Currie Cup latest (Thurs)

Keo.co.za brings you the news from the Currie Cup.

Plum calls up Pretorius

Andre Pretorius has been included in the Sharks squad for their match against Griquas in Durban on Friday.

The injury-prone flyhalf has been handed an opportunity by coach John Plumtree, although Pretorius hasn’t been contracted until he can prove his fitness over an extended period. He’s been included on the bench, and could play his first match for the franchise.

Pretorius’ addition is necessitated by injuries to Steve Meyer and Louis Ludik, with Monty Dumond starting at fullback in place of the latter. Ryan Kankowski’s Springbok call-up has seen Keegan Daniel moved to No 8, with Jacques Botes coming in at flank.

Sharks – 15 Monty Dumond, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Stefan Terblanché (c), 12 Andries Strauss, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Patrick Lambie, 9 Charl McLeod, 8 Keegan Daniel, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Alistair Hargreaves, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.
Subs: 16 Craig Burden, 17 Eugene van Staden, 18 Anton Bresler, 19 Michael Rhodes, 20 Rory Kockott, 21 Andre Pretorius, 22 Riaan Swanepoel.

Griquas – 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Richard Lawson, 13 Wilmaure Louw, 12 Barry Geel, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Naas Olivier (c), 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Burger Schoeman, 7 Rohan Kitshoff, 6 Davon Raubenheimer, 5 Cecil-John Kemp, 4 Michael Passaportis, 3 Jean Botha, 2 Ryno Barnes, 1 Steph Roberts.
Subs: 16 Simon Westraadt, 17 Jacobie Adriaanse/Ivann Espag, 18 Johan van Deventer, 19 Gerhard Human, 20 Marnus Hugo, 21 Rocco Jansen, 22 Rudi Vogt.

Sharks reel in Hoffmann

Conrad Hoffmann has signed a two-year deal with the Sharks for next season.

The WP utility back’s agent Anthony Johnson confirmed the transfer, adding that more game time at scrumhalf (Hoffmann’s preferred position) was the main reason for the move to Durban.

Hoffmann is WP’s third-choice scrumhalf behind vice-captain Dewaldt Duvenage and Springbok Ricky Januarie and often has to settle for a utility back role on the bench.

It is believed Hoffmann will get more game time at scrumhalf at the Sharks but it will be interesting to see where in the pecking order he slots in with Charl McLeod and Rory Kockott already competing for the No 9 jersey. There were rumours that Kockott could sign for Province, but WP head coach Allister Coetzee has already denied the rumour.

Hoffmann will be joined by Bulls flyhalf Jacques-Louis Potgieter and Cheetahs centre Meyer Bosman, who have already signed new deals with the Sharks.

125 Comments

• 1.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Hoff dragon…

• 2.boktillzero: Reply to this comment

sharks are starting to look good for next year its going to be and interesting super 15 to see who makes tops this conference

• 3.UnbeataBULL: Reply to this comment

Sharks are building a very good side! They will be competing in the play-offs in the S15.

• 4.Transformation: Reply to this comment

Basson a try-scoring machine

2010-08-25 22:30
    Hendrik Cronjé

Bloemfontein – Griquas, who appear on
    course for a semifinal spot in this year’s
    Currie Cup, look set to break a try-scoring
    record on the way.

Springbok wing Bjorn Basson needs only
    two tries in the second round of the
    tournament to equal the late Robert
    Markram ’s Griquas record of 11 tries in a
    Currie Cup season.

Basson has scored nine tries in seven
    games to date and can take another step
    closer to the record in the match against
    the Sharks in Durban on Friday night.

Rugby statistics are often misleading as
    they don ’t always tell the full story. But
    Griquas backline coach Abré Minnie makes
    the point that the nine tries by Basson is
    certainly not a misleading statistic on the
    wing ’s attacking ability.

Basson’s nine tries are two more than that
    of Sharks flyer Lwazi Mvovo, followed by
    five each by Pumas flyhalf Elgar Watts,
    Leopards scrumhalf Michael Bondesio,
    Sharks loose forward Keegan Daniel, WP
    flanker Pieter Louw and Free State prop
    Coenie Oosthuizen.

“Bjorn has not just scored his tries by using
    his pace, but by popping up in the right
    positions and running good lines.

He has
    now matured as a player after I identified
    him as a future Springbok at under-21
    level, ” said Minnie.

He adds that Basson had to do more than
    just finish for the majority of his nine tries.

“His extraordinary individual skills came to
    the fore in a number of the tries and he
    had to work hard. His strong defence and
    physical presence at the breakdowns is the
    pleasing aspect of his game this year – it’s
    something we have worked at very hard,”
    said Minnie.

“Bjorn is one of the best aerial players (to
    pluck the ball out of the air from in front of
    an opponent) and opponents are making
    plans to neutralise him every week so that
    he cannot compete for kicks. The pleasing
    thing is that Bjorn then himself hatches a
    plan to counter that. ”

Minnie also has no doubt that Basson has
    the pace to make it at Test level.

“He showed that in the game against the
    Blue Bulls when he scored that try in the
    dying seconds. He beat Gerhard van den
    Heever for pace. ”

• Inside centre Barry Geel was Griquas’
    leading Currie Cup try-scorer last year with
    10 touchdowns.

• 5.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-4: So what are you actually saying? First Lambie then Shadow?

• 6.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-5: in xhosa they say ‘sukundibuza i-bus ibhaliwe’ :D

• 7.iceman: Reply to this comment

For a Super 14/15 competition you need three decent scrummies because in a long competition you are always going to pick up injuries along the way. So it is a very good move by the Sharks to secure three scrummies for next season.

Now the Stormers only have one decent scrummie and will definately have to get another one from some where. Jano Vermaak would be an excellent buy but I think he is still tied down at the Lions.

Who know what happened to Paul Delport, what a talent, just seemed to disappear into thin air?

• 8.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@iceman(iceman)-7: From what I remember he contracted some or other virus – glandular fever, or something like that. The last I saw he was playing 7s after his recovery.

• 9.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

Sorry, was just asking ;-)

• 10.dWeePer: Reply to this comment

Paul Delport is contracted to SARU for sevens. However he has three times more injuries that Chilliboy and Andre Pretorius can put together.

• 11.David: Reply to this comment

@iceman(iceman)-7:
    He’s a permanent Bok 7s player. Great loss to the 15 man game.

• 12.wernergreeff fanclub membership 3: Reply to this comment

Wat maak jy Rassie? Dit is ‘n groot teleurstelling. Miskien is dit tyd vir Francois Hougaard om terug te kom huistoe, of dalk kan hulle kyk na Sarel Pretorius. Maar ek is seker dit sou goedkoper wees om Conrad te hou as om een van hierdie ander perde te koop. Die ander opsie is om Ruan goed dop te hou. Hopelik raak hy ‘n bietjie “homesick”.

• 13.wernergreeff fanclub membership 3: Reply to this comment

Maar ek moet ook sê ek kan hom nie kwalik neem nie

• 14.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-6: @Mighty Horua(Mighty Horua)-9: and… isixhosa asitolikwa. Unjani mfowethu?

• 15.JUSM: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-4: interesting that bassons coach says he beat van den heever for pace. i read a few arguments on another blog where one side said he beat vdh for pace, the other side said that vdh came back from a standing start having marked the man making the last pass, and then clearly caught basson to the point where he just about laid a hand on him at the try line.

whish i could have seen it for myself!!

• 16.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@JUSM(JUSM)-15: both arguments are not correct! I saw the try on Blitz, vdH came in strongly to make the cover tackle but he was given the famous HAND OFF as he made a desperate lunge for Basson on the 22m line (not try line).

reminded me of the Habana/Ngwenya incident during RWC 2007. Some believed that Habana was beaten because he had to come back from a standing start while some believe that Ngwenya ran around Habana and there was nothing he could do about it… :lol:

either way Habana also tried to make a desperate diving tackle but Ngwenya was already gone… touch down!

• 17.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-14: ndiyavuka ndoda kuthi, akukho kukhalaza, qha sesibala i-hours nje ngoku phambi kokuba sidibane nalamakhwenkwe as australia….unjani wena mhlob’ am?

• 18.garth: Reply to this comment

I think Kockott would be an awesome buy for Province. He is underrated. He is also a damn site better than Januarie and Duvenhage.

• 19.Mighty Horua: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-14: Kutsho bani mfowethu

• 20.theOracle: Reply to this comment

akukhomahlaba mf’wethu…. eyi, ndidanile ngulomfo uqeqesha amabhokobhoko…uyeke ithuba lokwenza utshintsho kule-team yakhe… into endinza ukuba ndicinge ukuba mhlawumbi ikhona into eyenza ukuba oyike okukhupha amadoda athile kule-team yakhe…

kunzima uku typa ngesixhosa :lol:

• 21.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@dWeePer(dWeePer)-10: He was ill not injured for a long time , some feared he might not even be able to run never mind play rugby

Re Hoffman , something is very wrong that we lose Hougaard firstly then Hoffman but keep Ricky !! FARK !!!

• 22.sparticus: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-18: Jaa but is he better than Hoffman and Hougaard ?

• 23.theOracle: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-18: Duvenhage is dissappointing, he is quickly becoming 1 dimensional for WP… I still rate Sarel as the in form scrummie in SA.

• 24.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

Sheet. That’s a big loss to Province. What is it about not being able to hold onto the youngsters? Ricky is past it as everyone well knows, including Alistair. So now we’re going to have to spend even more money buying someone like Kockett.

Just doesn’t make sense.

• 25.garth: Reply to this comment

He is at least as good, but the important thing is that he’ll start as the number 1 choice. As things stand, Hoffman is more than a season away from taking pole position at WP. Ricky needs to move to Boland as I don’t see him making the S15 squad. Duvenhage to be backup, but Province need more depth than him.

• 26.garth: Reply to this comment

The thing is that Hoffman rates himself better than Duvenhage and I’d agree. Duvenhage is limited in ability and his decision making is not great. Ousting Januarie out of the #9 jersey does not make you a great scrummie. It just means you are better than kak.

• 27.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@sparticus(sparticus)-21:

Unless there is a good signing in the pipeline this is going to come back and haunt Province – Allister backed the wrong horses in the very predictable Duvenhage and in Ricky January who has produced nothing since his few seconds of magic (or shall I say lucky bounce) against the AB’s.

With sufficient gametime at scrumhalf Hoffman can easily become the top scrumhalf in SA once Fourie leaves for Japan.

• 28.grant10: Reply to this comment

damn it man…..thats a terrible loss for wp….ad stormers…..now we need to get someone. I liked the ‘watch Ruan Pienaar ‘ idea of werner greef…..

If we do get Kockitt i will be pleased….imo a great scrumhalf.

• 29.grant10: Reply to this comment

its because AC is too conservative with his selections.

I just hope L Cronje dont get itchy feet…

• 30.JUSM: Reply to this comment

@theOracle(theOracle)-16: thanks for the extra info. so many people, so many view points. and that on a single event that surely has a single set of true facts :)

• 31.garth: Reply to this comment

Sharks can’t keep McCleod, Kockott, Pienaar and Hoffman.

• 32.Robzim: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-29:

I agree he is too conservative and even too loyal. Amazing how he could leave Koster out against the Sharks after his top class performance against the Bulls because Elstadt “played well before his injury”. He is stuffing Engelbrecht around as well.

• 33.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-28: Yes i agree. Stupid move by Alistair.

• 34.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-31: Just like WePee aint gonna keep De Jong…

• 35.stormersboy: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-34: Steady on son…..them’s faaaahtin talk! (in my best Alabama redneck accent)

• 36.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-28:

Reading the “watch” Ruan Pienaar comment made me puke in my weetbix !!!

• 37.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@stormersboy(stormersboy)-35: De Jong’s style is welcome at the Sharks, unlike elsewhere… It seems blonde donkeys are preferred at 12…

• 38.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-34:

And the Sharks keep …………….well nobody really !!

Oh yes Terblanche, sorry for my huge oversight !!

• 39.grant10: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-36: LOL

• 40.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-38: They keep enough to do the Sharkshag on Saturday against those pretenders from the West…

• 41.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

Province also lost that youngster from their Vodacom Cup team to the Bulls – Dinka I think his name is. They are now left with Duvenhage, Januarie…who else is there? Any youngsters coming through?

• 42.justrugby: Reply to this comment

De Jong learning from the mmost experienced centres in Bok history must surely benefit him…………..S15 long tournament ……need depth EVERYBODY WILL GET SUFFICIENT GAME TIME !!!

Not sure what he will learn from Bosman and Terblanche !!

• 43.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-41:

Shreuder……u21 SH and captain…….very good prospect !!

• 44.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-42: It will be interesting to know if de Jongh, Newman, Bosch and Whitehead have been told that de Villiers and Fourie are heading oveseas after 2011.

Thats 6 half decent centres trying for two positions.

• 45.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-43: Ready to play Super 15?

• 46.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-42: And JLP…

But nevertheless he will look good in Black and White… He will win something too, instead of pretending…

• 47.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-46: What will he win? One Currie Cup in his whole career?

• 48.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-44:

Yeah, who knows !!

But it is a fact that having depth means you will lose players who get itchy feet……way of the jungle I suppose !!

• 49.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-46:

JLP, Bosman, were at the Cheetahs as a combination, not really going to instill fear into any side are they ??

Both good players neither great players !!

• 50.WP_: Reply to this comment

Good riddance! He obviously has no desire to win trophies in the near future. :)

But seriously he’s going to get less game time in Durban. McLeod looks like the real deal and Kockup isnt leaving?

So where does CH fit in? Nah silly option. Ricky is on his way out, he should have stayed.

Oh well, the Sharks shamelessly stealing players, whats news?

• 51.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-47: Better than none – the 80′s are a distant wetdream, contrary to Wepee’s alternative reality of success

• 52.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-48: Something the Bulls have experienced recently in losing Francis, Potgieter and a couple of young locks. The only worry is that you lose a couple next year, and then lose De Villiers and Fourie (maybe also Habana) and your left with 2 centres who have played first class rugby!

Nice thing about du Preez and Matfield announcing their plans so far in advance is it allows the Bulls to plan (Kruger for Matfield, Hougaard for du Preez) and also means that up and coming players know what their chances are in the future.

• 53.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-49: The Cheetahs… pfft…. 2 words:

SHARKS FOREVER !!!

• 54.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-50:

They will use him as back up sh, fh, centre, wing , fb, N08, fetcher, and possibly hooker……that’s how the Sharks roll !!! :) :)

• 55.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-52:

It is a huge concern, hopefully Rassie and Alister man manage the situation properly and limit the damage !!

• 56.WOLFMAN21: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-55: If Rassie isn’t still busy dreaming of 20-20 Rugby and the amount of zeroes it will add to his bank account!

• 57.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-54: Yeah, it amazing how those average, mess-players-up, Sharks beat the awesome, incredible Wepee with their amazing defence and outstanding defence coach…

• 58.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-57:

Like Griquas is your away team bogey side so are the Sharks to Province !!!!

We eagerly await you at Newlands !!!…..Be careful you are playing Griquas this weekend !!!

• 59.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@WOLFMAN21(WOLFMAN21)-56:

Yeah, brain **** idea that !!

• 60.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-59:

**** = Brain f art

• 61.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-58: Griquas were nothing more than 1st game blues – it must be said they play better rugger than Wepee though… Harder chaps on field, not so worried about their hairstyles than the boys from the West coast…

• 62.justrugby: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-61:

That must be why we put 50 past them in Kimberley mmmmmmmmmm!!

Imagine if they weren’t worried about hairstyles !!

• 63.justrugby: Reply to this comment

Anyway……. things to do and people to see !!!!!!

• 64.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-62: And another Wepee distant dream comes to pass…

• 65.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

Just Rugby back stirring nonsense?:-) correct me if I am wrong but isnt that exactly what WP are doing to him? And hasnt WP played Britz at 8 and even a bigger sin Koster at wing? You know what they say about glass houses;-)

• 66.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-65: SL, its simple – good Vrystaat players are turned into legends at the Sharks…

• 67.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-66: Forgive me I misread and thought you were Shark_lover…

• 68.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

And not to be nasty but you should also add The Lions to your list of WP bogey teams – they did stop WP qualifying for semis on more than 2 ocasions

• 69.grant10: Reply to this comment

sharks got a great acquisition in Hoffmann.

Mark my words….he will be sharks no 1 scrumhalf come super 15.

• 70.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-68: LOL

Enjoy rubbing it in young lady….

• 71.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-67: lol apologies accepted

• 72.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-71: Nice to have a few more proper realist rugby fans who know what they are talking about…

Too many Wepee dreamers in these parts…

• 73.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-70: ;-) how are you G10

• 74.grant10: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-73: I am very cool thanks….the rugby has been abysmal….but to be honest i always felt 2010 would be a challenging year, especially for Boks.

Last week was a real low point….with boks and wp being beaten….but such is sport ….a cruel mistress at the best of times.

Are you well?

• 75.KeyserSoze: Reply to this comment

@garth(garth)-31: I’m sure this has been mentioned before, but Pienaar’s signed a two-year deal with Ulster and the Sharks have already released him. Personally, I like Rory Kockott but having spent several season’s playing second fiddle to Pienaar, he clearly has itchy feet and his agent is angling for a move for him since McLeod’s first choice now under Plumtree, so Hoffman may get more game time than some people think! Good luck to the young man!

• 76.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-50: Apparently Rassie told Hoffman that he is not regarded as the future 9 – they are looking at young Louis Schreuder (u/21?). I think Ricky’s contract will not be renew either – but that still leaves a gap at 9. I suppose the Sharks offered CH a lot more than his current Province contract.
    It seems that Province are starting to sign up their promising youngsters – some of them still under 16, but regarded as players with huge potential. ( I have a reliable source at one op the top schools ). At least they are trying to keep some good young players!!

• 77.coma: Reply to this comment

Too many cooks spoil the broth!!!!

• 78.WP_: Reply to this comment

@justrugby(justrugby)-54: Yes but he said he was because “more game time at scrumhalf (Hoffmann’s preferred position) was the main reason for the move to Durban”

So playing him “sh, fh, centre, wing , fb, N08, fetcher, and possibly hooker” is utterley pointless!

Besides he was already playing utility back at WP…

• 79.CharlesM: Reply to this comment

Guys, I still have my 4 season tickets available for tomorrow’s Province / Cheetahs game – unfortunately I can’t go: tickets available @ WP Union prices, i.e R 75 each. Anybody interested send a fax with e-mail details to 086 513 8240. Seats on grand Stand Lower Gallery between 22m and 10m lines (Northern side). Bear in mind that I live in Bellville ( for collection etc. ). I’ll be out till 12.45. Cheers

• 80.Frankly speaking: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-72:
    First of all, congratulations with your teams win this weekend.

However, I can’t recall you being as loud last week prior to the match, and now you’re crowing about how the Sharks are the best thing since sliced bread and the WP are rubbish.

Just something to take note of:
    1) You played at home
    2) You had Beast, Bismarck, and Kanko returning

These are not excuses for us losing, merely points I’d like to highlight. Beating a team at home isn’t THAT big a deal…we’ll see you at Newlands ;)

P.S. I’m super pi$$ed off about Hoffman going to the vultures

• 81.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-57: We lost two loosies inside the first half. A bit of disruption.

But all credit your boys…

Lets just see how the retur game goes at a packed Newlands…

• 82.WP_: Reply to this comment

@CharlesM(CharlesM)-76: Why would Rassie do such a thing? Bizzare. They do rate Schredue though

• 83.grant10: Reply to this comment

wp have developed a phobia about playing at the Tank…..sadly we seem to wilt like fairies in Durbs…..

Sharks were very dominant against us….could of got ugly.

• 84.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking)-80: Of course the Sharks are the best thing since sliced bread. Good of you to recognise that.

• 85.WP_: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-83: Agreed. We always get beaten the same way..

Lots of handling errors, little ball, low scoring game, frustrating.

Actually if you think back to the S14, we lost game’s the same way.

v the Sharks in Durbs, Force 15-16 and Reds 12-19.

All v similar

• 86.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-81: Who’s fault is that… Rugby is a game of attrition, not about greasy blonde hairstyles in Blue and White…

• 87.WP_: Reply to this comment

Schalk Burger is a ‘world-class’ fetcher, and highly rated by the Australians, even though he is regarded as just another ‘brute basher’ in his own country.

The Wallabies’ very own master poacher, David Pocock, does not share the sentiments of pundits who feel that South Africa do not have a proper openside flank in their line-up.

Speaking at the team’s Cape Town training base, ahead of the Tri-Nations Test against the Springboks in Pretoria on Saturday, Pocock said he does not believe the absence of a player like Francois Louw makes the Boks any less effective or dangerous at the breakdown.

“Yes, [Francois] Louw is fantastic on the ball, we saw that during the Super 14 for the Stormers,” said Pocock, when quizzed about the make-up of the Bok loose forwards and the impact it might have on Saturday’s encounter at Loftus Versfeld.

• 88.grant10: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-85: ja….the sharks have our measure….sadly. Bissy was devastating against us….men vs boys…..what a player he is….how he is ignored by Boks is simply crazy.

Oh well…..it may well mean we have to win in Durbs if we want to win the CC….and that aint going to be easy!

• 89.grant10: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-87: What you expect….Pocock to say he is a donkey?

Dont get mislead by Aussie praise….the buggers loving the fact we got no fetcher …

• 90.Frankly speaking: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-86:
    …and Pat Cilliers/Pat Lambie/Jannie Dup/Charl McLeod all have army cew-cuts, right?

Exactly how many blondes are there in the WP team by the way? (as you remarked)

• 91.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking)-90: Enough for the blonde quotas to get given a deserved hiding at the Tank…

Man, that was gratifying…

Especially to see “hard” Wepee flankers crying off “injured”…

To me it indicated all hairstyle, no ballas…

• 92.Transformation: Reply to this comment

@Sharksgirl(Sharksgirl)-65: hey italian sharkie :D how are you, long time…do you have new job or the nazis @ your workplace unblocked KEO? :-)

• 93.Frankly speaking: Reply to this comment

@Heavens Game(Heavens Game)-91:
    Whatever…dont’t get “finishing top of the log” confused with “winning the currie sup”. Anyway, I’ve got work to do.

We’ll see what happens on Newlands

Enjoy your Barbarians team :)

• 94.Frankly speaking: Reply to this comment

@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking)-93: *currie cup

• 95.Heavens Game: Reply to this comment

@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking)-93: Naah, Sharks aint confused about that – they have won a few of those CC’s in the last 20years or so… Unlike another side from the West Coast…

• 96.WP_: Reply to this comment

@grant10(grant10)-89: I’m sure Pocock’s is wetting himself laughing having seen the make-up of our loosies, especially with two showpony no.8, who go missing in tight games, in the 22..

What I dont get about you grant, is that you think Schalk is a donkey, put your obsessed with how good Dewald Potgieter is.
    And they are vers similar players, very similar. Which is a complement to Dewald.

Its just that Schalk is still in his prime and has more experience. Dewald’s time will come.

• 97.Puma: Reply to this comment

Fools at dstv once again not showing the Sharks game this weekend.

Should be showing all the CC games. Damn Sharks are top of the log and we playing Griquas would have been a great game to watch.

• 98.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking)-93: If WP play Willem De Waal at flyhalf again, WP have already lost their second round game against the Sharks. I am not sure who you can replace him with….you guys are a bit thin at flyhalf.

Is Martizburg College Peter Grant coming back ?

Against a team playing an up tempo game plan, De Waal has no clue what to do. Clueless – about as clued up as he is about how to shave the bum fluff off his upper lip.

If the Sharks had to slip into a defensive pattern (like the Bulls tried to do at Newlands), I would say that would even things up a bit – give De Waal a bit more time. If the Sharks play the same game they did last weekend, there will be more ‘WTF ?’ looks on WP’s faces like last weekend.

I am just waiting now to hear which WP prop has been signed by the Sharks. That will be the next announcement to come through. Or perhaps BJ Botha will sign – then the Sharks wont need to sign a WP prop.

• 99.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-97: And didnt show Bulls Griquas last w’e.

Very bright.

@Dusky(Dusky)-98: leave Willem alone

• 100.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-97: Ja – instead they are showing Bulls vs. Pumas !? Although, with the form of the Bulls at present, that could be a close one.

Instead all the Supersport channels will be filled up with a load of rubbish again.

• 101.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-99: Willem De Waal = useless unless he has 2 minutes to think every time he gets the ball.

And, one of those Nr 8 ‘showponies’ made WPs name lekker tottie last weekend. But, then you’re right – that was never a tight game.

• 102.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-100: Agree. The normally rubbish, why we pay them have not a clue.

All the top 4 teams games should get shown. Was really looking forward to it.

Well going how Bulls struggled last week Pumas could give them a tough game.

• 103.Puma: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-102: meant – normal.

• 104.Puma: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-99: I know WP. Dstv should be showing all the CC games and especially the top 4 teams. Why we pay for this rubbish I have not a clue. Well I suppose if we don’t then we are left with Sabc and no rugby on there. So we have no choice really.

• 105.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-101: two minuts to think, good call that realistic

ya Kankow did a hell of a lot hey.

he made 4 tackles, in 80 minutes. Huge work rate that. What a player! Oh and he missed 3 tackles. Great ratio.

Made a run or two but would have got sut done against international defence or if he had come up against two props, which he squeezed past for his try.

• 106.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-102: Ja, flippin Telkom Charity Cup, ESA Bass fishing, show jumping and replays of last weeks European soccer…..you can be sure the rest of the Supersport channels will read something like that.

All the while, the countries best Currie Cup team is playing against contenders Griquas and it goes unscreened. Ridiculous.

• 107.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Puma(Puma)-104: Ya well they could make a better effort. Not great planning on thier part.

My heart over head cost me the lead in SuperBru! :(

I’ve learnt my lesson

• 108.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-105: What were the two props doing defending as last line of defense 10 metres from the try line ?

Kanko destroyed your chumps – one run through try and made another one. By contrast, baby face Vermeulen looked like he was about to burst out in tears, but I bet you think he would make a better Nr 8 ?

• 109.Sharksgirl: Reply to this comment

@Transformation(Transformation)-92: hi Transformation no the nazis still have Keo blocked but upgraded cell phone :-) and just come back from 6 weeks in Italy to find my colleagues on strike and my Sharkies on top of the log

• 110.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-107: Heart over head ? So, you were actually clever enough to realise the Sharks would win ?

Did you back the Sharks in the Super 14, Sharks vs. Stormers ? Tsk…tsk…tsk….I really hope you have learnt your lesson.

• 111.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-110: Yes, actually you’ll be surprised, I knew the Sharkies would win but I could force myself to pick them ;) Well we were leading 9-8 at half time, so I thought I was on the right track. But blown away in the 2nd half.

@Dusky(Dusky)-108: Its hard to take you seriously when everything you say is so heavily laced with anti-WP bias.

i think they are both good 8′s. But different types of players, Kankow good when the game gets loose but has shown bugger all at international level so far. Would like to see Vermeulen take the step up, yes

• 112.WP_: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-111: *coulnt force

• 113.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-111: :-) Buddy, I told you last week I like to pull people’s legs….

I agree, Kankowski hasnt really shown much in a Springbok jersey yet, so lets hope that day comes soon.

Even though WP were leading at half time, I knew the Sharks would win. I have seen games like that before. The Sharks size up their opponent and then destroy them in the second half. I can give you more than one example of where that has happened.

Like a cat playing with a mouse before killing it.

• 114.WP_: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-113: Yeah I’ve seen it before too. The bloody Tank isnt a great place to visit.

Kankow better impress soon or he’ll know as one of those nearly-men who impress at S14 and CC level but cant cut the mustard at the highest level.

We’ll see who’s the cat and who’s the mouse at Newlands for the return game buddy! :lol:

• 115.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@WP_(WP_)-114: Not worried to be honest :-)

• 116.Frankly speaking: Reply to this comment

@Dusky(Dusky)-115:
    Howzit man :) you must be basking in the glory of the weekends victory…

• 117.Treehugger: Reply to this comment

Andre Pretorius :roll: well maybe he will pull a bum muscle walking out the tunnel, we need to win convincingly against Griquas after they beat us.

• 118.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Frankly speaking(Frankly speaking)-116: Dude, I cant lie. I was overjoyed, except honestly – I didnt think it would be that easy.

If ever, I think that game displayed just what Plumtree has been trying to get right at the Sharks for a while now.

And – there will be more of it.

That’s if the players can keep the momentum up.

Everyone says its All Black rugby, but not really. Its the same rugby the Springboks were playing just a year ago. A style they seem to have completely forgotten about.

• 119.Hoops: Reply to this comment

Dusky

You are full of yourself for nothing!

The game against the bulls took a lot out of WP! I expected us to lay back on the grunt in that game!

You will not be worried about the Newlands clash, but you are going to be dissapointed after you get an old pak slae there!

• 120.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Hoops(Hoops)-119: Promises, promises :-)

I doubt it, but we will wait and see. Good luck with that though.

• 121.Dusky: Reply to this comment

I havent read much on here regarding the WP/Cheetahs game. I hope WP arent too overconfident. Think the Cheetahs will be a walk over ?

• 122.Rhys7: Reply to this comment

Cannot believe the call from TMO regarding Aplons try! WHAAATTTTT! Louw showing to Pdiv why he is a *** for dropping him ;)

• 123.Dusky: Reply to this comment

De Waal steps up to do what he is good at !

• 124.Dusky: Reply to this comment

@Rhys7(Rhys7)-122: His foot was on the line – whats the problem ?

• 125.Robzim: Reply to this comment

Free State doing well so far,great defence and Danillier looking very good at 15. WP seems very pedestrian on attack.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.