Chiliboy’s been cheated
25 Aug 2010
RYAN VREDE is utterly disgusted at the raw deal Chiliboy Ralepelle has been given.
Springbok coach Peter de Villiers deplores the suggestion that Ralepelle is nothing more than a token selection to appease those appeased by that sort of thing. How does he justify that he isn’t when his actions reinforce that view?
There is, and will continue to be, debate about whether Ralepelle merits selection on ability alone. That isn’t the point of this argument. De Villiers has selected him and in doing so implies he rates him and is committed to using him.
Ralepelle played 56 of a possible 400 minutes in 2009. In 2010 that figure has risen to 160 of a possible 320 minutes. On the surface the latter figure seems acceptable for a second-choice hooker, but eliminate 79 minutes against Italy in East London and 17 minutes in Witbank and you begin to see a different picture. Consider also that he would probably have not have had more than 10 minutes against France had John Smit not been injured (he played a full half and impressed).
De Villiers said after that Test it was the first time since the start of his tenure that he trusted his bench. Ralepelle was obviously an exception because he subsequently got two minutes in a losing cause against New Zealand in Auckland, eight in a similar situation in Wellington, eight in Brisbane against Australia and zero in Soweto, where he watched a physically exhausted Smit crawl through his 100th Test and miss the decisive tackle of the match.
De Villiers’ commitment to Smit knows no bounds, which is partly understandable given that he travelled to Clermont to get him back in the Springbok fold in 2008. At this point it seems that De Villiers would instruct his medical staff to strap a wooden peg onto Smit should he somehow lose a leg, slap him on the arse and send him to war. He’d then spend the match formulating an excuse for Smit’s struggles and get his conditioning team to tell the media that wooden pegs actually make you go faster.
I don’t share the view that Smit is finished. I do, however, believe that he needed to be rested for the two Tests against the Wallabies, then be put on a specifically tailored conditioning programme during the four-week camp the contracted Springboks will embark on following the Tri-Nations.
That would have given Ralepellle two matches against world-class opposition to establish his credentials as a Test hooker. Bismarck du Plessis could have been eased into action off the wood and all three players (Smit included) would have benefited.
After 14 Tests and four years we still only have a vague idea of what Ralepelle can offer. This is utterly unacceptable. Jake White is partly culpable for this, and his coaches at the Bulls must accept some responsibility. But De Villiers, who in 2008 told the media that Ralepelle would have been his first-choice hooker had he not been injured, must shoulder the bulk of the blame.
And the future doesn’t look bright for Ralepelle either. If one considers how deeply De Villiers lamented Du Plessis’ injury-enforced absence, and how little faith he has shown in Ralepelle in the biggest matches, the Sharks man is likely to be Smit’s deputy for the foreseeable future. This will leave Ralepelle third in line at the Boks and under immense pressure from the likes of the dynamic Tiaan Liebenberg.
I recall an informal conversation with Ralepelle earlier this year, just before the June internationals. He said that for the first time since 2006 he was enjoying his rugby. He said he felt confident. He said he no longer felt like he was being used to make up the numbers. He was optimistic about his Springbok future.
I’d venture to suggest that his point of view has changed dramatically. This at the hands of a coach who prides himself on his honesty and man-management. Pathetic.

535 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All
25 Aug 2010, 20:56 pm
@SodaJoe(SodaJoe)-440: So if Barney retires and now LW is at Bath this blog may grind to a halt!!
25 Aug 2010, 20:56 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-438: we also lost 2 players early
excuses ?? eish
25 Aug 2010, 20:57 pm
@carol(carol)-451: carol the reason the wp lost is pure and simple they do not have the forwards to match
its also why they lost badly in the super 14 to the bulls and the sharks
flair play yes they have , power play nope
25 Aug 2010, 20:57 pm
@JL1(JL1)-446: We need Meyer
25 Aug 2010, 20:58 pm
This is getting ridiculous what is wrong with cheeky m o n k e y?
@grant10(grant10)-413: You mean the man hasn’t improved his fitness since Saturday? At this rate P Divvy is going to start questioning his commitment to Springbok rugby
Good day soda mate ^5
25 Aug 2010, 20:59 pm
@David(David)-437: Rubbish. When are you and the rest of the streeptrui budgie smugglers going to run off to form your own website: CliftonG10Sm(h)ittalk dot com…
It would be good riddance…
Average IQ and QC on this website would consequently rise exponentially…
25 Aug 2010, 20:59 pm
Look, for the record I hate to shatter your illusions boys but G10 really does not wear budgie smugglers!
But if Barney retires and G10 does not wear speedos then this blog may just curl up it’s toes!
Perhaps forget I mentioned it!
25 Aug 2010, 21:01 pm
@JL1(JL1)-448:To me Habs seems to have lost his edge. I agree Aplon does need refining just like GvdH who’s also talented new blood.
25 Aug 2010, 21:02 pm
@carol(carol)-449:
The results have been impressive
…….good coach !!!
25 Aug 2010, 21:03 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-453: Well this season has been a revelation for me as far as WP are concerned….
So you are off to C.T too!! Are you opening a restaurant there?
@carol(carol)-459: good evening karolientjie
@JL1(JL1)-444:
And I had personal experience of what had previously been going on behind the scenes. I have nothing against RT or the guys there. I’m just a little weary of hearing the “we started it because of all the politics on Keo”, when it was because their politically (racial)charged statements were attacked.
25 Aug 2010, 21:04 pm
Robzim told us grant wore speedos – it’s a fact, they all do down in the cape. A sppedo is standard issue, hell it’s a cape town suit
25 Aug 2010, 21:04 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-452:
True though , yes excuse as well !!!!…….fark i hate losing to the Sharks……..see you at the Home of rugby !!!
25 Aug 2010, 21:05 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-463:
25 Aug 2010, 21:06 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-447: Ja let him play for the lions the step up from vodacom cup to Boks is too much. At present I’d put Bismark, Smit, Leibenberg, Botha, Strauss and Burden ahead of him.
25 Aug 2010, 21:08 pm
@foreverrugga(foreverrugga)-442:
At my age and colour? I doubt it.
25 Aug 2010, 21:08 pm
@David(David)-464: David, if RT makes you weary I suggest you stop reading it!!
It is a bit addictive tho, I agree!!
25 Aug 2010, 21:09 pm
@cab(cab)-465:
I have seen far more speedos on the beaches in Durbs………fact !!! especially during the Xmas period when all the Vaalies move down……..hell the same thing happens in CT ….. over that period. Now we know who the real speedo wearers are
Fact…….no one I know in CT owns a speedo
25 Aug 2010, 21:09 pm
the day the fat boy call it i will get open a bottle of bubbly and it wont touch sides…..
i will toast all the great young tightheads and hookers….and the odd loosehead, that had thepoor fortune of having to accomodate a very average rugby player because of these mythical leader powers…..strage powers since we seem to lose quite a lot.
Then i will toast the true spiritual warrior of SA rugby….the true grit champion …..the soul of the game….Luke….the great…Watson.
25 Aug 2010, 21:10 pm
@cab(cab)-465: cab, in the interests of accuracy it was Soda Joe not Robzim I think that first put Grant in speedos!!
Robzim can be blamed for many other things tho!
25 Aug 2010, 21:11 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-471: Actually you do know someone….his name begins with ‘R’!! He is a surfer!!
25 Aug 2010, 21:12 pm
JR
me thinks u okes protest too much, as sure as chips, u all have a speedo collection
25 Aug 2010, 21:13 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-466: no problem we will of course be there,
did you have a hard time at tank many years ago??
thus the dislikes there??
Right cheers folks. We gonna beat the convicts!! wait and see, we will!!! Go Boks!!!
@cab(cab)-475:
@carol(carol)-470:
I don’t. It’s the guys who come on here and try to justify it. Why do they think they have to?
25 Aug 2010, 21:14 pm
ja…that mal soda joe with the speedo…bloody hell man…i have never lived it down….
Anyway….let these wit wolwe believe what they will……its all just theatre….as keo would say….
At least in 2 months time my mate and i are ball boys for the ladies volleyball team here on Clifton 2 nd….tough job….but i do my best…
@carol(carol)-474:
You gotta be s hitting me !!!
That’s a sight I can’t picture !!
Jr is Wp going to move stadiums??
25 Aug 2010, 21:15 pm
@grant10(grant10)-472:
Does the blonde know about all those hookers?
25 Aug 2010, 21:16 pm
@David(David)-479: david?? being a little judgemental are we ??
firstly as you know i blog there and i dont have to justify anything
not top you mate or anyone else, amamzing you opnly see one side of a story
i thought you better the that david
25 Aug 2010, 21:17 pm
@grant10(grant10)-480: That was seriously funny evening here on the Keo Night Owl slot, when Soda Joe got you in then infamous speedos.
We had such fun!
25 Aug 2010, 21:18 pm
@David(David)-483: LOL…Jaaaaa boet
@grant10(grant10)-480:
A 40 plus year old “boy”.
@grant10(grant10)-480:
Spurs 1-0 up …..gonna go watch……..G10……….need u strong boet !!
Cheers all !!
Carol…… nice to see you here !!
@David(David)-479: Hey, water under the bridge…let’s leave that one!
25 Aug 2010, 21:19 pm
Carol
oh right, yep Joe makes alot of sense normally, only thing is his taste in music is very poor
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-482:
See you at the New home of rugby !!!
@justrugby(justrugby)-488: Great to see you…Will mail you soon.
@carol(carol)-485: ja….no doubt about it…loads of laughs…..skop one nite carrying on about Nazi sharks in False Bay with robzim…..i swear i laughed so much i almost had a heart attack.!
25 Aug 2010, 21:20 pm
@justrugby(justrugby)-491: ok so i take it it will happen??
25 Aug 2010, 21:20 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-482: They should move stadiums, Newlands should be knocked down!!
25 Aug 2010, 21:21 pm
as for being the new home ….. NOPE
once newlands is gone , its the home no more
25 Aug 2010, 21:21 pm
@sharks_lover(sharks_lover)-484:
I was referring to the comments that some of the RT guys used to justify their moving, not the ones like yourself and Puma, who happily blog on both.
25 Aug 2010, 21:22 pm
@carol(carol)-495: eish carol newlands has awesome history
not sure it should be knocked down
i can understand ellis park as its in a bad area
newlands is not a bad area
@David(David)-487: ja!
My mate is about 52….but a real gym and surfer oke…..summer here is insane…..the parties endless…..about 16 hours of sunshine and surf right on my front door…..manic at times….
@David(David)-497: oh ok sorry my bad
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 » Show All