Celebrating a masterful centurion
26 Aug 2010
RYAN VREDE writes that Victor Matfield is crawling into his 100th Test instead of breaking the tape at speed, but that shouldn’t diminish our appreciation for a national treasure.
Sure, Big Vic’s performances of late, particularly at the lineout, have been ordinary. But remember that we measure him by an extraordinary standard, and do so because he is an extraordinary player. Ordinary for Matfield is exceptional for his competitors.
Matfield has not only mastered lineout play, he has evolved it to the point of transfiguration. The rugby landscape is littered with artists in No 5 jerseys. Matfield stands alone as a scientist, one whose mere presence has reduced even the most sure-handed hookers to something resembling tanked-up darts players. He is the benchmark, one that will take some matching, let alone surpassing.
That dedication to mastering his primary craft is what sets him apart. And herein lies the secret to Matfield’s potency – there will surely be a buck of equal talent to emerge in the future, but it’ll take a level of sacrifice and application which is uncommon in the new generation of players to ensure that talent is translated into the consistent on-field dominance Matfield has exhibited for the bulk of his career.
But his proficiency isn’t limited to lineout play alone. He is a student of the game in the truest sense. To illustrate, I recount a story in SA Rugby magazine’s November 2009 edition where former Wallabies coach and consultant to the 2007 World Cup-winning Springboks, Eddie Jones, tells the story of the first experience he had with Matfield in a coaching capacity.
‘It was pre-2007 World Cup camp and the discussion was attacking formations. Victor was watching so intently, and it seemed like a recorder was running in his mind. I’m sure if I’d asked him to repeat what I said at that time he would have done so verbatim. Then he strolled over and said, “Eddie, what about that play you guys ran for the Brumbies in 2000? You know, the eight-man lineout?”
‘Mate, he proceeded to describe the play down to the finest detail. He’d obviously dissected it thoroughly and knew how and why it could work for the Springboks. He even had ideas about how the play could be improved!
‘I’d heard that he was pretty deliberate about his preparation, but this was something else. I think he only debuted in Super Rugby that year [2000], but he’d been studying Super Rugby plays while he was just a provincial player. That blew my mind. Jake [White] told me he was special before I was invited to coach with the Boks, but that incident – as simple as it may seem to some – perfectly underlined his immense value to the Boks and showed me first-hand exactly why he is held in such high regard.’
Matfield has also been a mostly unacknowledged leader in the Springbok team, and one whom captain John Smit has relied on heavily for direction, guidance and perspective throughout his six-year tenure.
In an interview with Matfield in February 2008 we spoke about the present and future. He’d won everything possible in the game, and he thought he was content to end his career at then French D2 club Toulon. He had a three-storey villa overlooking the Mediterranean in the exclusive suburb of Carqueiranne. Toulon were paying him a mint to scrap with butchers, bakers and candlestick makers. Holidays in Corsica and Monaco and other glamorous locations were commonplace. In French Matfield was a bon vivant – a person who enjoys the good things in life.
But his belief that he could make telling contributions to Springbok rugby, as a player and a leader, hadn’t diminished as he thought it would. His return to South Africa wasn’t logical, some would even consider it plainly stupid. But it said everything about Matfield’s deep affection for the Springbok jersey.
Whether at 33 years old Matfield has the physical capacity to emerge from the slump he currently finds himself in remains to be seen. He may yet taint his reputation by being one of those greats who hang on despite being spent, and in doing so adversely affect how they are remembered. But he has consistently proved his class and dismissing him as a has-been would be to expose your opinion to utter embarrassment in future. Here’s hoping the final chapters of Matfield’s career are marked by successes and not moments that sully our estimation of him.
On Saturday, wherever you are, stand to your feet and cheer loudly to honour a living legend. You may not see a genius like Matfield again in your generation. In fact, the rugby world may not ever see a player to match him. And he is ours.

132 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
26 Aug 2010, 19:08 pm
@Mike H(Mike H)-99: bloody hell….you only 29….
fark me….explains a bit!
26 Aug 2010, 19:10 pm
@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-96:
Sorry, pearls before swine(you set yourself up for that).
And I am not in the habit of doing so too often. Cabbie already is one too many but I see he does learn but very, very slowly. He has pushed Vic and Johannes Smit to the bench now for 2011 WC.
26 Aug 2010, 19:34 pm
@grant10(grant10)-101: FatBoys Club coming clean! It started with Plod in the Wales match but they never get DROPPED – bulletproof manne!
Habana aware of faults
57 minutes ago
Pretoria – Springbok wing Bryan Habana’s
lapse in defence at crucial times cost the
Springboks the Test match against the All
Blacks last week.
By his own admission Habana has been
poor by his own high standards in this
year ’s Tri-Nations, but he sees Saturday’s
clash with the Wallabies at Loftus Versfeld
as the ideal opportunity to turn things
around.
“Yes, last week we made a few defensive
lapses on defence against the All Blacks,”
Habana said at the Springbok hotel on
Thursday.
“I was the man to mark Cory Jane in the last
movement. Juan de Jongh marked the man
on my inside, but when I turned I couldn ’t
get back fast enough to stop Richie McCaw
from scoring the winning try, ” he
explained.
“Personally I was happy with the way I
played, but we put ourselves under
unnecessary pressure,
When Juan (De Jong) made that high tackle
in the first half, it was actually my fault
because I shot out of my line, ” he admitted.
The 64-Test veteran believes the Boks have
been playing Test rugby long enough to
know where things have gone wrong.
“As players we put a lot of pressure on
ourselves to perform. There is of course
also a lot of pressure from the public. I take
responsibility for my personal faults. But
we don ’t only want to rectify things as
individuals but also get things right as a
team.”
The speedster believes this is not just
another game where they have to be
physically up for the challenge, but they
will also have to be psychologically
prepared to raise the level of intensity.
He is particularly is looking forward to his
personal duel with the talented youngster
James O ’ Connor who will mark him on
Saturday.
“Quade Cooper (flyhalf) is one of the best
players I have seen in the game in a long
time. With a playmaker like Matt Giteau on
his outside and brilliant players like James
O ’ Connor, Drew Mitchell and Kurtley Beale
in the back three, they can be particularly
devastating.
“It is going to be tough! But as
disappointing as the last few Test matches
were, we are still confident that we can
turn things round on Saturday, ” he added.
26 Aug 2010, 19:37 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-103: ja.
Habana 1 of the members.
munching at the trough.
But Plod the main Cgairman.
He falls it will have a domino effect.
Have to wait and see what happens….aussies nail us at altitude the ship may be on the sink…..
26 Aug 2010, 19:37 pm
Chairman
26 Aug 2010, 19:57 pm
@grant10(grant10)-104:but if Habana admits to messing up why are de jongh & aplon then getting the sack?!!!!
26 Aug 2010, 19:57 pm
I am quite happy to see the younger guys come through and used on the EOY tour, but both smit and matfield still have a big role yet to play IMO, just as Percy and Os played a very specfific role in 2007.
26 Aug 2010, 20:07 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-106: because we have become apathetic and numbed to the injustices….we a bunch of sheep being lead by the fatboys club….sentiment and candy floss clouds our vision.
PDV has done a deal and is nothing more than a puppet. 78% OF A HUGE POLL WANTS SMIT TO RETIRE, BUT OUT LOUD THE SILENCE IS DEAFENING.
tHERE IS A FARKEN ELEPHANT IN THE ROOM BUT PEOPLE DONT WANT TO TALK ABOUT IT….ITS TREASON!
we becoming a nation accepting of mediocrity and 2 nd best.
Shame on all of us…
26 Aug 2010, 20:08 pm
ET
I agree with you that I prefer a slighly more rounded lock, but in terms of lineot dominance, there’s been no one to touch matfield in the air and that includes ian jones and john eales. At his peak I would also venture that he is one of the fastest locks that’s ever played too.
Problem is victor is a thinker, not enough vokmaarvoort, which is fine if the rest of the pack can foil it but with a less dynamic 2, 3 and 8 – the current pack can’t live with the tighter packs
26 Aug 2010, 20:44 pm
Well done Victor! A scholar and a gentleman of the game..
He should, has to and will go to the WC.. They need to rest him now though.. He is like a wounded buffalo.. Almost dead on his feet.. The amount of rugby he has played is insane!
I agree he should never have gone to Wales but at least he get’s his 100th at Loftus..
Smit and Matfield to lead us to keeping the William Webb Ellis trophy..
26 Aug 2010, 20:54 pm
Some of you can see that Matfield’s expertise at the lineout is where his play stops as far as being a lock forward goes.
I’ve watched him amble around the field between (increasingly fewer) lineouts. He occasionally is where the ruck forms, although he never gets involved in them except when he takes the ball up and is immediately put into reverse by the opposition tackler. Then he loses possession on most occasions.
People, sorry to rain upon his parade, but he is nowhere as good as you like to think. (I admit that he is and always will be the best lineout jumper, but that is where his play ends)
26 Aug 2010, 20:55 pm
somehow i don’t feel sorry for these ‘senior’ players! When peter de villiers told them to stay at home for last year’s end of year tour they all insisted on going overseas, more munch, munch munch at the through, now they want to tell us about fatigue and being overplayed!
26 Aug 2010, 21:25 pm
@Transformation(Transformation)-112: yes….and pdv asks them if they want to tour!!
Tell them they are being rested….why give them the option?
Munch….munch….munch.
weak my man….
26 Aug 2010, 21:32 pm
Victor, any guy who wears the Green & Gold 100 times, is worthy of the highest praise. Well done boet. Actually better than well done.
Have a rest now, and come back for the start of next year.
Go paddle surf in Hawaii. Something like that.
27 Aug 2010, 00:36 am
I reckon Matfield will be an awesome coach in the future.
27 Aug 2010, 01:20 am
111. Auntie Mavis(Auntie Mavis) of course your opinion non biased as it is.
Thanks big Vic for your great service and dedication. True Bok legend! Time for a rest before the RWC.
27 Aug 2010, 01:26 am
Great lineout exponent, but a ruck and maul inspector of note.
27 Aug 2010, 01:57 am
Matfield is central to the Bok mauls, and he hit more rucks than any other SA player last weekend. I’m not sure if it’s fair to judge his entire career on recent form but he is a player who won man of the match in a World Cup final, is one of only two locks to be nominated for IRB player of the year and has won everything else in the game. Indeed he is the probably the greatest lineout forward we’re likely to see.
27 Aug 2010, 02:12 am
@grant10(grant10)-108:
Grant, granted that South Africa’s “God given talent” Puppet De Villiers may be a clown, but you dont want teams to be chosen by national poll.
If you went down that route, rugby would be like politics… just take a look at ejits in parliment to see why this is a bad idea.
Also, full credit to Matfield. It is due – he is the man. As a passionate Springbok opponent, I will be glad when he is gone.
27 Aug 2010, 02:45 am
‘Real’ rugby enthusiasts log on, scroll down, see an ad nauseam G10 or Trans’entitlements’ post and log off and head to RW or another ‘real’ rugby blog!
27 Aug 2010, 04:04 am
Keo! please man
…saying ” Funny how safricans had no problem with alain rouland in 2007 WC final!”
is like saying
” Funny how yanks had no problem with O.J. when he was a great footballer!”
rtarded!!
27 Aug 2010, 04:55 am
@Auntie Mavis(Auntie Mavis)-111:
Try analysing with both eyes doos!
27 Aug 2010, 07:42 am
@TheTackler(TheTackler)-117:
That is Bakkies and Danie’s job! However, when they do it everybody (excluding S.A.’s) jumps up and down and screems foul play.
Rugby is slowly becoming a softy’s sport.
27 Aug 2010, 07:42 am
@money_man(money_man)-120: ‘real’ rugby idiots used to log on, see their verkrampte buddies gaan aan unrestrained and feel at home. Now they can f*ck off
27 Aug 2010, 07:54 am
Matfield has been a star over his career and a true great. Every player has had periods where their form has dipped, however whether he comes back or not he is still a great. Personally I think he has been over played, given he did the business in Super 14. However as he gets older you cant expect him to play at the highest level for as many games. If you want to get longevity out of him.
And as a Kiwi I cant play Matfield any higher compliment then say that if I could have stolen any one opposition player for my national team then Matfield, in my opinion, would have made the greatest difference.
27 Aug 2010, 07:54 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-124: yeah…Money man…..the kid that wasnt breastfed….shame
27 Aug 2010, 07:58 am
@grant10(grant10)-126: ja mos ‘self-taught, self-made, got a website to prove it’ yeah making that money baby! But the kak thing is that even all that money can’t plug the gaping void inside.
27 Aug 2010, 08:04 am
@Transformation(Transformation)-127: the ‘ inside ‘ is a cesspool of insecurity and angst, that manifests in a ‘laager’ type disposition…..this M M needs many hours on a couich with a Woody Allen type shrink….
It will be money better spent than on the cars, yachts and whatever else he surrounds himself with to compensate for the empty void….
And i sincerely mean this….
27 Aug 2010, 08:11 am
VM needs a holiday in Cambodia
27 Aug 2010, 08:14 am
@iceman(iceman)-123: I agree. If Bakkies did not receive a ban for that brainf art, the results would have been different. If its your job to steal the ball or slow it down, and Bakkies hit you one – like he did on numerous occasions, you’ll think twice about putting your head into that ruck! Its his job to soften up the loosies, and he’s doing a great job at it. I hope he comes back even stronger – and more legal!
27 Aug 2010, 08:24 am
@UnbeataBULL(UnbeataBULL)-130:
“I hope he comes back even stronger – and more legal!” – UnbeataBULL.
In Bakkies’ case, the two are mutually exclusive.
27 Aug 2010, 09:31 am
@grant10(grant10)-108: Robbie Deans seems to disagree….
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All