Guts is not enough
23 Aug 2010
The Boks offered resilience and desperation at Soccer City but nothing inventive or innovative, writes Keo in his weekly Business Day column.
It was like watching an 800m Olympic track final as the All Blacks pulled away for two tries and 12 points in the final three minutes of a contest that had seen them trail SA for much of the preceding 77 minutes.
Somehow you just knew it was going to happen.
The All Blacks were always tucked in too closely to the shoulder of the Springboks, and it was the Kiwis who had the leg strength to find an extra gear in the final stretch, whereas there was nothing left in the legs of the Springboks, who had raced on instinct and hope.
The South Africans, All Blacks coach Graham Henry said afterwards, lacked the conditioning to play the game at the tempo of the All Blacks. There can be no argument because Henry is correct.
For those who lament the lateness of the heartbreak, rugby is a game won in the 80th minute and not the 77th, and had Dan Carter’s radar not been off-centre for the second successive time against the Boks I fear the All Blacks would have put the Boks away 10 minutes earlier than was the case.
Carter, in the 31-17 win against the Boks in Wellington, missed five from eight. In Soweto, he missed five from 10. His opposite number Morné Steyn did not miss a kick in either Test, but SA were comfortably beaten in the end.
The romantics would have settled on a 22-all draw, the South African patriots on a 22-17 win and the Kiwis on the script that finally unfolded.
But no one would have been so crass as to have singled out centurion John Smit with the missed tackle that led to New Zealand’s final try. Smit said afterwards that it was a missed tackle that would haunt him for a very long time, coming in his 100th Test and in the last movement of the game. Sport is a cruel lady and when she stabs you in the back she doesn’t think twice about twisting the knife.
There is a great deal for Smit, coach Peter de Villiers and the Boks to ponder this morning. They could not have asked for a bigger crowd, better playing conditions, a more inspirational occasion, better goal-kicking from Steyn or a stronger platform for their set piece. The players could also not have given more in commitment on defence. But they lost, three tries to one against a team already guaranteed the Tri-Nations trophy.
The Boks will justifiably point to the forward pass in the build- up to Richie McCaw’s try, but they did not lose because of a missed forward pass. They lost because they created very little when they had the ball and they lost because they defended for two minutes shy of what is needed to beat the All Blacks.
One missed tackle? It is far greater than that. It is like a boxer saying he was in the contest for 11 rounds and only lost because of one punch.
I can’t share the enthusiasm of those who are accepting of this Bok defeat on the basis that it was better than their performances overseas.
It had to get better. Playing at home, after a three-week break and with all the elements associated with the match … come on. New Zealand would have done well to get within seven points of the Boks, given the occasion and how everything favoured the South Africans.
It should have been New Zealand out on their feet. They arrived in the country seven days ago and persisted with a ball-in-hand approach that would have sapped their energy. Yet it was the Boks, the home team, who were finished in those crucial final moments.
Physically the home team had nothing left, which is why I question the euphoria in talking up a performance that offered resilience and desperation, but nothing inventive, innovative or creative.
The only try came from a quick tap and go. Another may have come from a charged-down kick. The All Blacks scored three and could have got another three.
The Boks have now scored four tries and conceded 14 in four Tri-Nations matches. That is a damning statistic. Equally damning is the not-so-small matter that the Boks have lost six of their past seven Tests to France, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand since claiming last year’s Tri-Nations.
The Boks were not fit enough or creative enough to win in Soweto against an opponent whose qualities cannot be denied. Against a lesser opponent the desperation would have triumphed, which would only have added to the illusion that this Bok team is the future.

272 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All
23 Aug 2010, 15:57 pm
@toddke(toddke)-190: Very good 2 cents, I agree with all your points. Hopefully they give guys like Smit, Victor, Habs and Morne a break from the EOYT so your last comment doesnt come true. I think if we take a fit Brussow with guys like Hougaard and du Jongh, we could easily win all our games
23 Aug 2010, 16:00 pm
@Journo John(Journo John)-194: I like how you think. The revenge will be sweet next year with Fourie and Brussow in the side
23 Aug 2010, 16:02 pm
After the S14 you Bulls havent had anything to celebrate about..Losing at Loftus againts the Cheetahs etc, Newlands with the Bully Boks playing so kak.
23 Aug 2010, 16:08 pm
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-203:
Er the CC is hardly something to brag about with all the Boks out, but winning the toughest provincial comp in the world ‘again’ is something else.
You should set your African standards higher!
23 Aug 2010, 16:12 pm
Our Saffas problem is we get inflated heads after achieving momentory success. We had a **** 2008 after winning the WC in 2007. In 2009 we were great and now in 2010? Look at the postings of Keo & Co before the trinations and compare it with now. Before we were next to unbeatable and suddenly we are in crisis. Last year we beat NZ 3 times this year we lose three times. After we beat Aus over there in cricket suddenly we were talking about a new area of SA domination just for them to come and whip us on home soil almost immediately.
This is a blessing in disguise for 2011 where the format of the world cup is such that we will have a chance of taking the trophy and we will hopefully bounce back.
Fact is we do have the resources to be consistent if we take the player depth into account. The success in the S14 shows we have the coaching talent too. That’s what nice about being a Bulls supporter: consistency. They might not win everything but sure as hell will be around the top. Year after year.
If we can only put politics aside on a national level and get the right coaching team (and top management). Who knows we might become more consistant. Like the AB’s. Hats off to them.
23 Aug 2010, 16:15 pm
@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-203:
I bet we won’t have to wait another decade to win the Currie Cup though……..
23 Aug 2010, 16:41 pm
What is with the obsession with the “kicking fly halves” in South Africa? The game is rugby, you need to be able to have a good skills set including kicking but kicking should not be your main weapon in your artillery. DAN CARTER has shown us the way, let us follow. NAAS BOTHA IS DEAD.
23 Aug 2010, 16:49 pm
it’s now obvious for all to see. the old guys are tired. they have been weighed and found wanting.
it’s odd how it’s the players from two best S14 teams who are struggeling. bulls and stormers.
emotional/mental or physical issues? building up to something and then coming down. it’s human…..it’s always difficult to get back up to that level, especially if the dynamics around you changes as it would have with the franchise to the national set-up.
bulls players not performing:
vic
bakkies
spies
steyn
wo
stormers players not performing:
flo
ricky
j fourie
habana
i think it’s merely a pendelum effect. next year it’ll be the boks building and playing the part of the underdog (which we do so well with our backs to the wall) and the all blacks with the big red target on their back.
can the all blacks sustain this level of commitment and effort for another 12months? i’m not sure, but sooner or later soemone’s going to catch up.
the pendelum swings…..
23 Aug 2010, 16:50 pm
WE NEED TO TEACH A DIFFERENT BRAND OF RUGBY AT PRIMARY AND AT HIGH SCHOOL. NO.01-15, LIKE THE ALL BLACKS SHOULD BE MOBILE, CATCH THE BALL IN WHICHEVER DIRECTION IT IS THROWN AT WHATEVER SPEED,TACKLE, PASS WHICHEVER DIRECTION, ABILITY TO THINK ON YOUR FEET CAN BE TAUGHT, SIDESTEPPING WOULD BE A BONUS IF SOME RUGBY PLAYERS WERE NOT SO RIGID and hopefully one can be taught to play with passion for a full 80 minutes. STRENGTH AND ENDURENCE CAN BE INCULCATED INTO AN INDIVIDUAL.
23 Aug 2010, 16:54 pm
@logie_Jumpbuck(logie_Jumpbuck)-208: Theres plenty of talent, these guys should be rested
23 Aug 2010, 16:55 pm
@Koobus(Koobus)-209: this is true, that pass from sam whitelock to woodcock was better than any of backs could manage. i was dumbfounded at the skills they posess compared to our mediocre bunch.
23 Aug 2010, 17:03 pm
@Koobus(Koobus)-209:
You mean in the ‘Locations’ and the S. Camps?
23 Aug 2010, 17:08 pm
@toddke(toddke)-190:
Aplon missed/evaded 9 tackles, De Jongh 7, his tackle basically is wrapping around the ankles of the ball carrier or hiting necks of the smaller players, and the cherry on the top, he is ruining Habana’s scoring career which is fine by me
23 Aug 2010, 17:37 pm
205. diewareouboet(diewareouboet) :
100% mate, that’s why I’d rather go to the WC with less expectation than more. SA mentality doesn’t handle a pat on the back too well.
23 Aug 2010, 17:42 pm
@Alli G(Alli G)-147:
I’ll join the gand and agree – Good post mate
23 Aug 2010, 17:45 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-103:
Rofl – that arguement is a lame duck – someone beat Aus and NZ and we beat they people that beat them.
Get over it.
Start hoping you get a WC trophy on home soil because if you don’t we’ll be having a good laugh at your expense.
You really are a sorry man
23 Aug 2010, 17:47 pm
When you come with **** like Noakes is a phony and we only won the Wc because we didn;t meet Aus or NZ – my god – we would have killed Aus and possibly given the AB’s a great hiding as well.
Our WC team was awesome.
23 Aug 2010, 17:49 pm
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-55:
You have a decent piont there.
Keo and the gang should eat humble pie.
All their over the top praise (as usual) got to me. Check my posts from those threads.
These same people that are slating us now thought we were teh bees knees a few montsh back.
Go figure
23 Aug 2010, 18:17 pm
Very good piece Keo.
The body language of our captain after the whistle spoke words. If ever he doubted it before, he now knows it is time to hang up his boots and his jersey, including the centurion one, for good.
The harsh but sincere fact is that the Boks were yet again very one-dimensional on attack and uncertain about their offensive blueprint. There were notable improvements in the speed of our ruck ball and the scrumhalf serving the dish. But that is where it stopped.
Our pivot is a major concern and cannot adjust his game to the situation.
We need to smoke out a flyhalf somewhere. I doubt that Butch’ knees will carry him to NZ next year.
Perhaps Eddie was right about Ruan, but he is in a bad place mentally.
Peter Grant?
23 Aug 2010, 18:44 pm
With defences the way they are nowadays the most talented backs with plenty of posession won’t breach it with conventional attack. The last game between Aus and NZ is a good example. Bulls vs WP last game as well.
Broken play gives one a better chance and therefor quick turnover ball is still the best attacking platform. For that you need someone who can turn over ball and can never play without a specialist fetcher.
This Saturday 3 crucial defensive errors cost us: Schalk on Thorne, Habanna coming off his line when Mc Caw Scored and JS when Dagg scored.
In the WC of 2011 it will aqain be defence clinching it. Even if the other side dominates possesion. A flyhalf (and fullback?) who can slot drop goals and rock solid defenders will again be the heroes.
23 Aug 2010, 18:45 pm
@willievz(willievz)-219: aye. Peter Grant is the unluckiest player in SA.
Maybe Skops has an idea when he says play Morne Steyn at 15. Grant at 10.
23 Aug 2010, 18:49 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-221: Perhaps not as farfetched an idea as some might think.
Certainly makes me ponder.
23 Aug 2010, 19:16 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-221: morne is much slower the frans?
eish boet
23 Aug 2010, 19:17 pm
morne steyn was tried a few times at FB for the Bulls and failed each time
the kids a 10
23 Aug 2010, 19:17 pm
Good Article
“..I can’t share the enthusiasm of those who are accepting of this Bok defeat on the basis that it was better than their performances overseas..”
I feel sorry for the Bok supporters and some of the Bok players who had a great game
Hougard
Flip
De Joung
Juan
Burger
Aplon
The BOKS under the current idiot management and Affirmative Action coach are a
F@cking disgrace
I hope the Aussies whip us this week
John Smit is over the hill, he disgraced us
and Spies is a crock
We desperatley need a flyhalf
23 Aug 2010, 19:20 pm
now this i cant understand, kanko has been called in to cover Juan Smith???
Kanko i feel should be starting but not at 8 , he is a 8 why not Vermeulen or Alberts to cover 7?? or Potgieter
23 Aug 2010, 19:27 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-226: If Smiths out I think it’ll be Burger, FLO and Spies with Kanko on the bench. That is the only way it makes sense. Which is not to mean that it’s the way it will happen mind you, it’s just the only way that makes sense
23 Aug 2010, 19:28 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-226: Also PDV won;t easily go outside his current bunch, which means either Kanko or Potties to be called up. Kanko did</i< have a blinder on Saturday..
23 Aug 2010, 19:33 pm
@stormersboy(stormersboy)-228: he did lol but at 8thman
23 Aug 2010, 20:21 pm
This must be the biggest lot of rubbish you ever posted on this site.
23 Aug 2010, 20:30 pm
O ja TACKLER may I remind you .
W/C 07 , yes we didnt get to kick the AB’s backside because they were such chokers that they never gave us a oppurtunity to do it.
This is the reason why.
We won Eng twice, which in turn won Aus in the quarters.
And if your memory dont serve you right, may I remind you.
The Boks won Argentina, they won France who kicked the AB’s out in the quarters.
So dont utter the rubbish that we won cause we never played the AB’s
We won cause we were the best!!!!!!!!!!
23 Aug 2010, 20:35 pm
@haaibok(haaibok)-231: I think you are in deep trouble with the grammar police soon.
23 Aug 2010, 20:37 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-232:
23 Aug 2010, 20:40 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-233: Hello Pops. Your team are looking really great right now. Power & pace.
I hope you haven’t peaked too early again.
We are just lulling you all in to a fall sense of security.
23 Aug 2010, 20:44 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-234: Hey Soda…
if not for a fortuitous call with Ritchee’s try then we all may be talking a completely different topic, so while the boys are playing well, I still believe they are building… (fingers crossed) lol
though one could also ask, was 2009 the year the Bokke team peaked?
23 Aug 2010, 20:49 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-232:
life…
without parole..
23 Aug 2010, 20:50 pm
@gunther(gunther)-236: and a big blackboard.
23 Aug 2010, 20:53 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-235: Honestly. We have athletes who are completely buggered, and a 1-dimensional game-plan.
Both those things can and will be fixed.
I will say Boks Vs All Blacks – hard to beat for intensity and classic rivalry. Rugby is a hard sport, physically & emotionally. I take my hat off to every one of those guys who puts his body on the line for 80 minutes plus 8 minutes of injury time.
23 Aug 2010, 20:55 pm
your time has come …
Mon 23 Aug 2010, 08:29 (9) 31 Comment(s) Email article Share
Email article Laaik.it Yahoo Google Digg del.icio.us Facebook What is this? Each of these links automatically adds this page to a social bookmarking website. These sites allow you to create and maintain a personal collection of bookmarks. This is better than using your browser’s bookmarking system because you can access them from anywhere and also share them with friends and colleagues. Use the links below to share this article on the social bookmarking site of your choice. Read more about social bookmarking at Wikipedia – Social Bookmarking Report Abuse
Better from the Boks, it has to be said, and it was great to see Juan de Jongh and Francois Hougaard perform as if they were born to play Test rugby. Juan Smith was herculean in his return to the national side while Gio Aplon added a real touch of excitement to the Bok attack.
And were it not for a controversial TMO call and a missed forward pass, the Boks might even have beaten, or at least drawn, with the best side in the world …
But this was at home, on the Highveld, and it was their fourth defeat from four outings. It’s actually not good enough and something needs to be done …
It’s time for Peter de Villiers and the Bok management to take responsibility for the state of the team.
Bryan Habana came off his defensive line, yet again, to gift the All Blacks a try. Jean de Villiers did the same thing when he was playing wing, so it’s clearly an instruction. The Bok defense is in tatters!
Again the use of the bench was embarrassingly inept. While the All Blacks brought on fresh legs at times that made sense, the Boks subbed their best player (Smith) and left three players on the bench. Does De Villiers not trust his bench or does he have no clue? Sure it was Smit’s 100th Test, but it should have been Ralepelle finishing the game …
As pointed out by Kiwi coach, Graham Henry, the Boks look to be unfit and as such finished the game poorly … Throw in the lack of bench finesse and the last 20 minutes of a Bok Test are a train smash waiting to happen. Anyone remember that first test against the Lions?
Often, including in the final move of the game, the Boks lost control of the ball in the tackle.
Pierre Spies had yet another insignificant match. This while Duane Vermeulen and Ryan Kankowski were dueling it out against each in a Currie Cup game.
The Boks again started a test match without a fetcher and thus came second at the breakdown.
How can the coach and selectors possibly defend the decision to select Ricky Januarie for the first seven Tests of the season before giving Francois Hougaard his first start?
John Smit at tighthead, the selections of Earl Rose, Ashley Johnson and Davon Raubenheimer, taking forever to eventually select Morne Steyn and Heinrich Brussow, the public clown persona given his ridiculous chirps to the media …
hmmm….
23 Aug 2010, 21:01 pm
@gunther(gunther)-239: Honestly Shunts, this is a basic management issue.
We should have rested key players during the Italy games, at least.
We need players who can last 80 minutes or have a quality bench that can play 40 minutes.
We need a serious injection of pace. De Jongh, Aplon, Frankie are all a positive injection.
But the management is rubbish. All of them including the “fitness” coach.
23 Aug 2010, 21:01 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-238: nothing comes remotely close in rugby terms Soda… was a test match of the highest quality, and have already stated on this thread I dont think either team deserved to lose.
I do too mate, there will be some very sore bodies this week on both sides…
I think the physicality, the intensity have been whats kept the rivalry so strong, no other team tests either of our teams the same way… Ive said it often on this blog, a strong SA is nothing but good for NZ rugby..
23 Aug 2010, 21:07 pm
#225 BOKSARENUMBER4 I agree with you the 3 stooges are a f#####g disgrace,they should come and watch the game with the bok fans who pay good money to watch their team getting beaten again and hear what the fans think of the team`s performances and about their management of the boks it would make them think again.
23 Aug 2010, 21:10 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-241: I think the World Cup is going to be particularly interesting. Never in the history of the tournament have some many teams the potential to win it.
NZ are obviously favorites – home ground, and simple stats make that obvious.
But
France
SA
Australia
then
England will be strong again.
Wales & Argentina are no lightweights.
Italy, Fiji, Samoa, Scotland – all can play the game.
It’s going be a magnificent spectacle.
23 Aug 2010, 21:26 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-243: cant argue with that assesment at all mate…
Ireland I think may be the best of the NH after France, though will never rule out England (they seem to ONLY play rugby every 4 years
)..
I still hope a SH side can win the thing again, I like the fact that the SH has dominated the eventual winners… adds a lot of weight to the 3Ns and the S15 being the premier comps..
cant wait for it to start myself…
23 Aug 2010, 21:32 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-244: Ireland should be in the group with France, Boks, Aus. But I just can’t see them winning it for soem reason.
I think France could very well win it for NH, playing AB’s in the final, after beating us in semi’s. I think it works something like that? Not the result the match ups.
23 Aug 2010, 21:37 pm
@diewareouboet(diewareouboet)-205:
Injuries to so many of the 2009 Boks hasn’t helped mate. By the time the senior guys are rested for the end of season tour, it’ll be next year before we see the “real” Boks again. 18 months since we saw them last.
23 Aug 2010, 21:42 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-245: Ireland got no front row.Strong from 2/4-15 with a few good bench players too.Tighthead biggest prob and cant see any solution with whats around
23 Aug 2010, 21:44 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-245: I dont think Ireland will get there either, but they could very well spring an upset or two… I think it will be one of the usual 5 suspects to win it..
Fra/SA/NZ would be my favourites
Aus/Eng would be good outside chances (at this point in time)
winner of our pool will eventually meet you guys in the semis if everything goes to script.. 2nd in our pool gets the Eng/Aus side of the draw assuming no major upsets..
which side would I prefer… hehe well an AB/bokke final would be the ultimate…
23 Aug 2010, 21:47 pm
@poppa69(poppa69)-248: A SA NZ final in NZ. ***** Bells. I think we would both choke!
23 Aug 2010, 21:48 pm
So H ells is a ***** offence.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 » Show All