted by impressive Bok defence. The attack comes to nothing as Jane’s pass to Muliaina drifts forward. Scrum to the Boks.

42 mins: Boks awarded a penalty at the scrum this time and Steyn kicks the Boks further ahead. 19-14 to the Boks!

41 mins: Steyn starts the second half with a high kickoff. Boks awarded a scrum after lock Tom Donnelly loses the ball forward. Boks then win freekick as the All Blacks are penalised at the set-piece and Burger carries play 5m from the try line. However, Hougaard accidently passes the ball into Owens and the Boks get another scrum.

Half-time: Boks 16 All Blacks 14

40 mins: The half-time hooter blows as the All Blacks have possession on the halfway line. Cowan decides to end the half as he clears the ball into touch. Boks enjoy a two-point lead at the break.

37 mins: ALL BLACKS TRY! From a Brad Thorn break, the All Blacks move play to the right side of the field. They find an overlap as the Boks fail to spread their defence out side. Loosehead prop Tony Woodcock eventually runs in at the corner untouched for the All Blacks’ first try. Carter misses the conversion. 16-14 to the Boks!

30 mins: Boks find themselves on the counter attack as Smith breaks from his team’s red zone. The flanker offloads to a rushing Hougaard, who puts the chip through but is illegaly blocked from chasing his kick by wing Joe Rokocoko. Steyn converts the penalty to restore the Boks’ seven-point lead. 16-9 to the Boks!

27 mins: All Blacks get a chance to reduce the seven-point deficit as Matfield is penalised for not releasing after the tackle 40m out from the posts. Carter converts his third penalty. 13-9 to the Boks!

24 mins: BOK TRY! Boks awarded penalty from right in front but Steyn opts for the quick tap and catches the All Blacks napping out wide. After two strong carries from flanker Juan Smith and wing Bryan Habana, Schalk Burger drives over from close range. Confirmation is given from referee assistant Alain Rolland and replays show he was right. Steyn adds the extras. 13-6 to the Boks!

22 mins: Boks win the ball from the restart. Steyn sits in the pocket and lines up the drop goal. However, his attempt fades to the right.

20 mins: Carter converts his third attempt on goal to bring the All Blacks level. Scores even at 6-6!

19 mins: BIG HIT! From Gio Aplon nogal! The Bok fullback kills the All Blacks’ momentum as he crunches opposite number Mils Muliaina out wide. However, Steyn is penalised for being offside at the ruck.

16 mins: Boks penalised at the ruck in a kickable position after No 8 Pierre Spies commits a professional foul on scrumhalf Jimmy Cowan. But Carter’s kick comes off the left-hand post and the Boks clear the ball into touch.

14 mins: All Blacks tighthead prop Ben Franks concedes another penalty for not rolling away after the tackle. From 50m, Steyn converts his second penalty. 6-3 to the Boks!

10 mins: Some positive signs on attack from the Boks as they surge into the All Blacks’ 22m area. But their momentum is halted by No 8 Kieran Read for an illegal charge into the ruck. Pivot Morne Steyn gets his first kick and converts the three-pointer. Scores level at 3-3!

7 mins: Smit having a bad day at the office as Owens penalises the hooker for taking too long at the Boks’ second lineout.

5 mins: All Blacks get first opportunity for points as outside centre Juan de Jongh is penalised for a high tackle on wing Cory Jane. Carter lines up his first goal attempt and finds the target 50m out. 3-0 to the All Blacks!

3 mins: Skipper John Smit has an unfortunate start to his 100th Test as his first lineout throw goes skew.

2 mins: Boks win an early penalty as referee blows the All Blacks for illegal clearances at the tackle point. Steyn kicks for touch.

Kick-off: All Blacks pivot Dan Carter kicks off high and shallow and Bok lock Vitcor Matfield claims possession. Scrumhalf Francois Hougaard puts up the Gary Owen, which is followed by a wave of defence from the home team.

Springboks – 15 Gio Aplon, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Juan de Jongh, 12 Jean de Villiers 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 François Hougaard, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Schalk Burger, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Flip van der Merwe, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Gurthrö Steenkamp.
Subs: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 CJ van der Linde, 18 Danie Rossouw, 19 Francois Louw, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Butch James, 22 Wynand Olivier.

All Blacks – 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Cory Jane, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Joe Rokocoko, 10 Daniel Carter, 9 Jimmy Cowan, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Richie McCaw (c), 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Tom Donnelly, 4 Brad Thorn, 3 Ben Franks, 2 Keven Mealamu, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Subs: 16 Corey Flynn, 17 John Afoa, 18 Samuel Whitelock, 19 Victor Vito, 20 Piri Weepu, 21 Aaron Cruden, 22 Israel Dagg.

Follow Gareth on Twitter

428 Comments

• 1.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Bokbefok Dragons

• 2.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Maybe I should start mowing the lawn?

• 3.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

They came to the side of the mountain
    Scouts rode out to spy the land
    Even as the realm’s soldiers lay resting
    Mageba’s forces were at hand
    And by the evening the vultures were wheeling
    Above the ruins where the fallen lay
    An ancient song as old as the ashes
    Echoed as mageba’s warriors marched away

Impi! wo nans impi iyeza
    Obani bengathinta amabhubesi?

• 4.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

calm before the storm?

• 5.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Come on Boks, PLEASE just show some sign of improvement!

• 6.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

win or lose – Goooooooooooooo BOKS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 7.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

I really hope Hougaard keeps a cool head today!

• 8.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

@kwaailight(kwaailight)-7:

In my opinion he is definately our best option at present. :)

• 9.chubb: Reply to this comment

I have this view, you may not like to read it. Hougaard will not live up to expectation/hype and then enters Januarie to save the day. Failure of that happening the Springbok will loose big time today. Watch this space!

• 10.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

@chubb(chubb)-9:

Hehe, let’s wait and see.

Either way, I’m hoping for a decent performance from the Boks.

Positive thoughts for now. ;)

• 11.BishopsOD: Reply to this comment

3 wins in a row for the Boks and maybe things aint that bad?

• 12.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

@TaffyIX(TaffyIX)-8: My worry is that he might ‘overdo’ the agression thing. I consider him a yellow-card risk … that’s why I hope he keeps a cool head. Jimmy Cowan knows how to bring the worst out in our guys – ask Bakkies … :)

• 13.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

true

• 14.TaffyIX: Reply to this comment

Enjoy the occassion guys and gals!

• 15.chubb: Reply to this comment

That’s what happens when create a test scrumhalf from a currie cup wing, disaster waiting to happen.

• 16.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@BishopsOD(BishopsOD)-11: Nail on head…

• 17.danuk: Reply to this comment

hey all, enjoy the game and GO BOKKE !!!

• 18.danuk: Reply to this comment

PS: I see (rugby 365) Frans Steyn might return sooner than expected

• 19.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

What an incredible stadium – massive occasion!

• 20.willievz: Reply to this comment

Streaming link anyone?

• 21.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Go Bokke!!!!

• 22.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Well done Smittie thanks

• 23.kwas: Reply to this comment

John Smit jou vetgat.

• 24.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

wow what a reception

@willievz(willievz)-20: ustream.tv/channel-popup/blueberry-muffins

• 25.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Barney the LEGEEEEENNNNNNDDDDDDDDDD!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 26.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@kwas(kwas)-23: CNT

• 27.ET: Reply to this comment

Well the debate rages on about victory or defeat and every lame excuse is being bandied about in advance already but few realise that in the minds of most S.Africans it is the fear of defeat that ravages the collective brains.
    If defeat is the end result you can be sure that there will be a chronic need for more alcohol(of the mind-numbing type) which will suddenly be in short supply.

• 28.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Aplon Aplon Aplon

• 29.ET: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-24:

Please my friend give me the site address where you are wathing this.

• 30.money_man: Reply to this comment

Wow, history in the making!

• 31.money_man: Reply to this comment

@money_man(money_man)-30:

Except the BEE mob!

• 32.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-29: ustream.tv/channel-popup/blueberry-muffins

• 33.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Haka haka

• 34.ET: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-32:

Thanks a million fine one.

• 35.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@money_man(money_man)-31: doos!

• 36.money_man: Reply to this comment

Go Juan!!!!!!!!

Punters going nuts… awesome!

(except the loser Malay’s)

• 37.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Jurre ons is reg

• 38.cab: Reply to this comment

Vat hom fluffie

• 39.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

Haka Haka the ABs are kaka …

• 40.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Total awesomeness!!!

• 41.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

schweet penalty

• 42.kwas: Reply to this comment

First time this year ABs got penalised for that offence.

• 43.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

Smit really needs to retire …

• 44.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Plod messing up already

• 45.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

great scrum

• 46.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Oirishman just dying to hand out a yellow card

• 47.Transformation: Reply to this comment

habana jumping the gun looking for intercepts!

• 48.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

F ing Habana and his f ing intercepts
    Puts pressure on all defenders .

• 49.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Thanks Bryan. Play like a man and stop going for the friggin intercepts!!

• 50.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

AB’s look thousand times more primed physically and mentally. If nature rewards those that are prepared for the occasion then AB’s on another victory today. Boks look overweight and pap from captain down to the water boy.

• 51.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

GO NOONOO’S AND CAPTAIN INCREDIBLE ::-):

• 52.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

boks are ferocious hunting dogs at the moment

• 53.ET: Reply to this comment

There you all saw it. Fourie Du Preez is the onfield coach for the ‘Boks.
    Is that in accordance with the rules? AN injured player, not even in the squad but on the bench. That surely has to be questionable as it is unusual.

• 54.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

friggin cheating all blacks

• 55.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

cheating ABs – ref blew too early

• 56.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-53: He is a waterboy …

• 57.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Aplon you beauty

• 58.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Looking quite good so far …

• 59.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

game is streamed live on supersport.com if anyone interested

• 60.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Aplon thousand times better than overrated Frans Steyn. Aplon Pietersen and JdJ the difference in this team today looking much better already.

• 61.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-46:

Have you noticed the excitement when those Capies, Aplon and De Jong have the ball in hand. Awkward stuff for you surely those streeptruie Capies?

• 62.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

another penalty – the ref aint oirish

• 63.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

De Jongh is pure Bok – excellent stuff.

• 64.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

some fair refffing for a change.

• 65.kwas: Reply to this comment

Finally someone blowing the Black cheats.

• 66.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

ABs are getting blown up … lol … pure irony

• 67.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-61: Always liked de jongh and aplon prat – one of the few here that rate aplon at 15

• 68.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-60: agree – those boys are on fire at the moment.

• 69.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

What a run by Habs for once

• 70.ET: Reply to this comment

@JustAnotherFan(JustAnotherFan)-56:

Ja he has the water in his bladder.

• 71.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

some brilliant handling by NZ

• 72.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-60: Flipflop – you go on supporting your ABs – you hate anything Bok

• 73.Pirlet BEL: Reply to this comment

Smit is so damn slow… thank God the ball went out because his cover defence was non existant

• 74.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

Good kick, Carter … lol

• 75.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@JustAnotherFan(JustAnotherFan)-69: agreed and far better than those stupid intercept attempts.once in a while when its on ok but all the bloody time???

• 76.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Aplonnnnnnnnnnnnn!!! woohooo

• 77.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Aplon you beauty! What a tackle

• 78.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

Is the deaf blind … AB from the side

• 79.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

oops … ref

• 80.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith is everywhere… machine

• 81.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

get F’ck’d schmuckadilly Heavens Shame I support courageous go forward rugby no matter who plays it. Boks looking whole lot better so far today on account of playing courageous strategy and players, Aplon, De Jongh Pietersen and Van der Merwe showing the way not the dead beat has beens.

• 82.dermie: Reply to this comment

HOW ABOUT TRYING TO SCORE SOME TRIES,BLOODY DROP GOALS.

• 83.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

Try!

• 84.kwas: Reply to this comment

The cheats are struggling with a fair ref. Black bodies rolling over everything to slow it down.

• 85.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

@dermie(dermie)-82: Happy now?

• 86.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

try South Africa

• 87.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

woooohooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!

• 88.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

SKULKANATOR STRIKESSSSSSSSSS !!!!!!!!!!

• 89.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-81: tryyyyyyyyyyyyy….. Burger – one of your “dead beat has beens” – traitorous git

• 90.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Yes run it boois

• 91.ET: Reply to this comment

If ever the ‘Boks are to have a competitive win it should be in the next 3 games as they have so much in their favour.

They have home crowd in their thousands, altitude, attitude if only for fear of the crowd booing them as in Durban in 2008, also the ABs do not have to win as the competition is to all intents and purposes won. What more can you ask for except for the ref.in the pocket. But the known mental deficiency especially of the dcrepids and the resultant poor execution can possibly work against them

But will they, in fact, win when they have jelly bean brains?

• 92.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Destroy Destroy Destroy Destroy!!!

• 93.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Boks are really physical. Intensity is incredible.

• 94.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-89: Instigated by Steyn – one of the “dutchies” you so hate, hey!

• 95.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

try Burger set up by a running backline that suddenly believe in themselves again. Thank goodness the quotas of Olivier and Kirchner ain’t here to slow it all down.

• 96.Nils: Reply to this comment

Great game so far, especially nice to see Boks progressed from previous dire level. Great ferocity, huge Test match as it shold be.

Meanwhile I could have sworn folks here called Nigel Owens in any bad names possible. And – surprise surprise – now he is ok bloke. ;) Just wait – if Boks lose, then he again will be called as usual %*%^$*$$, etc.

Cmon, ABs, by the way. :D (meanwhile, Boks indeed are looking good).

• 97.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

rubbish penalty

• 98.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

tackling is very good.

• 99.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-95: WTF do you know you bigoted bok negative biyatch

• 100.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-95: I agree. Pace is up significantly.

• 101.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Carter ice-cool on that one

• 102.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Guthro looked like a turtle on it’s back

• 103.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-67:

My golly it translates into you liking me too then because I am a Capie too like them and my club jersey was a streeptrui(Lansdowne RFC).
    Now I am awkward because you like me,damn how do I solve this problem? Please help.

• 104.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

JPP you beauty

• 105.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

send that ab off

• 106.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-103: You extrapolate too far

• 107.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Frankie Goes To Hollywood.

• 108.dermie: Reply to this comment

nice having the ref on your side.

• 109.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

like I said already schmuckadilly H. Shame, go f’ck yrself you know nothing of who or where I wear my support

• 110.ET: Reply to this comment

That was a dirt cheap penalty by that mullet.

• 111.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-102: :lol: he reminds me of tyson for some reason

• 112.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-109: Its all there to be read, bokhater

• 113.ET: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-107:

Hey how was that Leeds 3-1 win against the log-leaders and hoodoo team?

• 114.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

I think this might just be the most intense game I’ve ever watched, certainly the first half

• 115.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Bok loosies making so many tackles. Burger 2 at a time.

• 116.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-113: Love it Philly Steak.

• 117.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-109: Skoppie you quite rightly point out how good De JOngh and Aplon are but you fail to mention the contribution of Juan and Schalk which paints you as 1 sided

• 118.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-106:

Thanks problem solved then. We are poles apart, thankfully, you being such a conservative.

• 119.dermie: Reply to this comment

thats how you score a try.

• 120.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

great try NZ

• 121.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

pathetic defence there

• 122.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

How awesome is the stadium Good camera work

• 123.Nils: Reply to this comment

Sweet try :) Hugely outnumbered the defence.

• 124.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Nice try All Blacks. Very calm, very precise. Quick.

Good game this.

• 125.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Try to AB’s thanks to the kick by Aplon

• 126.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-117: aye

• 127.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

just before half time yet again
    And dont think Aplon chose the right option kicking there

• 128.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Habanero put him off.

• 129.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

great pressure on Carter’s conv. by Habana

• 130.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-118: You have no idea, do you, elliott

• 131.ET: Reply to this comment

Woodcock after that run was not puffing but Smit on the goal-line was. Now explain that?

• 132.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

nooooooooo! Owens was having a stormer

• 133.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

ref totalled hahahahahaha

• 134.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Juan, what have you done? :)

• 135.danuk: Reply to this comment

Ha ha, ouch ref

• 136.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Well done Juan

• 137.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

oof Nigel caught in real rugby.

• 138.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Teach the ref – running into schalk

• 139.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-130:

What you not conservative again, after you so proudly screamd that recently on these pages?

• 140.Nils: Reply to this comment

Nice to see ref carying on.

• 141.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

kicking killing us again, ball in hand is the name of the game. Kick and you hand over posession, thats why AB’s scored that try. Kicking is poor option taking’ take it out if the game plan.

• 142.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Brian Mujati did that to Owens too.

16-14 HT

• 143.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Jimmy tired.

Last 15 minutes are going to be tough. Maybe for both teams.

• 144.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-139: HG is not defined by some “philly-steak” loving bushdoctor…

• 145.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Gotta say Nigel Owen man of the match so far!!!

• 146.Nils: Reply to this comment

Great intensity half time, ferocious like I haven’t seen for a long while. Even referee got his fair share.

Bring on second one.

• 147.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Nigel Owen doesn’t know where to position himself at rucks or scrums, during a Northhamptons Saints game Brian Mujati also handed him off because the ref was between him and first receiver..

• 148.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-131: Hey ET stopped being one sided mate. Any prop standing out on the wing will have plenty in the tank – he has being doing s..t all game compared to John

• 149.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Very stupid soft try we allowed in there. Could come back to bite us in the butt. Boks been playing well (one wonders why they couldnt play like that in NZ and OZ?) but seem to be tapering off slightly. Lets see if they can put in same intensity in 2nd half.

• 150.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-145: Juan Smith for me, so far…

• 151.ET: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-116:

Good to see you back again after an absence.
    All I ask of Leeds is to maintain status in this league and if possible a mid-table position.

• 152.Partizan: Reply to this comment

Haha Big Hit, Mujati was the first guy that popped into my mind when Owens got that face full of grass, I was worried Juan would get carded for that

• 153.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Bok forwards usually gassed about the 60 min mark last year and had to defend the lead, it’ll be interesting to see if it happens this time. Boks should really have kept ball in hand more and put some tries on the board.

As far as ball-playing ability is concerned NZ have been terrific. Really great game so far.

• 154.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Houghaard having a good game at scrumhalf so I´ll take my words back regarding him playign srumhalf for now. Still think he´s better at centre or wing.
    Wouldnt bring on Francois Louw at the moment. Burger and Smith are having a kickass game

• 155.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-145: Nahoon Boy. Very fair, very clear, and also quite funny.

Not sure I would have been able to get up after being shoved by Juan, half tackled by Schalk and a pile of giants falling on my head.

• 156.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Much better boks
    The return of the ghost of Piet van zyl

• 157.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-141: Funny that cause the kicking has put the ABs under pressure…

But hey Kickshot knows…

• 158.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

much better by the boks but still not good enough on attack .
    abs are lethal on counter attack but the defense is scrambling nicely.

• 159.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

Where is G10 with his comments about the loose forward trio. Again combinations depend on how you want to play the game and with Juan in there all of a sudden the balance is back

• 160.cab: Reply to this comment

Great game, Owens don’t know *** from elbow. Vat hulle

• 161.sparticus: Reply to this comment

always said that Schalk would tackle the ref one day in a game !! LOL. On the subject of Schalk , cannot believe some people actually wanted him dropped. Absurd

• 162.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

@Partizan(Partizan)-152: I don’t think Nige could remember :)

• 163.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-154: aye. I think Frankie looks good, distribution not very pretty but effective. But his game around the fringes seems like FdP meets Rickie Januarie (when he could run), really dangerous.

• 164.dermie: Reply to this comment

@Slumtown(Slumtown)-149: playing at home,with 90,000 fans behind them,could have a bit to do with it.

• 165.Transformation: Reply to this comment

juan smith is extraordinary, what a player!

Francois Hougaard in the mix – good first half!

• 166.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@dermie(dermie)-164: I’ll take it.

• 167.danuk: Reply to this comment

the two smallest guys in the Boks team are impressing me the most … dues to Schalk and Juan as well though

• 168.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-144:

It’s amazing how you overlooked the word “rare”(as in not often) in that post. Does not say much for you sense of honest reference of that statement?

• 169.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-165: Hello Tannie. Good game of rugby. Nothing better than a classic Boks Vs All Blacks game, and this one is really good, we will see if it’s a classic.

• 170.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Ja, some of you flipflopping Bok supporters. Its going to be schweet for Barney and his Boks to give you a middle finger… So far, so good…

• 171.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-165:

my heart was in my mouth for his first kick, ritchie almost nailed him…

• 172.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-170:

barney army…

• 173.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-168: You’re always on my mind….
    You’re always on my mind.

Not. :wink:

• 174.bananaboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-157: HG the kick is only as good as the chase and that is where JP is so good. He is a good chaser as well as being a tremendous tackler.

• 175.kwas: Reply to this comment

Now bring Chilli and Ricky on for some REAL rugby in the 2nd half!

• 176.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-172: hehehehehe. Another term is born on Keo.

• 177.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@gunther(gunther)-172: very good Shunter.

• 178.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@bananaboy(bananaboy)-174: True, and hougaard is giving some good box kicks…

• 179.ET: Reply to this comment

The ABs clearly cannot be as psyched up for this game as they were for Eden Park or even Wellington the week after. Now with the TN theirs no-one in the world can get their mental state to where it was 4 or so weeks ago.

• 180.kwas: Reply to this comment

All Black fitness will win this match for them in the end.

• 181.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

ABs feeling the pressre

• 182.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

yeah better believe it kickshot knows better n you realize. Aplon should never have kicked down Janes throat which resulted in the Woodcock try. If Aplon would have run it instead we would have been 5 points better off at half time. One time Steyn didn’t kick it resulted in a Bok try. Ball in hand is name of the game, only way to do it, if ww kick it this half we lose. Keep it in hand we got good chance of turning our fortunes around.

Smith and Burger having huge games though Spies is absent without leave again.

• 183.gunther: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-177:

asalaamwalaykum…

• 184.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

WTF is wrong with this ref

• 185.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Suarez! :)

• 186.kwas: Reply to this comment

And so McCaw gets away with murder again!!

• 187.Polar Lion: Reply to this comment

Clear yellow for Richie there

• 188.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Schweet scrum…

All you Barney haters, take that up the nought

• 189.gunther: Reply to this comment

ritchie to get an early christmas card…

a yellow one…

• 190.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Guthro creamed Franks.

• 191.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

De jongh playing like a little rabid meerkat

• 192.kwas: Reply to this comment

Boks tiring fast.

• 193.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-169:hey soda. Great game indeed.

@gunther(gunther)-171: me too, it was in the first 30 seconds :shock:

• 194.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-182: Hey for a change youre making some sense

• 195.danuk: Reply to this comment

Juan !!!

• 196.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

beauty tackle by juan smith

• 197.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

McCaw crunched by JDup

• 198.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

*Smith

• 199.kwas: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith – man of the match.

• 200.Senga: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith should be both player and tackling coach

• 201.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

Jaun Smith lekker to have u back

• 202.gunther: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-193:

he’s got balls I’llgive him that…

• 203.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

56 tackles. 45 by Smith & Burger.

• 204.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Blacks dont look so lsick when under pressure do they? We let them play farrr tooo much rugby down under. Juan Smith making a huge difference.

• 205.Kronung: Reply to this comment

@kwas(kwas)-199: Nope, Francois Hougie surely?

• 206.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Boys look like theyre having fun for a change

• 207.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-184: he got flattened by the Skulkanator lololol

• 208.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

hospital pass from Carter to Muliaina

• 209.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

about bloody time.

• 210.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

How many penalties must go against McCaw before he gets a yellow card?

• 211.ET: Reply to this comment

Because TNs is already lost the ‘Boks are playing with far less pressure and are thus not crumbling and actually enjoying the game. Note their smiles even after their sustained advance comes to nothing.

But where is Matfield is he hiding for next week’s game?

• 212.kwas: Reply to this comment

McCaw penalized? How can this be allowed?

• 213.Transformation: Reply to this comment

de jongh tackling like a demon!

• 214.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Yeah, all callers for a “fetcher” – Juan Smith has sort of shoved that up your collective noughts, hey

• 215.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-207: schweet

• 216.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Aplon cleaning up after Burger coughed it up in midfield. De Jongh tackling like a
    Trojan where Olivier goes awol. Just leave Olivier off all 80 min and we stand a chance

• 217.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

should have been a penalty in the corner

• 218.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Damn! … Matfield too casual on that ball – it is a precious effin thing guys!!!

• 219.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

great save JPP

• 220.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-211: Hi Et, I never even thought of Matfield until you mentioned him, is he playing ?

• 221.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-215: I know , was outstanding LOL

• 222.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

close Carter almost closed it out.

Burger; Smith can only battle so far. Ab’s going ro keep running with ball in hand, tackling last 20min will have to be spot on:

• 223.Transformation: Reply to this comment

this is daft…

• 224.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Juan smith again – a non fetcher stealing the lineout – gotta laugh at all you fetcher experts

• 225.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Juan again. Really great in the lineout.

• 226.kwas: Reply to this comment

Just took our best player off?

• 227.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

dammit de villiers!! I hope this is not a change were going to rue later. Juan Smith been huge so far.

• 228.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Poor feed Frankie. Wait bud.

• 229.Kronung: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-220: and I never thought of an optomotrist until you made your comment….. need a number?

• 230.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Aplon – another demented meerkat

• 231.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Kronung(redj)-229: grow up

• 232.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

CJ’s a risk

• 233.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Thats the way Bokke…

• 234.kwas: Reply to this comment

Mindblowing changes here by the Bok brain trust.

• 235.danuk: Reply to this comment

just hope the fitness holds out …

• 236.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

box kicking going to lose us this game. Hougaard must stop the box kicking and spread it quicker getting too one dimensional by going back to forward ball carrier everytime.

• 237.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

amazing what a fair contest does. Great reffing this time around. Been very fair on both sides and no yellow cards yet.
    Very good work Aplon and Houghaard.
    And f u beea itch Kieran Read. Cheating scum.

• 238.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

@Treehugger(Treehugger)-231: plussssssssss i got goggles this week for watching tv and see fine.

• 239.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

ahh dammit unlucky bounce for Steyn

• 240.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

I hate this cynical use of the player-in-contatc-with-ball-rolling-into-touch ****!!! Silly rule … drop it!

• 241.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

All Black backline looking a bit desperate here. De Jongh massive!! De Villiers having a farrrr better game at 12. De Villiers take note you mullet! Scrums been solid.

• 242.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Jeez JPP thats cutting it fine

• 243.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

See the oirish linesman trying to influence the game…

• 244.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Boks all over the place right now, De Jongh got his back buckled there

• 245.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Dammit De Jongth fell badly there

• 246.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Bwahahahahahahah – Carter chokes…

• 247.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

I’ll take Flip ahead of Bakkies any day.

• 248.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

solid from Flip vd Merwe too

• 249.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

De Jongh should be taken off hes gonna worsen than injury

• 250.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

At last the ABs get blown for their blatant cheating at rucks

• 251.danuk: Reply to this comment

puk !!!!

• 252.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

kak line kick Steyn

• 253.kwas: Reply to this comment

Boks lucky there. Should have been AB penalty.

• 254.kwas: Reply to this comment

Morne Steyn will singlehandedly lose this one for us.

• 255.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

silly mistakes

• 256.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

CJ vd Linde is farking up the scrums

• 257.kwas: Reply to this comment

Great sub there Div. WP boytjie cost us 3.

• 258.danuk: Reply to this comment

come on bokke focus

• 259.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Terrible kick Steyn.

• 260.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

lucky let off unusual Carter miss from in front

• 261.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Too close were not closing this game out when we have the opportunities

• 262.danuk: Reply to this comment

maybe subs PDV …

• 263.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@skopskiet(yliad)-260: Aren’t you sad

• 264.dermie: Reply to this comment

great game,classic even.

• 265.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

stupid up n under kicking don’t work. When you going to get it in yr thick skull Steyn you put your team immediately on back foot by handing over possession once again

• 266.Transformation: Reply to this comment

morne steyn is going to lose this game for us with his aimless kicking!

• 267.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Januarie!!! Oh nooooooo!! Cj hasnt helped nor has F Louw. And Morne Steyn is doing his best to lose this for us.

• 268.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

We definitely have the hottest medic

• 269.Kronung: Reply to this comment

Habana fks it up yet again. Out of position.

• 270.Transformation: Reply to this comment

i told you, farking morne steyn!

• 271.kwas: Reply to this comment

Well done Boks.

• 272.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Out

• 273.kwas: Reply to this comment

@Kronung(redj)-269: Another Habana shocker on defence.

• 274.kwas: Reply to this comment

Foot is out.

• 275.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

McCaw scores in corner to take the test and comp.

Kicking box kicks n up n unders do us in the groin once again

• 276.ET: Reply to this comment

That is what you call captain fantastic.

That is a try !!

• 277.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Suarez prevails again :(

• 278.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Bugger. We should have got that call just for past injustices.

• 279.JustAnotherFan: Reply to this comment

Carter still can’t kick a ball in BMT games … lol

• 280.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

22 each well who would have picked a draw.

• 281.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Habana going for the bloody intercept again instead of covering his wing. he is a huge liability at the moment.

• 282.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

• 283.danuk: Reply to this comment

great game just became very very ****

• 284.Nils: Reply to this comment

Awesome try, game, set and match! ABs the best meanwhile Boks have improved well.

Anyway, ABs rule. :)

• 285.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-272:

And now how brilliant is running rugby relative to idealess kick and chase?

• 286.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Well done All Blacks. Good game of rugby.

Juan Smith sub was dof.

• 287.kwas: Reply to this comment

Shocker. WHo missed Nonu?

• 288.Oxy moron: Reply to this comment

Why was hougaard and smith brought off???

• 289.cab: Reply to this comment

Dissapointing well played ABs

• 290.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Poor poor defence and that turnover should never have happened. Arghhhhhhhh

• 291.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

What a game
    ABs tri nation champs,well done guys

• 292.kwas: Reply to this comment

Just want to thank PDivvy for his magnificent subs – taking Juan Smith and Jannie Dup off. A master stroke.

• 293.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Well done the ABs – can’t complain.

Hope you BokandBarneyhaters are happy – all the ammo you need. You should be glad your team the ABs won…

• 294.Kronung: Reply to this comment

Snor and Januarie with Habana on the side.

What a combination……….

• 295.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Hope you all enjoyed Richies TRY

I did !

karma karma karma

chameleons

You karma and go

You karma and go’oooooo

• 296.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

Do you think the Boks will change their philosophy?

• 297.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

Congratulations John Smit. 100 games – incredible feat.

• 298.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-282:

Why are you running like a lame dog with the tail between your legs Mr. Conservative?

• 299.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Nils(Nils)-284: And cudos for the Boks – they played very well today, that has huge Test game as it should be.

And Centurion curse strikes again.

• 300.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

We threw that game down the toilet. very very poor finishing.

• 301.kwaailight: Reply to this comment

Aaah well … I need to do some mind-adjusting about this Springbok-thing … :(

Maybe get some productive hobby … yeah … that? what I’ll do!

• 302.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@kwas(kwas)-292: CNT – you should be happy – your ABs won…

• 303.kwas: Reply to this comment

Will Smit announce his retirement after yet another pummeling?

Do the honorable thing, Barney, and leave now.

• 304.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Congratulations NZ, never gave up

Boks well done, developed some great depth there.

• 305.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Try from a forward pass levels score.Poor tactical play be
    replacements.it should be clear by now that South Africa has
    an ‘A’ team and that depth is not what it should be.
    Spies not the answer at no 8.Smith be far best loose forward,Burger not far behind.
    Defensive line not always in position as Habana still leaves gaps in intercept efforts.

• 306.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

SA played a hell of a game,there defence was magnificent,just about double the tackles the ABs made but just couldnt make it over the last hurdle. A draw would have been a great result but a win,i am totally over the moon.

• 307.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Done by the weary knees giving in when push comes to shove the fit step it up and the dead beat fold under the heat.

AB’s deserve it cos they kept it in hand while we kicked all our hard earned possession again and again and again. You don’t protect your possession at this level then you done. We beat ourselves by handing momentum back to them every time.

Kick and chase don’t work when you gonna get it through your thick skull once and for all.

• 308.danuk: Reply to this comment

time for a few changes I recon …

• 309.danuk: Reply to this comment

fitness let us down in the end … Morne Steyn, Pierre Spies and Bryan Habana look average … positives for me are the Juans, Francois and Gio …

• 310.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

All gloating and (karma) forward-passes aside, must say that was an awesome Test match. Boks defence was AMAZING, ABs would have scored those 2-3 tries against every other team. Boks were excellent, altho were killed by their own limited tactics – Ateyn kicking 2 vital balls dead. He’s ordinary when he’s not kicking for posts.

Houggard, as I suspected, was really good. He’s a future star, fer sure.

Flo ?! next !

A quick question – when a player throws away a ball 1m from their tryline, what is that called ?

ABs deserved the win. The Boks will be relieved to finally get a point on the table.

• 311.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Big Hit(Big Hit)-304: Good summary, both teams deseve credit for efforts and entertainment.

• 312.SodaJoe: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-306: Congratulations bud. Good win. We can’t complain.

I would have taken a toe in touch though.

• 313.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

McCaw leads from the front (and the side) Smit doesn’t lead at all and gives away his own lineouts – he is the problem and has got to go. The All Blacks play rugby, we kick.

This augurs very badly for 2011 … but we can start by giving ourselves a shot by bringing in Bismark and axing the totally out of form, incompetent, slowest man on the field, John Smit.

• 314.aliboy: Reply to this comment

That was a seriously committed Bok performance. A few errors by M Steyn and yet another poor defensive positioning performance by Habana the main differences. Great game of rugby. Well done to both teams, and congrats to J Smit on his 100 games.

• 315.Micky Wicky: Reply to this comment

Ok, forward pass, sure. If Habana comes off his wing one more time…
    Either way we let them back in, from 22-14 to 22-29 in 18 minutes…
    Well done ABs – a well-deserved win

• 316.XV: Reply to this comment

we were awful……..time for massive change……

• 317.dermie: Reply to this comment

80 minute game,youse just aren’t fit enough.

• 318.ET: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-289:

You all really need lessons from me about rugby.
    I have called all 5 games correctly and evn scored this one almost spot on. I said all week esp. Thurs. that the winning team will score 29 points and the losers 18 or so. I said that 8,9,10 axis would be deficient for the ‘Boks and that if eve the ‘Boks were to win it should be today which clearly means a tight game .Just read my posts on this thread today even.

Now you see what running rugby can do. It wins you games even close ones if you have belief in your game.

Julle sing almal seker nou brannewyn laat my staan?

• 319.Diontnz: Reply to this comment

Awesome game Springboks and commiserations…! You guys played awesomely.,especially the intensity of the defensive effort.But for a couple of dodgy calls and some calls not made(forward passes)you guys fully deserved the win…Boks played their hearts out!.You fans need to get behind your team and captain…that was a fantastic effort.!

• 320.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

Wonder what would have happened had we had these changes in the squad:
    sub for tighthead BJ Botha
    8 Duane Vermeulen (though Spies wasnt too bad – but he should have dived to stop that try from McCaw he was close enough)
    10 Patrick Lambie
    11 Lwazi Mvovo

Definitely the players I would have changed in this squad – obviously couldnt change Smit seeing as it was his 100th but definitely Liebenberg would have also made a diff as well as having a tougher loosie on the bench such as Willem Alberts or Stegmann

• 321.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

good game all round – the abs pulled that one out of nothing.
    im not griping the abs won the but again referees’ influence on the end result is becoming too common

how the Richie Mccaw try was awarded is beyond me – but the ab’s last try was a classic. and breakdown interpretation still a mystery

well done to the boks & coaches for rectifying most of the errors now polish things up!

bring on the aussies and Victor’s 100

• 322.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-316: U kidding right ? Awesome game , congrats to the ABS. Schalk Burger remains Koning and once again Flo failed to impress me. Juan should have stayed on. All in all , awsome game.

• 323.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-312:
    Thanks Soda
    McCaws try was very close,could have gone either way really.

@XV(XV)-316:
    You seem to have watched a different game than i did. SA were immense,ABs were having problems finishing off any breaks. due to the fact that the Bok players were coming from everywhere to stop any moves from the ABs. All i saw was a commited team,only thing that let the Boks down again is fitness,thats the way i saw it

• 324.Diontnz: Reply to this comment

Boks will definitely beat Australia!

• 325.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Congrats to both teams, was an outstanding game of rugby, and well done to the Kiwis, you pipped us to the post but a win is a win,

This was very difficult for me to say as i am quite upset, but fair is fair.

SHARKSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

• 326.wpforever: Reply to this comment

307 Snotskiet Yliad

“Kick and chase don’t work when you gonna get it through your thick skull once and for all”……yes Snotskiet Pieter De Villiers is responsible for those tactics !

Thank him,Gold and Muir for that !

• 327.Nils: Reply to this comment

Cheers anybody, despite Boks loss hardly anyone can argue that that was a Proper Test Rugga. Both teams did their best.

Good luck next week, Boks fans.

• 328.danuk: Reply to this comment

congrats to the ABs, true show of character playing till the last minute and well deserved winners … unfortunately this game shows some of the players who are getting to old and some exciting new ones …

Best game of Tri-Nations for me thus far, not that much to complain about refs (maybe 2nd last try) …

To the ABs, well played, hopefully this is a wake up call for the Boks and management and hopefully we get a team to give you fair competition next year

• 329.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-302:
    Strange,most people seem to be talking rugby,yet you are name calling like a crying little girl,grow up

• 330.ET: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-310: @Hurricane(Hurricane)-306:

I don’t kno and understand why you guys were all so circumspect this week. The TN was already won before todays game irresoective of what anyone else might have said. The kind of game the ABs are playing is healthy and crowd pleasing and getting loads of tries. All you now need to do is actively demotivate the gems like McCaw, Carter, Mils, and others and the easy way to do that is to play them late of the bench. In physiology it is a cardinal fact that TOP PLAYERS and horses even can only peak so many times in a season so it makes sense to se to themen tal under-peaking of the gems so that they shine brighter for the big games next season. Physical and mental rest is profoundly needed and needs to be respected.

• 331.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Well done All Blacks supporters,good clean game and close.Boks still kick giving away silly possession.

Well done and congrats on winning the Tri Nations !

• 332.Kobus Kitty: Reply to this comment

Someone should tell this little, arrogant shitfaced coach that if he wants to put reserves on, he better have a good bench. Just look at that bench. Chiliboy, for example is taking up a spot.

You can’t bring on the **** players. Apparently this one isn’t capable of learning, the exact same thing happened in the Lions tour game. Oh, we have a thick one on our hands.

CJ is a sloth, he is a piss weak, fat pig and it’s disgusting that he was even on the bench ahead of the Beast. Our scrum went to **** as soon as he oozed onto the field. Then you replace FH who was terrorizing the All Blacks all night with Prehistoric Man. It was as if he wanted to lose the game.

How dare you replace Juan Smith with Louw, when Smith is playing that well. Disgusting.

Jean de Villiers has been playing too much bit-ch rugby up North, I want him dropped for a Juan de Jongh and Jaque Fourie combo.

That MCcock try was bullshit.

I hope PdV can look John Smit in the eyes. Fire the arrogant disease.

Any who, hopefully this knocks the NZers off their high horse, you were dominated for 75 minutes by a team with no reserves and a new halves/center combination.

• 333.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith was probably my man of the match.

Subbed because of lack of match fitness? I think he could have continued.

Not sure the Bok try wasn’t scored by an AB.

• 334.ET: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-330:

clearly should be irrespective

• 335.danuk: Reply to this comment

I’m not sure the team will be able to it up for next weekend though … ha ha, I’m deflated at least …

I recon time to give some guys a “rest”, including Morne, Pierre, Bryan, Barnie and possibly Victor.

Let Schalk captain, he did it pretty well for the Stormers. Also I’d play JDJ and Jacque Fourie

• 336.David: Reply to this comment

Deserved win for a team that played the full 80 minutes. If Habana is being criticised for coming off his line when McCaw scored, he didn’t. He covered his man and McCaw was unmarked outside him.

• 337.Gooch: Reply to this comment

Well done South African bloggers. Your graciousness in defeat is more than I was expecting. Yip there was a missed forward pass, but the ref also missed Bok players ahead of the kickoff most of the kicks and other issues on both sides. But in general, the ref did well and nobody can claim conspiracy theories.

As far as McCaw’s try, there was one angle from behind that showed his foot had not touched the ground, the other angles were inconclusive, so a fair win.

• 338.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-332: Shame it is an 80 minute game huh!!! It is called pacing yourself and if you were an AB supporter you would be very used to watching the AB’s get ‘out passioned’ for the first part of many games and then come home with the wind in their sails at the end.

• 339.danuk: Reply to this comment

@Auntie Mavis(Auntie Mavis)-333: I guess if schalla took it in and still kept hold of it then its his try …

• 340.wpforever: Reply to this comment

Juan Smith what a great player,Burger was immense,Hougaard played his heart out.Aplon was fearless !

Pieter De Villiers has no clue of tactical substitutions.

• 341.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-329: I congratulated the ABs in post 293. What more do you want Kiwicnut…

Au Revoir

HG shall give Keo a break for a while.

Sick and tired of Bok negativity…

Hippiekayay mofos!

• 342.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-332:
    Kobus,NZ were not dominated for 75mins. We had all the stats in our favour i believe. Itw as the Boks that was doing the defending and doing it will,as said SA did about double the tackles NZ did.
    I think you have run out of things to say so threw in the high horse quote,we all know theres no high horse

• 343.WhatIf: Reply to this comment

Tough, tough Test match.

Bokke lost momentum as 2nd half progressed and played too many high kicks – giving ball away to AB backs.

Ref made two critical errors which cost the last two tries. Clear forward pass – and he was just 5 m from the action – led to 2nd last try. How does he not see this yet can call a marginal fws pass by Springboks a few minutes earlier (Hougard to vdM? Ruck at 79:23 was won by ABs with a clear hand in by AB – Owen lifts his arm then hesitates and plays on, again just 5m away – and ABs capitalise with an excellent finish.

It is hard to chew on this as it seems to happen week in and week out.

One thing you cannot take away is that the ABs are a very dangerous side and never out of any game. They have amazing toughness and must seem unbeatable to opponents.

Bokke take a lot from this game but not enough to give them confidence for 2011 if they are to face the ABs in RWC. Still, 2011 is another year altogether so lets see how players and the game develops.

• 344.danuk: Reply to this comment

@Gooch(Gooch)-337: yeah, we can’t complain I guess, ultimately it came down ( I think) to Brian coming of the line … I thunk fitness played a big role, which is why I wonder how the same players looked much fitter from our side on the S14 …

• 345.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@ET(ET)-330: Treacherous stormersader. Enjoy your AB lovein

• 346.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

Outthere

• 347.Nanashi: Reply to this comment

The kicking(situational plus execution) was poor. Habana always cuts in. Those were the major negatives from the Springboks.

You poephols are all lauding the Boks defence. Well let me tell you, kicking the ball to the opposition team and tackling well will help you sweet blue F-all if you can’t win the ball and counter-attack.

IMO, we had an awesome backline for running rugby. I believe Steyn was the culprit for not sending it in crucial moments.

• 348.Transformation: Reply to this comment

congratulations to the all blacks, marvelous contest!

• 349.chch: Reply to this comment

Congrats to Smit on the 100 games

Congrats to the ABs for a very convincing tri-nations and early securing of the Tri-Nations Trophy

Congrats to the Boks for a much improved performance and getting on the Tri-Nations points table

• 350.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-336: The Ab’s made a few breaks up Habana’s wing and he does have a habit of coming in looking for intercepts or spot tackles. I think the boks would be better served with him taking a more conservative approach to defense as he is potentially costing more tries than he is making. When was his last intercept try?

• 351.danuk: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-350: Agreed, he needs, like a few other players, to do the basics first …

2007 is in the past

• 352.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-341:
    I didnt really want anything from you at all,and the funny thing is,yoou sick of thre negativity,you really dont read your own posts do you.Your anger is getting the better of you,no one likes sore losers so yeah give Keo a break,probably better on your health as well.

• 353.ET: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-341:

This is what happens when you direspect people with your inane garbage.
    Now you need to lick the copious wounds you have really self-inflicted. That is not what I would call wise.

• 354.chch: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-342:

The stats were in our favor. In fact I thought that we took several strange unnecessary kicking options when we just needed to do what we were doing.

A great game by so many players but I thought that Smith in particular was incredibly consistent on defense and dangerous in attack.

• 355.Slumtown: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-350: Agreed and also sick and tired of the constant search for opportunist tries. Why cant we create our own with good backline movement? Very uncreative and almost cowardly. Back yourself and umm would help if we kept posession.

• 356.aliboy: Reply to this comment

Isn’t Dagg a coaches delight to have on the bench. Not just the try, but he nearly always breaks or at least bends the line when he carries. Muliaina, Dagg, Jane is a very scary back three.

• 357.Jinx: Reply to this comment

I’m dog down blue…

If you kick the ball away you will lose.

Why was Juan Smith subbed? He was massive. Snor thinks subs are his special toys.

Stupid move to take off a man who was on fire.

• 358.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-336:
    You cannot go out there and say Habana is only suppose to look after one man. Two other Boks players were on one AB,Habana left McCaw unmarked and came in. Habana does not have one man to look after

• 359.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-354: The little chip throughs and unnecessary pop kicks were making me curse the screen. Only 1 of many resulted in anything positive.

• 360.danuk: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-356: key guys in the ABs for me where McCaw, Nonu and probably Weepu, who I think should be starting.

Back three are great, except for Joe, who I think is overrated

• 361.Jinx: Reply to this comment

I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue,I’m dog down blue…

• 362.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-354:
    Smith is one of the best,he does what is needed constantly

And yeah overall,all players can hold their heads up high cos it was a great game

• 363.chch: Reply to this comment

@Kobus Kitty(Kobus Kitty)-332:

High horse?
    I don’t understand, the ABs are the team in decline why the Boks are the powerhouse of 2010 rugby. Are you new here or something?

• 364.XV: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-323: yeah mate I must have! When did we ever threaten on attack? yes defensively we were ok……but i think we were out coached. How many turnovers did we concede?

• 365.danuk: Reply to this comment

@Jinx(Jinx)-357: Probably bad tactical subs again … right now our subs make no difference, however imagine in 12 months when you have FDP, Brussouw and Bismark back

• 366.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-360:
    Your post is spot on.

• 367.Jinx: Reply to this comment

I’m gonna eat two falaffels for supper…I’m dog down blue…

Well done NZ.

adios…

• 368.Gooch: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-354: You are right about the strange kicks. Most of the time they simply gave away posession. There is still a lot for the AB’s to work on, but we have to be happy muscling up the way they did in the most inhospitable place on earth to play test rugby. If the Boks can’t win there then they’ve got far more problems than we have.

• 369.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-360: It must be touch and go whether Dagg gets Joes spot. Joe is still quality, but not the same quality he has been in the past. another huge game from McCaw. Is there a fitter rugby player on the planet? He was absolutely everywhere both on defense and attack.
    I thought the Bok back 3 and locks were much more mobile today. To me that was the best I have seen Matfield play for a while now, and the endless driving tackles from the loosies were great to watch even as an AB supporter.

• 370.David: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-358:
    I don’t agree. Habs doesn’t know who the covering loosies are targetting. He can only commit to his man and allow the cover defense to nail the extra man. If he’d gone for McCaw first and allowed Jane through, he’d still be accused of going for the interception. The main point is, who was tracking McCaw? Far too many times Habana has been presented with defending against an overlap. My feeling is that the eighth man should be corner flagging.

• 371.chch: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-359:

Agree, attacking really well one minute and then seeming out of ideas the next. Luckily it wasn’t too frequent.

The most irritating thing for me was that sometimes we pull off great moves and secure another phase only to have no halfback or a slow arrival of one. But damn overall we looked good.

• 372.Jinx: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-362:

It was a great game but SA still have a naive look about their business. NZ are hard-nosed, street smart warriors who take no prisoners. 12 points in the last 3 mins. They can really enjoy this victory and know that if the game went on for another 10 mins they would have scored another 2 more tries.

• 373.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

@chubb(chubb)-9: You were saying?

• 374.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@XV(XV)-364:
    Understand.
    You guys did have a few chances but i know what you mean.
    I think you have been out coached all this year as well and not being fit enough,but that as well comes under coaching

• 375.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-371: I have been enjoying Weepus play this year, but when he reverted to the ‘wait 5 minutes well we organise’ clearances near the end I was getting worried.

• 376.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@David(David)-370:
    Habana didnt need to come in,its all their to see.
    Thing is if Hababna was covering Jane,what was he doing in no mans land? He was in between Jane and McCaw and made the wrong choice. Jane was covered by 2 others.

• 377.chch: Reply to this comment

So did PdV go on about how hard it is away from home again?

Is there a Youtube post match interview?
    Another conspiracy?
    Aliens ate his game plan?

• 378.dermie: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-375: thats his flaw,thats why i prefer cowan,hard as nails.

• 379.danuk: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-369: Probably, I think Joe is chosen more for his size and speed than heart, which Dagg has. In the longer term I recon it might be more Dagg and Jane providing the magic …

Personaly I don’t think the bok back three has balance yet, however I can definitely see the difference Juan Smith makes. I think Pierre Spies’s basics are bad. Having said that and repeating myself I cannot wait until we choose a team with two strong scrumhalves (FDP and seemingly Francois), a good centre pair (Jacque Fourie and JDJ) and good wings (not Brian), a gre at hooker like Bismark and good loose ball players (Brussouw and someone else) …

I think that would be a different proposition for the ABs

Lastly I take my hat off to Gio Aplon, who has the heart of a lion, hopefully he continues to play part of the boks future

• 380.chch: Reply to this comment

Smith and Nonu are major line breakers. Jane, Dagg and Mils are tricky tricksters. Dan is still our best 10. I am happy with either Weepu or Cowan. In fact keeping Weepu and Cowan competing for preferred number 9 is working out well.

Players like Ranger are very ordinary compared to those above and I don’t miss him from the team at all.

• 381.danuk: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-377: No conspiracy, the game was ref’d fair, a few mistakes but a good contest. As a Bok supporter I thought they lsot it in the last 15 minutes due to fitness …

So only conspiracy is a lack of fitness …

What worries me is that the same players in th S14 look very fit from our side …

• 382.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-381:
    True,the Bok players looked fit in the super 14 but this AB side dosnt play like any super 14 teams

• 383.danuk: Reply to this comment

@Hurricane(Hurricane)-382: old age, lol …

• 384.Petri: Reply to this comment

Good evening, sadly at the end the best team won.

• 385.chch: Reply to this comment

Has any team ever won every game in a three round Tri-Nations?

• 386.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-381: Probably a little to do with the amount of tackling they had to do also. If they kicked less and held possession a little more they might have more gas in the tank at the end.

• 387.Petri: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-385: No, don’t think so. Has any team ever lost all games?

• 388.Hurricane: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-383:

• 389.Petri: Reply to this comment

Thanks John Smit for your 100 games for the Springboks. Now please do the right thing and retire.

• 390.danuk: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-386: Mmmm, I thought they ran less and kicked more later in the game, definitely thought the ABs got around the field better

• 391.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-380: It seemed to me that Smith had a very ‘busy’ game tonight without really standing out. Got the impression he played very well, but can’t really remember why?

• 392.chch: Reply to this comment

@Petri(Petri)-387:
    I don’t think so. Oh dear

• 393.kaksioek: Reply to this comment

@chch(chch)-385: The Wallabies won the game in Brisbane, so there :-)

• 394.Petri: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-391: For me Smith has been the least impressive of the AB backline in this year’s TN. Maybe better game tonite but nothing special.

• 395.chch: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-391:

The only back not to have made a mistake?
    Can’t seem to use the word cockup

• 396.danuk: Reply to this comment

@aliboy(aliboy)-391: neither did kevin, so guess around the fringes it was more or less even … the wide open spaces made the difference …

Question: How many time did the boks spread it wide? Mmmm, I believe much less than the ABs

• 397.chch: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-393:

Obviously I am not including the ones that teams don’t play in.

but if we are then last weekend was the best weekend of the Tri-Nations for the Boks :)

• 398.Petri: Reply to this comment

@danuk(danuk)-396: Zero?

• 399.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

A better performance by the ref and with only some of the players back in the fold the Boks were right in there.

I expected exactly this outcome.

Again, the vital forward pass missed – right in fornt of the ref.

How do they get it right these high pitch voice NH refs.

In terms on building, Boks clearly showing the upward curve so many of us have been expecting.

Oh, another thing, that try that the tMO ruled in ABs favour; had the roles been reversed the AB TMO would not have awarded the try to the Boks.

We are an honest nation, that’s why we are world beaters.

• 400.aliboy: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-399: Several threads running in parallel here with good natured discussion about the game. No Kiwi’s gloating, no Bok supporters moaning, and then you just couldn’t help yourself could you???? Disappointing!!

• 401.Hondo: Reply to this comment

The 2nd half was sureal, a sorry thing to watch, I was at Ellis Park in July 1992 when they lost last time to the ABs at Joburg, when J. Small dropped a winning try on the line.
    I look up at the current back line, what do I see?

• 402.zub: Reply to this comment

@Petri(Petri)-387: Both New Zealand and Australia have lost all their Tri Nations games, but, strangely, not South Africa (yet).

• 403.couch-bok: Reply to this comment

391 ALIBOY. That is why Juan Smith is such a solid player, he does not shine, but hit the advantage line, is a team player, and defend everytime.

• 404.nama1: Reply to this comment

Well done ALL BLACKS. A very good win in a tight match untill the last three minutes.

Congratulations to them and their supporters especially Tackler.

On SA’s side:

People doubting JdJ vs Nonu: This is your time to speak out. How good was he. Clearly a contender for MOM imo.

Aplon was very good at 15. HG called it all along. Pity SA haven’t learn how to counter attack from deep yet.

Hougaard. I thought he had a very average 1st half apart from some good defensive work around the fringes.(How many times did somebody else had to pass the ball from a ruck because he was nowhere in sight?). In the 2nd half he started to play actually really well. Still feels that the Blue Bulls/Bulls team is where he should learn his craft as a SH and not the Boks. All in all, I’ll give him a C+ or even a B, for this performance.

John Smit: Well done once again on 100 test matches for your country. Your body language after the match said it all. Do the honourable thing now.

Hope us SA’cans will not do the NZ-thing and moan about the forward pass prior to Richie’s try like the AB’s supporters did after Barnes’s mistake in 2007. The ref actually had a good game imo.

Again, well done to the AB’s and their supporters. They deserve THEIR 3Nations Cup.

• 405.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

3N is back where it rightfully belongs and it’s going to stay that way in 2011 again.

The Boks still think that you can sit on a cushion of a lead and defend your total instead of staying in try-seeking mode for the full 80+ minutes. They still play a 60 minute drama, not an 80 minute one — and the ABs know the script off by heart.

Three-zip. Revenge served up. And the big gap on the historical record grows ever wider.

So, when will the Boks get a real coach?

• 406.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

So Boy Georges’ pattern is now clear

It’s a week buildup of complete & utter garbage, verminesque slander from an anonymous coward

Only to disappear within minutes when his team loses despite self-serving lectures to all’n'sundry about “supporting his team”.

He is the Karma Chameleon.

• 407.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

We can make a straight swop.

Once Kiwis get their lighting right will we explore avenues to get another coach.

I hope Paddy stays on in his role next year; he will be crucial to the ABs success

You will cry next year

• 408.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Hey Sheriff

I seem to remember the TMO deciding in Boks favour in 2nd Lions Test. What was most strange was the lack of a camera angle – the ONLY defining angle – from the crowd side, that would have conclusively told us whether the leg was in touch. How very odd.

• 409.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-408:

Read my earlier comments.

Cheater scored that try in my book; he might be a cheater but he has great vision.

• 410.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Kiwis have started a new trend.

They play every test with a squad of 23 players.

• 411.nama1: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-405:
    We have JS, Matfield and FdP.

How ‘real” do you want us to get. :lol:

• 412.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Kiwis unable to win a test match without the assistance of the ref

Thats for sure

They know it, I know it.

• 413.Sheriff: Reply to this comment

Are the peaking too early?

Will they choke?

Why do they get a yellow card in every 43 penalties whereas SA every 6 and Aussies every 7?

Will Ted fail again at RWC?

Will Dan and Cheater be injury free?

Will the lighting actually be fixed in time?

Will the iwi actually get the money as promised by the Govt?

Who will Kiwis support if Aussies and Boks pay in RWC2011 final?

************ Just some of the questions to reflect on**********

• 414.cab: Reply to this comment

Bold had them in first half but it’s an 80 min game, abs started to take over up front in 2nd half then kick n chase **** started to take over. Juan de Jong, juan smith, flip, and hougaard were outstanding.

1. Beast 2. Bismarck 3. Bj 4. Bakkies 5. Flip 6. Brussow 7. Juan 8. Scalk 9. Hougaardt 10. Morne 11. Habana 12. JdJ 13. Fourie 14. JP 15. Frans

16. Guthro 17. Smit 18. CJ 19. Matfield 20. Spies 21. FDP 22. Aplon

that side will win in 2011, no doubts in my mind

• 415.nama1: Reply to this comment

@cab(cab)-414:
    Flip and Bakkies together?

Morne at FH?

BJ and CJ? What have they bring to the table this year? Really. Apart from conceding penalties?

• 416.poppa69: Reply to this comment

fantastic game of rugby…

was pleased with the way the ABs held on and the intensity the Bokke showed was awesome… where has that been for the entire 3Ns?

easily see why J.Smit is my fav SA player, was immense..

commiserations to Bok supporters, was a horrible way to lose right at the death…

Sheriff, your whinging is destroying the many gracious posts coming from the majority of your countrymen… shame

• 417.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-416: should be Juan Smith… eish..

• 418.Nils: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-413: Sheriff, ok for one such sore post, maybe for a few but this is coming like “The Bold and the Beautiful” really with no end in sight in space of few hours – every topic I see there’s Sheriff with neverending whingeing.

Sad really.

• 419.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

I’d happily read posts from Sheriff for the next week.

No.

Year.

They just make me feel warm and content, deep inside. There’s nothing quite like listening to a Sore Loser to make 1 feel good about yourself.

Keep it up !

3 – 0

My guess us we’ll be hearing alot of references to the RWC from here on in. That’s the usual pattern after a Bok loss. Other than the usual “cheating refs/Capt/opposition” and declarations of war, of course.

• 420.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-413: Poor, bitter, cut-up soul. Hangs his happiness on a Bok victory and that alone. You got a lot more misery to come…

• 421.captain fantail: Reply to this comment

Congratulations and commiserations. How it played out for me who never actually saw the game. I dragged my sorry *** out of bed at about 1.30am to watch the game on live streaming,( dont have fox on purpose as i would never leave the couch) which I couldnt load to due Murphy’s law. So I flicked to Keo for live scoring and by this time it was about 72 minutes into the game and the Boks were leading about 19 -14. Then 22-17 at 77minutes and the f’n computer crashed. I went to bed in a bitter sweet mood, sad that the AB’s looked as if they were toasted and I took some consolation from the fact that we were at altitude, playing in Soweto with a dozen or so supporters and that the AB’s would still probably win the 3N’s. I know that they would have played their guts out and not been left wondering about their effort. For the Boks I felt some happiness, to turn a corner and give themselves some happiness and at the end of the day knowing that this just adds to the rivalry and the excitement when we play.
    I saw most players were happy with the reffing in the blogs and that there would be celebrations in the Bok camp. As I closed my eyes and the last thought was ” there was still time for us to work some magic”. I woke up this morning and couldnt believe what I saw. So sorry for the Boks, but so damn proud to be a kiwi.

• 422.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@captain fantail(captain fantail)-421: So balanced. U R an oarsome poster.

• 423.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Muttonbird

rest assured, Capt Fanny has had his moments. Like we all have.

Let’s see how he responds once all the local bitterness takes a firm grip.

• 424.Brentie1: Reply to this comment

Hard lesson for Smitie boys.To have your cover defense outstripped by two forwards is criminal.It was clear from the start that both Burger and Spies do not have the pace to
    contribute anything on cover defense.
    Good old fashioned play would have seen no 8 hunting down
    wingers and tidy up behind some very ordinary back line play.
    Once the All Blacks sucked in defenders and start spreading
    the ball the Bok defensive line went pear shaped with Habana
    the biggest culprit. Does not say much for Boks defensive systems.
    Hougaard did well but some sloppy line out ball and poor
    tactical kicking by Steyn contributed to the Boks down fall
    who were outplayed by faster reacting All Blacks.

• 425.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-413: Will the Boks lose to Wales and Fiji in the pool stages and therefore be on the plane home when the knock-out stages commence?

• 426.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

A@TheTackler(TheTackler)-425: And those hard-tackling Samoans are also in the Boks pool…

• 427.grant10: Reply to this comment

@TheTackler(TheTackler)-425: quite possibly we will not get through the pools….

really depends if we want to back slap the veterans for another year or not…..

• 428.Verbatim: Reply to this comment

@Sheriff(Sheriff)-413:

Ha ha, Sheriff of Conspiracy County… we know we’ve got you good, when every excuse an 11yr old boy could possibly think of for losing is thrown in as a reason why you lost, when the simple fact is… you simply weren’t good enough. Own that fact and move on.

Don’t despair, the mighty Boks will be back, as sure as the sun will rise tomorrow.

Could you really expect to dominate NZ this year as you did in ’09? You must know that either of our proud rugby nations will bounce back from defeat with a vengeance, and that’s simply what the AB’s have done.

Unfortunately, it may be 12 months too early and the timing for the ultimate prize may favor you!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.