We need each other, says All Blacks legend

Sean Fitzpatrick says the rugby world would be incomplete without the All Blacks and Springboks’ rivalry.

Fitzpatrick, a 1987 World Cup winner, writes in his weekly NZ Heraldn Column, that captaining the All Blacks to a first ever series win against the Boks in South Africa in 1996 remains his greatest memory as an All Black.

Fitzpatrick, responding to suggestions that South Africa may want out of Sanzar, urged officials to make the right decision for the right reason.

‘Don’t do it,’ he wrote.

‘The All Blacks and the Springboks need each other, perhaps more than either would like to admit. In my view, it’s still the best rivalry in world rugby. I have magical memories from my youth of sitting in front of the TV with my family in the dead of night, tingling with excitement at the prospect of watching the All Blacks take on the auld enemy.’

He added that playing the Boks had always been the ultimate challenge for any All Black and that remained the case.

‘It’s probably one of the most intimidating challenges in world rugby. To beat the South Africans, you have to do it off the pitch, as well as on it.

‘From the moment you step into their country, they’re on your back. Groups of kids, solitary old men, middle-aged women having lunch, gangs of beer-laden Bokkie farmers – wherever you are, everyone you meet has a dislike for you and wants to share it with you.

‘I have so many memories from my playing days of people coming up to me and saying, “Fitzpatrick, I want to take you outside and scrum you into the ground”, or “Fitzpatrick you’re going to eat some humble pie come Saturday”. It was almost as if it was personal.

‘You ask any All Black who toured South Africa in 1996 and I’m pretty sure they would cite it as their greatest memory as an All Black. Sure, winning the series helped, but there was so much more than that.

‘The intensity on and off the field was both draining and exhilarating. The single-minded focus and burning desire of the entire group to be the first team to win on South African soil was a joy to be a part of.

‘When we walked off Loftus Versfeld having won the series, the satisfaction that we’d beaten our greatest rivals in their own back yard was immense. For the dirt-trackers to perform the haka for us as we walked off the field was fantastic.

‘For the late great Don Clarke to come up to me in the tunnel and hug me and say (crying) “thank you for achieving what so many generations of All Blacks have been trying to do for years” was emotional dynamite.

‘I count those minutes as among the most rewarding in my entire international career.’

Fitzpatrick wrote he did not know what the answer was to the Sanzar arrangement but felt the South African travel schedule was unfair and ideally both countries benefitted most through tours, as that is what the people really wanted – the All Blacks in South Africa for six weeks and the Boks in New Zealand for six weeks.

‘A tour to South Africa? That is the best of the best. They don’t like us, we don’t like them, so let the man blow the whistle and let’s get down to business. In the fast moving tides of international rugby, we need to be careful that we don’t end up high and dry, stranded on the sanitised sandbanks of quick-fire, one-off internationals; while we hanker back to the good, old days of All Black-South Africa tours and touring – where folklore is created and legends are born.’

180 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

• 151.fredman: Reply to this comment

@ KiaKahaNZ(KiaKahaNZ)-133 :

No mate no blacks played rugby on national level. That exactly is my point. Very few are/were interested in playing but if they were allowed to play from the beginning the playing field would’ve been level again and i dont think the outcome would’ve been any different. The real problem since ’96 is the political pressure being put on players and coaches in order for the ANC to achieve their goals. They will go to any length to force their will. If the ABs had that kind of pressure on them the Boks would’ve led by 12 games or more today.
    Have you seen what the recent junior SAn junior teams look like and what the junior ABs did to them? That is the foundation of SAn rugby. That is a product of the reigning ANC government. That is the future of SAn rugby mate. It started spiralling in 96 because of that and i cant see it loosing momentum.

I dont want to get into the ref debat. That is a twin edged sword and teams have for ever in most sports lived or died by it. It dont carry any weight for me.

• 152.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-150: lol its all banter mate, each gets a turn :D

the MCaw try I would not have been upset if it was ruled the other way, so think we were extremely lucky to get that call…

but that game reminded me of why I love Bok/AB clashes so much… nothing else compares rugby wise

• 153.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-152:

yeah… that’s why i wasn’t upset with Dagg’s try… it put the result beyond doubt and stopped what would have been a lot of moaning…

it was a tough old hard game though…

• 154.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@ufo(ufo)-153: it was an exciting game all the way through too… some great runs made by both sides, boks were very tough in the tackle…

gotta head to work

• 155.ufo: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-154:

gotta work too…

have a good one…!!

• 156.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Cheers UFO

you da man

• 157.Brads: Reply to this comment

@husky(husky)-143:
    The lineout was certainly ruled in favour of SA, but there was no way Jane put his foot out prior to releasing the ball and it being taken over the line by SB.

Another example of disgraceful and inept officiating by the Ref and his assistant. At least they were not showing bias I suppose.

Had the Ref’s been half competent and actually saw what was perfectly clear, a penalty should have been awarded for deliberately throwing the ball away to prevent a quick throw by NZ right on the goal line.

However, in consoltation, NZ did earn a penalty almost immediatley from the ensuing lineout because of another “professional foul”.

• 158.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Brads

a YC for Gouger, no less. The ABs moved the ball 70m, nearly scored, and Gouger took the ball out 0.5m from the tryline. He threw it away, intently. Worse than Mitchells YC for obstruction.

Let the locals whinge about missed incidents, 1-eyed nonsense.

• 159.Brads: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-158:
    I am not a fan of yellow cards, and certinaly not in this instance. A penalty for sure.

But first up, the Ref has to rule that way.

At this level, you would think the ref and his assistants would not miss as much as they do. Good grief, I actually thought upping the involvement of the touch judge to assistant refs would improve things, instead it seems they are missing more than they ever did.

• 160.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Black Panther(Black Panther)-158: BP, funny about ole boy george (gollum perhaps?) or to use his very own LOTR analogy

© Legend of the Trophy Returns (LOTR’s ® )

The title refers to the story’s main antagonist, the Dark Lord Sour-one (heavens game), who had in an earlier age created the One thing (conspiracy) to rule the other nations of Power as the ultimate weapon in his campaign to conquer and rule all of Rugby-earth. From quiet beginnings in the Shire, a tokoloshe land not unlike the English countryside, the story ranges across Rugby-earth, following the course of the War of the Rugby through the eyes of its characters, notably the hobbits Frodo cant Nabhims “McCaw” , Danwise “not metronomic” Gamgee, Meriadoc Brandybuck (Merry) and peregrin Took (Pippin), but also the tokoloshes’ chief allies: Blowthehorn, an Irish referee ranger, P.Dimli, a tokoloshe plant (a clown dressed as a dwarf), Legoless, an “exhausted at altitude” elf magic, and without fail, Paddy “Gandalf” O’brien, a wizard.

they have stolen two of the preciousess alreadyss

mean little hobbitsesss

• 161.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

@kaksioek(kaksioek)-6:

Mccaw was not offside and he was entitled to the ball…until a ruck was formed or the scrum half came to deliver the ball.

In that episode there were two simultaneous rucks in the space of seconds…he went for the ball on the second ruck….yet same breakdown.
    The Bok player in this instance created a second ruck which entitled Richie to go for the ball and also changed the offside marker.

It was legit…check when the breakdown happens…the rucking and then a bok player does a pick and drive in that same breakdown…Richie goes for the ball in the pick and drive but because the bokke falls over…richie did not tackle him…he became entitled to the ball in another ruck stuation.

• 162.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-160: Just for you Kiwiprat :wink:

The Battle of Soccer City.

A legend was made on Saturday. Like the Alamo in Texas this was a last stand of sort for the Bok, its only remaining 90000 supporters and 22 warriors.
    General Houston De Villiers and his able Captain Smit led their men in a ferocious last stand against the All Black Mexican General Santa Anna Henry and his fiery Lieutenant “Suarez” McCaw.

The odds were overwhelming – this was the whole world of rugby and a sizeable proportion of Saffas themselves against their own defenders of the Saffa Bok rugby faith. The entire world and these Saffas wanted to see the Bok driven into the ground and destroyed. After this match they may have their collective wishes fulfilled – the Bok may never be seen again on the hearts or chest of rugby warriors and will surely be consigned to a mere sleeve on jersey for the next global battle – the World Cup.

Nevertheless the Battle of the Alamo in Soccer City began in earnest. The tip of the spear for the rest of the World was led on the field by Santa Anna Henry’s Lieutenant “Suarez” McCaw. Renowned for being dirty fighters, but devious enough to escape censure, this speartip was arrogantly certain that the Boks were there to be taken – to lie down and die quietly without a fight – to fade away gently and not burn out with fire. But they were wrong – for the first time the referees in battle were scrupulously fair and The Bok defenders – even with overwhelming odds and the whole World of Rugby against them – at last had a somewhat fair and level battle field.
    The heroic Alamo Boks set out to defy everyone and instead of siegeguns being aimed at these defenders of the Bok faith – the siegeguns were turned on the attackers. The prime prize fighter guns were Davey Crockett Burger and Jim Bowie Juan Smith.

Like a constant knife through All Black butter Bowie Smith slashed and cut his way through the enemy’s waves. Crockett Burger meanwhile did justice to his legend as Bearfighter and “King of the Wild Frontier” – for his battle was as wild as it gets, and indeed he drew many first bloods including the first try.

The ferociousness of the Boks in their Alamo was a sight to behold with said ferociousness of Crockett Burger and Bowie Smith accompanied by Cavalry riders JPP, De Jong and Aplon slashing and burning the Mexican All Black attackers. For many moments it seemed that the History of the Alamo would be defied, but slowly the defenders of the Bok faith succumbed to attrition and errors of reinforcement in Battle. Bowie Juan Smith – the legendary knifefighter, the consigner to bullsh.yte of nonsensical calls for a fetcher type fighter – was replaced in battle by a comparatively ineffectual fetcher Flo-the-flower. Lieutenant DuP was replaced by the horrendous CJ and the bulwark scrums then hit turbo-reverse. Crockett Burger fought on but alone, for Cavalry riders Aplon, JPP, De Jong were outnumbered and slowly overwhelmed. He never gave up and received a rough tap in the face from a seemingly dishonourable Suarez McCaw…

But History was defied, and although this Alamo fell, these Mexican All Blacks were honourable in victory. They did not arrogantly call for the execution of the remaining Bok-Texan heroes left standing (like many Bok supporters) – Crockett Burger and Bowie Smith were saluted in their loss and an honourable Suarez McCaw shook their hands after the dying embers of battle had subsided – they live to fight again after this Alamo, secure in the knowledge that they along with their antagonist Suarez were the best warriors on display in this legendary Battle.

What of the rest of the attackers? – Santa Anna Ted and his crew of All Blacks truly showed how to win honourably – this was for once a fair victory not blighted by one sided agents in the referee ranks – this battle was reffed scrupulously in a fair way.

Their warriors and supporters have mostly shown respect as victors and for these conquerors of this Alamo this only deserves a reciprocal no holds barred salute (Not for those continually, unreasonably critical so-called Bok supporters). Win or Lose, may many future battles replicate Saturday past.
    Epilogue: This “war correspondent” hates undeserved and unfair losses – this last loss was undeserved due to the courage and ferocity on display by the Bok defenders of the faith and but for a few tactical and replacement errors of the Bok General Houston Piet this battle may have been won – however this loss was fair and victors were truly deserved, especially for their truly great onfield Captain – Suarez McCaw. The fair truly outweighs the undeserved loss to make this battle truly memorable.

• 163.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-162: Obviously Hougaard deserves a mention – horrendously left out but not forgotten…

• 164.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

Sing us another one, Boy George !

• 165.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-162: thats probably one of your better posts..

but..

theres always a but,

they say a chameleon :wink: that is blind will STILL change colour when the environment around it changes..

I tend to believe them.. :lol:

• 166.Muttonbird: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-162:
    “…their truly great onfield Captain – McCaw.”

WOW! Are you ok?

• 167.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-165: This chameleon’s colour in rugby is forever Green and Gold at national level but with a switch to Black and White for S14 and Currie Cup.

This chameleon believes that the 3N and S15 is forever flawed and those “colours” will never change. Far better a reciprocal Biannual tour against the ABs interspersed with the Wallabies.

This chameleon will not back down from the perception that the Boks are not given a fair deal by Oirish refs in particular…

Other than that, the loss this WE, though hard to take, was fair and truly deserved for a strangely chokeless ABs, while at the same time was undeserved for some Bok heroes.

Nevertheles hostilities will always resume before an AB/Bok match because the Boks are second to none.

However this year may be the last of the Boks (no room on the chest for the emblem next year). Won’t that be happyness -is for those whose hate for anyone in Green and Gold grows evermore frenzied…

But can only respect the way of winning on Sat. You can be proud of your Captain – son of a gun Suarez McCaw – truly a warrior.

• 168.Koobus: Reply to this comment

I seriously believe that if we harnessed all the strengths of the different types of rugby played by the different types of racial groups in South Africa, we could be better than the All Blacks year after year. Our rugby as is, is mundane and predictable, it is not entertaining even when we were winning. We need to get rid of all our prejudices!, New Zealand was only able to play that brand of rugby once the Maoris started playing alongside their white country men, it is then that they incorporated their diffrent styles to formulate their current style of rugby which is renowned world wide. IN FOOTBALL IT IS THE SAME, BRAZIL, A CLASSIC EXAMPLE. WHETEHR WE WANT TO ADMIT IT OR NOT BLACK FOLK HAVE MORE CREATIVITY AND AGILITY, SO WHY DO WE NOT WANT THIS SUCCESS FOR OUR COUNTRY. THE BLACK PEOPLE OF THE EASTERN CAPE PROVINCE HAVE BEEN PLAYING RUGBY FOR OVER A 100 YEARS, WHY DO WE INSIST ON HAVING THIS GLASS CEILING FOR ALL ASPIRING TALENTED BLACK PLAYERS WHO EXCELL. WHY ARE THEY ALWAYS RELEGATED TO BEING ON THE WING. BLACK PEOPLE COULD BE DEVELOPED MORE SO TO BE ANY OF THE LOOSE TRIO, SCRUMHALF, FLYHALF, INFACT MOST OF THE BACKLINE POSITIONS. COME ON PEOPLE, LET US PUT MORE RESOURCES IN ASSISTING DEVELOP THESE YOUNG PLAYERS. SOME HOW THERE IS AN OBSESSION IN SOUTH AFRICA ABOUT SIZE BUT WE ALL KNOW THAT IS CODE FOR RACE. RUGBY IS A GAME THAT WAS CREATED BY THE ENGLISH, TO BE ENJOYED BY ALL.

• 169.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Muttonbird(Muttonbird)-166: HG gave it his best shot at Kiwi tyranny on the rugby field and adminsitration off field – but is truly a beaten Bok supporter after this WE.

No concession for the first 2 tests and the thorough unfairness of their circumstance – but this Saturday – truly no confounding factors – Leaving only bitter honour in losing and regretful admiration for honour in victory…

Now where are the razorblades…

• 170.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-167: so the colour does change? lmao

agree though, I dont think Smit deserved to lose in his 100th test the way he did…

sports cruel as we all know..

its good to see your passion for your team, even though it can sometimes be a little misguided :evil:

Always been proud of our captain, will be extremely hard when he retires, and I for one am priviledged to see him play… much like Juan Smith, who I have always rated and admired…

I can imagine the outrage at moving the emblem, I would be equally upset if they tried to remove the silver fern from the chest..

• 171.Panzer Chief: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-167:

Plenty of “warriors” on Saturday HG.

Some players made mistakes. But that’s life.

In an Interview after the game, Brad Thorn said it was the greatest experience of his Rugby life.

Brad…………Kangaroo, Cane Toad, Bronco, Cantabrian, Crusader and All Black.
    Shows what a match it was.

Ranks with the very best ever………..in my humble opinion.

A courier came to a battle once bloody and loud
    And found only skin and bones where he once left a crowd
    Fear not little darling of dying
    If this world be sovereign and free
    For we’ll fight to the last for as long as liberty be
    Hey Up Santa Anna, they’re killing your soldiers below
    So the rest of Texas will know
    And remember the Alamo

(Donovan)

• 172.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-170: The Black and White being for the Sharks… That is the only colour change possible…

Passion for a team is never misguided from HG especially when highlighting unfairness and deviousness, which were absent this weekend from the Kiwis…

Nevertheless enjoy this victory – it was a true one and no excuses –

no quarter given and none asked for.

• 173.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Panzer Chief(cane)-171: It was a truly memorable battle – though a hard one to swallow for the losers on the day.

But these Boks gave it all for once this year – but the ABs took the kitchen sink and threw it back.

Yeah the Alamo of Soccer City will be remembered and hopefully for the right reasons especially the Burger and Smith:

“Their land is biggest, and their land is best
    From grassy plains to the mountain crest
    They’re ahead of us all in meeting the test
    Followin’ their legend right into the West
    Schalkie, Schalkie Burger, King of the Wide Frontier
    King of the Wild Frontier.”

Till next year, HG has now blown his AB load…

• 174.poppa69: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-172: oh the sharks :oops: thought you may have been from the cape :wink:

but fair dues… at the end of the day we all want our team to win..
    to lose as they did is heartbreaking, have experienced similar so know the feeling..

• 175.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@poppa69(poppa69)-174: Madness on thinking anything other than the Sharks – like the Boks a follower through thick and thin – Sharks looking thick on winning at the moment…

• 176.Auntie Mavis: Reply to this comment

1(1) NZL NEW ZEALAND 94.29
    2(2) RSA SOUTH AFRICA 86.15
    3(3) AUS AUSTRALIA 85.11

4(4) FRA FRANCE 82.75
    5(5) IRE IRELAND 82.03
    6(6) ENG ENGLAND 81.82
    7(7) SCO SCOTLAND 79.81
    8(8) ARG ARGENTINA 79.70
    9(9) WAL WALES 78.58

South Africa wants to leave the first division and join the second?
    After a few years of playing in the first division I believe Argentina would be 2 or 3 while after spending the same time in the second div South Africa would be firmly #4.

• 177.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Auntie Mavis(Auntie Mavis)-176: missing us already?

• 178.KevinRack: Reply to this comment

By the way it was a bok throw in morons, so he could throw the ball away.

Richie shoulda got a red for playing the players face but as we know this is a circus with a kiwi at the top of the pile.

• 179.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-178:

i like the way the replayed it over and over like the bakkies head butt but unfortunately this is Ritchie “untouchable” Mccaw he can get away with pretty much anything – if it had been been the other way round the citing commissioner would have been on to it in a flash

• 180.Black Panther: Reply to this comment

@KevinRack(KevinRack)-178:

Burger took the ball out, Jane did not. Burger threw away the ball – why otherwise would he ?

Its yet another eg of your double-standards – see ‘the ones they got away with’ but not see any of the Boks. That way it perpetuates the whole victimisation myth supported by cheating accusations and refereeing conspiracies. Lets ‘see’ Woodcock get away with a (valid) YC, but ignore, for another eg, Burger gouging Pocock in Brisbane, an automatic RC (his 2nd-avoided-RC in 12months).

Moron.

As for McCaw’s ‘RC’ – Ive been wondering all week which incident this was all week until I watched replay at home. I just assumed it wasnt the face-swipe where McCaw is trying to get AB ball back from Gouger. Youre farken kiddin’, right ?!

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.