Ruining Ruan
23 Aug 2010
South Africa’s spineless coaches destroyed Ruan Pienaar’s Test career.
In the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week, the Springbok utility back vents his frustration at the way he’s been treated.
‘Coaches have been telling me since I was at school that I have all the natural talent in the world, but then they’ve put me on the bench or played me out of position,’ he says. ‘I’ve often thought, are they just telling me I’m talented to keep me happy? Do they really rate me, and if they do, why am I on the bench?’
In the same article, SA Rugby magazine’s Jon Cardinelli analyses Pienaar’s 43-match Test career, which includes just five starts at scrumhalf (his preferred position) and just seven at flyhalf (former Bok technical adviser Eddie Jones believes he could have been the next Stephen Larkham if he’d been given an extended run there).
– Keo looks at what went wrong for the Boks in New Zealand and Australia.
– From 2008 to the end of the Boks’ Tri-Nations tour this year, Bryan Habana had scored only eight tries in 27 matches, compared to 30 in his first 36 Tests from 2004 to 2007. SA Rugby magazine reveals why his try-scoring dip is a result of problems with the Springboks’ attack.
– Bakkies Botha‘s Test career has been marred by incident and bad blood. Has he become a liability to the Boks?
– James O’Connor is worth his weight in gold to the Wallabies. SA Rugby magazine charts his rise to the top, and finds out why he chose rugby union over league.
– Israel Dagg has made a big impression despite having limited Test opportunities for the All Blacks.
– A dual-referee system may do rugby more harm than good, and perhaps the best solution to prevent subjectivity is a move towards simpler laws.
– Francois Hougaard lives his life at breakneck speed. Nothing he does lacks full-on commitment. There are no half measures in his world.
– Solly Tyibilika went from Test to First Division rugby in less than a year and a half. SA Rugby magazine finds out what went wrong.
– Nick Koster believes he can regain the form that saw him selected for the Barbarians in 2008.
– EP Kings director of rugby Alan Solomons on transformation, keeping players in the province, and getting ready for Super Rugby.
– In 1994 Rwanda was a country mired in murder and mayhem. Now their wounds are healing and the nation’s rugby team is at the forefront of the reconciliation.

74 Comments
23 Aug 2010, 05:10 am
Ruans mediocrity ruined ruan….countless good Australasian players have played out of position for years before settling down….Larkham, Giteau, Carter, (currently Barnes is being shafted around, Adam Ashley Cooper) just to name a handful. Our boys are spoilt, they’ve lost that “team comes first” attitude, hence why we’re getting this nonsense with Frans. Pienaar was never going to be the number 1 scrumhalf coz of FDP so it was actually in his best interests to move to 10 and be a starter rather than a career bench warmer like Chiliboy. His coach gave him the position on a silver platter and he lost it fair and square to a player that was in better form (Morne)…what more did he want??
23 Aug 2010, 05:14 am
1. flanka(flanka) yep our boois are way to spoilt. Sadly Ruan is a great player and lets hope Europe will sort him out.
Too many Fracois Steyns in our rugby, we also sis the same to Brent Russell too.
Kak SARU
23 Aug 2010, 05:17 am
As for Habs, blaming his form on the Bok gameplan is ridiculous especially when one considers they have become more of an attacking unit (still not a very good one) since the days of 2004/5/6/7. Another reason why it’s a ridiculous excuse is due to the fact that 90% of his tries were opportunistic intercepts or brilliance from broken play. Off the top of my head there are very few of his tries which came from well sctructured backline moves….so no excuses habs, you’ve lost your x-factor all on your own
23 Aug 2010, 05:18 am
Not going to be able to get this as im overseas, but can someone summarise the Solly Tyibilika article? very interested to see what happened with him
23 Aug 2010, 05:21 am
Well I hope he excells at Ulster. Ruan never seemed to make the most of his playing time and should have accepted the coach wanting him to be a no. 10 (no-one was going to drop FDP). Instead he seemd kinda sulky.
23 Aug 2010, 05:22 am
Ruan’s accumulated 43 tests already. His father, Gysie, only played in 13.
23 Aug 2010, 05:24 am
6. TheTackler(TheTackler) Gysie was a awesome player, good era too pity about the Nats destroying better possiblities
23 Aug 2010, 05:26 am
@Ratman(Ratman)-5: I agree…the coach pretty much knighted him as flyhalf heir apparent for the next decade and he sulked and eventually got outplayed by Steyn….he was never gonna oust FDP as a scrummie so in my opinion he didnt grab the chance he was given with both hands
23 Aug 2010, 05:27 am
unless he actually thinks he was a better 9 than FDP…and that would be a simple case of delusion
23 Aug 2010, 05:28 am
and i dont know how much a cover article with him sulking about coaches will help his cause
23 Aug 2010, 06:26 am
He’s right. He’s been screwed from the get go. And how sad is it that Ricky was always rated and picked ahead of him. Im sure Ruan would have been happy with being the number 2 scramhalf and Fourie DuP’s understudy. But that fat little man was given that opportunity and wasted it for far to long. Was it political? Or did the coaches honestly believe Januarie was the second best for so long.
23 Aug 2010, 06:29 am
@flanka(flanka)-10: he has given up on being picked. I doubt that he cares what the coaches have to say
23 Aug 2010, 07:00 am
@jaimie(jaimie)-4: You can get the digital edition from the keo.co.za shop.
23 Aug 2010, 07:21 am
It’s the bloody Sharks. They’ve stuffed up (in recent times only) Brent Russell, Ruan Pienaar and next is Pat Lambie. Can they not pick the oke in one place for god’s sake?! The only reason Frans Steyn escaped is because he was SO good that he was consistently in the Bok setup and thankfully couldn’t play for the Sharks.
23 Aug 2010, 07:32 am
Pienaar has a right to be frustrated. Shame on the Keo morons though; they are the same people who called for Pienaar to be dropped and Steyn inserted during the British Lions tour. Sensationalist headlines, again.
23 Aug 2010, 07:39 am
aww, gysie’s son looks so morosed on the cover
let’s all feel sorry for the mentaly frail one!
Ruan, you relinquished the Bok 10 jersey when you couldn’t handle the pressure of kicking for posts and the coach gave one-dimensional morne the chance and he booted the Boks to victory at loftus and continued to score 31 points all on his own against the all blacks in durban.
You are not better than Fdp, you are too frail mentally than morne, DEAL WITH IT!!!!
23 Aug 2010, 07:41 am
yep Ruan – they just been saying that so as to not hurt your delicate feelings…
but dont dispair, you will always have Keo and his staff to blow smoke up your b.u.m. for you.
23 Aug 2010, 07:44 am
Ruans problem started when he reluctantly agreed to the move to 10….against his better judgement. Pro era and players must also take responsibility for there own careers and decisions….
Sometimes a clear and unequivocal ‘ no!’ is the best medicine….
23 Aug 2010, 07:46 am
the strangest thing is the amount of sharks fans on this site that carroied on saying that ruan was so happy to be shunted back and forth and how he didnt mind playing at 10…..
Morons.
23 Aug 2010, 07:54 am
Pienaar the super-sub
Ruan Pienaar’s inclusion in the Springbok
squad for the Vodacom Tri-Nations match
against the All Blacks has been universally
welcomed.
The only thing is that it probably should
have happened months ago. The beauty of
Pienaar is that he can cover both scrumhalf
and flyhalf with equal proficiency. He is a
modern day super-sub. And coach Jake
White has even mentioned him as possible
back-up for Percy Montgomery.
Oh, and he is a fairly reliable goal-kicker too,
something that has been missing in recent
matches. Montgomery is the first-choice
kicker, followed probably by Butch James
and then Pienaar. Whether he gets on is a
matter of conjecture. And even if he does
he is unlikely to be entrusted with any
kicking duties.
He is liked and respected across the country. (is that because of his prowess or because he is ‘gysie’s seun)
And if he does replace local favourite Fourie
du Preez late in the match, expect a huge
cheer from the Loftus faithful.
“I’m just thrilled to be picked. Everyone
looks forward to their first Test more than
the other I ’m told,” Pienaar said
“Although I’m only on the bench and I’m not
guaranteed of getting on, it’s amazing to be
a part of it all.”
Pienaar though does not consider himself a
true Springbok just yet. “I have played one
game against the World XV, but the real
measure of a Springbok is having played a
Test. I can ’t wait.”
Pienaar, who slept in his Springbok kit the
night before his first match for the Boks
against the World XV, doubts he will do the
same tomorrow night.
“I don’t think I will do that again,” he says.
“That was just a once off because my dad
did the same thing before his first match
for the Springboks. I don ’t want to spoil that
by doing it every time.”
The gangly No 9 has stood out during
training the past two weeks and has given
100% at all times. I think it is more
enthusiasm than trying to prove a point. I
always give my all at practice no matter
whether I am with the Springboks, the
Sharks or training on my own.â €
By Andrew Hollely
This entry was posted on Thursday, August
24th, 2006
23 Aug 2010, 08:17 am
@jaimie(jaimie)-4: You can buy the SARugby online – there is a link on the home page of KEO I think.
23 Aug 2010, 08:35 am
Ruan seems to believe he is entitled to a Bok jersey.
Yes he was talented, he still is. But he was never the best in any position.
Rather than take this as a positive challenge to improve the shortcomings in his game and become the best in a position, he seems to have just moped, and resigned himself to whatever position the coaches recommended at the time.
If he was so unhappy about being shifted from scrumhalf then he could have refused to play anywhere but there for the Boks, but then he would have only played about 6 games as opposed to the 43 he has so far.
23 Aug 2010, 08:54 am
The point many seem to be missing is that Ruan should always have been at least the backup scrumhalf. At times many rated him better than Fourie because he was more of an attacking player. But because of the AA BS, we had to have Januarie. That wouldn’t sit well with anyone – except for Januarie and his apologists. One day the geniuses in government and Saru will realise that you don’t “transform” sport at the highest level.
23 Aug 2010, 08:55 am
@Jeez(Jeez)-11:
Both Jake and Div selected Ricky ahead of Ruan.
At one stage Rory was even first choice at the Sharks.
Ruan is overrated! Period!!
23 Aug 2010, 08:57 am
@boktoinfinityandbeyond(boktoinfinityandbeyond)-14: Well at least **** Muir’s left to go bugger up the Lions, hopefully Lambie will be managed better
And maybe Europe will toughen Ruan up a little?
23 Aug 2010, 09:01 am
G Henry vs PDV … its like Einstein vs malema .. kry heineke!!!
23 Aug 2010, 09:07 am
@Jeez(Jeez)-11:
Januarie was first choice scrumhalf when SA won the U21 WC. Guess who was on the bench??
Fourie Du Preez.
23 Aug 2010, 09:23 am
@wpw(wpw)-27: don’t bother with the facts dude, the chip on the shoulder brigade is moping about Affirmitive Action & quotas
when plumtree plays Rory Kockott before Ruan, i guess Kockott is an ‘honorary black’ so he counts as a quota
hahahaha
23 Aug 2010, 09:29 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-28:
23 Aug 2010, 09:30 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-28: EP Kings zifaka induku!!!
23 Aug 2010, 09:35 am
i was just wondering where exactly did ruan expect 2 play? did he expect 2 take fourie the messiah out of the 9 jersy? they gave him a bloody life line by playing him on 10 and wel he buggerd that up… then they playd him on the bench(which should be an honour 2 any south african rugby player)and he decides 2 leav. personaly i thnk he is ova rated and if it wasnt 4 his crazy idea of being the-next-great-thing in sa rugby because some people kissd his *** and told him wat he wanted 2 hear then we defnitly wouldnt hav found our new gold in hougaard. thanx 4 leavin ruan!
23 Aug 2010, 09:36 am
@geroom_sexwater(geroom_sexwater)-26: Heyneke = Eugene Terra-blanche…..Old, pedantic and dead
23 Aug 2010, 09:40 am
mighty just like steve twete?
23 Aug 2010, 09:45 am
@geroom_sexwater(geroom_sexwater)-33:
Nah, just like Ettiene Botha!!
23 Aug 2010, 09:52 am
yes ettienne botha, best player ever not to be selected for the boks … just sick when you look at guys like wayne julies & bobo having test caps ….
23 Aug 2010, 10:03 am
Personally I would have loved seeing Ruan get an extended run at flyhalf, have to agree with Eddie Jones there.
Thing is, in my mind Ruan was never a recognised kicker, if we wanted to play him at flyhalf I would have given the kicking duties to someone else.
23 Aug 2010, 10:12 am
Had Pienaar not been given the kicking duties with the No.10 jersey, he would have become the next Larkham without a doubt
23 Aug 2010, 10:17 am
@boktoinfinityandbeyond(boktoinfinityandbeyond)-14: I dont know about that. Lambie looks to be in the mold of Hougaard where they playing awesome rugby no matter which position they in. They have the right mentality for the game
23 Aug 2010, 10:24 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-22: Unfortunately you right. The kicking duties also affected his confidence
23 Aug 2010, 10:30 am
@Craven(Craven)-36: Spot on. F Steyn would have been a better option at the time
23 Aug 2010, 10:40 am
@jaimie(jaimie)-4: the mag is available on digital … subscribe on this site
23 Aug 2010, 11:23 am
Ruan,sick & tired of his moping.
And the brigade blaming Ricky selection ahead of Pienaar in yrs prior,have a look at the ganepman employed by Boks which suited Ricky’s strengths esp vs AB’s.Ricky is different type of 9 to Pienaar & FdP.Pienaar is just a diluted extension of Du Preez who is 10 times the player Gysie’s boy will ever be.
Januarie at his peak between 2005-2008 was a better scrimhalf than Pienaar period.
Now Frans Hougaard enters the scene,hasn’t played 9 for nearly 2 yrs,been played out of position in that period(which he has made asuccess)-plays his first Test start vs AB in front of 90 000 people-talk about an acid test! He plays better than Pienaar has ever done in the 9 jersey for Boks.
Ruan is *****,period.
23 Aug 2010, 11:53 am
@keo(keo)-41: What’s the format? PDF?
23 Aug 2010, 11:58 am
The day Ruan left the Free State for the Sharks he screwed his own career. I truly think he still would have been in the mix if he stayed in the states.
23 Aug 2010, 12:07 pm
Ag please Ruan.
You ruined your own test career.
Other players dream about wearing the green and gold, whereas you whine about wearing it.
23 Aug 2010, 12:09 pm
Plus you’ve ruined my morning now.
Jinne.
Can you be so ungrateful to be a Bok.
23 Aug 2010, 12:49 pm
Ruan’s problem is attitude which was also Solly Tyibilika’s downfall. No need for “he said, she said”. You do your best for the team. You play prop if you have to and for goodness sake when you get an opportunity you take it. No comparison between Brent Russell and Pienaar as they are completely different players. All Pienaar had to do was land his kicks to drop the “utility” tag but as there wasn’t a backup kicker he lost out. As would Stephen Larkham had Matt Burke or Stirling Mortlock not been in the starting XV. Rugby is a cruel game but if you want to feel sorry for someone then spare a thought for Teichman who never played a World Cup.
23 Aug 2010, 13:17 pm
@flanka(flanka)-3:
The Boks attacking play has become more impotent and rudderless since de Villiers took over. Under Jake it was direct, physical and had direction. We are in no way more attack orientated, we’ve become far more reliant on aimless kicking, with no other weapons. Those are some of our biggest problems.
23 Aug 2010, 13:22 pm
@mshiniwami(mshiniwami)-42:
Januarie was good in 2005 only. Ruan has always been the better, more developed player. And don’t forget that Ruan played for the sharks, the biggest ****-up of natural talent I have ever seen, no surprise that Muir was coach when you see how they’ve stuffed players up. In short, Ruan is the most messed around player South Africa has ever had. He has played in every position except inside centre. Hougaard is not comparable to this in any way. Not to mention that ruan was shoved into the 10 jersey after a lengthy lay off and with only three appearances at test level 8 months prior to the Lions series. It was a nightmare, but keep lieing to yourself, as you always do.
23 Aug 2010, 14:03 pm
Ryan shoulda been 12
23 Aug 2010, 14:12 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-48:
‘under jake it was direct, physical and it had direction’
Cheer up, says Jake
Bok coach Jake White told South Africans to
cheer up. No one died at Ellis Park on
Saturday.
White, addressing the media in Durban
ahead of Saturday ’s test season opener
against Scotland, said he was surprised at
the vitriol and backlash following the Boks
30-27 win against the World XV.
He acknowledged it was not a good game
of rugby, but he felt the criticism was over
the top.
“I don’t know, it feels like there is a lot
of doom and gloom going around. I don’t know why. It is almost as if someone
has died, said White. “Ellis Park was not a
great spectacle, it was not a great game of
rugby. But sometimes you get those, it
happens from all levels, from under-13
upwards. Not every game can be a great
spectacle, not every game can be all about
tries and running rugby Saturday was just
one of those games that happen every now
and then. ”
White said the fact that the Boks did not
score a try did not mean his team could not
score tries.
“Suddenly everyone is saying that we
cannot score tries, that we only score tries
from intercepts. I think we should hold
perspective, ” said White, who reminded the
media that a Bok team lost the series
against the Lions because they could not
kick goals … not because they could not
score tries.
He said his team would be capable of
scoring tries and creating enough pressure
to get over the line against Scotland.
He said
his side had scored six tries against
Scotland at Murrayfield in 2004, but that he
could not remember the critics being hugely
excited about it.
White’s memory, though, must have taken a
pounding from Tappe Henning’s whistle on
Saturday. When the Boks hammered
Scotland 45-10, playing with just 13 men at
one stage, the necessary plaudits were
delivered.
In the context of the match,
however, it may have seemed subdued
because the result came a week after the
32-16 pounding against England.
White, by all accounts, was defensive when
addressing the media, but if he talks about
perspective, then part of that is the
expectation of the Boks since he took
charge. The rugby public have a right to
demand a certain quality, based on what
the team has shown itself capable of
delivering.
White should not be worried by the
criticism of the 30-27 win against the World
XV. When critics start applauding that kind
of victory, then he should know he (and his
team) are in trouble.
I think maybe the expectations were
just too high before Ellis Park, but it was
never going to be a Uruguay type of game
(the Boks went on the rampage against
Uruguay in the opening match last
season).
White also said inexperience had cost his
team. However, this is a moot point. Those
drafted into the starting team hardly lacked
experience. Gaffie du Toit made his test
debut in 1998, Andre Snyman is one of the
most experienced test backs around, AJ
Venter has played test rugby since 2001,
Wikus van Heerden made his test debut in
2003, Deon Carstens played test rugby in
2002 and Albert van den Berg, Danie
Rossouw and Hanyani Shimange have all
been in his test squad since 2004.
This entry was posted on Monday, June 5th,
23 Aug 2010, 14:48 pm
alucard
Hougaardt situation is comparable,he was also injured for 2 months after 3N with little Test experience in that tim period.only a dismal effort 8 months prior vs Italy in EOYT.But that kid has bigger cahonas than fat lip Ruan could ever have.
23 Aug 2010, 16:57 pm
WE NEED TO TEACH A DIFFERENT BRAND OF RUGBY AT PRIMARY AND AT HIGH SCHOOL. NO.01-15, LIKE THE ALL BLACKS SHOULD BE MOBILE, CATCH THE BALL IN WHICHEVER DIRECTION IT IS THROWN AT WHATEVER SPEED,TACKLE, PASS WHICHEVER DIRECTION, ABILITY TO THINK ON YOUR FEET CAN BE TAUGHT, SIDESTEPPING WOULD BE A BONUS IF SOME RUGBY PLAYERS WERE NOT SO RIGID and hopefully one can be taught to play with passion for a full 80 minutes. STRENGTH AND ENDURENCE CAN BE INCULCATED INTO AN INDIVIDUAL.
THIS GUY, RUAAN PIENNAR COULD AND SHOULD HAVE BEEN OUR NUMBER ONE FLY HALF TEST AFTER TEST, IN TIME HIS KICKING WOULD HAVE IMPROVED AND SOUTH AFRICA’S RUGBY PLAYING STYLE WOULD HAVE CHANGED FOR THE BETTER, WITH A THINKING SCRUMHALF AT HIS SIDE, SOUTH AFRICA WOULD BE THE COMPLETE PACKAGE.
23 Aug 2010, 18:19 pm
@Alucard(Alucard)-49: “He has played in every position except inside centre”.
In plain English, you say it like it is a bad thing.
I view this fact as a massive achievement at international level.
Versatility is a blessing, not a curse.
23 Aug 2010, 18:30 pm
Man can everyone stop sucking Ruan Pienaar’s d.i.c.k?! He always was on the bench because he’s not good enough to make the starting team. End of story. He’s not even that good. GET THE F@#K OVER PIENAAR!!!!!
23 Aug 2010, 18:36 pm
@rugbywriter(rugbywriter)-55: lol
24 Aug 2010, 01:47 am
Pienaar is a top scrum-half who is unfortunate his career coincided with an all time great in his position in Fourie Du Preez. It’s too his credit that he was still talented enough to be capped for his country in another two positions.
5 starts at scrum-half
7 starts at flyhalf
4 starts at full-back
27 sub appearances
6 tries
107 points
and a 70% winning record.
I don’t think he could’ve hoped for much better, if his goal-kicking under pressure was better he could’ve been the long term Bok 10 but it isn’t so he isn’t. Even if he were to retire now he can consider it a good test career but I wouldn’t be surprised to see him in a Bok shirt again once FDP retires.
24 Aug 2010, 01:52 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-57: * to his credit
24 Aug 2010, 01:58 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-57:
Bad player management………..started by “13-0″ Muir at the Sharks.
24 Aug 2010, 02:53 am
@Big Hit(Big Hit)-57: Spot on. His coaches did think he had all the natural talent in the world, that is why they went to so much effort to accomodate him in the team, despite him never being the no.1 pick in any position.
He says he was unhappy being shifted around positions, but I’m sure he would have even more unhappy if he was permanently benched behind FdP, or even out of the squad altogether behind FdP AND Ricky.
The whinger should take some responsibility for his own career.
- Don’t want to be 2nd scrummy choice behind Kockett at the Sharks? Move franchise.
- Don’t want to learn how to play flyhalf? Then don’t. But then don’t be surprised if you find yourself on the outer, behind a guy happy to play anywhere for his Bok jersey.
24 Aug 2010, 03:04 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-60:
Confident about the weekend?
24 Aug 2010, 03:33 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-61: Not sure what to make of it yet.
The backs will look more a lot more dangerous with Quade back at 10, but think the forward pack are still lacking too much power.
Ma’afu, Faingaa, Mumm and Brown all look to be punching above their weight at test level.
Will make a big difference to see Alexander, Tatafu, Horwill and Palu back, and Higginbotham in the mix too (he is still a little underdone after his injury).
Saturday’s loss to the ABs will either have steeled the Boks or crushed their spirit.
I am praying it’s the latter
24 Aug 2010, 03:41 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-62:
Yeah, I am not sure either. The Boks may come up with a big one to restore pride or just fall flat! Will have to see if PDivvie will make any required changes but I expect to see more of Spies and Habana which will NOT improve the team. If Juan Smith is not playing then you will have to back the Wallabies.
What changes are they talking about for the Wallabies, Quade back but what else?
Also, what is the latest on Quade? Did they just leave it all till they get back? Still can’t believe he is even considering it.
24 Aug 2010, 05:28 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-63: No big changes I have heard of. Simmons may replace Mumm starting at lock, Higginbotham may replace Brown at 8, or will at least be on the bench.
The backline will see Giteau move to 12, but other than that unchanged.
I was hoping Deans would stop the O’Connor at wing **** and start one of the wingers flown in (preferably Turner or McCabe), but looks unlikely.
I’m not sure how strongly Quade is considering the offer.
To me it just sounds like a lot of grandstanding from both his manager (to up his ARU offer) and from the NRL (showing they can reverse the tide of League stars heading to Rugby for the big bucks).
Sorry about the slow responses, not getting a lot of free time this morning.
24 Aug 2010, 05:55 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-64:
Not to worry, I know how irritating it can be when work interferes with blogging! I suppose until the injured players get back it is just about as good as it can get.
They looked okish in their last outing but Quade was sorely missed, he does make the backline cook.
24 Aug 2010, 06:12 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-65: Yeah he just offers that extra X-factor to a solid backline.
Other than their starting playes, all the backs really need now is just some time to develop combinations.
While 15 is Ashley-Cooper’s primary spot, I am looking forward to him getting a long stay in the 13 position (with Mortlock, Ioane and Horne all longterm injuries).
It took him a couple years to develop into a worldclass fullback, and I think he can easily do the same with consistent game time at outside centre.
24 Aug 2010, 06:31 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-66:
Sheesh, you think Mortlock actually expect to get back into the team at any stage? Is Ioane out till next year or will he be available for the EOYT?
Gits seemed to have got some form back…or should that be understanding of his #10 and looked good again. I agree, they will be a nice backline in 2011!
Any talk of Rodzilla getting back for next year? I hear they call him Rockzilla as he has turned in a more than useful prop overseas.
24 Aug 2010, 06:39 am
@Slartibartfast(Slartibartfast)-67: I think with the Wallabies lack of depth at 13 they would be stupid not to bring Mortlock back once fit, even in just a covering/mentor role.
Ioane looks like he will miss EOYT, another full shoulder Reco on the cards.
Will Chambers is another I hope is fit for the EOYT, has the size and speed to make a worldclass 13 given time.
I know Rodzilla has signed for the Rebels, will be interesting to see how he goes.
I haven’t heard much of him, but if he has developed he would be a welcome addition to the Wallabies to support Robinson and Alexander.
There are a lot of good young props coming through (Daley, Slipper, Kepu) but they look more like prospects for 2015, none are the complete package as yet.
If Giteau moves to 12 who do you think will cover the bench? Would Deans have Barnes and Faingaa there, or will one get the chop from the 22?
24 Aug 2010, 06:44 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-68: Haven’t heard much of Rod since he left to Europe I meant.
24 Aug 2010, 06:56 am
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-68:
Seems Deans like Faingaa but I think he will keep Barnes instead, makes covering 10 and 12 easier…and he can kick.
Mortlock look old and slow before his injury, I just can see him bringing anything more to the team, mentor maybe but not keeping another player out of the squad.
I saw an article on Rodzilla earlier this year where they were singing his praises, if he lost his baby fat and replaced it with a little muscle he should be fine!
24 Aug 2010, 18:11 pm
@DonutDunning(DonutDunning)-69: George Smith is playing very well for Toulon, was their man of the match last Friday.
11 Sep 2010, 04:28 am
A Bok jumper is a privilege, not a right. Get over it, Ruan, you don’t make the starting 15 at that level without injuries to them and yes…maybe Hougaard was selected next. TaGLaYS, b with an itch!
11 Sep 2010, 04:45 am
Don’t be suprised if players come back for this WC. It is going to be bigger than we can imagine, so losing a few is not a drama, the best will come back.
The Ozzies will be very strong if longstanding injured guys return.
Berrick will be good, Vaainga will attractive if the pack doesn’t perform and Mortlock is still unavailable.
Quade Cooper…I’d tell him to sign or FO! As an open side flank, he’s a feast/smorgasbord because he dances sideways. You only have to catch him a couple of times. But he obviously has some smarts.
3 Jan 2011, 21:13 pm
In my opinion I think Francois Hougaard is the best Scrumhalf in the world!!!